View Full Version : "The Book"
Dunno if anyone else got "The Book" for xmas, but I did and it is a cracker.
Just a pity we still aren't playing in the AFL.
Mobbenfuhrer
26 Dec 2002, 20:36
Nope .. but i DID get Santo's "Football Grounds of Melbourne" ... which is also a beauty.
Mobben
I have never heard of it. What is it about (apart from the obvious)?
Mobbenfuhrer
27 Dec 2002, 10:53
Photos, and a little bit of history, of the VFL/AFL and VFA/VFL grounds, most of them, anyway.
the missus bought me the book for xmas, its a ripper, pity they didnt include Ross Lyon, 1 of my favourite royboys
Mr Ripper
2 Jan 2003, 09:35
Got it as a pressie from the future mother-in-law. Scarcely been out of my sight since. Only negative is the absence of Lee Murnane.
Mobbenfuhrer
3 Jan 2003, 08:32
Might someone like to buy me one?
I'll be your friend.
Hey
I was just looking at the book, and in the bit on Chris Smith there is a photo of him taking a mark.
I reckon they have made a blue with this photo!!! I reckon it is Peter Keays, who also wore a helmet.
What does anyone else think?
adey115
15 Jan 2003, 09:29
I agree Rabs. Its not Chrissie Smith.... I'll need to check the book again but I reckon you are right rabs (re. Peter Keays), as the number on the fella's back doesn't look right.
Hows the picture of Chris when he started, with the beard and long hair. He look's like he's Amish or something - late 70/early 80s he shaved it off and whacked on the helmet and looked about 20 years younger!!
adey115
15 Jan 2003, 11:22
I also found Scottie McIvor's page interesting reading... he went from $8,000 a year with the Roys in the mid 80s to $40,000 a year with the Bears. Obviously his standing as a player went up, but to end up being paid 5 times more is quite a jump and I guess reflects our financial position at the time. Looking at those figures, even allowing for inflation, I put that into a different category from a player jumping ship for a pay increase from say $100,000 to another club for $250,000. If it was Scott's soul source of income then you can kind of understand the need to move on, as $8k wouldn't get you a yearly train ticket. (well almost).
I found that interesting too.
I was earning about $35,000 a year then and thought footballers were rich!!
Mobbenfuhrer
15 Jan 2003, 11:54
give me book
adey115
15 Jan 2003, 13:03
yep now this is inflation.
$8k in 86
$40k in 87
? now... if he was playing now he'd had to be on $200k plus if not more.
you don't have to be Einstein to see that as it stands the player fees aren't sustainable for all clubs to survive.
When did Capper go to the Bears?
I remember the storm it caused when Skase bought him for $500K, I think it was 89 but not sure.
Same year I think.
It was the last year before the draft. They got Bernie Harris as well.
BrainOfMorbius
15 Jan 2003, 19:35
Confirmed - Capper and McIvor joined the Bears in 1988. Bernie Harris was recruited in 1987, our inaugural season.
Harris left the Bears after the 1990 season and to his surprise was picked up by St Kilda for the following year - he thought that anyone who left the Bears was finished in the AFL. ;)
Mr Ripper
16 Jan 2003, 20:39
Definitely Peter Keays in that pic.
There's another one where "shut the gate, it's number 8" gets his name in the caption when it's actually Stephen Smith...of Melbourne!
Chris Smith must be the generic name for any bicycle helmeted footballer! ;)