View Full Version : Best batsman to watch
Mr. Blonde
14 Nov 2002, 15:00
If you could watch a whole days cricket and be guaranteed to see one player bat through the whole day, who would it be?
Strokeplay wise i'd watch Mark Waugh. He just made everything seem so easy.
Entertainment wise i'd watch Viv Richards. Love watching batsmen with a hint of arrogance and the skills to back it up.
I'd also love to watch Adam Gilchrist bat a whole day because at the rate he scores he'd probably finish the day on about 400.
catattack
14 Nov 2002, 18:15
Originally posted by Mr. Blonde
I'd also love to watch Adam Gilchrist bat a whole day because at the rate he scores he'd probably finish the day on about 400.
I enjoy watching Gilly bat. When he's hitting the ball well, he is the best batsman in the world to watch! The power he hits the ball with, and the amount of 4's and 6's he hits is great to watch!!
bunsen burner
14 Nov 2002, 18:49
I thought Richards was good. I thought Botham was good. But Gilly is better. (okay, maybe on par with Richards).
Darren Lehmann. Simply nothing better to watch than Boof at his blazing best, he simply rips bowlers apart.
Damien Martyn. He just makes it look so easy. It is very depressing to see him block the ball for four. He is just so relaxed and casual at the crease. I love watching him play and wish that I was as good a timer of the ball as he is. The same can be said for Mark Waugh.
Foxtrot
14 Nov 2002, 19:17
Going around at the moment,
Gilchrist (goes without saying)
Nathan Astle (or more specifically that innings v the Poms last year)
Chris Cairns (awesome clean hitter + fast scorer)
Sanath Jayasuriya (specifically that purple patch around the 96 world cup where he invented the first 15 over onslaught)
in days gone by
Viv (you don't get the nickname master blaster for defensive prods)
Gordon Grenidge (nearly as good as Viv to watch when on song)
Wayne Phillips (Blast from the past - my fave 80s oz cricketer and seemingly the only bloke capable of hitting the windies pace attack for six at the time*)
David Gower Combination of his laconic style and that goofy grin he always had
*the south aussie - not the victorian
;)
oh_my_hat
14 Nov 2002, 20:28
Sachin Tendulkar without a shadow of doubt.
Brett Li
14 Nov 2002, 20:44
Carl Hooper. Rather see a Hooper fifty than a ton from the next man. The guy is so laid back its unreal....
fugitive
14 Nov 2002, 20:57
I particularly liked watching WI opening pair of G. Greenidge & D. Haynes very entertaining...Mark Waugh has been the classiest of all Aussie batsmen.
at present I'm impressed with V. Sehwag (Indian Batsman) this guy has got some class.
Originally posted by Brett Li
Carl Hooper. Rather see a Hooper fifty than a ton from the next man. The guy is so laid back its unreal....
He would average 60+ if he put in 100%.
Adelaide Hawk
14 Nov 2002, 21:06
Barry Richards.
We never saw anywhere near enough of this marvellous player. His timing was incredible, easily the best batsman I have seen.
Unfortunately he only played 4 test matches but averaged around 75, but we saw him play for South Australia in 1970-71, making over 1500 runs, including 356 in Perth. He also played WSC and made a number of scores there.
I wish I could have seen a lot more of him ... damned Apartheid!!!
Originally posted by Brett Li
Thats because he doesn't make many centuries.
Briedis
14 Nov 2002, 21:39
I'm a big Mark Waugh fan, so I'll leave it at that.
I have big wraps for Chris Gayle from the West Indies as well. He will be a superstar.
I still think Viv was the best I've seen because I reckon he faced better bowling attacks than Gilly, Waugh or Sachin has had to face. Would have been interesting to see how Viv would have gone against that Windies attack of Holding, Garner, Marshall, Roberts, Croft etc...
Kenny_01
14 Nov 2002, 21:45
1. Gilchrist
2. Gilchrist
3. Gilchrist
Other than Gilly :), I like watching Ponting and Martyn bat.
I was a big fan of Mark Waugh as well.... oh and yes.... Dean Jones!
Originally posted by vergs
Damien Martyn. He just makes it look so easy. It is very depressing to see him block the ball for four. He is just so relaxed and casual at the crease. I love watching him play and wish that I was as good a timer of the ball as he is. The same can be said for Mark Waugh.
I agree totally his batting is beautiful to watch, on the tour to England last year although it wasn't pleasant watching Aussie batsmen run riot I didn't mind watching him.
His offside play is something else especially off the front foot.
You might get more spills & thrills with Gilchrist but his stroke play isn't as beautiful it's just a lot more savage.
I used to enjoy Vivy taking the bowlers on as well but like Gilchrist it wasn't exactly pretty it was nice & brutal though.
What I can never understand is commentators who rave about Asian cricketers playing 'wristy' strokes especially through the leg side & saying how attractive it is, I just don't see it.I don't find it asthetically pleasing to see blokes with both hands next to each other holding the bat as low down on the handle as they can.
Brett Li
14 Nov 2002, 23:02
Originally posted by fugitive
I particularly liked watching WI opening pair of G. Greenidge & D. Haynes very entertaining...Mark Waugh has been the classiest of all Aussie batsmen.
at present I'm impressed with V. Sehwag (Indian Batsman) this guy has got some class.
Yeah, like seeing Sehwag. He looks even classier than the little Master
eagleskickass
14 Nov 2002, 23:52
Im going to be original and say Gilchrist;)
Closely followed by Martyn
:cool:
Haggis McHaggis
15 Nov 2002, 00:34
Agree on Damien Martyn.. A few years back a mate came over from WA and I took him to the cricket at the gabba.. QLD did pretty average with the bat but our bowlers put us in the box seat. I was sitting there giving the boy a good rib about his team choking...
Enter Damien Martyn
Unbeaten on 88 I think it was he single handedly ripped the game from us and left me with 40 minutes of train cramped hell as I copped back my gloating 10x and then some.
And naturally Hayden.. his exploits of late are showing Australia what we QLDers have been loving since the day he took up the bat for us.
Gilly, Ryan Campbell, Brad Haddin, Chris Cairns, Tendulkar, Kallis,Pollock
This summer is one I've looked forward to for a long time... getting to see Lehmann and Gilchrist batting together in the middle order against an attack that isn't the most threatening.
Entertaining knocks by tailenders going the bash have always been among my favourites... Wayne Holdsworth, Don Nash, Wasim Akram, even throw in Merv Hughes and Pat Symcox.
Blokes who were very entertaining and could make big scores quickly, and could bat for ages without ever looking like getting out : Gordon Greenidge, Viv Richards, Sachin Tendulkar, Brian Lara and now Matty Hayden has joined that group. Richie Richardson and Chris Broad were probably my favourites though.
Comedy value : Alan Mullally, Bruce Reid, Narendra Hirwani, Devon Malcolm, Carl Rackemann.
For an entertaining batting 11 :
Broad
Greenidge
Richardson
Tendulkar
Richards
Gilchrist
Akram
Symcox
Hughes
Holdsworth
Mullally
TheMase
15 Nov 2002, 08:50
I will probably get laughed at for this.
But I used to love watching Michael Slater in form.
When he was in form, he could really do some damage, and he was very exciting to watch.
fugitive
15 Nov 2002, 08:57
Originally posted by TheMase
When he was in form, he could really do some damage, and he was very exciting to watch.
You're right to some extent he was clumsy at times but had the ability to clobber the bowlers with some unconventional shots:p
PrideofSA
15 Nov 2002, 10:21
Definitely
Gilchrist, Lehmann, Bevan (in a 1 day match) Hayden (as he seems to make heaps these days)
PrideofSA
15 Nov 2002, 10:23
Yeah same, I liked his style.
Wicked Lester
15 Nov 2002, 13:09
I can't believe no-one has said Greg Chappell - without doubt the most elegant batsman I have ever seen. 24 centruries from 87 test matches were more than useful also.
Viv Richards for his magnificence and arrogance.
I also thoroughly enjoyed Richie Richardson batting helmetless in a broad rimmed hat playing the pull shot or hooking like he was swatting flies. Perhaps not quite in the same class as the two above but great to watch.
Of the current players Tendulkar by a mile, Lara when in form, Sehwag looks good and of the current Aussies I enjoy watching all but Langer and the Captain, who can both be a bit scratchy.
I'm quite enjoying Michael Clarke's batting....the kid can play....
Martin Loves playign pretty damn well too
wagstaff
15 Nov 2002, 16:12
I hadn't seen Love play at first-class level before today, but he was superb to watch.
Never looked hurried, was stylish in his batting and always managed to find the gaps in the field.
Admittedly he was facing a hack attack, but he must be worth a look at the highest level soon.
Originally posted by Wicked Lester
I also thoroughly enjoyed Richie Richardson batting helmetless in a broad rimmed hat playing the pull shot or hooking like he was swatting flies. Perhaps not quite in the same class as the two above but great to watch.
Can't believe I forgot to mention RR, yeah he used to wear that Maroon hat didn't he & definitely tried to imitate parts of viv's game.
I remember he used to play this shot to the really pitched up slightly wide ball, where he'd go back with both feet together & play a FULL swing of the bat to smack it through the covers, it totally defied any coaching manual especially the MCC one.:D I saw him play it a bit in the West Indies & it was ok but unfortunately he tried the same shot on English pitches when the ball was swinging about & he will be the first to admit it didn't always come off.:(
The Rewboy
15 Nov 2002, 22:57
The one, the only, Gregory Richard John Matthews.
Who can forget when he bought up his maiden test century with a blazing six at the 'Gabba!!
Yeah, yeah!!
:eek:---------------------------------- :eek:
classicyds
16 Nov 2002, 10:16
I was only a kid..so maybe time has increased his prowess...but for mine VIV RICHARDS by a mile!!!
His arrogance, the way he walked around, the gum, the look, the amazing shots...he typified a player who was on top of the world and knew it!!
As a kid when Viv scored a duck, or got out cheaply it was like a whole country heaved a sigh of relief at the same time...he was SO punishing!!!
I have as an adult cryed watching Michael Bevan at the crease in tight onedayers....
..I remember someone (I think Rob Sitch saying) that next to Bevan in the dictionary should say a batsman who gets Australia out of trouble/ wins ondayers..something like that!!
I do also as a kid remember Ian Botham when he was in a "Vivi Richards' I can do whatever I want mood" being pretty awesome too.
At the moment, I'd like to see some Hayden/Langer form from their collective peak!!
Partridge
16 Nov 2002, 11:04
1. Brian Lara
2. Darren Lehmann
3. Ricky Ponting
Is it just me - or has everyone forgotten about Brian Lara???
His batting in the 1999 series against Australia was as good as I've ever seen, especially considering the quality of the attack he was facing. And very few batsmen make 82 ball test hundreds, even less against a strong attack like Australia's.
Lehmann to is fantastic, such effortless power - I like the arrogance in the way he doesn't move his feet also. Ponting too is terrific, all the shots, and unlike most batsmen these days he isn't afraid to play the hook shot.
For past players - Viv Richards. Still the greatest batsmen I've ever seen.
Richie Benaud
16 Nov 2002, 17:07
Back in my day, we marvelled at the the strokeplay of the great West Indian left hand batsman, Gary Sobers. Let me tell you, there's nothing worse for a spin bowler then watching a well pitched leg break on middle and off stump disappear back over your head for six.
For pure showmanship and ingenuity, one would have to say Zimbabwe's Doug Marillier. Disapppointed we didn't get to see him take on the Aussies again earlier this year, but maybe some later date.
roostersgal4eva
17 Nov 2002, 13:06
Agreed 100%
i like matty hayden, boof, gilly & brett lee - when they let go... boy! then there is sachin & lara out of the non-aussies.
as of the prevous - MARK WAUGH easally. he was poetry in motion - magesic, smooth, gracefull & ellegant
some people dont realise how quickly Ian Healy scored - i remember many games where he was 30 odd and in a flash he got to 50+. very good with the tail
fugitive
17 Nov 2002, 13:25
Originally posted by Partridge
1. Brian Lara
2. Darren Lehmann
3. Ricky Ponting
Is it just me - or has everyone forgotten about Brian Lara???
His batting in the 1999 series against Australia was as good as I've ever seen, especially considering the quality of the attack he was facing. And very few batsmen make 82 ball test hundreds, even less against a strong attack like Australia's.
Lehmann to is fantastic, such effortless power - I like the arrogance in the way he doesn't move his feet also. Ponting too is terrific, all the shots, and unlike most batsmen these days he isn't afraid to play the hook shot.
For past players - Viv Richards. Still the greatest batsmen I've ever seen.
Lara was a good player to watch not anymore...Darren Lehmann I'm not sure I haven't seen anything great about his batting only good shot he can play is probably the square cut...Ponting is aggressive but not necessarily a great player to watch....he does play the pull shot particularly well...but against good quality spin he can be made to look like a Joker:p
This would be my top five list just in terms of pure elegance of batting style:
1. S. Tendulkar
2. D. Martyn
3. M. Hayden
4. J. Kallis
5. V. Sehwag
:)
Originally posted by Richie Benaud
Back in my day, we marvelled at the the strokeplay of the great West Indian left hand batsman, Gary Sobers. Let me tell you, there's nothing worse for a spin bowler then watching a well pitched leg break on middle and off stump disappear back over your head for six.
Sobers - best batsman I've ever seen and player of the greatest innings I've ever seen, at MCG for Rest of the World. The six you're referring to was hit from Benaud's bowling at the MCG. It was a BACK-foot straight drive.
Greg Chappell - beautiful to watch, as was Mark Waugh.
Ponting - best bat in the team since his first test.
Ian Chappell - I'd have him or Alan Border batting to save my life.
Hayden and Gilchrist both do incredible violence to the ball.
Peter May and Colin Cowdery - both incredibly elegant and effortless players.
Doug Walters - not often remembered that in the same game Sobers made his 252, Dougie made a century in a session. Saw him play grade cricket in Sydney, before he made the test team. He also kept belting the ball over the sight screeen, only in his case it was off fast bowlers, off the front foot.
Neil Harvey - best left-hander I've seen, with the possible exception of Graeme Pollock. In that Rest of the World match, Pollock played a cover drive after merely leaning forward and placing his bat in front of the ball. Ball races to fence. Like Richards we didn't see enough of him
lamby29
17 Nov 2002, 14:30
When Brett Lee gets going, he is awesome. Who will forget what he did to Alan Donald towards the end of that ODI last year? I think he hit 27 runs off his over. But overall the best batsman to watch would be Mark Waugh at his best.
Glenn McGrath, nobody else makes being clean bowled look any easier. :p
For me it's Gilchrist, when he's on song he is awesome to watch.
davers11
17 Nov 2002, 16:24
How can anyone enjoy watching Kallis bat, he is the greatest leaver of the ball in world cricket, he also scores at snails pace.
Lara in full flight has to be the best.
Dean Jones, without a doubt.
Richie Benaud
18 Nov 2002, 10:30
Originally posted by skilts
Sobers - best batsman I've ever seen and player of the greatest innings I've ever seen, at MCG for Rest of the World. The six you're referring to was hit from Benaud's bowling at the MCG. It was a BACK-foot straight drive.
Strooth, don't remind me.
larrikin
19 Nov 2002, 01:15
I loved the batting style of Mr K J Hughes. Wasn't always as effective as it could've been but was always classy to look at.
London Dave
19 Nov 2002, 03:37
The folks who mentioned Richie Richardson are spot on, will never forget him getting stuck into Craig McDermott...sheer murder! I love batsmen who take up the challenge to hook the short stuff from quicks, a greater sight on a cricket field you cannot see.
Lara was fantastic to watch, simply because he scored so quickly, but didn't look like he was murdering you like Viv did. Sort of silent assasin type stuff.
Clive Lloyd was merciless, and I will mention Roy Fredericks for one fantastic innings, taking Lillee and Thommo apart in Perth when the two quicks were at the height of their powers....one of the great innings of all time.
Aussie wise, I'm glad Greg Chappell got a mention, he seems to be forgotten now when great cricketers are talked about, his record is secon to none (well, second to one, and we know who that is!)
Doug Walters was a great bat, and Gary Gilmour had a fantastic eye for hitting too.
Hard to say which English guys I liked, as I never enjoyed them taking runs off us, but Gower was very stylish, and my father reckons in his younger days, Boycott was a real dasher! (True!)
Lance Cairns will be remembered for his 5(or 6?) sixes at the MCG, but he could hit too.
Javed Miandad may have been a pain in the proverbial, but a great bat...Wasim Akram a great hitter too.
cjwalkley
19 Nov 2002, 11:12
Paul Nobes and Gary Watts!