View Full Version : Symo into the fray - T20 World Cup Prelim 30 Man Squad

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
3 Apr 2009, 15:16
Symonds has been included in the 30 man squad for the T20 world cup, other inclusions include Brett Lee and Shaun Tait.

Uncapped spinner Aaron Heal has also been named.

The squad will be cut to 15 in time for the tournament.

Australian 30 Man Squad

Nathan Bracken, Michael Clarke, Callum Ferguson, Brett Geeves, Brad Haddin, Ryan Harris, Shane Harwood, Nathan Hauritz, Aaron Heal, Moises Henriques, Ben Hilfenhaus, Brad Hodge, James Hopes, David Hussey, Michael Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Jason Krejza, Ben Laughlin, Brett Lee, Graham Manou, Shaun Marsh, Ricky Ponting, Rob Quiney, Peter Siddle, Andrew Symonds, Shaun Tait, Adam Voges, David Warner, Shane Watson, Cameron White.

LtD's 15 Man Squad

Ricky Ponting (c)
Michael Clarke (vc)
Nathan Bracken
Callum Ferguson
Brad Haddin
James Hopes
David Hussey
Mitchell Johnson
Michael Hussey
Brett Lee
Andrew Symonds
Cameron White
Shaun Tait
Shane Watson
Nathan Hauritz

Blue Dimension
3 Apr 2009, 15:24
Whats going on with Shaun Marsh??

Edit: Noticed he's in the squad, my bad.

My 15 man squad

1. David Warner
2. Brad Haddin
3. Ricky Ponting
4. Micheal Clarke
5. Nathan Bracken
6. Brett Lee
7. Shaun Tait
8. Mitchell Johnson
9. Shane Watson
10. Andrew Symonds (depending on form + state of mind)/Cameron White
11. David Hussey
12. Shaun Marsh
13. Jason Krejza
14. Peter Siddle
15. Micheal Hussey

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
3 Apr 2009, 15:27
****, i forgot Marsh and Warner in my 15 man squad.

Cotchin 9
3 Apr 2009, 15:29
No Carseldine...wtf?

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
3 Apr 2009, 15:29
David Warner
Shaun Marsh
Ricky Ponting
Michael Clarke
David Hussey
Andrew Symonds
Brad Haddin
Brett Lee
Nathan Bracken
Mitchell Johnson
Shaun Tait

(12th Man Cameron White)

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
3 Apr 2009, 15:30
Thats not a bad team i reckon.

Blue Dimension
3 Apr 2009, 15:38
If Shane Watson is fit you'd imagine he'd play. Team structure will be heavily dependent on guys recovering from stints out with injury and what not (i.e. Lee, Tait, Symonds, et al.)

hotdish
3 Apr 2009, 16:06
The bolter for the squad, in my opinion, is Krezja. I'm sure the usual [insert India he got belted comment] will be seen here soon, but his T20 tournament for Tassie was brilliant. Had a good economy rate, got wickets and batted well. The guy can flat out bat and tonk. I wouldn't be suprised to see him getting games in T20 purely as a bowling allrounder...

eth-dog
3 Apr 2009, 16:08
Hodge
Haddin
Ponting
Clarke
Dussey
Mussey
Hopes
Heal
Lee
Bracken
Siddle

Watson
White
Quiney
Harwood

aussie1st
3 Apr 2009, 16:40
Manou must be backup keeper now. I'd go

Warner
Haddin
Ponting
Dussey
Symonds
Mussey
Watson
Heal/Krejza
Johnson
Lee
Bracken

Quiney
Hodge
Siddle
Tait

Gunnar Longshanks
3 Apr 2009, 18:46
So basically, Symonds is again up for consideration at international level.

How long before we see him playing for Australia in a format that counts?

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
3 Apr 2009, 18:49
I think we should wait until at least the 15 man squad is announced.

Who knows, Symo might be getting ready to head out to celebrate as we speak, we might wake tomorrow to find Symo has got himself into more trouble.

Symo coming back into the side would be a great story, a stirring effort by a proud Queenslander to fight his personal demons and come back into the side and prove himself to be the most valuable player in the world.

Gunnar Longshanks
3 Apr 2009, 18:57
I think we should wait until at least the 15 man squad is announced.Why?

He's back in the mix for selection.

That's the important thing.

Symo coming back into the side would be a great story, a stirring effort by a proud Queenslander to fight his personal demons and come back into the side and prove himself to be the most valuable player in the world.Laying it on a bit thick.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
3 Apr 2009, 19:04
Will his 20/20 form influence selection for the Ashes?

Hoggy
3 Apr 2009, 19:18
He hasn't got any form yet.

Cleavy
3 Apr 2009, 20:33
Dirk Nannes couldn't get a spot in the extended squad and has committed his international allegiance to the Netherlands, according to 3AW sport update

Johnson#26
3 Apr 2009, 20:52
Where is the name of Dirk Nannes?

Edit: Ahh, it makes sense.

Still, we should have done all we could to nab him.

Del Piero
3 Apr 2009, 21:01
Does anyone know whats happening with Stuart Clark ?
Not named in the preliminary squad. Is this because he is not over his injuries or not considered suitable for 20/20...

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
3 Apr 2009, 21:20
I presume it's becaues he'll be playing county cricket.

Blue Dimension
3 Apr 2009, 22:15

Maybe when he starts scoring runs.

Gunnar Longshanks
3 Apr 2009, 22:58
Maybe when he starts scoring runs.Who do you expect him to score runs for?

Are you suggesting he's no longer in Australia's first-choice ODI side?

LondonCalling
3 Apr 2009, 23:47
So who can be considered unlucky here?

Carseldine? Clark? Nannes? Blizzard? Paine? Clingeleffer?

......grasping at straws based on name value in other forms:

Klinger
Ronchi
McDonald
Nannes
Thornely
Bollinger
Magoffin
Rogers

weevil
4 Apr 2009, 01:14

Suspect it might be a very long time.

Gunnar Longshanks
4 Apr 2009, 01:18
Suspect it might be a very long time.Why?

He's again being considered for selection. And he's still part of our best ODI XI.

Or are you only talking about Tests?

weevil
4 Apr 2009, 01:19
Why?

He's again being considered for selection. And he's still part of our best ODI XI.

Yeah, you said format that counts. ;)

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
4 Apr 2009, 01:30
I expect Symo to crack a double ton at Cardiff this year.

DeadlyAkkuret
4 Apr 2009, 04:31

Hopefully never again.

DeadlyAkkuret
4 Apr 2009, 04:33
Why?

Yeah, you said format that counts. ;)

Working beautifully is Weevil.

Bennycoff
4 Apr 2009, 08:31
No room for North?

aussie1st
4 Apr 2009, 08:44
I'm sure Nannes commited to the Netherlands before the prelim squad was named as no way he wouldn't be in the 30 man squad otherwise.

Cleavy
4 Apr 2009, 09:00
I'm sure Nannes committed to the Netherlands before the prelim squad was named as no way he wouldn't be in the 30 man squad otherwise.

that's not what they said on the news report last night. Bushrangers site have said he was a surprising omission.

Haven't seen it reported anywhere else though.

EDIT: it's in the Herald Sun this morning, but not on the website.

The Reaper
4 Apr 2009, 10:36
It doesn't mean anything?

It would be a lot more if Symonds wasn't selected
All it means is that they haven't drawn a line through his name yet, he still has a long way to go

pluga_4
4 Apr 2009, 12:47
Who do you expect him to score runs for?

Are you suggesting he's no longer in Australia's first-choice ODI side?

quite possibly no longer in our first choice odi XI anymore (deserves his place in our best ever odi side though).

he hasn't played an odi or 20/20 for almost a year (on the west indies tour) and we are blooding all these new players in recent times, he may well not be a part of the 2011 world cup.

it's possible symonds may make the odi squad to play pakistan (if we decide to rest a few players) that may be his last oppurtunity to present his case for regular gigs in aussie colors.

Ill Chicken
4 Apr 2009, 14:21
Dan Harris is a bit unlucky to be left out of the initial squad.

Jimthegreat
4 Apr 2009, 14:56
No room for North?That's where Symonds will find it hard. I'm guessing without a decent spinner we'll play 4 quicks in Tests. North will have to play so we have a half-decent spinning option.

Symonds will play the shorter forms of the game. He surely learnt though never give a "sucker" a even break as the saying goes.

Gunnar Longshanks
4 Apr 2009, 17:09
quite possibly no longer in our first choice odi XI anymore (deserves his place in our best ever odi side though).What do you think our best ODI XI looks like?

If Symonds is fit and focused, I'd have him in there all day long.

That said, his goose may be cooked. The paymasters may have had enough of him.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
4 Apr 2009, 17:28
Gunnar if his "paymasters" have had enough of him then why would they pick him in the 20/20 squad.

they are not going to pick him in the 30 man squad and then not pick him in the 15 man squad, unless you does something outrageous between now and the date they name the 15 man squad.

The selectors clearly still see him as a viable option, at least in the 20/20 format. From that one could assume that they will still see him as a viable option in the traditional 50 over format. Some might say, that the selectors may see him as a straight sway (and an upgrade) between McDonald and Symonds in the test side?

Especially, if Symonds is fit and capable of bowling medium pacers to the quality we witnessed in the Shield final a few weeks ago.

Gunnar Longshanks
4 Apr 2009, 17:40
Gunnar if his "paymasters" have had enough of him then why would they pick him in the 20/20 squad.

they are not going to pick him in the 30 man squad and then not pick him in the 15 man squad, unless you does something outrageous between now and the date they name the 15 man squad.That makes intuitive sense to me. But I'm not sure what the implications of that are in the other forms of the game.

I think Symonds still has a future in ODIs, but there's an element of doubt.

raikkonen
4 Apr 2009, 20:45
I'm sure Nannes commited to the Netherlands before the prelim squad was named as no way he wouldn't be in the 30 man squad otherwise.

Hate it when players come out and have a public whinge about how good they think they are. As far as I am concerned he can f*** off to the Netherlands if he wants. If he wants to play mediocre international cricket then go for it.

Here is the article from cricinfo blog:

Goodbye Australia, hello Holland (http://blogs.cricinfo.com/thebuzz/archives/2009/04/goodbye_australia_hello_hollan.php)
Posted by Peter English 7 hours, 41 minutes ago (http://blogs.cricinfo.com/thebuzz/archives/2009/04/goodbye_australia_hello_hollan.php)</B> in Australian cricket (http://blogs.cricinfo.com/thebuzz/archives/australian_cricket/)
http://img.cricinfo.com/spacer.gif
http://blogs.cricinfo.com/inline/content/image//365456.jpg?alt=1
Dirk Nannes is packing his bags © Cricket Victoria

Australia’s loss is The Netherlands’ big gain for the World Twenty20. Dirk Nannes (http://blogs.cricinfo.com/australia/content/player/6981.html), one of the most feared bowlers in the domestic Twenty20 competition, has signed on for the European country after not being rated in Australia’s 30 best short-form specialists.
Nannes, whose parents are Dutch, is a scary left-armer in Twenty20 and his speed and swing gained him 12 wickets (http://stats.cricinfo.com/australiandomestic/engine/records/bowling/most_wickets_career.html?id=4484;type=tournament) at 13.83 for Victoria, helping them qualify for the Champions League. In 22 matches he owns 38 victims and has an incredible strike-rate of a breakthrough every 13 balls.
"I was kind of hoping to be in a squad of 15, I've been one of best-performed domestic players for the last two years," Nannes told AAP. "To not get picked flies in the face of picking your best team from your domestic competition.
“I doubt many of the people in that squad would have a better record than me, even the big boys, so clearly I'm playing the wrong sport." The decision means he won’t be a dual international for Australia after representing the country at skiing

Cousin Jed
4 Apr 2009, 22:45
Well he certainly has a high opinion of himself

dr nick
4 Apr 2009, 22:53
whinger of Brad Hodge proportions

Cotchin 9
4 Apr 2009, 23:10
Yeah he has every right to have a whinge, why is Henriques in the squad, average player, best Twenty20 player last season (Carseldine) isn't even in the squad, go figure :confused:.

notting18
5 Apr 2009, 01:22

Everything he said is true though. He has been one of the best performers and if he won't get a go here, good luck to him!

I am all for players not bitching about selection issues, but if it has become clear that he won't be selected and he can't do anything else - changing allegiance is all he can do.

anti dukes
5 Apr 2009, 11:15
Is George Bailey, X Doherty and Travis Birt a little unlucky not to be getting in the squad? I am not calling for them to be in the 15 man squad, just the 30 man squad.

Bennycoff
5 Apr 2009, 13:35
My 15 man squad would be:

1. Warner
2. Marsh
3. Ponting
4. D Hussey
5. Clarke
6. Haddin
7. Watson
8. Johnson
9. Hopes
10. Bracken
11. Siddle

12. Tait
13. Hauritz
14. White
15. M Hussey

Blue Dimension
5 Apr 2009, 16:19

1. Warner
2. Marsh
3. Ponting
4. D Hussey
5. Clarke
6. Haddin
7. Watson
8. Johnson
9. Hopes
10. Bracken
11. Siddle

12. Tait
13. Hauritz
14. White
15. M Hussey

You'd imagine Tait will play if fit, either at the expense of Siddle, or Hopes...(personally I'd like to see us go with a 5 pronged pace battery). But im also guessing they'd want more batting depth. Will be interesting to see how they go about it. Lee would have to be a goer also, good way to work his way back into the shorter form with short spells to build up the fitness and workload.

Bennycoff
5 Apr 2009, 16:47
I think it's either Lee or Siddle.

If they want to rest Lee for the Ashes and not risk him then perhaps he should not bother with the 20-20's.

However, Siddle is also recovering from injuries and they could decide to rest him too. Can't see Hilfenhaus being there, is too inconsistent.

Bennycoff
5 Apr 2009, 16:49

1. Warner
2. Marsh
3. Ponting
4. D Hussey
5. Clarke
6. Haddin
7. Watson
8. Johnson
9. Hopes
10. Bracken
11. Siddle

12. Tait
13. Hauritz
14. White
15. M Hussey

I've highlighted players who could easily miss out.

Possible inclusions for the players highlighted include:
* Krezja
* Voges
* Lee
* Harwood

STC
6 Apr 2009, 21:39
He's clearly one of the best bowlers in domestic cricket right now, if he didn't get injured late he'd have lead the Shield wicket stakes. Absolutely ridiculous that we've not picked him in the 30 man squad. He should be in the 15, but certainly to leave him out of the 30 is just another stupid decision by the selectors.

Why shouldn't he be upset that he's rated behind Moises Henriques? He's certainly a better bowler than Henriques, Geeves, Harris, Laughlin, even his teammate Harwood.

DIG
8 Apr 2009, 07:32
He's clearly one of the best bowlers in domestic cricket right now, if he didn't get injured late he'd have lead the Shield wicket stakes. Absolutely ridiculous that we've not picked him in the 30 man squad. He should be in the 15, but certainly to leave him out of the 30 is just another stupid decision by the selectors.

Why shouldn't he be upset that he's rated behind Moises Henriques? He's certainly a better bowler than Henriques, Geeves, Harris, Laughlin, even his teammate Harwood.
Absolutely spot on.

He was on SEN this morning and he came across quite maturely i thought, he couldn't understand why he hadn't picked given his record but wasn't all emotional about it -a la Nathan Bracken earlier this year.

Makes absolutely no sense that he wouldn't at least be in the 30, if not the final 15, given the way he's virtually won some games on his own by devastating top orders.

If the selectors thought he was going to Holland anyway then they didn't bother to check with him - he said he only even considered the Dutch after missing the Aussie squad.

matty p
21 Apr 2009, 15:40
After seeing some IPL, it seems that the bowlers that are most successful in T20 cricket fall under 1 of 3 categories:

1. Extreme pace/slinger
2. Accurate pace bowler who can move the ball and keep it tight
3. Spinner

Using these observations, here is my squad for the World Cup:

Warner
Haddin
Watson
Ferguson
Clarke
M. Hussey
Hopes
Johnson
Hauritz
Bracken
Tait

Marsh
Ponting
Hilfenhaus
Siddle

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
21 Apr 2009, 15:49
After seeing some IPL, it seems that the bowlers that are most successful in T20 cricket fall under 1 of 3 categories:

1. Extreme pace/slinger
2. Accurate pace bowler who can move the ball and keep it tight
3. Spinner

Classic, you have just about covered all the bowlers that play the game there. :D

Your right though, if Shaun Tait is fit i think he should be in our number 1 squad.

matty p
21 Apr 2009, 16:19
Classic, you have just about covered all the bowlers that play the game there. :D

Your right though, if Shaun Tait is fit i think he should be in our number 1 squad.

There are plenty of pace bowlers who don't have extreme pace and don't keep it tight enough. We're lucky in that we should have enough bowlers that can do these jobs.

Anyway, my main point in emphasising this, and I should have said this in my original post, was that the Aussies should probably have at least one of each of these bowlers in our starting XI. I'm not a fan of Hauritz, but I think we need a spinner in T20 (I don't think we need 1 in tests). Tait is also a must if fit.

Hoggy
21 Apr 2009, 17:55
lol @ Ponting not in the XI.

Also you don't rate David Hussey?

matty p
21 Apr 2009, 19:49

Right now, I don't think Ponting is in the best six T20 batsmen in the country. I know the Aussie selectors will think otherwise though and he will slot straight in at number 3 for Watson.

No, I don't rate D. Hussey as a consistent international batsmen. I don't know which batsmen he'd be ahead of in my squad.

Hoggy
21 Apr 2009, 20:16
I would have thought that you could take out Ferguson for Hussey, or take Hauritz out and bowl Hussey as the spinner with Clarke.

It's not as if Warner is really consistent is it?

Ponting is the best batsman in the game, he has to play.

Cousin Jed
21 Apr 2009, 20:40

After his performances for Australia I doubt you will find too many who do.

matty p
21 Apr 2009, 20:43
Ferguson has far outperformed D. Hussey in their international careers thus far. Hauritz has also performed much better than Hussey.

Ponting might be arguably the best Test batsman in the world, however he is not the best T20 batsmen. India showed in the last T20 World Cup that a young T20 specialist team will outperform teams filled with players who are only playing based on their Test and ODI reputations. This is what cost Australia in the last T20 World Cup, and hopefully they won't make the same mistake this year.

Chris25
21 Apr 2009, 22:39
Marsh
Watson
Ponting
Ferguson
M Hussey
Symonds
Haddin
Hopes
Johnson
Bracken
Tait

Warner
Clarke
Hauritz/Krejza
Siddle

I can't say I would particularly want either Ponting or Symonds in the team, but they will both play. I'd imagine Clarke would also slot in for Ferguson, but I prefer it the other way.

weevil
21 Apr 2009, 22:53
Right now, I don't think Ponting is in the best six T20 batsmen in the country. I know the Aussie selectors will think otherwise though and he will slot straight in at number 3 for Watson.

You can’t just drop the captain every time they have a minor form slump.

ManWithNoName
22 Apr 2009, 22:56
What an inspired selection Roy turned out to be.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
22 Apr 2009, 23:14
Well, wrong format champ.

unstable punt
23 Apr 2009, 00:53
Well, wrong format champ.
stroke of genius putting Symonds back in 1 day team-NOT. what a joke, he is finished, get frickin' rid of him.................PATHETIC selectors

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
23 Apr 2009, 01:07
What after one game?

He got arguably the best ball of the night, shaped to cut the ball but it drifted back in late and caught his glove.

Too goo, give the bowler credit.

He'll have the entire series to find form, cause lets be honest, at full flight his the best batsmen in that order without Ponting there. He should be given every chance to find his form.

Special Agent Utah
23 Apr 2009, 12:10
What after one game?

He got arguably the best ball of the night, shaped to cut the ball but it drifted back in late and caught his glove.

Too goo, give the bowler credit.

He'll have the entire series to find form, cause lets be honest, at full flight his the best batsmen in that order without Ponting there. He should be given every chance to find his form.

But he is not at full flight is he and has not been for quite a while.

He was given every chance for Queensland this summer and he failed miserably, so what has he done to deserve his spot back?

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
23 Apr 2009, 13:13
He has never performed well for Queensland generally speaking.

His record at international ODI level is outstanding, he deserves his chance over the likes of Ferguson, D Hussey. Symonds is better with the bat then both of those players. All I am saying is give the guy a chance.

Everyone knows, even you lot, that Symonds is a better player then Ferguson and Hussey. Sure, i admit he hasn't done anything to warrant re-selection but either had Shaun Marsh.

Sometimes selectors have to take a gamble, Symo didnt warrant selection in the 2003 WC squad either, but look what happened there.

Chris25
23 Apr 2009, 13:28
I have no problem with Symonds getting selected. He has been very good for Australia, and he does deserve to get another chance. But I don't think that chance should come at the expense of Ferguson. Ferguson has taken his opportunity and he has been excellent, and was our second best batsman in South Africa.

While I think there will be opportunites for Symonds, when it comes down to it, unless his form dramatically improves, a 24 year old should play ahead of a guy nearly 34.

Special Agent Utah
23 Apr 2009, 14:32
He has never performed well for Queensland generally speaking.

His record at international ODI level is outstanding, he deserves his chance over the likes of Ferguson, D Hussey. Symonds is better with the bat then both of those players. All I am saying is give the guy a chance.

Everyone knows, even you lot, that Symonds is a better player then Ferguson and Hussey. Sure, i admit he hasn't done anything to warrant re-selection but either had Shaun Marsh.

Sometimes selectors have to take a gamble, Symo didnt warrant selection in the 2003 WC squad either, but look what happened there.

No doubt he can be better than Ferguson and co but at the moment is he? I would have to say no.

I agree with you that selectors have to sometimes gamble, although i do think it sends the wrong message to the players that have worked their arse off to get into form at State Level only to see Symonds who has been terrible in the same competition get a spot based on potential and past heroics.

It is a tough call and i certainly dont think Roy is past it but i would have liked the selectors to make him work a little harder before earning a recall.

Hoggy
23 Apr 2009, 20:47
he deserves his chance over the likes of Ferguson, D Hussey. Symonds is better with the bat then both of those players.

Was.

He is finished.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
23 Apr 2009, 21:13
What about Dave Hussey?

I presume his in great form then?

Special Agent Utah
23 Apr 2009, 21:23
What about Dave Hussey?

No.

Was terrible in SA and is now out of the side. What is your point?

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
23 Apr 2009, 21:47
Im just trying to determine if any state bias is underlying your opinions.

mediumsizered
23 Apr 2009, 21:57
What about Dave Hussey?

His form (or lack thereof) saw him omitted from last night's team, but why you would replace him with a player who has hardly made runs at any level of cricket for much of the last 12 months totally defies logic.

If the selectors are going to pick players on past deeds I'm sure Neil Harvey would still fancy himself. Twisted loyalty doesn't win cricket matches, picking your best possible team gives you a much better chance of success.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
24 Apr 2009, 00:16
His form (or lack thereof) saw him omitted from last night's team, but why you would replace him with a player who has hardly made runs at any level of cricket for much of the last 12 months totally defies logic.

If the selectors are going to pick players on past deeds I'm sure Neil Harvey would still fancy himself. Twisted loyalty doesn't win cricket matches, picking your best possible team gives you a much better chance of success.

Come on, a bit of sensible logic. The analogy using Neil Harvey doesn't do your argument much good.

David Hussey is a very good state player, but he is yet to show that he can keep his nerves under control at internationel level. I have no doubt his good enough to be successful at ODI level but he just seems to be a like a cat on a hat tin roof when he comes out to bat. Each innings he seems to find a stranger way of getting out. Whether it's skying a bouncer or getting stumped off a wide.

As i have said previously, if you don't think Symonds deserves to be in the team then fine. But unless you name a player to take his place your argument doesn't hold much weight, simply because your not offering an alternative option.

Symonds has been injured for most of the last 12 months, his been battling personal problems including the break-up of his relationship (now its back together i think), the loss of near a million dollars in the stock market and then the increased public interest and hyberbole regarding his recreational activities. All this has to be taken into account. Sure, he hasn't been making any runs in domestic cricket but he hadn't done anything whn he was picked in the 2003 WC squad.

My point is that Symonds has shown that when he is in form then he is leagues ahead of the likes of Watson, Hussey and Ferguson.

Don't give me this stuff about domestic players working there arse-off and then gettng pissed off when they don't get picked. Apart from Ponting i believe that Symonds is our next best ODI batsmen, he deserves the chance to re-establish his place in our middle order.

I can't think of a batsmen at domestic level that would be pushing for his spot in the team, none of them are as destructive as Symonds and none of them are as dynamic as Symonds in the field or with the ball.

His past record earns him a right to try and find some form in this series, whether people like it or not.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
24 Apr 2009, 00:22
No doubt he can be better than Ferguson and co but at the moment is he? I would have to say no.

I agree with you that selectors have to sometimes gamble, although i do think it sends the wrong message to the players that have worked their arse off to get into form at State Level only to see Symonds who has been terrible in the same competition get a spot based on potential and past heroics.

It is a tough call and i certainly dont think Roy is past it but i would have liked the selectors to make him work a little harder before earning a recall.

Send the wrong message?

Mate, it is nothing new for players to get picked based on past performances, that's how reputations are made. You know, reputations are made belting hundreds in World Cup's and belting international quality attacks to all corners.

Reputations aren't made in state cricket. The message i'd be hoping that is sent is that one decent season doesn't give you a right to be selected in the team, rather you have to put consistent performances together.

As well as that i hope it sends a message that performances at international level carry a lot more weight then accumulating runs at state cricket, as such when players do get a shot at international level then if they perform the can cement a spot. Also, it wouldn't do any state player any good to come out and start whining about missing out on a spot, that doesn't go down to well with selectors.

Special Agent Utah
24 Apr 2009, 00:43
David Hussey is a very good state player, but he is yet to show that he can keep his nerves under control at internationel level. I have no doubt his good enough to be successful at ODI level but he just seems to be a like a cat on a hat tin roof when he comes out to bat. Each innings he seems to find a stranger way of getting out. Whether it's skying a bouncer or getting stumped off a wide.

Exactly, he is in terrible form. That is why he is out of the side.

As i have said previously, if you don't think Symonds deserves to be in the team then fine. But unless you name a player to take his place your argument doesn't hold much weight, simply because your not offering an alternative option.

Marcus North. Does he not deserve a chance?

Symonds has been injured for most of the last 12 months, his been battling personal problems including the break-up of his relationship (now its back together i think), the loss of near a million dollars in the stock market and then the increased public interest and hyberbole regarding his recreational activities. All this has to be taken into account. Sure, he hasn't been making any runs in domestic cricket but he hadn't done anything whn he was picked in the 2003 WC squad.

He played 8/11 Shield games and 6/10 Ford Ranger games so hardly missed a large chunk off the summer did he. Why does that have to be taken into account when looking at his on field form? Everyone has personal issues at one stage or another, This is his job and he needs to treat it accordingly.

My point is that Symonds has shown that when he is in form then he is leagues ahead of the likes of Watson, Hussey and Ferguson.

Once again you say "When" in form. The fact is he is not in form and has not been for quite some time. Watson and Ferguson are ahead of him at the moment.

Don't give me this stuff about domestic players working there arse-off and then gettng pissed off when they don't get picked. Apart from Ponting i believe that Symonds is our next best ODI batsmen, he deserves the chance to re-establish his place in our middle order.

I know this was referring to my last quote, and i never said they were getting pissed off but does it not send the wrong message to players in at state level. Surely players that are in form should be rewarded. What has he done to deserve his chance? Averaged 15 at Shield and 24 at Ford Ranger. Hardly someone knocking down the selectors doors.

I can't think of a batsmen at domestic level that would be pushing for his spot in the team, none of them are as destructive as Symonds and none of them are as dynamic as Symonds in the field or with the ball.

Why do they have to be as destructive as Symonds? All they need to do is score runs which is something that Symonds is not giving us at the moment. His bowling is good at best, hardly dynamic. He adds variety and is handy because he can bowl either Spin or Medium but he is hardly a match winner with the ball. I agree with you on the fielding point.

His past record earns him a right to try and find some form in this series, whether people like it or not.

I dont think it should. If he had made an effort and worked his way back into form at state level then i would be more than happy for him to be rewarded with selection but the fact is he did not. He was terrible.

I understand how much potential he has and fully firing he does make the side look stronger but he is not firing and has not been for some time. I honestly think he needed to do more to be recalled but if he makes a hundred next game feel free to say i told you so.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
24 Apr 2009, 01:08
Well obviously me and you have totally different opinions on what values to look for when picking a cricket team.

Symonds wouldn't have the ability to play domestic cricket until next season. So do you not pick him until he shows form at state level? If so then your going to have to wait another 6 months to get a look at him. While in that time the T20 World Cup is going to happen as well as a few more ODI's and not to mention the Ashes, but Symonds probably wont play a role in that.

Bare in mind, while your waiting for symo to find form in 6 months at domestic cricket, you have guys like Hussey, Ferguson stuffing around in the lineup. Both aren't anywhere near the same league as Symonds when in full form.

Granted his not in form at the minute but it could be as much as one shot and then Symo is away. None of those players have the ability that Symonds has, and that DOES come into it when im picking a side.

The only way your going to find out if he is going to fire or not is to play him. Other guys who are half the player Symonds is are not firing so what have you got to lose?

Symonds has a very strong international record on his CV, Hussey or Ferguson don't have that at this point in time. Ferguson has been good but he isn't the type of player that is going to win you matchs of his own bat like Symonds can. Not yet anyway.

I just feel that Roy is a gamble worth taking, his record speaks for itself. Im not arsed about players like Hussey or Ferguson or even Watson at this point in time. They are all quality players but the players i want in my team are the ones with the X factor, the ones who have shown they can produce the goods.

I fully appreciate Symonds hasn't got domestic form behind him, but it hasn't mattered in the past. At the very least Symonds takes Hussey's spot. If you want to bring in North then you bring him in for Ferguson. Ferguson has been solid without being spectacular.

You still haven't suggested those players at domestic level who deserve a shot before Symonds?

Give roy this series against Pakistan and then we'll judge him. Fair is fair.

DIG
25 Apr 2009, 13:20
Well, he's taken his first step last night with a MOTM effort.

Special Agent Utah
4 May 2009, 17:43
Give roy this series against Pakistan and then we'll judge him. Fair is fair.

So what do we think?

82 runs @ 20.50 from 4 hits.

4 Wickets @ 23.50 from 5 matches

Will play in the 20/20 World Cup.

With no more ODI's until the one off against Scotland and the 7 game series against England after the Ashes has Roy done enough to earn a permanent spot in this one day side?

While i did not agree with his selection in the side for this tour i think he deserves another series which will be in England. Then i think we will know where his career is at.

matty p
4 May 2009, 19:16
Warner
Haddin
Watson
Clarke
Ferguson
Hussey
Hopes
Johnson
Hauritz
Bracken
Tait

Ponting
Symonds
Hilfenhaus
Siddle

Realistically though, Ponting will come into the side, moving Watson up to opener and Warner out of the side. Symonds will probably also play instead of Ferguson. Lee will probably also come into the squad even though I disagree, and may even play in the XI, as Tait is doubtful for the tournament.

Jimthegreat
11 May 2009, 17:24
After the turner in Dubai he looked pretty good smashing 60no in 36 balls for the Deccan Chargers. Looked as good as ever. Good have him and Gilly in the same team.