View Full Version : McGain is worse than Scott Muller
Bananayard
21 Mar 2009, 18:38
How can a guy who's played 20 first class matches at the age of 37 be picked for the national test side? If he averaged 20 with the ball than maybe but he averages 35! **** me!
Muller at least had something to back him getting picked. McGain defines the phrase, cant bowl, cant bat, cant field. He's ****ing hopeless.
A total embarrassment for this country that such a hack can get a baggy green. He and the selectors should feel ashamed.
alekswprfc
21 Mar 2009, 18:51
All the hype about him has made me feel sorry for him being on tour and all but not get a game, must be shattering, but 102 from 11 overs with two maidens, well **** me dead he should retire as soon as possible.
Mark my words, Shane Warne is going to be the first and last spin bowler Australia is EVER going to produce.
The 747
21 Mar 2009, 18:57
Lame thread.
Everyone is aware he bowled rubbish.
To judge a player on 10 overs however is extra stupid.
Further it is not an embarassment at all - he actually deserves his place as the best spinner we have, unlike the others we have picked lately. May not have been any good but he did deserve the selection if we picked a spinner.
Bananayard
21 Mar 2009, 19:11
Lame thread.
Everyone is aware he bowled rubbish.
To judge a player on 10 overs however is extra stupid.
Further it is not an embarassment at all - he actually deserves his place as the best spinner we have, unlike the others we have picked lately. May not have been any good but he did deserve the selection if we picked a spinner.
Not talking about his disguisting bowling figures. He's 37 FFS. Do you not get it? 37 with a first class average of 34 in 20 matches. Please justify him getting a baggy green cap.
If he was 25 I'd have no complaints considering we have no-one but when the guy is that old and has only had 1 or 2 domestic seasons then he shouldnt be anywhere near selection.
Total embarrassment.
The 747
21 Mar 2009, 19:17
Not talking about his disguisting bowling figures. He's 37 FFS. Do you not get it? 37 with a first class average of 34 in 20 matches. Please justify him getting a baggy green cap.
If he was 25 I'd have no complaints considering we have no-one but when the guy is that old and has only had 1 or 2 domestic seasons then he shouldnt be anywhere near selection.
Total embarrassment.
Because our other spinners average more than 44 and can barely get selected for first class cricket. We are picking them out of grade cricket.
So the hope was for McGain to be able to perform a role for a while as we desperately hunt for something resembling an international spinner.
Has been hopeless in this match so far but he is the best performed spinner in domestic cricket, therefore if we pick a spinner we pick him. :rolleyes:
red+black
21 Mar 2009, 19:21
So the hope was for McGain to be able to perform a role for a while as we desperately hunt for something resembling an international spinner.
Has been hopeless in this match so far but he is the best performed spinner in domestic cricket, therefore if we pick a spinner we pick him. :rolleyes:
Or we could just not choose a spinner at all.
Damn Victorian bias. Would have never got a game if he was from South Australia.
;)
aaronm46
21 Mar 2009, 19:37
Yay the first McGain hate thread, took longer then i expected
potatomasher
21 Mar 2009, 19:40
Mark my words, Shane Warne is going to be the first and last spin bowler Australia is EVER going to produce.
I recommend the use of the :p or ;) symbol after a post which is taking the piss.
robbo75
21 Mar 2009, 19:44
All the hype about him has made me feel sorry for him being on tour and all but not get a game, must be shattering, but 102 from 11 overs with two maidens, well **** me dead he should retire as soon as possible.
Mate, you have no idea. Ever heard of Clarry Grimmet, Bill O'Reilly or Richie Benaud? Give you a hint.....they were all before Warne and they all produced. How about McGill.....are you going to say he didn't produce? We will have another spinner.....will just take time.
Funkalicous
21 Mar 2009, 20:02
Personally I don't see what's wrong with using Nathan Hauritz. He's a solid spinner. Doesn't get a bag of wickets, but he's always good for 1 or 2 while being economical and giving our strike bowlers a rest. If we stopped comparing every single spinner to come onto the scene to Shane Warne, we'd realise that Hauritz is actually pretty handy to have.
Jimthegreat
21 Mar 2009, 20:11
Total embarrassment.Age doesn't come into picking your best team. You pick your best at all times....you not get it!!!!! Don't care if he's 57. He's been our best domestic spinner so he got selected on that basis....you not get it!!! Had a shocker, probably stagefright as it's not possible to bowl that bad otherwise. We've seen him now and may go in a different direction (eg 4 quicks with Clark for McDonald and North returning) but what was the alternative. Test matches are not there for blooding people for experience, that's for Tour matches.
Hindsight is a wonderful thing.
grizzlym
21 Mar 2009, 20:14
Muller at least had something to back him getting picked. McGain defines the phrase, cant bowl, cant bat, cant field. He's ****ing hopeless.
A total embarrassment for this country that such a hack can get a baggy green. He and the selectors should feel ashamed.
That’s a bit harsh dude. He’s just had one of the biggest beltings ever seen on debut. Savage stuff. And yes, he looked nowhere near it. Perhaps it was nerves. Perhaps it was bowling to 2 rampant world-class batsmen. Perhaps he’s just not good enough. Personally, I reckon it’s all of those reasons. And you're right, his age and his first class average certainly don’t scream out ‘International spinning prospect’.
But man, just let it be, he doesn’t need anymore of a flogging. In all likelihood he’s just bowled himself to a footnote in history and obscurity. Aint that enough?
I blame Warnie for all this though. Because if it wasn’t for the freak that he was (sorry Warney, if you’re not playing you’re dead too me hence the past tense) we wouldn’t have had unrealistic expectations for the likes of McGain. And, in turn, the selectors would have taken his record on first value and not given him another thought.
Showbag
21 Mar 2009, 20:20
I see what everyone is saying, but there is a real danger in playing somebody that is clearly not up to international standard, for the reason that he is the best of an ordinary bunch. Warnie was belted from pillar to post in his first test, but was not 36. I'm glad they have yet to pick him in a live series.
Adelaide Hawk
21 Mar 2009, 20:27
In fairness to McGain, South Africa would have to be the worst place for a spinner to make their Test debut. Not too many spinners thrive over there.
Chops_a_must
21 Mar 2009, 20:51
He has absolutely no variety.
Really needs to mix it up.
McGain is complete shite.
I have been screaming all series to play Hauritz, but nooo, they can't do that.
He probably has, but isn't game to try it.
As I said in the match thread, I believe it would have helped his bowling if he had 400 behind him and not our pathetic 209. I don't think the South Africans would have been anywhere near so adventurous against him in those circumstances and he may have had a chance to settle in and find his feet.
dr nick
21 Mar 2009, 21:44
------------ day 1
------------- day 2
------------- end of career
Chops_a_must
21 Mar 2009, 21:47
I'm enjoying this 20/20 cricket.
Why are they wearing white? :confused:
At least Krejza gets wickets whilst being pumped all over the park.
Johnson#26
21 Mar 2009, 21:56
Stick at it, Bryce.
At least Krejza gets wickets whilst being pumped all over the park.
Not against South Africa he doesn't. :o
Showbag
21 Mar 2009, 22:00
I think he has Ronald McDonald covered.
mediumsizered
21 Mar 2009, 22:07
McGain is complete shite.
I have been screaming all series to play Hauritz, but nooo, they can't do that.
What is Hauritz going to achieve? He is no different to the very average off-spinners England has produced over the years, that have never looked like running through teams. I think Australian has reached a stage where it does not have a current Test class spin bowler. Of course it doesn't help McGain that the 2 new ball bowlers have gone for more than 260 runs between them, at 4 runs pers over. When your front line bowlers aren't applying enough pressure, it makes it extremely difficult for the lesser bowlers to keep things tight (and it doesn't help when some fielders constantly misfield the ball, Hilfenhaus that means you).
wtf he has a lot of variety. There is the full toss, the half volley and the complete pie. Heaps of variety.
Chops_a_must
21 Mar 2009, 22:18
wtf he has a lot of variety. There is the full toss, the half volley and the complete pie. Heaps of variety.
Hahaha... :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
I think we've seen every text book long hop you will ever see. I see your point.
Showbag
21 Mar 2009, 22:21
He makes Stuey MacGill look like Glenn McGrath!
Chops_a_must
21 Mar 2009, 22:46
Katich >>>>>>>>>>>> Boundary Again.
Says it all really...
McGain didn't even appeal in the background. Appalling. :o
Ill Chicken
22 Mar 2009, 00:13
How can a guy who's played 20 first class matches at the age of 37 be picked for the national test side? If he averaged 20 with the ball than maybe but he averages 35! **** me!
Just like you, you gutless hack.
courtjester
22 Mar 2009, 05:05
He probably has, but isn't game to try it.
As I said in the match thread, I believe it would have helped his bowling if he had 400 behind him and not our pathetic 209. I don't think the South Africans would have been anywhere near so adventurous against him in those circumstances and he may have had a chance to settle in and find his feet.
QFT as the only post in here that's said something sensible.
Smokey_22
22 Mar 2009, 09:12
He was only ever going to be a stop-gap solution. The selectors saw him as filling the void for maybe a year or so until a young spinner put their hand up. Whether he'll even play again is a good question.
If Marcus North was fit and healthy, Bryce wouldn't have played.
Is he a good spinner? well, yes he is, and you can't judge a guy on 20 overs or so.
The problem with Australian spinners in the last 20 years or so (excluding Warne because he was a freak and to a lesser extent MacGill) is that when you come to bowl in Australia: you're not going to take a wicket. Jason Krejza played one test in India and took 12/. Played 1 test here and generally copped a belting. Where does he play his cricket? On the Bellerive Oval which has less give than the main road i drive on to work every morning. It's the same for every other spin bowler in this country. Not too many pitches in Australia take spin any more, so to produce a world class spinner - we're going to have to give them time in other conditions - India, South Africa, England, New Zealand. Give them all a chance somewhere else. And they will improve.
aussie1st
22 Mar 2009, 09:32
NZ don't have the best conditions for spin, Vettori hardly uses himself over there. The thing he has is control, variety, flight and heart. I've seen Hayden and Langer take Vettori apart early but he keeps coming at them and in the end gets their wicket. Now I don't know which of our spinners have this atm but Bailey looks the best of the lot.
krisholio14
22 Mar 2009, 09:33
If Marcus North was fit and healthy, Bryce wouldn't have played.
Is he a good spinner? well, yes he is, and you can't judge a guy on 20 overs or so.
The concerning thing is that he copped the same treatment in the opening match against the provincial side.
Just on the thread title, I don't know why you have to use Scott Muller as the reference point.
He took 7 wickets in two tests @ 36. At present, Ben Hilfenhaus is a worse bowler than him as well. :rolleyes:
blackhead&boil
22 Mar 2009, 09:53
don't forget the long hop and the donkey drop. I hear he's been working on those in the nets. watch out for them in the second innings... ;):thumbsu:
blackhead&boil
22 Mar 2009, 09:57
katich got another 2 wickets with his high quality bowling. maybe we should just go with him as the spin all-rounder... :p
Cousin Jed
22 Mar 2009, 10:22
Just on the thread title, I don't know why you have to use Scott Muller as the reference point.
He took 7 wickets in two tests @ 36. At present, Ben Hilfenhaus is a worse bowler than him as well. :rolleyes:
haha. I made that comment in a previous thread. I still don't get why he is considered the worst player to play for Australia.
On McGain, I made my thoughts known previously...as seen below.
Deadset wouldnt use him as a bowler for my indoor cricket team. Im pretty confident I could tonk him for 10+ a over never mind Pietersen/Flintoff and co in the upcoming Ashes series. The worst player to ever wear the Baggygreen im afraid
Mr_Smooth
22 Mar 2009, 10:42
no of baggygreens for bigfooty cricket board users - 0
no of baggygreens for mcgain - 1
bryce wins (handsomely)
no of baggygreens for bigfooty cricket board users - 0
no of baggygreens for mcgain - 1
bryce wins (handsomely)
I'd rather go without a baggy green than embarrass my country the way he has.
caboose
22 Mar 2009, 14:51
What is Hauritz going to achieve? He is no different to the very average off-spinners England has produced over the years, that have never looked like running through teams. I think Australian has reached a stage where it does not have a current Test class spin bowler. Of course it doesn't help McGain that the 2 new ball bowlers have gone for more than 260 runs between them, at 4 runs pers over. When your front line bowlers aren't applying enough pressure, it makes it extremely difficult for the lesser bowlers to keep things tight (and it doesn't help when some fielders constantly misfield the ball, Hilfenhaus that means you).
What a joke your comments are.
Prior to this match, you consistently berated people who dared to suggest McGain was complete shite.
According to you, he was a bowler who supposedly had a beautiful balance between attacking and bowling tight. Cough. Splutter. All the while, you were also blasting other spinners like Krejza for supposedly being too expensive and putting pressure on the other bowlers by giving away too many runs.
Now when it's proven for all to see how useless McGain is (and far more of a joke of a selection than Krejza ever was), all you can do is point the finger at other players and imply it's largely their fault he was so woeful?
Instead of compounding your embarrassment, how about admitting you got it wrong? :thumbsd:
The sentiment of the posters on this thread could only be classified as temperamental and “knee-jerk”. There were clearly a number of mitigating circumstances that led to such poor bowling/figures:
*It was his debut match and he was nervous;
*He had not played any first class cricket for three weeks;
*The pitch was not conducive to spin bowling;
*It was a two/three day old pitch; the best days to bat;
*He bowled to three experienced and class batsman in J. Kallis (54.41 av.), A. Prince (45.68) and AB. de Villiers (42.43) with 51 hundreds and 230 test matches between them; and
*He was bowling to batsman of a team which had a substantial score and lead in the match.
Having said all of that, I would have to concede that he bowled without any consistency on line or length. It was certainly a poor display of spin bowling and it must cast serious doubts over whether he should be included in the Ashes squad. I do not believe, however, that he is as bad as some have described in this thread.
Angus McFuttock
22 Mar 2009, 16:11
Deadset wouldnt use him as a bowler for my indoor cricket team. Im pretty confident I could tonk him for 10+ a over never mind Pietersen/Flintoff and co in the upcoming Ashes series. The worst player to ever wear the Baggygreen im afraid
Yeah, I reckon Andrew McDonald would go much better in your indoor cricket team.:D
red+black
22 Mar 2009, 16:15
The sentiment of the posters on this thread could only be classified as temperamental and “knee-jerk”.
While some of us had the opinion prior to this Test that he isn't worthy of Test selection. He may arguably be Australia's best spinner, but that alone does not warrant a baggy green. It sucks to be a Vic and think that White, McDonald and McGain are not Test-worthy, but that's how I've always felt.
skipper kelly
22 Mar 2009, 16:17
The Australian selectors need to get over S.K.Warne.
Their treatment of Krejza is deplorable.
McGain is a grade cricketer. Not his fault.
Not having another batsman in the squad on standby should see Hilditch get the sack, but it wont.
Spinners in Australia are being crucified because of the doctored pitches and the farce that is the Sheffield Shield points system which requires results at all costs.
If McGain was from NSW this board would go into meltdown.
BRAD HODGE. WHAT HAS HE DONE WRONG.
aaronm46
22 Mar 2009, 16:27
I'm still trying to fathom how he missed the initial flight to South Africa.
Seriously, WTF?
caboose
22 Mar 2009, 16:40
The sentiment of the posters on this thread could only be classified as temperamental and “knee-jerk”.
Could *only* be classified as knee-jerk? How can such comments possibly be described as knee-jerk given a number of the same people also expressed the same sentiments before the Test?
There were clearly a number of mitigating circumstances that led to such poor bowling/figures
There was one main factor, and it wasn't mitigating. Namely, that his bowling is not Test standard.
Bombers_Forever
22 Mar 2009, 17:32
McGain was way too overhyped by the media and the likes of Warne. Hauritz and Krejza would be happy though, McGain basically gave away his plane ticket to England. Another one test wonder.
He may arguably be Australia's best spinner, but that alone does not warrant a baggy green. It sucks to be a Vic and think that White, McDonald and McGain are not Test-worthy, but that's how I've always felt.
You're probably right. Based on their performances to date, McGain and White are not worthy of selection in our Test team. The jury is still out on McDonald.
The 747
22 Mar 2009, 17:33
I'd rather go without a baggy green than embarrass my country the way he has.
Mate you embarrass your country by posting this.
There was one main factor, and it wasn't mitigating. Namely, that his bowling is not Test standard.
I do not disagree with your opinion on the substance of his bowling. This is clear from the last paragraph on my original post, which you conveniently omitted thereinafter.
grizzlym
22 Mar 2009, 18:08
I feel for the guy. He can't help not being good enough.
I didn't want to see him fail. And now he has, I certainly don't see the point in hammering his failings home.
The point seems to be, as Cousin Jed brought up awhile ago, is why, with his record did the selectors pick him?
The sentiment of the posters on this thread could only be classified as temperamental and “knee-jerk”. There were clearly a number of mitigating circumstances that led to such poor bowling/figures:
*It was his debut match and he was nervous;
*He had not played any first class cricket for three weeks;
*The pitch was not conducive to spin bowling;
*It was a two/three day old pitch; the best days to bat;
*He bowled to three experienced and class batsman in J. Kallis (54.41 av.), A. Prince (45.68) and AB. de Villiers (42.43) with 51 hundreds and 230 test matches between them; and
*He was bowling to batsman of a team which had a substantial score and lead in the match.
Having said all of that, I would have to concede that he bowled without any consistency on line or length. It was certainly a poor display of spin bowling and it must cast serious doubts over whether he should be included in the Ashes squad. I do not believe, however, that he is as bad as some have described in this thread.
That's a pretty fair assessment in my view, well done. :thumbsu:
http://img27.imageshack.us/img27/3227/396269t.jpg (http://img27.imageshack.us/my.php?image=396269t.jpg)
Actually, Scott Muller was not nearly as bad a bowler as he showed at Test level (in Hobart, in particular). In the Sheffield Shield (then Pura Cup) he had actually performed very well. That being said, like McGain, he was a true tailender and (unfortunately) renowned for some mediocre fielding.
Now, there is a 99.999% chance that McGain is not nearly as bad as he appeared yesterday and on Friday (I've never seen him bowl prior to this). It is also true that there were circumstances not in his favour - he was bowling to two set batsmen, he was not especially well used, etc. Still, Harris (who is underrated but still little more than a Giles-plus) showed that you could have an impact if you bowled competently enough. McGain did not even come close to doing that and as such, does not deserve a place in the Ashes squad.
Muller also had to perform in live test matches and had to contend with a reasonably powerful (if inconsistent) Pakistani team. McGain, on the other hand, was in a dead rubber and against a team whose batting line-up appeared to be frayed (although that turned out not to be the case).
red+black
22 Mar 2009, 19:19
The jury is still out on McDonald.
True. I'm prepared to let him continue to prove himself.
Shame there isn't another Test for McGain. If there was another match, he might get a game, but it's improbable to think that he would be selected for an entire Ashes tour, so his career might be over already.
Black Thunder
22 Mar 2009, 21:12
:eek::eek::eek:
can we have the smilie count lifted for this one thread.
i think we've got the most idiotic statement ever ever made on big footy.... a fantastic achievement.
messrs grimmett, o'reilly, benaud, macgill mean nothing??
Black Thunder
22 Mar 2009, 21:14
as for mcgain..... ahhh man feel for the guy.
the hope was he could do a role for us a for a couple of years whilst we get someone coming through but i think it's going to be 4 quicks from now on.
just absolutely smashed. chocked big time.
dr nick
22 Mar 2009, 21:14
well, his username was just a mash at the keys... as was his post.
i don't know why we insist on trying to pick what we don't have. there is no quality spinner in australia worthy of selection of their bowling alone. north is not that much worse of a bowler than hauritz and can generally keep it tight. katich poses equal if not more of a wicket taking threat than mcgain or krezja.
you only have to look at their first class bowling stats. granted katich doesn't bowl much still, the stats don't lie.
(AVG / ECON)
NORTH 42.69 3.10
M. CLARKE 46.65 3.14
KATICH 36.59 3.61
MCGAIN 36.90 3.41
HAURITZ 46.53 2.94
KREJZA 48.86 3.89
CASSON 43.52 3.55
until a younger spinner jumps up and demands selection, let's just approach it the way we did in the first two tests in SA.
I got to admit I feel sorry for the guy.... but 1st...
He should never have been selected!!!
Selectors need their heads read. They seem to have it stuck in their minds we NEED a spin bowler (or specifically a Leg Spin bowler). Instead of picking the best players and adjusting our gameplan they've tried picking players to suit our gameplan. It doesn't work!!!
He is 37yo with limited longevity infront of him. His domestic figures were ok-good. Just because there are limited other spinning options doesn't mean they should have picked him.
I would rather they pick a specialist batsman who can 'roll the arm' and chare spinning duties with Clarke and Katich. Atleast they give us better batting depth. Even Cameron White would be better.
but... it isn't his fault... he is just persuing his dream to play for Australia and well done for reaching that dream. Even if it is a one off and questionably deserveable... can't bag him for trying.
I hope we don't see him again and I hope he keeps trying his best at whatever level.
red+black
23 Mar 2009, 13:18
Agree.
We don't NEED a spinner.
We don't NEED an all-rounder.
DoubleO7
23 Mar 2009, 13:26
Agree.
We don't NEED a spinner.
We don't NEED an all-rounder.
Johnson is an all rounder.;)
didak04
23 Mar 2009, 13:30
I agree with the above few posts.
I've always thought that playing a specialist spinner was what Australia should do but it has become pretty clear that noone is up to the task at present.
With 3 of a specialist batters more than capable of rolling the arm over (Katich, Clarke and North/Symonds if he makes it back) it is best to wait and see if any of the younger spinners show any form between going the specialist spinner route again.
A pace attack of Johnson, Hilfenhaus, Siddle and a fit Stuart Clark appeals to me. Although all quicks they all bring something different to the table and coupled with the part-timers mentioned are our best chance of getting 20 wickets regulary.
potatomasher
23 Mar 2009, 13:32
We do need a spinner. A good spinner who can extract something out of a crumbling pitch can win games, and not having one in the team can lose games. The selectors need to just harden up and pick someone for at least 5 tests. Test cricket is different to Sheffield Shield for spinners, there is an extra day for the pitch to break up and do things. In Sheffield Shield these days the spinners are defending small scores quite often and they don't get an opportunity to attack.
The selectors need to just throw someone into the Test arena and leave him there. I'd like it to be Krezja, but even if it's Hauritz or Casson, just make sure they get time to develop.
krusden
23 Mar 2009, 13:42
Mate, you have no idea. Ever heard of Clarry Grimmet, Bill O'Reilly or Richie Benaud? Give you a hint.....they were all before Warne and they all produced. How about McGill.....are you going to say he didn't produce? We will have another spinner.....will just take time.
what we all have to consider is that SK Warne is the best spinner we have ever had, richie benaud is the second best.
there is something like 27ish years between richie retiring and warne debuting.
ergo we will have another world beater, but it will take time and patience. However, mcgain or hauritz or white are not the answer.
FWIW - I think Krezja must have run over the pets of all the oz selectors. I am bemused and baffled
DoubleO7
23 Mar 2009, 13:51
FWIW - I think Krezja must have run over the pets of all the oz selectors. I am bemused and baffled
For a specialist finger spinner he he concedes far too many runs and for now he is a liability. Once he gets to grips of tying one end down then I think he should get another call up. His Test economy rate of 4.53 is just far to high and unacceptable for an international bowler.
As long as he goes for over 3.8 runs per over (in FC) I don't think we will see him for a while.
krusden
23 Mar 2009, 14:01
For a specialist finger spinner he he concedes far too many runs and for now he is a liability. Once he gets to grips of tying one end down then I think he should get another call up. His Test economy rate of 4.53 is just far to high and unacceptable for an international bowler.
As long as he goes for over 3.8 runs per over (in FC) I don't think we will see him for a while.
I still feel that the oz selectors put too much blame on him after the perth test for being leaky in regards of runs.
His test economy rate is crap. But that's after two tests. after two tests even warne's record was not great.
DoubleO7
23 Mar 2009, 14:10
I still feel that the oz selectors put too much blame on him after the perth test for being leaky in regards of runs.
Yeah, I got the same feeling but he did concede 204 runs over 2 innings for 1 wicket (Economy rate over 4 in both innings).
His test economy rate is crap. But that's after two tests. after two tests even warne's record was not great.
True, but leg spin is far harder to master than off spin.
krusden
23 Mar 2009, 14:46
Yeah, I got the same feeling but he did concede 204 runs over 2 innings for 1 wicket (Economy rate over 4 in both innings).
valid point.
i think the selectors have no IDEA what to do in regards of spinners.
perhaps the current chopping and changing may happen for a few years yet. unless dan cullen or cullen bailey come in a year.
BigCat2
23 Mar 2009, 22:08
valid point.
i think the selectors have no IDEA what to do in regards of spinners.
perhaps the current chopping and changing may happen for a few years yet. unless dan cullen or cullen bailey come in a year.
http://content.cricinfo.com/australia/content/story/395256.html
Cox uncertain over role of spinners
Jamie Cox, the Australia selector, says there is still a definite place for spinners in the modern game, but he is unsure what it is. The current slow-bowling tendency in the national team is to use part-timers such as Marcus North and Michael Clarke, and Cox, the former Tasmania opener, said the landscape had altered since he retired in 2006.
"The game for a spin bowler has changed, and changed really fast," Cox said in the Sunday Herald Sun. "There's still a definite role for them, but what is it? Is it the traditional role of slow spin to negate or is it just staying in the contest, getting into the contest by bowling lots of lots of balls and doing the team thing?"
There is the problem I think - they don't know what a spinner is supposed to do. Without knowing your goal, how can you pick the option that will best help achieve your goal?
King Elvis
23 Mar 2009, 22:41
BigCat, a spinner's role is to tie up and end early, and take wickets in the second innings.
We don't know what their role is at the moment, because we don't have anybody capable of doing either.
Cullen Bailey will hopefully move interstate and get a gig; I reckon he's our best chance right now.
krusden
24 Mar 2009, 13:30
BigCat, a spinner's role is to tie up and end early, and take wickets in the second innings.
We don't know what their role is at the moment, because we don't have anybody capable of doing either.
Cullen Bailey will hopefully move interstate and get a gig; I reckon he's our best chance right now.
:thumbsu: - BUT i used to work with his aunt who said he stayed here for family reasons however.
perhaps he may get a better chance in the state team soon as they seem to suck less at the moment.
Some of the comments are a bit harsh, it is his first baggy green! I am sure in another 20 years when he is almost 60 he will be in the peak of his career.
In all seriousness... just don't get sticking in someone at 37 years of age, no real upside. If you are going to get slammed out of the park for 150 runs then you might as well be young enough that you will be playing long enough for the lessons of that sodomization kicks in while you are still playing cricket.