View Full Version : The team (vs. Port Adelaide)

Ludwig van Bertstare
26 Mar 2009, 16:42
ESSENDON

B: Henry Slattery, Michael Hurley, Dustin Fletcher
HB: Heath Hocking, Paddy Ryder, Courtenay Dempsey
C: Bachar Houli, Brent Stanton, Andrew Lovett
HF: Alwyn Davey, Jay Neagle, Adam McPhee
F: Angus Monfries, Matthew Lloyd, Scott Lucas
Foll: David Hille, Jobe Watson, Jason Winderlich
Int (from): Tom Bellchambers, Hayden Skipworth, Sam Lonergan, Tayte Pears, Ricky Dyson, Jarrod Atkinson, Jay Nash

New: Michael Hurley, Hayden Skipworth

PORT ADELAIDE
B: Michael Pettigrew, Alipate Carlile, Jacob Surjan
HB: Nathan Krakouer, Troy Chaplin, Domenic Cassisi
C: Shaun Burgoyne, Chad Cornes, Steven Salopek
HF: Robert Gray, Justin Westhoff, Peter Burgoyne
F: Brett Ebert, Warren Tredrea, Daniel Motlop
Foll: Dean Brogan, Kane Cornes, Danyle Pearce
Int (from): Travis Boak, Josh Carr, Brendon Lade, Tom Logan, David Rodan, Wade Thompson, Toby Thurstans,

New: Josh Carr, Wade Thompson

KaaN10
26 Mar 2009, 17:02
No NLM, sweet.

Spikey
26 Mar 2009, 17:04
This week would had be one of the only games I want him to play this season.

I mean, who else from our team is gonna punch Carr ffs?

BomberAce7
26 Mar 2009, 17:05
Yeah im happy with that team. Its anybody's guess who will miss out. More than likely Pears, Dyson & Nash.

keepzitreal
26 Mar 2009, 17:35
Quite pleased with the team, obviously it hurts having no Gumby, Spike and Welsh, but pretty happy with the rest and there is a fair bit to be positive about.

- Fletch, Lloyd and Lucas are playing..
- Houli, Dempsey, Neagle and Davey are playing

I think we can be competitive... we just need to match the workrate of their midfield which is easier said than done...

kelvin_sheedy
26 Mar 2009, 17:37
No Jetta is a massive mistake.

Big ground, slow forwards, we need pace and closing down ability up forward. Jetta provides that.

His best games have been at Subi and Aami. He plays in the 2's and gets 25+ touches and is not selected.

What gives? Is he injured?

Spikey
26 Mar 2009, 17:40
So does Davey though. Why was he sent back to Bendigo? To work on his defensive pressure? Perhaps he didn't do as he was told...

SirJimi05
26 Mar 2009, 17:50
No Jetta is a massive mistake.

Big ground, slow forwards, we need pace and closing down ability up forward. Jetta provides that.

His best games have been at Subi and Aami. He plays in the 2's and gets 25+ touches and is not selected.

What gives? Is he injured?

Jetta isnt lightning quick.

Davey, Lovett and Winderlich are all quicker and will all spend time forward.

I would have liked to see Jetta play simply for development sake but it is hardly going to cost us having him out of the team.

SirJimi05
26 Mar 2009, 17:55
ANyone else thinking that SLattery will miss due to injury hence Atkinson being named amongst the extended bench?

The Donners
26 Mar 2009, 18:01
This would be my line-up:

HB: Jarrod Atkinson, Paddy Ryder, Brent Stanton
C: Courtenay Dempsey, Bachar Houli, Jason Winderlich
HF: Angus Monfries, Matthew Lloyd, Adam McPhee
F: Alwyn Davey, Jay Neagle, Scott Lucas
Foll: David Hille, Jobe Watson, Andrew Lovett
Int (from): Tom Bellchambers, Sam Lonergan, Tayte Pears, Ricky Dyson
Emerg: Hayden Skipworth, Heath Hocking, Jay Nash

Midfield rotation is extremely important. I believe the only way we will be able to compete in the middle is by keeping the midfielders fresh by using them in short bursts.

If we come within 5 goals, I will be absolutely stoked and proud of the efforts of our best available 22 considering Port Adelaide have a full list to choose from. No excuse, simply a fact.

retroparty
26 Mar 2009, 18:18
This week would had be one of the only games I want him to play this season.

I mean, who else from our team is gonna punch Carr ffs?

Hopefully Hille cleans him & Tredrea up early on...

Darealrath
26 Mar 2009, 18:47
I saw Port beat Sydney live in the pre season. Their skills and pace (especially up forward) frighten me. We really need to put maximum pressure on them through the midfield to give our defenders a chance. I don't fancy our boys going head to head with theirs in the middle, massive gap in class.

OzBomber
26 Mar 2009, 19:33
So is Hurley a definite starter? Great! :)

kaskine
26 Mar 2009, 19:38

HB: Jarrod Atkinson, Paddy Ryder,Courtenay Dempsey
C: Bachar Houli,Brent Stanton, Jason Winderlich

New: Michael Hurley

skipworth should not play because of what samy said least night

Big Jim
26 Mar 2009, 22:22
Surprised Jetta didn't get picked. His speed up forward with davey could be very handy. Any discipline reasons that we haven't heard about?

kelvin_sheedy
26 Mar 2009, 22:39
Jetta isnt lightning quick.

Jetta has a 2.83 over 20m. He's quick over the first few but struggles to stretch out.

He's also got a quick mind which gets him a step ahead.

rainman06
26 Mar 2009, 22:51
Jetta has a 2.83 over 20m. He's quick over the first few but struggles to stretch out.

Quick or not, tackling is his forte and we need that in the forward line. That forward line is dreadfully slow (Other than Froggy of course, but he can only do so much)

stay true
26 Mar 2009, 23:50
Surprised Jetta wasn't picked but other than that it's pretty much what I expected.

ant555
27 Mar 2009, 09:13

Yep and Johns once did a 2.82 for 20m.

I don't know about him being a step ahead. For someone with a quick mind he runs himself into trouble a lot.

ant555
27 Mar 2009, 09:14

HB: Jarrod Atkinson, Paddy Ryder, Brent Stanton
C: Courtenay Dempsey, Bachar Houli, Jason Winderlich

Midfield rotation is extremely important. I believe the only way we will be able to compete in the middle is by keeping the midfielders fresh by using them in short bursts.

If we come within 5 goals, I will be absolutely stoked and proud of the efforts of our best available 22 considering Port Adelaide have a full list to choose from. No excuse, simply a fact.

Stanton at half back ? good luck with that :D

Boucks09
27 Mar 2009, 09:27
Really pleased that Heath Hocking got a spot, as we need a run with player. Surprised that Houli was named a starter and Jetta not even in the squad? Apart from that I'm happy with the team. I think Pears, Atkinson and Nash will miss out, unless Slatts misses in which case Atkinson will come in.

If we get within 4 goals (given it is not a 70-50 game) I will be pleased. Looking forward to Hurley!

The Donners
27 Mar 2009, 11:40
Stanton at half back ? good luck with that :D

I've seen him as a loose man across half-back on numerous ocassions... sharking for cheap possessions. He plays the role well. He's too soft as a genuine midfielder if you're also going to have Lovett there... which I would!

daffo
27 Mar 2009, 12:48
I'm also suprised with Jetta not being in the side. I know he hasn't done much in the first couple of games. Very happy with NLM not getting a game, our backline is looking settled.

marcuz
27 Mar 2009, 13:08
I wouldnt be surprised if atkinsonis picked purely on this weeks matchup. The port forward line is extremely mobile and we don't have enough guys who can keep up with them if he doesnt play. We havent had a decent small defender since mcviegh was moved to the middle.

SirJimi05
27 Mar 2009, 14:13

If he is always a step ahead why does he get caught so much? :confused:

Lance Uppercut
27 Mar 2009, 14:34
can't believe people would entertain the idea of leaving Skipworth out :confused:

carmi99
27 Mar 2009, 14:58
can't believe people would entertain the idea of leaving Skipworth out :confused:

Skipworth will not miss. He is a lock.

Longy413
27 Mar 2009, 15:31
Int (from): Tom Bellchambers, Hayden Skipworth, Sam Lonergan, Tayte Pears, Ricky Dyson, Jarrod Atkinson, Jay Nash

We know Skipworth is in, Lonergan is a no brainer.

Pears and Dyson for the other two spots I think.

I really believe they'll ruck Paddy.

Given Peter is playing half-back, I presume Hocking will tag Shaun Burgoyne, with Kane Cornes (who'll tag anyway) he is their best mid. That worries me, could be good value for most disposals.

Longy413
27 Mar 2009, 15:33
I don't know about him being a step ahead. For someone with a quick mind he runs himself into trouble a lot.

I reckon Kelvin is right, but the problem is that he over thinks.

Wahooti Fandango
27 Mar 2009, 15:36
I've seen him as a loose man across half-back on numerous ocassions... sharking for cheap possessions. He plays the role well. He's too soft as a genuine midfielder if you're also going to have Lovett there... which I would!

He is more useful floating up forward as he leads well and is a great set shot.

ant555
27 Mar 2009, 16:01

When he has been playing on a wing.
Half backs also have to mind a half forward.

TimeIsRunningOut
27 Mar 2009, 16:45
Well, here's the final team:

HB: Heath Hocking, Patrick Ryder, Courtenay Dempsey
C: Bachar Houli, Brent Stanton, Andrew Lovett
HF: Alwyn Davey, Jay Neagle, Adam McPhee
F: Angus Monfries, Matthew Lloyd, Scott Lucas
Foll: David Hille, Jobe Watson, Jason Winderlich
I/C: Tom Bellchambers, Hayden Skipworth, Sam Lonergan, Ricky Dyson
Emg: Jarrod Atkinson, Jay Nash, Tayte Pears

Would have preferred Pears or Atkinson over Dyson.

Jonesy1987
27 Mar 2009, 16:57
Would have preferred Atkinson in over Dyson to give us more options for Motlop, but Dyson earned his spot.

spiraldiver
27 Mar 2009, 17:16
Is it just me or is anyone else terrified by the prospect of Hurley lining up on Tredrea? That's quite an ask for an underdeveloped first-gamer is it not?

Mr Mosquito
27 Mar 2009, 17:26
Is it just me or is anyone else terrified by the prospect of Hurley lining up on Tredrea? That's quite an ask for an underdeveloped first-gamer is it not?

Not sure underdeveloped is the word i would be using, he is one of the most ready made KPP players to come out of the draft in years. His body is not all that it can be, or will be but it is still strong and big enuff to compete against a guy like tredrea.

Wish people would show at least a glimpse of a positive attitude on this board, half the people on here make me disgusted to call them essendon "fans" - i use the term 'fans' loosely

loopy_cam
27 Mar 2009, 17:46
Looking at the round 1 prediction thread, it looks to me that yaco55 and GoDons were the closest to the actual line-up.

GoDons had everyone, though he did have an extended interchange and Yaco had the right team except for Daniher in over Houli. Well done to those guys.

alfiiee
27 Mar 2009, 19:28
No David Myers?

any particular reason for this?

spiraldiver
27 Mar 2009, 20:24
Not sure underdeveloped is the word i would be using, he is one of the most ready made KPP players to come out of the draft in years. His body is not all that it can be, or will be but it is still strong and big enuff to compete against a guy like tredrea.

Wish people would show at least a glimpse of a positive attitude on this board, half the people on here make me disgusted to call them essendon "fans" - i use the term 'fans' loosely

Mate, I've got my 17-game membership again. Can't wait for the Dons to kick off the season and I'll be there for every kick. I'm always bullish about the team's chances. Still, you can't deny that Port have absolutely owned this club in recent seasons. Last time we played them in round one they dacked us by 95 points, with Tredrea kicking six. I love the look of Hurley but this is a big, big ask for the kid. Hurley might be a strapping lad for his age but Tredrea is tree trunk, and with Knights' game plan our defenders tend to get badly exposed. Don't read it as negative - just a bit concerned.

Jonesy1987
27 Mar 2009, 21:00
No David Myers?

any particular reason for this?

Did his ankle in a practice match, though the club did say he was right to go, might just be precautionary.

Mr Mosquito
27 Mar 2009, 22:37
Mate, I've got my 17-game membership again. Can't wait for the Dons to kick off the season and I'll be there for every kick. I'm always bullish about the team's chances. Still, you can't deny that Port have absolutely owned this club in recent seasons. Last time we played them in round one they dacked us by 95 points, with Tredrea kicking six. I love the look of Hurley but this is a big, big ask for the kid. Hurley might be a strapping lad for his age but Tredrea is tree trunk, and with Knights' game plan our defenders tend to get badly exposed. Don't read it as negative - just a bit concerned.

I think ur comment may have just been the small thing that tipped me over the edge and prompted me to post my gripe.

It just seems that there are too many people posting here for the sole purpose of complaining about our club and our players.

EG....poeple getting stuck into myers saying that he aint up to it and wont ever be good enufg......the kid has played less than 10 games...he is no better or worse that gary ablett after this many games. give the kid a chance.

I agree that essedon will find it tough this weekend, however there is a lot for us to be excited about

Darealrath
28 Mar 2009, 08:51
I've gone from thinking we were no chance at the start of the week to thinking we're a bit of a chance at an upset...

ghostdog
28 Mar 2009, 10:32
Hurley on Tredrea is what I want to see. Fletcher can swap spots easily with him if it gets too much of an ask. Mostly I want Hurley to learn. So yeah, bring on Tredrea, Fevola, Pavlich whoever.

Sir James
28 Mar 2009, 10:48
As Ghostdog said bring it on.
We just have to stop them jumping us at the start like previous matches.
Dont mind the side going up, still got a few players to come in the side so it puts pressure on players who wanna be lazy, we didn't have that last year.

warney7
28 Mar 2009, 10:59
Not worried about Hurley on Tredrea at all.

If Tredrea has 3 goals in the first quarter then maybe change it up, but we have no reason to be worried just yet.

Good to see Slattery got up for the game, but it's also a shame to see Dyson in our best 22.

Take your chance Ricky, show us what you're made of.

ghostdog
28 Mar 2009, 11:10
The Power’s final 22 to face the Bombers, as named at 4.30pm on Friday, is as follows…

B: Michael Pettigrew, Alipate Carlile, Jacob Surjan
HB: Nathan Krakouer, Troy Chaplin, Dom Cassisi
C: Shaun Burgoyne, Chad Cornes, Steven Salopek
HF: Robert Gray, Justin Westhoff, Peter Burgoyne
F: Brett Ebert, Warren Tredrea, Daniel Motlop
R: Dean Brogan, Kane Cornes, Danyle Pearce
Interchange: Travis Boak, Josh Carr, Brendon Lade, David Rodan
Emergencies: Tom Logan, Wade Thompson, Toby Thurstans

So,
Hurley - Tredrea
Ryder - Westhoff
Slattery or Hocking (or Dempsey?) - Ebert or Motlop i suppose
Probably prefer Dempsey - P. Burgoyne
Fletcher - Gray
Wouldn't mind seeing McPhee go to half-back at some stage to allow Ryder forward. Port's small forwards, especially Motlop, will be troublesome.

Hille obviously needs to take care of Lade. Port's mids are clinical. C. Cornes, Salopek and Boak especially, and K Cornes. I expect C Cornes will go to half back if we are pressing. That might see C Cornes on Ryder at some stage. I'd really like to see Lonergan checking Salopek.
Watson - K Cornes? Stanton - S Burgoyne? or vice versa.

Davey - Krakouer
Lucas - Pettigrew
Monfries - Surjan
McPhee - Cassisi
Neagle - Chaplin
Lloyd - Carlile

Skipworth might revel in simply being back at AAMI, so I'm looking forward to that.
If Lade goes forward I reckon give Bellchambers a go at ruck, and push Hille forward... maybe to the goal square, Lloyd to half forward, or keep Neagle at half forward and send Lloyd to the wing... or something like that.

This stuff does my head in! Glad I'm not a coach.

hird+lloyd=legends
28 Mar 2009, 11:41
If the dons are good by foot and hand then i think were a chance to win, but if we butcher the ball port will take advantage and win comfortably. we saw what happened with richmond shanking kicks and turning the ball over, teams can score quickly off a turnover. So we have to be clean with the ball.
Cant wait for the game tommorow, would have been good to see myers playing.

bombersno1
28 Mar 2009, 11:46
Which person does Dyson have compromising photos of..fair dinkum, would have much rather have any of the 3 emergencies than Dyson!

fishguts
28 Mar 2009, 12:13
Which person does Dyson have compromising photos of..fair dinkum, would have much rather have any of the 3 emergencies than Dyson!

Dyson earned his place. Atko will likely come in for Slatts, Pears isn't match fit and Nash has a job interview for the local butcher ;)

bombersno1
28 Mar 2009, 12:26
Dyson earned his place.

Doing what exactly..butchering kicks or missing tackles..which one is an asset to our side:thumbsd:

fishguts
28 Mar 2009, 12:38
Doing what exactly..butchering kicks or missing tackles..which one is an asset to our side:thumbsd:

You seriously are the most pessimistic 'supporter' I have ever meet. If you had bothered to watch the NAB cup, Dyson was one of our better kicks. As for Tackles, He didn't miss many, Was pretty good for the most of the NAB cup and if you still aren't content to back him as an Essendon player, then quite frankly, **** off to Richmond, I'm sure Sheedy would love you on board.

hird+lloyd=legends
28 Mar 2009, 16:33
Dyson has played well through the pre-season and deserves his spot. Last year everyone bagged him for playing like crap and when he actually plays well people still dont like it. geeez. its a new year lets hope he plays well throughout.

kelvin_sheedy
28 Mar 2009, 17:21
Dyson has done diddly through the pre season.

Pretty much every game was average or below. Sums up his career.

He get a heap of the pill in last years NAB allthough he butchered it mostly.

Oh well, here's hoping a dud can turn things around.

bombersno1
28 Mar 2009, 20:06

Glad I was not the only one..

fishguts
28 Mar 2009, 20:43
Glad I was not the only one..

Last year... But you and Kelvin are the village pessimists so it doesn't matter.

smcateer
29 Mar 2009, 09:45
It's criminal how we, as a club, underrate Nash. He's no superstar, but he's a consistently good player who puts in 100% every match. I almost fell over last year when he was left out of the supporters' best 22.

Dyson, at his best, might just surpass Nash's average contribution - but his worst is dismal. Maybe Dyson will come good, TSB sees something in him and I hope he's right. But let's not get confused, he's a project player ... Nash is a regular contributer now, he's not a maybe.

There are few players who have earned their spot as much as Nash - he should be put on a pedistal by us, our players should strive to put in that much effort each week. You drop him for a project like Dyson or Houli, and you send a message to the other players - we don't reward effort.

Maybe his worst crime is that he is a known quantity - around here we only seem to get excited about maybes.

Dropping Nash for Dyson makes me firey hot ... with anger.

kelvin_sheedy
29 Mar 2009, 11:16
It's criminal how we, as a club, underrate Nash. He's no superstar, but he's a consistently good player who puts in 100% every match. I almost fell over last year when he was left out of the supporters' best 22.

Dyson, at his best, might just surpass Nash's average contribution - but his worst is dismal. Maybe Dyson will come good, TSB sees something in him and I hope he's right. But let's not get confused, he's a project player ... Nash is a regular contributer now, he's not a maybe.

There are few players who have earned their spot as much as Nash - he should be put on a pedistal by us, our players should strive to put in that much effort each week. You drop him for a project like Dyson or Houli, and you send a message to the other players - we don't reward effort.

Maybe his worst crime is that he is a known quantity - around here we only seem to get excited about maybes.

Err, have you been asleep for the past 2 years?

Nash is a dud. For a guy that is supposed to have good disposal he misses targets more than any other player. He can't defend and if he can't kick than what is the point in playing him.

He has 0 upside as he's got no improvement left in him.

The coach, rightly, has little faith in him and his non selection is a bad sign. To have guys like Hocking, Dyson, Atkinson play before you says a lot about his abilities.

He should be stamped with the never to play again unless we have massive amounts of injuries.

efcboy
29 Mar 2009, 11:27
those saying dyson hasn't earned his spot clearly haven't been watching the practice matches. myself and ant have probably seen more than anyone and i have no issue with him being selected.

i will be annoyed if h.slattery plays. he really is only a fringe player and he couldn't train with the main group last week. IMO he is not worth risking and a fully fit should be playing instead. i'm hoping atkinson is the late inclusion.

Ben the Gooner
29 Mar 2009, 11:42
i will be annoyed if h.slattery plays. he really is only a fringe player

That's a load of shite.

Who's a better back pocket on our list than him?

rainman06
29 Mar 2009, 12:08

Were talking about Jay Nash right?
Defenders are meant to stop their opponent first and foremost.
If they have good footskills and can create of half back then it is a bonus.....there is probably room in the side for one defender who is not very good at beating his opponent but has excellent skills and can be used offensively.

Nash is consistently exposed by the opposition when they play through his opponent and he cannot kick to save himself.

You are right about his effort but unfortunately effort is not enough.

Sigmund
29 Mar 2009, 12:28
Dyson has done diddly through the pre season.

Pretty much every game was average or below. Sums up his career.

Oh well, here's hoping a dud can turn things around.

Kelvin, the quality of your posts has dropped significantly in recent weeks.... It is not just that you are negative, but that you are making some reductionistic and hasty conclusions about a number of different topics (I do not necessarily disagree with you about Nash - it is more the way you say it).. it is almost as though you have regressed to a 10YO boy...... can you fill me in my man (or boy??:confused:)

ant555
29 Mar 2009, 18:30
We know Skipworth is in, Lonergan is a no brainer.

Pears and Dyson for the other two spots I think.

I really believe they'll ruck Paddy.

Given Peter is playing half-back, I presume Hocking will tag Shaun Burgoyne, with Kane Cornes (who'll tag anyway) he is their best mid. That worries me, could be good value for most disposals.

Hope you did not loose too much money taking the value on Shaun Burgoyne getting the most disposals :p

Hocking 25 , Burgoyne 15.

Longy413
29 Mar 2009, 20:55
When he has been playing on a wing.
Half backs also have to mind a half forward.

He went to half-back a lot last season, playing as a half-back, to break a tag.

Hope you did not loose too much money taking the value on Shaun Burgoyne getting the most disposals :p

Hocking 25 , Burgoyne 15.

Thanks for the concern.

Credit where credit is due, he had a good game.
Couple of early mistakes, but he wasn't on his own.

smcateer
16 Apr 2009, 13:05
Nash is consistently exposed by the opposition when they play through his opponent and he cannot kick to save himself.

Just for the record, a quick note on Nash's game against Carlton.

Disposals: 18
Effective: 94% (that's 17 effective)

I mention this because when I was calling for him to be promoted to the 1's, the usual response was that his disposal was too poor to justify a spot. Only Jobe (19 effective) and Stanton (20 effective) had more effective disposals on the night.

Meanwhile Dyson, who seems untouchable at selection picked up 9 effective touches.

Andre 2000
16 Apr 2009, 14:01
Just for the record, a quick note on Nash's game against Carlton.

Disposals: 18
Effective: 94% (that's 17 effective)

I mention this because when I was calling for him to be promoted to the 1's, the usual response was that his disposal was too poor to justify a spot. Only Jobe (19 effective) and Stanton (20 effective) had more effective disposals on the night.

Meanwhile Dyson, who seems untouchable at selection picked up 9 effective touches.

Dyson tagged Murphy mostly in the 2nd half. He was pretty effective. Who was Nash playing on? I honestly cannot remember.

kelvin_sheedy
16 Apr 2009, 15:22
Dyson tagged Murphy mostly in the 2nd half. He was pretty effective. Who was Nash playing on? I honestly cannot remember.

Nash was on Houlihan who had a pretty good game. Houlihan had 19 touches, 2 goals, 2 assists, 4 clearances and 8 inside 50's. A pretty good days work for a half forward flanker.

Nash missed more tackles than <insert mardi gras joke here> so forget about his one game where he hit a few targets.

Nash and Dyson are both duds so it doesn't really matter which one's in the side. At least Dyson gives a bit of a contest these days and has improved slightly.

ghostdog
16 Apr 2009, 15:45
Nash was on Houlihan who had a pretty good game. Houlihan had 19 touches, 2 goals, 2 assists, 4 clearances and 8 inside 50's. A pretty good days work for a half forward flanker.

Nash missed more tackles than <insert mardi gras joke here> so forget about his one game where he hit a few targets.

Nash and Dyson are both duds so it doesn't really matter which one's in the side. At least Dyson gives a bit of a contest these days and has improved slightly.

If Nash is selected and his efficiency is similar to last week's, so that his performances start to point to consistency, all the better. At least it will show that he can improve.