View Full Version : Merv the Commentator.
King Elvis
13 Apr 2009, 18:57
I love the big bloke, but he is an absolutely terrible commentator.
OzBomber
13 Apr 2009, 19:10
Gotta agree. Speaks as though he's on radio.
Ill Chicken
13 Apr 2009, 19:19
Shouldn't be commentating while a selector.
RooBuoy
13 Apr 2009, 20:41
Loved the comment by one of the other commentators in the box "Would you keep your ramblings to yourself"
OzBomber
13 Apr 2009, 20:50
Loved the comment by one of the other commentators in the box "Would you keep your ramblings to yourself"What happened?
RooBuoy
13 Apr 2009, 21:11
I didn't see it live but I saw on the OneHD sports show Thursday Night Live I think, during the over Merv was rambling on about I think Ferguson and not commentating on the match, so during the end of the over whilst 'off air', although you could still hear them faintly over the mic, the other commentator had a go at merv.
OzBomber
13 Apr 2009, 22:21
He doesn't seem to take a breather inbetween sentences. "The bloke said he was dissapointing in eh ODIs and the test series eh he has had a eh good record at the top of the order eh he has been dissapointing not only in the pro two series eh but also in the eh pro 20 series eh."
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
14 Apr 2009, 03:58
I didn't see it live but I saw on the OneHD sports show Thursday Night Live I think, during the over Merv was rambling on about I think Ferguson and not commentating on the match, so during the end of the over whilst 'off air', although you could still hear them faintly over the mic, the other commentator had a go at merv.
The South African commentator is just annoyed Merv is talking about a great young talent.
Maybe we should talk about the SA commentators rubbishing Hughes technique while he continues to hammer their self-satisfied attack around the park:D
Or maybe we should talk about Arthur's article in cricinfo magazine after the series in Australia titled "How we beat Australia", maybe we should change the title for future reference to "How we beat Australia and then lost at home to Australia a few weeks later" :D:D:D
I mean, come on, Merv talking about Ferguson on air just shat the other guy off.
Dippers Donuts
14 Apr 2009, 21:27
He is a top bloke Merv but he is pretty thick. We are 0-128 after 21 overs and he comes out with a gem like "Australia in a spot of bother here, falling behind the required run rate". (Or words to that effect).
Gawd help us if he is a selector.
Greg Blewett is a pretty ordinary commentator as well over there.
Gotta love the mute button
OzBomber
14 Apr 2009, 23:02
Gotta love the mute buttonSuper Sport is so much better. I was actually liking Mark Nicholas this series until they changed over for the ODIs. I wish they had active so we could choose which broadcast we wanted.
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
14 Apr 2009, 23:22
I don't think Super Sport does the ODI's.
anti dukes
16 Apr 2009, 11:15
I love the big bloke, but he is an absolutely terrible commentator.
To be honest it is a tossup for the worst commentator between the girl that commentates and Merv. When they are commentating together, it is simply unbearable.
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
16 Apr 2009, 16:53
I actually think the girl is pretty good, her and Greg Blewett on together are one of the best commentary combos.
Del Piero
17 Apr 2009, 02:53
Makes a change from the SA commentators 'gushing' about their own players..."Oh he is so so talented''....puke
I actually think the girl is pretty good, her and Greg Blewett on together are one of the best commentary combos.
I can't take her seriously.
Bit like picking up your car from the mechanic's and some sheila's there trying to tell you what was wrong with it.
anti dukes
17 Apr 2009, 16:30
I can't take her seriously.
Bit like picking up your car from the mechanic's and some sheila's there trying to tell you what was wrong with it.
I can't take her seriosly either. Add to that how annoying she is!
She starts talking about what would be happening in the change rooms. Hang on a minute lady, how would you know what is going on, let a former player (ie Blewett) talk about that kind of stuff.
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
17 Apr 2009, 19:26
She also seems to fancy Greg Blewett a bit.
I think the commentator who had a go at Hughes might have been Daryl Cullinan. When listening to him, you would think the Shane Warne ownership never happened.
King Elvis
30 Jul 2009, 19:38
Shouldn't be commentating while a selector.
As bad as his commentating is, I think I'd rather he was doing that instead of selection.
bigburger
30 Jul 2009, 19:59
Terrible selector as well.
OzBomber
30 Jul 2009, 20:03
Terrible at keeping calm about team selections as well.
bigburger
30 Jul 2009, 20:05
Terrible off the ground.
OzBomber
30 Jul 2009, 20:23
Terrible at 3rd man. Seriously he just doesn't know how to field there. Gets distracted far too easily...
Flog That ESKY!
30 Jul 2009, 20:38
Maybe we should get you clowns to do the selecting then hey. STFU
bigburger
30 Jul 2009, 20:40
Lol. Sorry Merv.
OzBomber
30 Jul 2009, 20:42
LtD you need to think of some better usernames.
Flog That ESKY!
30 Jul 2009, 20:48
Prd Qlder?
King Elvis
30 Jul 2009, 21:15
For somebody who loves Australian Cricket so much, you don't really seem to care about us doing everything we can to actually win.
That would be fun.
I know what I'll do for a laugh. I'll pick Shane Watson to open the batting in a test match!
No one will see that coming!
....... Whaddya mean it's already been done?
bigburger
31 Jul 2009, 23:14
A mate of mine bowls awesome Chinamen and gets bulk turn. Might give Merv a call on his tour guide hotline and see if he wants him to play next test.
King Elvis
31 Jul 2009, 23:15
A mate of mine bowls awesome Chinamen and gets bulk turn. Might give Merv a call on his tour guide hotline and see if he wants him to play next test.
Any other skills?
Could he be utilised in a Coaching role if required?
bigburger
31 Jul 2009, 23:17
Hes a gun bat too. I think he actually managed to keep out one ball that swung once but don't quote me. For me and no doubt Merv thats enough, get him in.
Drummond
2 Aug 2009, 19:33
Merv Hughes is an absolute fool. Listen to the constant rubbish flowing from his mouth. :rolleyes:
"If you're asking me as a selector then I can't answer it obviously".
SHUT. UP.
Bananayard
2 Aug 2009, 19:35
****ing shithouse. **** the bogan off. Shit selector aswell...
OzBomber
2 Aug 2009, 19:48
Merv copping it from Haydos. Althought tongue-in-cheek, I don't think Merv likes it.
Drummond
2 Aug 2009, 20:06
Merv copping it from Haydos. Althought tongue-in-cheek, I don't think Merv likes it.
BJ getting pretty angsty too, I think they've all had enough of him.
legend166
2 Aug 2009, 20:27
Merv is a dead set goose. How is this man a selector?
I've always thought selectors should be the best minds in the game. We've got one who acts like a 10 year old, and the other is more known for his drinking prowess than his cricketing skills.
King Elvis
2 Aug 2009, 21:37
BJ getting pretty angsty too, I think they've all had enough of him.
Maybe it's just my opinion clouding my judgement - but I get the impression that both AB and Junior thing he's an idiot.