View Full Version : ODI and T20 Squads Announced for VB One Day Tour Of South Africa, March - April, 2009.
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
12 Mar 2009, 14:16
ODI Squad
Ricky Ponting (c) TAS
Michael Clark (vc) NSW
Nathan Bracken NSW
Callum Ferguson SA
Brett Geeves TAS
Brad Haddin NSW
Nathan Hauritz NSW
James Hopes QLD
David Hussey VIC
Michael Hussey WA
Mitchell Johnson WA
Ben Laughlin QLD
Adam Voges WA
Cameron White VIC
David Warner NSW *
Shane Harwood VIC *
Warner and Harwood selected for 20/20 matchs and will return home afterwards.
http://www.cricket.com.au/default.aspx?s=news-display&id=15765
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
12 Mar 2009, 14:19
Both Ben Hilfenhaus and Peter Siddle are being rested from the South African one-day series as part of their workload management to prepare for their possible inclusion in key upcoming events which include the World Twenty20 and the Ashes.”
“With this of course comes opportunity. Brett Geeves performed well in the Top End Series against Bangladesh for Australia and has continued to perform well domestically. In addition to his bowling he is a potentially explosive batsmen and fielder and adds to the versatility of the one day side. It is a well deserved opportunity for Brett.
“We also take the opportunity to introduce Ben Laughlin to Australian cricket. Ben has had an extremely good summer for Queensland and was instrumental in their one-day final victory. Ben will add to the versatility of the Australian bowling line up as we continue to look at options progressing forward to the 2011 World Cup.
Really rate Ben Laughlin as a cricketer, have been watching him closely for Queensland he gives it his all and is clearly very proud to play for his state.
But he's not playing for his state, he's playing for Queensland.
:p
wotdoiput
12 Mar 2009, 14:43
Not a a bad squad. Really glad to see Laughlin given a go.. has been a star at FRC level.
Ruddeger07
12 Mar 2009, 14:57
Why isn't Johnson being rested along with Hilfenhaus and Siddle?
damochandler
12 Mar 2009, 15:01
why even bother selecting warner at all. he isnt any good. fair dinkum
damochandler
12 Mar 2009, 15:03
he will be a bolter for the ashes i reckon. forget about brett lee
Cousin Jed
12 Mar 2009, 15:31
Laughlin is a specialist one day bowler at this stage of his career.
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
12 Mar 2009, 16:06
The rest of the article states that Siddle and Hilfenhaus are being rested because they had serious injuries during 2008 and their workload is being managed.
Laughlin is a specialist proud Queenslander atm.
eth-dog
12 Mar 2009, 16:37
f---, how does Warner get a game and Bob Quiney doesn't?
grizzlym
12 Mar 2009, 16:37
No Phillip Hughes is a bit of a surprise.
BOMBERSG8
12 Mar 2009, 16:38
good team abit surpised that Dirk didnt a game in the T20 was great in KFC. I would have rested johnson and played Dirk or Harwood
Hauritz is the best spinner we can pick for ODIs?! Really?!
pinkus maximus
12 Mar 2009, 16:46
How long ago did Marsh do his hammy? 6 weeks? Must have been a good tear
Cousin Jed
12 Mar 2009, 16:47
“It was not considered appropriate to rush Shaun Marsh back into one-day cricket for Australia. Shaun is recovering from a significant hamstring injury. He is recovering well, but further testing of hamstring strength is being undertaken and he has not been match tested at all. We would expect Shaun to be available for selection in the Pakistan one-day series.
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
12 Mar 2009, 16:52
Yeah but i think his had a history of hamstring tears as well rather then it just being a one-off.
aussie1st
12 Mar 2009, 16:55
Can't wait to see how Laughlin goes at the next level. Geeves has been alright, SA will give him a much better test than Bangladesh.
Tait's injured is he? I haven't been following him, anyone know?
Why isn't Johnson being rested along with Hilfenhaus and Siddle?
Very good question.
why even bother selecting warner at all. he isnt any good. fair dinkum
They see him as our T20 opener only. I think he's still worth playing in the 20/20s for now.
Would've loved to see Hughes play, I don't get it. I guess they'll open with Haddin and Hopes?
Hauritz is the best spinner we can pick for ODIs?! Really?!
Agree, we've got to use these meaningless series to explore our spin bowling options. I'd prefer Heal to Hauritz.
Blue Dimension
12 Mar 2009, 17:53
That side will get trounced like they did here in Australia. No where near enough quality to challenge South Africa. It's a far cry from the one day teams we were playing a year ago.
Shane Harwood was almost looking to call it quits this season, was going to play for Melton Centrals, and here he is getting a gig for Aus...funny how things work out.
damochandler
12 Mar 2009, 19:17
Tait's injured is he? I haven't been following him, anyone know?
Very good question.
They see him as our T20 opener only. I think he's still worth playing in the 20/20s for now.
Would've loved to see Hughes play, I don't get it. I guess they'll open with Haddin and Hopes?
Agree, we've got to use these meaningless series to explore our spin bowling options. I'd prefer Heal to Hauritz.
how many more fails do you see before they finally realise he is over hyped. by the looks of the selectors on listen to the hype
bombersno1
12 Mar 2009, 20:08
Decent squad. I do feel Dan Harris is a bit stiff to miss out, at least in 20/20 cricket. If Johnson gets injured I swear I'll shoot someone..play Bollinger or whatever..they are only ODI's and 20/20 matches
maybe Johnson is one of those bowlers who needs the heavy workload? we all saw how he bowled in the recent ODI series after his forced layoff.
bombersno1
12 Mar 2009, 20:23
There is a Pakistan tour (in Dubai- unless they have already "secretly" made a decision not to go already) before the Ashes..the Ashes are 4 months away..a bit of rest here is a good thing..especially for the one guy who we would be stuffed without!
wotdoiput
12 Mar 2009, 20:45
how many more fails do you see before they finally realise he is over hyped. by the looks of the selectors on listen to the hype
Yeah his average of 39.66 and strike rate of 170 in the 20/20's he has played is trult 'shocking'... surely must be someone else :rolleyes:
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
12 Mar 2009, 20:50
Decent squad. I do feel Dan Harris is a bit stiff to miss out, at least in 20/20 cricket. If Johnson gets injured I swear I'll shoot someone..play Bollinger or whatever..they are only ODI's and 20/20 matches
I think Siddle and Hilfenhaus were rested because they are coming back from serious injuries sustained in 2008.
Im sure Johnson will be perodically rested during the ODI series and will be closely monitored.
The Great Barry Besanko
12 Mar 2009, 21:06
Huge surprise, especially with Marsh out. WTF?? If he can score that quick in Tests, surely can do the job in ODI. Bad decision.
Hopes does nothing for me. Glad to see Geeves and Laughlin get a go.
Punchy Bassett
12 Mar 2009, 22:42
Where the hell is Phillip Hughes? Please tell me they aren't going to do another Langer here.
Johnson#26
12 Mar 2009, 22:57
Harwood you superstar. Congratulations Stickers, well deserved.
damochandler
12 Mar 2009, 23:27
Yeah his average of 39.66 and strike rate of 170 in the 20/20's he has played is trult 'shocking'... surely must be someone else :rolleyes:
how has he gone since that 1 game at the mcg. hmmmm i wonder
choco123
13 Mar 2009, 03:52
Surprising to see Harwood in there at the age of 35, especially considering he won't even be playing the ODIs. I also would have liked to have seen Heal given a go over Hauritz.
courtjester
13 Mar 2009, 05:51
Selectors: get Phillip Hughes in all Australian squads now and stop f*#king around with different squads for tests, one-day and 20/20.
Play our best cricketers in all forms, especially when they're 20 years old and in white hot form.
(If you were a South African captain, would you prefer to see Hughes in the one-day side or not?)
Huge surprise, especially with Marsh out. WTF?? If he can score that quick in Tests, surely can do the job in ODI. Bad decision.
Michael Slater did the same thing as Hughes in tests-scoring hundreds at about the 70-75 strike rate, but was still overlooked for ODI's after 1997
Bombers_Forever
13 Mar 2009, 09:35
f---, how does Warner get a game and Bob Quiney doesn't?
Home state my friend - move to NSW and he is a certain starter. In saying that, give me Quiney anyday over one hit Warner.
Michael Slater did the same thing as Hughes in tests-scoring hundreds at about the 70-75 strike rate, but was still overlooked for ODI's after 1997
For whatever the reason, Slater was no good at the one-dayers. Never could carry over the same game from the test arena, tried to score too quickly and nearly always went out cheap.
The 747
14 Mar 2009, 09:59
Surprising to see Harwood in there at the age of 35, especially considering he won't even be playing the ODIs. I also would have liked to have seen Heal given a go over Hauritz.
Harwood is one of the best T20 bowlers in the country. He is picked because we have the T20 WC coming up in a couple of month and it seems he will be in that team if he does well here.
Won't play for Australia again after the WC though. Purely short term selection.
What sort of bowler is Laughlin? I know he is a quick but have never seen him bowl. Anyone seen him can fill us in? And what was wrong with Harris? He was pretty quick.
BigCat2
14 Mar 2009, 10:09
For those calling for Hughes, this is his ODD record:
18 innings
555 runs
Average 37
Strike rate 66
High score 68
He's been nowhere nearly as sensational there compared to his 4 day performances. Also that strike rate right now is worse than Katich's.
Obviously I'm not saying he can't improve that record (FWIW I think he will and play as opener for Australian ODIs in future) but it's not like his performances in the 50 over game so far have demanded his inclusion.
Cousin Jed
14 Mar 2009, 10:49
What sort of bowler is Laughlin? I know he is a quick but have never seen him bowl. Anyone seen him can fill us in? And what was wrong with Harris? He was pretty quick.
Excellent slower ball. Excellent yorker. Good bouncer. gets some inswing.
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
14 Mar 2009, 11:39
DOn't forget his a proud Queenslander and a tradie.
Blue Dimension
14 Mar 2009, 17:21
For those calling for Hughes, this is his ODD record:
18 innings
555 runs
Average 37
Strike rate 66
High score 68
He's been nowhere nearly as sensational there compared to his 4 day performances. Also that strike rate right now is worse than Katich's.
Obviously I'm not saying he can't improve that record (FWIW I think he will and play as opener for Australian ODIs in future) but it's not like his performances in the 50 over game so far have demanded his inclusion.
That's because of the role he's been asked to play. Batting next to Warner, all he's had to do is turn over the strike. Also plays an anchor role for NSW from the top. Few times also where NSW crumbled and he had to work hard for his runs.
More to it than meets the eye. Should be in the OD side without a doubt.
There's been a change to the ODI/T20 squad
In M.North
Out A.Voges
larrikin
17 Mar 2009, 13:40
There's been a change to the ODI/T20 squad
In M.North
Out A.Voges
Interesting that one - can't blame Voges for wanting to attend his own wedding I guess
http://www.watoday.com.au/sport/voges-pulls-up-stumps-for-wedding-20090317-90ie.html
Belnakor
17 Mar 2009, 14:00
soft.
Belnakor
17 Mar 2009, 14:02
DOn't forget his a proud Queenslander and a tradie.
so he must be really good to overcome such handicaps.
aussie1st
17 Mar 2009, 17:21
Can't blame Voges, interesting choice with North I would have liked another big hitter in there but congrats to North.
Blue Dimension
17 Mar 2009, 17:31
North should have been in the ODI squad from the get go. As for 'big hitters' who else is there around? I can't think of any apart from Warner.
BigCat2
17 Mar 2009, 18:24
Lee Carseldine would've been a worthy selection. Age probably worked against him though.
legend166
17 Mar 2009, 18:41
Am I missing something about Laughlin? I mean, I watched a bit of him in the Shield final, and he looked rubbish. Wouldn't put him above a Sydney 3rd grade after what I saw from him.
RooBuoy
17 Mar 2009, 20:10
Am I missing something about Laughlin? I mean, I watched a bit of him in the Shield final, and he looked rubbish. Wouldn't put him above a Sydney 3rd grade after what I saw from him.
I don't think you're missing anything.
He's very average.
Cousin Jed
17 Mar 2009, 20:42
http://content.cricinfo.com/australiandomestic/content/current/player/315623.html
One day cricket is not the same as 4 day cricket folks.
See Bracken, N.
aussie1st
18 Mar 2009, 08:19
North should have been in the ODI squad from the get go. As for 'big hitters' who else is there around? I can't think of any apart from Warner.
Quiney and Birt are two I would class in the big hitter role along with Warner.
Ill Chicken
18 Mar 2009, 18:20
soft.
But man, you only get married once in your life. Ha. I'm not sure what number of caps the ODI is up to, but the amount of people getting married weekly probably outnumbers the amount of caps that Australian Selectors give out in a decade. Poor decision Voges.
Blue Dimension
18 Mar 2009, 20:33
Quiney and Birt are two I would class in the big hitter role along with Warner.
Birt is too inconsistent and was hardly a shining light for Tasmania this season. Quiney I agree could have been an option but I think this ODI tour of South Africa may give the selectors more of an indication about players such as D.Hussey, Ferguson, Geeves, et al.
Birt is too inconsistent and was hardly a shining light for Tasmania this season.
He was good in the FRC though. 2nd highest run scorer for Tassie (behind Dighton) and 8th highest run scorer this season (behind Carseldine, Klinger, Rogers, Quiney, Ferguson, Dighton and Warner. Scored 385 runs @ 48.12 from 9 inngs. Highest score of 94, 4x 50s, strike rate of 117.73.
Underdog
19 Mar 2009, 01:22
But man, you only get married once in your life. Ha. I'm not sure what number of caps the ODI is up to, but the amount of people getting married weekly probably outnumbers the amount of caps that Australian Selectors give out in a decade. Poor decision Voges.
Voges already has a cap :confused:
In the ODI yes.He's only played 1 or 2 games,plus about another 2 or 3 T20 games.