View Full Version : Rd 2: Box Hill v Northern Bullants
RustyHawk
14 Apr 2009, 19:56
Box Hill City Oval
Sunday 19th April 2009
2pm
After a round 1 bye the boys kick off their official 2009 season under new senior coach Brendon Bolton on Sunday 19th April against the Carlton aligned Preston..sorry, Northern Bullants under coach David Teague and their new captain and former Collingwood AFL player Adam Iacobucci.
There will be a few members of the Hawks Big Footy forum at the game so come on down and make yourself known!
Splodge15
14 Apr 2009, 22:16
Let's hope we get the season on track from day 1. I think we should have a much better season than last year, but the Hawthorn injuries are going to hurt significantly and I hope people keep that in mind.
Mitchell Madness
16 Apr 2009, 14:59
ill be there, hope to at least make the 2nd half of the ressies also.
I hope yze plays, seems a waste os money if he will never play.
There will be significant impovement, we have a coach who knows what he is doing this year. Last year Mitchell was pushing the whole individual over team philosophy, and it is always going to be a disaster, should of sacked him earlier rather then wating for him to leave
Rudi Gilham
16 Apr 2009, 20:14
Team for Sunday
B Suckling Markovic Neil
HB M-Miscamble Thorp Shiels
C Gibson J Kennedy Iles
HF Kiel Yze Schoenmakers
F Smithwick Boyle Dowler
R Pederson
RR Curnow
R Kenna
IC Fagan, George, Cross, Warby, Bull, Lisle,Breust, Nye
Disappointed there's no Muston. I've read in the training reports he's been training well.
No Lowden, Savage, Walsh, Milne & Sierakowski (twos?)
Mitchell Madness
16 Apr 2009, 20:44
At least Yze is in.
As for Muston, I think he will get a couple more weeks of training, and come back from reserves.
He was fine last year, last VFL game he literally jumped over the fence onto the oval. He had a setback a this year though
macca69
16 Apr 2009, 21:23
Mate, just wondering where you got the VFL team from. This weekends VFL teams don't appear to be up on the VFL site yet.
Rudi Gilham
16 Apr 2009, 21:52
I'm not great at posting links, Macca69, but here goes.
http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?assoc=118&pID=1
pomahawk
17 Apr 2009, 10:23
Ressies line-up is here (http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-118-0-0-0&sID=60264&&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=8872803§ionID=60264) too - scroll down towards the bottom....
Mitchell Madness
17 Apr 2009, 12:44
reserves line up
B
Hoegel
Hogan
Breust
HB
Marcius
Sandilands
Parker
C
Sierakowski
Cross
Carey
HF
Smith
Cunningham
Walker
F
Bello
Van Unen
Warby
R
Fieschi
George
Kitchin
Int
Coyle
Sherwen
Renton
Furey
Purcell
Tomkins
Moussi
Conyers
Harper
GNCLongJack
17 Apr 2009, 13:39
Box Hill City Oval
Sunday 19th April 2009
2pm
After a round 1 bye the boys kick off their official 2009 season under new senior coach Brendon Bolton on Sunday 19th April against the Carlton aligned Preston..sorry, Northern Bullants under coach David Teague and their new captain and former Collingwood AFL player Adam Iacobucci.
There will be a few members of the Hawks Big Footy forum at the game so come on down and make yourself known!
I'll be there wearing Roughie's No. 2. Haven't met any of the BF Hawk crew, and so as makin myself known, I'll be there around 2pm on 0415371140, there's the invite to say g'day. Go Hawks. Where's Peterson ?:confused: Lookin fwd to seein Kiel, named at CHF, @180 and 84kg, do they think potentially he's another Dew?
HigginsHawk
17 Apr 2009, 16:06
I'm not too disappointed seeing Siera and Breust line up in the twos. They are coming from a pretty inferior competition and it will be a big step up for them playing VFL.
Great to see Boyle and others lining up. I thought Milne would have been ready to go at this stage or is he injured? Not a bad looking Box Hill side at this stage, even given our injuries.
rdhopkins2
18 Apr 2009, 21:55
Get down tomorrow and support the Box Hill Boys whilst checking out who may be likely to get the call up against WCE to cover injuries/illness next week.
See ya there!
go hawks!!!
19 Apr 2009, 09:18
i will be there, very interested in where thorp plays, as i would like him to replace murphy in the senior defence
also go shoey and boyle!
James Buchanan
19 Apr 2009, 09:54
i will be there, very interested in where thorp plays, as i would like him to replace murphy in the senior defence
also go shoey and boyle!
Only thing Thorp offers over Murphy at present is height.
He similarly lacks speed and body strength against big forwards.
Number 24
19 Apr 2009, 10:03
also go shoey and boyle!
You are too tough on Murphy. He is only a third defender who is being called upon to play the first defenders role against much bigger bodied opponents in a backline under constant attack due to a midfield that is under strength.
Murphy was a very good player for Hawthorn against Port Adeliade.
If you don't think so then I'm afraid you don't understand football.
thatswhatimtalkinabout
19 Apr 2009, 10:38
Be interested to hear any reports on Boyle, potentially we could play him forward if he has a good showing and throw Roughie back next week to cover Lynch.
I mean if the mids are just going to kick it to Buddy anyway and we need decoys, I can make myself available to fill a position should need be.
Not smart football.
RustyHawk
19 Apr 2009, 14:57
From Number 24 live at City Oval Box Hill Hawks up by 2 points.
7 goals 3 behinds 45 points to Bullies 6 goals 7 behinds 43 points around near end 2nd Q
Roughie
19 Apr 2009, 15:04
Be interested to hear any reports on Boyle, potentially we could play him forward if he has a good showing and throw Roughie back next week to cover Lynch.
I mean if the mids are just going to kick it to Buddy anyway and we need decoys, I can make myself available to fill a position should need be.
Not smart football.
Spot on TWITA as usual. Yesterday they were too Buddy focused, and it killed our chances for a win. I personally dont want to see Roughie in defence, they game plan for Lynch is let him mark everything inside 50m goes he will just spray it any way, just dont let him mark 80 out hahah
The Cleaner
19 Apr 2009, 15:24
Box Hill Hawks 6.1 10.3 . .
Northern Bullants 4.3 8.5 . .
Pretty tight at the half.
James Buchanan
19 Apr 2009, 15:26
From Number 24 live at City Oval Box Hill Hawks up by 2 points.
7 goals 3 behinds 45 points to Bullies 6 goals 7 behinds 43 points around near end 2nd Q
Any interesting positional plays (eg: Boyle at CHB)?
caddyhawk
19 Apr 2009, 16:21
Q3
Box Hill Hawks 6.1 10.3 13.6 .
Northern Bullants 4.3 8.5 12.8 .
pomahawk
19 Apr 2009, 16:26
Live commentary at: http://srv1.mel.apstream.net/3wbc_relay
caddyhawk
19 Apr 2009, 16:49
Box Hill Hawks 6.1 10.3 13.6 17.9 (111)
Northern Bullants 4.3 8.5 12.8 14.11 (95)
FlyinKnights
19 Apr 2009, 16:54
Live commentary at: http://srv1.mel.apstream.net/3wbc_relay
brilliant. Thanks
The Cleaner
19 Apr 2009, 16:58
Victory!
Box Hill Hawks 6.1 10.3 13.6 17.9 (111)
Northern Bullants 4.3 8.5 12.8 14.11 (95)
Old Bullman
19 Apr 2009, 17:05
HAWK BOYS:
Thorp battled hard in the ruck. ok.
Boyle good down back then when pushed forward
Shoo excellent early but tired
Shiels also good early before copping a whack
Lisle is a nice mover, played a bit in the ruck as well
Kennedy - very good in close
Suckers- ok without starring
ViperV10
19 Apr 2009, 17:06
Great stuff! Go Box Hill.
Any word on goal-kickers and best players?
Goldhawk
19 Apr 2009, 17:10
Good win by Box Hill,any reports on how the Hawthorn listed players went ?
Old Bullman
19 Apr 2009, 17:10
Pedersen best for mine. Alos liked the look of Curnow. Yze also very good. Spent a lot of time talking to the young boys/
TheWiseOne
19 Apr 2009, 17:24
Shoo showed more today then Thop and Dowler have in 3 years.. Will be a very good player.
Boyle played ok down back then pushed forward to kick a couple of goals in the 3rd/4th
Thorp in the ruck.. Was against Hampson (Number 46) i think and got beaten
Kennedy was good in close with tough tackling and you can tell he has played at AFL level before
Was standing at the cricket pitch end so i could not see the whole game really well, but they looked better then they did last year.
ahhhhhh
19 Apr 2009, 17:25
Boyle moved extremely well.
Thorp did quite well in the ruck
caddyhawk
19 Apr 2009, 17:30
GOALS:
Box Hill Hawks: Pedersen 5 Smithwick 3 Bull 2 Kennedy 2 Schoenmakers Boyle Kenna Iles Gibson
Northern Bullants: Saddington 3 Bannister 2 Anderson Austin Carrazzo Gianfagna Fisher O'hAilpin Hampson Boundy Iacobucci
BEST:
Box Hill Hawks: Pedersen Kenna Gibson Iles Boyle Curnow
Northern Bullants: Carrazzo Hampson McCorkell Anderson Scotland Ellard
REPORTED PLAYERS:
Box Hill Hawks: Nil
Northern Bullants: Nil
The Cleaner
19 Apr 2009, 17:30
Pedersen best for mine. Alos liked the look of Curnow. Yze also very good. Spent a lot of time talking to the young boys/
Exactly why he's there.
The forward line has been a bit of a shambles in recent years and hopefully his presence will enable the likes of Thorp, Dowler and Schooey to shine.
rdhopkins2
19 Apr 2009, 17:54
My best are:
Schoenmakers- give him a run next week!
Pederson- some great marks, spoils and goals.
Smithwick (hard at it and really gives it a good go)
Kenna (class but some silly turnovers)
Boyle did quite well but was not outstanding down back and kept Fisher to 1 goal.
Thorp showed he can be dangerous but missed a few shots he should have nailed.
It should be mentioned that I was watching the forwards and backmen so it's hard to comment on our midfielders, though from what I saw I thought Yze was poor.
A great win to get our season off to a happy start, especially given the injuries at Hawthorn.
Next week BH play on the same day as Hawks in Launceston so may well be depleted with the emergencies on the plane to Tassie.
Umpire Nicholls (bald maggot from Sat) was spotted and given 'the stare of death' from a BH favourite (Whistler) that almost sent him running. I kid you not!
Collins-Langford-Ayres
19 Apr 2009, 20:24
Good news on some of our guys.
Thanks for the updates fellas.
Mitchell Madness
19 Apr 2009, 20:32
planned on going, woke up in a real mess, just couldnt be bothered doing anything
glad BHH won
Roughie
19 Apr 2009, 20:56
planned on going, woke up in a real mess, just couldnt be bothered doing anything glad BHH won
Taking yesterdays loss hard huh?
houdinihuddo
19 Apr 2009, 22:54
A great win to BHH especially when you consider we had 8 AFL listed players [Boyle, Kennedy, Lisle, Milne, Schoenmakers, Shiels, Suckling & Thorpe] to the Northern Bullants 14 [Anderson, Austin, Bannister, Bentley, Browne, Carrazzo, Ellard, Fisher, Gartlett, Hampson, Hartlett, O’Hailpin, Scotland & Yarran.
To cap off a good day the seconds won by 2 points. Only Luke Breust played and he had a quiet game and will take some time to adjust to the pace of the game after playing in NSW as a junior. He was caught in possession on a number of occasions but on the positive side he applied some good pressure.
Tim Boyle played a good game. He started in defensive before moving forward and kicking a good goal when it was needed. He took a couple of strong marks and most importantly he kept his feet very well when under pressure.
Josh Kennedy played a strong game. His ball handling was clean and his pressure was very good. He still has to work on his pace however his work rate was first class even though he copped a corky in the third quarter.
Jordan Lisle was steady in defense and worked hard to compete in the ruck. On a number of occasions he positioned himself very well and showed good composure before disposing of the ball to the best option. He is strong for a first year player and although he is not quick he shows good anticipation.
Riley Milne replaced Hayden Kiel in the team and showed some good signs in defense. He reads the play well and on a number of occasions he showed class by delaying his handball until he could release it to a player in the clear.
Ryan Schoenmakers did some good work and showed he has plenty of class. He took one very good mark and kicked a great 55 metre goal from a set shot. He is still picking up the pace of the game and learning how to pace himself.
Liam Shiels showed some good signs before he was crunched late in the first quarter. Generally he controls the ball well and retains possession when he is put under pressure.
Matt Suckling was steady as a zoning off defender and link man. Apart from missing two long shots for goal in the third quarter his disposal by hand and foot was very good.
Mitch Thorp was quiet early but improved as the game went on. He competed well in the ruck and showed signs of regaining his timing with his kicking. At one stage he was crunched from behind and did not show any ill effects.
I thought the standout BH listed players were Cam Pedersen [194 cms] who competed strongly in the ruck against Hampson [201] and O’Hailpin [199] and marked strongly when ‘resting’ in the forward line for five goals, Lukas Markovic who played a great game in defense and Sam Gibson whose attack at the ball across the forward line was first class.
RustyHawk
20 Apr 2009, 00:09
A great win to BHH especially when you consider we had 8 AFL listed players [Boyle, Kennedy, Lisle, Milne, Schoenmakers, Shiels, Suckling & Thorpe] to the Northern Bullants 14 [Anderson, Austin, Bannister, Bentley, Browne, Carrazzo, Ellard, Fisher, Gartlett, Hampson, Hartlett, O’Hailpin, Scotland & Yarran.
T-man,
Terrific report Sir :thumbsu:
RustyHawk
20 Apr 2009, 00:17
From the Box Hill Hawks web site
HAWKS OFF TO PERFECT START
Sunday, 19 April 2009
In Round 2 action from City Oval this afternoon, the Box Hill Hawks gave new coach Brendon Bolton the perfect Birthday gift with a solid 16 point win in front of a vocal home crowd.
Bolton, who only yesterday celebrated his 30th Birthday, now has a six day turnaround to prepare the team for Saturday's traditional VFL Anzac Day Clash against Coburg Tigers.
It is believed that several high profile Richmond players will be making their comebacks via Coburg for this clash.
Today's victory was also the first time since 2005 that the Hawks won their first game of the season. (I thought it worth highlighting this fact, well done BHH :thumbsu: and Brendon Bolton.)
Box Hill Hawks.... 6.1 10.3 13.6 17.9 (111)
Northern Bullants 4.3.. 8.5 12.8 14.11 (95)
GOALS: Pedersen 5 Smithwick 3 Bull 2 Kennedy 2 Schoenmakers Boyle Kenna Iles Gibson
BEST: Pedersen Kenna Gibson Iles Boyle Curnow
NotDave
20 Apr 2009, 08:37
Did Thorp play a sort of mobile ruck/ruck rover role in the mode of say Adam Goodes??;)
Number 24
20 Apr 2009, 09:20
Did Thorp play a sort of mobile ruck/ruck rover role in the mode of say Adam Goodes??;)
No, played as FF but took turns in the centre square as a ruckman. When he was in that role he moved around the ground.
He was not very impressive as a FF IMO, especially when you compare the work of Pedersen.
Thorp did get in front to take a mark under pressure once in the first Qtr but still tries to play from behind all to often.
houdinihuddo
20 Apr 2009, 09:41
All our ‘ruckmen’ were undersized so basically they played more of a negating role by competing strongly to limit the opposition hit outs to a clear advantage. Due to Mitch’s restricted training since his arrival at the club he does not have the motor to play like AG nor does he play with the same intensity. Mitch relied more on the ball coming to him rather than working hard to get to the ball. I don’t think he had all that many possessions but the positives were he was better in the second half, his ball handling was reasonably clean, he had a couple of good disposals on his left foot and one very clean long kick on his right foot.
I am a great believer in the saying you play how you train. If Mitch Thorp, Beau Dowler and Tim Boyle are fit and not on restricted training schedules, they all need to work a lot harder at training so they can dramatically increase their work rates when it is needed in a match. They should have a good look at how the magnificent Chance Bateman and the courageous Travis Tuck train and busts their guts out at every contest and even though they are totally spent they always sprint to the bench so the team is not disadvantaged for even a couple of seconds.
Hungry Hawk
20 Apr 2009, 10:57
You are too tough on Murphy. He is only a third defender who is being called upon to play the first defenders role against much bigger bodied opponents in a backline under constant attack due to a midfield that is under strength.
Murphy was a very good player for Hawthorn against Port Adeliade.
If you don't think so then I'm afraid you don't understand football.
Murphy is a natural defender and always gives %100. Thorp would not give us what Murph does. I hope we all dont start turning on players and coaces al la Richmond.
Ok, two points for mine.
1. If Boyle is fit enough to run out a Box Hill game he has to be seriously considered for CHB in Hawthorns side. He knows the pace of the game etc, I'd play him now. Its his one chance to play 1's.
2. Gotta get Taylor (or Renouf, but I prefer Taylor) back into the two's. Can't have Mitch Thorp having to play in the ruck. He isn't going to be a ruckman for the hawks, so lets get him to play the right positions at Box Hill.
buddylove_23
20 Apr 2009, 11:12
Tim Boyle looked alright yeaterday took a few marks up forward and down back...Should bring him in to play in our depleted defence...I think he played in the practice game last week too.
play2win
20 Apr 2009, 11:48
i only caught a few glimpses of the match but what i did see from shoey i was impressed with, boyle showed a bit but i thought he was a bit rusty still, and the improvement in suckers from last year is incredible. i think kennedy will become a regular in the seniors all in good time as well.
Woodside Hawk
20 Apr 2009, 11:49
Thank you all for the reports - great to hear the boys got the season off on the right foot.
noosa hawk mad
20 Apr 2009, 14:18
Great work all that provided feed back great stuff love to see how our Listed players are going!:thumbsu::thumbsu:
Number 24
20 Apr 2009, 15:07
Ok, two points for mine.
1. If Boyle is fit enough to run out a Box Hill game he has to be seriously considered for CHB in Hawthorns side. He knows the pace of the game etc, I'd play him now. Its his one chance to play 1's.
2. Gotta get Taylor (or Renouf, but I prefer Taylor) back into the two's. Can't have Mitch Thorp having to play in the ruck. He isn't going to be a ruckman for the hawks, so lets get him to play the right positions at Box Hill.
Sorry but I don't agree with you. TB is back on the park and that is great news, but the standard at VFL level is very much removed from AFL. Tim needs much more game time from what I saw yesterday. His timing is out of wack at present and his legs get wobbly quite quickly.
timhawx
20 Apr 2009, 18:20
Thanks for all the reports Guys - much appreciated :thumbsu:
Roughie
20 Apr 2009, 20:08
Great reports by all especially Houdinihuddo, I really enjoyed reading your posts mate!
Sounds like Boyle was impressive, we have to remember how long he has been missing, I think the safe option is the best option
noosa hawk mad
21 Apr 2009, 08:42
Ok, two points for mine.
2. Gotta get Taylor (or Renouf, but I prefer Taylor) back into the two's. Can't have Mitch Thorp having to play in the ruck. He isn't going to be a ruckman for the hawks, so lets get him to play the right positions at Box Hill.Agree with Bolded part are we that short on Ruckman that Thorp has to Ruck???
Great reports by all especially Houdinihuddo, I really enjoyed reading your posts mate!
Sounds like Boyle was impressive, we have to remember how long he has been missing, I think the safe option is the best optionGreat posts & insight Houdinihuddo, thanks mate!:)
Roger Rogerson
21 Apr 2009, 20:44
Late post but saw the first half and comments as follows:
The Shoe - is class. his set shot from 55m before half time was magic. read the wind like very few can. is going to be a player. still adjusting to the tempo and not strong enough to do what he tries to do but we have a player.
Thorp - Looks stronger in the legs this year which is good as it means he is filling out but didnt show any extra speed. he struggles at this level IMHO. yet to see him hit any serious form in any VFL game i have seen him play.
K3 - i think he is a fraction off the pace with his decision making. cant query his hardness or determination.
Lisle - did a couple of very smart things. looks to be able to read the play and get where the ball is going. looks to be a useful utility in the making.
Sucker - he is a playmaker but tried to be a bit too smart on occasions. i see his upside but if to make it at AFL level needs to improve his speed drastically.
Milne - a tad off the pace but showed glimpses. a development year for him.
Boyle - looked good and was moving very freely. glad to see him back. body language was good.
Shiels - didnt see a heap of him and read that he got crunched. he does look a good type however. looked very comfortable at VFL level.
Was very impressed with our ball movement and determination compared to last year. Well done Hawks.
RustyHawk
21 Apr 2009, 20:53
^^ Good stuff RR :thumbsu:
* I just hope we can maintain this level of reporting from the Box Hill games. Been good to read, well done all. :thumbsu:
The BIG X
21 Apr 2009, 21:36
Late post but saw the first half and comments as follows:
The Shoe - is class. his set shot from 55m before half time was magic. read the wind like very few can. is going to be a player. still adjusting to the tempo and not strong enough to do what he tries to do but we have a player.
Thorp - Looks stronger in the legs this year which is good as it means he is filling out but didnt show any extra speed. he struggles at this level IMHO. yet to see him hit any serious form in any VFL game i have seen him play.
K3 - i think he is a fraction off the pace with his decision making. cant query his hardness or determination.
Lisle - did a couple of very smart things. looks to be able to read the play and get where the ball is going. looks to be a useful utility in the making.
Sucker - he is a playmaker but tried to be a bit too smart on occasions. i see his upside but if to make it at AFL level needs to improve his speed drastically.
Milne - a tad off the pace but showed glimpses. a development year for him.
Boyle - looked good and was moving very freely. glad to see him back. body language was good.
Shiels - didnt see a heap of him and read that he got crunched. he does look a good type however. looked very comfortable at VFL level.
Was very impressed with our ball movement and determination compared to last year. Well done Hawks.
Probally because we now have a good coach who is prepared to follow Clarko's gameplan.
Cheeseman
23 Apr 2009, 18:27
There are some first class posts in this thread, a real credit to those contributors.
I also attended the game, but in all honesty, there's not a lot I can add to the already vivid picture that has been painted in this thread.
A couple of observations, Riley Milne is a real goer, with the right application, he'll be a ripper.
Boyler looked like he's heading in the right direction, encouraging to see him tested in defense.
Boots is gonna be HUGE! the kid has the perfect chassis, is taller than most people realise, can kick goals, and is dual sided, I'm excited about this lad.
Suckers, took a kick out right in front of me, I thought he was gonna burst the ball, he kicked it with that much force.
My ears were still ringing from his kick as it homed in on a Box Hill player standing between 2 Preston plebs, once he gets his running game sorted, he'll be invaluable.
I'll be there Saturday again, at the Whitehorse Rd end behind the goals, I'm the scruffy bastard in the Media Cap, Green G-Unit hoody, come say gday if you can be arsed.
Age Of SMD
27 Apr 2009, 13:14
How's Yze been so far, I havn't kept up with his status at Box Hill, anyone care for an update?
Just wanna know how he's travelling since leaving the Dees last year.
houdinihuddo
27 Apr 2009, 14:47
In BH's first game Adam Yze seemed to take some time to settle in at his new club and he had a quiet first half. In the second half he led the backline well and was a good contributor.
Last Saturday he played a very good game. He again led the backline well and went in to win the hard ball when it was his turn or provided good support as a link player. His leadship of the young players will be invaluable this year and he is still a very talented player.
Whats going on with Carl Peterson?
Is he injured or is there another reason he isnt playing? I had a look on your injury list and he wasnt on there.
houdinihuddo
28 Apr 2009, 12:16
I spoke to Carl on Saturday and he indicated he would have four more weeks of rehab training and two weeks of full training before playing. HFC are very conservative when it comes to injury management so hopefully Carl will have a clear run once he starts playing. Carl impressed me and given the amazing ball handling skills he has shown at training, we could well have picked up another sensational skilled player to join our stars Changa, Junior and Buddy.
HFC are very conservative when it comes to injury management so hopefully he will have a clear run once he starts playing.
[/B]
Probally because we now have a good coach who is prepared to follow Clarko's gameplan.
Should Boots be playing down back then? Clarko has said he wants him to develop into our CHB, we should playing him of a half-back flank this year. He was named at CHF for BH this week.
James Buchanan
28 Apr 2009, 19:45
Should Boots be playing down back then? Clarko has said he wants him to develop into our CHB, we should playing him of a half-back flank this year. He was named at CHF for BH this week.
Boyle's been named at FF and played back.
Thorp's been named at CHB and played forward.
Sometimes I think they just randomly throw the names on the page. Or maybe have gotten the Forward and Back ends of the sheet mixed up.