View Full Version : Lovett hate??
rumblah
29 Mar 2009, 16:13
What's with the Port Adelaide boys hatred of Lovett??
I saw Brogan have a massive crack at him before the game, then in the first half someone clotheslined him then had words.
Whats the go?
bipolarbeaR
29 Mar 2009, 16:44
I have absolutely no idea, must have skipped a training session of theirs in juniors?
it was pretty weird, nothing really comes to my mind as to why it happened
Wahooti Fandango
29 Mar 2009, 16:56
Brogan and Pettigrew are wankers.
bruce29
29 Mar 2009, 16:58
dean bogan's a tough nut...picking on a bloke a foot smaller than him
PressureCooker
29 Mar 2009, 17:02
Brogan and Pettigrew are wankers.
Pretty much explains it I think.
Brogan and Pettigrew are wankers.What a ****ing weak dog.
All clubs now that Lovett has been easy to suck in verbally in the past and i assume it was a directive for the players to keep at him all day.
Duckworth
29 Mar 2009, 17:06
Yes totally uncalled for and unsportsman like behaviour. Pettigrew should not call himself a sporting professional with behaviour like that.
Although, credit to Lovett in that incident for keeping his cool. I'd like to think that Knights is having an influence on him and his maturity. (Shame the same isn't happening at PA)
What a ****ing weak dog.
Why, because he gave him a mouthful while on the ground?
Yes totally uncalled for and unsportsman like behaviour. Pettigrew should not call himself a sporting professional with behaviour like that.
You guys have forgotten what WE were like when we were a half descent team.
Mind games will always have a place in football.
Wahooti Fandango
29 Mar 2009, 17:10
He gave Lovett a coat-hanger. :confused:
i don't know what he said but he was the one who did the wrong thing, lovett should've been yelling at him
Wahooti Fandango
29 Mar 2009, 17:15
Pettigrew could get weeks. High contact, intentional, low impact.
Why, because he gave him a mouthful while on the ground?Because he deliberately broke a law of the game in order to hurt an unsuspecting opponent. They're playing football, not flaunting egos on a Saturday night in the CBD.
He then mouthed off at Lovett, who as I said, was on the ground after being clotheslined unsuspectingly. Absolute shit-act. That's not football. Having said that, I was impressed with Lovett for not carrying on with it; as somebody said, Knights is obviously having an influence. I know if I had've been in Lovett's place, Pettigrew would've been on his arse copping what he deserved. Dog.
Mind games will always have a place in football.They certainly do, and I remember us being absolute bullies, especially in the backline. There's being rough and intimidating opponents, and although he looked like a thug, Brogan was within his rights to do so.
Pettigrew's act was a shameful one, though. ********.
He gave Lovett a coat-hanger. :confused:
And how was it any different the the other ones that happen every game including when our players do them?
I think the fuss being made is because he gave Lovett a mouthfull or two.
There was no malice in the tackle and you guys really are carrying on a bit about what was a pretty small event.
lol Barnard springs to my mind
Wahooti Fandango
29 Mar 2009, 17:20
And how was it any different the the other ones that happen every game including when our players do them?
This appeared to be intentional whereas other incidents seem to be purely reaction. Regardless, it was high contact, intentional and low impact.
the clothesline wasn't the issue because it was accidental(i hope), it's that he thought it'd be good to act tough after screwing up tackle, hitting a player in the neck then abusing him and putting him down.
nothing in it at all. pettigrew (who?) may very well be a wanker, but he was clearly mouthing off cos lovett was being a lair trying to take him on from the mark. sort of a "cop that for trying to take me on". I'm happy that lovett has the confidence to try these things
lovett showed great composure to just go back and slot the goal. showed that he is maturing which is a good sign for the year
nothing in it at all. pettigrew (who?) may very well be a wanker, but he was clearly mouthing off cos lovett was being a lair trying to take him on from the mark. sort of a "cop that for trying to take me on". I'm happy that lovett has the confidence to try these things
lovett showed great composure to just go back and slot the goal. showed that he is maturing which is a good sign for the year
that'd make sense to me if it was a good tackle and he didn't give away a free kick(which resulted in a goal)
but i'm more wondering what triggered this hatred towards him in the first place.
That sledging was a dog's act by Pettigrew.
I mean seriously, what the f***?
Sledging has a place in the game and always will, because it can expose the mental fragility in some players.
But what was the point of that? He gives away an obvious coathanger free. Lovett is lying there on the ground, and the stupid prick stands over him, mouthing at him. For what? Mind games? Give me a break. There was no mind games in that. He was just making himself feel good by being a dick.
hateitorlovett13
29 Mar 2009, 18:05
There was no malice in the tackle and you guys really are carrying on a bit about what was a pretty small event.
No malice? The rat threw his ****ing forearm through Lovett's throat. Pfft.
He clearly meant to do it, and was pretty ****ing pleased with himself by the looks of it. It takes a real big man to clothesline another bloke whos got the footy in his hands- but if Port wanna do that, then go ahead. They won't be any major threat for a premiership any time soon.
Standing over a bloke and yelling at him just after you've committed that kind of dog act is pretty rank. Gutless piece of shit should go- someone did it in the NM Melb game and was immediately remonstrated against, something we just do not do enough anymore- and the commentators called it a definite suspension.
Really would have been nice to see Reimers out there today to give those dogs some of their own shit. I don't care what we did when we were good, we didn't do that and even when we did some intimidating and violent shit it was done for a good reason, and clearly worked. Port are no major threat and just don't need to be taking out the smallest blokes on the ground.
****ing gimps.
Ben the Gooner
29 Mar 2009, 18:06
To Lovett's credit, he didn't get distracted by it. If he can rile the opposition and keep his cool every week, then that's another string to his bow.
windyhill
29 Mar 2009, 18:07
Some of you are slow on the up-take, was absolutely painfully obvious that Brogan was bringing up issues from the past. My problem with it was it was 2-3 years ago and if you have to keep dragging up the same issue then you are really struggling. It`s boring, it`s old hat, 14 other clubs have been there and done that. Brogan, in my eyes, made himself look like the complete ********. It`s been done to death blockhead or do we have to start bringing up walks in the park & smashing blokes in airport terminals ?
warney7
29 Mar 2009, 18:07
Did anyone else notice Lovett look to the left of the goals right before/as he kicked the ball?
jonoman89
29 Mar 2009, 18:09
Lovett tried to sell some candy then went to run around him - you can't expect the Port player to not grab him...he was desperate. Lovett was a bit silly to try and run around him though, he didn't have enough space to do it. Doubt it'll get weeks.
I thought Lovett played really well in the 2nd half. His kicks opened up the play very well...stood out amongst the pretty average foot skills you blokes had.
it was quite clear that mark williams had identified throughout the pre-season that lovett had been essendons main playmaker. it seemed obvious he had instructed all players to verbally and physically abuse lovett wherever possible.
lovett handled it quite well i thought on the whole particularly slotting that goal and sticking it up petticoat (i mean pettigrew a ****).
as for the coathanger this is one rule that needs to be looked at. IMO it should have been a free and 50m penalty. given they now pay that for continuing the tackle/dumping the player etc surely its only logical to apply the same rule for a coathanger. lovett was waltzing into an open goal.
i hope petticoat (pettigrew) does get charged - he may only get a reprimand but at least he will carry points over towards any future indiscretion. i don't think he did his personal reputation any favours - not that anyone rates the wayneker anyway!
stay true
29 Mar 2009, 18:23
Kudos to Lovett for getting on with the game.:thumbsu:
rainman06
29 Mar 2009, 23:42
I loved the look that Andy gave Pettishit when he went back and slotted it. Did that hack think he was tough or what? he tackled him around the neck?
P.A.F.C
30 Mar 2009, 00:11
Hmm, I thought that Petttigew was one of our best players in a comfortable win against you lot. But yeah, no premiership anytime soon for us cause one of our players sledged the opposition.
TimeIsRunningOut
30 Mar 2009, 01:40
Seriously, do Port have more knobheads than any other sporting team in the country? I find it amazing that they have managed to accumulate so many ********s onto their list. I mean, it's as if they have been trying all along.
Giggidy Giggidy
30 Mar 2009, 08:53
Seriously, do Port have more knobheads than any other sporting team in the country? I find it amazing that they have managed to accumulate so many ********s onto their list. I mean, it's as if they have been trying all along.
They lost the biggest wanker in the comp a few years ago cos he didn't feel tough enough without his brother next to him double-teaming the opposition's smallest blokes.
Of course now Carr is back and he's obviously found the confidence to take on the big guys (i.e. Dyson) on his own. Lucky for him NLM wasn't there this time :D
Macca19
30 Mar 2009, 10:28
'dog act' must be the most overused term in football. He didnt punch him, kick him, stomp on his face nor teabag or turkey slap him when he was motionless on the ground. Getting in his face was a bit odd but the coathanger wasnt intentional. Whether he gets points/weeks...he might do.
Wasnt that long ago you were the most intimidating side around with guys like Barnes, Wallis, Barnard, M Johnson, Solomon, Moorcroft, Hardwick getting in the face of opponents on a weekly basis and you'd be telling people to harden the **** up.
centurion
30 Mar 2009, 10:32
'dog act' must be the most overused term in football. He didnt punch him, kick him, stomp on his face nor teabag or turkey slap him when he was motionless on the ground. Getting in his face was a bit odd but the coathanger wasnt intentional. Whether he gets points/weeks...he might do.
Wasnt that long ago you were the most intimidating side around with guys like Barnes, Wallis, Barnard, M Johnson, Solomon, Moorcroft, Hardwick getting in the face of opponents on a weekly basis and you'd be telling people to harden the **** up.
Actually it feels like a bloody long time ago now.....
I agree with your comments though Macca, its all part of footy.
1st Brogan is a hot head. Since half way through last year when our team kept rolling over he decided he had had enough and got even angrier with his teammates... he started leading from the front that Port needed to toughen up mentally more then physically. He showed leadership for the rest of 2008 and his name was considered for the captaincy.
2nd I think he has decided to continue that leadership by using his temper/anger to set the mindset our team must take... and lets be honest... we have developed a soft reputation.
Some might say being hard at the ball and not verbally abusing players is greater sign of hardness... true... but players need to get their mindsets hard/angry 1st. Verbal stoushes are just another mechanism for this... like pushing and shoving your opponent before the bounce.
For Port I think this worked as we tackled hard and delivered some bone jarring bumps.
Pettigrew's closeline was obviously a free and no doubt unintentially as he instinctively threw out his arm to tackle/stop the body. In fact is was a good free to give away as Essendon were about to stream downfield and it held up play (even if they did eventually get a goal out of it). His spray afterwards was from out of the box... but bloody hell... good on him... and good on Lovett for getting on with.
We need some emotion and fire back in this game. Skills are great to watch but without players and supporters emotions it becomes rather boring.
As Merv and Macca have stated... not much to get worked up about. Teams and players from years gone by have been just as verbal and physical. It adds to the emotion and specticle.
If you guys now hate Brogan and Pettigrew that much more then GOOD... it creates passion, rivalry, and emotion in the game. Gives us something to look forward to, a villian to hate, or something to talk about.
Now stop whinging about 'little johnny' being verbally attacked in a physical game and get on with next week :)
And good luck for next week and the year.
FrankGrimes
30 Mar 2009, 11:58
couldnt agree more, didnt swing his arm, was the smart thing to do to stop him from going around him to an open goal, people piss and moan about how soft the game is getting then call for him to be reported for that??? its was soft as butter, lovett got up almost straight away and showed no ill efforts.... its ok when we where doing it... like Macca19 said... its a mans game.....
DapperDon
30 Mar 2009, 12:16
1st Brogan is a hot head. Since half way through last year when our team kept rolling over he decided he had had enough and got even angrier with his teammates... he started leading from the front that Port needed to toughen up mentally more then physically. He showed leadership for the rest of 2008 and his name was considered for the captaincy.
2nd I think he has decided to continue that leadership by using his temper/anger to set the mindset our team must take... and lets be honest... we have developed a soft reputation.
Some might say being hard at the ball and not verbally abusing players is greater sign of hardness... true... but players need to get their mindsets hard/angry 1st. Verbal stoushes are just another mechanism for this... like pushing and shoving your opponent before the bounce.
For Port I think this worked as we tackled hard and delivered some bone jarring bumps.
Pettigrew's closeline was obviously a free and no doubt unintentially as he instinctively threw out his arm to tackle/stop the body. In fact is was a good free to give away as Essendon were about to stream downfield and it held up play (even if they did eventually get a goal out of it). His spray afterwards was from out of the box... but bloody hell... good on him... and good on Lovett for getting on with.
We need some emotion and fire back in this game. Skills are great to watch but without players and supporters emotions it becomes rather boring.
As Merv and Macca have stated... not much to get worked up about. Teams and players from years gone by have been just as verbal and physical. It adds to the emotion and specticle.
If you guys now hate Brogan and Pettigrew that much more then GOOD... it creates passion, rivalry, and emotion in the game. Gives us something to look forward to, a villian to hate, or something to talk about.
Now stop whinging about 'little johnny' being verbally attacked in a physical game and get on with next week :)
And good luck for next week and the year.
Quality post kaysee
To all my Essendon friends, football is a man's game. If Brogan didn't have his little stoush at the start of the game this Pettigrew free kick wouldn't even be a subject. Hopefully we start inforcing ourselves on the footy field as I am getting quite sick of being pushed around.
Where has the Essendon mongrol gone?
upanddown
30 Mar 2009, 12:19
I prefer Lovett playing in the forward line. Play that Motlop type role for Essendon.
Kaiser Powser
30 Mar 2009, 12:35
Giving someone a coathanger and then acting like you are the big tough man for taking them down, makes you a wanker in my book. If he laid a good tough tackle or a bump and then gave him a spray, fair enough and good on him. But to do it after a reckless coathanger is pissweak. A bit like O'hailpin, but at least this guy was from the opposition.
I don't think the 'coathanger' was that bad. I do on the other hand hate borgan, and think he is a douche' of the highest order.
rainman06
30 Mar 2009, 13:29
The coathanger wasnt the issue that was just a high tackle but who does he think he is standing over him getting in his ear? what could he possibly have said?
''Dont try and get around me or i'll tackle you over the shoulder and give you a shot at goal''?
''How dare you play up to a free kick when i tackled you high''?
Did he think he laid it to him or something?
Talk about tryhard tough guys.
As for Brogan, that was just a big dope trying to fire up his side, nothing unusual there.
Wanna B Hird
30 Mar 2009, 15:56
What shits me is we didnt have anyone to fly the flag for us and not just that occation, PLEASE HURRY UP KYLE REIMERS
stay true
30 Mar 2009, 16:14
Yeah I noticed we didn't have much agro about us at times. Maybe drafting good blokes is turning out to be a bad thing.:p
warney7
30 Mar 2009, 16:53
Dean Brogan has been suspended for 1 week for striking Andrew Lovett.
Sucked in dumbass! :thumbsu:
Wahooti Fandango
30 Mar 2009, 17:05
This suggest that it was a professional penalty/cynical penalty in that he desired to stop the opposition from scoring. This means that it was intentional and that he should get weeks.
Runknisse
30 Mar 2009, 18:35
I hate watching us play footy now. I'd be much more happier if we just ran around smashing blokes. Where's Anthony Antrobus or Ron Andrews when you need them?
hateitorlovett13
30 Mar 2009, 19:17
I know you ****ers hate NLM but it would have been great to see what would have happened if Pettigrew did that to Lovett with NLM in the same state...
warney7
30 Mar 2009, 19:50
I know you ****ers hate NLM but it would have been great to see what would have happened if Pettigrew did that to Lovett with NLM in the same state...
He would have raced in, knocked Pettigrew over (to put it lightly) and the umpire would have reversed the free kick......worth it much?
Ben the Gooner
30 Mar 2009, 19:54
I want to see him and Reimers play in a game where there's a brawl. Preferably a game I'm at.:D
warney7
30 Mar 2009, 19:56
I want to see him and Reimers play in a game where there's a brawl. Preferably a game I'm at.:D
The line in the sand game against Hawthorn a few years back was great.
Not only did we smash them by like 70 points, the melee happened right under where we were sitting. :thumbsu:
The reality is, if there's any leadership at our club, a player from Port (lets say Travis Boak) should be targeted next time we meet them.
kelvin_sheedy
30 Mar 2009, 21:38
It was a deliberate ploy by Choco to get the Port guys to intimidate us.
Something that we've lacked over the past few years is hardness and toughness.
I don't think we crashed into their kids hard enough. It's why I miss blokes like Solomon and a young MJ in our side.
james_omahoney
30 Mar 2009, 21:40
Bollocks. His behaviour was evidence of the malice. Although I think S.Taylor is the biggest lowlife of round 1. Always thought that man was a **** and now he's confirmed it.
dirtywhitepacker
31 Mar 2009, 00:08
My initial reaction to the coathanger was "you ****ing dog"
My initial reaction to the post coathanger sledge was "you are making yourself look like an idiot, get out of his face and get on with it"
My later thoughts on the matter went something like this 'Well, he didn't mean to make contact to the head, just unfortunate, shouldn't of carried on with it like a twat, Lovett was man enough to get on with it'
I would like to see more manly acts (Pettigrews action was not manly, not to be mistaken), more revved up confrontations. I would have liked McPhee or someone close to the vicinity to run up and confront Pettigrew, bump him, hit him. I may get a spray for it, but I think it's more important to have an image of sticking up for your mate on the ground, that you aren't going to cop that **** then getting that next goal in that game. I don't care if that person then got reported and missed a week. I don't care if the free kick is reversed. It shows a passion for your mates and what we stand for. But that's just me....
On a side note, if Fletcher got two weeks a couple of seasons ago for attempting to trip (I vaguely remember this, please clarify), how is a trip any different to a closeline? Is it not worse? How can attempting to trip someone justify weeks and then a closeline is deemed fair game to the tribunal?
This suggest that it was a professional penalty/cynical penalty in that he desired to stop the opposition from scoring. This means that it was intentional and that he should get weeks.
I never said it was Pettigrew's intention to give away a professional free kick. In fact I stated it looked unintentional. I ... kaysee... stated it was a good free kick to give away. :rolleyes:
You should get weeks. :p
The only question I have was - was there a racial taunt involved?
The majority of it was one-upmanship.
ghostdog
31 Mar 2009, 17:32
The reality is, if there's any leadership at our club, a player from Port (lets say Travis Boak) should be targeted next time we meet them.
LOL! :D Why not? Travis it is!
ghostdog
31 Mar 2009, 17:39
My initial reaction to the coathanger was "you ****ing dog"
My initial reaction to the post coathanger sledge was "you are making yourself look like an idiot, get out of his face and get on with it"
My later thoughts on the matter went something like this 'Well, he didn't mean to make contact to the head, just unfortunate, shouldn't of carried on with it like a twat, Lovett was man enough to get on with it'
FWIW, that was the part that I would have encouraged in one of our players. The tackle was careless and deserved penalty, definitely, but what was done was done and Pettigrew couldn't do anything about it after that.
Standing over Lovett though, and giving him an earful was masterful. True Machiavellian style. He recognised that he was going to be penalised and made the best of it by trying to get into Lovett's head. Lovett had no choice then but to cop it sweet. In spite of the penalty then, well done Pettigrew. We need a bastard like that.
Ben the Gooner
31 Mar 2009, 17:42
The only question I have was - was there a racial taunt involved?
The majority of it was one-upmanship.
I don't think it's fair to ask that, unless there's some mention of it, like Minson last year.
FishingRick04
31 Mar 2009, 19:14
I don't think it's fair to ask that, unless there's some mention of it, like Minson last year.
He will be hated more now its come out he's squeeled like a pig. He probably felt entitled too for what happened but he's broke the code, next game will be f un :)
Ben the Gooner
31 Mar 2009, 19:19
He will be hated more now its come out he's squeeled like a pig. He probably felt entitled too for what happened but he's broke the code, next game will be f un :)
:confused:
ghostdog
31 Mar 2009, 20:33
Who squealed like a pig? Was it;
a) Andrew Lovett?
b) Michael Pettigrew?
c) Will Minson?
Why would a, b or c have felt entitled to do this?
What is the mysterious 'code' FishingRick04 is referring to?
Is the 'code' a Port Adelaide 'code', or is it one of the more well known 'codes'?
dave_27
31 Mar 2009, 20:35
Brogan is a weak piece of shit.
Is it surprising though, remember Lade and his thuggish knee through Hirds ribs in the '03 semi?
They are team of gutless wonders who will get whats coming to them from us sooner rather than later.
Mark my words.
ghostdog
31 Mar 2009, 20:38
Is it surprising though, remember Lade and his thuggish knee through Hirds ribs in the '03 semi?
They are team of gutless wonders who will get whats coming to them from us sooner rather than later.
Mark my words.
mmmm... I have some kind of idea what the Port Adelaide 'code' might be.
bomba4eva
31 Mar 2009, 21:30
Mark my words.
They got what was coming to them in the 2007 GF I believe. 119 will never mean the same for Port Adelaide ever again:o
TimeIsRunningOut
31 Mar 2009, 22:11
Good old Brogan. Can that guy have a go at someone more than half his size at least once in his career? If only his brain was as big as that oversized chin. Tosser.
ghostdog
31 Mar 2009, 22:23
What's the allegation exactly?
chadleverington
1 Apr 2009, 08:49
All clubs now that Lovett has been easy to suck in verbally in the past and i assume it was a directive for the players to keep at him all day.
I would be surprised if we are the only club that does it. I think all 16 clubs in the AFL would look at verbally getting into other players. Part of the game.
What actually happened there? Pettigrew got him high no doubt, but what was with the verbal spray after that? was something said before that? Surely there is mroe to the story.
Although, credit to Lovett in that incident for keeping his cool. I'd like to think that Knights is having an influence on him and his maturity.
Agree on Lovett keeping his cool.
He will be hated more now its come out he's squeeled like a pig. He probably felt entitled too for what happened but he's broke the code, next game will be f un
Brett Burton like, cry to the tribunal. Code broken. I hope it does add to the rivalry and fires the sides up in 2010. Because it is getting a little lop sided at the moment.
Go for it, by all means. If we flog you by 41 points when you are concentrating on the footy, i would hate to see the scoreline when you worry about getting into players and not on the footy.
Dean Brogan has been suspended for 1 week for striking Andrew Lovett.
Sucked in dumbass!
No Video (you suck channel 7), inconsistant evidence, lovett saying "it isn't the hardest bump you get" and brogan saying he milked it. 1 week. The lesson is, you are better off shirt fronting someone, and fracturing their jaw putting them on the sidelines for 10 weeks. You get nothing for that. Gee nick maxwell played well on the weekend.
Oh well, there is always next week. Expecting the bombers to win by 30+ over the worst team in the AFL next week.
Still can't believe how well we have had it over the bombers lately, won 11 of the past 12 games or something like that. Strange how some teams match up well on others. We can't beat sydney for the life of us.
FishingRick04
1 Apr 2009, 09:47
Who squealed like a pig? Was it;
a) Andrew Lovett?
b) Michael Pettigrew?
c) Will Minson?
Why would a, b or c have felt entitled to do this?
What is the mysterious 'code' FishingRick04 is referring to?
Is the 'code' a Port Adelaide 'code', or is it one of the more well known 'codes'?
I assume you are 17 and haven't been around long enough. Everyone knows the player code, where a players doesn't "dob" on anther player, a bit high school ish, but supposedly that's how it goes.
Supposedly in our paper today, Lovett told Brogan after the game that he was trying to milk a free (a quarter time, go figure) and that he would look after Brogan.
Personally doesn't bother me, if Brogan didn't knock him over in the first place nothign would have happened, but supposedly every time there is a scuffle or melee and someone falls over there will now be a report and suspension if this is the precedant! Pretty sad.
centurion
1 Apr 2009, 10:02
I assume you are 17 and haven't been around long enough. Everyone knows the player code, where a players doesn't "dob" on anther player, a bit high school ish, but supposedly that's how it goes.
Supposedly in our paper today, Lovett told Brogan after the game that he was trying to milk a free (a quarter time, go figure) and that he would look after Brogan.
Personally doesn't bother me, if Brogan didn't knock him over in the first place nothign would have happened, but supposedly every time there is a scuffle or melee and someone falls over there will now be a report and suspension if this is the precedant! Pretty sad.
I see where you're coming from mate, but unfortunately today's football has changed a lot from the good old days.
The AFL seems hell bent on cleaning up all aspects of the game. That to me takes away any character the game had. Might as well have robots taking to the field. Might end up playing better than our current squad anyway.
chadleverington
1 Apr 2009, 10:15
I see where you're coming from mate, but unfortunately today's football has changed a lot from the good old days.
The AFL seems hell bent on cleaning up all aspects of the game. That to me takes away any character the game had. Might as well have robots taking to the field. Might end up playing better than our current squad anyway.
That must be why Nick Maxwell got off, and Steve Johnson got off? It is ok to make forceful front on contact to the jaw, or try and throw punches. But for the love of god, don't bump someone!!!!
More stupidity by the VFL, the most frustrating game to watch because of the inconsistencies of the umpires/tribunal. I use to love going to the footy.
kelvin_sheedy
1 Apr 2009, 10:18
Brogan's a clown who deserves everything he cops.
There's nothing tough about trying to bowl over someone half your size.... or punch a doctor, or hit a guy at the airport :thumbsd:
Code is long gone and for the better. If you do the crime you do the time.
chadleverington
1 Apr 2009, 10:24
Code is long gone and for the better. If you do the crime you do the time.
Problem with that is you will see a large increase in acting on the footy field.
Jonesy1987
1 Apr 2009, 21:07
I like the code and think all players would stand by it, unless there was malice intent from the provoker e.g. Minson>Cornes/Selwood>Hedland, IMO Port targeted Lovett as our danger man after his strong preseason, and roughed him up, simply Lovett making them pay the price for it. Thought Brogan was hard done by, but thought Pettigrew was lucky, Reckless (lucky not to be intentional due to spray) High Contact and Low Impact, intent was similar to a few of Fletcher trips he has been reported for in the past.
There was no malice intended in the coathanger. Lovett took him on, Pettigrew stuck out the arm in an effort to grab Lovett, and caught him high. UNfortunate, but it does happen. Not sure where the spray came from, but I did notice earlier in the game, Travis Boak was having a go at Lovett too. Of course, he wasn't in his face as much, but he certainly did have a lot to say to him. There must be more to it in my opinion, but we may never know.
Part of the Pettigrew spray may have been to get Lovett to react, and thus reverse the free kick, but to Lovett's credit, he kept his cool, did not retaliate, and furthermore, went on and kicked the goal.
TheBrownDog
2 Apr 2009, 02:31
Brogan is a shit bloke, that much is clear.
campbell
2 Apr 2009, 03:12
Exactly.It happens in all games with all players, some have no left foot etc. Good coaching. am sure Knights does the same to all your opposition players, pick out a weakness and make it your advantage.
Jonesy1987
2 Apr 2009, 07:30
BTW can anyone with game footage upload the Pettigrew incident (and after math interested in seeing if anyone remonstrated) onto youtube, would be great appreciated
chadleverington
2 Apr 2009, 11:46
Brogan is a shit bloke, that much is clear.
In my dealings with him he has been quite a good bloke actually, how well do you know him?
Interesting read about "the code"
http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,25278729-23211,00.html
Cornes intimated that Lovett broke an unwritten players' code of not implicating an opponent at the tribunal.
"That's really disappointing," Cornes said.
"I think he (Lovett) will look back in a couple of years and be pretty disappointed with himself, the way he handled that."
Cornes said he wished Port played Essendon again this year.
"Unfortunately we don't play them again this year, but we look forward to playing them next year," he said.
Should make for a nice firey game next year (if we all remember it then).
In my dealings with him he has been quite a good bloke actually, how well do you know him?
Cornes intimated that Lovett broke an unwritten players' code of not implicating an opponent at the tribunal.
"I think he (Lovett) will look back in a couple of years and be pretty disappointed with himself, the way he handled that."
"Unfortunately we don't play them again this year, but we look forward to playing them next year," he said.
If you target a guy all day and then cowardly hit him from behind at a quarter time break, would you honestly expect that guy to stick up for you?
Chad Cornes would have to be one of the biggest morons going around.
Dean Brogan and the way he goes about his life is an embarrassment.
shalvross
2 Apr 2009, 13:17
Chad Cornes disappointed with Lovett????
Total tool.
He should be more disappointed with his parents for giving him that sh*t name.
TheBrownDog
2 Apr 2009, 13:21
If the code is about leaving things on the field, then Cornes should shut the hell up and not make thinly veiled threats via the media.
chadleverington
2 Apr 2009, 14:26
If the code is about leaving things on the field, then Cornes should shut the hell up and not make thinly veiled threats via the media.
Guess the counter to that is if Lovett wants to take it off the field, then Chad Cornes will too.
Did we find out what the hell pettigrew was yelling at lovett for after his free kick?
stay true
2 Apr 2009, 15:27
Yet another reason why I hate Port Adelaide.
ghostdog
2 Apr 2009, 15:28
I wish I was 17 again!
No, I just didn't grow up with the culture, so this is a side of the game I'm a total newbie with.
I'm with it now though. Rugby League has the same code.
ghostdog
2 Apr 2009, 15:38
IMO Lovett did the right thing. He knows the EFC's stand on his self-discipline, or lack thereof. We almost off loaded him. He needs to manage stuff like his temper to secure his on longevity in footy. If breaking the code sends a message to other players that that's not the way to deal with Lovett, then more power to Andrew and well done EFC for giving the guy a strategy to deal with incidents like that. His poise after Pettigrew's shot on him was brilliant :thumbsu:
If anything I'm disappointed that none of our players other than Andrew saw fit to remonstrate.
Thus far, no square-up with Pettigrew. I hope our boys have long memories.
Duckworth
2 Apr 2009, 15:59
i think Chad's just having a cry because their plan over the summer to play tough (and hit players in the breaks) and abuse them after high tackles has come unstuck after 1 round.
Enjoy your week off, Brogan, loser.
howiehowie
2 Apr 2009, 17:00
Just saw an excerpt of what Chad Cornes had to say.
What an idiot. As said above, why is Lovett going to defend Brogan who singled him out at the start of the game and then got him with a cheap shot after the siren. Didn't see Cameron Ling saying 'I was expecting Dean Solomon to hit me in the face and should have braced myself accordingly, to be honest i actually initiated the contact and this whole thing is all my fault".
Next time we play them they will come out, do the same thing probablyon a larger scale because he "broke the code" and then someone else will get suspended.
Asgardian
2 Apr 2009, 18:39
BTW can anyone with game footage upload the Pettigrew incident (and after math interested in seeing if anyone remonstrated) onto youtube, would be great appreciated
Yep, us Port supporters would be happy with uploading just about any Port vs Essendon game.
I look forward to our next game
Boucks09
2 Apr 2009, 18:39
An interesting take on Chad Cornes leaving things on the field....
WESTERN Bulldogs ruckman Will Minson has made a public apology to Port Adelaide's Kane Cornes after it was revealed he had made comments about the player's son and wife during Saturday night's game in Darwin.
Cornes' two-year-old son Eddy Jack was born with heart defects and has had a number of operations in the past year. He was born with his heart on the wrong side and suffered other complications.
Cornes' wife, Lucy, gave birth to their second child on Friday and Minson is believed to have asked the player why he wasn't at home with her during the outburst.
"On the weekend I said something which I am deeply sorry for and I apologise wholeheartedly for," a contrite Minson said on Fox Sports' On The Couch.
"It was an incident which occurred in the heat of battle and I am sorry for what I said."
Minson, 23, attempted to contact Cornes after the game and is believed to have received a blistering phone call from his brother Chad later that night.
"I attempted to contact Kane as soon as I could after the game, but he didn't answer the phone," Minson said.
"I left a message and apologised wholeheartedly for what was said and I believe the club has also made contact with Peter Rohde (Power's football manager) and Kane Cornes and they have also accepted the apology."
Minson said he was "very disappointed" about what he had said and that he was feeling "remorse".
He refused to reveal what was said in the incident or if he was provoked, however it is understood Cornes was furious and let Minson know at the time.
Port released a statement claiming the matter was closed.
"We confirm there was an incident on Saturday night during the game involving Kane Cornes and Will Minson," the club said.
"The matter has been resolved between the players. As far as Kane and the club are concerned, the matter is now closed."
Kornes flew to Darwin late for Saturday night's game to be with his wife while she gave birth.
http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,23949885-23211,00.html (http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,23949885-23211,00.html)
As if Chad Cornes has any semblance of credibility within the football world. The guy is a disgrace who is so full of himself it even makes Port Adelaide sick. It's little wonder he wasn't made captain or vice captain.
I can't wait until we play Port next year.
Boucks09
2 Apr 2009, 18:41
Yep, us Port supporters would be happy with uploading just about any Port vs Essendon game.
I look forward to our next game
Round 1 2000 bring back any nice memories for you?
the_champ_2004
2 Apr 2009, 18:44
He guys i might be able to give you a little bit of an incite. I think it could be because he is an arrogant cnut who thinks that much of himself he has referred to himself as god before
Boucks09
2 Apr 2009, 18:51
He guys i might be able to give you a little bit of an incite. I think it could be because he is an arrogant cnut who thinks that much of himself he has referred to himself as god before
How about you learn how to spell before polluting this thread with your crap you wanker.
the_champ_2004
2 Apr 2009, 19:02
How about you learn how to spell before polluting this thread with your crap you wanker.
yep fair, wrong spelling. Nothing else was incorrect with what i said however. Not saying every player is perfect, Alan Didak isn't a role model but how many times has he bashed a woman?
Boucks09
2 Apr 2009, 19:19
yep fair, wrong spelling. Nothing else was incorrect with what i said however. Not saying every player is perfect, Alan Didak isn't a role model but how many times has he bashed a woman?
At least once in public...
Didak was forced to leave Prahran's A-list nightclub Boutique just before midnight on August 12 after a confrontation with another patron following a fiery arguement with his girlfriend Cassie Lane.
Didak's arrest last night is one of many episodes involving Collingwood players in off-field incidents this year.
High profile forward Chris Tarrant and utility Ben Johnson were involved in a fight outside popular Port Melbourne nightclub Ocean Blue at about 4am on July 30.
Tarrant was escorted from another Melbourne nightclub, South Yarra's Q-Bar, at 5am only a fortnight later.
At the time, former club champion and 1990 premiership captain Tony Shaw questioned the Magpies culture and called for the sacking of Tarrant following the Port Melbourne incident.
Other Magpies, including Cameron Cloke and Brodie Holland, have also been in the media this year after being involved in fights near other Melbourne nightspots.
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,20534253-661,00.html
Ben the Gooner
2 Apr 2009, 19:20
What's a cnut?
Did you mean ****, as in "Alan Didak is a **** who associates with murderers"?
the_champ_2004
2 Apr 2009, 19:25
At least once in public...
Didak was forced to leave Prahran's A-list nightclub Boutique just before midnight on August 12 after a confrontation with another patron following a fiery arguement with his girlfriend Cassie Lane.
Didak's arrest last night is one of many episodes involving Collingwood players in off-field incidents this year.
High profile forward Chris Tarrant and utility Ben Johnson were involved in a fight outside popular Port Melbourne nightclub Ocean Blue at about 4am on July 30.
Tarrant was escorted from another Melbourne nightclub, South Yarra's Q-Bar, at 5am only a fortnight later.
At the time, former club champion and 1990 premiership captain Tony Shaw questioned the Magpies culture and called for the sacking of Tarrant following the Port Melbourne incident.
Other Magpies, including Cameron Cloke and Brodie Holland, have also been in the media this year after being involved in fights near other Melbourne nightspots.
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,20534253-661,00.html
So where is the assult?
stay true
2 Apr 2009, 19:41
It was verbal. Now gtfo.
What's a cnut?
Did you mean ****, as in "Alan Didak is a **** who associates with murderers"?Of course that's what he meant.
the_champ_2004
2 Apr 2009, 20:23
It was verbal. Now gtfo.
So verbal assault is now on the same level as physical assault is it?
Good call.
I suppose your going to say Monfries is going to have an Ablett like breakout year this year? Well keep dreaming cause that dream is closer than you guys playing finals this year or next year.
You're right though I had better leave, don't want to lower my intelligence by hanging around with an immature bunch like you guys.