View Full Version : Katoomba-Lithgow Mountain Lions Australian Football Club

Phil Doyle
12th November 2002, 20:40
G'day everyone.

The Katoomba Lithgow Mountain Lions have started pre-season training for their inaugural season, with training held every Sunday from 6pm at Katoomba Falls Reserve.

After a succesful formation meeting on grand final day at the Katoomba RSL CLub the Mountain Lions are now incorporated and have an executive with Mark Cuffe (Who was once the drummer with Spy v Spy) as President and Phil "Wombat" Doyle as Secretary.

The club has been included in a draft draw for the Central West Australian Football League for season 2003.

The proposed draw sees the Mountain Lions playing all eight CWAFL clubs with four home and four away games. The Mountain Lions will play Parkes and Dubbo in their respective towns, which will ensure that the Mountain Lions will be seen to be able to meet their travel commitments for season 2004. Which seems fair enough.

The draw is:
March 14 v CSU at Katoomba Falls Reserve
March 22 v Orange at Katoomba Falls Reserve.
March 29 v Bathurst Eagles at Katoomba Falls Reserve.
April 12 v Mudgee at Mudgee
May 17 v Parkes at Parkes
June 14 v Dubbo at Dubbo
July 5 v Dubbo Iguanas at Dubbo
July 12 v Cowra at Katoomba Falls Reserve

The under 17's draw will be finalised in February.

The club has also raised the possibility of playing curtain raisers at CSU home games in Bathurst - which was seen as a probability given that CSU have no reserve grade.

Training, on Sundays, from 6pm at Katoomba Falls Reserve, is good fun, and a core of a good side is developing.

Memberships are also available at the bargain basement price of $10 - and members may have a very special priveledge awaiting them in 2003 - Watch this space!

The club is plastering the following message across the upper Blue Mountains and the Lithgow Valley in an effort to draw on the wealth of talent that this area, which has a populatiuon of over 50 000, must have:

MOUNTAIN LIONS MEAN BUSINESS

After an absence for some considerable time the Australian game returns to that rare stretch of flat land above Katoomba Falls.

Fit young men of the community, or those that wish to be, are invited to assemble at the Katoomba Falls reserve of a Sunday from 6pm for a good old-fashioned kick of the football.

At stake is an opportunity to field a Seniors and Under 17’s side in the Central West Australian Football League

Business Houses of the Blue Mountains and Lithgow Valley are invited to become a part of the Mountain Lions growing community support

Training will also be held on Tuesdays at the same venue From 6pm

The Katoomba Lions at no stretch wishes to poach potential players from other codes or AFL clubs, and has no intention of convincing anyone other than those who wish to pursue Aussie Rules.

ENDS

We're also sending out the big word to all those out there in the great game of footy for support in getting this worthy community venture off the ground. Come hell or lawyers we won't be stopped! So if you can support the Katoomba Lithgow Mountain Lions in any way, even morally by folloowing us on our egroup, then feel free to drop us a line.

Sponsorship is, of course, tax deductible for businesses - and Katoomba is an excellent venue for pre-season training camps and end of season trips. We excell at both!

Lithgow is, of course, the home of John Doyle - better known as Rampaging Roy Slaven from the Dream and other great adventures in sports journalism. It's a town with a great sporting tradition that once hosted the Lithgow Bombers Aussie Rules Club, and now the Australian game is set to flourish on the banks of Coal Brook yet again.

If you haven't already joined the Katoomba Lithgow Mountain Lions Australian Football Club Yahoo Group then you can here at http://au.groups.yahoo.com/group/katoombalions/

Follow the fortunes of a footy club as it starts from scratch. You can barrack for the Mountain Lions from anywhere in Australia. Follow the club whose home ground is 1040 metres above sea level. Through the egroup you can keep up with all the news about the club, even get a copy of the lyrics to our club song and have a look at the competition entries for the jumper designs, read executive minutes and heaps of other exciting stuff!

GO YOU MIGHTY MOUNTAIN LIONS
A Famous Team We Are

Katoomba - Lithgow Mountain Lions Australian Football Club
1 Beverly Place
Katoomba 2780
Ph: 0415 463 585
klmlafc@yahoo.com.au

timelord
12th November 2002, 21:15
Have the CWAFL done their senior and reserve grade draw for 2003 already?? That's early for a local comp!

I know the WAFL fixtures are out (and I'll be going to the pipe opener at Claremont because I'll be in Perth that weekend!), and I think there's a DVFL draw out but I'm not sure about that.

Phil Doyle
12th November 2002, 21:22
No, this is only a DRAFT draw.

After the nightmare of last years draw (6 first grade and 8 reserve grade sides) they are hoping to have it sorted out sooner rather than later.

The First Grade Sides at this stage are likely to be:

Bathurst Eagles
Charles Sturt University
Cowra Blues
Dubbo Demons
Dubbo Iguanas
Mudgee Black Swans
Orange Tigers
Parkes Panthers

CSU are unlikely to field a reserve grade side.

timelord
12th November 2002, 21:24
Well when the senior draw is confirmed, let me know will you?

Phil Doyle
12th November 2002, 21:34
Too right I will.

My new sports media business will be doing the media for the CWAFL next year, as well as hopefully still doing the Sydney AFL Record.

You should write a column for my magazine sometime phil!

timelord
13th November 2002, 06:54
I'll keep that in mind, Phil.D. But I am busy with a lot of catching up right now. We'll see. Thanks for the offer.

FattyLumpkin
13th November 2002, 15:51
Originally posted by Phil Doyle

Dubbo Iguanas

The Iguanas !!!!!! I love it. No offense Phil, but I've found my side in the CWAFL!!

Fatty

Phil Doyle
13th November 2002, 16:41
:D

It's a ripper isn't it

Mobbenfuhrer
13th November 2002, 17:32
Originally posted by FattyLumpkin
The Iguanas !!!!!! I love it. No offense Phil, but I've found my side in the CWAFL!!

Speaking of, just recently found that Barmera-Monash 2nds (back when they were in a separate league) were known as the Pelicans!

Phil Doyle
15th November 2002, 19:41
Katoomba-Lithgow Mountain Lions
Australian Football Club

Club Song
(to the tune of "Lachlan Tigers")

We are the Mountain Lions
A famous team we are
We love to play our football
For we’re the best by far
Home or away
When we kick those goals galore