View Full Version : Preseason update from Realfooty

Andre
18 Dec 2002, 07:57
PORT ADELAIDE

Injury list
Damon White, broken ankle, to play mid-2003
Damien Hardwick, knee arthroscope, in full training post-Christmas
Brent Guerra, groin, in full training post-Christmas

Leanest: Michael Wilson (skinfold 39/7 sites)

Fastest: Michael Wilson, Kane Cornes

Most impressive pre-season: Michael Wilson missed all of 2002 with a knee injury, but leads most of the training so far.

Eye-catcher: Domenic Cassisi, a winger/mid-fielder from East Fremantle, played six games last year. Has impressed in all facets of this pre-season.

By the by: Key defender Stephen Pax man, who played only the latter part of last season after end-of-2001 knee surgery, is doing his first full pre-season in three years and looking good.

Rating: 7.5/10 (Andrew Russell, fitness coach)

Good to see with the exception of White at this point in time will have a full list come round 1 to choose from. I'm sure none of us are surprised Wilson is the fastest, leanest and leading most of the training. I doubt I'm the only one having a laugh at the comments on the main board that somehow we are going to go backwards from 2002.

Lets see from the end of season 2002 to the start of season 2003 we've offloaded Michael Stevens and gained Salopek, Pickett and (effectively) Wilson. Yep, we are stuffed. :)

The biggest laughs would have to come from those who say we are going to slide due to age yet rate Adelaide as a genuine threat for recruiting two injury prone players in their 30's!

Eago77
18 Dec 2002, 09:22
Originally posted by Andre
[B]PORT ADELAIDE

Injury list
Damon White, broken ankle, to play mid-2003
Damien Hardwick, knee arthroscope, in full training post-Christmas
Brent Guerra, groin, in full training post-Christmas

The Guru was going pretty well at Heaven the other night, didn't look to be troubled by any groin problems!

[B]Most impressive pre-season: Michael Wilson missed all of 2002 with a knee injury, but leads most of the training so far.

Eye-catcher: Domenic Cassisi, a winger/mid-fielder from East Fremantle, played six games last year. Has impressed in all facets of this pre-season.

Neither of these two "facts" should suprise anyone. Wilbur has been looking in fine form for the past few months and Dom should step up and play the majority of games next year IMO.

noddy
18 Dec 2002, 10:58
[B]PORT ADELAIDE

Good to see with the exception of White at this point in time will have a full list come round 1 to choose from. I'm sure none of us are surprised Wilson is the fastest, leanest and leading most of the training. I doubt I'm the only one having a laugh at the comments on the main board that somehow we are going to go backwards from 2002.

Lets see from the end of season 2002 to the start of season 2003 we've offloaded Michael Stevens and gained Salopek, Pickett and (effectively) Wilson. Yep, we are stuffed. :)

The biggest laughs would have to come from those who say we are going to slide due to age yet rate Adelaide as a genuine threat for recruiting two injury prone players in their 30's!

Best of luck to Michael Wilson & hope he has a great year he definately deserves it & i think all footy people would feel the same way,

Sorry mate but i think you are on a downward slope after 03 especially if you put up the same feeble attempt at finals pressure as you have in the last 2 years, probably smart to make Chocko a live member this year as i don't think he will be around as head coach after next year.

kaysee
18 Dec 2002, 10:58
[B]PORT ADELAIDE
... [snip]

Yep my thoughts exactly, but I couldn't be bothered replying to them.

Also people rating Brisbane top and us lower saying our window of opportunity is closing. I think Brisbane's would be closing before ours. Our window will be open for another 5 years minimum. The only area we need to shore up is our Key position defenders.

Oh well back to laughing :D

SKC

Paralowiepower
18 Dec 2002, 19:43
Power getting old and slow, turn it up. It was reported tonight ****ingCarey has already done a hamstring, a sign of things to come? :D

koulagirl22
18 Dec 2002, 21:11
Originally posted by Paralowiepower
Power getting old and slow, turn it up. It was reported tonight ****ingCarey has already done a hamstring, a sign of things to come? :D

I found it amusing on channel nine when the newsreader said "Carey has a slight hamstring". I looked at Mum and said 'Don't all humans have two hamstrings?' Proof that 'the King' is not all that he was cracked up to be...

Eago77
18 Dec 2002, 21:45

Don't know if the odd hamstring is a huge issue, i'd be more concern with some of the major joint areas he has had problems with such as his shoulders. He's one player (like Wanganeen) that has taken a lot of punishment over the years and his body is in a lot worse condition than many players his age.

Badger
19 Dec 2002, 10:40
'I'm Wayne Carey. Ten foot tall and bulletproof.'

TWANG!

That'll teach him for thinking he's invincible.

Eago77
19 Dec 2002, 11:33
Originally posted by Badger

TWANG!

I doubt he thinks himself to be "invincible", the events which have happened to him over the past two years show he is anything but invincible.

noddy
19 Dec 2002, 18:45
Originally posted by Badger

TWANG!

Bloody hell, you guys sure have a live one here,

rubberman
19 Dec 2002, 23:06
TWANG went Gary Ayres nerves as well! His major recruit showing his age.

Good to see Dom Cassisi coming good and showing promise(are you watching Koula) IMO we lack a wingman since Flash left, and that really is the position in our team that is left open for selection each week. Dom looks the goods from the little game time he's been given and if he keeps going could find himself regularly fiiling that position.

Please God give Wilbur a chance! After not playing for 18 months do you reckon he's eager? I cannot wait to see him play again.

Do you reckon the competition for places in the team is as hot as this weather? or even hotter?

Zombie
20 Dec 2002, 01:51
Originally posted by rubberman

Please God give Wilbur a chance! After not playing for 18 months do you reckon he's eager? I cannot wait to see him play again.

I went to one of Ports training sessions on Tuesday and Michael Wilson looks to have bulked up alot. He has slimmed down through the hips and legs which is a bonus but his upper body looks huge.

He will have a huge impact in the AFL next year.

Andre
20 Dec 2002, 10:09
Originally posted by Zombie
I went to one of Ports training sessions on Tuesday and Michael Wilson looks to have bulked up alot. He has slimmed down through the hips and legs which is a bonus but his upper body looks huge.

Bulked up, but remained the leanest and fastest. Now that's what every Port supporter wants to see. At this point worth putting $5 down on Wilbur for the brownlow. :)

Eago77
20 Dec 2002, 10:31
Originally posted by Zombie

He does look very much the athlete at this stage. He has been training his butt off for months now, lets hope his playing form can mirror his training effort, he deserves a great year.

dreamkillers
22 Dec 2002, 10:47
Originally posted by noddy
Sorry mate but i think you are on a downward slope after 03 especially if you put up the same feeble attempt at finals pressure as you have in the last 2 years, probably smart to make Chocko a live member this year as i don't think he will be around as head coach after next year.

Bloody hell, you guys sure have a live one here,

The comment at least was based on some reality..........unlike your earlier aging comment and negativity towards Chocco as a coach..............

Chocco's record looks a lot better than your coach if you want to compare and I'm sure you'll find our supporters are a lot happier with our coach than yours are going by what they have done to him and his family in the past.............

We still have one of the youngest lists in the comp and a good mix throughout the main playing group..............

As has been said many times before.........keep digging you may find a hole big enough to hide in............ :D

Paralowiepower
22 Dec 2002, 13:23
All the crows want for christmas is some supporters that know something about football :)

Eago77
22 Dec 2002, 13:28
All the crows want for christmas is some supporters that know something about football :)

Now that truely would be a Christmas miracle!