View Full Version : post cricket in melb
mugsyman
16 Dec 2002, 09:30
To all you cricket goers in Melbourne, the cricket led up to its spectacular self.
Did ne1 here hapen to go and sit in the lower level of the southern stand(around Bay 10 or 11). I have a new fave player, Ronnie Irani, i loved how the chants from the crowd changed from, "u r a ****a" into, "u are a legend".
He was alot better then some of the no-personality players
(aka Michael Bevan).
Near the end when no1 would do the mexican wave, every1 just threw sh1t in the air, it was soo much fun, and i dont think the ACB should take that fun away from us.
To bring footy into this topic, i was actually surprised to see many bomber jumpers at the game.
Oh and if ne of u happened to c Rocky at the game and his sign, u will know why he, is a true legend.
Woah, thats a long message
mugsyman
16 Dec 2002, 09:31
ahhh this things blanks out the word: w a n k a
Yeah I was their in Bay 9 or 10. Irani killed it during Australias innings, I was suprised he didnt get a standing ovation when he came out to bat. Near the end everyone was throwing full huge bottles of soft drink in the air among other things. Their was at least 50 people evicted during that 10 or so minute period i reckon.
The police were tight as, some guy sitting in front of me blew up a ball and threw it, he's mate caught it and piffed it in the air, got caught and was kicked out. Some guy also got kicked out for just standing on his chair. Although I sneaked in some vodka so I cant really complain about the cops.
That "wheres Bob?" thing was a classic, so stupid you just had to join in. Pretty awesome sight watching a few thousand people waving their arms around.
mugsyman
16 Dec 2002, 10:20
yeh, but i got cut, i dont like the name bob,
i read that there was over 300 evictions, and that would have just been in the southern stand, thats quite impressive, and they said it is getting better
Originally posted by blueworms
That "wheres Bob?" thing was a classic, so stupid you just had to join in. Pretty awesome sight watching a few thousand people waving their arms around.
It was good 2 years ago, when the ad was actually on TV.
Crowd seemed to behave itself to an extent last night, although if at some point the one-dayers do get taken away from us, we can't say we don't understand why.
mugsyman
16 Dec 2002, 10:24
yeh the security didnt have their prioritys right, near the end every1 (including me) threw **** in the air, yet my friend got kicked out 4 standing on his chair, and this dude rocky got kicked out 4 having a sign saying "Darren Gough, Suck Me Off" with a drawing of: u guessed it; Darren Gough giving him head, whats up with they're system, obviously these cops hadn't got an eviction and wanted one, no matter what it was 4.
dr nick
16 Dec 2002, 15:18
Originally posted by mugsyman
Near the end when no1 would do the mexican wave, every1 just threw sh1t in the air, it was soo much fun, and i dont think the ACB should take that fun away from us.
hmmmm, and here i was wondering why there were threats to take one day cricket away from melbourne :confused:
Originally posted by nicko18
hmmmm, and here i was wondering why there were threats to take one day cricket away from melbourne :confused:
Spot on.
I went last night - the game was boring, the poms are just not up to our standard at the moment. the "rowdy" crowd were boring and unimaginative - come on try and come up with something different or funny or just try watching the game
dr nick
16 Dec 2002, 15:55
Originally posted by peejay
Spot on.
I went last night - the game was boring, the poms are just not up to our standard at the moment. the "rowdy" crowd were boring and unimaginative - come on try and come up with something different or funny or just try watching the game
my thoughts exactly.
i dont think people want to take their family to the cricket, only to have the wife and kids drenched in beer and meat pie after some "rowdy" behaviour that some people earlier in this thread believe they are entitled to.
mugsyman
17 Dec 2002, 21:20
As ive said b4 you can go to a tennis match and get enthralled in the game, or go to the cricket and just have a bit of fun, u make ur choice and we'll make ours.
Message edited for Language Violation
dr nick
17 Dec 2002, 21:47
actually arssehole, i didnt chuck nething in the air but the atmosphere was good, dont jump to fi\ukin conclusions. And alot of the things are very original and funny, cmon, u gotta admit, some of Irani's antics were pretty funny, so was the sign "Darren Gough, suck me off"
As ive said b4 you can go to a tennis match and get enthralled in the game, or go to the cricket and just have a bit of fun, u make ur choice and we'll make ours.
firstly motormouth, you implied that you chucked stuff in the air by saying everyone did. secondly though no-one suggested other than yourself that you threw stuff in the air.
and as for irani's antics... no-one for a minute is saying there is anything wrong with that, but i think people tend to draw a line when half filled beer cups and other rubbish go up with the mexican wave. if thats your idea of fun, perhaps you belong in a zoo.
mugsyman
18 Dec 2002, 12:46
everyone(most people) i joined in the wave, but didn't chuck stuff, and ut was fun compared to the boring cricket match, and if you think its abnormal, then you had about a 1000 other people abnormal as well
Nige_Bix
18 Dec 2002, 12:55
everyone(most people) i joined in the wave, but didn't chuck stuff, and ut was fun compared to the boring cricket match, and if you think its abnormal, then you had about a 1000 other people abnormal as well
If you're a real cricket lover you'd never really say that cricket was boring because the bat v ball contest is always there which is what makes the game great!
It p##### me off that yahoos have to go to the cricket for different reasons than simply to enjoy the contest and appreciate the game.
dzm
mugsyman
18 Dec 2002, 16:01
me and many others, were enthralled in the cricket, until the game was blown out of preporotion, its not the game that bores us, its the lack of competitism. When Aus. set a total of 300+, and we have our opponent about 2 or 3 for 50 after 19 overs, most people know the games over, and although we watch the rest, it just doesn't have the same effect
dr nick
18 Dec 2002, 17:20
me and many others, were enthralled in the cricket, until the game was blown out of preporotion, its not the game that bores us, its the lack of competitism. When Aus. set a total of 300+, and we have our opponent about 2 or 3 for 50 after 19 overs, most people know the games over, and although we watch the rest, it just doesn't have the same effect
theyve got names for people like you.
theatre goers
mugsyman
18 Dec 2002, 18:37
and whys that?