View Full Version : From one club
Grave Danger
12 Nov 2002, 23:38
What do we make of the Fact Sheet (http://portadelaidefc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=66731) on the Power site? Are they blaming the Magpies current ills on the SANFL, or wondering out loud what happened to all that money the Magpies were left with?
Originally posted by Grave Danger
What do we make of the Fact Sheet (http://portadelaidefc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=66731) on the Power site? Are they blaming the Magpies current ills on the SANFL, or wondering out loud what happened to all that money the Magpies were left with?
First and foremost. The SANFL were, are and always will be a bunch anti-Port gits who really must have suffered when the Port bid for the second license was so clearly superior to any other even they couldn't find a way of not selecting it. The SANFL did their best to ensure the Magpies were setup to fail by not allowing the PAFC to have a team in each league.
Of course the current Magpies are going to fail in the long run or at best become a very weak club off field. With no connection to the original magpies club the PAFC allowed who do they think is going to support them ? 'Here you go people, here's a club from Port who have nothing to do with the Port in the AFL, but as a sop happen to have the same name Port did when in the SANFL'. Yeah, that's going to get the supporters and sponsors fighting to support them.
Like the AFL hierarchy the SANFL won't admit they've made a mistake though. There are only two viable options that will stop the rot.
1) The magpies becomes the drop back team for all Power players - similar to the arrangements Victorian clubs have with VFL clubs nowdays.
2) The PAFC takes over the PAMFC, leaving the PAFC to field a Magpies team in the SANFL. Thereby allowing asset and revenue sharing to reduce overheads and again having the Magpies of old back.
Old Max Basheer and his boys don't have the balls to propose either. And even if they did the other SANFL clubs would then complain about favourable treatment and unfair advantages. Leaves me wishing the new magpies would just fold up and go. Lets all remember the Magpies as they were - a proud part of the history of the PAFC and not have this half-arsed traversity inflicted on us any longer.
Originally posted by Andre
And even if they did the other SANFL clubs would then complain about favourable treatment and unfair advantages.
These complaints would be well founded. Why should the Magpies recieve all the perks of an AFL side?
As for the SANFL being anti-Port, well what do you expect when Port are so anti-SANFL? Trying to backdoor their way into the AFL in 1990.
dreamkillers
13 Nov 2002, 14:16
Originally posted by DaveW
As for the SANFL being anti-Port, well what do you expect when Port are so anti-SANFL? Trying to backdoor their way into the AFL in 1990.
But we weren't the only ones using the back door...........:rolleyes:
The Port Magpies are the B*****d son of the real Port Adelaide that the Port Power would dearly love to just fade away so that their consciencewould not have to bother them,
SHAME, SHAME, SHAME.:mad:
How would Glenelg, West, Sturt etc. fare if the SANFL shuffled them off to another ground and told them they had to wear that relocation cost. And when that ground is at Ethelton, how do they expect Port to make any cash out of a club up there? Everyone who follows Port still goes to Alberton and naturally the only team that garners any income from that is the Power. Oh, I know what the small **** brigade will say about this, that Port should look after it's own team. Except the SANFL is at pains to point out that the two are separate entities. Unfortunately we have a huge debt we still have to pay, it will be paid back soon but then the SANFL will be stretching their hands out for more. And what will they do? Waste at least 10% in admin costs and distribute it piecemeal to the clubs.
The Magpies should never have been moved from Alberton, the weak excuses of "they'll have superior facilities" and "they'll be able to train with AFL players" sound so ridiculous when you think of them today.
The SANFL are just playing into the Vics hands; first the SANFL was devastated when the Cows entered the AFL and now Port are in it is even weaker. If the Magpies fold we will have a complete mickey mouse league and I'll have to agree with Victorians that SA premierships aren't worth a clacker.
Originally posted by mic59
The SANFL are just playing into the Vics hands; first the SANFL was devastated when the Cows entered the AFL and now Port are in it is even weaker. If the Magpies fold we will have a complete mickey mouse league and I'll have to agree with Victorians that SA premierships aren't worth a clacker.
You can blame Port for the weakened competition, not the SANFL.
The comp would be much weaker today had Port (& Norwood) not moved in 1990 to join the then VFL. The reason, simple, all the top line players would currently still be playing in the VFL/AFL not the SANFL, it happened a lot in the mid-late 90's and it would of continued. Either way the SANFL wouldn't have been as strong as it was in the 80's whether Port did anything or not.
You can't blame either Port nor the SANFL nor Norwood but you can blame Money and the Victorian clubs (i guess), even though it could be argued that many of these melbourne teams would have foulded due to financial hardships by now.
At the end of the day what happened happened and all parties must deal with it now. The Port Magpies situation isn't great but i doubt the SANFL would allow them to bow out of the comp, something will be done either from within or with the SANFL's help.
rubberman
13 Nov 2002, 20:57
The SANFL stuffed up by insisting that the PAFC have no ties with the PAMFC upon the creation of the POWER. They deliberatly done this as they believed that the magpies would be advantaged by the AFL club. So they slaughtered their strongest team to achieve this, and created a weaker version. Why would any league kill their best club and not realize the consequences of that action being weakening of their own league. The Magpies were always the standard bearer of the SANFL and their suffering is shared by the league.
These complaints would be well founded. Why should the Magpies recieve all the perks of an AFL side?
It has nothing to do with perks. The original Port Magpies were a team of the PAFC and should have remained so. It has nothing to do with advantages or disadvantages over other SANFL clubs.
The SANFL and the PAFC don't like each other so the SANFL should leave the PAFC to do it's own thing. Sell them the sub-license and just rent out AAMI stadium for their use. The Crows are a creation of the SANFL so their arrangements are going to be different and should remain as is.
jacqui9
14 Nov 2002, 10:31
Just a quick question guys ( you will have to excuse me, im a Hawthorn supporter living in SA, but im curious)- if Port Power and Port Magpies are totally different clubs, why does it seem that the Magpies are so dependent on what Port Power earn? Or is it a similar affiliation like that of the VFL clubs in Victoria?
Originally posted by jacqui9
Just a quick question guys ( you will have to excuse me, im a Hawthorn supporter living in SA, but im curious)- if Port Power and Port Magpies are totally different clubs, why does it seem that the Magpies are so dependent on what Port Power earn? Or is it a similar affiliation like that of the VFL clubs in Victoria?
The two clubs share revenue from Alberton pokies etc. if I remember correctly. The Magpies getting about 10% of said revenue. The affliation is nothing official except the above and Port Magpies playing home games at Alberton oval. The SANFL very throughly ensured the new magpies wouldn't have any ties with the PAFC that would help them in a way other SANFL clubs weren't helped - of course they forgot that the other SANFL clubs already had premises, licensed venues they have full revenue from etc. and diffferent supporter bases so those clubs wouldn't need help from PAFC whilst the new PAMFC would in order to be a success.
Of course the SANFL would not have had these problems if they'd admitted Port in 91 and Norwood in 97. The SANFL would have remained a strong viable competition. Nowdays it's little more then amateur league in attendances and organisation.
Originally posted by jacqui9
Because the Port Power have borrowed the Port Magpies tradition, heritage & worst of all there sanfl premierships & refuse to hand them back!!!
koulagirl32
14 Nov 2002, 18:06
Of course the SANFL would not have had these problems if they'd admitted Port in 91 and Norwood in 97. The SANFL would have remained a strong viable competition. Nowdays it's little more then amateur league in attendances and organisation.
And not only would SANFL attendances be higher than their current level, but they wouldn't have any trouble filling Footy Park...
Why should the SANFL reward a club that lied, stabbed it in the back & continued to smile at all & sundry as if butter wouldn't melt in there mouth,
Port in 91 !! think yourself fortunate you got in in 97,
Originally posted by koulagirl32
And not only would SANFL attendances be higher than their current level, but they wouldn't have any trouble filling Footy Park...
Who wouldn't have any trouble filling Footy Park ?
koulagirl32
14 Nov 2002, 18:15
Originally posted by noddy
Who wouldn't have any trouble filling Footy Park ?
Port don't. Norwood probably wouldn't. Your team does. Face your failure for a change - Port hold the record for attendances, despite all those 'sellouts' you always say you have.
I guess all those empty seats at the Paps home games [bar 3] last year were just an illusion or something,
Porthos
14 Nov 2002, 18:31
I guess all those empty seats at the Paps home games [bar 3] last year were just an illusion or something, Noddy, when you get a glass of water do you fill it to the rim every time?
Originally posted by Porthos
Noddy, when you get a glass of water do you fill it to the rim every time?
I refuse to answer that question on the grounds of no matter what i say i'll cop it,
koulagirl32
14 Nov 2002, 19:10
Legally, when you speak once you have given up your right to silence, so it's probably a good idea to answer the question.
Noddy, when you get a glass of water do you fill it to the rim every time?
Most people would fill it close to the top on most ocassions.
Porthos
14 Nov 2002, 20:56
Most people would fill it close to the top on most ocassions. You fill it to the point where you consider it was worth getting a glass of water.
I'd say pretty much every Port game gets enough of a crowd that it was worth holding the game (ie. comfortably over minimum required crowd for profit), with only a few notable exceptions such as Port vs Geelong on Saturday afternoon this year.
You fill it to the point where you consider it was worth getting a glass of water.
I'd say pretty much every Port game gets enough of a crowd that it was worth holding the game (ie. comfortably over minimum required crowd for profit), with only a few notable exceptions such as Port vs Geelong on Saturday afternoon this year.
So the stadium's not half empty its half full? :D
PAfolwr
15 Nov 2002, 08:03
So the stadium's not half empty its half full? :D
At the end of the day, given the limited supporter base, the crowds are and will always be consistent.
Not only that, but crowd numbers will probably increase with supporters from other SANFL clubs over time.
Like it or not, it can be argued that Port are THE team that stands for all the SANFL clubs.
Here we have two clubs, one that implies, SANFL clubs are not good enough to compete on their own with the likes of St Kilda, Bulldogs, Fitzroy etc, and another that says "that is a load of crap" and is going about it the right way to prove it.
Not that it needed any proof in the first place.
Originally posted by PAfolwr
At the end of the day, given the limited supporter base, the crowds are and will always be consistent.
Not only that, but crowd numbers will probably increase with supporters from other SANFL clubs over time.
Like it or not, it can be argued that Port are THE team that stands for all the SANFL clubs.
Here we have two clubs, one that implies, SANFL clubs are not good enough to compete on their own with the likes of St Kilda, Bulldogs, Fitzroy etc, and another that says "that is a load of crap" and is going about it the right way to prove it.
Rubbish. I'm a South supporter. The only impression I got from Port is that they felt that "we're too good for the SANFL".
What is really laughable is that most of you pap guys believe all this "CRAP",
Port Adelaide1870 you have a lot to answer for, ;)
PAfolwr
15 Nov 2002, 10:28
Rubbish. I'm a South supporter. The only impression I got from Port is that they felt that "we're too good for the SANFL".
If a composite national comp had been formed, not all Victorian Clubs would have been invited. Equally not all SANFL cubs.
Port would definitely have been one of the "invited"clubs.
Cannot blame Port, or Norwood or Sturt for not wanting to miss out on the AFL once it was clear that it would become the dominant competition. Port had done the hard yards and fully deserved to be in there ahead of "most" others. Be they other Victorian or SA clubs.
Where the Crows concept has done well is not so much in having all the passionate Norwood or Sturt supporters of old transferring that support to the Crows, but in having a lot of what were "fringe/occasional" supporters of these clubs now being quite passionate about Crows. Nothing wrong with that, quite the opposite IMO.
Younger people are a different story, and in the not too distant future if Port has some success, it will not be inconceivable that children of these so called non-Port families will start following Port in the AFL.
I still think its complete garbage to suggest Port Adelaide truly represents the SANFL clubs. The fact of the matter is you stabbed the SANFL in the back.
To conjecture that Port Power are a better representative of other SANFL clubs than Adelaide because they are a stand alone club, makes about as much sense as saying England better represents Jamaica in cricket because England are a stand alone country and the West Indies aren't.
PAfolwr
15 Nov 2002, 10:54
I still think its complete garbage to suggest Port Adelaide truly represents the SANFL clubs. The fact of the matter is you stabbed the SANFL in the back.
To conjecture that Port Power are a better representative of other SANFL clubs than Adelaide because they are a stand alone club, makes about as much sense as saying England better represents Jamaica in cricket because England are a stand alone country and the West Indies aren't.
No that would be stretching it a bit, but to use your example, Jamaica alone would not be good enough to compete with Australia, South Africa etc. Enter the West Indies.
Are you saying that no SANFL clubs were/are good enough to compete with all Victorian clubs?
There appears to be too many clubs in the AFL at the moment.
Make a list of 12 clubs, prior to the West Coast Eagles, that should have received an invitation to a "National" comp, and then justify why you will probably not have Port Adelaide in there.
No that would be stretching it a bit, but to use your example, Jamaica alone would not be good enough to compete with Australia, South Africa etc. Enter the West Indies.
Are you saying that no SANFL clubs were/are good enough to compete with all Victorian clubs?
There appears to be too many clubs in the AFL at the moment.
Make a list of 12 clubs, prior to the West Coast Eagles, that should have received an invitation to a "National" comp, and then justify why you will probably not have Port Adelaide in there.
Ok then. West Coast came into the AFL in 1987. So we'd be setting up a national competition in 1986. So the competition would be created based on performances in 1985.
So the top four from each competition is taken and we have:
Glenelg, North Adelaide, West Adelaide, Norwood
East Fremantle, Subiaco, Swan Districts, West Perth
Essendon, Hawthorn, Footscray, North Melbourne
Ok then. West Coast came into the AFL in 1987. So we'd be setting up a national competition in 1986. So the competition would be created based on performances in 1985.
Glenelg,:) 1985 now that was a good year,:D
Macca19
15 Nov 2002, 12:07
If you are setting up a National Competition then you wouldnt just use it on form from one season. History and success would also be included.
Including history, past success and current success i'd have:
Port Adelaide, Norwood, Sturt, Glenelg
Essendon, Hawthorn, Carlton, Collingwood
East Fremantle, West Perth, Swan Districts, East Perth
PAfolwr
15 Nov 2002, 12:14
:eek: :D
PAfolwr
15 Nov 2002, 12:17
Originally posted by Macca19
If you are setting up a National Competition then you wouldnt just use it on form from one season. History and success would also be included.
Including history, past success and current success i'd have:
Port Adelaide, Norwood, Sturt, Glenelg
Essendon, Hawthorn, Carlton, Collingwood
East Fremantle, West Perth, Swan Districts, East Perth
You would probably need to go 6 from Victoria, 3 from both SA and WA, and that leaves room to create one in both Sydney and Brisbane if there is room for 14 teams.
Eddie Woloschek
15 Nov 2002, 13:33
Good to see we are still having these arguments. Port would have been first choice in any national comp. If the SANFL ever had any cajones, they would have recognised this. It was the chip on the shoulder, parochial and provincial inferiority complex that gave birth to the Crows. And it was jealousy and self-interest on behalf of the other SANFL clubs that caused the Magpie and Power split.
Let's cast our mind back to the Port alternatives -
Sturt/Norwood - The logical option
Glenelg/South Adelaide - the southern option
Central/North/West/Loserville - the "hey, why not us option"
Max, Dougie, Leigh and Rosser are still spitting at their Tueesday night card games and their biggest fear is that PAFC will establish itself as the premier football force in SA and that the PAMFC will return to days of glory. Of course, if the Power win an AFL flag, they'll fly the "representing all SA people", which is a load of horse hockey.
Port represents Port. Jump on the bandwagon if you desire, but Port is for people who support the club, no matter where they live, not those dingbats who feel pride because the club lies within territory lines drawn by someone many years ago.
dreamkillers
15 Nov 2002, 16:47
What is really laughable is that most of you pap guys believe all this "CRAP"
Only so called "CRAP" I believe is that the Port Adelaide Football Club is the most successful club in the SANFL..........on that basis alone it had a right to be part of a national competition............
Originally posted by dreamkillers
Only so called "CRAP" I believe is that the Port Adelaide Football Club is the most successful club in the SANFL..........on that basis alone it had a right to be part of a national competition............
Don't see East Fremantle in the AFL.
PAfolwr
15 Nov 2002, 16:59
Keep coming up with examples and you may even manage to convince yourself if you persevere. ;)
dreamkillers
15 Nov 2002, 17:24
That's their problem not ours....................
Originally posted by Eddie Woloschek
Good to see we are still having these arguments. Port would have been first choice in any national comp. If the SANFL ever had any cajones, they would have recognised this. It was the chip on the shoulder, parochial and provincial inferiority complex that gave birth to the Crows. And it was jealousy and self-interest on behalf of the other SANFL clubs that caused the Magpie and Power split.
Let's cast our mind back to the Port alternatives -
Sturt/Norwood - The logical option
Glenelg/South Adelaide - the southern option
Central/North/West/Loserville - the "hey, why not us option"
Max, Dougie, Leigh and Rosser are still spitting at their Tueesday night card games and their biggest fear is that PAFC will establish itself as the premier football force in SA and that the PAMFC will return to days of glory. Of course, if the Power win an AFL flag, they'll fly the "representing all SA people", which is a load of horse hockey.
Port represents Port. Jump on the bandwagon if you desire, but Port is for people who support the club, no matter where they live, not those dingbats who feel pride because the club lies within territory lines drawn by someone many years ago.
WOW!!! not bad Eddie you would even make PortAdelaide1870 sit up & smile,
i'm glad you mentioned the if word when referring to the glory of winning an AFL flag because as of yet you have just managed to win a final let alone anything else,
But at least you do own up to the fact of a split between the Port Power & the Port Adelaide Magpies even if you do blame all & sundry in the state for it
It wasn't as you put it a chip on the shoulder blah blah by the other SANFL clubs that created the team for all of SA in the Adelaide Crows but the backstabbing & deceitfull lieing board of the PAFC in there attempt at joining the AFL through the basement door in 1990,
Still can't complain to much mate those flags in 97 & 98 brought a lot of joy to a hellava lot of South Ozzies, ;)
Only so called "CRAP" I believe is that the Port Adelaide Football Club is the most successful club in the SANFL
dk, are you agreeing or disagreeing in the use of the word "CRAP":confused:
koulagirl32
15 Nov 2002, 18:11
From 'We Will Rock You (http://www.queenonline.com/wewillrockyou)'
Galileo:
That was so beautiful! And such great reproduction from such a small unit! What does it mean?
Pop:
Isn't it obvious?
Galileo:
No.
Pop:
Is this the real life - is this just fantasy - caught in a landslide, no escape from reality....Queen predicted a time when music would all be Computer Recorded Anodyne Pop - C.R.A.P.
Galileo:
Crap!
Pop:
Yes! When the charts would be dominated by CRAP.
Scaramouche:
Is that what you think it means? You don't think it was just a load of pretentious old bollocks?
From 'We Will Rock You (http://www.queenonline.com/wewillrockyou)'
Galileo:
That was so beautiful! And such great reproduction from such a small unit! What does it mean?
Pop:
Isn't it obvious?
Galileo:
No.
Pop:
Is this the real life - is this just fantasy - caught in a landslide, no escape from reality....Queen predicted a time when music would all be Computer Recorded Anodyne Pop - C.R.A.P.
Galileo:
Crap!
Pop:
Yes! When the charts would be dominated by CRAP.
Scaramouche:
Is that what you think it means? You don't think it was just a load of pretentious old bollocks?
Now i know your smokin the maui wauie, ;)
koulagirl32
15 Nov 2002, 18:25
Now i know your smokin the maui wauie, ;)
Sure, whatever. You are entitled to your opinion, though you are a victim of a manufactured real life. I pity the CaCa's...
dreamkillers
15 Nov 2002, 18:39
It's not hard to confuse a cow...................been chewing the wrong type of grass today or did you mix up the tablets again..........
"CRAP" was your reference to our beliefs...........hopefully this is clear enough for you...........
The Port Adelaide Football Club is the most successful club in the SANFL..........on that basis alone it had a right to be part of a national competition............
:D
It's not hard to confuse a cow...................been chewing the wrong type of grass today or did you mix up the tablets again..........
Now there's no need to get personal dreamer,
dreamkillers
15 Nov 2002, 19:06
Well I thought it was pretty obvious what I meant the first time.......;)
Come on! If that's not the pot calling the kettle black. I've yet to see you join any thread without at least one personal jab somewhere. I suppose you don't insult other posters when you're on the Cows board but you're so often here that must be a rare occurence. Not that I can blame you, I've read a few threads there and I just managed to leave in time before my lunch came up.
Eddie Woloschek
16 Nov 2002, 06:51
Still can't complain to much mate those flags in 97 & 98 brought a lot of joy to a hellava lot of South Ozzies, ;)
Yes, probably the biggest thrill for Adelaide theatregoers since John Edmund dressed as a woman at Theatre 62 - but that's all in the past too.
Originally posted by mic59
Come on! If that's not the pot calling the kettle black. I've yet to see you join any thread without at least one personal jab somewhere. I suppose you don't insult other posters when you're on the Cows board but you're so often here that must be a rare occurence. Not that I can blame you, I've read a few threads there and I just managed to leave in time before my lunch came up.
I used to call a few of you guys a Pap h**d now & again untill i was put in to the moderater but that was about it nothing over the top mic59, but as you say i only jab don't believe in the king hit,
by the way i believe you have borrowed one of my fav sayings but that's ok to, :)
Originally posted by Eddie Woloschek
Yes, probably the biggest thrill for Adelaide theatregoers since John Edmund dressed as a woman at Theatre 62 - but that's all in the past too.
Eddie, you leave yourself wide open,;)
I take it you are a regular theatre goar yourself old son especially as you know all about a John Edmond dressing up as a female,, never heard of him myself but can you describe what she was wearing, :D
Grave Danger
16 Nov 2002, 12:11
Seeing how this thread has wandered off the topic somewhat, here's another tangent:
"The State Badge of South Australia was notified by a proclamation gazetted on the 14th January, 1904 which declared the Badge of the State to be a Piping Shrike. The bird in question is "Gymnorhina tibicen leuconota", the white-backed race of the Australian Magpie found in south eastern Australia, also known as the White-Backed Magpie."
Seems that Port Adelaide has long been The Team For All South Australians :D
PAfolwr
16 Nov 2002, 12:18
Seeing how this thread has wandered off the topic somewhat, here's another tangent:
"The State Badge of South Australia was notified by a proclamation gazetted on the 14th January, 1904 which declared the Badge of the State to be a Piping Shrike. The bird in question is "Gymnorhina tibicen leuconota", the white-backed race of the Australian Magpie found in south eastern Australia, also known as the White-Backed Magpie."
I don't see any lighting bolt on the South Australian flag. In any case I guess North Melbourne are the team for all Australians.
Port Adelaide 1870
16 Nov 2002, 15:00
Because the Port Power have borrowed the Port Magpies tradition, heritage & worst of all there sanfl premierships & refuse to hand them back!!!
The Port Adelaide Football Club borrowed ...what ?
tell me which cup , pennant, banner from 1870 until the Port Adelaide football club left the SANFL in 1997 has
Port Magpies Football Club inscribed, printed or embroided on it ??
not one..as the PAFC now the Power formerly of the SANFL as the Magpies won them...prior to leaving the SANFL..
The Port Magpies Football Club continues our tradition in the SANFL..
you are a sh*t stirrer !
PA1870;)
Port Adelaide 1870
16 Nov 2002, 15:03
Why should the SANFL reward a club that lied, stabbed it in the back & continued to smile at all & sundry as if butter wouldn't melt in there mouth,
Port in 91 !! think yourself fortunate you got in in 97,
not fortunate, but more Professional and totally deserving for everything we had given to the SANFL in honour and finances as well as prestige..
PA1870:D
You mean Norwood?
You could hardly base who should be in a "super league" on the basis of one year. No Carlton or Collingwood or Port, arguably 3 of the top 4 clubs in the land not in the "super league". Sorry your idea is a little too simplistic.
I take it you are a regular theatre goar yourself old son especially as you know all about a John Edmond dressing up as a female,, never heard of him myself but can you describe what she was wearing, :D
Talking about leaving yourself wide open....
Why so much interest in what a man dressed as a woman was wearing??
You crowboys take a particular fancy to the attire of cross dressers or something?
Eddie Woloschek
18 Nov 2002, 17:11
Not a Port guernsey, i can assure you.