View Full Version : New Cricket Board Mod wanted

Pages : [1] 2 3

weevil
22 Mar 2009, 21:35
Hey guys, we are looking to freshen things up and to appoint a new mod for the Cricket Board.

Criteria for the position are someone who:

* Knows their cricket

* Is a regular Cricket Board poster with a good reputation

* Has an interest in improving the posting quality and culture of the board

Feel free to nominate yourself, or anyone else you feel worthy of consideration.

Mario the Lothario
22 Mar 2009, 21:37
Criteria for the position are someone who:

* Knows their cricket

* Is a regular Cricket Board poster with a good reputation

* Has an interest in improving the posting quality and culture of the board

That would be me.:thumbsu:

OzBomber
22 Mar 2009, 21:37
I'll put my hand up.

But I'll also like to nominate Cousin Jed and The Brown Dog. Both know there cricket and are very good posters. :thumbsu:

red+black
22 Mar 2009, 21:38
Bryce McGain?

Might not meet all of the criteria, but that never stopped him from being picked for Australia.

And he needs a job.

/sorry

Mario the Lothario
22 Mar 2009, 21:38
I'll put my hand up.

But I'll also like to nominate Cousin Jed and The Brown Dog. Both know there cricket and are very good posters. :thumbsu:

Yeah, we need more "unbiased" Queenslanders moderating the board.:rolleyes:

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
22 Mar 2009, 21:41
I'll put my hand up for the job.

jozeph
22 Mar 2009, 21:41
I'm quite happy to give it a go, pm me the pay rates, conditions, ie can I do it from home? etc:thumbsu:

dr nick
22 Mar 2009, 21:52
give it to jozeph or cousin jed

Kram81
22 Mar 2009, 21:53
Yeah, we need more "unbiased" Queenslanders moderating the board.:rolleyes:

Coming from 'Mr Victoria' surely you are having a larf?

Blue Dimension
22 Mar 2009, 21:56
I'd nominate Sean. Quality poster, level headed, knows his stuff :thumbsu:

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
22 Mar 2009, 22:02
Im not sure about that to be honest BD, Sean is a decent poster but whether his mature enough to take on a moderators role is questionable. His knowledge of cricket, while good, probably isnt in the league of other posters. Im not being a smart alec but giving my honest opinion.

I feel a good option would be The Brown Dog although im not sure if his a regular poster. I feel I would do a decent job as well, i have been here for a number of years and i have a good knowledge of the game.

dr nick
22 Mar 2009, 22:05
**** me if you wouldnt possibly be the worst choice LtD

Blue Dimension
22 Mar 2009, 22:09
Im not sure about that to be honest BD, Sean is a decent poster but whether his mature enough to take on a moderators role is questionable. His knowledge of cricket, while good, probably isnt in the league of other posters. Im not being a smart alec but giving my honest opinion.

I feel a good option would be The Brown Dog although im not sure if his a regular poster. I feel I would do a decent job as well, i have been here for a number of years and i have a good knowledge of the game.

That's fair enough to put forward, it depends what is wanted from everyone else on this board or what is needed for the forum and that can vary. What he does bring is a level head which is needed as a moderator. There's plenty of options right around the board, but I'd substitute a bit of quality posting for a guy who will do a good job in terms of being a mediator and posting sensibly on a consistent basis (not saying others don't, just think he's probably got 'it' more than the rest)

Hawks1523
22 Mar 2009, 22:09
I nominate myself :cool::thumbsu:

weevil
22 Mar 2009, 22:15
Time for you to stop posting in this thread Mario.

aaronm46
22 Mar 2009, 22:15
Ltd please

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
22 Mar 2009, 22:21
Are you serious? Any thoughts on why you think i would be a good applicant?

JUBJUB
22 Mar 2009, 22:25
I'll put my hand up for the job.

You being a cricket Mod would be like having Ivan Milat take a tour group bush walking.It just ain't gonna end well.

YOTC
22 Mar 2009, 22:28
Are you serious? Any thoughts on why you think i would be a good applicant?
He's taking the piss mate. Not like stealing an esky "taking the piss" kind of way. More of a joking sort of manner.

As for moderator it should be me easily. Sure I'm rough around the edges but you need that. I certainly don't have a bias (internationally speaking). :)

Blue Dimension
22 Mar 2009, 22:31
Another name i'll put up is Jimthegreat. I think a quality being a moderator is the ability to discuss cricket with posters who's opinions differ, in a mature and intelligent way (as in to lead by example). There's been times where we've had different and varying opinions on cricket topics and I was able to have some really good discussions with him on this board. I reckon he'd be a good option too.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
22 Mar 2009, 22:34
I think the main attribute a moderator needs to have on a cricket board is the ability to determine if someone is just stirring the pot intentionally and taking appropiate action. For example, some poster who i can't remember last night suggested dropping Ponting, making Cam White captain, dropping Haddin for Wade and some other stupid selection which i cant remember. Probably something like Quiney for Katich.

Tripwire
22 Mar 2009, 22:36
Weevil, give me the job, I will stop those idiotic fake wicket callers.

legend166
22 Mar 2009, 22:41
Give me the job and I will implement the same policy the Australian cricket team should: Ban all Victorians!

CrazyQ
22 Mar 2009, 22:46
BrownDog's a gun.

sherbs is another poster I like, but does he post much anymore?

YOTC
22 Mar 2009, 22:46
Give me the job and I will implement the same policy the Australian cricket team should: Ban all Victorians!
Winrar!

dr nick
22 Mar 2009, 22:47

but who could we take the piss out of when they choke in the FRC, 20/20 and at test level?

High Ryder
22 Mar 2009, 23:09
Sean for sure, shows more maturity than most on this board despite his young age.

I'd nominate myself but i don't know if i post frequently enough to warrant the the position.

DeadlyAkkuret
22 Mar 2009, 23:42
I'd be honoured, but probably wont get it. If I was to nominate someone else it'd be Sean, the lad knows his stuff and shows so much maturity when compared to older posters.

In all honesty though, I think I'd do a pretty good job of it.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
22 Mar 2009, 23:48
Sean's a good kid, i enjoy his work, despite the odd disagreement we have had. But my worry is simply, will future/current posters respect a mod who is still at school, especially if most of those posters are considerably older then the moderator?

Im a bit worried in that regard.

DaRick
22 Mar 2009, 23:49
Considering that he's at least 4 years younger than I am, Sean writes well, is articulate and has maturity beyond his years. Some other posters aren't too bad, but I don't know whether I'd nominate them.

High Ryder
22 Mar 2009, 23:52
Considering that he's at least 4 years younger than I am, Sean writes well, is articulate and has maturity beyond his years. Some other posters aren't too bad, but I don't know whether I'd nominate them.Agreed age shouldn't be a barrier if he if is the best candidate.

flight23
22 Mar 2009, 23:53
question - is there alot of "moderating" that goes on on the cricket board, and is there much reporting by posters?

i read this board alot and it always seems pretty healthy, sometimes funny and every now and again a little feisty, but pretty good, is that the moderators, keeping busy? or the posters?

DoubleO7
22 Mar 2009, 23:57
I'll throw my name up.

I'm unbiased as any poster can be when it comes to cricket.

I have a sound cricketing knowledge.

I make a decent contribution to this board.

And yes, I do have an interest in improving the posting quality (including my own) and culture of this board.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
22 Mar 2009, 23:57
THe main problem, not so much now, but in the past was a lot of kneejerk posts and what not. You know, player X has a poor game, so a poster starts a thread like "Give player X the heave ho" which gets up to 40 applies.

weevil
23 Mar 2009, 00:01
question - is there alot of "moderating" that goes on on the cricket board, and is there much reporting by posters?

i read this board alot and it always seems pretty healthy, sometimes funny and every now and again a little feisty, but pretty good, is that the moderators, keeping busy? or the posters?

It had a lot to do with beating the living shit out of idiot posters until they either changed their ways or were escorted from the building.

flight23
23 Mar 2009, 00:04
It had a lot to do with beating the living shit out of idiot posters until they either changed their ways or were escorted from the building.

lol cheers

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
23 Mar 2009, 00:10

escorted is a bit friendly isn't it?

Kick em to the curb.

Drummond
23 Mar 2009, 00:21
Blue Dimension first option, Sean second. Both guns.

ManWithNoName
23 Mar 2009, 00:22
I'll throw my name up, won't get it but it never hurt. I'm (geneally) unbiased and (occasionally) sensible.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
23 Mar 2009, 00:29
Blue Dimension first option, Sean second. Both guns.

What about me?;)

DoubleO7
23 Mar 2009, 00:54
The next appointed moderator will be a spec mod, am I correct?

Mr P@H
23 Mar 2009, 01:25
With The Ashes in my Time Zone coming up i think the only man for the job is me.

Only joking, Sean would be a good choice.

awesome_assassin
23 Mar 2009, 04:28
Cousin Jed, Blue Dimension or Sean would all be worthy applicants IMO.

courtjester
23 Mar 2009, 04:50
Blue Dimension is a guy who always seems to have a balanced opinion. His opinions are usually well thought through. He doesn't enagage in the trivial banter too much. Seems to know his cricket well. Seems like a pretty nice guy. Apart from the Carlton thing!

I'd give my vote to him as a guy who'd be a good mod. That's if he wanted to do it.

Spikey
23 Mar 2009, 07:07
Ltd please

http://img515.imageshack.us/img515/3876/samuelljacksontd6.gif

As above.

Xtreme
23 Mar 2009, 07:36
Somehow i think i would be last on the list.... that's even if i was on a list to begin with :p

weevil
23 Mar 2009, 07:49
The next appointed moderator will be a spec mod, am I correct?

No you are not. Full mod.

Cousin Jed
23 Mar 2009, 08:33
Be a mod, or be the resident biased queenslander in match threads.

Decisions, decisions.

Dez!
23 Mar 2009, 09:40
No love for Dez.

:(

*Slits wrists*

alfy!
23 Mar 2009, 09:45
Alright guys, I will do it.

wotdoiput
23 Mar 2009, 09:47
My vote would be for DoubleO7 with Jimthegreat, Cousin Jed, Sean and even LTD other options.

I think the ability to be completely non biased, towards both state and country, is a key thing in this role and just wonder if some people putting their hands p have the ability to do this.

didak04
23 Mar 2009, 10:47
Why the need for another mod?

Things seem to be running very smoothly around here.

Kram81
23 Mar 2009, 10:59
Sean.

Mr_Smooth
23 Mar 2009, 11:06
Why the need for another mod?

Things seem to be running very smoothly around here.

which is why i'll be putting my hat in the ring :thumbsu:

i believe in posting quality not quantity, i have a very sound knowledge of cricket, having played the game for 17 years.

i also don't play favourites with anyone, which surely would make me a better mod than a lot of the mods going around at the moment... ;)

japaljarri
23 Mar 2009, 11:11
Double 07, Sean, BrownDog, CousinJed, Blue Dimension, Jim the Great. Plenty of good options - perhaps a non-binding vote?

CrazyQ
23 Mar 2009, 12:11
I'll throw my name up.

I'm unbiased as any poster can be when it comes to cricket.

I have a sound cricketing knowledge.

I make a decent contribution to this board.

And yes, I do have an interest in improving the posting quality (including my own) and culture of this board.
You've got my vote.

Team Mo'
23 Mar 2009, 13:33
Team Mo' is probably the best choice...

adelaide_40
23 Mar 2009, 13:37
Double07.

mediumsizered
23 Mar 2009, 14:32
Team Mo' is probably the best choice...

Have you run it by Team Mo' to see if he is interested?

Cotchin 9
23 Mar 2009, 14:43
Sean.

TheBrownDog
23 Mar 2009, 14:49
I'd have a crack but Fred and Chief aren't big Browndog fans.

I am far more emotionally stable when it comes to cricket as opposed to footy. ;)

I reckon Sean would go alright. Age is merely one of many criteria and Sean is far more mentally balanced than many posters twice his age. On the other side of the coin though, he is an Essendon supporter and is therefore roughly on the same evolutionary level as that mouldy bathroom scum that collects between the tiles on the shower floor. ;)

Dez!
23 Mar 2009, 14:51
Still no love for Dez?

*Slits ankles*

Running out of things to slit.

TBD because of the avatar.

Spikey
23 Mar 2009, 14:54
Still no love for Dez?

*Slits ankles*

Running out of things to slit.

Maybe you should start hurting your opponents and not yourself?

Dez!
23 Mar 2009, 14:56
Maybe you should start hurting your opponents and not yourself?

I like it, vote for me or I'll hunt you down and shove my foot up your ass.

:D:thumbsu:

KellyKelly
23 Mar 2009, 15:06
I'd like to nominate Cotchin9.

He knows everything about every player in world Cricket, and has a non bias view, something which is hard to do for many Australians, because we are so loyal, passionate and patriotic.

Good lad.

YouveBeenReimered
23 Mar 2009, 15:09
I'd like to nominate Cotchin 9 as well. His cricket knowledge is sensational at every level, whether it is Club, State or International. He also knows the who's who for each country and the stats that are associated with each player.

Give the bloke his deserved opportunity.

BILC
23 Mar 2009, 15:12
I Nominate Lions Then Daylight

Spikey
23 Mar 2009, 15:20
Vote Dez!

Can it be presumed that a new mod will mean the end of posts like: "(so and so) only got picked cause he's from NSW" and "he'll be in the team soon, he's from NSW"?

Cause those posts add absolutely nothing to the board....

ssfc0203
23 Mar 2009, 15:20
I nominate myse-

On second thoughts, nah, Double07.

TheBrownDog
23 Mar 2009, 15:21
More asbestos! More asbestos!

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
23 Mar 2009, 15:29

I am far more emotionally stable when it comes to cricket as opposed to footy. ;)

I reckon Sean would go alright. Age is merely one of many criteria and Sean is far more mentally balanced than many posters twice his age. On the other side of the coin though, he is an Essendon supporter and is therefore roughly on the same evolutionary level as that mouldy bathroom scum that collects between the tiles on the shower floor. ;)

I think a good candidate would be Mr P@h to be honest

Team Mo'
23 Mar 2009, 15:37
Have you run it by Team Mo' to see if he is interested?
No. The job shall be forced upon him. :)

Porps_is_HOT_loz
23 Mar 2009, 16:38
Double07 gets my vote :thumbsu:

The Reaper
23 Mar 2009, 16:39
with Sean

He would be doing his year 12 in a few years?
and honestly he wont have any time for moderating then

I would go with JimtheGreat

EBUS
23 Mar 2009, 16:48
I vote DoubleO7

Ricketts
23 Mar 2009, 17:25
Perfect time to resurrect Gunnar Longshanks in my opinion.

japaljarri
23 Mar 2009, 17:36
Perfect time to resurrect Gunnar Longshanks in my opinion.

Great call! Poacher turned gamekeeper.

DeadlyAkkuret
23 Mar 2009, 17:50
Out of curiosity, will the mod be picked by popular demand or did you have 10 or so people in mind already and now you're just seeing who else puts their hand up?

Optimax
23 Mar 2009, 18:04
Im putting my money on double07

weevil
23 Mar 2009, 18:04
Out of curiosity, will the mod be picked by popular demand or did you have 10 or so people in mind already and now you're just seeing who else puts their hand up?

We are not actually looking for a mod at all. I’m just doing this to take the piss. ;)

Actually the mods will listen to everyone’s suggestions. We will then completely ignore these and tell the admins who we want. The admins will then ignore us and put in whoever they want.

...Pretty much the same way everything else happens on BF.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
23 Mar 2009, 18:09
Just out of interest, what was the reasoning behind getting another mod on board.

Extra use of the cricket board, previous mod quitting, any insight?

beatnik
23 Mar 2009, 18:55
new jobs? don't you know that things are getting tight?

sorry there'll be no new mods until the economy picks up - Weevil, you'll just have to do double the hours for the same pay!

heh heh ;)

seriously though, TBD is my vote

YOTC
23 Mar 2009, 19:00
Just out of interest, what was the reasoning behind getting another mod on board.

Ashes in England got out of hand last time. This is probably a precaution.

OzBomber
23 Mar 2009, 19:01

I reckon Sean would go alright. Age is merely one of many criteria and Sean is far more mentally balanced than many posters twice his age. On the other side of the coin though, he is an Essendon supporter and is therefore roughly on the same evolutionary level as that mouldy bathroom scum that collects between the tiles on the shower floor. ;)Hey hey hey... Enough of that. That's unfair, I can't think of a comeback. :(

I think HBF used to be a mod on here. I'm not 100% sure though. And Buddy (Prev. Philhawk) hasn't been as active this summer.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
23 Mar 2009, 19:06
Ashes in England got out of hand last time. This is probably a precaution.

In that case i feel i must retract the retraction.

I feel this board will need my services greatly to ensure that the Ashes run smoothly on this board. I will have zero tolerance to any nonsense and i will uphold strict rules.

All queesnland players will have the word "proud Queensland" automatically put in front of their name, failure to adhere to this will result in an automatic card.

Secondly, Ricky Ponting will be referred to soley as Punter.

Finally, anyone who supports England will be banned immediately, im sorry, but animals are not allowed inside.

That is all.

King Elvis
23 Mar 2009, 19:30
I'll do it, I guess.

scooterb
23 Mar 2009, 19:46
Brown Dog.

I'd probably feel uncomfortable with 15 year olds moderating. Imagine being banned by one?

OzBomber
23 Mar 2009, 19:56
Another one I'd like to throw into the mix is Blue Dimensions. Good contributor to the forum.

Brown Dog.

I'd probably feel uncomfortable with 15 year olds moderating. Imagine being banned by one?
You sure you're not saying that because we don't get along? But to an extent you're right. I'm probably a bit young to be moderating a forum. People like BD, TBD and Cousin Jed would probably do a better job/are more mature than me.

scooterb
23 Mar 2009, 20:14
You sure you're not saying that because we don't get along?
Not at all. I wasn't even talking about you specifically. We've had our altercations in the past, but you're a pretty smart bloke who would probably do a good job at moderating.

But I'm sure others would agree with me in saying that it would feel kind of awkward.

Perhaps a present for your 18th? :)

didak04
23 Mar 2009, 20:18
Brown Dog.

Personally i'd have no issue with being banned by a 15 year old. Those who receive bans are perfectly aware that they are doing the wrong thing the majority of the time anyway.

Age shouldn't really be a factor if a candidate is deemed suitable, especially if they have a proven track record. It isn't exactly rocket science.

Bomber Bears
23 Mar 2009, 20:18
I would happily put my hand up dont expect to be accepted however i think i'd do a decent job

If not me (and if not a moderator allready) Adelaide Hawk would be a good choice

Cotchin 9
23 Mar 2009, 20:31
Geez Sean, you get around.

DeadlyAkkuret
23 Mar 2009, 20:46
We are not actually looking for a mod at all. I’m just doing this to take the piss. ;)

Actually the mods will listen to everyone’s suggestions. We will then completely ignore these and tell the admins who we want. The admins will then ignore us and put in whoever they want.

...Pretty much the same way everything else happens on BF.

I think an admin visited my profile a few days ago, it's like Christmas when you wake up and you see that Santa has eaten the snack you left out for him.

King Elvis
23 Mar 2009, 22:34
Adelaide Hawk would be good.

Sean is a little champ, he'd be a good mod, but he's more important as our mascot.

Whover it is will hopefully ban scooterb.

ManWithNoName
23 Mar 2009, 22:43
MWNN for Mod - "Mass bannings en masse"

richskee
23 Mar 2009, 22:56
LTD deserves the Mod Job. Dedicated poster who BF members respect.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
23 Mar 2009, 22:59
Surely you are taking the piss? ^^^

scooterselwood
23 Mar 2009, 23:39
give it to LtD

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
23 Mar 2009, 23:42
I didn't know i had such a dedicated following.

Thank You to you all.

SouthSwans
24 Mar 2009, 01:17
I'll put my hand up too. Don't know whether I'm here as much as LtD or Cousin Jed and co, but it's the first board I head to behind the Swans board. Would be happy to bring some exciting ideas to the table ie. competitions (did 'Battle Of The Cricketers' last year), I'd like to think I know the game as well as anyone too.

If I'm not seen to be right for the job then LtD's the man IMO, I'm just getting my name out there :)