View Full Version : The first concert you ever went to
Guns and Roses 93 at Calder Park, 14 -15 year old kid chaperoned by cousins in his brand new get in the ring tour 91 T Shirt
nearly died that day in 40 degree hat and ****ing down rain, a prick of a venue to get out of and into, and the band sucked
SENZA CALCIO NON C'E VITA
John Farnham, Thebarton Oval, 1990. I think Southern Sons were the leadup band.
First concert i really wanted to go to was Dire Straits, Entertainment Centre, 1991.
u2 zooTV concert at the sydney football stadium in early '94 i think.. yes, i was a late concert goer...
kim salmon and the surrealists, big audio dynamite as support.. ~
the concert was f*ckin' awesome !!!
McAlmanac
3 Jan 2003, 14:44
Dire Straits, Festival Theatre, 1980. It was before they became mega huge and the crowd was very adult (through the eyes of this 16 year old). Was in about the eighth row and it was fantastic, even if they are now seen as somewhat daggy.
Next one was The Pretenders (original lineup) at the Festival Theatre in 1981.
dreamkillers
3 Jan 2003, 14:54
Probably Midnight Oil in 1981 at the Adelaide Teachers College which was across the footy oval from my high school at the time.
Loved their soundcheck during the afternoon when we couldn't hear our teachers from the front of the class.
A lot more was written about this in the Midnight Oil thread on the music board that went up with Bigfooty's big crash - but alas that thread is no more.......
Santos L Helper
3 Jan 2003, 15:01
'Slade' at Memorial Drive in 1974.
Next two were 'Rainbow' at Festival Theatre and 'ACDC' (with Bon) at Memorial Drive.
Was still in Primary School at this time. Not a bad start to my career.
S.J Rollin
3 Jan 2003, 15:05
INXS..."the Swing" Tour 1984. Perth Ent. Centre $11
McAlmanac
3 Jan 2003, 15:13
Originally posted by Santos L Helper
'Slade' at Memorial Drive in 1974.
Next two were 'Rainbow' at Festival Theatre and 'ACDC' (with Bon) at Memorial Drive.
Was still in Primary School at this time. Not a bad start to my career.
Slade and Rainbow. Will anyone be able to top that??? :D
Santos L Helper
3 Jan 2003, 15:20
Originally posted by dreamkillers
Probably Midnight Oil in 1981 at the Adelaide Teachers College which was across the footy oval from my high school at the time.
Loved their soundcheck during the afternoon when we couldn't hear our teachers from the front of the class.
Was at this gig too DK. I got there about 2 pm and started drinking heavily in the car park. Midnight Oil arrived in a GOLD Statesman................class all the way!
Soundgarden in early 1994
dreamkillers
3 Jan 2003, 15:35
Originally posted by Santos L Helper
Was at this gig too DK. I got there about 2 pm and started drinking heavily in the car park. Midnight Oil arrived in a GOLD Statesman................class all the way!
From memory there was a huge collection of bottles in the car park afterwards..........also remember the small gate everyone had to queue up to go through to get out with everybody doing their bird, sheep and cow noises.........
That show certainly influenced my music tastes for a number of years afterwards and loved the Stop The Drop shows they did in the following years at Memorial Drive.
We used to rock up in the morning and start getting stuck into the beers amongst other things, always the same people and even got invited in on a few occasions to watch the sound check and have a kick of the footy with the boys afterwards..............
Ah the memories........:D.......
Pity that Oils thread died as it was very good.......might have to start one up again after I've done up a Saints one.........
riotgirl
3 Jan 2003, 16:03
Kylie 2001 lol, awww how embarassing
INXS Kick Tour (Calling All Nations) 1989 at the Tennis Centre. Rocked my socks off! (And my Dad's!)
Off topic - How does one pronounce Thebarton? See it in venue lists for national tours but pretty sure it's not pronounced The Barton. :confused:
1977 David Bowie at the MCG. The Angels were the support act with their new single "Take A Long Line" First concert in Australia with a big screen - shame it was black and white and the image was back to front.
Free gigs I remember - a band called Avalanche with Geoff Cox on drums (yup, the fat bloke from "Postcards") in the high school gym (about 1975).
.....and in about 1978, very early lineup of Ross Wilson's Mondo Rock, supported by James Freud and the Teenage Radio Stars, who ended up becoming The Models.
(also I got taken to the Myer Music Bowl to see Chicago, but I don't like to talk about that).
Leaping Lindner
3 Jan 2003, 19:34
Originally posted by PeteLX
INXS Kick Tour (Calling All Nations) 1989 at the Tennis Centre. Rocked my socks off! (And my Dad's!)
Off topic - How does one pronounce Thebarton? See it in venue lists for national tours but pretty sure it's not pronounced The Barton. :confused:
Theb - urr - tn . Reckon that's how you'd write it. Other croweaters may care to correct or agree as they deem fit.
Fraternity at a open air freebie in Elder Park in the early 70's. Think it was 72. I was 10 or so and my cousin took me. I remember lots of hippie types blissing out and that's about it.
Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
3 Jan 2003, 19:42
i remember my cousin and i kicking and screaming and pleading to go to the gunners tour in 93 but we were too young and mum said we would get crushed :mad:
So had to settle for Silverchair/Everclear at Festival hall in 96 i think. A friend's brother took us coz we were still only bubs!
Not too sure, might have been The Cure at the Palais in 1985.
The Hippie
3 Jan 2003, 22:24
First big international act was Deep Purple when they reformed on the Perfect Strangers in '84.
First local act I went to was The Radiators in Wagga on one of their numerous country tours, in the early to mid 80's I guess.
Richmondfan#1
3 Jan 2003, 22:40
Well I'd been to small gigs and concerts at festivals previously (Halogen, Kingpin, Fourth Floor Collapse, Cartman, several local Perth bands) but my first major concert was Grinspoon at the Globe early last year. Ticket was about $42.
Blues_Brat
3 Jan 2003, 22:56
ZZ Top in 87, much to my chagrin. The highlight of the show was the support act, Rose Tattoo.
I had a crap music taste up until about then and I'm dark on myself for missing out on seeing some truly great bands.
Santos, I hate you for seeing DK live. :p :D
AC/DC at Melbourne Tennis Centre, October 1990. $42.
Was such a huge fan at the time, and was so blown away by it all, I had to see them again two weeks later when the extra show in early November was announced. The second show's final number (cannons during "For Those About To Rock") left a ringing in my ears for three weeks. Impressive.
Biggest regrets :
- Not having enough cash to see Iron Maiden with Bruce in 1992, although I have since acquired a so-so bootleg of the Melbourne gig.
- Not thinking Reverend Horton Heat was worth the $32 two years ago, yet paying $72 to see Tool the same year...
- Not knowing Cathedral toured Australia in 1999 until I read reviews on their website! Luckily I saw them on their previous tour (97 or 98).
Noddy Holder
4 Jan 2003, 00:01
1985 - Joan Armatrading at the Sydney Entertainment Centre - she rocks!
Beastie boys Selinas at the cogee bay in 1991. Was the first time the BB played in Australia. Supported by some thrash bands like The Meanies and some other hard core ****ers.
Billy Joel at Rod Laver Arena in 1990, I was only 7 years old and I was in the very last row
I think that'd be John Farnham in Hobart in Jan 91. Very good actually! Following that was GnR at Calder Park in Jan 93.
My biggest regrets are not seeing Living Colour in 93, and Alice in Chains and Suicidal Tendencies in the same year.
I didn't get to see the Oils until 98 because they never seemed to play under-age gigs when I was a youngster.
Kylie - On A Night Like This Tour last year at Rod Laver Arena
Best decision ever! :)
Biggest Regret: Not getting to Glastonbury (to see Bowie) and the Love Parade in 2000 cause I ran out of money two weeks before... :(
BomberGal
5 Jan 2003, 13:09
Shall I admit this? :(
Anyway. Not much of a concert, but yeah...I was 12, Bachelor Girl had a free concert at Lake Pertobe in Warrnambool, and cause my friend wanted to see them we went for her birthday. I can see why it was free, surely no-one would have paid to see that crap! And yet I can't understand why the place was packed as far as it could go? :confused: :D
Other than that, I've only been to M-One. A bit disappointing but it's kinda hard to get to concerts. Motor Ace and The Androids (Great :rolleyes: ) are coming to Ararat of all places in February, so I'm going to go to that to see MA, but I can't imagine it being much good...the joint will probably be packed with freakin teenybopper girls who only know one song :rolleyes:
Biggest regret is not going to be able to see Pearl Jam this year :(
Jimmy Barnes Soul Deep Tour at The Palais in 1991.
Culture Club. 83 or 84? Can't remember.
It was probably packed because it was Warrnambool, BomberGal. Not too many alternatives down there. :)
Don't worry, Pearl Jam will tour again.
FattyLumpkin
5 Jan 2003, 19:50
Very early Cold Chisel - it was pretty easy to get in underage!
First BIG concert was Alice Cooper at Footy Park in ???? '77
Reckon I sat outside for the Rainbow concert too.
Fatty
AlfAndrews
5 Jan 2003, 21:54
Originally posted by Leaping Lindner
... Fraternity at a open air freebie in Elder Park in the early 70's. Think it was 72. I was 10 or so and my cousin took me. I remember lots of hippie types blissing out and that's about it.
Wonder if I was there?
If I was, I would have probably been one of the hippie types blissing out.
I used to see Fraternity a lot ... they were based in Adelaide in those days and they were probably my favourite local band at the time.
I started going to see bands in 1970 ... It was all unlicensed teenage dances in those days. I think the Zoot might have been playing at the first show I went to. Can't remember for sure. St.Clair youth centre at Woodville. Later that year I saw the Masters' Apprentices at a place called Headquarters in Grote Street.
The first really big show I went to was the Myponga Rock Festival ... three days of peace, love and brown rice in the finest tradition of Woodstock. The main attraction was Black Sabbath, but I was pretty hungover when they played and didn't really get into them.
Actually, it was Daddy Cool that stole the show that weekend. Their first gig outside of Melbourne, I think. And they just completely took the place over. I'd never heard of them ... I don't think anyone outside Melbourne had heard of them. But by the end of that weekend they were famous.
The last night was amazing ... I cured my hangover by loading up on Eventin slimming tablets ... the cheapest and cruisiest legal high around at the time. My first experience of amphetamines. From then on I just powered on through the remaining bands. My frenetic hippy-style dancing would have put these modern-day kids with their ecstacy to shame.
And what a night it was ... Wendy Saddington ... the greatest blues singer this country has ever produced ... Jeff St.John and the Copperwine ... Healing Force ... and finally, Billy Thorpe and the Aztecs with their 25 minute version of "Gangster Of Love" ... complete with 10 minute drum solo ...
Ah, the things you do when you're young.
The first big international concert I ever saw was Deep Purple + The Free + Manfred Mann + Fraternity ... Apollo Stadium, 1971 ... From memory, I think the tickets cost something like $2.75 ... and the slimming tablets got another work-out that night, too.
The next year I saw Led Zeppelin for $4.20 ... and complained about how expensive it was.
How embarrassing,
First show i went to was ABBA at the Myer Music Bowl in 1976. I was only 7 years old, but my mother was one of their biggest fans, and decided that the whole family had to witness the ABBA phenomenon. Mum had a great time, but dad and the four kids were bored sh*tless and couldn't see what all the fuss was about.
First time i really went to a concerts was with my older brother and sister to see The Flowers (shortly after changed their name to Icehouse), Midnight Oil, and Men At Work on the same bill at La Trobe University, Bundoora, around 1979. Men At Work opened, were followed by the Oils, both bands were very good.
The Flowers (Icehouse) were the headliners and, about three songs into the set singer/guitarist Iva Davies', who sounded terrible, started shaking and convulsing violently and fell off the stage into the crowd below. House lights were turned on and poor old Iva was carted off backstage. I still remeber the announcement over the PA that the show was cancelled because "Mr. Davies is ill and cannot continue".
KISS at VFL park in 1980 is another of my earliest concertgoing memories, and were a huge letdown.
---------------------------------------------------------------
EFC: We Hate You Too
McAlmanac
6 Jan 2003, 09:31
Originally posted by Blues_Brat
ZZ Top in 87, much to my chagrin. The highlight of the show was the support act, Rose Tattoo.
At Memorial Drive? A friend bought me a ticket for that - it is officially the worst concert I have ever been to. Rose Tattoo were good; ZZ Top were just abysmal.
Mobbenfuhrer
6 Jan 2003, 10:32
Of bands of note (as opposed to the cabarets back in the country) the first one I went to was John Cougar Mellencamp's Lonesome Jubilee tour at Flinders Park (I think).
There is a chance that my viewings of Died Pretty or Underground Lovers were earlier, but not sure.
Violent Femmes was 92ish. I think Cougar was 1990.
Actually, just realised, Mental As Anything at Village Green was probably about 1989.
Originally posted by AlfAndrews
Wonder if I was there?
The first really big show I went to was the Myponga Rock Festival ... three days of peace, love and brown rice in the finest tradition of Woodstock. The main attraction was Black Sabbath, but I was pretty hungover when they played and didn't really get into them.
Ahhh.... Myponga, myself and 3 mates drove over to that from melbourne, we had acid hidden in a transistor radio.
Black Sabbath turned up during the daytime to play but promptly walked off stage because of the rain but came back later. I was a big Sabbath fan back then and thought they were great.
When I was tripping away, the best act (from a tripping point of view) was Jeff Crozier and his Magic Band. For those who don't know of him, he was a magician that used rock music as a back drop for his performances. He was far and away ahead of his time, unfortunately poor old Jeff is no longer with the living.
Apart from BS and JC and his MB, I don't remember much more about the festival.
Enjoyed it tho.
Originally posted by Ronaldo
Guns and Roses 93 at Calder Park, 14 -15 year old kid chaperoned by cousins in his brand new get in the ring tour 91 T Shirt
The Who, The Small Faces, Paul Jones and The Questions (later to become Doug Parkinson In Focus) at Festival Hall Melbourne during the '67-'68 time period.
When I was in grade 6 I went to the Michael Jackson 'Dangerous' tour, at the MCG. Loved it - though I do have memories of John Farnham when I was very little. But I have been to many a John Farnham concert so it's all a bit hazy ;)
Leaping Lindner
6 Jan 2003, 21:56
Originally posted by roofus
The Who, The Small Faces, Paul Jones and The Questions (later to become Doug Parkinson In Focus) at Festival Hall Melbourne during the '67-'68 time period.
Ah, the infamous "I'm never going back to Australia" (Pete Townsend) tour. That is a pretty impressive gig to have seen. I'm "slightly" jealous roofus.
Didn't realise that "The Questions" did the support.
AlfAndrews
6 Jan 2003, 22:35
Originally posted by roofus
... When I was tripping away, the best act (from a tripping point of view) was Jeff Crozier and his Magic Band. For those who don't know of him, he was a magician that used rock music as a back drop for his performances. He was far and away ahead of his time, unfortunately poor old Jeff is no longer with the living ...
I think you might have chosen the right chemical stimulation for that weekend ... certainly for Crozier.
I remembered his performance the next day ... but only very vaguely. Like some sort of dim distant dream ...
I think I'd started drinking in the early afternoon ... My drunkenness peaked during Daddy Cool ... By the time Crozier came on it was dark ... and I'd gone into a black-out ... which, for the uninitiated, is that state of drunkenness that you don't remember the next day. Scary stuff. I can only recall brief fleeting moments of the Crozier gig ... but I recall it as being something completely out of this world ... I don't even think I really believed it was happenening while it was happening.
About 12 or 13 years later, some time after Crozier had taken his own life, I got to know a guy called Hondo, who had been one of Crozier's on-stage assistants. He was in awe of the guy and used to talk for hours about him ... some of the stories were so amazing, I'm not sure if he was making them up ... or whether he truly believed them ... or whether they really happened. There were certainly many people who believed that Crozier's magic was not merely illusion.
Geez ... I wish I'd been into acid at Myponga instead of booze and cheap pills.
And ... like Leaping Lindner ... I am in a state of insatiable jealousy at the fact that you saw The Who ... and, if that wasn't enough ... the Small Faces ... on the same bill.
KMac4FF
30 Oct 2005, 22:19
Ah, the things you do when you're young.
The first big international concert I ever saw was Deep Purple + The Free + Manfred Mann + Fraternity ... Apollo Stadium, 1971 ... From memory, I think the tickets cost something like $2.75 ... and the slimming tablets got another work-out that night, too.
The next year I saw Led Zeppelin for $4.20 ... and complained about how expensive it was.
The Purple Free Mannfred Mann concert at Festival Hall was my first concert tho I saw The Groove at the Royal Melb Show a couple of years earlier.
I think Zeppelin was 1974? Saw them at Kooyong
whythelongface
30 Oct 2005, 22:27
Dee Minor and the Dischords and The Angels - Hordern Pavilion 1982/83 - 12 years old.
materamagic
31 Oct 2005, 01:28
Paul McCartney in Perth and Sydney in 1993. Remains in the guiness book for the fastest sold out show ever to this day, the Sydney one. He put on a great show but the scary thing is he blew his 93 form away in 2002,03,04 and 05 everywhere but here.
tomaraya
31 Oct 2005, 01:57
My first concert was AC/DC on the "Blow up your Video" tour in '88 at the tennis centre.
My first great concert was Metallica on the "Damaged Justice" tour at Festival Hall in '89.
tredders16
31 Oct 2005, 07:43
Slade and Rainbow. Will anyone be able to top that??? :D
Yep, Feb 17 1988, AC/DC at Globe Derby Park.
Stinking hot Adelaide day at the worst venue for dust possible, my dad took me in his XB Falcon with four of my mates. Still rates at one of the best shows I have ever witnessed and believe me I have been to a few.
To see the best band in the world at your first big time concert still blows me away. They were backed up by The Party Boys which at the time consisted of a line-up of John Swan, Kevin Borich, John Brewster, a bloke named Lancaster on bass(from Status Quo?, help me Leaping Lindner) and the name of the drummer escapes me ATM. They rocked out as well.
I backed it up with concert number 2 ten days later with a show at Memorial Drive with the line-up of Jimmy Barnes, The Angels, Choirboys and Johnny Diesel and The Injectors. Obviously it was the first time I had seen The Angels and I just loved them that much that I continued to go to their shows for the next 10 years every time they came home. Great pub rock band that followed on from the roots of AC/DC and helped spawn other great Oz bands such as The Screaming Jets and Baby Animals. At that time The Angels had Bob Spencer - ex Skyhooks playing guitar and the twin assault he and Rick Breswster formed was awesome. I also remeber a show they did at The Thebby in 88 for the Liveline shows and Bob couldnt play because he had a broken arm due to a stage incident, which disappointed me slightly but they had a fill in guy named Jimi the Human Hocking, who later joined the Jets, and do reckon he plays a mean axe.
What a year 1988 was !!!!
Contra Mundum
31 Oct 2005, 08:46
Blondie in 1977 Perth Concert Hall - magic - utter magic
Truck Rutten
31 Oct 2005, 10:43
A bit embarrassing, but my first concert was Uncanny X-men with Pseudo Echo supporting at Thebarton Theatre. It was an all ages gig on a Saturday arvo from memory, and I must have been about 11 or 12.
First international band I saw was Metallica at Thebarton Theatre on the Justice for all tour in 1989.
Can't remember which came first, but:
Stones @ Kooyong
Wings @ the Bowl
Thin Lizzy @ the Bowl
One of them :confused: Was the '70s after all lol
moistie
31 Oct 2005, 11:16
Midnight Oil on the Diesel and Dust tour 1988 at Festy Hall in Melbourne. Great gig, too.
The Hitman
31 Oct 2005, 12:47
2003 Big Day Out. Bit of a late starter (I was 17), but I've been to a million since.
First concert I ever went to was David Bowie, 1977, MCG. During his "Heroes" period. First outdoor concert ever at the G. First concert evert to have a video screen, althought it was black and white and back to front. Support Act was the Angels and their current single was Take A Long Line .
(ps its not actually the first I went to but it was the first I paid for. i had sat outside the Myer Music Bowl to listen to Chicago, but I dont want to talk about that, still trying to get over it, what a crap band)
The one that should have been my first was Alice Cooper but mum wouldnt let me go, she thought I'd turn into a freak.
First band I ever saw in a pub was INXS at the Collendina in Ocean Grove in about 1981.
First band I ever saw (I didnt go to it as such, they came to my school and played a lunchtome gig in the gym) was a band called Avalanche. They were a crappy glam band who had a minor hit with Wizard Of Love. But their drummer was Geoff Cox, so at least one of them went on to make a name for himself.
materamagic
31 Oct 2005, 13:41
Can't remember which came first, but:
Stones @ Kooyong
Wings @ the Bowl
Thin Lizzy @ the Bowl
One of them :confused: Was the '70s after all lol
Wings would be in 1975. We Were among the only countries in the world where he has played "Juniors Farm" live. Stones if memory serves me correct 76 and Thin Lizzy could be the same period too.
The angels at the palace....i think in 88? I was such a dirty little bogan back then. I remember me and a mate ducking out the have a smoke on the steps (pretended to inhale) and thought we were so cool. :cool:
Desredandwhite
31 Oct 2005, 14:14
Alternative Nation in 1995 at Eastern Creek. Another late starter, I was in year 12 at the time.
When I think back on it, it was probably the greatest line-up I have ever seen, and a top day. ********ed down rain all day so it was muddy as hell in the moshpit. Plenty of big names too, though a lot of them really only got big afterwards...
Regurgitator, Flaming Lips, Violent Femmes, Primus, Ice T, Bodycount, Live, Faith No More, Nine Inch Nails, Lou Reed, L7, The Team Party....
The Big Day Out, does that count?
went in 2001
Catfish Jake
31 Oct 2005, 14:54
Slim Dusty at Wrest Point, circa the late 80's
materamagic
31 Oct 2005, 15:05
my cousin says the the petty and dylan tour in the later 80's was a good one but suffered due to the ontage personality of Tom and Bob. Tom was not having a good night that night and bob had leopard skin pants, a singlet and long wild hair with a bandana, a far cry from the lethargic figure who sits behind a piano and mumbles concerts
I saw For Amusement Only and 28 Days....
two great Aussie bands that I have enjoyed each and every time I've seen them
crownie
31 Oct 2005, 15:48
Soundgarden in early 1994
how was it?
crownie
31 Oct 2005, 15:53
Oasis at Livid Festival 2002 and they blew me away.
Poptart
31 Oct 2005, 16:27
u2 zooTV concert at the sydney football stadium in early '94 i think.. yes, i was a late concert goer...
kim salmon and the surrealists, big audio dynamite as support.. ~
the concert was f*ckin' awesome !!!
I was at the MCG concert, it was great, well except for the sound was a little ordinary.
And Paul Oakenfold was also there as a support act DJ'ing between acts.
My first gig was the INXS "Calling All Nations Tour" in '87.
Drummond
31 Oct 2005, 17:34
Never been to one.
Coldplay will be my first... :cool:
Clayton Festival 77' - The Band was "Black Diamond"
lmao.
shoulda seen 'em.They thought they were Kiss.,lol
Kiss in 1980 @ VFL Park.
Stevie Wonder @ Kooyong 82 ?
Def Leppard @ The Venue 8?
Verbeek
31 Oct 2005, 22:10
nearly died that day in 40 degree hat and ****ing down rain, a prick of a venue to get out of and into, and the band sucked
Same here! Skid Row were great, gunners average! Pearls and swine (think that was the name) were woeful.
Teagson
31 Oct 2005, 23:30
Never been to one.
Coldplay will be my first... :cool:
I hope you enjoy your first concert Drummond, considering you're going to be listening to the quality music of Coldplay... ;)
portentous
1 Nov 2005, 09:55
my cousin says the the petty and dylan tour in the later 80's was a good one but suffered due to the ontage personality of Tom and Bob. Tom was not having a good night that night and bob had leopard skin pants, a singlet and long wild hair with a bandana, a far cry from the lethargic figure who sits behind a piano and mumbles concerts
I saw them at Memorial Drive. Bob Dylan was awful. When he did talk, I couldn't understand a word he said-not that I've ever been a fan anyway.
Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers were awesome though. Tom didn't say much either, but their music more than made up for it.
My first ever concert was "The Police" in 1978 or 1979, at Memorial Drive. It was absolutely awesome.
It was a stinker. I saw it at Kooyong. The Heartbreakers played only three songs. That was the support act, then they spent the rest of the night being Dylans touring band. Dylan has such an enormous reporitoire that its impossible to recognize any songs. He was in one of those moods that he wanted to play the most obscure ones possible. Even those hits he played, he reworked into something totally unrecognisable. How can you sing "Everybody Must Get Stoned" without a horn section?
how was it?
********in grouse :thumbsu:
ExTasDeeMan
1 Nov 2005, 13:53
My first Concert was Elton John, but was only there for Dragon who were playing support - left after the Dragon set..
First band I saw live I think was Bodyjar playing an all ages gig at the Pakenham hall bout 3 or 4 years ago. Been to heaps of shows now, at least one a week.
juzza316
1 Nov 2005, 15:15
Vanilla Ice at the tennis centre..........
*runs far far away*
billybrownless16
1 Nov 2005, 20:19
Magic Dirt, Grinspoon and Silverchair at the Derwent Entertainment Centre in about '97 I think, an awesome show
TheSheik
1 Nov 2005, 20:56
Frank Zappa & The Mothers of Invention - Festival Hall, Melbourne around 1974.
Talk about a meeting place for the weirdlys of Melbounre, I thought I'd seen it all that night.
My mum took the three of us (brother & sister too) with free tickets as the band were staying at the hotel she worked out and had befriended the pianist Ruth Underwood whilst serving them breakfast every morning.
Second concert was Steeleye Span, went along with my mates older sisters and really enjoyed it, lot's of hippies & ganja at that one.
Nt Bomber
1 Nov 2005, 21:32
Seen Zappa at the Hordern Pavillion in Sydney 75 or 76 played for about three hours. Highlight of the show was when Norman Gunstan got up and played harmonica.
Also seen Radio Birdman at North Sydney oval in 70s playing in a battle of the bands, tied equal first with some other band who I forgot and never heard of after.
krisholio14
2 Nov 2005, 07:09
first gig i went to where i bought the ticket and went myself....
melbourne cup day 1985 at central reserve glen waverley
geisha, pseudo echo, kids in the kitchen.
fortunately ive been to see 100's of better gigs since then.
********in grouse :thumbsu:
my all time favorite band
discovered them in 98 when i was 15....2 years to late :mad:
ImperialPurple
2 Nov 2005, 13:47
Duran Duran at the Perth Entertainment Centre - 1983. :D
I'm still dark on my mother that she denied me Abba in 1978... :mad:
geisha, pseudo echo, kids in the kitchen.
Its a shame Real Life werent playing, and you would have got the quadrella of 80's Aussie haircut electronic bands.
Stig O'Hara
2 Nov 2005, 14:55
Kiss at VFL Park in 1980.
Think 'The Eyes' (and whatever happened to them?) were the support.
Do remember sneaking into the old Doncaster Inn (could you believe it?)
and The Cure were on around the same year.
Fear Factory at Metropolis Freo in 1997 (I think that was the year) on their 'Obselete Australian Tour. It f*cken went off! :D
Brittany
2 Nov 2005, 15:55
mine was a cold chizel concert last year..it wasnt actually just them coz it was some moonlight wine and music festival in perth last year, also there was bryan ferry, the pretenders [but they cancelled] and a few otherz but i cant remember..yeah it was pretty good althought the whole thing went for 12 hours
skylark18
3 Nov 2005, 09:53
At the tender age of 10...........my aunty took me to Sunbury '73.
Saw Daddy Cool , Billy Thorpe and the Aztecs etc.
But the most memorable thing i saw was Queen getting booed off stage........lol
I wasnt really a huge music fan when i was younger, but i suppose my first real concert (if you call it that) was seeing Superheist. That was pretty good.
Should of been Queen's 'The Works' tour in 1983 >>> regret that one.
But the first one was special anyway. TWISTED SISTER @ Festival Hall March 10th 1985. $15. Dee Snider ROCKS!!. Still a fan to this day and an SMF forever.
Whattya wanna do with your life ???
Pink Floyd, East Freo Oval, 1988.
1984, U2 at the Apollo basketball stadium in Adelaide, supported by Matt Finish.
krisholio14
5 Nov 2005, 20:20
Its a shame Real Life werent playing, and you would have got the quadrella of 80's Aussie haircut electronic bands.
you forgot my fav aussie 80's hair band...the machinations.
that lineup surely would demand a hair product sponsor???