View Full Version : Port supporters , Bluey gave yous a Board, so leave us alone!
QT
2nd February 2001, 09:23
We dont goto your Board, so leave ours alone. Stop jumping into our topics, yous have no business here.
------------------
"I came here to win, I am a winner" - Denzel Washington , Remember The Titans ; 2000
carb70
2nd February 2001, 09:40
Does that include me as well?.
QT
2nd February 2001, 11:10
Exspecially you, LOL http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif
------------------
"I came here to win, I am a winner" - Denzel Washington , Remember The Titans ; 2000
carb70
2nd February 2001, 11:21
But QT, I have a Crows season ticket. That makes me more of a Crows supporter than somebody who barracks for them and put no money into the club. Even though I don't like the Crows I must be regarded as a supporter. So I assume I'm still allowed to post on the Crows board. Bye until my next post on this board.
Crow54
2nd February 2001, 15:40
Crabby, are you a "supporter" or just a "season ticket holder"? There's a world of difference here. When the Crows first started, a lot of people bought tickets just to go to watch AFL footy, and actually barracked for the opposition (were you one of those who joined Collingwood supporters, for instance?). So, even though they were ticket holders, no way could they be called supporters.
carb70
3rd February 2001, 07:33
Cow54, I purchased a season pass back in 91 because I was a SA, I used to follow the Crows right up to the end of 93. The day Scott Hodges left the club is the same day I refused to barrack for them. Anyway for most of 91 until 95 I lived in Melbourne so I really didn't get to see many Crows home games.
So the fact is while I still have my season ticket I must be regarded as a financial supporter of the club. Also look at the bright side I have something 1000's of SA would kill for.
MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
3rd February 2001, 15:31
You admit to being a scott hodges fan???????
carb70
4th February 2001, 06:30
Marksgirls, your a typical teenage female Crows supporter, aren't you?. You know nothing about football, You just watch it because of the so called spunky guys.
Of course I like Scott Hodges, I'm a Port supporter. He played in 8 premiership sides for the Magpies as a full foward. I don't know any Port supporter who doesn't like him. He's 10 times the player Mark Stevens will ever be.
smokey
4th February 2001, 06:50
So what
I'm 10 times the player Mark Stevens will ever be, we all are
Smokey
The Pride Of
4th February 2001, 08:22
So Scott Hodges with no AFL premierships is a better player than Mark Stevens who has One premiership and possibly more?
Scotty Was a great player in his own league but 38 games and 100 goals no medals no trophies in the AFL and how many games did he play for the Power? thats right even with his father in law as coach not a game.
Carb or any Port supporter its easy to call our supporters names especially the female ones as they never played the game(but i`m sure you all have AFL or SANFL games on your resume`s)but we are not closet supporters or fairweather supporters, what was Port`s average crowd last year when you came third to bottem?we love our newly formed club and will defend its position against you or anyone who wants to have a go.Maybe its something the great West Adelaide/Port Adelaide man,Foster Williams taught us !
Marksgirl keep up the support as the good time we have all shared already are there to be had again and you know like i know what that taste`s and feel`s like.
Pride
Crow54
4th February 2001, 08:22
Originally posted by carb70:
Marksgirls, your a typical teenage female Crows supporter, aren't you?. You know nothing about football, You just watch it because of the so called spunky guys.
Are you inferring that teenage female supporters from other clubs know everything about football? You are so lucky supporting a team that has such intelligent, young female supporters who care nothing for the young spunks but go every fortnight to study kicking styles, rucking contests and handball skills, lol. Moo.
The Pride Of
4th February 2001, 08:34
And by the way Carb70 by being a cat 1 member of footy park i would like to thank you for helping the Crows futher it`s way as the club with the most finacial members.
I wonder if your fellow Power supporters would be so understanding of your position or is that`s why you boast so proudly your Crows membership on our board?
I challenge Carb70 to post that same information on your own board.
Pride
carb70
4th February 2001, 08:36
Pride of, so you are basically saying a premiership player is better than a player who has never played in one. So going by what your saying Mark Stevens is a better player than Tony Lockett.
Didn't Scott Hodges kick 11 goals in a game for the Crows once. He also kicked bags of 8,7 & 6 goals in a few games as well. More than Stevens has ever done. Also at the end of the 92 season Hodges kicked 40+ goals in about the last 6 games. The only reason he wasn't FF for the 93 season was because he was injured for the first game. Tony Modra got his chance to play in that first game where he kicked 10 goals and the rest is history.
carb70
4th February 2001, 08:46
Originally posted by The Pride Of:
And by the way Carb70 by being a cat 1 member of footy park i would like to thank you for helping the Crows futher it`s way as the club with the most finacial members.
I wonder if your fellow Power supporters would be so understanding of your position or is that`s why you boast so proudly your Crows membership on our board?
I challenge Carb70 to post that same information on your own board.
Pride
Pride of, All my friends who are Port supporters know I have a Crows membership. They do pay me out, but they do understand the only reason I have it is so I can see both showdowns. Also I don't need to post that fact on the Port board. Most of the Port people read this board as well. I think it makes me a more loyal Port supporter because I'm willing to pay a $175 just to see one game.
The Pride Of
4th February 2001, 08:49
Using your words is hodges as good as Lockett? you have a go at our premiership player expect a come back.
You say on another thread you dont care about the past but you seem to drag up the fact about the 8 premierships with the SANFL port magpies so whats it to be , use the past or get on with the future? your usage of this board helps the crow supporters fire up for the coming season,thanks
Pride
carb70
4th February 2001, 08:52
Originally posted by Crow54:
Are you inferring that teenage female supporters from other clubs know everything about football? You are so lucky supporting a team that has such intelligent, young female supporters who care nothing for the young spunks but go every fortnight to study kicking styles, rucking contests and handball skills, lol. Moo.
I'm indicating that she is a teenage Crows supporter that knows nothing about football because she is a Crow supporter. If she was an Essendon supporter, I would of called her the same thing but used the word Bombers instead of Crows. I hope I explained that simple enough.
carb70
4th February 2001, 08:58
Using your words is hodges as good as Lockett? you have a go at our premiership player expect a come back.
You say on another thread you dont care about the past but you seem to drag up the fact about the 8 premierships with the SANFL port magpies so whats it to be , use the past or get on with the future? your usage of this board helps the crow supporters fire up for the coming season,thanks
Pride
No Hodges is not as good as Lockett, but I'm not going to rate Stevens as a player just because he was lucky enough to be at the right place at the right time to become a premiership player. What has he done since?.
Pride of unlike you I will acknowledge the past but I don't live in it like you.
The Pride Of
4th February 2001, 09:02
Seem`s to me Carb you should have membership to all the 16 clubs just in case you get locked out of a game at any football stadium or Finals.Port supporters(also Crows) who justify there duel membership for one game is a cop out.Yes its great to see all the games but you should take your chances like thousand`s of others on getting a ticket in my opinion.I will always support my team and hate with a passion all 15 teams equally it saves all the splinters in my backside from sitting on the fence
Pride
The Pride Of
4th February 2001, 09:07
Stevens lucky? Ask Corey Mckernan, Wayne Carey or Dennis Pagan.
carb70
4th February 2001, 09:16
Seem`s to me Carb you should have membership to all the 16 clubs just in case you get locked out of a game at any football stadium or Finals.Port supporters(also Crows) who justify there duel membership for one game is a cop out.Yes its great to see all the games but you should take your chances like thousand`s of others on getting a ticket in my opinion.I will always support my team and hate with a passion all 15 teams equally it saves all the splinters in my backside from sitting on the fence
Pride
I could only dream to have your sense of humor. There's 2 ways of doing things in life the hard way or the smart way. You seem to choose the option that matches your head.
Pride of my Dad is a Crows supporter so I go to football with him and one of my mates who is also and Crows supporter. When I lived in Melbourne for 4 years I used to see a lot of Richmond and Essendon games, because thats who my friends barracked for. It doesn't mean I barrack for these sides it just means I going to the footy with my mates. Mates are something you probably don't have.
Macca19
4th February 2001, 18:21
Pride
you idiot. If you have any comprehension skills...use them and realise what he meant. This so called 'Crows fan" MarksGirl said "you admit to liking scott hodges"
of course a port supporter is gonna like him, he did a lot for the club is what he was saying, bringing up the premierships he had was just proving the fact he did a hell of a lot for the magpies.
By your understanding, you should stop bringing up the past about Mark Stevens premiership medallion, why cant you get on with the future huh?
carb70
4th February 2001, 19:02
Pride
Hey smart arse, You do realize the Crows have a waiting list for memberships, don't you?. So wether I have the ticket or not, the membership numbers will be the same. Maybe you should look at it as, by me having that ticket I'm am stopping a true Crows supporter from seeing their team play.
[This message has been edited by carb70 (edited 04 February 2001).]
carb70
4th February 2001, 19:09
Originally posted by Macca19:
you idiot. If you have any comprehension skills...use them and realise what he meant. This so called 'Crows fan" MarksGirl said "you admit to liking scott hodges"
of course a port supporter is gonna like him, he did a lot for the club is what he was saying, bringing up the premierships he had was just proving the fact he did a hell of a lot for the magpies.
By your understanding, you should stop bringing up the past about Mark Stevens premiership medallion, why cant you get on with the future huh?
Thanks Macca, I knew what I meant and you knew what I meant but Pride of, well he starts talking about his Crows and all common sense just flies out the window.
jc67
16th January 2006, 20:34
Bump
This topic will be forever relevant.
Here's an idea, dont reply to or provoke any smears posters.
dyertribe
16th January 2006, 20:41
BigFooty heritage week!
Everyone has to post, email and surf as they did five years ago.
*PAF
16th January 2006, 20:42
Bump
This topic will be forever relevant.
Here's an idea, dont reply to or provoke any smears posters.
Not our fault. Try telling that to some of your own posters.
Proof 1 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/search.php?searchid=568959)
Proof 2 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/search.php?searchid=568960)
outback jack
16th January 2006, 21:29
Not our fault. Try telling that to some of your own posters.
Proof 1 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/search.php?searchid=568959)
Proof 2 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/search.php?searchid=568960)
its quite funny that the attitude going by this thread has almost reversed though hasnt it. Theres a nice mix of crows threads with the odd off topic thread. Your most recent thread for example if started by a crows supporter, wouldnt last too long on your board.
*PAF
16th January 2006, 22:19
its quite funny that the attitude going by this thread has almost reversed though hasnt it. Theres a nice mix of crows threads with the odd off topic thread. Your most recent thread for example if started by a crows supporter, wouldnt last too long on your board.
There's no need for that thread on the Port board. We do not have people such as yourself that only ever talk about the Crows on our board.
Run a search with Crows on it on the Port board and you'll find the vast majority of threads are about Showdowns.
If you run Cows you'll find a couple, but not that many. ;)
I actually did the searches just before I posted the thread just to make sure it wouldn't turn around and bite me on the arse. :p
Vandenbergfan
16th January 2006, 22:58
You probably feel a bit defensive because Port Adelaide as a football club has it all over the Adelaide Crows. A history of dominance in the SANFL is either indicative of Port being very successful or their opposition, that is the other nine clubs, having been particularly weak.
Port Adelaide's ambition couldn't be contained in the SANFL against inferior opposition indefinitely (I mean how much premiership dominance can you have before it starts to lose meaning) which is probably a large part of their thinking in wanting to join the big league.
This has then led to the situation whereby, the Crows are the AFL representative of the failed nine clubs in the SANFL and Port Adelaide due to their successful history has been able to establish itself in the AFL in their own right. Port as a consequence has a direct linkage to their successful history in the SANFL and are a proper club with a history and heritage that they can call upon; the Crows, on the other hand, are some sort of contrived corporate amalgamation of the less successful SANFL clubs.
I guess for a lot of Crows supporters you can only take so much bullying from superior opposition and hence the reasons for defensive threads of this type. :)
rayven
17th January 2006, 00:32
hey *paf have you been drinking?
you dont normally leave yourself wide open like total power,paralowie power and the others :confused:
Blues_Brat
17th January 2006, 01:30
Nothing changes.
Macca19
17th January 2006, 06:15
I actually did the searches just before I posted the thread just to make sure it wouldn't turn around and bite me on the arse. :p
So did I. I did a 75 day search and there was 12 threads about Port on the Crows board. On the Port board, there was 2 - both discussing why the Crows supporters start threads about us on their board.
jmorg1
17th January 2006, 06:41
Why exactly do Port Power supporters like PAF and Macca19 spend so much time on our boards. Is the Port Power board that boring?
Notice that all these Port Power supporters keep discussing Port Power on our board instead of theirs and then they try to tell us that we can't stop talking about them. :rolleyes:
SpringChoke
17th January 2006, 06:48
You probably feel a bit defensive because Port Adelaide as a football club has it all over the Adelaide Crows. A history of dominance in the SANFL is either indicative of Port being very successful or their opposition, that is the other nine clubs, having been particularly weak.
Port Adelaide's ambition couldn't be contained in the SANFL against inferior opposition indefinitely (I mean how much premiership dominance can you have before it starts to lose meaning) which is probably a large part of their thinking in wanting to join the big league.
This has then led to the situation whereby, the Crows are the AFL representative of the failed nine clubs in the SANFL and Port Adelaide due to their successful history has been able to establish itself in the AFL in their own right. Port as a consequence has a direct linkage to their successful history in the SANFL and are a proper club with a history and heritage that they can call upon; the Crows, on the other hand, are some sort of contrived corporate amalgamation of the less successful SANFL clubs.
I guess for a lot of Crows supporters you can only take so much bullying from superior opposition and hence the reasons for defensive threads of this type. :)
Here's no better example PAF. If this loser posted this sort of thing on the Port board, but with an anti-Port slant, he would be banned for life. Mind you, It could be argued that being a fan of Vandenberg would indicate he knows sweet FA about footy and doesn't have any business posting on this forum anyway.
jmorg1
17th January 2006, 06:55
So did I. I did a 75 day search and there was 12 threads about Port on the Crows board. On the Port board, there was 2 - both discussing why the Crows supporters start threads about us on their board.
There are no threads on the Port Power board period. Nothing but a barren wasteland.
Notice how all the Port Power supporters are on the Crows board furiously discussing their team here instead?
jmorg1
17th January 2006, 07:02
Last posts by Macca19 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/search.php?searchid=569204)
Last posts by *PAF (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/search.php?searchid=569206)
At the time of this writing:
Macca19: 6 posts Adelaide board, 0 posts Port Power board
*PAF: 15 posts Adelaide board, 0 posts Port Power board
Kane McGoodwin
17th January 2006, 07:23
You must still be getting over the night that the Crows thumped you reigning premiership team in our 1st game ... or perhaps beating you the 1st time we met in finals ... or is just the appointment of Richie as the worse captain in the AFL?
The bottom line is the Crows have won more premierships than most sides (including the Hawks). Also, we have the highest membership & one of the more financial clubs in the comp (unlike your team which has considered mergers). ie. I would concern yourself with how your team is travelling & stop living in the past, as this is no longer the VFL!
Macca19
17th January 2006, 07:45
Last posts by Macca19 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/search.php?searchid=569204)
Hope you never get a job as a researcher mate.
noddy
17th January 2006, 08:00
Can't be bothered to do a seach Macca but i would bet post 04 GF right up until the first showdown in 05 that PA BF supporters were giving us crap just about every where including on our own board.
What goes around comes around. :)
jmorg1
17th January 2006, 08:00
Hope you never get a job as a researcher mate.
Still 0 posts on the Port Power board in your most recent posts list (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/search.php?searchid=569262). However the number of posts on this board by you keeps increasing.
Do you have something against posting on your own board?
Macca19
17th January 2006, 08:17
In the past two days ive posted 6 posts on the Port board and 5 on the Crows board, not including this one. So i dunno what youre looking up
jmorg1
17th January 2006, 08:25
In the past two days ive posted 6 posts on the Port board and 5 on the Crows board, not including this one. So i dunno what youre looking up
Your last six posts have been on the Crows board. Still no posts for the Port Power board in sight in your last 20 posts. Why can't you just admit you find this board much more interesting than the Port Power board?
Stephen2
17th January 2006, 08:59
jmorg1...
He's posted between this board, and his own. As well as some on the cricket forum, and the main board.
Don't make yourself look stupid.
jmorg1
17th January 2006, 09:09
jmorg1...
He's posted between this board, and his own. As well as some on the cricket forum, and the main board.
Don't make yourself look stupid.
You decided to dig up your alternative username just to tell me that?
Anyway, if you had paid attention, you'll notice that my point is that he posts more on this board than the Port Power board and yet he has the nerve to claim that we are more interested in talking about Port Power here than the Crows.
noddy
17th January 2006, 09:11
Your last six posts have been on the Crows board. Still no posts for the Port Power board in sight in your last 20 posts. Why can't you just admit you find this board much more interesting than the Port Power board?
If you are banned from the Paps board then maybe you can't get there numbers up.
As Steven2 said Macca19 has posted pretty much the amount on his board as he says he has.
*PAF
17th January 2006, 09:14
All on Port threads no doubt, however just like ol Pete once sang "no matter where I post I still call the Port Board hooome..."
or something like that.
jmorg1
17th January 2006, 09:22
All on Port threads no doubt, however just like ol Pete once sang "no matter where I post I still call the Port Board hooome..."
or something like that.
You can continue posting here if you like. However, please do not continue to insinuate that there more threads on Port Power here than on the Crows mmmkay?
portentous
17th January 2006, 09:34
Conceding defeat hey jmorg1? Sheesh outsmarted by *PAF, that is NOT a good sign :)
jmorg1
17th January 2006, 09:37
Conceding defeat hey jmorg1? Sheesh outsmarted by *PAF, that is NOT a good sign :)
How exactly am I conceding defeat?
portentous
17th January 2006, 09:39
How exactly am I conceding defeat?
You said that he could continue posting here.
Anyway *PAF and I post just as much crap elsewhere as here, so don't feel honoured or anything. :D
jmorg1
17th January 2006, 09:41
You said that he could continue posting here.
Anyway *PAF and I post just as much crap elsewhere as here, so don't feel honoured or anything. :D
Yes, I don't have an issue with Port Power supporters posting here as long as they don't make stupid assertions like saying we prefer to talk more about Port Power than the Crows.
SpringChoke
17th January 2006, 09:43
or something like that.
Was that from the hit broadway musical "Boy from Alberton" - a young lads quest to find his real father(s). No wonder he won a Tony. To be able to dance and sing like that while wearing handcuffs and ugg boots requires some sort of talent.
*PAF
17th January 2006, 09:49
Yes, I don't have an issue with Port Power supporters posting here as long as they don't make stupid assertions like saying we prefer to talk more about Port Power than the Crows.
Living a life of denial is not a good thing.
Before one can get better you must spill it all out and get to your sub consciousness
C’mon tell doc PAF all about it, when did it all start?
If you prefer a woman I recommend Doctor portentous :p :D
EDIT: If you do decide to see Doc portentous may I suggest you do it early in the mornings?
If not it's still ok, but you may need someone such as noddy or myself to translate for you. :D
*PAF
17th January 2006, 09:51
Was that from the hit broadway musical "Boy from Alberton" - a young lads quest to find his real father(s). No wonder he won a Tony. To be able to dance and sing like that while wearing handcuffs and ugg boots requires some sort of talent.
Hope he had a mullet and missing teeth. Wouldn't want any impostors to steal the limelight. :D
portentous
17th January 2006, 10:05
Living a life of denial is not a good thing.
Before one can get better you must spill it all out and get to your sub consciousness
C’mon tell doc PAF all about it, when did it all start?
If you prefer a woman I recommend Doctor portentous :p :D
EDIT: If you do decide to see Doc portentous may I suggest you do it early in the mornings?
If not it's still ok, but you may need someone such as noddy or myself to translate for you. :D
I'm not available early in the mornings as I'm a very late riser. The only time I consult is 11am to 1pm.
*PAF
17th January 2006, 10:14
I'm not available early in the mornings as I'm a very late riser. The only time I consult is 11am to 1pm.
Damn. There goes my lunch. :p :D
*PAF
17th January 2006, 10:36
On another note, noticed how the starter of this thread has been banned?
Rellie of yours Jack? :p
Kane McGoodwin
17th January 2006, 11:32
Football season can't come quick enough, as most of this thread is utter rubbish. Some people have way too much time on their hands.
portentous
17th January 2006, 11:38
Football season can't come quick enough, as most of this thread is utter rubbish. Some people have way too much time on their hands.
Who me??
BTW I think there is a reincarnation of Powerkop on the main board, so beware! :cool:
Vandenbergfan
17th January 2006, 11:44
You must still be getting over the night that the Crows thumped you reigning premiership team in our 1st game ... or perhaps beating you the 1st time we met in finals ... or is just the appointment of Richie as the worse captain in the AFL?
We took it easy that night/you got a lot of favourable umpiring decisions/Richie is a fabulous captain who did the footy world a favour the day he punched McPhee's lights out (the day I became a true fan).:thumbsu:
The bottom line is the Crows have won more premierships than most sides (including the Hawks). Also, we have the highest membership & one of the more financial clubs in the comp (unlike your team which has considered mergers). ie. I would concern yourself with how your team is travelling & stop living in the past, as this is no longer the VFL!
We've won nine/the Board briefly considered a merger, however, 90% of the membership opposed it (whilst Melbourne's membership voted in favour of it/ten years of ordinary results and still Hawthorn has recorded ten years of profit, how many clubs in the AFL can boast that/BRW magazine this year considered Hawthorn the second most asset rich football club in the country.
Adelaide profits, as I understand it, from your membership and sponsorship go straight back into the SANFL as they hold the licence - effectively the Crows are just managing the profits for the SANFL. Unlike a proper club like Hawthorn you do not control your own destiny.
Apart from which you didn't answer any of the issues I raised in my original post - Port undeniably dominated the SANFL and were the most forward thinking club in that competition in applying to join the AFL prior to any SANFL application. Port Adelaide has a direct linkage to their history in the SANFL, whilst the Crows have none - unless you want to claim the cumulative performances of the other nine, which Port has dominated over the last 100 years. Undeniably Port's success has made many Adelaide football supporters resentful and defensive over the years and hence the need for such threads.
Actually I reckon Crows supporters should be looking forward. The Melbourne market in my opinion cannot support nine sides with a further one just down the highway. Adelaide on the other hand with the crowds and membership figures of your two AFL clubs could sustain a third club. To do this they have to break up this contrived agglomeration that is the Crows and start to call themselves Norwood/Sturt/North Adelaide/etc; this would then pave the way as I see it for another AFL based side in Adelaide.
You see occasionally you have to use your loaf, go outside of the herd mentality, if you are to truly show some forward thinking.:)
Kane McGoodwin
17th January 2006, 11:59
We took it easy that night/you got a lot of favourable umpiring decisions/Richie is a fabulous captain who did the footy world a favour the day he punched McPhee's lights out (the day I became a true fan).:thumbsu:
Must of been a hell of a lot of favourable umpiring decisions for a margin over 10 goals! Just sounds like a whingy excuse to me.
You would be the 1st Hawthorn fan I have heard from that is happy with Vandenberg as captain. He shouldn't even be in the side on talent alone. Thumping an opposition player is probably his only skill as you put it.
We've won nine/the Board briefly considered a merger, however, 90% of the membership opposed it (whilst Melbourne's membership voted in favour of it/ten years of ordinary results and still Hawthorn has recorded ten years of profit, how many clubs in the AFL can boast that/BRW magazine this year considered Hawthorn the second most asset rich football club in the country.
Adelaide profits, as I understand it, from your membership and sponsorship go straight back into the SANFL as they hold the licence - effectively the Crows are just managing the profits for the SANFL. Unlike a proper club like Hawthorn you do not control your own destiny.
Apart from which you didn't answer any of the issues I raised in my original post - Port undeniably dominated the SANFL and were the most forward thinking club in that competition in applying to join the AFL prior to any SANFL application. Port Adelaide has a direct linkage to their history in the SANFL, whilst the Crows have none - unless you want to claim the cumulative performances of the other nine, which Port has dominated over the last 100 years. Undeniably Port's success has made many Adelaide football supporters resentful and defensive over the years and hence the need for such threads.
Actually I reckon Crows supporters should be looking forward. The Melbourne market in my opinion cannot support nine sides with a further one just down the highway. Adelaide on the other hand with the crowds and membership figures of your two AFL clubs could sustain a third club. To do this they have to break up this contrived agglomeration that is the Crows and start to call themselves Norwood/Sturt/North Adelaide/etc; this would then pave the way as I see it for another AFL based side in Adelaide.
You see occasionally you have to use your loaf, go outside of the herd mentality, if you are to truly show some forward thinking.:)
The Crows keep most of their profits after a distribution to the SANFL ... therefore why should I even consider your opinion if you can't even get your facts right. Certainly we are so much more profitable than the Hawks, it isn't even funny!
Port Magpie's history in the SANFL is basically irrelevant to the AFL Crows. You are the one who is looking backwards rather than forward.
relapse
17th January 2006, 14:00
Pride of, All my friends who are Port supporters know I have a Crows membership. They do pay me out, but they do understand the only reason I have it is so I can see both showdowns. Also I don't need to post that fact on the Port board. Most of the Port people read this board as well. I think it makes me a more loyal Port supporter because I'm willing to pay a $175 just to see one game.
That is flawed logic when you consider that if you are a Port season ticket holder and if you also are a club member arent you given priority access to showdown tickets ???
If this is the case then I would be very interested as to why you would be paying $170 for a ticket you never use. Even if thats all you keep it for the smart person would have downgraded that ticket to a child ticket and then just paid the upgrade cost for the showdown game and again it would work out far less than paying outright for an adult AFC membership.
Truck Rutten
17th January 2006, 14:14
Why exactly do Port Power supporters like PAF and Macca19 spend so much time on our boards. Is the Port Power board that boring?
Notice that all these Port Power supporters keep discussing Port Power on our board instead of theirs and then they try to tell us that we can't stop talking about them. :rolleyes:
They both seem like intelligent, informed people. Maybe they have more in common with the posters here?
*PAF
17th January 2006, 14:28
They both seem like intelligent, informed people. Maybe they have more in common with the posters here?
Hmmm. Backhanded compliments hey? :eek: :D
http://www.tellmewhereonearth.com/Web%20Pages/Humor/Humor%20Photos/H27.JPG
Truck Rutten
17th January 2006, 15:07
You're obviously deliberately trying to get a rise out of Adelaide supporters for some reason. You've taken an almost sadistic delight in the fact that we're probably going to miss out on another father/son selection. And now you post this garbage.
Do you really think history is that important in the AFL, with all its equalisation schemes and inequities? Tell me how the glorious histories of the "real" clubs are benefitting them, other than financially? It certainly isn't making any difference on the Premiership table. The AFC has equalled or exceeded the achievements of pretty much all the other clubs in the 15 years since its inception, yet you seemingly want supporters to feel ashamed about following a composite SANFL club.
I find it ironic that a supporter of a club that has achieved nowt in recent memory is harping on about how important history is.
I never thought it would be done, but I reckon you have officially eclipsed F-U as the biggest stroker on BF.
Truck Rutten
17th January 2006, 15:12
Can't be bothered to do a seach Macca but i would bet post 04 GF right up until the first showdown in 05 that PA BF supporters were giving us crap just about every where including on our own board.
What goes around comes around. :)
This is a good point Noddy. It seems like several of the more vocal and obnoxious Port supporters vanished around the same time their teams chances of winning the 05 flag did.
Truck Rutten
17th January 2006, 15:18
Hmmm. Backhanded compliments hey? :eek: :D
http://www.tellmewhereonearth.com/Web%20Pages/Humor/Humor%20Photos/H27.JPG
Hey, I was being nice to you :D
sworc36
17th January 2006, 15:36
Of course I like Scott Hodges, I'm a Port supporter. He played in 8 premiership sides for the Magpies as a full foward. I don't know any Port supporter who doesn't like him. He's 10 times the player Mark Stevens will ever be.
Carbo, Im not a typical teenage female Crows supporter. In fact I WAS a Port Magpie supporter (for about 18yrs) and also liked Scott Hodges. I am now the biggest Crow supporter their is and totally despise anything Port Adelaide. Infact it was supporters like you that turned me completely off them. So Im betting I would no just as much about footy as you do. But if he was so good why didnt he go to another AFL club? Mark Stevens was hindered with injuries a lot of his career but played some excellent games for us. And as for owning a Crows season ticket for two games, you can put your money with our club, lose the showdown , a win win situation I think.
sworc36
17th January 2006, 15:38
Carbo, Im not a typical teenage female Crows supporter. In fact I WAS a Port Magpie supporter (for about 18yrs) and also liked Scott Hodges. I am now the biggest Crow supporter their is and totally despise anything Port Adelaide. Infact it was supporters like you that turned me completely off them. So Im betting I would no just as much about footy as you do. Back to Scott Hodges, if he was so good why didnt he go to another AFL club? Mark Stevens was hindered with injuries a lot of his career but played some excellent games for us. And as for owning a Crows season ticket for two games, you can put your money with our club, lose the showdown , a win win situation I think.
*PAF
17th January 2006, 15:46
Carbo, Im not a typical teenage female Crows supporter. In fact I WAS a Port Magpie supporter (for about 18yrs) and also liked Scott Hodges. I am now the biggest Crow supporter their is and totally despise anything Port Adelaide. Infact it was supporters like you that turned me completely off them. So Im betting I would no just as much about footy as you do. Back to Scott Hodges, if he was so good why didnt he go to another AFL club? Mark Stevens was hindered with injuries a lot of his career but played some excellent games for us. And as for owning a Crows season ticket for two games, you can put your money with our club, lose the showdown , a win win situation I think.
Hehe. Have you seen the date? You are arguing with a ghost. :D
sworc36
17th January 2006, 15:54
You're obviously deliberately trying to get a rise out of Adelaide supporters for some reason. You've taken an almost sadistic delight in the fact that we're probably going to miss out on another father/son selection. And now you post this garbage.
Do you really think history is that important in the AFL, with all its equalisation schemes and inequities? Tell me how the glorious histories of the "real" clubs are benefitting them, other than financially? It certainly isn't making any difference on the Premiership table. The AFC has equalled or exceeded the achievements of pretty much all the other clubs in the 15 years since its inception, yet you seemingly want supporters to feel ashamed about following a composite SANFL club.
I find it ironic that a supporter of a club that has achieved nowt in recent memory is harping on about how important history is.
I never thought it would be done, but I reckon you have officially eclipsed F-U as the biggest stroker on BF.
exactly, too bad you cant sell your history! I wonder how many of these so called great historical (ancient) clubs would sell for the right price?
rayven
17th January 2006, 18:04
Port undeniably dominated the SANFL and were the most forward thinking club in that competition in applying to join the AFL prior to any SANFL application., )
as kane said please get your fact rights.
we would listen to your opinion on this board if it was not based on the re writing of history
the fact is the sanfl started talks with the vfl in 1982 about joining the vfl and regerstered the name "Adelaide football club" a couple of years later. they also went as far as deciding where the club would be based, long before the vfl used port as a means of getting a side in to the vfl on a weaker footing than the sanfl were wanting
Vandenbergfan
17th January 2006, 22:00
What your attempting to do is re-write the rules even though the Adelaide Football Club signed off on father/son eligibility criteria (which I'll point out favours the interstate sides as it is); Bryce Gibbs is not a father/son selection as it stands as he doesn't qualify. I think you'll find there are quite a few Victorian sides that have had to forego sons of former players because they haven't qualified under the criteria as well eg. Brett Deledio and the fact that his father played for Carlton. You can't just change the rules because Bryce Gibbs happens to be a decent player and you like him to play for Adelaide.
When you put it that way probably not and I would much prefer if clubs reverted to zoning. It'll never happen as long as there is a Sydney and Brisbane sides that cannot sustain sides without dipping into interstate zones.
I still reckon the Crows would be better affiliating with one of the SANFL sides. It was clear even before Port Power entered the competition that the Crows did not represent all SA, but were the representatives of a SANFL that excluded Port Adelaide. I can still remember practice matches between the Port Adelaide SANFL premiers and the Crows, circa mid 1990s.
Ripped off by Goldstein in a semi-final in 2001 (part of the Essendon bias that exists in umpiring and is supported by the media here in Victoria) that would have secured a Grand-Final spot. That finals campaign also included beating a red-hot favourite in Port at Football Park, despite Wanganeen's fine diving theatrics around the goals.:)
Crow-mo
17th January 2006, 22:05
blah blah blah
just ban the **********er. :thumbsd:
dyertribe
17th January 2006, 22:13
Hehe. Have you seen the date? You are arguing with a ghost. :D
To put it into a more direct perspective,
This thread was created:
# Mere months after the Closing Ceremony of the Sydney Olympics.
# Seven months before the twin towers came down.
# Seven months before the Lions won the first of their threepeat.
# Seven months before Port Adelaide's first "choke" against Hawthorn let alone the subsequent efforts against Collingwood and Sydney.
# Seven months prior to Warren Tredrea's first of four All-Australian guernseys.
# Nine months before we drafted Brent Reilly.
# Nine months before Luke Hodge, Luke Ball, Chris Judd and Nick Dal Santo became AFL players.
# Two and a half years before Mark Ricciuto's Brownlow.
# Over three years before Port's first Premiership
And so on...
Bumping threads this old rarely has the desired effect.
Gets!
17th January 2006, 22:14
Anyone who is a fan of Vandenberg is a knob.
*PAF
17th January 2006, 23:10
This thread was created:
# Seven months before Port Adelaide's first "choke" against Hawthorn let alone the subsequent efforts against Collingwood and Sydney.
# Seven months prior to Warren Tredrea's first of four All-Australian guernseys.
# Nine months before Luke Hodge, Luke Ball, Chris Judd and Nick Dal Santo became AFL players.
Hu-hu I've got some more.
# Before Channel 7 lost the rights to show football.
# Way way before Eddie even thought of shouting "Rrroooocccaaaaaaaa!!!".
:D
SpringChoke
18th January 2006, 06:21
just ban the **********er. :thumbsd:
Here, here.
jc67
18th January 2006, 16:00
Yes DT, I have learned my lesson.:thumbsd: An amazing amount of posts for an old thread though.
Although a few got the point:thumbsu:
PS; I hope you have dealt with Vandenbergfan.
PSS, the real reason that there are so many threads on port here is that the port people keep propping them up. Most threads on the port board of a similar nature (and there have been lots of them) are deleted by their mods pretty quickly, and their authors banned. Maybe Kane, Dave and yourself could consider a similar approach?
outback jack
18th January 2006, 19:40
Yes DT, I have learned my lesson.:thumbsd: An amazing amount of posts for an old thread though.
PSS, the real reason that there are so many threads on port here is that the port people keep propping them up. Most threads on the port board of a similar nature (and there have been lots of them) are deleted by their mods pretty quickly, and their authors banned. Maybe Kane, Dave and yourself could consider a similar approach?
true nothing survives over there thats remotely anti-port or not toeing the party line, but as has been said the port moderators very strict approach resulted in a stale board, so you dont want to ban or control everything. The new moderators appear to be trying to change that now. Lets not pretend any different either, port power supporters as a whole are as bitter and as obsessed with the AFC as you can get. Even their coach wants to be like us, its only natural. Most port threads here are clearly in jest.
I wouldnt take it so seriously like a few do with these 'trolls' either, its really no big deal. We have a few bitters unfortunately. Its a good thing that vandenbergfan wasnt a fisherman actually.
AdelaideFan
18th January 2006, 23:15
This thread was created:
And so on...
Couldnt agree more but dont know whats sadder the fact that this crap got bumped or the fact that for some reason at 1245 in the morning I read it? WTF is up with that. All the c r a p said on here was a waste of space and just people arguing about bulls h i t. Why TF did I read it??? What did I learn from it? There are a lot of w a n k a s writing a lot of boring ass crap on here....
*PAF
19th January 2006, 07:56
What a load of good old fashioned verbal runny and smelly crap.
Apart from one thread started by Andre discussing a showdown game, and my feeble attempt at humor pointing out how many such threads there are on this board, every single other one is started by your very own posters.
As far as I am aware no Port poster has ever been banned on the Port board, nor had threads deleted.
You should stop posting "facts" based on rumors and misinformation spread by people like Jack, after all they are the same people that have started the vast, vast majority of Port based threads on this board.
Perhaps we should allow Knobby back to start similar toned threads on this board about the Crows, I am sure they will go down well and no-one will complain. :rolleyes:
ps if he or other Port posters were to start similar ones about the Crows on the Port board I would have no problems with them being locked, the odd one might be funny, but doing so repeatedly week after week adds no value to the board.
If you want to have a different policy on here purely based on who starts them, then that is your choice but do not talk crap about who starts them.
outback jack
19th January 2006, 12:16
What a load of good old fashioned verbal runny and smelly crap.
Apart from one thread started by Andre discussing a showdown game, and my feeble attempt at humor pointing out how many such threads there are on this board, every single other one is started by your very own posters.
As far as I am aware no Port poster has ever been banned on the Port board, nor had threads deleted.
You should stop posting "facts" based on rumors and misinformation spread by people like Jack, after all they are the same people that have started the vast, vast majority of Port based threads on this board.
Perhaps we should allow Knobby back to start similar toned threads on this board about the Crows, I am sure they will go down well and no-one will complain. :rolleyes:
ps if he or other Port posters were to start similar ones about the Crows on the Port board I would have no problems with them being locked, the odd one might be funny, but doing so repeatedly week after week adds no value to the board.
If you want to have a different policy on here purely based on who starts them, then that is your choice but do not talk crap about who starts them.
Gees you have a short and selective memory there PAF* and its clear which board management style has been more successful, i havent started any port threads on this board either.:)
*PAF
19th January 2006, 12:32
Gees you have a short and selective memory there PAF* and its clear which board management style has been more successful, i havent started any port threads on this board either.:)
Not many, but young Jack has. :D
Anyway he was implying that the plethora of Port threads on here existed because Port people started them. That is a myth that a simple search will dismiss. Now who would have started such myths I wonder? :p
outback jack
19th January 2006, 14:30
Not many, but young Jack has. :D
who is young jack? Toots_hibbert?
Anyway he was implying that the plethora of Port threads on here existed because Port people started them. That is a myth that a simple search will dismiss. Now who would have started such myths I wonder? :p
Certainly not me *PAF. The boards and clubs supporters clearly have different mindsets though.