View Full Version : Big Day Out
riotgirl
9 Jan 2003, 14:55
Who's going? Who do you wanna see?
Got my ticket for my bday, mainly going to see The Vines, Living End, Deftones, QOTSA, Foo Fighters and Millencolin, have to check the timetable for clashes still, but I hope there aren't any :(
GhostofJimJess
9 Jan 2003, 20:50
Janes Addiction, QOTSA, Fooeys, Sparta, Wilco, Millencolin, Deftones .... great lineup this year - best ever IMO ....
Deestroy
9 Jan 2003, 21:01
I'm seeing Frenzal Rhomb, 28 Days, Pacifier, Jebediah, Sparta, The Vines, Living end, QOTSA & Foo Fighters, not a bad lineup,not sure who i'll see during the 2 hour gap between QOTSA & FF's.
the REAL dingo
10 Jan 2003, 07:09
I've jumped the fence 5 times at the BDO. Once at Livid and once at Vans Warped Tour. Yeah, i'll be there!!!!! I'll see you all in there with $95 in my pocket!!!!!!!!!!
PrideofSA
14 Jan 2003, 20:42
I'm not going, but if i was i'd love to see Foos, QOTSA, Living End, Millencolin and Jane's Addiction mainly for the Red Hot Chili Peppers connection.
gold coast today - anyone who goes, give us a run down in the next day or so. big sound problems in auckland on friday that hopefully wont occur again today. enjoy.
riotgirl
19 Jan 2003, 20:38
and qotsa cut their gig short....
umm heard kraftwerk and living end were the best there.... unreliable though :rolleyes:
PrideofSA
20 Jan 2003, 00:01
Originally posted by the REAL dingo
I've jumped the fence 5 times at the BDO. Once at Livid and once at Vans Warped Tour. Yeah, i'll be there!!!!! I'll see you all in there with $95 in my pocket!!!!!!!!!!
ur heaps good for supporting ur fav artists hey
I'm going to see Jane's Addiction (**** yeah!), Foo Fighters, QotSA, and I guess I'll check out Deftones. Good lineup, but I reckon '97 was probably better (last time I went). The secondary bands were better back then.
PrideofSA
20 Jan 2003, 23:24
Saw the Deftones on CHannel V today, very disappointing, not the best music i'v heard. Also when they were interviewed, the singer didn't hold the mic to his mouth half the time, so u couldn't hear all he was saying. It's sad when they can't be respected.
the REAL dingo
21 Jan 2003, 09:48
Originally posted by PrideofSA
Who says any of them are my fav artisits. I saw Soundgarden in 94 and paid to see them live at Festival Hall as well. Back then tickets to the BDO were under $60. How times change... They take into account trespassers, thats why theres an increase in the ticket price from last year. So if i didn't break in, than Lees & West would be making even more money off the people. I'm just doing my part... suckers!!!!!!!
riotgirl
21 Jan 2003, 10:59
if i had the guts i might do it, but yeah i've never heard of many chicks doing it anyway....
millencolin are aparently pretty cr@p live, but they're the main reason i'm going, and I'll be missing The Music to see them :(
Leaping Lindner
22 Jan 2003, 06:59
Originally posted by riotgirl
and qotsa cut their gig short....
umm heard kraftwerk and living end were the best there.... unreliable though :rolleyes:
Just got a phone call from a mate who went. He said Kraftwerk were brilliant!(go figure) He also said The Vines were crap live and need to rehearse more and play live more. He was really looking forward to seeing them and he was really disappointed.
Santos L Helper
22 Jan 2003, 07:57
This was posted after 'The Real Dingo' posted
However, just before this Pride of SA posted,
I'm not going, but if i was i'd love to see Foos, QOTSA, Living End, Millencolin and Jane's Addiction mainly for the Red Hot Chili Peppers connection.
My question is to you PofSA. How, by not going, are you supporting any of your favourite bands or any bands at all?
You are a complete tool.
PrideofSA
22 Jan 2003, 09:21
lol, i have something else on that day lol, otherwise i probably would go, however i would not jumo a fence or burn my fav bands cd's.
Who is the complete tool now eh?
lol, i have something else on that day lol, otherwise i probably would go, however i would not jumo a fence or burn my fav bands cd's.
Who is the complete tool now eh?
Gee, lol, Santos, lol, how will you, lol, ever recover, lol, after that stinging, lol, rebuke lol? :rolleyes:
PrideofSA
22 Jan 2003, 09:26
Originally posted by Carlos
Gee, lol, Santos, lol, how will you, lol, ever recover, lol, after that stinging, lol, rebuke lol? :rolleyes:
how old are you? anyway read the nivana vs Pearl jam thread dude.
riotgirl
22 Jan 2003, 15:42
Originally posted by Leaping Lindner
He also said The Vines were crap live and need to rehearse more and play live more. He was really looking forward to seeing them and he was really disappointed.
Yep, heard the vines were really sh*t also, was going to line up and watch them, but might head over and see The Music instead now.... i will probably regret who i choose either way anyway
Who are Kraftwerk? Are they German?!!
Ticket prices now are a bloody joke. When I last went they were $50, which was about right.
Leaping Lindner
24 Jan 2003, 08:10
Originally posted by Winmar
Who are Kraftwerk? Are they German?!!
Ticket prices now are a bloody joke. When I last went they were $50, which was about right.
Jawohl!
German "electro pop"(for want of a better description) band ,been around since at least the mid 70's when they had hit with "Autobahn". Also had some hits in the early 80's."The Model" and "Pocket Calculator" come to mind.
I think they have been thrown into the mix to keep up the Lees and West line of something for everyone. They are the oldest band on the bill (bit like "New Order" last year) but I don't know of anyone from that era who likes them.Actually amongst my friends(who are/were into punk & new wave) they are/were a "bit of a joke".
Seems to be an awful lot of repetition happening with The Big Day Out these days.Weren't the "Foo Fighters" and "P.J" here just a couple of years back?
Agree that ticket prices are a joke, but ticket prices to any band these days are a bit of a joke.Comparatively the price to the BDO is actually good value.
Macca19
24 Jan 2003, 09:16
Originally posted by Leaping Lindner
Seems to be an awful lot of repetition happening with The Big Day Out these days.Weren't the "Foo Fighters" and "P.J" here just a couple of years back?
And the rest mate!!
Foo Fighters, PJ Harvey, Jebediah, Luke Slater, Machine Gun Fellatio, Kid Kenobi, You Am I, Queens of Stone Age, Living End, Resin Dogs, Frenzal Rhomb, Bexta, 1200 Techniques, Pacifier, Pnau, Preshrunk have all been at one of the last 2 or 3 Big Day Outs.
Half the reason im not overly impressed and unsure i want to pay $93 for bands ive seen before and not really liked.
Its almost the exact lineup to the 2001 big day out.
I'll probably still go...the boiler room line up is pretty good.
Macca19
24 Jan 2003, 09:19
The best BDO in my opinion was 1999...and that was $63...and it had twice as good a lineup than anything since. Korn, Soulfly, Marilyn Manson, Hole, Ash, Powderfinger, Fatboy Slim, Roni Size, Deejay Punk Roc, Underworld, Bexta, a whole bunch of local bands that were in their prime (Regurgitator, Living End etc etc)
S.J Rollin
24 Jan 2003, 13:54
what is the action at the Lillypad been like?...often varies from the amazing to the hilarious to the pathetic!
riotgirl
24 Jan 2003, 14:31
I might go to the lilypad to check out/participate in the naked karaoke :) haha
thats the only thing worth going to....
three sleeps to go, now i just gotta decide what to write on my armssssssssssssss
I reckon my favourite BDO was in 97, with Soundgarden, Fear Factory (wow they actually weren't too chicken**** to put a metal band on the bill) and Supergrass, among others.
This is the first year I've been around for summer since 2000, so don't know too much about the recent lineups. From what I read though, i wasn't too impressed!
Why the **** have ticket prices risen so much???
Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
25 Jan 2003, 09:33
Never go to things like that but i usually watch em on V. Saw some of the Foos set this morning, went off maybe there is some hope for them afterall. Possibly was the one at the Gold Coast if thats already been? Living End have been on all morning to think I was besotted with Chris when he lived up the road, can't stand them now!
I reckon its one of the ****test line ups this year and judging by the amount of ppl who called up Jabba on V who weren't going i don't think there will be that big a turnout despite the teeny boppers.
Anyway have fun riotgirl dont get raped! (take a stick with u lol)
Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
25 Jan 2003, 09:36
Originally posted by Macca19
The best BDO in my opinion was 1999...and that was $63...and it had twice as good a lineup than anything since. Korn, Soulfly, Marilyn Manson, Hole, Ash, Powderfinger, Fatboy Slim, Roni Size, Deejay Punk Roc, Underworld, Bexta, a whole bunch of local bands that were in their prime (Regurgitator, Living End etc etc)
Agreed wish i'd gone coz back then i was obsessed with Hole Korn Foos Marilyn Manson and the Living End ah well thank god for channel V at least that way ya don't miss ya fave sets when they clash!
This year's lineup is better than a lot of the others since the last time I went. The main reason I went today was to see the magnificent Jane's Addiction, but also wanted to check out Queens of the Stoneage, Foo Fighters, and Deftones, who were also rather good.
I doubt I'll go to another one though. That "D" thing, where the front section was barricaded off really buggered it up for me. Because it was full, I had to stay in the back, which was really crap. I hate having to strain to look over people's heads from miles back.
Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
28 Jan 2003, 09:14
This year's lineup is better than a lot of the others since the last time I went. The main reason I went today was to see the magnificent Jane's Addiction, but also wanted to check out Queens of the Stoneage, Foo Fighters, and Deftones, who were also rather good.
I doubt I'll go to another one though. That "D" thing, where the front section was barricaded off really buggered it up for me. Because it was full, I had to stay in the back, which was really crap. I hate having to strain to look over people's heads from miles back.
Bloody Foxtel didn't show Deftones when i was watching how were they?
What exactly is the difference with that D barracade too coz they kept mentioning it on V. All I kno is it supposedly makes it safer coz that girl had to go die there. Looks like its spoilt it if u ask me.
I had to stay in the back, which was really crap. I hate having to strain to look over people's heads from miles back.
Gah, tell me about it, have to be 6 foot 6 to see anything. Twasn't a bad day all up tho, the JJJ and RRR stages were alright for viewing, JJJ stage probably saved me from being completely sunburnt.
bluechampion
28 Jan 2003, 12:42
Foo Fighters put on a heck of a Rock Act, and Jane's Addiction also put on quite a show (loved the costume changes and the chick - very theatrical).
Kraftwerk were also brilliant. Man... Machine!
riotgirl
28 Jan 2003, 13:09
I reckon the Janes guy looked ridiculous.... whatta freak, atleast he's a freak with guts :) but yeah it was a good set
Foos were awesome :) as were my favourite millencolin.... ventured in (by accident) and caught some of the murderdolls, scary stuff, but good i guess if you like that sorta music??
I've been on channel V TWICE wohoo i'm famous..... damn that permanent texta won't come off though :(
Deftones were pretty good! The crowd enjoyed their set. I never realised the singer was so chubby till yesterday. :)
Perry Farrell (the Jane's guy) is completely loopy! That of course makes them much more interesting. I wouldn't change him. Gotta love someone who can wear that kind of stuff! Hehe the chick in the cage ruled. ;)
Foo Fighters were great.......but I couldn't really enjoy it, being 5km from the stage (or so it felt). Seriously, that D barrier reduced my enjoyment of the day by half. If I'd been in the D, I would have really got into Queens, Jane's, and FF, but as it was I ended up being really ****ed off. The BDO really isn't what it used to be.
Spidergirl, basically a big area in the shape of a D was barricaded, so you could only get in there if security let you. They wouldn't let anyone in once it was "full" (cough, splutter). Awful.
Macca19
28 Jan 2003, 15:06
Originally posted by Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
All I kno is it supposedly makes it safer coz that girl had to go die there. .
Safer my arse. I got badly bruised ribs because of that stupid bloody thing last year. Got basically to the front of the line to go into the moshpit ended up being crushed against the opening of it because they wouldnt allow anyone into the moshpit for an hour. So instead of getting crushed in the moshpit, you get crushed at the openings :rolleyes:
Deestroy
28 Jan 2003, 16:06
Highlight for me was Pacifier, awesome set. Foo's were great, other good sets IMO were The Music and Sparta. I was dissapointed that qotsa didn't play "The lost art of keeping a secret" but otherwise their set was good.
Was in the D from Frenzal rhomb until the end of pacifier, and then went back in from when it was cleared after the vines until the end of the Foo's, only took me 5 mins to get in each time.
Yeah really enjoyed yesterday's BDO. Was a perfect day for it which helped, unlike last year where it was as hot as sin (from memory, which is a bit messy). Not too hot, although the sometimes strong wind blowing across the main stadium did make the mix sound at times all over the shop.
Got there just as 28 Days were towards the end of their set. Not bad if you're into that sort of thing. jay is certainly an energetic front guy and they were pretty tight.
Really dug Pacifier. They had a massive audience and confirmed my belief that these guys can start being pushed up the bill in their own right and have taken the next step. Their sound was awesome and the crowd was really responsive and seemed to know all their songs. And as usual, Johnny Toogood was in his rock star element, and i mean that in a good way. You can see that this guy really digs playing live and puts everything into every show.
Millencollin were OK. The whole skate-pop rock thing gets a bit repetetive after a while, but they are good at at it and were tight. Sound was a bit thin though.
The highlight of the day for me was finally seeing the Deftones live. And they didnt disappoint. Very fat sound and a flawless performance from the inventors of all things "Nu". Chino was in great form and the whole band rocked from start to finish. Great mix of songs from all albums and the new stuff sounded very cool. Shame about the early time-slot and the short set (considering the ****ing Vines were on after them!!)
Speaking of the Vines, these guys are a disgrace to Australian music scene and were offensively bad yesterday. Crap sound, crap songs and if i could throw a punch at anyone in this world, that Craig Nicholls poof would be candidate #1. **** wit. How are these guys rated so highly internationally?!?! We have so many better bands than these t*rds!!
Went and checked out a bit of Jimmy Eat World and was pleasantly suprised. The JJJ room was packed to the rafters for them and they put on a great show for the 4 or songs i caught. Very tight and was probably the best sound quality i heard all day.
Living End were rockin as usual. Like or dislike their tunes, they are a great live band and were typically energatic.
Was really looking forward to QOTSA but must admit that they became a bit tedious after a while. They were a bit more entertaining than a few year's back, mostly due to their latest album being alot more friendly to live rendition, but 7 minute self indulgent jams on stage need to go somewhere, and there's really didnt. And their sound was very muddy. Hats off to whoever is playing drums for them on this tour though, as he did pretty much all of Dave's chops from the new album spot on.
Bolted out to catch 1200 Techniques and they were close to B.O.G for mine. These guys lose nothing in comparison to international hip-hop acts and put on a superb show which had the entire RRR stage crowd goin nuts.
Caught a bit of Kraftwerk as well. Didn't do much for me. Sounded like bad computer game music, but i certainly aint no conesuer of electronic music, and the 'frame of mind' i was in at that stage didn't help.
Janes Addiciton were kinda cool, although i was a bit side-tracked by this stage in the day. A little over-indulgence is the best way to put it. But yeah, they were ok. Not really my bag though.
By the time the Foo Fighters came on i was peaking (in more ways than one ;) ) and they were awesome. I've seen them live a fair few times now and this was easily the best. They look like 4 dudes who actually like eachother (bit of a change for that band) and the quality of performance showed. Awesome opener (All My Life) and a great mix of old and new songs, closing with the awesome Everlong. A great gig.
Finished the day off by tearing it up to Underworld in the Boiler Room, who were OK. A bit transy for what i was really wanting to here, but did the trick i guess. Mind you my brains were mush by that stage so i could have been listening to the sound of an army of blow fly's farting and i still would have been goin off!!
It was a VERY big day out!
Enjoy it BFers from Adelaide and Perth!
Originally posted by Deestroy
I was dissapointed that qotsa didn't play "The lost art of keeping a secret" but otherwise their set was good.
Totally agree - I was really looking forward to hearing that. :(
The highlight of the day for me was finally seeing the Deftones live. And they didnt disappoint. Very fat sound and a flawless performance from the inventors of all things "Nu". Chino was in great form and the whole band rocked from start to finish. Great mix of songs from all albums and the new stuff sounded very cool. Shame about the early time-slot and the short set (considering the ****ing Vines were on after them!!)
***Agree, Deftones were definately a highlight.
[/B][/QUOTE]Speaking of the Vines, these guys are a disgrace to Australian music scene and were offensively bad yesterday. Crap sound, crap songs and if i could throw a punch at anyone in this world, that Craig Nicholls poof would be candidate #1. **** wit. How are these guys rated so highly internationally?!?! We have so many better bands than these t*rds!![/B][/QUOTE]
***Maybe cause he pulled 10 or so bongs before he got on stage. :rolleyes:
Deestroy
28 Jan 2003, 19:22
As for the other bands I saw, Frenzal were fairly good, 28 Days were alright but when you've seen them live a few times the same songs every time can get annoying. Jebediah were ok without being great, but then I'm not a very big fan.
The Vines sucked, but their set was pretty much the only break had all day, sat outside the D having something to eat. I hate PJ Harvey and only had to put up with that to stay in the D. Jane's Addiction were ok, but I'm not much of a fan, plus their set was way over the top. I was watching from the Foo's side of the D, and joined in when everyone else told them to **** off.
My sister told me about the FF ****er crowd's reaction to JA. Absolutely ****ing pathetic.
Dogwatcher
29 Jan 2003, 14:05
Am going to the Adelaide BDO on Friday. It will be nice to have cool weather for a change.
Going for free, so I'm not going to complain about ticket prices.
However, the line up seems a little boring to me, I've seen most of the bands b4.
I'm not going with any huge expectations this year - there's no one that I exceptionally wish to see - so I'll be open to new experiences and may even spend lots of time at the smaller and local stages.
I went to Adelaide's very first BDO (was 14 at the time), so I've been going for a while and I think that line up and the one in 96(?) when the Prodigy were on the large stage were probably the best line ups for mine.
However, the biggest highlight of all time for me was seeing New Order last year - they were awesome, even though not quite as energetic as others.
If anyone is going to the Adelaide BDO and would like to say G'day, PM me by tomorrow (I'm leaving for Adelaide in arvo) or email me at robmclean@mad.scientist.com
Have fun in Adelaide.
Chris_23
30 Jan 2003, 15:55
I definitely had a big day out. I was really surprised by how good Pacifier were, they certainly had the crowd going nuts. 28 Days were far better than I expected, even if i'm not really in to their music. Deftones were good, Millencolin ok.
I decided to line up to get in the D-Barrier while The Vines were on. What a brilliant decision that was! The Vines sucked major ****, I saw people walking off. I got very close for The Living End (awesome live once again), QOTSA (Not bad, maybe a little dissapointing), and the Foo Fighters. The Foo's were fantastic, D. Grohl is most certainly a rock superstar.
Just on the Foo Fighters, their Festivall Hall gig last night was ****ing unbelievable. About twice as good as the BDO show IMHO. I've now seen them seven times and they're getting better with age. Loved the setlist last night, they really played some old stuff that I haven't heard them play since the days of Pat Smear and Franz Stahl. I almost shat my pants when they played 'Exhausted'. :D
Glad to hear you enjoyed it! Was there a full house?
Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
31 Jan 2003, 13:37
Originally posted by Chris_23
Loved the setlist last night, they really played some old stuff that I haven't heard them play since the days of Pat Smear and Franz Stahl. I almost shat my pants when they played 'Exhausted'. :D
Good to hear, obviously catering to the fans that were there from day 1 and not just these ones that front up coz they heard their song for the 9 millionth time on triple m this week! I may not throw my old Foos shirt out afterall now :)
GhostofJimJess
31 Jan 2003, 21:11
I almost shat my pants when they played 'Exhausted'.
Chris ... I think you'll find they didn't play "Exhausted" ... unfortunately. Maybe you're confusing it with "Watershed", which they did play from their first album.
Unlike their '95 show, where they played the ENTIRE first album ... now that WAS awesome.
Cheers, Ghost
I thought Jimmy Eat World were awesome - the best performance and stage presence at the BDO by far! The first song they played really went off. Sparta were bloody awesome. I thought Jane's were a bit over the top also - did we really need to see the purple outfits etc.???? Oh well.
That's Perry for you though. I liked his outfits!
Went to the Big Day Out on Friday and it was awesome.
Saw Frenzal, 28 Days, Pacifier, Millencolin, Sparta, The Living End, Queens of the Stone Age, Jane's Addiction and the Foo Fighters.
Out of that bunch, Sparta was a clear-cut favourite - they performed an absolutely incredible set. Some of those who didn't know their songs may have thought they were going through the motions but by the time Cut Your Ribbon and Air were played came on, the crowd got into it. In the final song, Jim jumped into the crowd which was great and pretty much summed up the passion that they had played with during that set.
The Living End and surprisingly, Millencolin, were also great... playing many of their better songs from all their albums. The mosh for Millencolin was great and I'd love to see more punk bands of their ilk come to the BDO more often - they really get the audience going.
The rest of the bands were good - although QOTSA were pretty disappointing, Nick had to carry the set for the most part. Jon Toogood was a bit of a tool but they put on a hell of a show. I was also able to catch a bit of the Vines while waiting for the Living End, I think it was... Craig Nichols = tosser. If people think Lleyton Hewitt is a bad export, they haven't seen this guy in full flight.
Well first time I've been able to log on since last monday but that was my first Big Day Out and I really enjoyed the day. All the bands I saw were so tight I thought, 1200 techniques I hadn't really heard much of their stuff before but really enjoyed the grooves.
Almost got CRUSHED to DEATH trying to get into the "mosh". I totally agree with the principle of it all but they really could have let more people in. the whole point of it is to stop the surge from the back to put in a bit of a breather but gee wizz, it would have been better to either fill it up a bit more or bring it closer to the stage.
I think the funniest part of the day was watching restless boys near the stands on the blue stage side during janes addiction. they started hoisting each other onto their shoulders, charging, and wrestling. the cops rushed over, realised it was harmless fun and stood their watching with everyone else!
Dogwatcher
3 Feb 2003, 06:13
I went with no expectations to Friday's BDO - Id seen all the big names b4 and was just happy to go along and enjoy the ride.
Blow me if I wasn't blown away by The Music, Rocket Science and 1200 Techniques. QOTSA and FooF were also good.
The fact I had a photo pit pass which allowed me front of stage made my day sensational.
The surprise form e however was this Adelaide band called the Circle clan who I really enjoyed. Their electro punk music reminded me a lot of Carter USM and also Insurge.
3. Wilco
2. The Music
1. The Living End
Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
3 Feb 2003, 10:35
Originally posted by brampta
Almost got CRUSHED to DEATH trying to get into the "mosh". I totally agree with the principle of it all but they really could have let more people in. the whole point of it is to stop the surge from the back to put in a bit of a breather but gee wizz, it would have been better to either fill it up a bit more or bring it closer to the stage.
Dunno how you could stand it, hope you didn't get any creepos tryin to rub up against you. Have this problem with crowds every year during grand final week. Definately think some people will go to any large crowd pulling event just to try rub up against young girls!
3 Hard Ons
2 The Music
1 Foo Fighters
Kraftwerk was a spin out
freo_fan
4 Feb 2003, 15:06
Originally posted by Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
Dunno how you could stand it, hope you didn't get any creepos tryin to rub up against you. Have this problem with crowds every year during grand final week. Definately think some people will go to any large crowd pulling event just to try rub up against young girls!
Talking about rubbing up against people, I was talking to one of my best buds on the fone last nite who went to the Perth BDO and whilst in the mosh she came across a chick getting it up the arse :eek:
PrideofSA
5 Feb 2003, 00:26
From all reports I've heard they have said that the Foos left all the other bands for dead.
Your friends didn't see 1200 Techniques or the Deftones then.
PrideofSA
5 Feb 2003, 09:32
Your friends didn't see 1200 Techniques or the Deftones then.
They saw the Deftones, 1 loved them, the others hated them. I saw them on Channel V for a little while (not as good as being there) but I was disappointed with them.
Originally posted by freo_fan
Talking about rubbing up against people, I was talking to one of my best buds on the fone last nite who went to the Perth BDO and whilst in the mosh she came across a chick getting it up the arse :eek:
Woah! That's my kind of festival! :)