View Full Version : Interesting Stats and Facts.

Stocka
18 Nov 2002, 14:57
According to records, in 126 games, Fitzroy never played against Footscray at the MCG!

What other interesting stats and facts do people have about the Roys?

Mobbenfuhrer
3 Jan 2003, 08:44
I was gonna say that this must be wrong, as I'd been at MCG watching Roys, and kid behind me had Scragger guernsey on.

But as I think back, I now remember ... it was against Melbourne. He was just there with a Melbourne mate.

(We PUMPED Melbourne that day. Let 'em come back a bit in the last quarter, but we pumped 'em)

Umm, other interesting facts? No, sorry, dunno any that aren't common knowledge ... like last playing coach v playing coach in grand final.

shiva25
3 Jan 2003, 08:52
Originally posted by Mobbenfuhrer
I was gonna say that this must be wrong, as I'd been at MCG watching Roys, and kid behind me had Scragger guernsey on.

But as I think back, I now remember ... it was against Melbourne. He was just there with a Melbourne mate.

(We PUMPED Melbourne that day. Let 'em come back a bit in the last quarter, but we pumped 'em)

Umm, other interesting facts? No, sorry, dunno any that aren't common knowledge ... like last playing coach v playing coach in grand final.

That game against Melbourne you mentioned wouldnt have been the last round of the 93 season would it ?
I seem to remember us thumping Melbourne in the first half and letting them come back a bit in the second half
I think we still won by 5 goals

Mobbenfuhrer
3 Jan 2003, 08:58
That was the one! Glorious sunny day for a belting, too!

BrainOfMorbius
3 Jan 2003, 11:44
Round 22 1993
Sun August 29
at the MCG
MELBOURNE 1. 2 2. 5 4. 8 11. 9. 75
FITZROY 4. 4 10. 8 14.11 14.14. 98
GOALS: Melb- Jakovich 3, Neitz 2, Campbell 2, G.Lovett, Kowal, Viney, Dyson.
Fitz- Wheildon 4, Dunstan 3, Lynch 2, Guard, Wynd, Sartori, Armstrong, Matthews.
BEST: Melb- Neitz, Viney, S.Febey, Kowal, Stynes, Lyon.
Fitz- Sartori (B.O.G.), Baldwin, Wynd, Dunstan, Hawking, Wheildon.
UMPIRES: Dore, Murnane.
CROWD: 22,605

Roys led by 51 at the main break and 63 at three-quarter time but let Melbourne kick 7 goals to nil in the last to run out winners by a mere 23 points. Disappointing, but neither club were in the running to make the finals so percentage wasn't an issue.

It was Fitzroy's fourth successive win (the others were Adelaide at Princes Park, Sydney at the SCG and Brisbane at Princes Park) and their 861st in total, it was also their ninth-last victory in the V/AFL and their last at the MCG.

Yippyio
3 Jan 2003, 23:43
That was also the day Wheildon was reported for shaking the Goal Post, as i remember he got a fine for his doings.

Mr Ripper
4 Jan 2003, 16:09
I reckon Lynchy wound up his Roys career copping a poke in the eye that day. Also recall Jimmy Wynd barrelling a torpy through from the 50m line to the Punt Rd. end. :eek:

Horace
4 Jan 2003, 17:05
My recollection is that that was the day that at the end of the game when the rest of the players came over to thank the fans in the Great Southern Stand, Lynch stood away from the rest and seemed reluctant to join in. I had a very bad feeling that he had at that stage made up his mind to leave and sure enough not long after he was gone.

That was a pivotal moment in Fitzroy's history in my view.

Fat Pizza
5 Jan 2003, 10:24
After defeating the 4 capital cities in the last 4 rounds, Fitzroy was in fine form for the lead-in to the finals. Unfortunately we weren't in them. With 10 wins from 20 games, that would probably be enough to gain a finals berth these days.

Doc claimed he wasn't shaking the goalpost, he was trying to climb it. ;)

Slax
5 Jan 2003, 12:15
Is that climb it or mount it?

shiva25
6 Jan 2003, 11:01
Originally posted by Horace
My recollection is that that was the day that at the end of the game when the rest of the players came over to thank the fans in the Great Southern Stand, Lynch stood away from the rest and seemed reluctant to join in. I had a very bad feeling that he had at that stage made up his mind to leave and sure enough not long after he was gone.

That was a pivotal moment in Fitzroy's history in my view.

Exactly right as i believed we had put together a pretty good side at the end of the 93 season We had some pretty good wins in the latter stages of that year and were very competitive but when i heard that Lynchy had gone a few weeks later i could sense we were going to be in trouble

Mobbenfuhrer
6 Jan 2003, 11:04
1993 was a decent year for us, and showed much more promise.

You know when yer walking alongside a creek, and you see all these sticks and leaves beside you and think 'yep well that's got to be solid' and step on to it and end up up to your knees in black water?

Yeah well you know what I'm getting at!

Horace
6 Jan 2003, 23:13
Yes Shiva25, I agree. Player wise we were not far away and it was after that game that I believe that Robert Shaw pleaded with the players to stick together for one last crack at reaching the finals.

I believe they were a genuine chance had they stuck together, but Lynch left and opened the floodgates.

I wonder what might have happened if they had have stuck together. Would we have survived in our own right? Would we have had a stronger hand to play in future merger negotiations? Would some other club have fallen by the wayside instead of us.

We will never know, but one thing I do know is that it hasn't got one bit better for me the loss of the Roys. And it now never will (especially when you see how differently now the AFL treats problem clubs like Carlton.)

I suspect by the tone of so many threads and comments on this board I am not Robinson Crusoe.

FitzroyRamone
7 Jan 2003, 07:11
1993 was one of my favorite years following Fitzroy. We had a lot of games decided by a goal or less (narrow wins over Carlton, Melbourne, North Melbourne & Adelaide, narrow losses against Adelaide, Essendon & Footscray), a terrible loss against a very ordinary Richmond side and our last ever 100 point + win, over the Bears.

1993 was definitely a cracker of a year for the mighty Roys!!!

shiva25
7 Jan 2003, 12:28
Originally posted by Horace
Yes Shiva25, I agree. Player wise we were not far away and it was after that game that I believe that Robert Shaw pleaded with the players to stick together for one last crack at reaching the finals.

I believe they were a genuine chance had they stuck together, but Lynch left and opened the floodgates.

I wonder what might have happened if they had have stuck together. Would we have survived in our own right? Would we have had a stronger hand to play in future merger negotiations? Would some other club have fallen by the wayside instead of us.

We will never know, but one thing I do know is that it hasn't got one bit better for me the loss of the Roys. And it now never will (especially when you see how differently now the AFL treats problem clubs like Carlton.)

I suspect by the tone of so many threads and comments on this board I am not Robinson Crusoe.

I cant help but think that had Lynchy had not left and the side had of stuck together for another year or 2 we may have made finals which could have put us in a stronger positon but like you said we will never know

Stocka
9 Jan 2003, 21:55
We should have won the flag in '93.

shiva25
10 Jan 2003, 07:48
Should have won it in 79,81 and especially 83

Mobbenfuhrer
10 Jan 2003, 08:22
and '89

Stocka
10 Jan 2003, 09:18
Although, we mustn't forget that for us as supporters, as the song suggests, Premiers we are, in every year. ;)

Carn the Roys!

Mobbenfuhrer
10 Jan 2003, 09:39
Yep, just barracking for the Roys feels like winning a premiership every day!

Horace
10 Jan 2003, 23:02
And doesn't the song on the official website just make your skin crawl. Takes you back to the wonderful sght of the boys running out through the banner. Without a doubt the best football song of the whole lot.