View Full Version : Winderlich potentially elite?
High Ryder
10 Apr 2009, 20:02
I believe so...
Discuss :thumbsu:
warney7
10 Apr 2009, 20:07
Elite is a very big call.
So far this season he has proven to be very valuable.
Reminds me a bit of McVeigh, who for a long team was written off as a so-so player.
If he stays fit, anything is possible.
ghostdog
10 Apr 2009, 20:08
Probably moves as quickly as Judd or Black. I don't know that he's as elusive or agile yet though. Excellent skills by foot.
Has definitely shown elite glimpses this year, off a limited pre-season no less. At 24, the future is exciting.
High Ryder
10 Apr 2009, 20:12
Probably moves as quickly as Judd or Black. I don't know that he's as elusive or agile yet though. Excellent skills by foot.
Probably the hardest working player on our list, often cramps at the end of games because of the amount of territory he travels. His ability to work hard and create space is exceptional.
The Dustbin
10 Apr 2009, 20:19
I'm hoping he can develop into a Chance Bateman player. Similar in a way - Gut runs, his foot skills are pretty good but can lack penetration, has a stuck of courage and is a good mark for his size.
It's great to see him back playing, I've always rated him highly. Let's hope he can remain injury free (Touch wood) for 09. :thumbsu:
ghostdog
10 Apr 2009, 20:21
Probably the hardest working player on our list, often cramps at the end of games because of the amount of territory he travels. His ability to work hard and create space is exceptional.
Agreed. Seemed to be everywhere last week, most notably when he started a play down back and finished with the goal. His resilience is terrific too. For someone who was out for such a long time to come back and play the standard of footy we've seen from him, it speaks volumes.
Skeeta Olly
10 Apr 2009, 20:24
http://www.bombersfc.com.au/tabid/6477/default.aspx?newsid=74763
ghostdog
10 Apr 2009, 20:37
http://www.bombersfc.com.au/tabid/6477/default.aspx?newsid=74763
"For a while there I didn't think that I'd come back to play, so now I play with a real freedom because if something happens, it happens – if not, then good."
I wonder if playing with 'real freedom' might equate with 'reckless abandon' over time.
i've always liked winderlich. maybe it was just his speed but he's always seemed like a good player to me. sadly we haven't got to see a lot of him because of his injuries but this year you'd expect him to really stand up and be one of our best players and so far he has.
as for elite, i'm not sure but he'd be one of our best midfielders.
Smyth94
10 Apr 2009, 21:20
I'm hoping he can develop into a Chance Bateman player. Similar in a way - Gut runs, his foot skills are pretty good but can lack penetration, has a stuck of courage and is a good mark for his size.
It's great to see him back playing, I've always rated him highly. Let's hope he can remain injury free (Touch wood) for 09. :thumbsu:
Chance Bateman is an apt comparison - Licha still has heaps of footy left in front of him.
As for elite - no I don't think so, more likely B+/A but you never know...
bipolarbeaR
10 Apr 2009, 21:39
He will be very good, Elite is a word thrown around to much these days. Elite: Judd, Buddy, Ablett, Cox. Elite to me means a player who can win a game off their own boot by creating momentum via individual brilliance. The ones I mentioned are consistant elites. Kerr, Cousins, Richo, Bartel, Chapman, Reiwoldt, Lloyd, Fev, McLeod, Hodge, Didak, Pavlich, Black, B.Johnson and Goodes are all exceptional players and champs but not in that consistant elite catagory. Elite players are the ones that retire and it affects the team in a very noticible fashion like Hird ;)
as an opposition supporter i think Smyth94 is spot on the money! he is having an outstanding season coming off an interrupted pre season but still is no where near elite! playing very good very attacking footy, i think he is a good asset to your team! he reminds me alot like kade simpson and chance bateman, runs the lines really well. Was a reasonably high draft pick who is coming good, just goes to show with persistence and a good work ethic it will all pay off! same goes with simon wiggins, not a very good player but can play a role for his team!
If we develop as we hope, Winders will be a very central part of our midfield. There's no doubt about that.
Quick, skillful, tall, hard worker that's willing to have a crack. He has all the right attributes.
I think he's a very strong chance to end up in the category just below elite. If we end up a strong side he may not be one of the figure heads, but one of the very good players that come after who are no less important. The kind of player that Corey Enright is to Geelong.
And you never know, he might just go one step further.
Philzsay
10 Apr 2009, 22:28
I was sold on him a couple of years ago at a Bendigo match at Windy Hill where he had 30 odd possies and 5 goals I think. It wasn't the possies that impressed but his attitude; he had a real dip.
I dont think he will be 'elite' but he will make it as a player and should play with us until he hits 30ish.
very good very attacking footy, i think he is a good asset to your team! he reminds me alot like kade simpson and chance bateman, runs the lines really well. Was a reasonably high draft pick who is coming good, just goes to show with persistence and a good work ethic it will all pay off! same goes with simon wiggins, not a very good player but can play a role for his team!I would hope Winderlich will end his career a far, far better player than those two.
I would hope Winderlich will end his career a far, far better player than those two.
What do you mean end? He just returned from potentially career ending back problems and surgery and he is already better than those two. :p
What do you mean end? He just returned from potentially career ending back problems and surgery and he is already better than those two. :pOh yeah, definitely. I probably didn't word that very well. I was trying to say that considering this thread is about the possibility of Winderlich being elite, comparing him to Simpson and the spud they call Wiggins is an insult.
TheDon35
11 Apr 2009, 07:32
Has a long way to go before he's considered in the same breath as Judd, Abblett, Bartel, Selwood.
I don't think he'll get to that level but would be wrapped if he did.
Was wrapped with his game on the weekend. I've made the point in here previously that I don't think he's as good as what many of the bombers supporters thnk he is. If he has a season replicating last weeks game i'll gladly eat my words.
Fact is, he was ordinary first up against Port and played an absolute ripper the next week against the worst team in the history of the world. Tonight will be a good test.
bombers2011
11 Apr 2009, 09:10
Am i the only the one who finds the term 'elite' in regards to the comps best midfielders really hilarious and faddy? I wonder if it is language that will stick around for a few seasons or if it's now a permanent fixture itself in the footy vernacular.
BTW: Loved Licka's game last week, hope he can back it up with a good injury free season. As to whether or not he's 'elite', I'l answer that in 2 years...
ghostdog
11 Apr 2009, 09:16
Am i the only the one who finds the term 'elite' in regards to the comps best midfielders really hilarious and faddy? I wonder if it is language that will stick around for a few seasons or if it's now a permanent fixture itself in the footy vernacular.
BTW: Loved Licka's game last week, hope he can back it up with a good injury free season. As to whether or not he's 'elite', I'l answer that in 2 years...
A cliche it may be, vernacular it isn't. If it wasn't 'elite' it would be something else. I don't see the hilarity in it though. For it to be vernacular we would invent something and it would become everyday language by virtue of popularity, eg. 'Carlscum'.
loopy_cam
11 Apr 2009, 10:16
Potentially yes.
Probably no. But still very good.
Slattery_20
11 Apr 2009, 10:20
Yes. Shi.... annoys... me to tears. Gets even worse when people start breaking it down as "elite kicking skills, A-grade ball-winning, B+ endurance..." etc then arguing over whether Stanton will ever be A-grade or merely B+.
People like to analyse things and then make lists.
It makes them feel better that they can put numbers or rankings on things.
Much like the common fad with lists, Mike's top 50, who was the greatest team, etc etc.
On topic - if Winders can keep stringing together the good performances we've seen (this year, and in 2007 too), he can be a gun. That goal after eluding 3 was freak material of which Ablett or Mercuri would have been proud. Such a hard worker too - he will rack up the possies on long leads as well as forward of the middle.
Big Jim
11 Apr 2009, 11:20
Great to see him back playing again. I believe he played his best game for the club last week, but he needs quite a few more games like that to call him elite.
RedSashOnBlack
11 Apr 2009, 11:51
Elite....unlikely. I can see how High Ryder is up and about in your positivity following two impressive games. However, i cannot see Winda matching it head to head with the best mids in game. Lets see how he goes in the subsquent weeks when he may encounter a heavy tag or a little physical sparring..
tom9779
11 Apr 2009, 12:49
if he finds 25+ quality possies tonight in a winning side, his stocks will rise significantly.
certainly good seeing him play well when we are without McVeigh.
Vtorians
11 Apr 2009, 14:10
He hasn't really had a chance to show much because of injury, but the leadership & talent he has shown in the last 2 weeks has really blown me away. If he stays healthy, maintains the attitude & work rate then he could be anything!
High Ryder
9 May 2009, 00:48
Bump.
Colin D'Cops
9 May 2009, 00:51
Very, very important player for us. His pace & skill is a deadly combination.
Underrated player, should be in the 'A' grade category this time next year.
* To find out more with regards to my opinions on Winderlich and the team in general, check my latest blog labelled; '09 - The year Essendon regain RESPECT.
Bump.
If he keeps the from of this year he is on his way. :thumbsu:
Mad Bomber Sean
9 May 2009, 01:21
If ELITE means the ability to independently consistantly change the direction of the game, he is not there yet & I hope he never gets there.
Footy is a team sport, coaches try to execute a plan. Elite players play a central role in the teams system, that the failure of that player can mean the failure of that team (think Richo for Tiges, J Brown Lions, Fev before Judd at Blues) . Winda hopefully will continue his development to becoming a very good player. But it is unwise for EFC to be beholden to another Messiah in this day an age of fast run & carry movement of the ball across the field as it requires significant input from all players and the injury of an ELITE would smash the machines smooth running. Just imagine how the Hawks would cope without Buddy & Roughy or how the Blues would cope without FEV ? If the Dons dont have Winda playing, idealy we wont lose so much that it would influence the outcome of the game. A very very good Winda I want. not Elite. Beside if he was ELITE surely he would be tagged to the bejesus thus rendering him less effective - this reinforces my original point. ..
If ELITE means the ability to independently consistantly change the direction of the game, he is not there yet & I hope he never gets there.
Footy is a team sport, coaches try to execute a plan. Elite players play a central role in the teams system, that the failure of that player can mean the failure of that team (think Richo for Tiges, J Brown Lions, Fev before Judd at Blues) . Winda hopefully will continue his development to becoming a very good player. But it is unwise for EFC to be beholden to another Messiah in this day an age of fast run & carry movement of the ball across the field as it requires significant input from all players and the injury of an ELITE would smash the machines smooth running. Just imagine how the Hawks would cope without Buddy & Roughy or how the Blues would cope without FEV ? If the Dons dont have Winda playing, idealy we wont lose so much that it would influence the outcome of the game. A very very good Winda I want. not Elite. Beside if he was ELITE surely he would be tagged to the bejesus thus rendering him less effective - this reinforces my original point. ..
"ELITE" doesn't mean that at all. :thumbsd:
I was one on this board who highly rated Winderlich.
I must say that I have been impressed with the quality of his inside work !
AndyLesPaul
9 May 2009, 08:20
Yeah Winderlich isnt and "elite" player yet. Hes just an AMAZINGLY good B Grade :D
good enough really.
Has made huge improvements over the years.
Crows Feet
10 May 2009, 12:51
Is there a question mark over his tank? I reckon he's a very exciting, talented player who seems to rack up possessions at will, which is why I was shocked when I looked at his TOG from the other day to see that he played less minutes than pretty much everyone else. If he can stay on the park longer then I don't see why he can't reach the elite bracket.
Smyth94
10 May 2009, 13:01
Is there a question mark over his tank? I reckon he's a very exciting, talented player who seems to rack up possessions at will, which is why I was shocked when I looked at his TOG from the other day to see that he played less minutes than pretty much everyone else. If he can stay on the park longer then I don't see why he can't reach the elite bracket.
He's the best 'gut' runner at the club along with Stanton. I don't think his tank is an issue.
I think its more to do with how Knights likes to utilise Winderlich i.e. in bursts
I think he certainly has the potential to be elite.
He is:
a first round pick (no 11 in 2002)
very fast
kicks the ball well (over long distances)
has a good build (tall for a midfielder at 188cm and has a frame to put weight on)
is aggressive at the ball
seems to have taken on leadership responsibilities effortlessly
is good overhead
is a goal kicker
It is subjective so you may not all agree tha Winderlich has all of the attributes listed. If he does he has a list of attributes longer than quite a few of the elite players.
He is not there yet but come 2010 I think he could be in the top handful of midfielders.
He's the best 'gut' runner at the club along with Stanton. I don't think his tank is an issue.
I think its more to do with how Knights likes to utilise Winderlich i.e. in bursts
I think it's also a case of not having much of a pre-season and Knights not wanting to over-work him yet
stay true
10 May 2009, 14:48
I've rated him since the very early days. Not surprised at all he's at the level he is now, I just didn't expect it so soon after the double back surgery.
AndyLesPaul
10 May 2009, 19:17
Hey guys i just noticed
that in the game on friday
he got 29 disposals, 83% efficiency, no clangers, 7 tackles, 5 clearances, 3 I50s, and to top it off, He spent the least time on the ground. 69%(Myers the same)
Thats amazing.
essendon2008
11 May 2009, 23:35
Chance Bateman is an apt comparison - Licha still has heaps of footy left in front of him.
As for elite - no I don't think so, more likely B+/A but you never know...
I believe he is B+/A now, with the potential to be elite. I feel he will most likely be an A grade midfielder though, but still a very good player so i wont complain if he never becomes 'elite'.
TheDon35
12 May 2009, 09:02
he has been fantastic this year. Absolutely fantastic. I will put my hand up as I was one who said he hadn't produced enough consistently over his career to date. He seems to have put the consistency together this year as well as taking his game to a new level.
His ability to run through traffic and excellarate away from contests with the ball has actually reminded me of Judd this year. Probably also a function of him delivering penetrating kicks inside 50.
Add to this, he looks very good and works very hard when he's been in the forward line.
A major reason behind most of our wins this year.
Hey guys i just noticed
that in the game on friday
he got 29 disposals, 83% efficiency, no clangers, 7 tackles, 5 clearances, 3 I50s, and to top it off, He spent the least time on the ground. 69%(Myers the same)
Thats amazing.
brilliant, he's turning into an absolute gun.
Simon Black is not fast! He has great vision and awesome skills, but he isn't fast.
I don't actually believe Winders is that fast, he can push himself beyond what most footy players can. He sprints when he has the ball (like Judd) and is the best player on our list skills wise when sprinting.
Winders won't become elite, at best he can be an AA player. He currently is in our top five which is a huge effort considering where he has come from.
james_omahoney
13 May 2009, 03:21
Simon Black is not fast! He has great vision and awesome skills, but he isn't fast.
I don't actually believe Winders is that fast, he can push himself beyond what most footy players can. He sprints when he has the ball (like Judd) and is the best player on our list skills wise when sprinting.
Winders won't become elite, at best he can be an AA player. He currently is in our top five which is a huge effort considering where he has come from.
Agree Black isn't fast. Disagree that Winders isn't fast. Plus he has the word wind in his name, so you can't argue against that.
Winderlich can reach the level of a Chance Bateman !
Is Chance Bateman elite ?
Longy413
13 May 2009, 08:28
Is there a question mark over his tank?
There's not a question mark, it's improved out of sight.
He had a back injury that had him stuck in bed for the best part of three months and he missed the first 3/4 of the preseason.
This was his second lot of back surgery, so he's missed a lot of training.
So it's two fold, his fitness levels aren't at their peak because of the training he's missed. But the club are also managing his work out to ensure he doesn't break down again.
I reckon we'll see that for most of the season, playing approx 70% of game time or playing big spells up forward, which he's also done this season.
He's never going to have Stanton's tank but with a big preseason (touch wood), any question mark will be removed.
mark1881
13 May 2009, 09:31
Not sure if its been mentioned but he is easily the best delivery by foot in our team. Better than McViehg, Stanton, Lovett...any of them! I rate his disposal up there with some of the best in the compeition.
My two cents!
AndyLesPaul
13 May 2009, 15:50
Not sure if its been mentioned but he is easily the best delivery by foot in our team. Better than McViehg, Stanton, Lovett...any of them! I rate his disposal up there with some of the best in the compeition.
My two cents!
29 disposals. 0 Clangers.
Yep :D
Mattlowry
23 May 2009, 23:40
Think the word elite is thrown around far too much these days, and dont think Licha is there, nor probably ever will be (i think 'elite' is really reserved for the top 5-10 players in the league)
That said, another great game, BOG, fast becoming a very good footballer.
Longy413
24 May 2009, 00:20
Not fast becoming, IS.
Ludwig van Bertstare
24 May 2009, 00:31
Not fast becoming, IS.
Co-sign.
Love the way he plays! He is an absolute delight to watch, and to think that he could have been lost to the game due to injury. Licha has been immense this season.
Johnny619
24 May 2009, 01:13
I am liking him more and more every week.
Pevers-Legend
24 May 2009, 02:15
Not fast becoming, IS.
have never been a huge fan - but he has really done well considering his injuries.
He is a good footballer now - has played good footy in more than one season but will never be elite. I love his endeavour and never say die atttitude - this is why he is in the team - his all-round footballing talent is not as good as quite a few on our list - but his attitude and effort - will never question.
I really like the way he plays - now I even look to him to step up and help provide the run when we struggle. Well done Jason. Now for his fellow early draft pick that year with the same name..... c'mon
Elite he will never be - Watson on the other hand.....
kelvin_sheedy
24 May 2009, 08:55
Can't wait to see him go after a proper pre season.
One of the catalysts as to why our midfield is no longer second rate.
Can't wait to see him go after a proper pre season.
One of the catalysts as to why our midfield is no longer second rate.
Disagree, if you ask any other clubs supporters they all still say our midfield is crap and second rate at best, with a bit of speed.
Im happy to let them continue thinking that
ghostdog
24 May 2009, 09:24
Courage over the ball. He's a crazy man Winderlich. Skill, pace, composure. :thumbsu:
I love his endeavour and never say die atttitude - this is why he is in the team - his all-round footballing talent is not as good as quite a few on our list - but his attitude and effort - will never question.
I reckon his talent is right up there.
Few guys have his pace, foot skills or ability to take a contested mark.
He's a fairly complete package in my book.
Whether or not he's elite or not comes down to your definition of the term, but what's for sure is that he's a very handy player to have in the side.
Lance Uppercut
24 May 2009, 12:50
Not fast becoming, IS.
strongly agree
stay true
24 May 2009, 14:40
Yep, Winders is a damn good footballer.
AndyLesPaul
24 May 2009, 14:44
I wouldn't say he's elite, because elite is so overused these days that it barely means a thing, a champion is what he is :D
Him or watson would be winning our b & f. Who wouldve thought during pre-season how good winders would be. Very quick, good tank, awesome kick and has a good set of hands. Alot of courage as he showed in the last few seconds of the dreamtime match when he put his head over the ball risking a serious neck injury. ****ing gun!!!:thumbsu:
Pevers-Legend
27 Apr 2010, 23:41
I reckon his talent is right up there.
Few guys have his pace, foot skills or ability to take a contested mark.
He's a fairly complete package in my book.
Whether or not he's elite or not comes down to your definition of the term, but what's for sure is that he's a very handy player to have in the side.
His form this year vindicates my stance. Never will be elite. This is his prime and if he is supposedly the superstar he is made out to be, he would have exerted an influence over the team this year.
Has trade value - now - get a decent pick for him.
Imagine if we could land a top-10 pick for Winderlich and Daniher.
You'd take it, wouldn't you.
Ludwig van Bertstare
27 Apr 2010, 23:44
Hell yeah.
Pevers-Legend
27 Apr 2010, 23:49
In a heartbeat.
Daniher and Essendon make sense. But for some reason Knights and Daniher don't?? Can't see why Darcy doesn't get a gig on the fwd line.
It's almost like Knights is doing a Sheedy (ala Kepler). Plays well up fwd - comes in and plays down back.
Wow, are people so insecure with themselves, they feel the need to bump a year old thread just to show that they were right?
He has to be injured.
He has not sprinted at full pace once all season.
It is not always about being soft if you can carry an injury. If he has OP or an abdomen injury he looses all power. Judd was ineffective without his power, Winders is going to be even less effective.
Longy413
28 Apr 2010, 23:12
He is injured. He's carrying an injury and as a result he's lost his burst and confidence.
Shouldn't be playing, not sure why he is.
It isn't OP.
Pevers-Legend
29 Apr 2010, 00:45
Wow, are people so insecure with themselves, they feel the need to bump a year old thread just to show that they were right?
No just pointing out that one of the poster boys on this board seems to be getting a fairly easy ride given the absolute tripe he has dished up.
Don't care if he is injured. As our great one Sir Jim said, cross that line and you declare yourself fit.
Has always been overrated by some. The mere thought of him being elite is laughable. He has had 2 good seasons in his career and is still a twig. If everyone wants to take pot shots at Welsh and McVeigh (easy targets) why don't they include Winderlich who has been worse than either and has to be viewed as one of our senior players?
Longy413
29 Apr 2010, 08:03
Always been overrated?
It's taken a hell of a lot of time for him to be rated at all by any Essendon supporter.
Remember Winderdud?
Despite that, you're right. He deserves ridicule for his performance and he should be dropped because of it. Injury doesn't excuse what he's dishing up.
It also doesn't make him any less of a player overall. He shouldn't be playing, we were told we wouldn't be playing injured players, but we are.
Smyth94
29 Apr 2010, 08:51
Always been overrated?
It's taken a hell of a lot of time for him to be rated at all by any Essendon supporter.
Remember Winderdud?
Despite that, you're right. He deserves ridicule for his performance and he should be dropped because of it. Injury doesn't excuse what he's dishing up.
It also doesn't make him any less of a player overall. He shouldn't be playing, we were told we wouldn't be playing injured players, but we are.
I've heard that Winderlich has been declaring himself fit, despite the injury he's carrying...
Bit selfish if true.
Pevers-Legend
29 Apr 2010, 13:56
Always been overrated?
Maybe not always, but has had a big bandwagon for sometime.
Remember Winderdud?
Of course, still refer to him as that (irrespective of form - nickname sorta stuck for me).
Agreed.
To me it shows his shortcomings. Some guys can play with injuries, others can't. If he is saying he is fit as Smythy says and isn't, then he is open to even more criticism, as is the medical staff who obviously can't assess if a player is fit or not. Assuming that is true of course.
Longy413
30 Apr 2010, 08:37
I've heard that Winderlich has been declaring himself fit, despite the injury he's carrying...
Bit selfish if true.
Could be something in that.
To me it shows his shortcomings. Some guys can play with injuries, others can't. If he is saying he is fit as Smythy says and isn't, then he is open to even more criticism, as is the medical staff who obviously can't assess if a player is fit or not. Assuming that is true of course.
Soft tissue injuries are hard to play with.
We're not talking about an impact injury. If you lose the ability to use your best assets then it shouldn't be expected that you play at your best.
Which of course begs the question why he is in the team.
Winders to me has been one of the major disapointments of 2010. The only thing I can thing of is he isn't fit but we are still playing him. He doesn't seem to have the pace that he did last year which is restricting the amount of ball he is getting.
He is a major concern for us. I feel if there were others in the side playng as poorly as him, they would of been dropped a couple of weeks ago.
Ghost of Grinter
1 May 2010, 19:53
Going alright so far.
Doesnt look to be carrying any injury.
Beautiful kick, probably needs to gut run a bit more,
I know he is quick - but needs to get more involved.
Has the skillset, quickness and smarts to be elite,
but to me I think he lacks the drive and willingness to
bust a nut.
Can kick a goal to.
EssendonPride
1 May 2010, 22:11
For the first time this year, looked like he really gave a shit.
Came out fired up, did not dissapoint. Need more of this please!
Much much much better game tonight. Used his pace to advantage and looked at full fitness tonight.
Lets up he can keep it up for the rest of the season now.
Showed some more of his "potential" but there's only so long he can be a potentially good player. I really hope he keeps it up because we really need him to step up this year.
stay true
2 May 2010, 00:28
Yeah, looked like a completely different player tonight. More of the same please!
Thank god this thread wasn't created recently. Would look so embarrassing.
Windas was interviewed last night and he said he had a back spasm just before Round 1 which rendered his left hamstring tight, couldn't use his gut running and acceleration and had to spend a lot of time away from the middle.
Last night was the first time this year his body has felt 100%.
james_omahoney
2 May 2010, 14:48
Windas was interviewed last night and he said he had a back spasm just before Round 1 which rendered his left hamstring tight, couldn't use his gut running and acceleration and had to spend a lot of time away from the middle.
If that's true then he shouldn't have played if he wasn't right.
Hopefully this is true and he's not just saying this to brush off previous bad form.