View Full Version : Essendon vs North (Nab Challange)

Pages : [1] 2

DonMania#5
13 Mar 2009, 14:59
Final practice game is on tonight at Bendigo.

Essendon (from)
1. Jay Neagle
2. Ricky Dyson
4. Jobe Watson
5. Brent Stanton
6. Angus Monfries
7. Leroy Jetta
8. Jason Winderlich
11. David Zaharakis
13. Andrew Lovett
14. Sam Lonergan
15. Courtenay Dempsey
17. Jay Nash
18. Matthew Lloyd
19. David Hille
20. Henry Slattery
21. Hayden Skipworth
22. Michael Hurley
23. David Myers
25. Scott Lucas
28. Darcy Daniher
29. Alwyn Davey
30. Patrick Ryder
31. Dustin Fletcher
33. Adam McPhee
38. Jarrod Atkinson
39. Heath Hocking
42. Nathan Lovett-Murray
43. Bachar Houli
44. Tom Bellchambers

North Melbourne (from)
1. Hamish McIntosh
2. Ed Lower
3. Brady Rawlings
5. Sam Power
6. Lachlan Hansen
7. Adam Simpson
8. Daniel Wells
11. Michael Firrito
12. Lindsay Thomas
14. Gavin Urquhart
15. Ben Ross
16. Scott Thompson
17. Nathan Grima
18. Josh Smith
19. Jack Ziebell
20. Drew Petrie
21. Corey Jones
22. Todd Goldstein
24. Levi Greenwood
29. Brent Harvey
30. Daniel Pratt
31. David Hale
33. Matt Campbell
35. Benjamin Warren
36. Shannon Watt
38. Josh Gibson
39. Leigh Harding
42. Scott McMahon
44. Liam Anthony

Lance Uppercut
13 Mar 2009, 15:11
would be starting now-ish wouldn't it? Any live scores on EFC.Com? I'll have a Captain Cook

Lance Uppercut
13 Mar 2009, 15:12
would be starting now-ish wouldn't it? Any live scores on EFC.Com? I'll have a Captain Cook

yes Lance, that's correct; live scores on essendonfc.com from 4:30pm

Skeeta Olly
13 Mar 2009, 15:14
Can someone gives us (who don't have membership) updates on the game, it would be much appreciated.

(Starts 4:30)

DonMania#5
13 Mar 2009, 15:37
Hurley gets the first goal..

Vitalogy
13 Mar 2009, 15:38
Click here for lives scores:
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/matches/live.asp?round_no=-2

Mighty_bombers
13 Mar 2009, 15:38
Kangas 18 to Bomber 6

goal kickers

ESSENDON:

Hurley

KANGAROOS:

Campbell, Harding, Thomas

Skeeta Olly
13 Mar 2009, 15:39
Click here for lives scores:
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/matches/live.asp?round_no=-2

Cheers,

Heh, Hurley.

DonMania#5
13 Mar 2009, 15:42
We are getting smashed early on, 25 to 7..

Skeeta Olly
13 Mar 2009, 15:43
We are getting smashed early on, 25 to 7..

Spoke too soon. 31.

EDIT: Phew, Lloyd + Lonergan

Mighty_bombers
13 Mar 2009, 15:47
Bombers 19 to kangas 31

ESSENDON:
Hurley, Lonergan , Lloyd

KANGAROOS:
Campbell 2, Harding, Thomas, Harvey

__aria__
13 Mar 2009, 15:56
lets hope its a good game and theres no injuries

Mighty_bombers
13 Mar 2009, 15:58
Kanags 55 to bombers 25

ESSENDON:
Hurley, Lonergan, Lloyd 2

KANGAROOS:
Campbell 2, Thomas 2, Harding, Harvey, Smith, Hale, Anthony

retroparty
13 Mar 2009, 16:02
Sounds like a free flowing game.

Surely we can't be down by 30 points at quarter time. Skill level must be horrible.

Jaymin
13 Mar 2009, 16:17
Sounds like a free flowing game.

Surely we can't be down by 30 points at quarter time. Skill level must be horrible.

Apparently we are behind due to poor kicking for goal! We are 4.1?

Mighty_bombers
13 Mar 2009, 16:18
First points went to Norths when the dangerous Campbell received a handball in the square to kick an early goal. Essendon hit back one minute later when Hurley ran from defence to mark and kick a booming goal from 50m out.

But the Kangaroos were looking more dangerous with Harding kicking one from 50m and then the elusive Thomas finding space for his first.

The Bombers were moving the ball into their forward fifty but couldn’t convert while Campbell produced some magic for his second. When Harvey was left unchecked and booted his first the early warning bells were ringing.

Lonergan picked the Bombers off the canvas with a great one-handed mark 20m out to cut the margin before a typical leading mark and goal to Lloyd brought Essendon back into the game.

North hit back hard through a Smith goal before Hale took a strong mark and booted his first from 45m out.

The margin blew out past five goals when Anthony snapped after some good lead-up work by Thomas. It was Thomas again two minutes later kicking a goal off the ground to make the margin 37-points before Lloyd kicked from 50m for his second.

The Bombers had a number of chances to cut the margin but poor kicking at goal saw Essendon behind by 31-points at quarter time.

retroparty
13 Mar 2009, 16:19
Another goal to North and now they're 6 goals up.

Ludwig van Bertstare
13 Mar 2009, 16:20
Ess 4.1 25
NM 10.2 62

retroparty
13 Mar 2009, 16:25
WooHoo Hocking just kicked a goal!

HULK HOGAN
13 Mar 2009, 16:32
Hope lucas is goin ok?? is he definately playing?

Benno_900
13 Mar 2009, 16:34
Live stream: http://www.justin.tv/jackass444

Sound quality bit low, but better than nothing (thanks to Vitalogy). :thumbsu:

FandangoDingo
13 Mar 2009, 16:39
Live stream: http://www.justin.tv/jackass444

Sound quality bit low, but better than nothing (thanks to Vitalogy). :thumbsu:

Nice one! Thanks for the fix! :thumbsu:

retroparty
13 Mar 2009, 16:40
Half time Ess 46 NM 67.

Roos were missed heaps of chances in the 2nd, which allowed us to edge closer.

I hope we can win, although the bad start has hurt our chances a lot and the Roos have been pretty solid.

EDIT: Goal kickers...

ESSENDON:

Lloyd 2, Hurley, Lonergan, Hocking, Hille, Lovett

KANGAROOS:

Campbell 2, Thomas 2, Harding, Harvey, Smith, Hale, Anthony, Wells

Midnight Vultures
13 Mar 2009, 16:46
Have we got any other L's or H's playing to kick goals?

Jaymin
13 Mar 2009, 16:49
Have we got any other L's or H's playing to kick goals?

Houli? Lucas? Lovett-Murray

rusman
13 Mar 2009, 16:55
do the kangas have any more C, T, H, S, A and W's playing to kick goals?

:rolleyes: hehe

FandangoDingo
13 Mar 2009, 17:07
Dyson gets his first kick!

Does anyone know if Essendon are playing with only 22 players?

Henry Slattery rolled an ankle

retroparty
13 Mar 2009, 17:08
Here we go we're making a comeback.

Scored 2 goals to Norfs 1 in the 3rd Quarter and it sounds like we are playing a lot better than the first half.

Midnight Vultures
13 Mar 2009, 17:20
do the kangas have any more C, T, H, S, A and W's playing to kick goals?

:rolleyes: hehe

I'll have to check that out...

Glad you appreciate my terrible sense of humour :thumbsu:

JerryWexler
13 Mar 2009, 17:24
Number 44 for North is going to be a player.

FandangoDingo
13 Mar 2009, 17:27
Skipworth puts the Bombers in front!

Ludwig van Bertstare
13 Mar 2009, 17:28
Round 16, 2001 all over again!

Wahooti Fandango
13 Mar 2009, 17:28

One of the greatest games of all time. :thumbsu:

thebigboy
13 Mar 2009, 17:29
9.9 to 3.11 after Quater time.

Jonesy1987
13 Mar 2009, 17:40
Fletch with the 60 metre roost

Jaymin
Fletcher bombs one from outside 50 and sends it through post high!

9 points up.

FandangoDingo

i was there!!! :)

Let's hope their form doesn't suffer like it did after that match!

Jaymin
13 Mar 2009, 17:44
Kangaroos back in front by 4 points...

Jaymin
13 Mar 2009, 17:49
Kangas by 10 points.

Sounds like Lucas is really struggling from the commentary.

FandangoDingo
13 Mar 2009, 17:49
Quartermain should not be allowed to commentate on Essendon matches.

His hatred is so obvious.

bipolarbeaR
13 Mar 2009, 17:52
Down by 15 now.

FandangoDingo
13 Mar 2009, 17:53
Did Essendon follow through on the plan to only play with 22 players? That was this match, right??

Skeeta Olly
13 Mar 2009, 18:07
Lucas finished with a goal at least...

Big Blow Hard
13 Mar 2009, 18:08
Final Score?

The_Young_Gun
13 Mar 2009, 18:10
North 117... Bombers 100

The_Young_Gun
13 Mar 2009, 18:11
Final Scores

Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Score
ESS 4.0 7.4 13.9 15.10 100
Kang 9.1 10.7 12.12 17.15 117

Full Time
Score: KANGAROOS won by 17 points.
Venue: Bendigo

ESSENDON:
Lloyd 3, Stanton 2, Hurley, Lonergan, Hocking, Hille, Lovett, Nash, Davey, Skipworth, Fletcher, Lucas

KANGAROOS:
Campbell 2, Thomas 2, Hale 2, Harding 2, Harvey 2, Wells 2, Smith, Anthony, Petrie, Pratt, Lower

Merv
13 Mar 2009, 18:12
Quartermain should not be allowed to commentate on Essendon matches.

His hatred is so obvious.

????

TimeIsRunningOut
13 Mar 2009, 18:12
Anyone know why Myers didn't play?

Ludwig van Bertstare
13 Mar 2009, 18:13

Don't I look like a fool?

Big Blow Hard
13 Mar 2009, 18:15

They had a sale on. :p bad joke, sorry

dons_fan185
13 Mar 2009, 18:25

Apparently he did an he hurt himself. can't confirm yet

in the meantime im off to go cry in a corner somewhere and pray to anyone and everyone

Zvim
13 Mar 2009, 18:32

I think he was the one that twisted his ankle in the first quarter? Not 100% sure. I don't think it was too serious.

__aria__
13 Mar 2009, 18:32
was listening to the radio sounds like stanton was the best for you guys

skipworth took a trip down memory lane and carved us up (all of his 6 brownlow votes were against us)

daniher sounds like he did a good job on hale at times

dempsey good run out of defence

__aria__
13 Mar 2009, 18:35
i didnt hear myers mentioned but i think it was slattery who did the ankle

Zvim
13 Mar 2009, 18:35
Number 44 for North is going to be a player.

That is Liam Anthony, picked him up with a third round pick in the 2008 draft but he is 21 so more mature, had a good year for East Fremantle last year, bit of a ball magnet, runs hard all day. I would expect him to play a fair bit for us, good DT value. :p

Little Birdy
13 Mar 2009, 19:19
i didnt hear myers mentioned but i think it was slattery who did the ankle

Both suffered ankle injuries. Myers in the first 10 minutes and Slattery later in the game. :(

Wahooti Fandango
13 Mar 2009, 20:35
Apparently he did an he hurt himself. can't confirm yet

in the meantime im off to go cry in a corner somewhere and pray to anyone and everyone

I assume you would be praying to William James. ;)

warney7
13 Mar 2009, 21:00
So We lose yet another best 22 player for round 1, in Slattery?

Terrific.

Looks like it was an interesting game. Bounced back after we let them get away and then once we got up to them, we ran out of gas?

The_Young_Gun
13 Mar 2009, 21:18
So We lose yet another best 22 player for round 1, in Slattery?

Terrific.

Looks like it was an interesting game. Bounced back after we let them get away and then once we got up to them, we ran out of gas?

I doubt he'll be dearly missed...

Wanna B Hird
13 Mar 2009, 21:23
Agree but still dont like to see anyone injured, my main concern is Jay neagle, what happend??????:mad:

warney7
13 Mar 2009, 21:36

If it means NLM plays, then yes, I think he will be missed.

The_Young_Gun
13 Mar 2009, 21:40
Agree but still dont like to see anyone injured, my main concern is Jay neagle, what happend??????:mad:

Yeh, whats the deal-io???

Slattery isn't much of a loss, his better half (Tyson) is the typicle inclusion.:thumbsu:

I'm more concerned about Neagle though..

DaSawx
13 Mar 2009, 21:40
What has Slattery done wrong this pre-season exactly?

The_Young_Gun
13 Mar 2009, 21:42

Nothing.... Literally.

warney7
13 Mar 2009, 21:45
Nothing.... Literally.

??? :confused:

So what point are you trying to make if you agree he has done nothing wrong?

kelvin_sheedy
13 Mar 2009, 21:47
Slattery... meh. I wouldn't mind giving young Daniher a go in his position.

Daniher's got Slatts covered for pace and should be ok on the smaller guys. Give him some experience to be a Clement type defender.

Wahooti Fandango
13 Mar 2009, 21:56

Daniher's got Slatts covered for pace and should be ok on the smaller guys. Give him some experience to be a Clement type defender.

I would have to agree.

Mr Mosquito
13 Mar 2009, 22:00
Neagle? Did he play? If he did, and did not kick a goal it would be disappointing.

Daytripper

From what I've seen from Darcy so far he has given me no indication that he is at AFL standard yet.

And for the other poster about Tyson being the better Slattery - Please give me a spell.

ant555
Just a bit on the game first. Yet another slow start. They did not really look all that fired up at all and North got full use of the corridor through some lazy midfield zone. There was the odd good patches of play but it was not until the third quarter that they played some good footy.

Skills remain an issue but the use of the ball by foot was a heap better than last week. Most of the turnovers where from kicking to contests because there was a lack of run through the middle and players got themselves in trouble because of the lack of options to kick to.
The real problem here is we don’t work hard enough to create the second receiving option coming out of defence. This leads to us having to kick backwards or give off multiple handballs under pressure. People can say what they want about the game plan but it is this lack of work through the middle and second efforts to provide options which really hurts us. It leads to the stuffing around with the footy because there are limited long options to kick to.
Too many blokes simply walking through the middle of the ground or not making an effort to get to space and make an option. Has been a problem for a few years now.

The other problem we have is our zone is often not tight enough. Players in the midfield are happy to sit 5 or 6 meters off and concede a possession to their opponent when they push back rather than tightening the zone a little and cutting off the side ways option or some of the short kick options. There are a few guilty parties including Monfries, Watson, Stanton, Dyson, Nash, McPhee and Lovett.
We leak too many easy possessions through the middle because of it and every time North got a run on it was from a goal where they got an easy run through the middle.

As for the game itself it was a good hit out and despite the loss parts of the game where probably the best we have played this pre season.

To start off the guys from the squad of 29 who did not play where Jetta, Zaharakis, Lovett-Murray and Houli.

Neagle. Simply should not be selected for round one. Played behind too often. Lack of second efforts lead to his man running off and getting involved in the play. Has to play 4 or 5 weeks with Bendigo to try and get his match fitness up to anywhere near AFL standard.

Dyson. Was on the bench for the first quarter and was used after Watson went off. Solid game. Got his share of the ball and worked hard. Not too many stuff ups from what I can remember

Watson , was going ok until he got kneed in the back of the head in a marking contest.

Stanton, Usual good work on the offensive side. Definitely improved by the run last week. A lot less fumbles and a few of the marks stuck. Still ordinary defensive wise and was one of the culprits who let his man loose through the middle.

Monfries , same sort of Gus game. Got a few possessions but did not really have an effect on the game. Seems to end up as the lead up forward a lot rather than being a crumbing forward.

Winderlich , ok game but looked to be struggling to push to space a few times and his disposal was a bit scratchy. Keeps going though and got the extended hit out he needed.

Lovett , not as good as his previous few games. Did a few nice things here and there but could have worked a bit harder. Like Stanton he was guilty of concentration lapses in his defensive work.

Lonergan , good game. Went in hard all day.

Demspey , showed good dash again and used the footy heaps better this week. Put his body on the line a few times.

Nash , did not get a run until Myers went of injured. Nothing special. Kicked a good goal, turned a couple over. Usual stuff.

Lloyd , pretty good game. Worked hard up the ground and kicked a few goals.

Hille , we will be in serious trouble without this blokes effort around the ground. Very good again.

Slattery , was ok until he hurt his ankle going hard at a contest late in the second quarter.

Skipworth , very quiet first quarter. Was reasonably good after quarter time but not as good as his first couple of games.

Hurley , did some good stuff. Ran of his man to receive a handball and kick a good 50 meter goal. Reasonable in defence but had his moments of trouble. Ok game.

Myers, had a couple of kicks early but went off with an ankle injury.

Lucas , still looks very scratchy. Struggled to mark most of the night and just looks out of touch. Kept trying hard and had a reasonable hit out. His opponent ran off him a bit as well.

Daniher , tries hard but needs to slow down 5% at times. He attacks the contest or the ball carrier too hard and it leads him to running under the ball or past the player with the ball. Seems to be coming along ok. Has to watch his chip kicks as he can give them too much air.

Davey , better again this week. Looking good for round 1.

Ryder. Not a lot of the ball. Ok in defence but I wish he would concentrate on tightening up on his opponent a bit more. He gets lead to the ball way too often.

Fletcher , good game. Fletch is Fletch. He just keeps on keeping on. Kicked a great 60 meter goal.

McPhee , looked good up forward except he was slightly off line with his kicking. Looked his usual self in defence . He gives you nightmares under pressure. As usual you could not knock his work rate.

Atkinson , came burning out of defence a few times but lack of options to kick to stopped him in his tracks pretty quickly.

Hocking , played everywhere. Spent time on the wing or following Ben Ross early. Played a lot in defence in the second half on a few different guys. Kicked the footy a bit more today and took the game on a couple of times.
Made a couple of errors but was one of a few that seemed to be able to play hard man on man in defence.

Bellchambers, good effort in the ruck and is improving around the ground.

Big Blow Hard
13 Mar 2009, 22:15
Thanks Ant. Always good to hear from someone who actually saw the game, and is not just piecing things together and coming to wrong conclusions. Slattery being the prime example from your run down. seems like he was doing well until injured.

warney7
13 Mar 2009, 22:17
Nice run down ant.

Looks like Lonergan is going to be a consistent performer week in week out, and should poll well in our b&f, even if the umpires do overlook him because he's the one in and under.

Wahooti Fandango
13 Mar 2009, 22:26
Fletcher , good game. Fletch is Fletch. He just keeps on keeping on. Kicked a great 60 meter goal.

Cheers ant. Fletcher is a freak. He is the oldest player on the list and has every right to cruise through the pre-season, yet he puts in 100% all the time. I always admired Fletcher, but he is quickly becoming my favourite Bomber player of all time. An absolute gun. He will have played about 16 seasons at full-back by the end of this year. Amazing. :thumbsu:

FandangoDingo
13 Mar 2009, 22:38
????

I'm pretty sure it was Steve Quartermain commentating on the Ess V Kan game (the radio stream linked on page 2 of this thread). He has this smug tone to his voice and delights in Essendon failures. If possible, he sounds even more patronising since the hawks premiership!

He said was "working for nothing". Maybe it was a charity gig? I don't actually recall him identifying himself (I only heard the 2nd half), but I'm nearly certain it was him.

He's up (down?) there with Robert Walls for anti-Essendon bias, IMO.

Merv
13 Mar 2009, 22:46
I'm pretty sure it was Steve Quartermain commentating on the Ess V Kan game (the radio stream linked on page 2 of this thread). He has this smug tone to his voice and delights in Essendon failures. If possible, he sounds even more patronising since the hawks premiership!

He said was "working for nothing". Maybe it was a charity gig? I don't actually recall him identifying himself (I only heard the 2nd half), but I'm nearly certain it was him.

He's up (down?) there with Robert Walls for anti-Essendon bias, IMO.

Sorry mate, maybe you are letting your Quarters bias cloud you judgement :p, as it wasn't him

Merv
13 Mar 2009, 22:47
Thanks for the feedback Ant.

dave_27
13 Mar 2009, 22:48
cheers ant.

Kaiser Powser
13 Mar 2009, 22:52

Well aside from practically dumping us out in round 1, by giving away two deplorable frees to Brad Johnson in the last 10 minutes, one a 50 (when Johnson had marked 49 metres out) and the other a free in the goal square when we had 3 on 1. Let them back in the game when we had a 3 goal buffer.

He is a dud of the highest order, and we cannot expect our club to progress to the next step if players of his level are considered in the best 22.

If his absence means a chance for a kid to try his hand, then in my, cynical and often malicious, view it is a good thing for the long term.

yaco55
13 Mar 2009, 22:59
snip

Thanks for a comprehensive response.

Who were the opponents of the tall backs in Ryder, Fletcher and Hurley.

I noticed that North's key forwards didn't kick many goals and I would like Fletcher to match up on the third tall forward or even a medium sized forward.

And EFC also have Pears and Daniher in reserve.

Kaiser Powser
13 Mar 2009, 23:00
Cheers ant. Fletcher is a freak. He is the oldest player on the list and has every right to cruise through the pre-season, yet he puts in 100% all the time. I always admired Fletcher, but he is quickly becoming my favourite Bomber player of all time. An absolute gun. He will have played about 16 seasons at full-back by the end of this year. Amazing. :thumbsu:

It's amazing that he has already played 16 and this is his 17th and even then he is treating it like there is more to come.

Plus he is a father-son with two boys. Great stuff Fletch.:thumbsu:

efcboy
13 Mar 2009, 23:24
i went to the game today and IMO was the highest standard pre-season match i've seen this year - perfect conditions and good attacking football played with both clubs fielding strong line-ups. my player assessments:

Neagle - quiet but played most of game, ant is right that he needs to work on his fitness etc but i'd be pretty confident he'll be lining up in R1. early in last quarter he stretched to spoil and looked like cramp in the calf and came off - hopefully nothing worse.

Dyson - didn't get much game time in the 1st half - had some impact thru the mid in the 2nd half and was quite effective. With injuries to others he looks likely to be in for R1.

Gumby - didn't play so i doubt he'll be ready for R1 hence why neagle will stay in.

Watson - was dominating the clearances early before coming off with a gash to the head and not returning to the field.

Stanton - decent game thru the midfield. actually got some contested footy which was good to see.

Monfries - very quiet and pretty poor performance overall. often went to ground and when he had the opportunities he miskicked. will hold his spot most likely but would want to improve.

Jetta - didn't play - doubt he'll play R1.

Winderlich - not as effective as previous games but solid enough to stay in team for R1.

Lovett - another top performance from Lovett, often the link man and hit his targets most of the time. Clearly has been Essendon's in-form pre-season player.

Lonergan - rotated off the bench, didn't do a great deal but was solid enough to gain a midfield or bench spot for R1.

Dempsey - made a few errors in judgement again but made some decent spoils and provided some run from half-back/wing. will play R1.

Nash - didn't do much. Borderline R1 - possibly an emergency for mine.

Lloyd - great game up around CHF. Took some strong marks, led well, kicked a few goals and looks finely tuned ready to go R1.

Hille - Another good game - played most of last quarter at FF after Neagle went off. Copped a knock late in the game but he should be right.

H.Slattery - Was being regularly beaten early by the likes of lindsay thomas and campbell before doing ankle. Was on crutchers with his ankle iced. Don't know if his form warranted selection anyway but can't see him coming up for R1 in 16 days.

Skipworth - Was everywhere in the 2nd half after going off with the blood rule early in the game. Demanded the football throughout and looked like the general in Watson's absence. Certainty for R1 and could even start in midfield.

Hurley - terrible haircut! kicked a booming 60m goal about 5 minutes into game. Did some good things in defence and passed the ball quite well. The kid has a future. Definitely in the mix for R1 but maybe they will save his debut for a week later.

Myers - didn't see incident but must have done something to his foot. i was right on boundary line and he walked past with his foot/ankle wrapped up. didn't appear to be limping so didn't seem as serious as slatterys.

Lucas - again looked quite slow. His knee injury has slowed him down a bit. Did a few good things however and got a charity goal late in the game. If he doesn't pick up his pace he could be a liability (eg Neitz) - not willing to completely write him off just yet but he will need to improve a lot.

Daniher - looked quite good in defence spoiling well and making some good decisions disposal wise. He is very quick off the mark - possibly a chance to play on D.Motlop R1.

Davey - had more game time this week and played very well getting better as the game went on. Should be cherry ripe for R1.

Ryder - Solid game in defence - held his opponents quite well. Looked to play within himself a bit.

Fletcher - freak this bloke. At his age and size he was still chasing down blokes like Thomas and Campbell. Solid as a rock with some good spoils and kicks out of defence. His 60m goal in 3rd quarter was a ripper.

McPhee - played both defence and forward. Played both roles reasonably well. Still uncertain where his best role will be - probably shifted week to week depending on opposition and availability of guys like gumby etc.

Atkinson - Reasonable game in defence. With H.Slattery's demise could come under consideraton to play on Ebert or Motlop R1.

Hocking - excellent 1st half hitting targets well should see him in the team for R1. Spent a fair portion of 2nd half on bench but did enough.

Lovett-Murray - didn't get a game. Doubtful for R1 given this hitout was a rehearsal.

Houli - didn't get a game. Unsure if he has some sort of injury or is simply out of favour with coaches as played quite well last week. Due to him not being selected i'd have him doubtful in the 22 for R1.

Bellchambers - more than held his own in the ruck. Played quite well and is improving more and more each week. Could be Essendons version of Renouf this year.

My Best Players: Skipworth, Lovett, Lloyd, Stanton, Hille, Hocking, Dempsey.

efcboy
13 Mar 2009, 23:34
Thanks for a comprehensive response.

Who were the opponents of the tall backs in Ryder, Fletcher and Hurley.

I noticed that North's key forwards didn't kick many goals and I would like Fletcher to match up on the third tall forward or even a medium sized forward.

And EFC also have Pears and Daniher in reserve.

North rotated their forwards a fair bit - the key targets included Josh Smith, Petrie, Hale and Shannon Watt. Can't recall either Smith or Watt getting a possession up forward being comprehensively beaten (however smith did kick a goal so he obviously at least got one!). Hale caused the most trouble out of that bunch.

DaSawx
14 Mar 2009, 06:01
Well aside from practically dumping us out in round 1, by giving away two deplorable frees to Brad Johnson in the last 10 minutes, one a 50 (when Johnson had marked 49 metres out) and the other a free in the goal square when we had 3 on 1. Let them back in the game when we had a 3 goal buffer.

He is a dud of the highest order, and we cannot expect our club to progress to the next step if players of his level are considered in the best 22.

If his absence means a chance for a kid to try his hand, then in my, cynical and often malicious, view it is a good thing for the long term.

Is that it? One of those goals was his fault, the 50m penalty, in a contest he had won.

Since then he has been solid, he has a good defensive mindset and his poise on the ball has improved greatly.

mark73
14 Mar 2009, 07:28

He's still living off his fame of telling Jean-Claude Van Damme he better watch it!! for chatting up his partner.

Complete spanner.

Daytripper
14 Mar 2009, 07:31
Is that it? One of those goals was his fault, the 50m penalty, in a contest he had won.

Since then he has been solid, he has a good defensive mindset and his poise on the ball has improved greatly.

Sounds like we have our new Dyson/Laycock for the year. :rolleyes:

DaSawx
14 Mar 2009, 07:34

Yep.

Merv
14 Mar 2009, 08:27

Yep.

While the criticism of him may be over the top he also has done little at our club and makes the same stupid mistakes over and over. Surely you can admit there are doubts on him making it as a successful footballer.

Thanks for the review efcboy :thumbsu:

bipolarbeaR
14 Mar 2009, 08:37
From what I've seen from Darcy so far he has given me no indication that he is at AFL standard yet.

He puts in so much effort in a game, impresses me!

ant555
14 Mar 2009, 08:54
My Best Players: Skipworth, Lovett, Lloyd, Stanton, Hille, Hocking, Dempsey.

Apart from Lovett i agree. I thought that Lovett was not as good as he had been previously.
Despite Stantons defensive problems on the night he certainly found a bit of the ball and pushed pretty hard.

Merv
14 Mar 2009, 08:55
I have a question for either Ant or efcboy.

Were the disposal turnovers mainly due to the pressure placed on the player with the ball or lack of options or were they made with little to no pressure placed on them?

Thanks.

DaSawx
14 Mar 2009, 09:22
While the criticism of him may be over the top he also has done little at our club and makes the same stupid mistakes over and over. Surely you can admit there are doubts on him making it as a successful footballer.

Thanks for the review efcboy :thumbsu:

Over and over?

I would say he's continuing to become more consistent, sure he makes a mistake here and there which people remember and hang on to, I can't really see a huge doubt, he looked very solid the second half last year and played quite well the last few weeks.

He only needs to become a solid player, not a star, and he has lately he can hit targets and contribure, when the team plays badly they look for someone to blame and they have been a bit unfair on Henry imo, he didn't even play badly against Brad Johnson, a star of the game, in the first game of the year.

Merv
14 Mar 2009, 10:16
Over and over?

I would say he's continuing to become more consistent, sure he makes a mistake here and there which people remember and hang on to, I can't really see a huge doubt, he looked very solid the second half last year and played quite well the last few weeks.

He only needs to become a solid player, not a star, and he has lately he can hit targets and contribure, when the team plays badly they look for someone to blame and they have been a bit unfair on Henry imo, he didn't even play badly against Brad Johnson, a star of the game, in the first game of the year.

Yes, over and over.

He continues to give away stupid, unnecessary free kicks and it is one part of his game that hasn't improved.

I agree with you that the criticism of him is over the top but the point i was making, and we all agree that he will never be a star, is that he does warrant some of the criticism levelled at him, it is totally justified, although merciless slaying isn't.

My thoughts are not based on one game but his whole career to date and he doesn't bring a lot to the table and is usually well beaten by quality opponents.

He isn't fast, is poor overhead in spoiling situations, skills are average to poor (although they did improve last year), decision making is below average and that's just without thinking too hard about it.

He is a player that i believe the game with pass by pretty quickly and i would be surprised if he on an AFL list in 5 years.

Ben the Gooner
14 Mar 2009, 10:24

Yeh, whats the deal-io???

Slattery isn't much of a loss, his better half (Tyson) is the typicle inclusion.:thumbsu:

I'm more concerned about Neagle though..

Dear God... you want Tyson Slattery in our 22?

DaSawx
14 Mar 2009, 10:25
Yes, over and over.

He continues to give away stupid, unnecessary free kicks and it is one part of his game that hasn't improved.

He's been good since a couple against BJ, hardly giving away countless free kicks is it.

I agree with you that the criticism of him is over the top but the point i was making, and we all agree that he will never be a star, is that he does warrant some of the criticism levelled at him, it is totally justified, although merciless slaying isn't.

will have to disagree that what he gets is justified

My thoughts are not based on one game but his whole career to date and he doesn't bring a lot to the table and is usually well beaten by quality opponents.

Usually? Who has beaten him lately? Don't say Brad Johnson, he was lucky to get more than 1

He isn't fast, is poor overhead in spoiling situations, skills are average to poor (although they did improve last year), decision making is below average and that's just without thinking too hard about it.

Sorry, his skills and decision making are improving at a very good rate, his poise has been good and finding targets, better than Mr. Nash and co in the backline.

Agree his overhead spoiling could use some work.

Wahooti Fandango
14 Mar 2009, 10:25
He is at best a solid back up- player. The fact that he is in our starting 22 is an indication of how far we have to go before we become a serious threat to the top teams. I think this is harsh, but fair.

Merv
14 Mar 2009, 10:37
He's been good since a couple against BJ, hardly giving away countless free kicks is it.

As i said earlier my comments on him are based over his career and last year it was over and over and i don't have the stats for free kicks against Collingwood, but i do seem to remember 2 silly in the backs frees, but i stand to be corrected and i nor you didn't see the praccy match so how could we count that?

will have to disagree that what he gets is justified

I said SOME of it is justified not all.

Usually? Who has beaten him lately? Don't say Brad Johnson, he was lucky to get more than 1

Johnson beat him easily and i can't remember who he played on last week and have no idea about yesterday either.

Sorry, his skills and decision making are improving at a very good rate, his poise has been good and finding targets, better than Mr. Nash and co in the backline.

We haven't seen enough of him yet to make a call one way or the other for this season

Agree his overhead spoiling could use some work.

My reply

Lance Uppercut
14 Mar 2009, 11:16
so, all those Skipworth baggers... Roll call!

Anyone?

Anyone?

Bueller?

Bueller?

efcboy
14 Mar 2009, 11:24
I have a question for either Ant or efcboy.

Were the disposal turnovers mainly due to the pressure placed on the player with the ball or lack of options or were they made with little to no pressure placed on them?

Thanks.

the turnover rate was much improved from previous matches. however there were still quite a few - i couldn't pinpoint it to one thing though - probably a combination. north thru guys like firrito and rawlings were applying a lot of pressure but when looking forward for targets i don't think essendon's mids are being helped at all by neagle and lucas. both look slow at times with poor leads whilst well marked by opponent - due to this our mids 2nd guess themselves delaying movement and were often kicking to monfries as a leadup forward as he at least was getting a break on his opponent. however due to his size he was for the most part being spoiled regularly. essendon were clearly at their best when lloyd was being utilised - we really need gumbleton to come on quickly or otherwise mcphee will have to be used off half-forward. lucas - well documented already but he could really be our downfall this year.

Wahooti Fandango
14 Mar 2009, 12:08
so, all those Skipworth baggers... Roll call!

Anyone?

Anyone?

Bueller?

Bueller?

Classic scene from a classic movie.

0s-oGumvPz0

Too bad Ben Stein is a hardcore creationist.

kelvin_sheedy
14 Mar 2009, 13:10
Considering McVeigh and Welsh were missing and Watson was injured for most of the game then an 18 point loss is about where we are at.

Take 3 core senior players out and our second tier gets exposed.

Our pace and mobility up forward is a big concern though.