View Full Version : Wfl 2009

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6

captain dela
30 Mar 2009, 15:15

geofferysmith
30 Mar 2009, 18:17
just trying to get the low down on a couple of players that could be running around in the north central this year. what can anyone tell me about sean davis and fabian oshannessy? anything will be good.

geofferysmith
30 Mar 2009, 18:23
just trying to get the low down on a couple of players that could be running around in the north central this year. what can anyone tell me about sean davis and fabian oshannessy? anything will be good.

Purrfect Pussies
30 Mar 2009, 18:50
Harry Denson brother in law to Gavin Kelm has signed with the Saints after a stint in the SANFL.
Matty Combe apparently has an achillies injury that with keep him sidelined for the first few rounds.
Horshams Jordan Burke still being troubled by bruised heels and is doubtful for the Demons first game vs Stawell this weekend. Muddy Anson a bit tight in the hammies also. Both receiving treatment in Donald,

Tige
1 Apr 2009, 17:40
predictions for this week?

Tige
1 Apr 2009, 18:21
For me . . .

Horsham over stawell
Nhill Will beat Ararat
Warrack against Dim
Minyip murtoa should easily beat united

captain dela
1 Apr 2009, 18:25
[quote=Tige;14052163]For me . . .

Horsham by 23pts
Nhill by 10pts
Warrack by 40pts
Burras by 10 goals

captain dela
1 Apr 2009, 18:31
Anyone for a punt?

Premiers: Burras
Big Improver: Nhill
Toohey Medal: Chris Walsh
Rising Star: Brayden Ison

Slenko
1 Apr 2009, 21:00
Anyone for a punt?

Burras premiers yet Nhill the Big Improver!!!! Something odd about that prediction.

If Burras can win the flag I would say they have been the big improver.

Betterthenbencoon
2 Apr 2009, 13:58
Anyone for a punt?

Walshy for the Toohey? I might email him that, just add a little more pressure on the big fella, haha.

The Dawes
3 Apr 2009, 12:02
Does anyone have a link for those of us not living in the Wimmera, that will access the selected teams for each round?

Purrfect Pussies
3 Apr 2009, 12:41
The BIG PIE EATER Johns is playing Full Forward in the magoos tomorrow. First run for the year last night.

Footyz Life
3 Apr 2009, 20:18
The BIG PIE EATER Johns is playing Full Forward in the magoos tomorrow. First run for the year last night.
Has trained twice and played in both practice matches but underdone, the big fella is happy to play twos as his brother plays his 150 game sat in the two`s, word has it there could be two more johns boys coming home to play sat. for demons in the magoos to celebrate the occasion. The issue with the big boy and the coach has gone and the evil empire will be stronger than last year especially depth wise. Must say the empire are here to stay so we might aswell get used to it if haven`t already after 6 in a row, 7 boys in rebels squad must be a record for one club plus 2-3 in u16 squad. Junior program is going aswell as any in country vic. u would say.

ClarkeM
5 Apr 2009, 16:34
Very good story to the positioning of Johns in the seconds

captain dela
7 Apr 2009, 10:38
I see young ex team mate Brayden Ison made a mark in his first senior game. I must say kicking 8 goals on debut is not a bad effort. Should be rebels material next year we would think

Dodgeyknee
9 Apr 2009, 14:56
Congrats to the young Rats on beating Nhill. Great effort considering Hargreaves still kicked 7.

croweater 41
16 Apr 2009, 10:43
Very good story to the positioning of Johns in the seconds
Was held to one goal which was a very good effort from the CHB

ClarkeM
19 Apr 2009, 14:57
Absolute ripper of a game in Nhill yesterday so i've heard.

scoremachine
23 Apr 2009, 15:19
The Nhill Vs Dimboola game should be an absolute ripper of a match on Sunday with Nhill desperate for a win & Dimboola keen to get another win under there belt. I feel Nhill have the better attack at the moment with Hargraeves in fine form but conceding 24 goals last week against United must be a worry & having watched Dimboola play last week their defence is very strong and if there forward line starts to click they should be a strong chance to win. Both sides have strong midfields but having not seen Nhill play this year i am unsure who has been playing there for them. Dimboola's midfield rely's on there hardness with Al Mckinnon & Clancy Bennett very strong in a contest getting it out to the runners in the side. If Dimboola's forward line can start converting chances i think with there run off half back they might just get over the line in a great contest. :) Cheers

Purrfect Pussies
23 Apr 2009, 17:27
The Nhill Vs Dimboola game should be an absolute ripper of a match on Sunday with Nhill desperate for a win & Dimboola keen to get another win under there belt. I feel Nhill have the better attack at the moment with Hargraeves in fine form but conceding 24 goals last week against United must be a worry & having watched Dimboola play last week their defence is very strong and if there forward line starts to click they should be a strong chance to win. Both sides have strong midfields but having not seen Nhill play this year i am unsure who has been playing there for them. Dimboola's midfield rely's on there hardness with Al Mckinnon & Clancy Bennett very strong in a contest getting it out to the runners in the side. If Dimboola's forward line can start converting chances i think with there run off half back they might just get over the line in a great contest. :) Cheers

Gee, Machine i hope your wrong. The locals up the highway will burn the town down if the Tiggers lose the first 3 after all the hype and $$$$$ spent over the preseason.:eek::eek::eek::eek:
Looking forward to the ANZAC Day clash - Diggers v Saints. Should be a ripper after the early form shown by the poor cousins of City Oval. The Saints have an excellent brigade of onballers and runners which should suit the forecasted wet conditions - Saints by 6 goals.

Purrfect Pussies
25 Apr 2009, 11:08
Nasty day at the footy coming up! 50km wind, thunderstorms and hail forecasted:eek:. Wouldn't miss it for the world, but might just pack an extra jumper.

croweater 41
25 Apr 2009, 11:24
Nasty day at the footy coming up! 50km wind, thunderstorms and hail forecasted:eek:. Wouldn't miss it for the world, but might just pack an extra jumper.
It looks fairly calm here but things may change very quickly... But how could you wanna miss it could be a long time until we play footy in rain again

Purrfect Pussies
26 Apr 2009, 08:38
Great win by the Saints, With that sort of class they may just push Horsham.

It did look like boys againist men in the wet conditions. The Saints jumped out of the blocks kicking 5 goals in the pouring rain in the 1st quarter to set up the strong win. I think they confused the two Kelms when the Anzac medal was announced. Heath Kelm won after Gavin kicked 8 (i think). Diggers recruit Nigel Snibson broke his arm and was having surgery last night.

Scores - Saints 13.15 - 93 def United 3.7 - 25

Now an excellent game next Sunday at City Oval - Saints v the big spenders Nhill awaits.

facts_rite
26 Apr 2009, 17:55
For all those interested, when and had a look @ the Bendigo Bombers vs Collingwood match today. Lachy Delahunty started slowly in the opening half, just finding his feet but had a rippin second half winning plenty of the ball. He was rotated around the Full Forward/Forward Flank positions but unfortunately had around four shots on goal in the last half but couldnt capitialise. A pretty impressive debut from the young bloke

Fred Townsling
27 Apr 2009, 17:26
For all those interested, when and had a look @ the Bendigo Bombers vs Collingwood match today. Lachy Delahunty started slowly in the opening half, just finding his feet but had a rippin second half winning plenty of the ball. He was rotated around the Full Forward/Forward Flank positions but unfortunately had around four shots on goal in the last half but couldnt capitialise. A pretty impressive debut from the young bloke

Looks like he made the right move leaving the wimmera to have a shot at the big time. Apparently there is a chance he may be back at minyip-murtoa this weekend as bendigo have a bye.

Dave Berryball
27 Apr 2009, 17:50
Looks like he made the right move leaving the wimmera to have a shot at the big time. Apparently there is a chance he may be back at minyip-murtoa this weekend as bendigo have a bye.
What are Willo and the Burras up to??? I thought they would be too good for Harvey's boys. It will only get harder for the Burras with only about 5 senior players training with the main group. You dont have to be a brain surgeon to know that the blokes in Melbourne and wherever wont train properly now that its cold and wet outside. Its looking like a 2 horse race already after only 3 rounds. Warrack seem the only other threat.
Come on Burra's Lift!!!!

facts_rite
27 Apr 2009, 22:56

This was in todays Bendigo Advertiser 27-4-09

Lachlan Delahunty - classed as the Bombers’ 23rd player for the match under a new VFL rule for the round - showed plenty of promise.

Playing up forward, the 18-year-old in his first game presented well, but his kicking at goal in the tricky conditions let him down.

From three shots in the third quarter, Delahunty kicked two points, as well as one that didn’t make the distance."

Bumbles
28 Apr 2009, 22:28
interesting start to the season, seems as tho apart from the Dees and Saints all the other teams are on a reasonably level playing field - hopefully makes for a very competitive season, would be nice to be able to go to the footy a majority of the time and not actually know who was gunna win!!

Dave Berryball
30 Apr 2009, 16:59
Injury toll mounting for the Burras.

Adam Carter- 8 weeks hamstring.
Scott Finnigan – Knee Season.
Corey Waldron – Brain Fade Season
Lachie Trethowan – Knee Season
Jo Milgate – Shoulder season
Jarred Newell – Shoulder 8 weeks
What about Lanyon - Shoulder 6 - 8 weeks????
And how bad is Midgely??
They are in a world of trouble. Willow cant play every position on the ground (Why is he taking kick in duties???) and if all they've got to come in is Scotty Arnold ( with all respect to Scotty, who's a great bloke ) things wont get any easier for both the results or the clubs cheque book.

Purrfect Pussies
30 Apr 2009, 19:55
Hey Slenko, hows the city oval holding up?

Couldn't be real flash Fancy. 8 games a week plus 4 nights of training on it. Centre wicket was terrible on Sunday and won't be getting any better real soon.

Purrfect Pussies
30 Apr 2009, 20:28
Any injuries after training at the Saints tonight? Hows Burgess the baker looking?

Didn't have a look tonight. Burgess didn't play last week after pulling up a bit sore. Matt Combe has trained the last few weeks and must be close to returning.

Fred Townsling
30 Apr 2009, 21:59
Midgely had some sense knocked into him as he lost consciousness so he will probably be an even bigger star now. I guess Willow was plugging holes.
Heard from one of the Burra boys yesterday that Scott Arnold, who was likely to help fill in the large injury gap, tore his quad at training this week. More bad luck for the Kookoos

Purrfect Pussies
2 May 2009, 09:44
Would like a quick guide to beer prices around the league gentlemen. I've only been to seen Horsham, United and Saints home games.

United - $3.50 heavy
light

Saints - $4.00 heavy:eek:
$3.50 light :eek:

croweater 41
3 May 2009, 13:09
Burra $3.00 heavy pot
Nhill $3.50 heavy can
Stawell $3.50 heavy pot.
Stawell is $3 a pot (heavy) upstairs and $4 a can (heavy). Not sure about light.

croweater 41
3 May 2009, 16:50
Hey Crow. What did you think of yesterdays game? Did you think the umpires had a bearing on the result? The confusion over the score was laughable. Two goal umpires and two field umpires and nobody knows the score!!!!
I'm not gunna enter all this blame the umpires for the result of the game. But there was a few decisions that went against Stawell and a few different interpretations that went against both sides. Particuly the Brent Tuckey non-mark which was clearly a mark in the goal square with about 2 mins to go and 5 or so points down. The umpiring interpretations ruined a very good game of football.

All in all i thought it was a top game of footy with both sides having to fight hard right until the end and it literally came down to the last kick of the day. Or at least we think it did.

croweater 41
3 May 2009, 17:14
Yeah, all that's fair enough. The whole game was just over umpired. Tuckey took the grab and only the central umpires thought otherwise. I thought it was a great game of footy.
Very true was far to over umpired they just didn't let even the smallest infraction go. Which can affect the game for both sides.

I know it's often a hot topic but I have to say, Stawell has the best groung in the Wimmera League. You can forget all that MCG groung size crap, this is country footy. The city oval has no soul, it's grounds like Stawell, Murtoa and Dimboola that really bring the crowds alive.
I reckon any ground where you can't get a car into in country footy brings out the best of the crowd. Eg Stawell where there are people all around the ground hurling abuse or just supporting the team it brings a real feel to country footy. Instead of just listening to the odd car horn. And yet I still have people from Ararat telling me that Alexandra poops all over Central.

croweater 41
3 May 2009, 19:33
The Rodents are allowed to love their nest and I would take it over city oval any day but for me those old grandstand make you feel like your on the ground. Ever noticed how the Stawell people don't generally sit up in the club room to watch the game? That's because all the atmosphere is outside the glass. That's completely opposite to city oval.
Everyone raved about the Saints Stawell game at Murtoa last year, that's because it's another ground where the crowd feels involved.
Very true a lot better to sit on the hill near the tanks or in the stands great atmosphere

Dave Berryball
3 May 2009, 20:55
Very true a lot better to sit on the hill near the tanks or in the stands great atmosphere
Another dominate display by the Saints. Hargraeves was good early but Butsch as the loose man and second man up against hargraeves made him move to centre half back in the last term. Gavin Kelm again kicked a bag and with Combe to come in next week should create even more headaches against the Burras. Interesting to note that Burgess kicked 6 in the 2nds as well as knocking a bloke out of which he copped a yellow card and no report. Can the Saints keep up this form or will they drop an easy one, like they did last year???

Slenko
4 May 2009, 17:53
Hey Slenko, hows the city oval holding up?

Hey FP

Have not seen it since Super Saturday but was holding up pk.

The rain last weekend and now the basin should have a fair amount of water in it to keep moisture up to it.

I think problem will come if we get lots of rain real quick. With other grounds still not ready, if it cuts up with wet weather there is no reprieve for it.

How are other Wimmera grounds travelling?

Stawell & Ararat should be doing fine and Nhill is like carpet I am told.

Dimboola, Warracknabeal/Brim, Minyip/Murtoa and Coughlin Park seem to be the problem grounds still.

Dave Berryball
4 May 2009, 18:39
Don’t get to far ahead of your self there Bezza, the Saints might give the Burras a touch up this week but be careful calling any game an ‘easy one’ this year. The Saints have a bit of a history of getting a bit carried away.
I think you missed the point. This is the type of game that they are likely to lose!!!
Anyway, on to more important news.....
Shane Rathgeaber (Stawell FC Pres.) made a git out of himself by carrying on Lleyton Hewitt style after the umpires decission on Saturday. Not only did he sook it up when the decission not to award the mark to Tuckey was made, he had another crack at the umpires during the presentations later on that night. Take a leaf out of Tuckey's book Pres., show some humility!!! If you were in front at the time it wouldn't have mattered. The game's played over 2hrs not 30seconds. And like most of us that are frustrated at times with the quality of the umpiring in the Wimmera league, either put up or shut up!! No one wants the job, so what are we to do???:confused:

Slenko
4 May 2009, 18:51
Warrack is pretty good but have not seen Brim. Coughlin park still patchy but well past being dangerous. Have not seen minyip and last time I saw Murtoa it was terrible.

Sounds like the whole league could be in some trouble if we got lots of rain in a short space.

Most of the grounds with little grass coverage would chop up real bad and not sure City Oval can hold the traffic for too long.

Might have to play all games Nhill, Stawell & Ararat.

Purrfect Pussies
4 May 2009, 19:37
Murtoa looked great today, and the fisheaters dung hill is coming along well and will be ready for their home game againist the rodents in a fortnight.

Slenko
4 May 2009, 20:25
Everyone is talking about the mark that wasn’t paid but I can’t believe the goal umpires not knowing the scores has gone through to the keeper. Did the Burras win by three points or by eight points? Most people at the ground had a goal that was counted as a point. The two goal umpires apparently could not agree on the scores and the field umpires were on their way off the ground so they went as well.

If this happened with the goal umpires, it would be very concerning.

The Wimmera Umpires Association convinced the WFL they had to go with independent goal umpires to keep their standing in the VCFL.

Since they were introduced not one report has been made by the goal umpires and they appear to make more mistakes than the previous club volunteers. It simply costs more now than the previous system with no real improvement.

All it has created is a career path for retiring field umpires who cannot keep up with the game. The Wimmera Umpires Association (WUA) appears to be one of the very few umpire associations that have no prerequisite for fitness level to get a senior WFL game. Yet they keep screaming for more money.

About time the WFL put some conditions on the WUA and maybe even a situation where the clubs rank the umpires on a weekly basis and the umpires with the highest aggregate and highest averages get the Grand Final.

Many budding new umpires have walked away from the WUA as they were told it was not their turn to get a GF!!! If they are the best umpires for the year why shouldn't they get a GF?

Maybe with some added prefessionalism they may just attract some new umpires that aren't next generation of what we already have.

Nardoo
5 May 2009, 09:17
Any club which has half its team train away and especially the big name stars (or not train at all and just go to the gym and cut a few laps of the oval) will always struggle. Take note Burras, Stawell, Warrak and Nhill their big recruits dont show up during the week for training which never is good in the for long term futures and no good for team bonding. United are going along much better than last year due to a committment on the track and some good influx of home grown junior talent like Byrnes, Wills, Mines and Chapple and a few knocking on the door such as Tom McGrath, and Todd Klemm along with U17's Al Byrne, Jae McGrath and Scott Davidson ready to go for next season in the ones. That is why Horsham have been so good for so long because of fostering junior talent and you only have to look at Stevenson, Blake, Haase and Lloyd still to come. Bit of a worry for Messers Dumensy & Eastwell with the Demons current Under 14's side getting smashed eachweekend - maybe the footy parents are now finally starting to realise that there is more than one club in town to send their sons to for a kick!! The reign has ended!! Seems though that all U14 boys have all gone to HarrowB, Saints or travelling out to MM and Nhill as it is a major worry at U14 level to see three major city based clubs (Stawell, United & Horsham) along with Dimboola kicking a grand total of 202 points between which is still less than Nhill who are fifth placed! Does not look good for them for the next few years for those clubs to pull from the junior ranks.

Dave Berryball
5 May 2009, 11:52
Any club which has half its team train away and especially the big name stars (or not train at all and just go to the gym and cut a few laps of the oval) will always struggle. Take note Burras, Stawell, Warrak and Nhill their big recruits dont show up during the week for training which never is good in the for long term futures and no good for team bonding. United are going along much better than last year due to a committment on the track and some good influx of home grown junior talent like Byrnes, Wills, Mines and Chapple and a few knocking on the door such as Tom McGrath, and Todd Klemm along with U17's Al Byrne, Jae McGrath and Scott Davidson ready to go for next season in the ones. That is why Horsham have been so good for so long because of fostering junior talent and you only have to look at Stevenson, Blake, Haase and Lloyd still to come. Bit of a worry for Messers Dumensy & Eastwell with the Demons current Under 14's side getting smashed eachweekend - maybe the footy parents are now finally starting to realise that there is more than one club in town to send their sons to for a kick!! The reign has ended!! Seems though that all U14 boys have all gone to HarrowB, Saints or travelling out to MM and Nhill as it is a major worry at U14 level to see three major city based clubs (Stawell, United & Horsham) along with Dimboola kicking a grand total of 202 points between which is still less than Nhill who are fifth placed! Does not look good for them for the next few years for those clubs to pull from the junior ranks.
Nardoo, Didn't you post the same thing some weeks ago????
Do you have nothing further to add to this discussion???

bakelu
5 May 2009, 12:11
I think you missed the point. This is the type of game that they are likely to lose!!!
Anyway, on to more important news.....
Shane Rathgeaber (Stawell FC Pres.) made a git out of himself by carrying on Lleyton Hewitt style after the umpires decission on Saturday. Not only did he sook it up when the decission not to award the mark to Tuckey was made, he had another crack at the umpires during the presentations later on that night. Take a leaf out of Tuckey's book Pres., show some humility!!! If you were in front at the time it wouldn't have mattered. The game's played over 2hrs not 30seconds. And like most of us that are frustrated at times with the quality of the umpiring in the Wimmera league, either put up or shut up!! No one wants the job, so what are we to do???:confused:
If history is anything to go by the type they are likely to lose is the Grand Final. I'm looking foward to seeing St Micks do their best at our beloved Minyip ground this week but I think the result may be the same as last year. I'll buy you a few beers Oakey, win lose or draw, I can't imagine they pay you much over there at WUC. And Pump, I'll have a beer with you to, but maybe you should shout us both?

Nardoo
5 May 2009, 15:38
[quote=Dave Berryball;14405561]Nardoo, Didn't you post the same thing some weeks ago????
Do you have nothing further to add to this discussion???[/quote

Well Grave Fairyball if you can find it then I'll cop a whack but pretty sure its not there other than today. Obviously you dont have anything of worth to add to this discussion!

Purrfect Pussies
5 May 2009, 17:19
[quote=Dave Berryball;14405561]Nardoo, Didn't you post the same thing some weeks ago????
Do you have nothing further to add to this discussion???[/quote

Well Grave Fairyball if you can find it then I'll cop a whack but pretty sure its not there other than today. Obviously you dont have anything of worth to add to this discussion!

Pretty sure i've read that before to Nard's. The old copy and Paste trick?

Dave Berryball
5 May 2009, 19:48
[quote=Nardoo;14407302]

Pretty sure i've read that before to Nard's. The old copy and Paste trick?
Go back to your under 17's thread buddy. You and Scotty Davidson can keep each other company there.....;)

Dave Berryball
5 May 2009, 19:56
[quote=Nardoo;14407302]
Grave Fairyball!?!?
Hey Fancy,
Your the guru of back dated posts. Sure you can put this wet dreamer back in his box.:thumbsu:

ClarkeM
5 May 2009, 19:57
Yeah cool cop. WTF ???

Anyway... diggers youth talent isn't as great as you think nardoo. Don't be surprised if one of the three mentioned is still playing with digs next year.

Purrfect Pussies
5 May 2009, 20:04
[quote=Fancy Pants;14409752]
Hey Fancy,
Your the guru of back dated posts. Sure you can put this wet dreamer back in his box.:thumbsu:

Not too hard to copy a post and then delete the old one Davey.

Some good games coming up this weekend -

Ararat v Warrack Eagles
Burras v Saints
Nhill v Horsham
United v Dimboola

All should be relatively close, maybe apart from the Minyip game with a few injuries to the Burras depleting them no end.

Do you guys use this website? http://www.vcfl.com.au/index.php?id=173

Purrfect Pussies
5 May 2009, 20:09
[quote=Dave Berryball;14409815]
I think it was on the other post and I think he edited the whole thing out.

Hey, if Burgess starts playing footy who is going to bake my date scone i have every Saturday morning???

The big fella doesn't do too much baking these days. Eating plenty of Cheesymites for himself.

Purrfect Pussies
5 May 2009, 20:15
[quote=Purrfect Pussies;14409883]

Yeah, they will really miss Carter. I'm looking forward to the Tiger and Demons. I know most would not give Nhill a chance and I'm certainly not tipping them but will be a great gauge of what their potential is.

You never know Fancy. A few injuires could test their depth a bit. Jez Hartigan shoulder might keep him out for a few. Didn't get to the Saints/Tiggers match on Sunday, but reports said Hargraves is a ripper, and Ladhams carving it up. Must be a question mark over their backline after the Diggers and Saints managed to post excellent scores againist them.

ClarkeM
5 May 2009, 20:22
scottyD
BigFooty Elite Member

Blog Entries: 4 Re: Silly Season.... Recruiting and other nonsense

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

To be honest, i don't know of anymore details than the ones posted above in reference to Seniors. Adam Taylor back to Minyip-Murtoa where he will be playing Seniors no doubt but that's about all i know.

Alistair and Nathan Byrne to the Saints is likely and Tom Ballinger and Jarrod Khan back to the Saints as well.

Ha. What are you trying to say? I am meant to know everything about everyone at everytime? Must be mistaken cop... I was right about Adam at least leaving diggers and if his father didn't move to stawell for some girl he would be in the blue white and black no doubt.

Nathan and Ali Byrnes issues were at an extreme level. They way they were treated after doing something good for the club was utterly abhorrent and out of taste by the one person involved with the club. both parties were in the wrong at time of incident occuring but issue were resolved.

Khan ballinger was a rumour I had heard anyway cop.

Lastly, I clearly stated I wasn't sure about any details regarding uniteds seniors because honestly, seniors doesn't phase me.

Having a go at a teenager who said something that turned out to be false....

... Yeah good work champ

Dave Berryball
5 May 2009, 20:24
[quote=Purrfect Pussies;14409933]
God, Cheesymites, I hate those things. Tastes like someone shat on a coffee scroll.
You gotta get yourself the mini dogs in a roll. Hot or cold a taste sensation.
Have you heard any more about Rathgeabers spray from Saturday.
I thought after i had a dig, that the stawell boys would have given it back to me. Must have thought it was a fair call.

Purrfect Pussies
5 May 2009, 20:29
Just trying to stir you up buddy......job done by the looks.
Your right mate, you were only saying what you thought was right at the time.

At least you did get Khan and Ballinger to the Saints right Scotty:thumbsu:.

ClarkeM
5 May 2009, 20:30
Very illogical arguement but I guess it's better than homework hey.

How are stawell... Going down to the burras? What's the matter crowy?

croweater 41
5 May 2009, 20:31
Ha. What are you trying to say? I am meant to know everything about everyone at everytime? Must be mistaken cop... I was right about Adam at least leaving diggers and if his father didn't move to stawell for some girl he would be in the blue white and black no doubt.

Nathan and Ali Byrnes issues were at an extreme level. They way they were treated after doing something good for the club was utterly abhorrent and out of taste by the one person involved with the club. both parties were in the wrong at time of incident occuring but issue were resolved.

Khan ballinger was a rumour I had heard anyway cop.

Lastly, I clearly stated I wasn't sure about any details regarding uniteds seniors because honestly, seniors doesn't phase me.

Having a go at a teenager who said something that turned out to be false....

... Yeah good work champ
I would have to agree. How can one kid know what everyone else is doing guess their family life and things like that. Makes a mistake wow he is a human not a friggin robot n00bs

croweater 41
5 May 2009, 20:36
Very illogical arguement but I guess it's better than homework hey.

How are stawell... Going down to the burras? What's the matter crowy?
The fact that im not playing. Nah I dunno what is happening. Just unlucky and didn't convert. We looked through stats tonight 24 inside 50's in the first half for something like that for 5 goals i think. Just need another focal point up front instead of just looking for tucks now because most teams have about 4 men go up against him

ClarkeM
5 May 2009, 20:37
I got the one that I was most unsure about right... Weird[quote=Dave Berryball;14410089]
Yes, the silence is deafening. I thought you would at least have had a comment from Newo.
I did'nt know it had happened until Big Footy.
Do you reckon Scotty D should be playing 1's? He appears to have the passion.

Give passion for the club but supporting seniors was never a big thing for me. I might have been given the option during the year if I wasn't out for the season.

croweater 41
5 May 2009, 20:39
Your little hearts are so easily broken.

Anyway...what is going on at Stawell. If the president has done his lolly there must be a fallout. Maybe he is diverting the attention to the umpires after the team under performs....again.
I wouldn't say the team under performs when they lose by 3 points to a team that was talked up to be one of the best units going round this season.

croweater 41
5 May 2009, 20:49
Mu source says Jamie Solymon will be in the 1's next game for that exact reason. At least they are sure of some points this week.
Soly done his quad in the 2's on the weekend.

Most people I have spoken to at Stawell were expecting more wins at this stage of the season.
I thought there should have being maybe 2 wins. But when you play the 2 top teams saints and demons in the first 2 rounds just knocks the guys around a bit. There was nothing saying they couldn't knock of the saints or demons but were just completly outplayed by 2 better units. The win against Rats was a real morale boost. And last weeks game was just a kick in the guts to go down by 3 points but after fighting back incredibly hard in the last qtr.
So I would have thought myself possibly at the bye 2 and 2 but unfortunately we are 1 and 3 going into the bye.

croweater 41
5 May 2009, 20:58
Good point though, tough start playing the two grand final teams of last year and then their biggest rival. The bye might do them the world of good. I'm told Soly will be fit by then. Have you heard different?
I haven't actually heard anything about Soly just knew he did it and thought he was out for 2-3. He wasn't on the track tonight but was in the trainers room all night getting work done

croweater 41
5 May 2009, 21:07
Is there anyone in the juniors who could fill the role of a marking forward?
Anthony Wilksch tall strong marking CHF could possibly step up to the ressies and possibly seniors in a couple of years time but i don't think there is anyone who could step up for the ones at this present time. Jack Tyzzer is another young strong forward in the 17's but he still has another in the juniors. The only few that could step up from ressies would be Todd Matthews who played the first game but went on holidays the 2nd week. James Devery who is in the seniors at the moment and Soly who I am unsure of his fitness.

Slenko
5 May 2009, 21:24
[quote=Fancy Pants;14409950]

You never know Fancy. A few injuires could test their depth a bit. Jez Hartigan shoulder might keep him out for a few. Didn't get to the Saints/Tiggers match on Sunday, but reports said Hargraves is a ripper, and Ladhams carving it up. Must be a question mark over their backline after the Diggers and Saints managed to post excellent scores againist them.

Might find Luke Spacic broke his hand on the weekend also so two talls gone for a number of weeks.

Jump on Nhill at good odds. SF might also be surprise omission due to injury this week.

Fred Townsling
6 May 2009, 17:03
Would like a quick guide to beer prices around the league gentlemen. I've only been to seen Horsham, United and Saints home games.

United - $3.50 heavy
light

Saints - $4.00 heavy:eek:
$3.50 light :eek:

Speaking of beer prices etc. would be interesting to hear peoples thoughts on the social sides of clubs in the wimmera... who's bar gets the biggest workout and which club has the best functions. A good social aspect can give a club great appeal if everyone hangs around after the game to celebrate regardless of win/loss.

Dave Berryball
6 May 2009, 18:35
These thing change from year to year but I think biggest crowd pullers are the Kookoos followed by the Catholics.
I think United's gate and bar takings are down since Frank Dossett and Noel Brown don't attend their games anymore.
Eagles always seem reasonable supported. Ararat wont travel and you can hear a pin drop when Horsham kick a goal.

Slenko
8 May 2009, 13:23
Details on this a bit sketchy but rumour has it that a junior netballer at Horsham Demons was dragged during one of the 1/4 intervals of a game.

On being told she was off burst into tears.

Now the club has suspended the player indefinitely for such actions.

Something sounds amiss but if anyone can add or enlighten on issue would be interested as if even near correct would be disgusted.

Dave Berryball
8 May 2009, 15:57
[quote=Purrfect Pussies;14409933]

What have they been doing with Kelmy? Are they giving him heaps of space or is he kicking his goals in heavy traffic. I can’t say I can picture him as a 1 out full forward type but he has always been hard to contain no matter where he plays. Where will Combe play?
Kelm is the best one on one player in the comp. The only other that could be argued is Luke Carr. The Saints just give him 30mt in front of goal and let him do his thing. Burgess comming back in could mean Kelm works more around the 50.

Dave Berryball
8 May 2009, 16:03
Roy Ward. Can you confirm the Wimmera Mail Times is the most demoralising work place in the history of capitalism? Is it true people now openly weep at staff meetings?
As I have mentioned before FP, Peter Hammond is the most inept GM I have ever met. How he has been able to bluff his way for 10 years is beyond me. Business people around Horsham find it amussing that every time a new advertising feature is promoted, so is the new advertising sales team. BAD BAD BAD. Over the years their have been many people that have been 'BONED' by Hammond who has no concept of what real work ethic is all about. As far as I'm concerned he should go back pushing trolly's at Kmart where he came from.

Slenko
8 May 2009, 16:19
[quote=Fancy Pants;14424933]
Kelm is the best one on one player in the comp. The only other that could be argued is Luke Carr. The Saints just give him 30mt in front of goal and let him do his thing. Burgess comming back in could mean Kelm works more around the 50.

Rubbish!!!

Kelm played on David Johns a couple of years back and Johns had 5 goals before 1/4 time. Kelm had to be shifted.

Luke Carr is easily the best one on one in the game. Can play on a Brett Tuckey, play on a onballer or go forward and be impossible to match up on with his speed and leap.

Purrfect Pussies
9 May 2009, 19:56
Any match reports gentlemen? Didn't get to any games

Saints comfortable againist the Burras - 8 goals
Kelm 5 goals, Burgess 2 - best P Knott

Demons smashed the Tigers:eek: - 15 goals
Johns 9 goals, Giampoalo 5 - best Carr
Ladhams 3, Hargraves 2

Eagles easy over Rats - 6 goals
Wellington 5, best Gunn
Turner 4, best Batchelor

Diggers beat Roos - 7 goals
McCallum 5, best T Friend

Nhill recruits must be wondering of all the cash and travel is worth it! Whats the word up there Fancy?

Slenko
9 May 2009, 23:18
Hard to believe that one. I had been told a few ugly storys about under 14 boys getting a dressing down after they lost a game. I had dismissed it but perhaps it is true.

Appears the story has a fairly strong grounding. Some variances in the basis of the story but yes a young netballer at Horsham Demons was suspended for crying for being dragged.

Also sounds like they are using junior netballers to sell chocolates to raise money for senior netball trip. Some very unhappy parents at the club by all reports!

This was after all junior netballers were made fork out $100 each for new netball uniforms and then as the choclates were handed in raffle books were handed out. It sounds like one continuous money flow in one direction.

Dave Berryball
10 May 2009, 18:25
[quote=Dave Berryball;14435455]

Rubbish!!!

Kelm played on David Johns a couple of years back and Johns had 5 goals before 1/4 time. Kelm had to be shifted.

Luke Carr is easily the best one on one in the game. Can play on a Brett Tuckey, play on a onballer or go forward and be impossible to match up on with his speed and leap.
Ok, As I said, Carr is a great player. Don't forget that when Johnsy kicked a bag in the first 1/4 in a match 2 - 3 years ago, the Saints hadn't won a game. One bloke simply couldn't contain a side with the ball comming in that often. Will Carr play on Kelm when the top 2 meet?? With Burgess back in, T Arnell will go there, M Arnell to Coombe. Carr gave Kelm a towelling in the GF so it would be a great match up if it occured.

Purrfect Pussies
13 May 2009, 14:00
Come on Johnsy, give us a break. There is no interest from you or your club about footy in the region. You want the City Oval developed for your own self interest. Why would people want their rates going to build you guys new club rooms? Why would anyone want their state taxes going to the Evil Empire? The response from the Council should be you come up with half the money and we will match it because that’s what everyone else gets. What about you guys rolling up your sleeves and doing it yourself instead of expecting handouts. The fact that you have your club rooms built on top of a community building is a disgrace. You should be charged rent to use our stairs! That building was built to entertain cricketers in the sixties but became change rooms because your clubs relationship with the council at the time meant you were able to plonk you rooms on the top.

Like if Fancy. I did read with interest in your favourite local rag the same article. Maybe Slenko could get the netballers to sell a few more chocolates for Johnsy's cause.
I think Saints where also annoyed at the lack of assistance with their grant application for new facilities, although there submission was to be matched dollar for dollar with any funding they were to receive from the state government - with no help from our 'wonderful' local council. A nice dig from the Saints at the local member, Hugh Delahunty for doing stuff all again too.

Slenko
13 May 2009, 18:02
Hey Slenko. Any fall out from the netties or is the Empire to grand?

FP

Not sure on that. Parents I spoke to were scathing of the netball segment as opposed the whole club. There must be some rumblings though as the Netball Director recently resigned they said.

They stated more parents than not are unhappy with way things operate but there is minimal choices these days for junior netballers especially. Most teams are flush with numbers so its sort of a jump out of the fry pan into the fire if they defect.

Still Demons run the netball association next year, if what I am told is correct the work will fall to very few. That is usually a start of a testing time.

Slenko
14 May 2009, 21:07
Had to laugh.

WIN TV ran a story tonight on Horsham Saints being able to return to their home ground to play home games. Here Was Coach Broadbent standing in front of sponsor signs at Horsham City Oval giving them all a plug over his own sponsors.

ironic a story about returning to your home ground is recorded at an away ground!

backpocketer
15 May 2009, 06:37
You blokes have done a fabulous job over the past few years trying to pick holes in Horsham. It's gone from paying juniors to Johnsy's articles to not having as much support as other clubs to having umpires that favour them to not having good enough clubrooms. However, I think you've all gone to new levels with this latest one of the junior netballers paying for chocolates with the profits not going to them. I reckon upon finding out about this Carr, Farr, Batch, Barnett and Arnel will all be so disgusted that they'll up and leave the club. "It's an outrage," I can hear the call now. L

The bottom line, and the only thing that matters, is that they have won the past 6 senior flags, a wimmera league record. A club might be able to fluke one flag but 6??? You've got to admit it must be a pretty good club and a lot of work must have been doe to get them from the state they were in, in the 90s to one of the most successful footy clubs in Australia. A little credit?

The constant nit picking about Horsham is laughable because opposition clubs are unable to beat them on the field. Until other clubs can do this then the taunts come across as childish and patheitc.

Purrfect Pussies
15 May 2009, 08:52
You blokes have done a fabulous job over the past few years trying to pick holes in Horsham. It's gone from paying juniors to Johnsy's articles to not having as much support as other clubs to having umpires that favour them to not having good enough clubrooms. However, I think you've all gone to new levels with this latest one of the junior netballers paying for chocolates with the profits not going to them. I reckon upon finding out about this Carr, Farr, Batch, Barnett and Arnel will all be so disgusted that they'll up and leave the club. "It's an outrage," I can hear the call now. L

The bottom line, and the only thing that matters, is that they have won the past 6 senior flags, a wimmera league record. A club might be able to fluke one flag but 6??? You've got to admit it must be a pretty good club and a lot of work must have been doe to get them from the state they were in, in the 90s to one of the most successful footy clubs in Australia. A little credit?

The constant nit picking about Horsham is laughable because opposition clubs are unable to beat them on the field. Until other clubs can do this then the taunts come across as childish and patheitc.

Well said Backpocket! Amazing to think you've been able to hold your tounge for so long. A few of us do have a few issues with the Horsham footy club but the majority of it is just a bit of fun, and all about stirring the pot and trying to get a reaction. Hats of to the Demons on what they have acheived over the past 6 years, but geez it'd be nice for someone to knock the evil empire off it's gold perch!

Footyz Life
15 May 2009, 22:29
:thumbsu:You blokes have done a fabulous job over the past few years trying to pick holes in Horsham. It's gone from paying juniors to Johnsy's articles to not having as much support as other clubs to having umpires that favour them to not having good enough clubrooms. However, I think you've all gone to new levels with this latest one of the junior netballers paying for chocolates with the profits not going to them. I reckon upon finding out about this Carr, Farr, Batch, Barnett and Arnel will all be so disgusted that they'll up and leave the club. "It's an outrage," I can hear the call now. L

Here, here, backpocketer. To many take cheap shots at the empire for doing the right thing... If some people put more time into their footy clubs to get them self up instead of sit in and take pot shots at the premiers they might find they will improve greatly such as min/mur for example. The tall poppy syndrome is alive and kicken in wfl but after winning six in a row i can see why people get sick of the demons on the dias every year but lets lose the trash talk....:thumbsu:

Slenko
16 May 2009, 09:08

Backpocket

Over my previous post I have often defended the administration of the Demons from unfounded accusations of paying juniors and alike. But on this issue you have committed the same sin you accuse others of by picking up on some obscure comment, twisting it and then trying to turn it back around at the poster.

I did mention the issue of chocolates as a minor issue and not that the profits did not go to the kids but the kids were being exploited by senior netballers to help pay for their netball trip.

This has nothing to do with knocking the club administration, as my post clearly states parents are most unhappy with the netball segment of the club. The main issue of my post was that a junior netballer had been suspended for crying and not one of netball executive or coaches actually spoke to the junior to ascertain what the problem was.

If you condone that so be it. Choices and judgements are yours to make.

But do not accuse others of things that you yourself commit in the same post as the accusation you make or you may be branded a hypocrite!

Nardoo
18 May 2009, 15:52
Great comment from Johns in the mail times re how amazingly unsuccessful the Horsham council are in getting funds to upgrade the City Oval yet how easy it was to nab a few million for the massively popular and vitally important Town Hall and then rape the ratepayers a few million more just to keep some Mardi Gra groupies happy and hang a few pics on wall which gender confused skivvie and scarf lovers ae supposed to ooggle over and get all light headed due to the cheap bubbly and enya soundtrack. Well the broader Horsham (and Wimmera) community are set to benefit so much from the 5 mill splashed on the town hall that the Wimmera will be called the Florence of the west as of course sport has always been a poor second cousin in popularity and community participation to the arts in this region! Yes I am sure with the huge use and mega crowds the town hall attracts every weekend and weekday that we are all sure to be winners. Still I can see why and understand why the Horsham council keeps putting the city oval on the backburner (and allowing Year 9 work experience kids to write the grant applications) what with the city oval having only one termite infested grandstand, a timekeepers box built in 1951 (the last time any maintenance was done on it) no seating (see redlegs setup) for netball watching, a canteen that is never used, no public bar just moth eaten tents and eskies on trainer wheels, the main kids playground next to a public toilet (great for pedo's) and not anywhere near where most of the kids hangout (near netball), no shelter from the rain for supporters on the club room side, a scoreboard 20 years past its use by date, lights that make the old kero lamps at Gerang Kiata look like the sun, interchange benches that would be knocked back by dogs at the local pound, no parking, no atmosphere and only used 50 weekends of the year and 5 days a week by Horsham locals and the entire Wimmera - then it all then it makes sense. Good job Horsham Council you cannot be accused of living in the 60's anymore. Will the new town hall have an oval? - Horsham could use one!!

Dave Berryball
18 May 2009, 18:02
The Catlickers smashed the Rodents today, how did Kelmy go?
Interested to know what these investigation the league is referring to??
I hear that the Saints v United is in relation to racial villification of the Cooke - Harrison boys during under 17s.
Pretty poor form if this is true and i would expect the league to come down hard on those responsible. Although not suprising from the half breds from north of the tracks.

Footyballz
18 May 2009, 19:54
Interested to know what these investigation the league is referring to??
I hear that the Saints v United is in relation to racial villification of the Cooke - Harrison boys during under 17s.
Pretty poor form if this is true and i would expect the league to come down hard on those responsible. Although not suprising from the half breds from north of the tracks.

The situation with the Cooke-Harrison boys all started with a small altercation between Jacob Cooke-Harrison and another "certain someone" at the start of the season. From what i hear Jacob and another "certain someone" were being smartarses to each other and it just got a little out of hand with what was coming out of their mouths. This resulted in Jacob wanting to beat the living daylights out of this "certain someone" in the juniors match. That is about the extent of it.

ClarkeM
18 May 2009, 22:49
The situation with the Cooke-Harrison boys all started with a small altercation between Jacob Cooke-Harrison and another "certain someone" at the start of the season. From what i hear Jacob and another "certain someone" were being smartarses to each other and it just got a little out of hand with what was coming out of their mouths. This resulted in Jacob wanting to beat the living daylights out of this "certain someone" in the juniors match. That is about the extent of it.
All's been resolved now mate. Nothing more at hold

getitindia
19 May 2009, 12:10
any one got any thoughts on who will make the inerleauge team for 2009????

Dave Berryball
19 May 2009, 18:28
any one got any thoughts on who will make the inerleauge team for 2009????
6 from Saints, 6 from Demons, 3 from Eagles, 2 from Burras, 2 from Ararat, 1 from Roos, 1 from United, None from Nhill or Stawell.
Lets see how close I am when final squad is named.

Purrfect Pussies
19 May 2009, 20:01
Great footage of the Horsham v United clash on WIN TV last night. Jordyn Burke and Josh Friend throwing haymakers at each other right in front of the camera. Both sent of with yellow cards. Very funny.

Any information come to light re Wimmera League investigation into the Horsham Saints v Nhill reserves games a few weeks back?
Apparently Nhill put a complaint over an incident from during the match.

Mojo07
19 May 2009, 20:13
Great footage of the Horsham v United clash on WIN TV last night. Jordyn Burke and Josh Friend throwing haymakers at each other right in front of the camera. Both sent of with yellow cards. Very funny.

Any information come to light re Wimmera League investigation into the Horsham Saints v Nhill reserves games a few weeks back?
Apparently Nhill put a complaint over an incident from during the match.

you call them haymakers i call them cream puffs,bloody embarrasing for them both my daughters have better style than that,out to lloydys lads

Purrfect Pussies
19 May 2009, 20:25
you call them haymakers i call them cream puffs,bloody embarrasing for them both my daughters have better style than that,out to lloydys lads

You reckon old man Mangler Burke hasn't taught the golden child how to throw them Mojo?

croweater 41
19 May 2009, 20:36
6 from Saints, 6 from Demons, 3 from Eagles, 2 from Burras, 2 from Ararat, 1 from Roos, 1 from United, None from Nhill or Stawell.
You honestly don't think anyone from Stawell will make it. Shane Field will more then likely make it and Daniel Parkin wouldn't be that far behind either

Bumbles
20 May 2009, 15:41

It'll go on form, and those who show up to training and make themselves available i would have thought!!

Purrfect Pussies
20 May 2009, 16:17
Dave Berryball whats going on with that silly paper of yours? Your "likely" line up for the WFL this weekend had half the HDFL team in it? No proof readers down there?

Dave Berryball
20 May 2009, 18:22
You honestly don't think anyone from Stawell will make it. Shane Field will more then likely make it and Daniel Parkin wouldn't be that far behind either
Field didn't start the year well & I think they reckon he's too old.
Good player just dont think he'll get in. Please dont get upset, I know you boys out east take things to heart.

Dave Berryball
20 May 2009, 18:27
Dave Berryball whats going on with that silly paper of yours? Your "likely" line up for the WFL this weekend had half the HDFL team in it? No proof readers down there?
Sorry Puss, since Butch has gone to Saints and Mibus to the Kees, its Bloody Hard to keep up with who is actually in the league this year.
Plus i might add the proof reader was made redundent by Hammond a couple of years ago. That's why a spell check never picks up the difference between - THERE / THEIR / & THEY'RE. keep an eye on it. its generally in every edition.

Mojo07
20 May 2009, 20:08
You reckon old man Mangler Burke hasn't taught the golden child how to throw them Mojo?

not going on what i saw,but then again might be different out in the pub.
i rekon gavin kelm must be one of the better players to go around in the last 15 years for his height.

croweater 41
20 May 2009, 20:18
Field didn't start the year well & I think they reckon he's too old.
Good player just dont think he'll get in. Please dont get upset, I know you boys out east take things to heart.
Field has had a fairly decent start to the year. Constantly in the best. I'm not taking this to heart at all mate I am just pointing out that Meggsy will probably make this squad with his early form. I understand where your coming from with that age 'rule' they have decided to take this year.

Dave Berryball
21 May 2009, 17:42
not going on what i saw,but then again might be different out in the pub.
i rekon gavin kelm must be one of the better players to go around in the last 15 years for his height.
Good one Mojo. :thumbsu: I said the same thing a couple of weeks ago and was hounded for it. The guy has won a Touhey and been runners up. If he keeps kicking 6 - 8 a week you would think he will also win the goal kicking.

Onelastbounce
21 May 2009, 20:35
"The guy has won a Touhey and been runners up. If he keeps kicking 6 - 8 a week you would think he will also win the goal kicking".

It all depends on how u kick the goals. I was at the Ararat v Saints game at the weekend and the little red head from Ararat in Thompson flogged Kelm in each contest. Kelm ended up kicking a bag in the end but all easy goals. Had no inpact or influence in the game. The little redhead cained him in each n every contest!:thumbsd: