View Full Version : The Lets Blame Ricky Dyson Thread
Mighty_bombers
20 Apr 2009, 00:19
After every game i hear this all the time haven't you people ever heard "ONE PLAYER DON"T MAKE A TEAM"
There was way worse players today then Ricky Dyson but each week we just single out Dyson
Lucas - Went goal less his paid to kick goals not easy possy up the ground
Mcphee - Couldn't Mark to save his life today
McVeigh - Played shit house
Quinn - did he even get a touch
Lovett - Kicked one nice goal apart from that what did he do ? s.f.a
Monfries - was he even playing ?
Nash - Played very poor
Ryder - our SUPERSTAR yet does "NOTHING" each week in and out what he
takes one big leap and kicks one goal WOW SUPERSTAR
Skipworth - does nothing week in - week out yet gets a game , easy possy sure its good for DT but in the footy world no good
Slatts - how he gets a game ill never know , what knights see's in him is beyond me
Stanton - needs a new role , he used to be one of my fav players but easy stats in the back half with the chip to chip and running behind player who mark the ball to get easy stats is not a AFL player , Essendon should turn him in to the Kane Cornes tagger/Midfielder Stanton has the Fitness to do it
There is 11 players on the Essendon team sheet that played North that was just as bad if not worse then Dyson so stop pointing out the Finger to Dyson week in week out
His a list of people who knock him week in week out
Lost vs North
Outs - Dyson
Nash and Dyson - Nothing needs to be said.
Meh... I havent' seen the game and I've just checked the results but I'll take a stab at it anyway. You dont' have to be a rocket scientist to work out who are the worst:
Outs: Dyson
Outs: Dyson (6 years of plain rubbish)
OUT: Dyson
The three in bold HAVE to be dropped.
As for outs. I dont know, and would only be going on what others are saying. so who ever.
OUTS:Dyson
NOTE: all ins/outs are made without seeing the game.
outs:nash
OUT: Dyson
OUT:Dyson
Outs:Dyson
Out: Dyson (Never to return! why do we play this retard!)
Out: Nash
Quinn, Dyson, Nash, Slattery.
Changes for next week I would hope for:
Outs:
Dyson, just a very ordinary footballer who has been persisted with for too long, Remiers can not come back fast enough.
Now I am aware they will not make 5 changes like that, but these players need to be gradually removed from the side, if we are hoping to build a decent team.
My prediction:
Out: Dyson
Dyson is a massive dud
Dyson doesnt even have a position
infact, Dyson is the new laycock
Out:Dyson
I'm a Ricky D fan but Jetta comes in becuase its at the MCG. he plays the big grounds well and will be suited against Collingwood.
Out: Dyson (SHIT)
ManWithNoName
20 Apr 2009, 00:47
Calling Dyson shit doesn't mean we're blaming him for the loss. Just means we're calling him shit. Which he was. Immensly shit. He should never again play for the Essendon Football Club.
Johnny619
20 Apr 2009, 01:22
He isn't THAT bad. I'll take him over Nash anyday.
joffa_2
20 Apr 2009, 01:41
you got me all exited by the name of the thread:rolleyes:
Jonesy1987
20 Apr 2009, 05:21
When you lose like we did today, changes must be made.
You look at certain criteria;
Potential + Impact + Team Balance + Work Rate
Lets rate Dyson against these.
Potential 1/5
Impact 1.5/5
Team Balance 1/5
Work Rate 2.5/5
Weighing this up against possible replacements.
Lonergan
Potential 3/5
Impact 2.5/5
Team Balance 3/5
Work Rate 3.5/5
Jetta
Potential 4/5
Impact 1/5
Team Balance 4/5
Work Rate 1/5
Myers
Potential 3.5/5
Impact 1.5/5
Team Balance 2/5
Work Rate 2/5
Houli
Potential 3/5
Impact 2/5
Team Balance 2.5/5
Work Rate 2/5
Dyson clearly doesn't make the cut IMO.
Also 7 of players you mentioned play different key roles we don't have replacements for, Dyson we do and Ryder, Lovett, Stanton, Slatts and Monfries were considerably better than him.
dyson has one thing all the others dont, he's consistant. consistantly no good alot like laycock.
Bomberlicious
20 Apr 2009, 09:24
dyson has one thing all the others dont, he's consistant. consistantly no good alot like laycock.
Harsh but fair, IMO.
Wahooti Fandango
20 Apr 2009, 09:27
I am not on the list of offenders, but having said that; HACK!!!! ;) :D
kelvin_sheedy
20 Apr 2009, 09:31
Blah, blah, blah, blah...
6 years and 67 games of nothing and all we can hang our hat on at the moment is there were worse players. It used to be he doesn't get enough game time or the coach doesn't like him but now the Dyson lovers have changed their tune.
You can't expect other players to be elite all the time and carry passengers like Ricky.
Has he ever made an impact on a game. No!
Stop defending him because it's players like him that get a game and are no good which puts us in the predicament we are.
For a player that is supposed to be a mid he is averaging 15 possessions at %68 efficiency. That is terrible in anyone's language.
lmaohelp
20 Apr 2009, 10:30
when the game was there to be won in the last quater, most players were on there man, one bloke was trailing by 10 meters atleast 4 times i counted, that man was ricky ****ing dyson, and he should never wear our Guernsey again.
Lucas - Went goal less his paid to kick goals not easy possy up the ground
Mcphee - Couldn't Mark to save his life today
McVeigh - Played shit house
Quinn - did he even get a touch
Lovett - Kicked one nice goal apart from that what did he do ? s.f.a
Monfries - was he even playing ?
Nash - Played very poor
Ryder - our SUPERSTAR yet does "NOTHING" each week in and out what he
takes one big leap and kicks one goal WOW SUPERSTAR
Skipworth - does nothing week in - week out yet gets a game , easy possy sure its good for DT but in the footy world no good
Slatts - how he gets a game ill never know , what knights see's in him is beyond me
Stanton - needs a new role , he used to be one of my fav players but easy stats in the back half with the chip to chip and running behind player who mark the ball to get easy stats is not a AFL player , Essendon should turn him in to the Kane Cornes tagger/Midfielder Stanton has the Fitness to do it
mcphee - dud game
mcveigh - underdone couldnt expect much
quinn - has honestly got to earn his spot, cant belive we are playing him where there is a bloke like houli tearing it up
lovett - u are very harsh on this bloke, the only one that was creating and running against north melb, our best player on the day as well as davey, i sore him absolutly spent about 2 - 3 times, his pressure was so great
monfries, nash - should be dropped
slatts, did a OK job
ryder - you cant play a bloke like ryder who has spent say 15 minutes in the fwd line or backline, workn his butt off, then chuck him in the ruck against a premium ruckman ready to destroy him, he has to play one or the other
stanton - WAS NOT USED CORRECTLY, taggin boomer? wtf for 1. he was getin raped and stanton was not having a influence, was he was moved in the 3rd i think then he killed it, poor coaching
SirJimi05
20 Apr 2009, 10:41
There were a dozen ordinary players this week but Ricky Dyson has made it an artform week in week out.
My one and only critisism of Mathew Knights is that he chose Dyson as his love child. :mad::thumbsd:
SirJimi05
20 Apr 2009, 10:43
when the game was there to be won in the last quater, most players were on there man, one bloke was trailing by 10 meters atleast 4 times i counted, that man was ricky ****ing dyson, and he should never wear our Guernsey again.
mcphee - dud game
mcveigh - underdone couldnt expect much
quinn - has honestly got to earn his spot, cant belive we are playing him where there is a bloke like houli tearing it up
lovett - u are very harsh on this bloke, the only one that was creating and running against north melb, our best player on the day as well as davey, i sore him absolutly spent about 2 - 3 times, his pressure was so great
monfries, nash - should be dropped
slatts, did a OK job
ryder - you cant play a bloke like ryder who has spent say 15 minutes in the fwd line or backline, workn his butt off, then chuck him in the ruck against a premium ruckman ready to destroy him, he has to play one or the other
stanton - WAS NOT USED CORRECTLY, taggin boomer? wtf for 1. he was getin raped and stanton was not having a influence, was he was moved he killed it, poor coaching
Bit harsh on Gus. Was one of the best last week and instrumental when the game was on the line imo.
BomberFan_23
20 Apr 2009, 11:36
its not ricky dysons fault he is making the side week in week out!
ITS THE MATCH COMMITEE WHO PICK HIM!
I would pick houli or lonergon myers over him any day!
Mcphee and lucas should be dropped! (pun intended mcphee) but on reputation will be picked for Anzac day!
if lucas kicked straight we win! Daniher trys but he's not a Backmen! Hurley will take his spot straight away! again not danihers fault he's been put back in the deep end!
Knights was out-coached on the weekend! Hale went forward and knights put everyone on him except our second best backman atm imo which is Ryder!! then again we only went into the game with only 1 ruckman! but thats another story.
I think we are better then what we saw on sunday! and i think we have to be patient! but if We don't try and trade Mcphee Dyson and Laycock at the end of the season and talk lucas into retirement GOD HELP US! i would rather put games into Neagle etc rather then have Mcphee dropping uncontested marks and kicking points 30m out!
With the likes of Houli Lonergan welsh prismall coming into the side. I don't think Dyson has a chance staying in it. Again not he's fault.
Seriously i ask the question and like to hear your thoughts,
If we trade Mcphee, Dyson, Laycock. What could we get in return? I think we should go after Griffin (Ruckmen) from Adelaide. He's shown he can ruck when he gets selected and he's only young! not getting a game atm cos of maric and tippitt and co. WE NEED A SECOND RUCKMAN! not a backman who can go into the ruck, a ruckman! cos if hille goes down we are stuffed!
BomberFan_23
20 Apr 2009, 11:43
i think we should keep monfries for next week! performs well on Anzac day/against pies. Yeah dunno about nash, he gets it but its what he does with it that scares me. McVeigh will be good for the run. We are not out of it next week! KEEP THE FAITH! haha:thumbsu:
SirJimi05
20 Apr 2009, 11:49
Seriously i ask the question and like to hear your thoughts,
If we trade Mcphee, Dyson, Laycock. What could we get in return? I think we should go after Griffin (Ruckmen) from Adelaide. He's shown he can ruck when he gets selected and he's only young! not getting a game atm cos of maric and tippitt and co. WE NEED A SECOND RUCKMAN! not a backman who can go into the ruck, a ruckman! cos if hille goes down we are stuffed!
Ummm we would get SFA. Considering trading Laycock before we have any idea about Bellchambers and Bock is an absurd notion anyway.
Oh and McPhee is comfortably in our best 18 and oneof our better players. He had abad game yesterday as did about 12of his mates. But yeah leats trade him because of it. :D:thumbsu:
Kaiser Powser
20 Apr 2009, 12:03
Fair enough rant Mighty Bombers.
All I can add is that most of those players listed are capable of producing far better performances. whereas Ricky is just not cutout to be an AFL player. You need to look at the big picture, McPhee, McVeigh, Lovett etc are guns when they are on, Dyson is always ordinary. I would have thought that Winderlichs return would have spelt automatic delisting for sure for Ricky.
BomberFan_23
20 Apr 2009, 12:05
Ummm we would get SFA. Considering trading Laycock before we have any idea about Bellchambers and Bock is an absurd notion anyway.
Oh and McPhee is comfortably in our best 18 and oneof our better players. He had abad game yesterday as did about 12of his mates. But yeah leats trade him because of it. :D:thumbsu:
Mcphee is not a forward. all australian half back. someone tell that to knights. If you still think laycock will come good your dreaming!
Lucky we don't have you as a coach cos we wouldn't get far! :confused:
BomberFan_23
20 Apr 2009, 12:09
did anyone else see knights give a 5 min serve to Mcphee at 3 qtr time on the wkend? and to put in a 4th qtr like he did was a dissapointment!
james_omahoney
20 Apr 2009, 12:15
Mcphee is not a forward. all australian half back. someone tell that to knights. If you still think laycock will come good your dreaming!
Despite the dropped marks, McPhee's been better for us up forward than he was down back.
BomberFan_23
20 Apr 2009, 12:21
Despite the dropped marks, McPhee's been better for us up forward than he was down back.
well thats your opinion.;)
SirJimi05
20 Apr 2009, 12:43
Not a forward? Did you wacth us at all last season? He played CHF during Lucas' absence and did a great job. He was one of our best forwards last season.
And did i say that i think Laycock is going to come good? I merelypointed out that he is still a far better option than Bellchambers and Bock. You would like to trade out our second best Ruckman and leave two untried and unproven kids as our second choice ruckman? Lucky you are not our list manager cos we would be doomed for the next 15 years!
did anyone else see knights give a 5 min serve to Mcphee at 3 qtr time on the wkend? and to put in a 4th qtr like he did was a dissapointment!
Errr yeah he was asking McPhee about the interchange fiasco. Hardly a serve. Big deal. :rolleyes:
I didn't notice that, so was it McPhee's fault? Did he go on too early?
eth-dog
20 Apr 2009, 13:35
I didn't notice that, so was it McPhee's fault? Did he go on too early?
yeah it was McPhee, we were right in front of it and he got up, ran on and didn't realize Stanton hadn't gotten off
Im sure Terry Wallace is to blame.
Once Richmond fire him the world will come back into order :D
McPhee is an ordinary defender.
No good under pressure with the ball.
Continually does u turns or handballs to players under pressure.
Rarely kicks the footy forwards.
Average one on one spoiler.
And a Slow thinker.
Do yourself a favour and find out why he was an AA half back. It was becasue he was allowed to float around half back taking 10 ot 15 marks a game.
No that he seems to drop every second mark he is not an option to do that either. His AA form as a half back has been eclipsed by the very poor form he has shown as a defender in 2006, 2007 and 2008.
Until we have someone to replace his work rate he is better suited to half forward as at least he manages to kick a goal or two every week to make up for his countless McFumbles.
Skeeta Olly
20 Apr 2009, 16:35
The obvious spot is Dysons but Ricky has shown in the seniors this year that he does work both ways and is prepared to go in hard front on ( something that Houli does not like) . It is too bad becasue Houli is a much better player than Dyson but we can not simply load up the side with players who are going to run around with scant regard to their opponent which is why Dyson has stayed in.
This is the point I'm trying to make.
while i know dyson isn't a great player i have to say, every time i saw him on screen he was tackling and putting pressure on north melbourne which tells me he's got more enthusiasm than some far more talented players have. (although i may have just managed to notice him on some rare occasions)
TheDon35
20 Apr 2009, 18:38
So because he wasn't the worst player in one of the worst team efforts i've seen from Essendon, you are justifying his position in the team.
Maybe he wasn't the worst on the ground but he was definately in the bottom handful.
His problem is that he's in the bottom handful every week and is almost the last player on our list that deserves a game given his opportunities and the form he's displayed (over his entire career).
At the moment Knights is giving him a game in the hope that he plays an ok game and justifies the faith he's shown in him... Poor coaching.
TheDon35
20 Apr 2009, 18:44
McPhee is an ordinary defender.
No good under pressure with the ball.
Continually does u turns or handballs to players under pressure.
Rarely kicks the footy forwards.
Average one on one spoiler.
And a Slow thinker.
Do yourself a favour and find out why he was an AA half back. It was becasue he was allowed to float around half back taking 10 ot 15 marks a game.
No that he seems to drop every second mark he is not an option to do that either. His AA form as a half back has been eclipsed by the very poor form he has shown as a defender in 2006, 2007 and 2008.
Until we have someone to replace his work rate he is better suited to half forward as at least he manages to kick a goal or two every week to make up for his countless McFumbles.
Honest question then. Do you think he should be in the side?
Are the one or two goals he kicks of more benefit to us than the harm his countless dropped marks, fumbles and turnovers create?
Would we be better off long term giving his spot to someone like Williams or Hooker who are suited to a similar roll (Hooker more so in defence)?
Lance Uppercut
20 Apr 2009, 20:13
he doesn't have the heart. It's quite obvious.
Not only that, but he has that Bradley-esque habit of fumbling or turning over at crucial times. I'm not saying he's the only one, but he does it time and time again.
We stuck with some awful big spuds for a long time. Ricky's had enough time to prove himself, and he hasn't, repeatedly
HULK HOGAN
20 Apr 2009, 20:25
Not only that, but he has that Bradley-esque habit of fumbling or turning over at crucial times. I'm not saying he's the only one, but he does it time and time again.
We stuck with some awful big spuds for a long time. Ricky's had enough time to prove himself, and he hasn't, repeatedly
Should we bring Jetta in Lance:D
upanddown
20 Apr 2009, 20:36
Hey ****heads Nash is the best kick in our team. Dyson has also been playing alright this season. Essendon we will most games this year if they don't play Lovett-Murray or Jetta it's a simple equation
Hey ****heads Nash is the best kick in our team.
We suck more than I ever realised.
Jihad_Jimmy
20 Apr 2009, 20:47
I can no longer sit aside and watch everyone bash Ricky Dyson and NOT JOIN IN...
He is the biggest hack on our list... Actually, he is one of the biggest hacks on our list, sorry Laycock...
I just watched the Essendon Vs Kangaroos game again to make sure that what I say is accurate and believe me guys it is...
I ask every fellow Essendon supporter to watch any Essendon game in which Ricky Dyson has played and lookout for the following -
In any piece of play where he is involved we either -
Turn the ball over
A goal gets scored against us or
A team mate of his gets crunshed (usually due to his poor decision making)
Now this rule is also applicable to Adam Mcphee...
Just watch and you will see...
EssendonPride
21 Apr 2009, 10:23
Hey ****heads Nash is the best kick in our team. Dyson has also been playing alright this season. Essendon we will most games this year if they don't play Lovett-Murray or Jetta it's a simple equation
correction. Nash LOOKS like he should be the best kick in our team.
Turns it over far too much for it to be a reality.
I'm probably one of the few that thinks he's still a chance to make it. In his foots defense, it's probably his brain that lets him down moreso than his kicking.
SirJimi05
21 Apr 2009, 12:28
Hey ****heads Nash is the best kick in our team.
Please never comment on anything related to aussie rules ever again in your life.
BomberFan_23
21 Apr 2009, 18:12
Errr yeah he was asking McPhee about the interchange fiasco. Hardly a serve. Big deal. :rolleyes:
oh was that you standing next to them? wow what else did they say? can you get in the coaches box aswell?:rolleyes:
eth-dog
21 Apr 2009, 18:25
oh was that you standing next to them? wow what else did they say? can you get in the coaches box aswell?:rolleyes:
he said it in the press conference, apparently
SirJimi05
21 Apr 2009, 18:51
Listen mate, i know you are intent on being a smart arse but aleast try not look like a fool when doing so.
Knights was asked in the press conference what the discussion was about and he said he was quizzing McPhee about what happened with the interchange free kick.
If you actually view the footage again you will see that Knights is actually laughing at one stage. Hardly the 5 minute spray he supposedly gave him for his insipid performance.
Ok, back in your hole now champ. :thumbsu:
My Pizza came out of the oven slightly burnt. I blame you Ricky, DAMN YOU DYSON, DAMN YOU TO HELL!!!
What's that boy? I should read the OP next time. Good dog, you're a good dog, yes you are.
Here_we_come
21 Apr 2009, 21:21
A suggestion to the OP: spend more time back in school rather than wasting time on bigfooty. Your grammar is simply appalling.
Another note, have you ever stopped to think that perhaps the reason so many people say Dyson is 'no good' is because there may be some truth behind it?
Everybody has their minds made up that Dyson is no good and that is it, the same people are under some illusion that Myers and Jetta are guns when they have shown even less. Watching him this season it's obvious he is actually one of the players that is prepared to put his head down and win the ball for the team, not saying he is anywhere near our best players, but he definitely hasn't been one of the worst this year.
Lance Uppercut
22 Apr 2009, 10:09
Everybody has their minds made up that Dyson is no good and that is it, the same people are under some illusion that Myers and Jetta are guns when they have shown even less.
bullshit. Who is saying they are guns? They have potential to be, and yes, they could be flops. You however neglect to consider the fact that Dyson is in his 6th year, whereas Myers and Jetta are in their 2nd and 3rd respectively.
Dyson has played 64 odd games, Jetta 23ish and Myers 10.
Let's compare apples with apples, shall we? :rolleyes:
The Donners
22 Apr 2009, 10:34
Dyson has played nearly 70 games for the EFC. I reckon I'd have a couple of digits spare if I counted the number of good games he's played on 1 hand.
Lance i disagee about Dyson not having the heart.
This year he has shown a lot of heart. He has been prepared to tackle , put his body in at the contest and push in front of marking contests when he knows he will get hit.
His problem is he is just an average player.
Lance Uppercut
22 Apr 2009, 10:50
This year he has shown a lot of heart. He has been prepared to tackle , put his body in at the contest and push in front of marking contests when he knows he will get hit.
I agree that he's been harder at it this year, but I noticed on a few occasions on the weekend where his second efforts just weren't good enough.
You know far more about the effort he puts in than me though, no doubt
Honest question then. Do you think he should be in the side?
Are the one or two goals he kicks of more benefit to us than the harm his countless dropped marks, fumbles and turnovers create?
Would we be better off long term giving his spot to someone like Williams or Hooker who are suited to a similar roll (Hooker more so in defence)?
Should he be in the side. Well i do not think he is part of the long term solution but you can not simply throw someone into the side to develop them for the future if their form is not good enough with Bendigo.
Like i said the trouble is non of the younger brigade are ready to play the same role which includes being able to cover large amounts of ground during the game.
There is no chance Williams could do it. He has done virtually nothing for Bendigo. The best he has played was one game as a lead up FF where he kicked 2.2. I have serious doubts on Williams being the solution to anything.
You could look at playing Hooker in defence. His form over the last couple of weeks is looking better. That would leave yo to move maybe Daniher to play that half fowrad role which could work.
I think that the injury to Laycock and the average form of Bellchambers hurts us a bit becasue i would like to see Ryder playing as a forward. At the moment he gets a run up forward but it is as a resting ruckman so it is a slightly different role.
I just think that we have to tread water with McPhee this year becasue you can not expect first or second year players to fill the postion. That roving tall half forward role needs midfield stamina to pull it off. At the moment the others are simply not ready.
I agree that he's been harder at it this year, but I noticed on a few occasions on the weekend where his second efforts just weren't good enough.
At the end of the day we both agree he has had enough time and that he should be delisted at the end of the year.
Heart or no heart he is an average player.
The Donners
22 Apr 2009, 11:03
I agree, I think he's tried really hard this season, I think at times he's looked worse than he actually has been due to lack of workrate from his teammates.
Lance Uppercut
22 Apr 2009, 11:06
At the end of the day we both agree he has had enough time and that he should be delisted at the end of the year.
Heart or no heart he is an average player.
yep, absolutely. It's a shame, but that's footy
The Donners
22 Apr 2009, 11:09
One of the moments in the game that has stuck in my head was actually a moment when Essendon were kicking towards the Lockett end in the third term and it was Dyson's second effort that I was really happy with. We were across half forward, he was under pressure, coughed it up and then chased it down again.
I've mentioned elsewhere that there were times Dyson had the ball across half-forward and there was no one in Essendon's forward 50 for Dyson to kick to. It's moments like these that leaves a bad impression on Dyson by some Essendon supporters and it's unfair - not suggesting you LU, I'm just airing.
The Donners
22 Apr 2009, 11:16
Move Daniher to play that half forward role.
You think that's Knights' long term plan for Daniher after playing him at full-back? A plan perhaps to instill defensive aspects to his game before moving him up forward?
I was thinking that perhaps he's being played at full-back so he's got defensive capabilities as well as run for when he plays at half-back - but you could be onto something here Ant! Inside word or just gut feeling?
Perhaps to play the McPhee role across half-forward moving ahead?
kelvin_sheedy
22 Apr 2009, 11:22
The thing with Dyson is he does not have any core strength and his second efforts are so fatigued.
He is generally quick but can't get away from guys because he doesn't have the sustained power. He also can't break a tackle or free his hands to get a disposal away.. this is critical in today's game.
It's probably just genetics more than anything else.
The thing with Dyson is he does not have any core strength and his second efforts are so fatigued.
He is generally quick but can't get away from guys because he doesn't have the sustained power. He also can't break a tackle or free his hands to get a disposal away.. this is critical in today's game.
It's probably just genetics more than anything else.
I agree with your point about breaking a tackle and getting his hands free.
Can you imagine if Ablett or Judd ( we are talking about elite ) couldn't dispose of the ball effectively, whilst standing in a tackle.
stugots
22 Apr 2009, 15:52
good to see some on here finally realizing that monfries has been & still is way overrated
nothing against the bloke per say but like many others his best is not seen anywhere near enough
the rebuild is underway but weve a long long way to go & another cleanout needs to occur end of this season (mcfee, dyson, monfries, slattery for starters), regardless of the compromised draft
Colin D'Cops
22 Apr 2009, 16:04
No that he seems to drop every second mark he is not an option to do that either.
Ant555 I think you're being a little harsh here.
McPhee still has nice hands; Lovely overhead. He just doesn't have the confidence or belief up forward that we were used of seeing when he was playing that sweeping HB role. I'm sure he'd do a superb job as that quarter back again, though we're not in a position to switch and change because we have to nail the basics first. Get the basics right; Then we can experiment a little. As you said, his work rate is still great so I see no reason why he couldn't match his AA days if he indeed switched to HB.
eth-dog
22 Apr 2009, 17:40
good to see some on here finally realizing that monfries has been & still is way overrated
nothing against the bloke per say but like many others his best is not seen anywhere near enough
the rebuild is underway but weve a long long way to go & another cleanout needs to occur end of this season (mcfee, dyson, monfries, slattery for starters), regardless of the compromised draft
His best is very good though. even when he doesn't perform at his best, it's because he's got a bloody good defender on him. and he always gets an assist or two in the game
On the clean-out, you have NFI. McPhee is not going anywhere, he is very important to our forward line structure. Dyson I agree with. Monfries is also important to our structure, and if we get rid of Slattery, who will take the small forward. he is a pivotal part of our defence, who would take the Lindsay Thomas', Cyril Rioli's, Leon Davis', among others. our defence would completely collapse
stugots
22 Apr 2009, 19:47
well if you think knights will continue to put up with this on again off again bullshit from players that should be amongst those leading the way, then mate you have NFI
obviously i hope the players i have mentioned get their acts together & potentially difficult decisions can be avoided, but if not, then bad luck, get what we can for them & move on
The Donners
22 Apr 2009, 20:07
On the clean-out, you have NFI. McPhee is not going anywhere, he is very important to our forward line structure.
I get the impression that Knights is simply waiting for something better to come along with regards to McPhee. How many times did he get dragged against North?
bipolarbeaR
22 Apr 2009, 20:15
I believe Knights keeps Dyson and Nash because when on song they are both VERY good kicks, our side lacks good kicking ability, If we start winning games consistently who knows what these two are capable of?....
I am so full of it.
I think Dyson has been pretty poor this year but if he comes back from a spell in the seconds as good as Nick Dal Santo did last year for the saints I'll be over the moon for him.
EssendonPride
24 Apr 2009, 08:14
I think Dyson has been pretty poor this year but if he comes back from a spell in the seconds as good as Nick Dal Santo did last year for the saints I'll be over the moon for him.
....:rolleyes:
SirJimi05
24 Apr 2009, 09:35
Nicky Dal can play football.
Your comment is as stupid as Pie supporters saying that if Leroy Brown can do aMedhurst and be as good as him they will be happy. He also cant play football.
Those defending Dyson are right that he does have a crack but thgis is not good enough when you are such a bad footballer. I can go watch local division 4 footy and see plenty of bad footballers having a crack.
This is the AFL people.
wow, some VERY harsh criticism of the Essendon players. As much as i absolutely hate supporters choosing to bag the players before any positive comments, some are fair and justified. I'd like to throw out the question "who were the stand out payers against North?" it was a great team effort in playing bad.
So i suppose this is a bad time to put the feelers out there on my sale of an official 2008 Training Guernsey of Ricky Dyson?
IMO he will have few weeks in the magoo's and come back with some mad skillz and rake in the possessions.
Boucks09
24 Apr 2009, 19:47
I wonder what Ricky's odds are the for the ANZAC Medal? Wouldn't THAT be something!
Slattery_20
24 Apr 2009, 23:08
yep, absolutely. It's a shame, but that's footy
Just sad when a) people have to get personal. Not good enough, probably, shithouse? Better than all of us put together. & b) Were slagging him when he did play well
I don't think this is the last game he's played. He'll bob up later in the year, but really needs to show something ASAP.
Slattery_20
24 Apr 2009, 23:11
I get the impression that Knights is simply waiting for something better to come along with regards to McPhee. How many times did he get dragged against North?
Agree
If someone threw us a nice deal, IMHO he's not untouchable. But required as of now. Very hard worker at the least, seems we struggle to find those.
white_noise
25 Apr 2009, 05:39
I wonder what Ricky's odds are the for the ANZAC Medal? Wouldn't THAT be something!
$31
Get on Dempsey at $26 I reckon
Well, at least we can blame someone if we lose today now!
Skeeta Olly
25 Apr 2009, 17:20
Well...
:)
Would had won easily if Dyson didn't play
:p That 2nd goal was so kick-arse
BurnleyBomber
25 Apr 2009, 17:22
Ricky was in our best today, no arguement. He showed dash and poise for the first time in his career. Good on him. He done good. He done real good ;)
Ricky Dyson take a bow. TBH I wanted this guy gone at the end of last year, but he's proven why Knights has had so much faith in him.
Lets hope he can build from this and forge himself as a 100 - 150 game player for our club.
Interesting that injuries to possibly 2 of our most important players has given way to 2 potentially career defining games in Dyson and Ryder.
Can Opener
25 Apr 2009, 17:33
The guy gets my support. The amount of abuse from essendon supporters which this guy gets......which is disgracefull, (seriously you dont start threads on your own players about how shit they are) im glad to see the guy play a good game, and kick a brilliant last quarter goal from the boundary, and lets not be naieve he would be aware of the back stabbing essendon supporters are too him. he may not be a star or the best player but all bomber players should be supported by their supporters!!
loopy_cam
25 Apr 2009, 17:44
Dyson > Rich. ;)
white_noise
25 Apr 2009, 18:28
Legend
AndyLesPaul
25 Apr 2009, 18:31
Originally Posted by AndyLesPaul
Dyson is a massive dudOm nom nom
Dyson doesnt even have a positionHe does now :P
infact, Dyson is the new laycockHopefully i have to eat my words about laycock too
dare i say i have to eat my words.
Can Opener
25 Apr 2009, 19:38
i realise that noone has replied to my message, but even though ricky has far from made it in afl, and his still fighting for a spot on essendons list, can i just say the guy still deserves protection from the bomber faithful as any other player. he played a good game today, and needs to string a few games together to maintain his spot but there are enough guys from opposition teams to put him down without essendon supporters doing it. lets get behind him fellars cause we all want every essendon player to peform well.
white_noise
25 Apr 2009, 19:41
But if he plays well how do we fit McVeigh and Houli back in :eek:
:p I hope he piles on the possies next week and cements his place. Dyson for the Brownlow
Mighty_bombers
25 Apr 2009, 20:56
arhh least there was one Essendon fan that stuck up for Dyson and he backed me up thanks dyson
still want him dropped people ???
ManWithNoName
25 Apr 2009, 20:57
Calling Dyson shit doesn't mean we're blaming him for the loss. Just means we're calling him shit. Which he was. Immensly shit. He should never again play for the Essendon Football Club.
This is why I'm not on the selection committee. More games like this please Ricky.
arhh least there was one Essendon fan that stuck up for Dyson and he backed me up thanks dyson
I was with you.
Skeeta Olly
25 Apr 2009, 21:41
Obviously you haven't read my posts throughout the season.
Immensely happy for the guy.
All the talk's been about Zaka's goal, but Ricky Dyson's effort before it was absolutely magical.
He had the mental side of his game right today, and played well in accordance.
Now it's time to back it up.
I blame Ricky Dyson for keeping us in the game with a couple of minutes to go with a fantastic goal from the boundary.
Jonesy1987
26 Apr 2009, 01:47
Gladly eat my words, sensational today. Maybe we should drop him and bring him an as emergency every week. Its only one week, hears hoping he can string some together, never the less absolute champion today.
kelvin_sheedy
26 Apr 2009, 09:31
Best game I've seen him play. He actually looked like a footballer that knew what to do and was confident with his abilities.
He needs have to back it up though.... actually he needs about 10 of those games a season not 1.