View Full Version : Do you have a guernsey? If so, describe.

Mobbenfuhrer
16 Dec 2002, 07:49
Do yers have a Roys jumper?

I got mine in Canberra on the way to see that Bruce Stadium match. Haven't washed it since. Looks grouse.

I also have a Coburg-Fitzroy jumper I won in one of their raffles!

Slax
16 Dec 2002, 09:36
I have a jumper dating back to about 1990.

As such it is no longer a jumper but rather a tight body shirt which no longer fits properly. I also have a Coburg-Fitzroy jumper which does actually fit.

Mobbenfuhrer
16 Dec 2002, 13:33
I didn't know you got yourself a CFL jumper ... did you just buy it off the club, or otherwise, how'd you get it?

Levo
17 Dec 2002, 02:44
Yeah Mobben got a few got one of Gary Sidebottoms, Wildmans last guernsey, and Satoris (Rositos) last one, also got the one with the bar code down the side, the Tony White one.
Have also got one of the 100 years ones with shorts, long knickers socks etc and cap, autographed by Scotty Bamford, had three others all autographed by various players, and have one hanging up here in the UK.
Brad Boyds warm up top, and Piccione and Rombos shorts, and Paul Roos Lotto Top, from Hecron.

killer
18 Dec 2002, 13:17
I have a big thick woollen jumper with sleeves
and a afl-100 years badge on it.

useless in this weather.

also got a plastic one from ffc last year.

fitzmantle
21 Dec 2002, 02:45
I have a jumper going back to 1985 but it is a bit small. I also have a training jumper with Hardie Spicers on it. Funnily enough, today I wore my polo shirt with the quadrupal logo. It was the first time in a long time I walked down the road with a bit of pride?? I would love to get a new Roy jumper as the ones I have are a bit small

Mobbenfuhrer
3 Jan 2003, 09:17
Levo, as per usual, takes the prize! Do any of them still have frame around them? :D ;) :D ;)

killer, our only Northern Territory resident Roys fan on this board, obviously would have to have a woollen long sleeve, what with all that ice up there!

I love fitzmantle's collection! Contact the club for a new jumper, fitzmantle! (Mine is a bit tight around the midriff, now, too!)

shiva25
3 Jan 2003, 09:27
I have one dating back to 1986 with the big number 5 on it as Bernie Quinlan was my favourite player back then
Sadly there wernt many great players to wear the No 5 after Quinlan retired

Mobbenfuhrer
3 Jan 2003, 09:30
I'll tell Brockhurst you said that :D

(He'll come over and punch yer with his tatt)

How about Billy Mac! (or MacMuffin, as he became in later years)

shiva25
3 Jan 2003, 09:45
Originally posted by Mobbenfuhrer
I'll tell Brockhurst you said that :D

(He'll come over and punch yer with his tatt)

How about Billy Mac! (or MacMuffin, as he became in later years)

Sorry i forgot about those 2 greats of the game

Mobbenfuhrer
3 Jan 2003, 10:04
Hehe ... well I know they're not in the league of the great Superboot!

foreveralion
4 Jan 2003, 07:33
Heaps of jumpers. I wish I still had my very first from back in seventies , it was maroon and blue with a white plastic ffc, I may have been 4 at the time but my memory of getting that jumper is still vivid. I have great match worn jumper of gubby allan that is superb, I wonder how they fitted into those woolen jumpers, its like the shape of a corset. I have just got a 'new' jumper from the fitzroy footy club as they were in the 44 premiership. All roy boys should have one. Centenary jumpers , ahhhh I think I'll wear one to bed

FitzroyRamone
7 Jan 2003, 07:20
I have still got all of the jumpers I've ever owned. In order,
1975 - I got my first ever Fitzroy jumper for Christmas when I hwas nearly 6 months old. Featured number 7, worn at the time by my Mum's favorite, Warwick Irwin
1981 - next footy jumper with number 12 (Mick Conlan)
1983 - number 5 (Bernie)
1986 - number 9 (Bundy Rendall)
1990 - number 14 (Matty Armstrong)

Might be time to upgrade this year!

Mobbenfuhrer
7 Jan 2003, 07:42
We should have a guernsey meet, in the vein of those Charger club meets, where we all lob somewhere wearing a Roys jumper, and discuss the pros and cons of each.

Dr Pea P.I
11 Aug 2007, 05:25
Got a jumper from 95 with the number 5 on the back and Super Boots signature on the number. My dad still wears it - on special days like fathers day and my sister wears it (like a dress) to Brisbane games sometimes.

Broken
11 Aug 2007, 17:31
Got a few although nothing of the calibre of Levo.

One I inherited from the old man who got it in the early 80s and it's now covered in signatures and is in storage somewhere. Another I got in the mid 90s and wore it to death, but I've still got it. I've got a long sleeve burgandy, blue and gold jumper that I got from the guys who sold jumpers at the Whitten Oval.

My sister has the pre-season barber shop jumper also, which we're still battling each other for custody :D

axle
11 Aug 2007, 19:12
ive got a fitzroy jumper my brother was an emergency for them many years ago than he got injured and never got another go at it. pity he was a good footballer

lion_gooner
12 Aug 2007, 00:28
i have a few old roy boys jumpers around my house one signed by good ol superboot and their 1996 pre season jumper with all the signatures but have faded away quite a bit

Tim the Toolman
13 Aug 2007, 16:39
I have my original Renato Serafini one (No 10) from 1973 and I have had my kids wear it and they all complain that "it's itchy!"

I have got a normal one from 1992 that I still wear underneath a shirt at the Lions games that are outdoors and cold. No number on the back though and if I did, then I would've had Number 2 for Matty Dundas.

I've got Nigel Credlin's footy boots from 1996 though.

JDC!
14 Aug 2007, 23:42
What did the Coburg-Fitzroy jumper look like?

VietNam Saint
18 Aug 2007, 22:49
G'day Roys fans ,
I have a Roys jumper , it has a COA (for what thats worth) . Was your last game in Freo in 96 ?

This is "apparently" a jumper that was signed in the rooms by players after the last ever game . Originally sold at auction by the club . Its not framed . I must post some pics of it on here to get some opinions .

Mobbenfuhrer
20 Aug 2007, 11:21
What did the Coburg-Fitzroy jumper look like?

It was the training jumper with a lion on the front and the tyre tracks down the side. :) I won one in a raffle.

notting18
20 Aug 2007, 23:28
I have a long-sleeved one from 1995 - proudly bearing the Number 1 of Brad Boyd who has signed it around 4 times (he was my fave player by a long way).....too bad it is the size of a postage stamp as i was only a very small 8 year old at the time i would wear it.

doctordoc
13 Oct 2007, 17:09
I am proud to say i own 3

1. a tiny little kids long sleeved woolen one i got in 1995 when i was 4
2. an adult short sleeved woolen one from 1996
3. a lycra short sleeved large coburg fitzoy lions/1996 training guerney

By the way is there any difference between the Coburg Fitzroy Lions jumper from 2000 and the training jumpers fitzroy wore in 1996?

ReluctantLion
14 Oct 2007, 10:03
I've got a couple. Ones a long sleeve that I can barely fit into now. Must have shrunk:D

The other I bought before the round 8 game 1995 in an auction for Dougie Hawkins guernsey he wore for his 350th game that night. Was supposed to be one of the two he wore that night and is signed by him. But I didn't receive it for months after and so am unsure if it was the genuine article.

Edit- Don't reckon that was his 350th game anyway? Seen me coming :-)

kirbycarlisle
15 Oct 2007, 20:13
Have a old Maroon & Blue guernsey signed by Norm Johnstone and Kevin Wright that sits proudly framed in my loungeroom.

Spandex
21 Oct 2007, 07:30
I have a few but my favourite is my old Mick Conlan. Its faded. Ripped. Stained. And fits me like a 'man bra'.

Fitzroy44
23 Jul 2008, 00:45
Jeez, thought i might bump this thread up abit!

i own:
1996 Chris Johnsons Pre Season jumper, the one he wore!
1996 nick carter ( bright future cut short ) the one he wore
1996 Pre Season, first of the silky kind.

what can i say, i have a soft spot for the 95/96 pre seasons.

1996 centenary jumper Brand New with tags

1992 Jumper, with the old QUIT Patch.

If anyone can help me out with one of the 1996 Centenary Celebration Round jumpers, please PM me. money is no object. i went to buy one in 96 but they'd sold out. spent so long looking!

royboy2
23 Jul 2008, 14:36
I have a pre 1992 jumper which i cut the sleeves off with the 8 of Jimmy Wynd on the back, he gave me his boots one day in the rooms at PP and was my favourite since.

I also have a proper sleeveles one I got in 1992 not sure where from, with the Quit logo but the AFL logo has been removed (dosen't take a genius to work out why)

Roy Fitzlion
23 Jul 2008, 15:37
Jeez, thought i might bump this thread up abit!

Ok, Fitzroy44, here's my collection:

1. A circa 2007 Brisbane heritage (Fitzroy 96) jumper from last year with all the players signatures & COA (including Chris Johnson).
2. A 1996 Centenary jumper, with logos, centenary badge, tags, etc.
3. An old woollen jumper in mint cond. circa 1988.
4. An old woollen jumper circa 1978 with the little lion logo on the left breast. Still holding together by the barest of threads.
5. Gerry McCarthy's old jumper, with no. 23 on the back (circa 1977/8?). I think it was left at training at the Junction oval one winters night and it mysteriously came home with me!!

All very precious!!:):thumbsu:

OldLion
23 Jul 2008, 15:51
Have a old Maroon & Blue guernsey signed by Norm Johnstone and Kevin Wright that sits proudly framed in my loungeroom.Great get !!!

Robroy
23 Jul 2008, 23:03
Yeah, got a few! All long-sleeved; 1967 style with Number 1, 1975 with Number 5, 1978 with Number 24, 1980 with Number 7, 1981 with Number 9, 1985 with Number 1 and a 1992 with Number 1. All jumpers with correct logos and emblems. Most I still have, the rest are in the family.:o

kirbycarlisle
25 Jul 2008, 20:01
Great get !!!

Thanks, a good get, but could have been a huge get, as on the night it was signed, Alan Ruthven was going to be in attendance, but was ill and did not attend.

Also have a
(1) Long Sleeve 1996 guernsey No 28 from the Roys Long Sleeve club set signed by Jarrod Molloy, John Barker & Bob Henderson

(2) 1996 Centenary logo last season guernsey, never worn, other than my mates wife one night when full of squirt.

(3) 1992ish Roys, Blue training jumper with gold lion No30, got it from Dizzy O'Connell.

(4) A jumper back when the Blue Yoke was much larger, as someone said prior would fit me like a bra now:)

(5) Also have a long sleeve old Blue Maroon white logo jumper purchased from fitzroyfc.com.au

Fat Pizza
26 Jul 2008, 10:08
I have a pre 1992 jumper which i cut the sleeves off with the 8 of Jimmy Wynd on the back, he gave me his boots one day in the rooms at PP and was my favourite since.

Sadly, Fitzroy gave Jim the boot a few years later.

Robroy
27 Jul 2008, 11:35
Not for the first time either!(Then again, he made his way back before.):o

kirbycarlisle
27 Jul 2008, 12:17

Great player for the Roy's always gave 100% and tough as nails.

http://i21.ebayimg.com/05/i/000/fa/78/2266_1.JPG

Fat Pizza
28 Jul 2008, 09:51
Great player for the Roy's always gave 100% and tough as nails.

http://i21.ebayimg.com/05/i/000/fa/78/2266_1.JPG
He was an electrician & did some work at my house. He had to postpone it for about a month, as he couldn't lift his arms up over his head due to footy injuries. However he didn't miss a match during that time. He couldn't go for any overhead marks, but no-one watching would have realised he was injured.

Fitzroy44
28 Jul 2008, 19:59
i have 2 1996 Match Worn pre season jumpers;
Nick carters #30
Chris Johnsons #2

sad really, couldnt afford new jumpers so they just sewed the Centenary logo on and took the 95 off. you can still see the outline of where it was. got Chris Johnson to sign his old jumper on friday at training, he was shocked that i wanted his signiture.

1996 Centenary jumper bought off ebay, never worn. was brand new in the packet ( thanks shane )

and a 1992 one with the old QUIT patch. swapped it for a 1995 Footscray jumper, what a trade.

2 of the Old bomber jackets, with the yellow and red sleeves, blue body. very 1990's

i bought 12 pairs of Fitzroy style socks from the UK. you'd be surprised how hard they are to find around here.

i need a pair of Fitzroy shorts, if anyone is interested in a sale/trade, let me know!!!:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Tim the Toolman
29 Jul 2008, 12:58
He was an electrician & did some work at my house. He had to postpone it for about a month, as he couldn't lift his arms up over his head due to footy injuries. However he didn't miss a match during that time. He couldn't go for any overhead marks, but no-one watching would have realised he was injured.

He used to go out with my sister and I remember when I first started as a trainer and was giving him a massage after training he asked my name and sheepishly said "are you ....'s brother?" hoping I would reply in the negative and unfortunately for him didn't give him the answer he wanted! :D