View Full Version : Two songs that I just think are grouse

Mobbenfuhrer
8 Jan 2003, 09:36
The bus this morning had GOLD FM on which played, among others, 'Eagle Rock' (Mondo Rock I think) and 'Would I Lie To You' (Eurythmics).

I couldn't help but think that I'd come to take these songs far too much for granted, because of the solid airplay they always get.

But I just thought, these are both darn good songs, it felt good to recognise my recognition of this.

You blokes probably think they're pretty crappy, but I reckon they hit the spot for a good song.

Just thinking out loud.

The Hippie
8 Jan 2003, 11:26
Yeah, I know what you mean about the Eurythmics song, Mobben. I'm not a big listener to their stuff, but that song I like. With the horns and Dave Stewarts guitar work, it sticks in the brain, very catchy.

BTW, Eagle Rock is a Daddy Cool song.

hotpie
8 Jan 2003, 11:31
If you want to hear them again, tune in to Gold 104 and wait anout 1 1/2 hours. They only have about 40 songs on their playlist so you won't have to wait long.

I can almost guarantee you will hear Queen, ELO, Bob Seger, and Joe ****er in that time as well.

Jaymin
8 Jan 2003, 11:52
Welcome to 1978....

Hope you enjoy your stay.

Mobbenfuhrer
8 Jan 2003, 12:36
Hmm Daddy Cool yeah that;s right ... some bloke though? The Bop Gal's missus?

Gold 101 every how often? Truly, I'd honestly prefer to hear these every hour than a full no-repeat playlist of noughties music!

Leaping Lindner
8 Jan 2003, 13:11
Originally posted by Jaymin
Welcome to 1978....

Hey we've got the Government for it;)

brampta
8 Jan 2003, 18:33
Love both of those songs.

Eagle Rock - I barrack for West Coast so it has sentimental value :D

and the eurythmics??? that song is a great driving/angry woman song - love it so much I've got the mp3!!

The Hippie
8 Jan 2003, 21:50
Originally posted by Mobbenfuhrer

Gold 101 every how often? Truly, I'd honestly prefer to hear these every hour than a full no-repeat playlist of noughties music!

Yes, Ross Wilson was lead singer with Daddy Cool and Mondo Rock.

And I'd quite happily listen to some of the oldies as well, rather than some of the recycled 80's stuff passed off as new music that is out today. Utter shyte, all of it. ;)

dreamkillers
8 Jan 2003, 21:58
Originally posted by Leaping Lindner
Hey we've got the Government for it;)

I thought we were still in the Menzies era.........;)

Darky
8 Jan 2003, 22:22
Originally posted by Mobbenfuhrer

Yes, husband of Pat Wilson who did Bop Girl in 1983. How do I know this? I was flicking through some vinyl while at my mum's house, and found one of those two-record "party mix" sets, with Bop Girl on it.

Oh the shame!

BTW Mobbs, was the question just a ****-take? Surely a coinnesseur of all things Australian such as yourself would have known this all along... especially with Ross Wilson being regarded as somewhat of a legend in Australian muisc circles (Daddy Cool, Mondo Rock, solo).

And, while on Gold... you've got :

The Good
Eagles - Hotel California
Status Quo - Whatever You Want
Foghat - Slow Ride
Boston - More Than A Feeling
LRB - Help Is On Its Way

The Bad
Too much Elton John
Too much Van Morrison
Too much Billy Joel
Too much John Farnham
Too much "Soul Deep" era Jimmy Barnes

and The Ugly
All of the competitions, and any announcer (breakfast team in particular) that tries to be funny!

Eagle_Fan
9 Jan 2003, 00:03
Originally posted by brampta
Love both of those songs.

Eagle Rock - I barrack for West Coast so it has sentimental value :D

and the eurythmics??? that song is a great driving/angry woman song - love it so much I've got the mp3!!

We play it over the loud speakers at Subi after every win - can't help but enjoy it now every time I hear it.

lioness
9 Jan 2003, 02:20
I love GOLDFM, but they do tend to skip over the Beach Boys a bit. :(

Mobbenfuhrer
9 Jan 2003, 04:40
Originally posted by Darky
BTW Mobbs, was the question just a ****-take? Surely a coinnesseur of all things Australian such as yourself would have known this all along... especially with Ross Wilson being regarded as somewhat of a legend in Australian muisc circles (Daddy Cool, Mondo Rock, solo).

Nope, I just forgot is all!

Grendel
9 Jan 2003, 08:11
Originally posted by Jaymin
Welcome to 1978....

Damn yea, pass me a lumber jacket and a poster of a tennis babe scratching her bum! :D

(actually Eur were 80's and DC were early 70's but who cares) its 78 again!

McAlmanac
9 Jan 2003, 09:08
Originally posted by Grendel
Damn yea, pass me a lumber jacket and a poster of a tennis babe scratching her bum! :D

That's eerily spot on.

Leaping Lindner
9 Jan 2003, 09:20
Originally posted by The Hippie
Yes, Ross Wilson was lead singer with Daddy Cool and Mondo Rock.

And The Pink Finks, Party Machine, Sons of vegetal Mother and Mighty Kong................... (music nerd alert!!!!):D

Leaping Lindner
9 Jan 2003, 09:22
Originally posted by McAlmanac
That's eerily spot on.

I know what you mean. Have you seen they are advertising "Golden Breed" again??? If "Levis for feet" come back it's time to throw in the towel!

dreamkillers
9 Jan 2003, 11:03
I know what you mean. Have you seen they are advertising "Golden Breed" again??? If "Levis for feet" come back it's time to throw in the towel!

Target and K-Mart have been selling "Golden Breed" for a few years now...............

might be time to bring out the "Ripper" Lp from 76...........:D

PS......I gather you have some of the recent Ross Wilson CD's which including the 2CD compilation that spanned pre and post Daddy Cool........

hotpie
9 Jan 2003, 11:13
Originally posted by Grendel

.....or a poster of a skeleton either sitting on the dunny, or trying to climb out of one!

hotpie
9 Jan 2003, 11:15
And The Pink Finks, Party Machine, Sons of vegetal Mother and Mighty Kong................... (music nerd alert!!!!):D

smartarse alert!

you forgot to mention he was the producer for Skyhooks.

Grendel
9 Jan 2003, 14:46
Originally posted by hotpie
.....or a poster of a skeleton either sitting on the dunny, or trying to climb out of one!

Or failing that, a monkey! :D