View Full Version : Has Paddy Ryder improved at all the past 2 years?

Pages : [1] 2

dave_27
20 Apr 2009, 10:28
Honestly am I being too hasty in expecting more from a bloke taken very early who is now in his 4th year at the club?

Has he improved at all in the past 2 years?

He still jumps early at ruck contests, and does NOTHING around the ground. Has he got no fitness at all or does he not have the brain to run to the right spots to receive the ball or provide an option.

Shows no ****in intensity or will to get involved at all. Coasts around the ground content with his handful of touches a game and looking like a innocent bystander up forward.

Maybe I am going over the top and need to pull my head in but I expected more from Ryder.

High Ryder
20 Apr 2009, 10:46
Probably hasn't come on to the extent we expected. Thats only because we rate his potential so highly... Maybe he'll never be the player we thought he could be?

Thrust
20 Apr 2009, 10:51
He improved enormously, in the 2007/2008 preseason, becoming a key in our defence for 2008. Doesn't seem to have improved much at all this preseason though.

TechnoViking
20 Apr 2009, 12:13
Need to leave him in the one position, he gets thrown around too much in different positions.

Leave him up front, bring Bellchambers in, then make an assessment.

kelvin_sheedy
20 Apr 2009, 12:15
A little but not enough.

The problem with him is he needs to be set a task. eg play CHB on a gun forward. He can then concentrate enough to be a really good player as shown on a number of occasions last year.

The downfall is he doesn't want to play defence as I read it and thus has to go ruck/forward.

He plays schoolyard footy with his mates when he should be playing AFL.

There was one passage in the last which pretty much sums him up at the moment. He got the ball outside of the defensive 50 and gave it to one of our guys and then got it back and had to push forward and make the play. He stopped, thought about giving it back but realised he was clear and then just heaved it forward after trying to work out what to do.

He needst to start getting his possession rate up and maybe even getting some cheapies. Get him used to having the ball in his hands a lot more often.

dave_27
20 Apr 2009, 12:53
Honestly I just think this bloke needs the biggest cracker ever put up someones ass in history.

daffo
20 Apr 2009, 13:09
I agree, I was expecting more of an improvment, but he is improving. Compare him to other KPP's that are his age. (T.Cloke etc) They do take a bit longer to come along. Hopefully he will continue to improve.

I know Buddy is around that age too, but he is a freak.

PressureCooker
20 Apr 2009, 13:30
Honestly I just think this bloke needs the biggest cracker ever put up someones ass in history.

Wonder if we could get a two-for-one deal on this cracker. Leroy requires one ASAP!

loopy_cam
20 Apr 2009, 13:59
Wonder if we could get a two-for-one deal on this cracker. Leroy requires one ASAP!

Add Chook to that list.

bomberstomake8
20 Apr 2009, 14:21
Need to leave him in the one position, he gets thrown around too much in different positions.

i agree a lot with that.

if we want him forward play him strictly forward
however just watching the first half of the games yesterday and just a few of the spoils he made when following players into defence against the likes of petrie hale and mcintosh makes me realise how valuable he was down there.

the problem i think we have is we are a really tall defender short, we have no-one to play on players like hale, buddy etc as our 3 future key defenders are all 192cm tall. it means we can get exploited by many forwards with substantial height but also the resting ruckmen

ant555
20 Apr 2009, 15:41
I have to say i have some reservations about his intensity.
As far as his ruck work goes , well he has hardly played in the ruck before this season so it would be rather hard to improve on his center bounce work.

As a defender he has no defensive thoughts. Never bothers to stand close to his opponent or put an arm out to hold him back. The only reason he has got by as a defender is through his athletic ability and his good leap.

EVERLAST
20 Apr 2009, 15:57
Is almost on par with our other muppet Laycock.

Don Envy
20 Apr 2009, 15:59
I think a lot of Essendon people on BF talk up players we've drafted only to be disappointed when they don't come on as expected and unfortunately at Bomberland we've got a lot of examples which probably explains why we're still regarded as a bottom 4 side.

A few examples from the past drafts;
2008: Hurley - too early to tell, but fingers crossed this one will be worthy of his status as a #5 pick;

2007: Myers - again too early to tell, however from what I've seen so far, I'm not convinced he'll be the star people were making him out to be;

2006: Gumby, Jetta, Davey Houli and Reimers - I've listed all our draftees here as this was the superdraft that we supposedly were the best performed of. Gumby: unfortunately we may never find out how good this guy is (while Selwood may win a brownlow in the next couple of years - I know hindsignt), Jetta: I was so wrapped we got this guy on draft day and I'm so disapointed in what he's given us so far. I really thought we had an Andrew McLeod on our hands with him. Davey: has shown the most and should be a success provided he can stop getting injured. Houli: big wraps on him but he hasn't shown much yet to the point where he can't even get a game in a crap side. Reimers: looked good last year, but no PS this year means he will be a write off in 2009. Hopefully he doesn't turn out to be a one season wonder.

2005:Paddy Ryder - superstar who was originally touted to be the Buddy Franklin of the backline. Say no more...

2004: Angus Monfries - good player but not a 1st round pick

2003: Kepler Bradley - my mum always says if you don't have anything nice to say, then say nothing at all.

Bottom line is that we build up our draftees as being potential superstars, but sadly at the moment we are one of very few AFl sides who does not have a genuine superstar in it.

KING-JAMES
20 Apr 2009, 16:11
Not that I could see it happening, and mind you I'm a massive fan of paddy and think structure wise he is very important but if he was to continue coasting around would it ever be possible that the club would send him down to Bendigo and make him stamp all his ability on on a game or two instead of being a week in week out best 22 player. Dont shut me down because I'm not suggesting we do this but just curious if the club would ever consider it to get the best out of him? Its possible his content with his output at the moment but IMO he could be so much more.

Perhaps the club would fear he wouldn't response well to it? Even some of the best players have gone back to the 2nds before, it gave Shannon Grant a massive kick up the arse to reignite his career a few years back.

Once again dont shoot this post down its a mere question not what I'm saying we should do.

Vtorians
20 Apr 2009, 16:29
:confused:Not that I could see it happening, and mind you I'm a massive fan of paddy and think structure wise he is very important but if he was to continue coasting around would it ever be possible that the club would send him down to Bendigo and make him stamp all his ability on on a game or two instead of being a week in week out best 22 player. Dont shut me down because I'm not suggesting we do this but just curious if the club would ever consider it to get the best out of him? Its possible his content with his output at the moment but IMO he could be so much more.

Perhaps the club would fear he wouldn't response well to it? Even some of the best players have gone back to the 2nds before, it gave Shannon Grant a massive kick up the arse to reignite his career a few years back.

Once again dont shoot this post down its a mere question not what I'm saying we should do.

If we had better depth a 1/2 dozen of them including ryder should be cooling their heels at bendigo

Enki
20 Apr 2009, 16:50
While Ryder certainly seems to lack intensity and is a valid target of discussion, the title of this thread is quite embarassing.

hateitorlovett13
20 Apr 2009, 16:54
Yeah, Nah. He hasn't improved at all, get rid of the shitcarter. We lost, so everyone else should be axed too.

Lloyd6969
20 Apr 2009, 17:05
he has been in defence as a tall defender for his whole career before this year. his disposals this year have been in single figures but he needs time to adjust to his new role as a backup ruckman, espacially being so young. and you cant expect him too much of him 4 rounds into the season.

Ben the Gooner
20 Apr 2009, 17:50
To be fair to him, I don't think he's a defender, and he's only had three games as a ruckman/forward.

He needs to be given a job as a forward, and given a chance (for 6 weeks or so) to show what he can do there.

Hirdman
20 Apr 2009, 19:07
We need so much from Paddy, with our lack of a second ruckman, with our young KPD's and with our old KPF's and the loss of Gumbleton and the poor output from Neagle. He is just so important to our future and to our present.

Paddy just flirts with us, can show poise under pressure, can take a lovely grab, can kick the ball beautifully - just doesnt seem to care and thats a worrying sign from a kid we need so very badly!

Has he ever got more than 12 possessions in a game?

Tambu
20 Apr 2009, 20:07
Play Ryder at CHF. Use Lucas as a decoy, he can take the best/2nd best defender away from the action. Ryder can then take the 3rd best.

HF: Lucas, Ryder, Monfries
F: Davey, Lloyd, Jetta

I reckon if we keep that structure it could gel quite well. But it all comes down to our mids delivering the footy properly.

centurion
20 Apr 2009, 21:20
Ryder can do it all. The only thing he lacks is mongrel.

That's the difference between realising your potential or not.

Smyth94
20 Apr 2009, 21:45
The bloke is 21...the way people carry on about what Paddy "should" be is unrealistic - If he's still the same at 24 then fair enough but for now he's still got some physical development to go.

bomberstomake8
20 Apr 2009, 22:08
The bloke is 21...the way people carry on about what Paddy "should" be is unrealistic - If he's still the same at 24 then fair enough but for now he's still got some physical development to go.

exactly people on this forum are pathetic. he is 21 and still needs to put a massive amount of weight on if he is to be a ruckmen,

he has been up against lade, brogan, sandilands and mcintosh (who is pretty big), he would give a hell of a lot of kgs to them which has a huge influence on ruck duels

stay true
21 Apr 2009, 02:23
So who's up for review after our next loss?

Chops_a_must
21 Apr 2009, 04:39
Reminds me so much of Michael Johnson it isn't funny...

dave_27
21 Apr 2009, 09:06
So who's up for review after our next loss?

Monfries.

He is insipid unless we're playing Carlton.

thebigboy
21 Apr 2009, 09:24
Is almost on par with our other muppet Laycock.

You are stupid right?

ant555
21 Apr 2009, 14:14

exactly people on this forum are pathetic. he is 21 and still needs to put a massive amount of weight on if he is to be a ruckmen,

he has been up against lade, brogan, sandilands and mcintosh (who is pretty big), he would give a hell of a lot of kgs to them which has a huge influence on ruck duels

The thread has nothing to do with what he should be.
It simply asks has he shown any improvement since 2007.

The fact that i say i have question marks on him is not pathetic. Why do i have to follow the crowd and say he is a "gun" simply becasue he has sown some potential.

The facts are simple. To be a good player he has to play with more intensity and so far as a defender he has got by on athletic ability and leap.

I have not said he should be doing it now. It is about what he needs to do to become that good player when he is 24.

**** me heaven help us if we ever suggest that a few of the golden childs could imporove in certain areas :rolleyes:

kelvin_sheedy
21 Apr 2009, 14:48
**** me heaven help us if we ever suggest that a few of the golden childs could imporove in certain areas :rolleyes:

A word of warning.. don't mention anything bad about David Myers or you will get lynched here and be thought of in the same manner as myself.

I'm sure you wouldn't want that. ;)

ant555
21 Apr 2009, 15:24
A word of warning.. don't mention anything bad about David Myers or you will get lynched here and be thought of in the same manner as myself.

Well im not going out on your limb and declaring he wont make it but there are things he has to improve.
Unlike most though i never expected he was Rhys Palmer. I always knew he was a player who would take 3 or 4 years before you could make a decent judgment on him.

Kong
21 Apr 2009, 17:35

I'm sure you wouldn't want that. ;)I'm afraid it takes far more than questioning David Myers for someone to be compared to you.

Smyth94
21 Apr 2009, 19:16
The thread has nothing to do with what he should be.
It simply asks has he shown any improvement since 2007.

The fact that i say i have question marks on him is not pathetic. Why do i have to follow the crowd and say he is a "gun" simply becasue he has sown some potential.

The facts are simple. To be a good player he has to play with more intensity and so far as a defender he has got by on athletic ability and leap.

I have not said he should be doing it now. It is about what he needs to do to become that good player when he is 24.

Definitely shown improvement since 2007 - he's been getting bigger jobs and been handed greater responsibility.

As for his time in the backline - You're not going to get any arguments from me. I agree his future lies as a forward/ruckman.

My point was that people expect Ryder to imrpove exponentially, a lot of players (especially KPP) plateau for a couple of seasons, and I believe this is what is happening to Ryder due to 1. Learning a new role and 2. Not having the requesite size to compete in his role

Lance Uppercut
21 Apr 2009, 20:16

mentioning an area a young player needs to improve is worlds apart from completely writing them off after less than 10 games ;)

yaco55
22 Apr 2009, 04:41
The problem with Ryder is that he is not involved in the game enough.

His target should be to receive a minumun of 4 or 5 handball receives per game to increase his involvement.

And for ' Gods sake ' EFC will be a better team because he is a good user of the ball.

Reading between the lines - I feel that the coaching staff are losing patience with Ryder.

Ants
23 Apr 2009, 06:01
Definitely shown improvement since 2007 - he's been getting bigger jobs and been handed greater responsibility.

As for his time in the backline - You're not going to get any arguments from me. I agree his future lies as a forward/ruckman.

My point was that people expect Ryder to imrpove exponentially, a lot of players (especially KPP) plateau for a couple of seasons, and I believe this is what is happening to Ryder due to 1. Learning a new role and 2. Not having the requesite size to compete in his role
The problem is intensity. In the ruck, its natural that he will struggle a bit. But he should kill most ruckmen around the ground, given his mobility, height and marking strength. Yet I doubt he averages more than 4 or 5 marks a game.

GmeUP
23 Apr 2009, 06:51
The problem is intensity. In the ruck, its natural that he will struggle a bit. But he should kill most ruckmen around the ground, given his mobility, height and marking strength. Yet I doubt he averages more than 4 or 5 marks a game.

Got it in 1.

All to often you see Ryder either standing around or putting on a half arsed effort to chase someone down when you know he's only giving 60% effort and is just waiting for the next play he is involved in.

Really pisses me off when you consider the inside work ruckmn with half his athletic ability do in their 2nd and 3rd efforts yet our athletic freak continues to lumber around like a bum.

Barry Zuckercorn
24 Apr 2009, 23:06

Hit the nail on the head.

I dont get to watch Essendon all that much but whenever I do, he seems to be playing a different role to when I last saw him.

I really rated this bloke early on but I have to say, he has been disappointing for a couple of years now.

Shane Hird
25 Apr 2009, 00:04
The problem with Ryder is that he is not involved in the game enough.

His target should be to receive a minumun of 4 or 5 handball receives per game to increase his involvement.

And for ' Gods sake ' EFC will be a better team because he is a good user of the ball.

Reading between the lines - I feel that the coaching staff are losing patience with Ryder.

LMAO yaco.....:rolleyes:

To all the bright sparks who think Paddy can be a forward: Forget it!

He was born for the backline. And a good one he will become.

Shane Hird
25 Apr 2009, 00:10
Ryder can do it all. The only thing he lacks is mongrel.
That's the difference between realising your potential or not.

i agree

He shows small amounts of aggression, but not enough for my liking.

The Donners
25 Apr 2009, 10:14
Personally, I'd put him up for trade at years end, if a club bites and offers a first round pick, I'd take it! ;)

Doesn't have the intensity for AFL football. Might be skilled etc. and probably trains well and looks $1m but as soon as he steps over the line he's as timid as a kitten.

He can't defend, can't ruck, can't take a contested mark, can take the odd spectacular grab... that is all.

Houli2Gumbleton
25 Apr 2009, 11:08
With Hooker pushing for a spot, does this mean that Ryder may be dropped? It may be good for him too. Instead of us trying to work out his best position at AFL level, why don't we let him do this in the VFL. Hooker has hown that he is a solid defender whilst playing for Bendigo. Knights stated that players will be in the team due to form. Doesn't look like it atm.

All I am sayig is Ryder should learn what position he is suited to in the VFL instead of the AFL. He is almost wasting a spot in the team.

Hurley, Hooker, Pears and Daniher have proved more in defense this year than Ryder has. So, this means Ryder must find another position which he is currently doing, but maybe not in AFL level.

Ben the Gooner
25 Apr 2009, 11:21
With Hooker pushing for a spot, does this mean that Ryder may be dropped?

Serious question - do you watch the games?

They're playing completely different positions.:rolleyes:

Spikey
25 Apr 2009, 11:23
I've learnt to ignore all users with 'Houli' in their usernames.

Houli2Gumbleton
25 Apr 2009, 11:46
Serious question - do you watch the games?

They're playing completely different positions.:rolleyes:

They don't have to necessarily play the same position. If Hooker comes in, the team might be quite too tall meaning another tall may be dropped.

Ben the Gooner
25 Apr 2009, 12:15
So you reckon 4 key defenders, and 2 key forwards?:rolleyes:

Houli2Gumbleton
25 Apr 2009, 12:19
So you reckon 4 key defenders, and 2 key forwards?:rolleyes:

I never said that all of Pears, Hooker, Daniher and Hurley should all play in the same team.

Lloyd and Lucas were at there best without too many talls clogging up the forward line. Hille pushes forward at times and McPhee plays like a tall. I have no problem with Ryder being tried up forward, but if he was to play there, he must NOT move to any other position. He should either play as a key forward for the whole match or find his best position at Bendigo.

Ben the Gooner
25 Apr 2009, 12:34
So that means that, were Hooker to come in, we'd be dropping one of Pears, Daniher and Fletcher for him.

Which makes Ryder irrelevant to your comment.

Houli2Gumbleton
25 Apr 2009, 12:48
So that means that, were Hooker to come in, we'd be dropping one of Pears, Daniher and Fletcher for him.

Which makes Ryder irrelevant to your comment.

Ryder should be dropped if he continues to play this shit role that he is currently playing if Hooker is brought in. If Ryder goes forward, then no.

Ben the Gooner
25 Apr 2009, 12:53
I never said that all of Pears, Hooker, Daniher and Hurley should all play in the same team.

Ryder should be dropped if he continues to play this shit role that he is currently playing if Hooker is brought in. If Ryder goes forward, then no.

:cool::cool::cool:

:rolleyes:

Houli2Gumbleton
25 Apr 2009, 12:55
:cool::cool::cool:

:rolleyes:

i never said that pears, daniher and hruley were already playing:D

Spikey
25 Apr 2009, 17:00
Hero

KaaN10
25 Apr 2009, 17:03
Has Ryder improved at all the past 2 years?

Let Collingwood answer that.

Flawed Genius
25 Apr 2009, 17:05
Went alright today.

Nicko_
25 Apr 2009, 17:08
Went alright today.

Understatement much

RM_3
25 Apr 2009, 17:10
I reckon he would have struggled to do what he did today 2 years ago.

:p

CASS1
25 Apr 2009, 17:17
um. yes.
today was awesome

KING-JAMES
25 Apr 2009, 17:20
Thats what can happen when you let him loose! bloody stoked

Spikey
25 Apr 2009, 17:23
Quite obviously the best ever game played by a ruckman

Don't even know if I'm joking tbh

KnightRider
25 Apr 2009, 17:26
I blame this thread! I think with some support paddy can step up to the no.1 ruck position this year and be really damaging. The 13 tackles is what really impressed me today.

loopy_cam
25 Apr 2009, 17:38
I think we can safely say...

Maybe. :p

Flawed Genius
25 Apr 2009, 17:39
understatement much

duh do you think so sdfsdf

FandangoDingo
25 Apr 2009, 17:47
Answer the critics much?? Giddyup!!

He showed an intensity today which I thought was the only thing lacking.

:D :D :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :D :D

Hope he remembers and retains that feeling of confidence he showed today.
Should become a superstar!

Ben the Gooner
25 Apr 2009, 18:18
Bump.

I'm going to start the "Has Ricky Dyson improved at all the past 2 years?" thread, the "Has Jason Laycock improved at all the past 2 years?" thread, the "Has Henry Slattery improved at all the past 2 years?" thread etc.

AndyLesPaul
25 Apr 2009, 18:21
Bump.

I'm going to start the "Has Ricky Dyson improved at all the past 2 years?" thread, the "Has Jason Laycock improved at all the past 2 years?" thread, the "Has Henry Slattery improved at all the past 2 years?" thread etc.
dw BtG with Dyson, he had a good game today :D

and i agree
if ever we feel theres a player thats not doing well enough we need to start a thread critisizing them,
and they'll make us eat our words :D

Ben the Gooner
25 Apr 2009, 18:23
dw BtG with Dyson, he had a good game today :D

Except for the clangers, such as the kick straight onto the tit of the bloke in Row F of the members.

If he can cut that out of his game, he'll be a best 22 player.

big_slick
25 Apr 2009, 18:32
I'm still hysterical, just got home from the game, but BANG! Someone has just announced themselves on the football scene. I and every other Essendon supporter would love to see you back up today's effort Paddy, you were a star.

white_noise
25 Apr 2009, 18:40
Ryder is a dud, cant believe he won the medal, did nothing all day. Where is the Anzac spirit!!! :rolleyes:
Hopes people can see the sarcasm....Awesome game mate!!!

Johnny619
25 Apr 2009, 18:44
He must of been reading this thread...

AndyLesPaul
25 Apr 2009, 18:49
Except for the clangers, such as the kick straight onto the tit of the bloke in Row F of the members.

If he can cut that out of his game, he'll be a best 22 player.
Oh yeah, that was the only outright clanger i noticed.

But did make up for it by kicking two goals though.

Ben the Gooner
25 Apr 2009, 18:52
Oh yeah, that was the only outright clanger i noticed.

But did make up for it by kicking two outstanding goals though.

EFA. :thumbsu:

Skeeta Olly
25 Apr 2009, 18:56

Last one was outstanding.

and to Ryder. Wow.

AndyLesPaul
25 Apr 2009, 18:57
EFA? :S lol

dave_27
25 Apr 2009, 19:02
This thread was the rocket up the ass he needed. :D

Fair call if you want to have a go at me, I just wanted him to to really show he wanted to be out their, display some intensity and get involved. His 13 tackles certainly display that. :thumbsu:

Ben the Gooner
25 Apr 2009, 19:02
Edited for Accuracy.

Houli2Gumbleton
25 Apr 2009, 19:21
I am going to be the first to say that i was a ******** around 6 hours ago. It is good to see that Ryder showed brilliant signs that he has what it takes to be an excellent ruckman. Well done Paddy, you certainly deserved the medal.

Valve Bounce
25 Apr 2009, 19:54
I think we can safely say...

Maybe. :p

Yeah!! I am inclined to believe so. :p

gdaytiger2001
25 Apr 2009, 20:30
I thin it's time to close this thread, i think patty answered this question himself today.

Kong
25 Apr 2009, 21:15
I thin it's time to close this thread, i think patty answered this question himself today.I think everyone should enjoy the "he certainly has!" posts for a little while, yet. I'll close it when it's run its race.

efcskip47
25 Apr 2009, 21:40
I blame this thread! I think with some support paddy can step up to the no.1 ruck position this year and be really damaging. The 13 tackles is what really impressed me today.

Correct. As much as hilly is a champion workhorse, maybe this is a blessing for paddy can now play his preferred position. The kid needs to add a few kgs to that frame tho. Has a great leap, but gets beaten by strength.

GoDons
25 Apr 2009, 22:13
The heart of this bloke today was incredible, and it's that that I've been craving. Absolutely worked his socks off, and the way he celebrated his goal in the last was lovely to watch.

The Ryder era awaits if he can carry on from that.

Lance Uppercut
25 Apr 2009, 23:23
once again the myopic, short-term view on a good young player has been proven emphatically wrong!!!

Paddy Ryder: has all the tools, and who questioned his heart?????????

Go Ryder!!! ****ing start!

B-Bomber
26 Apr 2009, 01:13
He was good-solid as a CHB but we can see that for him to ever push into that elite/champion category, it is as a ruckman. A ruckman who can play all over the ground of course, but with the primary duty of ruck.

white_noise
26 Apr 2009, 01:31
And how friggen modest is the boy. Hearing his Interview after the game, it was as if he played a ok sorta game in a 100+ point win. The kid needs to loosen up and say " Shit yeah, I had a great game"

GmeUP
26 Apr 2009, 08:54
Well I think he definitely found that intensity he has been lacking now if he can reproduce that for the next 20 weeks I think we can safely say he has improved a hell of alot. However let me remind you all of a past ANZAC medallist cough* Jason Laycock cough* sometimes the big games bring out the best in some average players cough* Mark McGough cough*

Schmick
26 Apr 2009, 09:07
Thought he had slightly improved in that time before the ANZAC game, but after seeing his performance yesterday, most definately :)

AndyLesPaul
26 Apr 2009, 09:21
Well I think he definitely found that intensity he has been lacking now if he can reproduce that for the next 20 weeks I think we can safely say he has improved a hell of alot. However let me remind you all of a past ANZAC medallist cough* Jason Laycock cough* sometimes the big games bring out the best in some average players cough* Mark McGough cough*
Laycock wasnt a ANZAC medallist :P
and McGough just wasnt good enough
I'm quite sure it was raining in 2002 aswell.

GmeUP
26 Apr 2009, 09:39
Laycock wasnt a ANZAC medallist :P
and McGough just wasnt good enough
I'm quite sure it was raining in 2002 aswell.

Think your right :o he was runner-up to Lovett maybe sometime around the Hird vs umpires debacle which may well have cost him that ANZAC medal as well as 3 Brownlow votes vs. West coast.

AndyLesPaul
26 Apr 2009, 09:42
Think your right :o he was runner-up to Lovett maybe sometime around the Hird vs umpires debacle which may well have cost him that ANZAC medal as well as 3 Brownlow votes vs. West coast.
Idiotic umpires, he sure as hell had rights to those brownlow votes

ant555
26 Apr 2009, 09:49
If he plays up to that level most weeks then he has certainly improved.
I am still right about his position at least. Ruck / forward will be his go.:D

kelvin_sheedy
26 Apr 2009, 10:00
His second efforts were amazing. It was like we had an extra midfielder around the stoppages.

He can do that but sometimes is prone to just watching. Maybe the extra responsibility triggered that thing in his mind that says I need to compete at every single opportunity.

Hopefully has another good game next week against ruckless Brissie and that sets up his season and confidence.

GmeUP
26 Apr 2009, 10:04
His second efforts were amazing. It was like we had an extra midfielder around the stoppages.

He can do that but sometimes is prone to just watching. Maybe the extra responsibility triggered that thing in his mind that says I need to compete at every single opportunity.

Hopefully has another good game next week against ruckless Brissie and that sets up his season and confidence.

This was exactly my beef with how he had been playing before yesterday, he would put in half assed chases or throw an arm out and pretend he was trying to tackle and the biggest problem was we all knew that he had it in him to do those things as he proved yesterday!

The Donners
26 Apr 2009, 17:37
Personally, I'd put him up for trade at years end, if a club bites and offers a first round pick, I'd take it! ;)

Doesn't have the intensity for AFL football. Might be skilled etc. and probably trains well and looks $1m but as soon as he steps over the line he's as timid as a kitten.

He can't defend, can't ruck, can't take a contested mark, can take the odd spectacular grab... that is all.

Self-pwnage! :o:thumbsu::D

Ben the Gooner
26 Apr 2009, 17:54

Lovett + Laycock game was 2005.
Hird's accurate analysis of the game was 2004.

Lance Uppercut
26 Apr 2009, 17:56
Self-pwnage! :o:thumbsu::D

yeah, that was a shocker

The Dustbin
26 Apr 2009, 18:49
Could be the defining moment in Paddy's career. Hopefully he can kick on... :thumbsu:

Before yesterday I was pretty worried.

table tennis
27 Apr 2009, 09:22
Hmm i think the answer to the question is yes.....

Its funny how things happen when people jump the gun. LOL

WHo else can we right off this week. so they kick 6, have 30 disposals and take 10 contested marks???

Wasn't there a negative Dyson thread last week too?

Maybe we should put Lucas in the gun this week.....

centurion
27 Apr 2009, 09:59
I did say earlier in this thread that Paddy can do it all.

All he needed was to improve his mongrel/intensity.

The boy didn't let me down. :thumbsu:

silk
27 Apr 2009, 11:13
When hille went down i made put my money on paddy to win the anza day medal. that 20 bucks got me another 6 pack to celebrate the night out.

emblurr
27 Apr 2009, 11:48
Nothing like an Anzac day game for a player to step up and shine and make themselves known to the competition and the footy world.