View Full Version : Justin Langer gets on his soapbox again
wagstaff
27 Dec 2002, 22:43
Mr. Goodbar himself, Justin Langer, has had a whine over the fact that the Barmy Army committed the henious crime of, gasp, chanting 'no-ball' during Brett Lee's spell yesterday
http://www.theage.com.au/articles/2002/12/27/1040511181078.html
I wonder whether Langer will come out and publicly berate Australian crowds who chant 'no-ball' to a certain bowler from Sri Lanka when he plays here in the New Year, as they did when he last toured here four years ago. Somehow I doubt it.
Waiting for the inevitable comment of how Murali is clearly a chucker while Lee isn't, even though both have been cleared by the ICC panel in the same manner after having their actions questioned
dr nick
27 Dec 2002, 23:10
i seem to remember all in sundry also crying foul when the crowd was doing it to murali.
bit dissappointing from langer though, but he has to be expected to stick up for his teammates though.
dr nick
27 Dec 2002, 23:13
"These people standing behind the fence drinking beer, most of them are about 50 kilos overweight, making ridiculous comments. Gee whiz, as far as I'm concerned, it's easy for someone to say that from behind a fence. While they pay their money and all that sort of stuff, gee whiz, I reckon there's some sort of integrity in life."
having now read it, he does go a bit overboard. he was out of line saying such things about the barmy army.
wagstaff
27 Dec 2002, 23:25
Originally posted by nicko18
i seem to remember all in sundry also crying foul when the crowd was doing it to murali.
As I recall, the criticism came from commentators and journos but I don't think there was any public criticisim of it from the Australian players.
And as for that quote you showed, if ever there was a definition of overwrought then it would be for that quote.
And it's not as if Australian crowds are averse from having a go at opposition players like the Barmy Army did. If that's the worst thing you experience as a cricketer then you don't have much to worry about.
Langer has always come across as a whinger and a sook to me (read about his sob stories about not making the one-day team over the years); he's reaffirmed that this season.
I think the worst thing the Australian players can do is let on that its bothering them.
I can remember the Aussie fans doing the exact same thing to Shoaib Akhtar when the Paks were last out here. Didn't hear a thing from them.
Maybe the truth hurts.
He is also the latest in a long line of Australian players complaining about opposition batsmen not walking. Surprisingly enough I have never heard one of them make the same complaint on one of the many occasions an Australian batsman has stayed at the crease over the years.
Hypocrites the lot of them.
Moomba
Jim Boy
28 Dec 2002, 03:14
I actually feel quite sad for Langer. On what should be one of the greatest, if not the greatest day of his test career, he has to blight it with these comments (regardless of any truth behind them).
knuckles
28 Dec 2002, 11:41
His career exists, b/c the fat blokes on the other side of the fence exist. Unless we are interrupting his career as a surgeon.
Pompous sooky dweeb.
Ugly Australian. Still time for Magilla to fup.:o
CarterS
28 Dec 2002, 12:54
I didn't hear the chants yesterday but I am guessing they have got significantly worse today....whenever Brett Lee comes you can hear a loud 'heeeeeeeeeyyyy...... NO BALL!!' which is actually quite funny I think, and Brett isn't holding back with the short at the body balls.
Anyway Langer is a clown for what he said, especially since Aussie crowds have done it in the past.
Did anyone see the entire press conference? What I'm getting at is, did Langer just say that off his own bat or did some "journalist" set him up with a question like "what do you think of the barmy army calling no-ball at Brett Lee?".
I can't believe the Australian team really care what the BA say. As the commentators on the radio were saying, if anyone had a reason to want them to stop it was the England batsmen!
I remember doing the same thing to Shoaib in Perth a couple of years back. I didn't really believe there was anything wrong with his action, but it was still good fun to join in - especially when he began his first spell with four consecutive no-balls (for overstepping)!
Originally posted by scmods
Did anyone see the entire press conference? What I'm getting at is, did Langer just say that off his own bat or did some "journalist" set him up with a question like "what do you think of the barmy army calling no-ball at Brett Lee?".
I would think he was asked. Players wouldn't normally have a rant about something unprompted.
wagstaff
28 Dec 2002, 17:45
Langer's double-standards on this issue don't surprise as it has occurred in the past. During a tour match on the 2001 tour of India, Langer criticised an Indian bowler on and off the field who gave Steve Waugh a send-off after dismissing him; because as we all know Australian bowlers don't send off batsmen after dismissing them.
I don't know about that but I did hear that Langer, after going on about how batsmen should trust fieldsmen when they say they've caught it and not wait for the umpire's decision, was asked it was then acceptable for batsmen to force the umpires to make a decision when they know they've nicked it?
Langer's response was that they were totally different issues. :rolleyes:
And interestingly, according to Wisden, Langer has gained support from an unlikely source, Merv Hughes! His comments were “Obviously the Barmy Army don’t know too much about cricket, I think they’ve gone a little too far.” Surely Merv must be kidding after all the antics he went on during the field that many considered to be his trademark.
ScouseCat
28 Dec 2002, 20:01
I think the best comments I've heard regarding this issue were from Jonathan Agnew on the ABC today when he said that he didn't have a problem with what Justin Langer said as long as he practises what he preaches.
Fair call I thought.
Australia and the Australian crowd haven't exactly been angels and Justin has indeed been made to look like a clown. Another example of misbehaving Australian fans would be them making fools of themselves by fighting and frightening little kids by showering them with broken glass as a result. So what if the Barmy Army said what they said, it should be water off a duck's back for players. Crying out noball isn't exactly abusive and it is bugger all really. If players react and whinge about that then they are soft. Go play soccer overseas or footy at the old Victoria Park and see how you go.
The Barmy Army has added a lot of atmosphere to cricket games they have attended. The English team has been hammered in all 3 matches so far, i think it is fair to conclude that. However despite all this, they are still at the games, cheering and singing full of gusto. What everyone else should take from this is to keep faith in the team at all times. I seen footy matches where a team is going to lose, and its fans are already leaving the ground. From what i know, the Barmy Army hasn't done this to the English cricket team. Not only that, but they have added a fair bit to the economy with their shopping, pub visiting, and hotel staying.
larrikin
29 Dec 2002, 02:05
We sat right next to the Barmy Army at the Perth test, and I must say the were a great bunch of people. Every chant is done tongue in cheek, and it's all alot of fun!!!
It wasn't the pommy supporters that were the ones in the fights on the hill.
campbell
29 Dec 2002, 10:10
The Balmy Army are fantastic, they add much needed atmosphere to cricket matches.
I feel for Langer though. The best knock he has ever made, and all we here on the news and Current Affair chows is about Steve Waughs knock. Pathetic. Langer should have had the media spotlight, of rhis great play.
Also Lee's action is suspect. My youngest son has had elbow surgery twice, and he could never play cricket for Australia. He has this same arm action. I am the Secretary of a cricket club, and when we watch Lee play as a group of us, his action is always discussed, slowed down or not its suspect.
Thats why the team and media are tetchy.
The ICC should either change the rule or investigate Lee, Myrili and Akhtar. Make a firm decision and stick to it. None of this grey area. they won't though as they are all drawing huge crowds in their countries and they can;t afford to lost the support. With Junior crcket numbers on the wane all over Australia as it is.
The Balmy Army is the best thing about this season Cricket season. Without their singing we would have dull atmospheres around the grounds.
The chant when england were 1 run ahead was funny.
NICK THE PIE MAN
29 Dec 2002, 15:01
Originally posted by Frosties_Flank
The chant when england were 1 run ahead was funny.
What was it?
Dogwatcher
29 Dec 2002, 15:52
Wouldn't mind seeing the Barmy Army canting "no ball" when Shoiab Akhtar's bowling on the trot at Faisalabad .
Richmondfan#1
29 Dec 2002, 16:19
Originally posted by NICK THE PIE MAN
What was it?
I'm pretty sure it was:
"We've got 1 more run than you, Doo Daa, Doo Daa"
Bomber Spirit
29 Dec 2002, 16:58
I was at the MCG on Boxing Day, and the Barmy Army were great fun. I was up in the Southern Stand, but we could hear them loud and clear. Always good for a laugh - they add plenty of atmosphere. Although Australia's in big trouble if the Poms ever play decent cricket.
eastaugh36
30 Dec 2002, 17:53
oh get a life !
I agree 100% with Langer. The barmy army's team cant play for **** so they have to resort to lame name calling and abuse. For gods sake, Lee doesnt even throw the thing ! At least the aussie crowds had the umpires verdicts to back them up with their chants to murali ! Instead of lame name calling to someone with more talent in his little finger than that shocking english side, how about they put more energy into supporting their team. It can only help !
Justin Langer spent some time after the match today chatting to the Barmy Boys and signing autographs for them, so it seems that there are no hard feelings there.
dr nick
30 Dec 2002, 19:40
Originally posted by eastaugh36
oh get a life !
I agree 100% with Langer. The barmy army's team cant play for **** so they have to resort to lame name calling and abuse. For gods sake, Lee doesnt even throw the thing ! At least the aussie crowds had the umpires verdicts to back them up with their chants to murali ! Instead of lame name calling to someone with more talent in his little finger than that shocking english side, how about they put more energy into supporting their team. It can only help !
mate it's all in good fun. it's not lame name calling. i like the one "weve got one more run than you.. do da do da"
also laughed at "you all live in a convict colony"
grow up and enjoy the atmosphere they create at the games rather than bitching like a whinging pom about them.
oh get a life !
! Instead of lame name calling
...uummm .. the name Sir Richard Hadlee comes to mind .... quick duck !!!...... stones and glass houses dont mix
" no sense of humour .. you've got no sense of humour .."
Glad to see all of you(with 1 notable exception) think that Langer's(dare I use this term in conection with an Aussie;) whinge was unwarranted.
It's obvious that the Barmy Army like to take the p1ss & it's all pretty tongue in cheek, you have to wonder about people like Langer & Lee being so thin skinned that they let it get to them.I mean Lee absolutely upped his performance because of it which is a good reaction but it begs the question why did he need the BA to rev him up, surely he should have been giving it the same effort beforehand.
As people have said it's sticks & stones, I've read stories of bags of p1ss & meat pies being thrown down from bay 13 at English fielders in the past & found it pretty funny.I believe that Ian Gould actually got a meat pie straight on the noggin at the MCG in 1982 with the added whammy of it being covered in tomato sauce but he took it in good heart.
I can't help thinking that these blokes are too cossetted, everyone tells them how great they are, every where they go they must get autograph hunters, hangers on & chicks coming onto them & so when there's a big mob of people give them incessant stick their egos just can't deal with it.
As someone who likes to barrack players at the cricket now & again my advice to them would be to never rise to the bait, whenever a player shows a big reaction to the crowd or gives you a rude gesture you love it because you know you've got to them & you do it all the more.The best players are those that are getting grief from the crowd & somehow through their actions(usually cracking some sort of funny, or laughing along) they get that whole section on their side.
eastaugh36
31 Dec 2002, 08:53
yeah that 'we've got one more run than you' was pretty stupid................they only needed an extra bloody innings to get that run ahead :D
As for their 'convict' statement, the dills were using that one in adelaide, which is in the only state that didnt even have any convicts !
It makes their efforts pretty weak too if they are being comprehensively beaten in nearly any sport there is by Australia and its so called convict heritage !
They have an inferiority complex which is present for all to see.
GoEagles
31 Dec 2002, 17:59
Justin Langer spent some time after the match today chatting to the Barmy Boys and signing autographs for them, so it seems that there are no hard feelings there.
Front page of the newspaper showed Langer signing a member of the Barmy Army's beer gut :D
... an inferiority complex which is present for all to see.
You certainly have.
eastaugh36
1 Jan 2003, 13:17
You certainly have.
Am I English and in the barmy army ?.......... I think not, clown.
:rolleyes:
yeah that 'we've got one more run than you' was pretty stupid................they only needed an extra bloody innings to get that run ahead :D
I tell you what, nothing gets past you.
Do you think next time you see a member of the Barmy Army you could let them know about this, I am sure they will be appalled by their horrific faux pas :rolleyes:
Moomba
eastaugh36
1 Jan 2003, 16:44
Originally posted by moomba
I tell you what, nothing gets past you.
Do you think next time you see a member of the Barmy Army you could let them know about this, I am sure they will be appalled by their horrific faux pas :rolleyes:
Moomba
Im sure they already know how pathetic their efforts have been.
Irony isn't your strong point is it.
Moomba
It makes their efforts pretty weak too if they are being comprehensively beaten in nearly any sport there is by Australia and its so called convict heritage !
They have an inferiority complex which is present for all to see.
I can honestly say with hand on heart as God is my witness I have no inferiority complex where you're concerned.
eastaugh36
3 Jan 2003, 13:24
Originally posted by DIPPER
I can honestly say with hand on heart as God is my witness I have no inferiority complex where you're concerned.
Hawthorn fan hey ? If so, then your statement is wrong buddy ! You have a very big inferiority complex compared to me.
Langer's_Babe
13 Jan 2003, 22:29
yes justin langer said those things he was only sticking up for brett and one other thing is alot of the barmy army are bigand im freinds with brett so lay off him as well
Originally posted by Langer's_Babe
yes justin langer said those things he was only sticking up for brett and one other thing is alot of the barmy army are bigand im freinds with brett so lay off him as well
Suzi?
Originally posted by ozzult
Suzi?
:D
Langer's_Babe
14 Jan 2003, 10:53
im not suzi olsen
Of course not, you're just a mysterious new user who knows who Suzi Olsen is.
dr nick
14 Jan 2003, 18:13
and this one time at band camp these guys were all really big and scary but we made friends so it all was ok in the end.
im such a cutsie wootsie, i'm new to this board and i'd really like to make a lot of friends so if you could all be extra nice and special to each other im sure we can have all sorts of fun during the cricket season
Bomber Spirit
14 Jan 2003, 18:35
I know Langer's Babe and I'm good friends with her - and I can assure you she is not Suzi.
Originally posted by Bomber Spirit
I know Langer's Babe and I'm good friends with her - and I can assure you she is not Suzi.
How do we know YOU'RE not Suzi also?? ;)
Bomber Spirit
14 Jan 2003, 18:54
How do we know YOU'RE not Suzi also?? ;) welcome to my Ignore List you imverzile.:p :p
Only kidding.:D :D
dr nick
14 Jan 2003, 18:57
How do we know YOU'RE not Suzi also?? ;)
bomberspirit.... are you sure youre not that supermodel suzi claims to be??
Bomber Spirit
14 Jan 2003, 19:17
I'm a model, you know what I mean
And I do my little turn on the catwalk
On the catwalk, on the catwalk.
I'm too sexy for my cat, too sexy for my cat... :rolleyes: :eek:
If I were a supermodel, the catalogues would be printed in braille.:o