View Full Version : Hitman's Top Ten Albums of 2002

The Hitman
22 Dec 2002, 08:14
When I first sat down to work this all out, I thought it would be an easy process, but as I kept listing albums, I realised 2002 was a great year for music and that it was a lot harder than I thought. In that spirit, I present my top 10 albums of 2002.

10. Maladroit - WEEZER
Not as good as their last two albums, but everyone's favourite nerd rock band came back with a corker follow up to their self titled album. With the right mix of witty lyrics and rock riffs, Weezer just couldn't be ignored and snuck into the list. Anyway, who can resist a clip with the Muppets involved?

9. The Datsuns - THE DATSUNS
Exploded out of New Zealand as the next in an ever increasing line of 'saviour of rock' bands. However, they have a distinctive dirty sound which is like The Strokes, but rawer and dirtier. I wish NME wouldn't ruin bands by proclaiming each new one as the best band on earth, but they aren't too wrong with this mob as far as I'm concerned.

8. Seachange - BECK
Has Beck become a manic depressive or is he just a more reflective soul as he progresses with his music? Who cares? Seachange was a magnificantly produced album where we get to see Beck as we never have: vulnerable, insecure, and almost melancholy. Call me a sadist, but I like it. If you like seeing progression in artists, and you liked Beck's previous stuff, this album is definately for you.

7. Strange Bird - AUGIE MARCH
Returning after their debut epic Sunset Studies, Augie March have reached into the very pits of their souls and extracted more beautiful music which is unrivalled in the country. Reminding me of Jeff Buckley but with more funk on some tracks, this album is one you can listen to anywhere: driving, lazing around at home, or even in the bedroom. Music that isn't for everyone, but damn well should be.

6. One By One - FOO FIGHTERS
Eagerly awaited by all Foo Fighter fans, One By One didn't disappoint. An album which takes the band back to The Colour And The Shape more than There's Nothing Left To Lose due to it's raw rock sound and signature Foo Fighter song build up. Classic Fooies.

5. Riot Act - PEARL JAM
With a new target in U.S. President Bush and inspired by the events of Roskilde, Pearl Jam have again hit paydirt with Riot Act. A haunting yet rocky sound floats through this album, and you are constantly trying to decipher the meanings behind the lyrics. While not as good as Ten, Vitalogy or Vs., this latest release is definately their best since their third studio album. A grower, it takes a long, long time to get hooked on (especially songs like Bu$hleaguer), but when it does it will hit you as one of the their best yet.

4. Songs For The Deaf - QUEENS OF THE STONE AGE
Overshadowed by Pearl Jam and the Foo Fighters by pure hype, but exceeding the two in pure musical form. Hitting the big time with their last album, the Texan band has backed up superbly with the addition of Dave Grohl on the drums. A very solid album with not a poor track laid down, this will go down as a landmark album for a band which has a big future. Nothing earth-breaking here, just a solid album which contains good basslines and some awesome drumming and Josh's unique voice.

3. New Detention - GRINSPOON
I'm a huge fan of their earlier stuff, but this album takes the cake for my favourite Australian band. Showcasing a new found maturity with softer beats as well as their usual rip-roaring kick-arse rock tunes, New Detention signifies a shifting of their attitude. Finding a balance between softer songs like Chemical Heart and harder songs like 1000 Miles, Grinspoon have produced one of the albums of the year after a long enough wait.

2. Original Pirate Material - THE STREETS
Made by an Englishman tourist while in Australia, this album is revolutionary as it transcends rock, hip hop and dance boundaries. A bit weird for the first few listens, but the catchy lyrics and funky beats will win you over eventually. A bit cheeky, a bit fun, and very, very good. Probably different from anything you've heard before, but it just adds to the experience.

1. Diorama - SILVERCHAIR
The standout album of 2002 for mine. Diorama has taken Silverchair into the upper most echelon of musical integrity and brilliance with its many musical layers the simply stunning voice of Daniel Johns. The maturity shown in his song writing, producing, and voice has to be heard to be believed. Initially I was steadfast in saying that Silverchair's earlier albums were much better, but it took me all of three listens to change my mind, and a further two to realise that this is a masterpiece. An album that everyone should own as it follows many musical paths and winds its way to a place very few musicians can go.

So there you have it. I must give credit to six other albums which came close to getting in, but there were simply too many albums for too few spots. They are:

Heathen Chemistry - OASIS
Audioslave - AUDIOSLAVE
Storms Dressed as Stars - GERSEY
I'm Already Home - WAIKIKI
The Last Broadcast - THE DOVES
Highly Evolved - THE VINES
Scarlet's Walk - TORI AMOS
B.R.M.C. - BLACK REBEL MOTORCYCLE CLUB

Thoughts? What are yours?

The Hitman

Wally
22 Dec 2002, 08:23
Personally, i was a little disappointed with Riot Act. May take a few more listenings to appreciate it.

Audioslave's debut is a killer.

---------------------------------------------------------
EFC: We Hate You Too

The Hitman
22 Dec 2002, 08:33
Originally posted by Wally
Personally, i was a little disappointed with Riot Act. May take a few more listenings to appreciate it.

Audioslave's debut is a killer.

Yeah, it was Audioslave or Weezer, and for some reason I just couldn't leave Weezer out. Made me too damn happy.

The Hitman

ramjet
22 Dec 2002, 12:51
listen, listen and listen again to Riot Act. took me a long time to get it - but its brilliant. dont understand the hype with audioslave but each to their own. i'd probably have The Doves instead of Weezer and i havent heard that much of The Datsuns but its a pretty good list hitman.

M29
22 Dec 2002, 13:04
No Supergrass? Coldplay?

The Hitman
22 Dec 2002, 20:02
Originally posted by M29
No Supergrass? Coldplay?

Didn't like Coldplay. Too much like Parachutes for my liking. Supergrass I think I would have definately had in, except I never got to listen to the entire album. Love the band, love the songs, but never listened to the album.

The Hitman

ozzult
22 Dec 2002, 21:07
Riot Act and Audioslave = good.

CowboyFromHell
22 Dec 2002, 21:51
The only band in that whole list I would listen to would be Audioslave.

It takes guts to do a list like this, but you would have to listen to ALL kinds of music to do this properly. There are many Metal albums that would be a heap better than the lot you named, but don't get rated because you don't listen to them.

But good work anyway Hitters, even if all the bands you named are not right up my alley. :)

Dipper
22 Dec 2002, 22:26
t's funny but I've read some reviews absolutely murdering the Datsuns, I've only listened to a bit of that album in a record shop so I can't really comment, but let me reiterate they killed them, couldn't have written a less complimentary review if you'd tried.

coxon
22 Dec 2002, 23:30
Originally posted by The Hitman
1. Diorama - SILVERCHAIR
Initially I was steadfast in saying that Silverchair's earlier albums were much better, but it took me all of three listens to change my mind, and a further two to realise that this is a masterpiece. [/B]

wow.. masterpiece eh?
havent had a chance to listen to the album... but whenever silverchair are played on the radio, i change channels... :P

nice list there tho...

my list would also have included Beck 'sea change'(at #1), the Streets 'original pirate material'... supergrass 'life on other planets'... flaming lips 'yoshimi battles the pink robots'... cornelius 'point'....yeah yeah yeahs (ep)..

yes, weezer & supergrass make me happy ~

Jaymin
23 Dec 2002, 06:49
Didn't like Coldplay. Too much like Parachutes for my liking.

Yeek...

Parachutes was a brilliant album.

and the new one has gone one step better. The Scientist, Clocks & Politik are 3 of the best songs i've heard in years...

The Hitman
23 Dec 2002, 07:05
Originally posted by Jaymin
Yeek...

Parachutes was a brilliant album.

and the new one has gone one step better. The Scientist, Clocks & Politik are 3 of the best songs i've heard in years...

It was a brilliant album. But I just can't get into them this time around.

The Flaming Lips would have also been considered if I heard the album more. It was a good year I reckon.

The Hitman

Jaymin
23 Dec 2002, 07:09
Yeah the Flaming Lips album was quite good....

Did you listen to 2002 last night? Your Top 10 wasn't to far away from the general listeners Top 10...

Dogwatcher
23 Dec 2002, 12:45

9. The Datsuns - THE DATSUNS
Exploded out of New Zealand as the next in an ever increasing line of 'saviour of rock' bands. However, they have a distinctive dirty sound which is like The Strokes, but rawer and dirtier. I wish NME wouldn't ruin bands by proclaiming each new one as the best band on earth, but they aren't too wrong with this mob as far as I'm concerned.

[The Hitman

f you like the Datsuns, try the 3Ds. They blasted out of NZ in the mid 90s and were very wucking good. Rock man, rock.

lioness
23 Dec 2002, 18:02
1. Diorama - SILVERCHAIR
The standout album of 2002 for mine. Diorama has taken Silverchair into the upper most echelon of musical integrity and brilliance with its many musical layers the simply stunning voice of Daniel Johns. The maturity shown in his song writing, producing, and voice has to be heard to be believed. Initially I was steadfast in saying that Silverchair's earlier albums were much better, but it took me all of three listens to change my mind, and a further two to realise that this is a masterpiece. An album that everyone should own as it follows many musical paths and winds its way to a place very few musicians can go.

Actually just bought this today after reading a comment by a man named Van Dyke Parks (composer of film scores among other things), who said after working with Daniel Johns that he (Johns) is the most creative person he has worked with since Brian Wilson. It led me to the album, and I have to say, I'm impressed. :)

The Hitman
25 Dec 2002, 17:15
What about you folks? What are your top ten albums for the year?

The Hitman

thommo16
26 Dec 2002, 20:20
Would have to agree with Silverchair at number one. Each song so different and inspiring. Love the songwriting. You know its a good album when your 57 year old mother also buys the album for herself and loves it

manutd/dogs
26 Dec 2002, 23:04
Originally posted by thommo16
Would have to agree with Silverchair at number one. Each song so different and inspiring. Love the songwriting. You know its a good album when your 57 year old mother also buys the album for herself and loves it

Ditto. Ditto. Ditto!

the REAL dingo
27 Dec 2002, 08:46
Eminem?

LionsForever
27 Dec 2002, 20:29
I would have place the Red Hot Chili Peppers somewhere in that list. :D

lioness
28 Dec 2002, 02:32
Originally posted by thommo16

I said before I was impressed, but have spent the better part of the day listening to the album and it gets more and more awesome with every listen. I think 'Across The Night' is brilliant. The combination of Daniel John's great vocals and the (to me) familiar brilliance of Van Dyke Parks' arrangement is a joy to listen to.

CowboyFromHell
28 Dec 2002, 12:40
Well, I'll do my own Metal one from the year 2002. This is totally mine on what music I like, so if you don't like it, blow me.

10. Nile: In Their Darkened Shrines - These guys are actually very good. With this CD, they have cemented themselves as one of the best Death Metal Bands in the world.

9. Decapitated: Nihility - These guys hail from Poland and, like Nile, are beginning to put Death Metal back on the map. This music is not for everyone, but it's still very good.

8. At the Gates: Slaughter of the Soul - Okay, so this album was originally released in 1995, but was re-released in 2002. Death Metal at it's very best, with a very melodic feel to it at the same time. Fantastic Album.

7. Arch Enemy: Wages of Sin - The great thing about this melodic death metal band is the fact that their lead singer is in fact female. Yet she screams like Satan himself. Great album, with plenty of melodic riffs throughout.

6. Skinlab: Revolting Room - This album shows Skinlab coming along in leaps and bounds, especially since their last album. They can be classed a bit as nu-metal, but I feel there is something a bit different about them than many other bands. Definately worth a listen.

5. In Flames: Reroute to Remain - Another Nordic beauty, In Flames have been at the top of the heap for years. Combining hardcore riffs with meldoic overtones, these guys can be in your face one second, and out of it the next.

4. Soilwork: Natural Born Chaos - Much along the lines of In Flames, yet seem to have something extra. This album really puts them on the map nationally, and it truly is a sensational album.

3. Superjoint Ritual: Use one and Destroy - Many of you will scream "Biased" as Phil Anslemo heads this band up, but if many bothered to listen to it, they would agree that it's just a fantastic album. Heavy Metal at it's best with no gimmicks, just hard riffs, Phil screaming his lungs out and some great drum work.

2. Down II: A Bustle in your Hedgerow - Biased you scream again, but got and get stuffed. Phil, Pep, Rex, Kirk and Jimmy make up this supergroup. It's metal, but at it's sludgy best with a very New Orleans feel too it. This is a bit different to what most of these guys usually do, but it feels so right. Took under a month to write and produce. Sticks it up the arse of those **** bands that take ages and millions of dollars to do a record.

And finally, Number One is....

1. OPETH: DELIVERANCE - The Swedish gods rule again. 6 songs and 62 minutes of utter Opeth brilliance is on this album, and no-one could possible be disappointed with it. Mikael Akerfeldt and the boys are simply geniouses. Every riff is fantastic, and the songs could go on forever without getting boring. What is even more pleasing is the fact that in March, "Damnation", the second part to the album, comes out. 2003 Album of the Year is already sealed.

Done.

BW
28 Dec 2002, 13:36
Pfft why not, just my opinion.

10. Foo Fighters: One by one
9. Blind Guardian: A night at the opera
8. Killswitch Engage: Alive or just breathing
7. Papa Roach: Lovehatetragedy
6. Soilwork: Natural Born Chaos
5. Hoobastank: Hoobastank
4. Red Hot Chili Peppers: By the way
3. Superheist: Identical remote control reactions
2. System of a down: Steal this album
1. Audioslave: Audioslave

The Hitman
2 Jan 2003, 20:00
Originally posted by blueworms
2. System of a down: Steal this album

Big call. Especially since it wasn't even released a week before you made the list. I don't like the latest offering very much.

The Hitman

LionsForever
2 Jan 2003, 20:23
By the Way is a fantastic album but it isn't as good as Californication. Number One album for 2002 :D :D

Macca19
2 Jan 2003, 21:04
1. Global Underground NuBreed 006 - Satoshi Tomiie
The ultimate in dark progressive house. 2 cds of the deepest phatest cruisest prog house your likely to hear by the dance music scenes hottest property. Tomiie debuted in the top 100 charts this year in the 50s...and he will likely rise up into the top 10 in 2003. Look out for this guy...will become one of dance musics biggest names ever.

2. Mudvayne - The End Of All Things To Come
The best metal cd ive heard in the last 12 months. Heavy, chunky, a lot more melodic and a lot more mature than their debut album. One of the best metal albums ive ever heard.

3. Korn - Untouchables
What else can i say other than i love this cd. A more mature style, their heaviest cd, also their most melodic, and half of the tracks would be in their top 10-15 songs of all time.

4. Global Underground 023 - James Lavelle: Barcelona
A different style for Global Underground - heading into the breakbeat scene and James Lavelle delivers with an absolute cranker of an album. Two cds worth of breaks, deep house, hip hop to create a great new direction for the best CD series in the world.

5. LTJ Bukem + MC Conrad - Progression Sessions: Live In Japan
Number 7 in the Progression Session series and the best offering yet. A live recording from Japan this year (a week before i saw him!) Bukem plays his brand of intelligent drum n bass to perfection with the amazing voice of the MC Conrad over the top. Cant beat this for Drum n Bass.

6. GodsKitchen - Summer Trance
My favourite compilation cd. 3 cds...each one different. The first more progressive with some cranking tunes. The second heading in a trancier direction with Ferry Corsten and Paul Oakenfold. The third bangin out the harder trance/house. All discs perfectly mixed. You cant beat this for a compilation.

7. Hatebreed - Perserverance
WOW!! 38 minutes and 16 tracks worth of absolute hardcore pleasure. This is a must for any hardcore/metal fan. Hatebreed are without doubt high in the upper echelon of hardcore/metal bands at the moment. This album after their excellent debut shot them back into the spotlight. This is a MUST for any true metal fan. The cd doesnt let up at all. Pure Hardcore Bliss.

8. Global Underground 022 - Dave Seaman: Melbourne
A ripper of a cd by one of Australias favourite Internationals Dave Seamon. A bit funkier than other Global Undergrounds...this is one of the best Global undergrounds released.

9. Hed Kandi - Deeper 01.02
The best of the Hed Kandi range. The first cd full of more underground Progressive House tunes...while the second cd goes more commercial with some ripper tracks like Rapture and Its Love (Trippin') and the differentGear remix of Addicted To Bass.

10. 21st Century Drum n Bass No.2
A ripper of a DnB compilation

BW
2 Jan 2003, 21:05
Big call. Especially since it wasn't even released a week before you made the list. I don't like the latest offering very much.

The Hitman

Fair enough, I agree their two previous albums are better. Your mistaken on the release date though, it was released in November, 20th I think.

The Hitman
2 Jan 2003, 21:09
Fair enough, I agree their two previous albums are better. Your mistaken on the release date though, it was released in November, 20th I think.

Okay then. I was sure it was release din mid-December. Maybe that's when I heard the tracks then.

Nice list Macca. I saw Untouchables for $10 in JB Hi-Hi the other day and couldn't believe it.

Any more lists?

The Hitman

GhostofJimJess
2 Jan 2003, 21:53
Don't think I've actually accumulated ten new albums of 2002, so just let me have a look ... might just make it a Top 9 so far, for what my ever-changing opinion's worth.

1. Audioslave - Audioslave
2. Sparta - Wiretap Scars
3. Fu Manchu - California Crossing
4. QOTSA - Songs For The Deaf
5. Foo Fighters - One By One
6. Trail Of Dead - Source Tags & Codes
7. The Hives - Your New Favorite Band
8. Clutch - Jam Room
9. Weezer - Maladroit

Dipper
2 Jan 2003, 23:41
Originally posted by GhostofJimJess
Don't think I've actually accumulated ten new albums of 2002, so just let me have a look ... might just make it a Top 9 so far, for what my ever-changing opinion's worth.

1. Audioslave - Audioslave
2. Sparta - Wiretap Scars
4. QOTSA - Songs For The Deaf
5. Foo Fighters - One By One
6. Trail Of Dead - Source Tags & Codes
7. The Hives - Your New Favorite Band
8. Clutch - Jam Room
9. Weezer - Maladroit

Hey mate what's California Crossing like?I was thinking of getting it so if you can give me a bit of a mini review I'd appreciate it.

Darky
3 Jan 2003, 00:07
Can't be stuffed with a whole ten, but for me, easily the best two releases of 2002 have been :

Pegazus - The Headless Horseman
Arch Enemy - Wages of Sin

Darky
3 Jan 2003, 00:16

9. Blind Guardian: A night at the opera

Okay, first of all I can't believe someone else has actually heard of Blind Guardian.

While I was contemplating doing an actual top 10, I was also considering adding a "most disappointing" album, and this was it.

It's not really a bad album per se, but there aren't any standout tracks or killer melodies like on previous works. And basically long-time Blind Guardian faans have been waiting for a good album since "Imaginations From the Other Side" which came out 1996-ish... ("Nightfall..." a couple of years ago was crap).

Have you checked out their previous releases at all? Their first three are easily the best - the first two for material, and on the third album (Tales from The Twilight World), production improves by 500% and there are some killer tracks.

I've got into them in a big way in the last few months, but don't yet have that CD... how does that album compare with "King Of The Road" & "In Search Of..."?

Wally
3 Jan 2003, 05:38

The Hives - Your New Favorite Band

Brilliant,
My favorite release in '02, closely followed by Audioslave.

------------------------------------------------------
EFC: We Hate You Too

DEVO
3 Jan 2003, 06:35
10. DEATH IN VEGAS - Scorpio Rising
9. THE BREEDERS - Title TK
8. TORI AMOS - Scarlet's Walk
7. WAIKIKI - Already Home
6. GIRLS AGAINST BOYS - You Can't Fight What You Can't See
5. DOT ALLISON - We Are Science
4. THE CREATURES - In the Sun
3. GRINSPOON - New Detention
2. CURVE - Gift
1. CURVE - The New Adventures of Curve

CowboyFromHell
4 Jan 2003, 22:24
Originally posted by Darky
Can't be stuffed with a whole ten, but for me, easily the best two releases of 2002 have been :

Pegazus - The Headless Horseman
Arch Enemy - Wages of Sin

Yeah Darky, Arch Enemy kick ass! :cool:

mandy
5 Jan 2003, 09:51
I find it hard to believe nobody has mentioned Robbie Williams' Escapology. :confused:

~PC~
5 Jan 2003, 10:34
Originally posted by mandy5
I find it hard to believe nobody has mentioned Robbie Williams' Escapology. :confused:

Tis a brilliant album by a brilliant man :D

Diego
5 Jan 2003, 13:13
gee my cd purchusing was non existant last year. I cant seem to get into the swing of things!

My personal fav for 2002 would have to be Dj Shadow - The private press. Not as good as his first album but still has some good tracks.

Apart from that I had a shocking year with cds.

GhostofJimJess
8 Jan 2003, 20:39
Hey Dipper, sorry it took a while to get back to your query. If you're a true Fu Manchu afficianado, as I suspect you might be, you'll love California Crossing. I reckon it's a little bit more polished than most of their previous outings, which you may think is not such a good thing - I like it. Still plenty of fuzz in their too. They seem to try a few new things out - nothing I can put my finger on though. Buy it, burn it, burgle it ... whatever. Own it!!

PrideofSA
13 Jan 2003, 18:50
Originally posted by LionsForever
By the Way is a fantastic album but it isn't as good as Californication. Number One album for 2002 :D :D

Perhaps true, but you should really hear One Hot Minute for something that was ahead of it's time and not appreciated enough or for a classic Peppers album you can't go past Blood Sugar Sex Magik.

LionsForever
13 Jan 2003, 19:55
Originally posted by PrideofSA
Perhaps true, but you should really hear One Hot Minute for something that was ahead of it's time and not appreciated enough or for a classic Peppers album you can't go past Blood Sugar Sex Magik.
I haven't brought Blood Sugar Sex Magik yet, but by looking at the songs on the album I'd probably rate Californication as the best RHCP album.

Richmondfan#1
13 Jan 2003, 19:56
Okay, first of all I can't believe someone else has actually heard of Blind Guardian.

Are you kidding?

Even I've heard of them and I'm not into that really, just my punk rock/grunge.

Although I guess I do have several metal friends.

Squeak
13 Jan 2003, 20:15

Heh, I probably hear them every Thursday night at Metro but have no idea who they are along with all the other metal that gets played that I don't know.

bragg
15 Jan 2003, 19:38

8. Clutch - Jam Room

This must have slipped through the net on me .. how does it stack up against " Pure Rock Fury " knackers ???

would have to rate Brad - Discovery Park
Biffy Clyro - Blackened Sky
Q.O.T.S.A. - Songs for ...

Stocka
15 Jan 2003, 20:19
There were some other interesting albums released in 2002, generally of a genre-transcending nature, but I never got around to listening to them apart from more than a couple of spins, so I've limited my list to the absolutely brilliant 'Strange Bird', by Augie March, followed by 'The Last Broadcast' by Doves.