View Full Version : Greatest Gig ever and why?

Leaping Lindner
6 Jan 2003, 18:34
I think Dreamkillers was trying to get this thread up but we all got waylaid with old war stories and reminiscences about the "old days" rather than the actual greatest gig(s).
So if DK doesn't mind I might try it and see how long we manage to stay on the topic.
The question is folks "The greatest gig you ever saw and why"

Naturally I'll start the ball rolling.And I'm stuck on a three way tie!

(1). Radio Birdman at the Palace 1996. Missed these guys the first time around (too young- just)so was determined to see them this time. I honestly thought I'd never see them so maybe that was part of the magic as well. They played really well you'd have thought they'd been together all those years. Tight,.tight, tight
and the crowd was right into it. I remember standing there when they played "Descent in the maelstrom" I thought to myself (being an atheist) this is about as close to God as I'm going get!!!:D Also remember thinking as I made my home across The Esplanade that if I was ever going to get hit by a tram and die tonight should be the night 'cos it wouldn't matter ! Saw them again last year at The Prince and they were just as good but that first time was really something else.

(2). Buzzkocks at The Old Lion 1992. The Buzzkocks toured the first time around and the year before had played the east coast only.1992 they finally got to Adelaide and were SUPERB. From start to finish. Energetic and right into it. It was also like a "High School Reunion" for the Adelaide alternative music scene. I saw people at that gig I hadn't seen for ten years(and haven't seen since), all of which added to the magic. I thought they really lacked something when they came in 1994. Maybe it was a matter of "been there done that". The fact that they started one hour after they were meant to and it was mid-week and I was already stuffed from work when I got there.Or maybe it was just the fact they had lost their gloss in two years.

(3). Big Day Out 93.(Adelaide Uni) Okay it's a cop out to use a festival as a favourite gig but come on this was IGGY and NICK on the SAME BILL!!!!! Missed Iggy the last time he was in Adelaide(not going to the Bridgeway in the 80's for ANYONE,thanks but no thanks) and Nick Cave hadn't been to Adelaide for eons.
It was a stinking hot today around 43-44 C and it was still up in the high 30's when we made our way back to the "Rocket Bar and Grill" for a post show analysis at around 11pm!
Iggy did all old stuff apart from one newie and Nick did a smattering of his career(some old some new). Both sang excellently and were just amazing. To see two of the absolute greats on the same bill was a huge thrill(despite the oppressive weather).:)

mandy
6 Jan 2003, 18:37
I find it very, very hard to go past Oasis, 2002 at the Forum.

Maybe only because of the venue, but for me it rocked.

mandy
6 Jan 2003, 18:39
Originally posted by Leaping Lindner
(3). Big Day Out 93.(Adelaide Uni) Okay it's a cop out to use a festival as a favourite gig but come on this was IGGY and NICK on the SAME BILL!!!!!

Nick at the Forum 2002 was pretty ****ing impressive too. :)

Gotta love the Forum!

Mobbenfuhrer
6 Jan 2003, 18:54
I probably liked the Violent Femmes best of those I went to see, as they were just so VIBRANT ... everything is really jiggy.

For cover bands, I DID always enjoy Scarecrow (Cougar cover band) but 80s Enuff by far always took the cake. Its just the playlist that always won it for me; Safety Dance, Whip It, etc ... mind you this was at Trannies in Moorabbin, their residency at the Star Bar hasn't done nearly as much for me, in fact I got chucked out of that bar three Saturdays running! Got photos of a torn up palm to evidence it!

But yeah, overall, probably 80s Enuff at Trannies.

I would probably have enjoyed Nick Cave as much but left 20 minutes in after nearly knocking over some sound board barrier thingy and getting paranoid that they'd come for me. I dunno, just "they'd".

But I envy ANYONE who got to see Iggy. One of my favourites and never seen him.

dreamkillers
6 Jan 2003, 19:53
I think Dreamkillers was trying to get this thread up but we all got waylaid with old war stories and reminiscences about the "old days" rather than the actual greatest gig(s).
So if DK doesn't mind I might try it and see how long we manage to stay on the topic.
The question is folks "The greatest gig you ever saw and why"

Well it was on the list of things to do but I'm still working on contributions for the 'Pre corporate punk and garage music.......' thread which has brought back many great memories as well as learning even more about this great music era...........and then there's as the Saints thread to do..........

Greatest Gig ever for me is easy........Pink Floyd - Delicate Sound Of Thunder Tour at Thebbie Oval in the late 80's...........nothing has ever come close as a 'total' show in the numerous gigs, concerts and festivals I've seen over the years.

As to why.........

- First time I've ever had the opportunity to see the band live - although no Roger Waters meant it wasn't quite the real thing.

- Only time I've ever heard a band use Quadrophonic sound and it was brilliant to have the music played as it should be heard - coming from all around.

- Light, laser and stage effects - In typical Floyd style every song bought out some new effect from little robots coming up from below the stage, the bed flying down above the audience, the pig and many more others........by the last song the effects were full on beserk and combined with the great music was an awesome sight.

- Lastly....the music itself......to finally see a band I'd always wanted to see live play and perform the songs to almost perfection...........

Best gig musically would have been pretty hard to come up with a couple of years ago but the final night show at the East Coast Blues and Roots Festival - Byron Bay Easter 2000 takes the cake.

Ben harper & The Innocent Criminals - IMO Ben's a musical genius and to see him and hear him live was better than any CD of his I had heard before this show. His subsequent Live from Mars CD captured the sound perfectly and is regularly played as a reminder of that show.

Being a festival there were plenty of other great acts including......Midnight Oil (not sure how they qualified but always a great live show), Tony Joe White, Taj Mahal & The Phantom Blues Band, The WC Handy Allstars featuring Charlie Musselwhite, Little Milton & The Duke Robillard Band, Jack Johnson, The Reverand Horton Heat, Jeff Lang, Ed Kuepper (another bonus), John Butler Trio (first time I saw them live and won't be the last), The Backsliders, Don Walker, Chris Wilson, Dom Turner & Supro, Harry Manx and The Brown Brothers (aged 13 and 15 - brilliant guitarists).............

So greatest gig ever - Pink Floyd

Best gig musically - Ben Harper & The Innocent Criminals

Best Festival - East Coast Blues Festival.........if they held a BDO that went for 3-4 days it would probably top this but I don't see that ever happening...........the Byron Festival is headed into it's 14th year in 2003 and is 4 days of bliss with great music, a great location and the friendliest crowd you'll find anywhere.

Cheers..........:D

AlfAndrews
6 Jan 2003, 22:02
Mick Jagger ... Thebarton Oval ... 1988

Why?

Because I was witnessing a performer I had idolised for decades, and I was close enough to the stage to take in every moment.

A lot of people had written off Jagger as a self-parody by the mid-1970s ... but that was just sheer ignorance. From the footage I've seen at various stages in his career from the mid 1960s to the present day, I would say that Jagger, as a live performer, was right at the peak of his career during this 1988 tour. He was sensational.

I remember crying during "Gimme Shelter". It was like I'd entered a sacred place .... because that's what Jagger does to a stage ... He turns it into a sacred place.

Then, at the end of the gig ... he kissed the stage the way the Pope would kiss the tarmac of an airport.

I love that guy ... even though he's probably the most notorious egomaniac in the history of music. In fact, I'm sure it was Jagger who turned egomania into an artform. I'm also sure he'd be an absolute bastard of a person to know.

But there has never been a greater rock n roll performer ... and I don't think it's possible for this now-dying artform to produce another performer of the same magnitude.

GhostofJimJess
6 Jan 2003, 22:02
1. Janes Addiction - The Metro, 1992
And to think they're doing it all again in three weeks. I've got a ticket, but I'm kinda reluctant to mess up the romanticism of the gig a decade ago.

2. Radio Birdman - Palace 1996
1996 was it LL ... what a show. And don't forget Wayne Kramer and the Powdermonkeys in support ... freakin' awesome.

3. Soundgarden - Festival Hall 1997
The 94 show took some beating ... but the tour on the back of "Down On The Upside" was amazing.

4. Iggy Pop - Big Day Out Melb 1993
When the rain started belting down halfway through the set, Iggy turned it up to Eleven.

5. Harem Scarem - P.O.W 1987

Supposedly their last gig ever. At least, it was with Chris Marshall out front. What was it ... 5 encores ???

6. Nirvana - Palace 1992

7. Pink Floyd - Melb Tennis Centre 1988

8. REM - Festival Hall 1989

9. Foo Fighters - Summersault Festival 1995

10. Painters & Dockers - Tropicana Club 1986

Biggest Disappointment = never seeing a Frank Zappa gig live

Second Biggest Disappointment = missing 2002's George Clinton and the P-Funk Allstars gig at the Metro. From friends who were able to go, apparently the gig of a lifetime ....

JMAC5
6 Jan 2003, 22:10
Oasis at the forum last year, ****en brilliant!

AlfAndrews
6 Jan 2003, 22:11
Originally posted by GhostofJimJess
.... Biggest Disappointment = never seeing a Frank Zappa gig live ...

Sorry to do this to you ... but ... 1976 ... Apollo Stadium.

**THE TORTURE NEVER STOPS**

dreamkillers
6 Jan 2003, 22:15
Originally posted by AlfAndrews

Why?

Because I was witnessing a performer I had idolised for decades, and I was close enough to the stage to take in every moment.

A lot of people had written off Jagger as a self-parody by the mid-1970s ... but that was just sheer ignorance. From the footage I've seen at various stages in his career from the mid 1960s to the present day, I would say that Jagger, as a live performer, was right at the peak of his career during this 1988 tour. He was sensational.

I remember crying during "Gimme Shelter". It was like I'd entered a sacred place .... because that's what Jagger does to a stage ... He turns it into a sacred place.

Then, at the end of the gig ... he kissed the stage the way the Pope would kiss the tarmac of an airport.

I love that guy ... even though he's probably the most notorious egomaniac in the history of music. In fact, I'm sure it was Jagger who turned egomania into an artform. I'm also sure he'd be an absolute bastard of a person to know.

But there has never been a greater rock n roll performer ... and I don't think it's possible for this now-dying artform to produce another performer of the same magnitude.

I remember that show..........we weren't sure what it was going to be like beforehand but afterwards we were sure glad we made the effort to go.

If I remember correctly Joe Satriani was playing lead guitar and Mick and the band put on a great show.

My only disappointment was the bounce of the bass that came off the grandstand - instead of the stage facing down the centre of the ground as was the usual at Thebbie it was a little off centre which caused the above problem with the sound.

That said it was still a great show and good to see a legend playing live.

Santos L Helper
6 Jan 2003, 22:24
Short and sweet. Will go into more detail later.

1. Dead Kennedys: Thebarton Theatre 1983
2. Midnight Oil: The Arkaba 1979
3. Suicidal Tendencies: Washington DC 1987
4. Helmet: LA Forum 1994
5. Gang Green, D.R.I, & 7 Seconds: Long Beach 1987
6. Mojo Nixon: San Francisco 1994.
7. Chemical Brothers: BDO 1998?

That's not really short and sweet. I'll go with the first two as the winners.

SydneyBomber
7 Jan 2003, 07:04
Fave 10 international band gigs....

Morbid Angel - Enmore Theatre (Their first Aust tour)
The best show I have ever seen full stop. The band played SOOO well, the show was amazing, the setlist complete, and the atmosphere was truly terrifying.
Almost a religious experience at that show....
(Sad Ex did the support too! haha!)

Nine Inch Nails - Alternative Nation

Slayer - Hordern (Their first Aust tour)

Ramones - Hordern 89

Napalm Death - Metro (Their first Aust tour)

Fear Factory - Selina's (Their first Aust tour - before they sucked)

Ministry - Big Day Out

Strapping Young Lad - Sydney Uni (backstage pass, and sat behind Gene Hoglan for the entire set!)

Carcass - Phoenician Club

Deicide - Phoenician Club

Misfits - Metro (Gig wasn't that great, but I got to see my idol of
many years, Jerry Only in the flesh)

Bolt Thrower - Selina's

(That's just international bands btw, been to hundreds of local gigs too over the last 15 yrs or so....)

McAlmanac
7 Jan 2003, 07:48
Jerry Harrison and the Casual Gods at (dare I say it) Le Rox in 1989-ish. All star hired gun band, crystal clear sound, up close in a club.

Nick Cave solo (just with a piano) at The Regent in January 2000 was pretty good too.

Leaping Lindner
7 Jan 2003, 08:03
I almost squeezed Joe Strummer and the Mescaleros into my top three.Not because of the tragic event of two weeks ago (but that does add extra meaning to it) but for similiar reasons to what Alf said re: Mick Jagger.
I didn't get to the gig at The Corner (due to work) so saw him at the BDO. Went all the way out there arriving about 20 minutes before Joe started and left as soon as he'd finished(why watch amateurs when you've just seen a professional!). He played the best of his new stuff "Tony Adams" etc and the best of the Clash stuff. No one there was sure if he'd do any Clash stuff and when he did the crowd went off. He introduced "I fought the law" as "Here's one written by Buddy Holly's bass player" - I liked that.

Also as a postscript to the earlier Buzzkocks story. Dreamkillers,Santos and even Alf will probably get a bit of a smile from this. A couple of weeks after the Buzzkocks gig North Adelaide were playing Port Adelaide at Alberton. The North and Port cheer/grog squads were both at the Northern end with about 10 metres seperating them. I was standing close to the Port lads and at one point (for a reason I can't remember)struck up a typical North/Port conversation(read slanging match) with one of the Port lads. It was one of those typical footy slanging matches were you both face the oval whilst insulting each other. It was never going to end in blows but the language got pretty blue. At one point ( I've got a feeling it was quarter time)we both turned and faced each other and realised that under our jackets and (opposing) scarfs we were both wearing Buzzkocks tour t-shirts. We both stood there in silence and eventually I just said "great gig"(how articulate) and he replyed "yeah ripper".

The Buzzkocks bring mortal enemies together through music:D

SydneyBomber
7 Jan 2003, 08:04
Originally posted by dreamkillers
If I remember correctly Joe Satriani was playing lead guitar and Mick and the band put on a great show.

Stu Hamm was the bassplayer as well - definitely an allstar lineup!
If I knew he was on bass, I'd have made more of an effort (even though I'm not really a fan of Jagger/Stones).

Stu Hamm did a bass clinic a couple of years later (which I did make it to), and he said he had a blast playing with Jagger in the small club shows they did.

Useless trivia I guess!

dreamkillers
7 Jan 2003, 08:43
Originally posted by SydneyBomber
Stu Hamm was the bassplayer as well - definitely an allstar lineup!
If I knew he was on bass, I'd have made more of an effort (even though I'm not really a fan of Jagger/Stones).

Stu Hamm did a bass clinic a couple of years later (which I did make it to), and he said he had a blast playing with Jagger in the small club shows they did.

Useless trivia I guess!

When he did the bass clinic was that when he toured with Joe Satriana......I think it was the 'Surfing With The Alien' tour as I saw that at Thebbie theatre in Adelaide as well.........

From memory the drummer on that tour was also very well known but I can't think of his name at the moment but I remember all 3 artists did their own solo throughout the show.........another top gig..........

Useless trivia or great memories........:D

Mcchawk
7 Jan 2003, 08:44
Originally posted by mandy5
Nick at the Forum 2002 was pretty ****ing impressive too. :)

Gotta love the Forum!

I swear Mandy you must go to every show I do :)

Mcchawk
7 Jan 2003, 08:46
Originally posted by AlfAndrews

Why?

Same tour (Deep down under) he played a the Corner in Melbourne for $5 (secret gig well not so secret after Molly Meldrum told everyone!) 3 hours of pure joy.

dreamkillers
7 Jan 2003, 08:47
I almost squeezed Joe Strummer and the Mescaleros into my top three.Not because of the tragic event of two weeks ago (but that does add extra meaning to it) but for similiar reasons to what Alf said re: Mick Jagger.
I didn't get to the gig at The Corner (due to work) so saw him at the BDO. Went all the way out there arriving about 20 minutes before Joe started and left as soon as he'd finished(why watch amateurs when you've just seen a professional!). He played the best of his new stuff "Tony Adams" etc and the best of the Clash stuff. No one there was sure if he'd do any Clash stuff and when he did the crowd went off. He introduced "I fought the law" as "Here's one written by Buddy Holly's bass player" - I liked that.

Also as a postscript to the earlier Buzzkocks story. Dreamkillers,Santos and even Alf will probably get a bit of a smile from this. A couple of weeks after the Buzzkocks gig North Adelaide were playing Port Adelaide at Alberton. The North and Port cheer/grog squads were both at the Northern end with about 10 metres seperating them. I was standing close to the Port lads and at one point (for a reason I can't remember)struck up a typical North/Port conversation(read slanging match) with one of the Port lads. It was one of those typical footy slanging matches were you both face the oval whilst insulting each other. It was never going to end in blows but the language got pretty blue. At one point ( I've got a feeling it was quarter time)we both turned and faced each other and realised that under our jackets and (opposing) scarfs we were both wearing Buzzkocks tour t-shirts. We both stood there in silence and eventually I just said "great gig"(how articulate) and he replyed "yeah ripper".

The Buzzkocks bring mortal enemies together through music:D

and they say Port supporters have no taste...........;).........great story......:D

colin
8 Jan 2003, 00:43
U2 Slane Castle, August 2001

Why?

A hot sunny day
No queues for the bar all day - cold beer
Watched JJ72, Coldplay and the Chili Peppers play support
U2 came on stage just as the sun started to set, and played an emotional set (Bono's dad had passed away a day or two earlier)
100,000 fans present, but a strangely intimate atmosphere
A day not to be forgotten.

Blues_Brat
8 Jan 2003, 04:58
1. Pink Floyd 1988 - I think DK has summed it up well.

2. Midnight Oil 1990 at Memorial Drive - As awesome as any of their concerts I've been to but this night there was a thunder storm happening and it added to the atmosphere. It was the Blue Sky Mining tour, so if you know the cover, it was a very appropriate image.

3. Kiss 1997 at Memorial Drive - Totally blew me away, they were awesome that night, people who went in 1980 said that this one dumped on it from a great height. Shame they had to ruin it all with that crap in 2001.

4. Sex Pistols 1996 at Thebby Theatre - The Filthy Lucre tour. I thought they'd be shyte, scored free tickets and was blown away. Only on stage for an hour, but it was fast and furious and they were tight musically. Guess they had a few years to learn how to play their instruments. Skunk Anansie were one of the support acts and were great value. One of the highlights of the night was 'Agadoo' coming over the PA inbetween bands, the sight of aging punks pushing pineapples and shaking trees was worth the ticket price alone (had I paid of course :p). I got ****ed and had a blast.

5. Skulker 2001 at the Babylon Hotel - Been hanging to see these girls live since seeing them on rage in 1998. Did not disappoint at all. I rate this one in my top five because I scored a great possie at the front of the stage, got some great pics and got to meet Batti afterwards.. mmm Batti.

Jaymin
8 Jan 2003, 11:51
Woah...

100,000 fans present, but a strangely intimate atmosphere

No queues for the bar all day - cold beer

How does that work?!?!

Rusty Brookes
8 Jan 2003, 14:05
Radio Birdman - (all reunion shows)
Blue Oyster Cult - May 2000: Ventura CA
Dead Moon - 1996 Aussie Tour
The Dictators - 2002 Tour
Iggy Pop-93 at the Palace

Special mentions to George Clinton's P Funk All Stars, The Scientists, Kiss, Celibate Rifles, New Christs, Ramones

Leaping Lindner
8 Jan 2003, 18:21
Originally posted by Rusty Brookes
Radio Birdman - (all reunion shows)
Blue Oyster Cult - May 2000: Ventura CA
Dead Moon - 1996 Aussie Tour
Iggy Pop-93 at the Palace

Special mentions to George Clinton's P Funk All Stars, The Scientists, Kiss, Celibate Rifles, New Christs, Ramones

My wife reckons the George Clinton show last year at the forum is one of the best gigs she has ever been to. And she has been to way more gigs than me. Also "The Scientists" re-union gig at the Lava Lounge last year(January) I'd rate as one of the best.

FattyLumpkin
8 Jan 2003, 19:10
George Thorogood at the Thebby any number of times - always put on a good show.

Suzi Quattro - only cos I had the hots for her at the time - as every 15 yo boy did!!!!

Does Billy Connelly count???

Now, for worst concert......took Mrs Lumpkin to see Elton John for her birthday once - was the 3 worst concerts I've ever been to

Fatty

colin
8 Jan 2003, 19:18
Originally posted by Jaymin
Woah...

How does that work?!?!

It was strange. I mean, between songs Bono was talking sh*te and what not, and it seemed like everyone was listening to him, there was this calmness while he was speaking. And during the slower songs, the same kind atmosphere of as if the people at the back were really close to the stage.

As for the bars, I'm still puzzled. They had about three or four bars about 100 yards long, and they only served Heineken all day, 3 quid a pint. They had people pulling pints and then passing them to the tills, and then people serving them continuously. What can I say, it worked.

bragg
8 Jan 2003, 21:03
5. Skulker 2001 at the Babylon Hotel - Been hanging to see these girls live since seeing them on rage in 1998. Did not disappoint at all. I rate this one in my top five because I scored a great possie at the front of the stage, got some great pics and got to meet Batti afterwards.. mmm Batti. [/B][/QUOTE]

Saw these girls a while back and have to say they definitely give chick rock a good name dirtied by ****e like Lash and The Donna's

Gomez at t he Corner .. one of those right place right time had bought my tickets ages beforehand , then they got a lot of airplay people offering top dollar for peoples tickets out the front ..6 months later they returned playing The Palais .. then the next time Festival Hall ..so the corner gig was definitely something special packed to the roof 4 encores and 6 very very talented young lads

TOOL at Festival Hall

Ministry - BDO pure madness !!

The Breeders - mad frustrated Pixies fans everywhere going nuts

Billy Bragg 94 The Palais .. finally got to meet the Messiah ...great bloke

Pollyanna , Violotene , Automatic.... Prince of Wales 96

Depech Mode 94 ? Tennis Centre .... brilliant

At the Drive In ....BDO 2000 ?....RAWK !!!

P76
9 Jan 2003, 11:14
Dunno if this is the best gig I've seen but a funny moment at a Celibate Rifles gig at Monash Uni in early/mid 80's. A mate of mine, a frustrated lead guitarist (actually a frustratING lead guitarist), spies Kent Steedman (Rifles lead ax), goes up to him and proceeds to tell him in a very drunken roundabout way how much he liked his playing etc etc etc. When he finally shuts up, Kent looks at him and with perfect timing says "F**k off". A true Rock'n'Roll moment.

Another great moment was the Dubrovniks at the Old Greek Theatre, when the singer and guitarist had a puch-up on stage - classic!

Actually the Rifles are high up my list as consistently great live performers, used to love the way they would play covers as an encore - one's I remember are "Every 1's a winner" at the Central Club and a great version of "Loose" (P.O.W.?) where they all swapped instruments.

X at the POW, The Stems at the Corner, Beasts of Bourbon at the Corner, Harem Scarem anywhere, Loingroin (with Craig as singer), Wilson and Diesel at the Central Club, Ed Kuepper wherever and whoever he plays with - too many to mention really. Oh, and if you're into jazz, catch Wynton Marsalis whenever he comes around.

Wally
9 Jan 2003, 16:56
1 Buddy Guy - The Old Greek Theatre, Richmond, 1990. The greatest guitarist ever (in my book). Dirty, loud, sweaty blues at its best.

2 The Rolling Stones - MCG, 1995. Expensive, but worth every cent to see the legends. Keef is still a hero of mine.

3 Billy Thorpe and The Aztecs - Broadford, 1994. Just after Thorpey returned home after living in the states for over a decade, The (Sunbury era) Aztecs reformed for a few gigs. Headlined the 3 day event at Broadford and were sensational.

4 The Celibate Rifles - P.O.W. late 90's. Probably my favorite band. These guys are awesome live, do a killer version of The Stones "2000 light years from home"

5 Motorhead - Festival Hall, mid 80's. Loud, painfully loud. Lemmy is possibly the ugliest frontman in rock history.

------------------------------------------------------------
EFC: We Hate You Too

Darky
9 Jan 2003, 17:44
Originally posted by Rusty Brookes

Yeah, but didn't those support bands suck!

Nah, seriously... the supports were the Celibate Rifles and Rusty's own Casanovas, both of whom were superb, but of course the Dictators lived up to their legendary status on their first ever Oz tour (in 28 years).

I rated the Melbourne gig (1st one at the Corner Hotel), as being up there with Megadeth at the Palace in 2001, and Cathedral at Joey's (in Prahran) around 1997/98....

But as the Dictators Oz tour entered its second week, I flipped out on a sudden tax windfall, and decided to drive to Sydney to catch two of their shows up there.

The first on, at Sylvania's Crest Hotel was very good, but not as good as the Corner gig. The following day, the band played again on a sydeny Harbour River Cruise. Four hour cruise, band played two sets of about 50 minutes each, and spent the rest of the time - before and after gigs plus during the intermission - chatting and drinking with the 60-odd punters.

Highlight of my life for sure, up there with the 1996 North flag. So yeah, that'd be the best!

cjwalkley
10 Jan 2003, 13:06
Any Weddings Parties Anything gig at The Central Club at Christmas time. Great band, great venue, great supports, great tradition!

Honorable mention goes to Midnight Oil at the Corner in 1997, and Painters and Dockers at the Jam Club in Morwell around 92 (...an audience of 6, spent the night on stage singing along and getting very drunk with the band!)

hotpie
10 Jan 2003, 13:28
Originally posted by cjwalkley
and Painters and Dockers at the Jam Club in Morwell around 92 (...an audience of 6, spent the night on stage singing along and getting very drunk with the band!)

With a crowd that small you must have all gone to nude school during the gig?????

Santos L Helper
10 Jan 2003, 15:51
Originally posted by hotpie
With a crowd that small you must have all gone to nude school during the gig?????

They used to put on some cracker shows.

vanders
10 Jan 2003, 17:11
Kylie - OANLT Tour 2001

Why?

Because it was the first concert i had ever been to and made me http://www.sayhey.co.uk/ubb/graemlins/hearts.gif her music! And plus, the only other group/artist i've seen in concert are the Corrs and they were good BUT not AS good as Minogue ;)

SydneyBomber
10 Jan 2003, 21:43
Originally posted by Santos L Helper
They used to put on some cracker shows.

Yep - had my first ever 'mosh' at a P&D gig at the tender age of 14.
My uncle is 8 years older than me, and was a big fan, so he took me to an all age gig of theirs (after I'd been listening to their 1st album religiously for months).

I mean really, who else has a song "about the boy that lost his jocks on Flinders St Station"?!
:D

windyhill
11 Jan 2003, 08:42
Motley Crue. 1990 Melbourne. Mad.