View Full Version : TV Is Southern Cross Ten Getting One HD?

BILC
9 Mar 2009, 11:59
anyone know what date they will get it or if they will be getting it at all??

Skeppersap
9 Mar 2009, 12:23
Doesnt look like it mate. Unfortuantely for us Canberrans!!!!!

Southern Cross is a two-bit operation and a disgrace.

**** FREEVIEW!

Kahuna
9 Mar 2009, 12:25
I get Southern Cross in country SA and apparently the OneHD is only for metro Adelaide. Not happy

Mr Eagle
9 Mar 2009, 12:31
Shock of shocks, Canberra may actually be getting it from day one! I know it's hard to believe, but read on...

http://www.mediaspy.info/report/2009/01/southern-cross-ten-to-carry-one-hd/

Now Media Spy is relatively reliable for such info, although there hasn't been any formal announcement. We can only cross our fingers I suppose...

(and of course we lose SC10HD, but that's delivered absolutely nothing lately!)

BILC
9 Mar 2009, 13:06
Shock of shocks, Canberra may actually be getting it from day one! I know it's hard to believe, but read on...

http://www.mediaspy.info/report/2009/01/southern-cross-ten-to-carry-one-hd/

Now Media Spy is relatively reliable for such info, although there hasn't been any formal announcement. We can only cross our fingers I suppose...

(and of course we lose SC10HD, but that's delivered absolutely nothing lately!)would it be the same for southern cross everywhere?

Mr Eagle
9 Mar 2009, 13:41
would it be the same for southern cross everywhere?

It may well be... but I don't care about the rest :D

BILC
9 Mar 2009, 13:47
It may well be... but I don't care about the rest :Di sure hope its for everywhere...has anyone got any info on this?

ChuckNorris
9 Mar 2009, 17:11
I know a guy that rang up TEN about their false advertising of the footy being on HD. Long story short, the lady said that we will be getting the HD channel around June IIRC, as opposed to metropolitan areas who get it in April.

But i sure hope Mr Eagle's article is correct!

Howard Littlejohn
10 Mar 2009, 20:52
I'll believe it when I see it. I was told by SC Ten here in Canberra that we would be getting the full HD channel with HD-only programmin as of the middle of last year.

Even now, all we get is the occasional simulcast, and none of TenHD's HD-only stuff. That's 18 months of almost pure promo loop.

Mr Eagle
10 Mar 2009, 22:24
Comments in this TV Tonight thread (http://www.tvtonight.com.au/2009/03/your-guide-to-one.html) suggest that our dreams may be about to shatter :(

Ruddeger07
15 Mar 2009, 07:55
Mid year on SC according to the latest story
http://www.tvtonight.com.au/2009/03/one-hd-sc10-foxtel-fess-up.html

Howard Littlejohn
15 Mar 2009, 09:56
No surprise. SC10 have had more than long enough, and in good economic circumstance, to get things together. There is nothing in their history to suggest they will do anything ever.
Even on that timeframe its going to be more than 12 months after promised. On SC10's record, this is not going to happen any time this year - or probably next.

PHX
15 Mar 2009, 23:32
No Tassie date launch at all?

You ****ing **** scumbags. :mad:

PHX
16 Mar 2009, 10:09
Phew. The quote has been clarrified. :thumbsu:

I'm happy IF it is mid-year but I wont hold my breath.

UPDATED 16 March: Greg Dodgson has qualified statements made in relation to SC10 owned markets (Aggregate Markets A, B, C, D) over markets that are shared with other companies (including Tasmania and Darwin). Contrary to earlier information there is a requirement to broadcast HD into Tasmania and Darwin, however they are not fully owned SC10 stations. This means Tasmanian and Darwin viewers WILL get ONE in HD on SC10 at the same time as other markets.

“I’m confident they’ll get them in the middle of the year like other viewers but we don’t fully own that signal,” said Dodgson.

SC10 also has no plans for its secondary digital channel.

“When we broadcast ONE HD in the middle of the year it will come out as HD. But we don’t have any plans yet with our SD2 channel.”

TV Tonight apologises for any confusion (particularly for Tassie & Darwin viewers!) in the ever-changing landscape that is digital television! Please note in order to avoid further confusion, previous comments relating to these markets will be deleted.

ausfatcat
14 Apr 2009, 15:49
Just saw a ad on tv for SC10 "one HD" soon

krusden
14 Apr 2009, 16:08
these launch dates are only up cause it was reported to the ACCC wasn't it?

BILC
15 Apr 2009, 19:44
Is there a date set?

Howard Littlejohn
15 Apr 2009, 20:24
Just saw a ad on tv for SC10 "one HD" soon
Just as TenHD was "coming soon" early last year and never arrived.

Waverley73
16 Apr 2009, 13:06
these launch dates are only up cause it was reported to the ACCC wasn't it?

What 'launch dates' are you talking about?

krusden
16 Apr 2009, 14:20
What 'launch dates' are you talking about?

the "coming soon" date ;)

borgsta2006
21 Apr 2009, 08:09
On SCHD in Newcastle, there is a caption which says ONE HD is coming soon. Inthe "coming months"

Wizard
21 Apr 2009, 09:50
Geez thats positive. We might get it in 6 months if we're lucky.

Waverley73
21 Apr 2009, 09:57
On SCHD in Newcastle, there is a caption which says ONE HD is coming soon. Inthe "coming months"

So they could actually mean 18 months seeing as they are talking months, and they are coming. Maybe 24 months. SC are shizenhousen...

borgsta2006
22 Apr 2009, 07:43
So they could actually mean 18 months seeing as they are talking months, and they are coming. Maybe 24 months. SC are shizenhousen...

LOL yeah!

BILC
27 May 2009, 18:12
Anyone got a date yet on the new channel for southern cross ten or any other information?

Mr T
27 May 2009, 18:44
Do anyone know when the official coming soon date is?

Bazzar
27 May 2009, 20:24
Southern Cross OneHD is sponsored by the Carlton Football Club -

Where Coming.

BILC
27 May 2009, 20:35
But alot like Carlton, not for a while

CF
27 May 2009, 20:37
I am betting after the end of the financial year.

Bazzar
27 May 2009, 21:30
BILC- Its pain in the bum. I split my time between Melbourne and Country Vic. OneHD is fantastic, and its not good enough country Victoria misses out. How hard can it be to turn the button on? Even tonight, the 1st qtr replay of Tiges and the Bummers in on… Lucky im in Melb:thumbsu:

JUBJUB
16 Jun 2009, 14:05
Update
Southern Cross adds One HD from July 2 (http://www.tvtonight.com.au/2009/06/southern-cross-adds-one-hd-from-july-2.html)

Wizard
16 Jun 2009, 14:16
About ****ing time.

Kahuna
16 Jun 2009, 15:06
Darwin, Central Australia and regional South Australia, which are digital areas, will still miss out on receiving ONE HD.

Great. :thumbsd:

Bazzar
16 Jun 2009, 16:34
And June 1st is the digital radio launch:thumbsu:

JUBJUB
16 Jun 2009, 18:54
And June 1st is the digital radio launch:thumbsu:

Er....June 1st has been and gone

Bazzar
16 Jun 2009, 20:20
Er....June 1st has been and gone

Sorry, just got back from a few weeks in Adelaide and its still May there. I should have said July:o

borgsta2006
16 Jun 2009, 20:56
Can't wait!!! July 2 yeah baby!!!

krusden
17 Jun 2009, 09:36
Update
Southern Cross adds One HD from July 2 (http://www.tvtonight.com.au/2009/06/southern-cross-adds-one-hd-from-july-2.html)

tassie viewers as well. Excellent.

BILC
17 Jun 2009, 20:20
Hell yeah, just saw the new banner on ten hd

OzBomber
17 Jun 2009, 20:27
LtD will be happy.

CF
17 Jun 2009, 21:40
About ****ing time.

what he said

Bazzar
17 Jun 2009, 22:41
Don’t get to excited, apart from the footy which we all get anyway on free to air, there is only One Week At a Time and Classic Boxing, the rest is shit. Poker is on now…. that’s crap. It isn’t a sport so WTF is it doing on

Financialpanther
17 Jun 2009, 22:48
Is it available on SD

that_dood
18 Jun 2009, 16:34
Is it available on SD

Yes. You will see the same channel just not in HD quality.

Wizard
18 Jun 2009, 16:46
So this is including Mildura/Sunraysia right?

JUBJUB
18 Jun 2009, 17:25
Yes. You will see the same channel just not in HD quality.

but some things shown on HD aren't on SD.In Victoria the footy on a saturday arvo is on HD but not on SD.

that_dood
18 Jun 2009, 17:55
but some things shown on HD aren't on SD.In Victoria the footy on a saturday arvo is on HD but not on SD.

The Footy is always shown first or at the same time as your primary channel i.e. Southern Cross so you won't miss anything.

Howard Littlejohn
18 Jun 2009, 22:24
Is it available on SD
According to tvtonight, no, Southern Cross will not be simulcasting One on an SD channel.
Whether that applies to TDT in Tassie is unclear, but they will also start on 2 July.

Mr Eagle
19 Jun 2009, 10:45
So this is including Mildura/Sunraysia right?

Possibly not... TV Tonight has the coverage maps linked in this article (http://www.tvtonight.com.au/2009/06/southern-cross-adds-one-hd-from-july-2.html).

Wizard
19 Jun 2009, 11:00
I have done some research this morning and it seems Ten in Mildura is run by WIN so we probably won't be getting it until about August as per earlier reports.

BILC
19 Jun 2009, 21:54
Pretty simple to find out if you will have it on July 2 just go to Ten HD and if the banner on the bottom says it will commence on 7pm July 2nd You will get it at 7 PM July 2nd!