View Full Version : David Myers needs to lift his game

AndyLesPaul
25 Apr 2009, 21:48
Has had a rather horrendous start to the season IMO

Rnd 2 vs Fremantle 15 Disposals, 4 Marks, 1 Behind (very average)
Rnd 3 vs Carlton 8 Disposals, 4 Marks, 1 Tackle, and 3 Frees Against (quite a bad performance from a first round pick IMO)
Today vs Collingwood 9 Disposals, 2 Marks, 1 Tackle, and 2 Behinds

From what i remember from last year, he was playing quite well, but it seems he's playing a lot worse, is this because of a bad preseason or something?

Drummer_19
25 Apr 2009, 21:58
He seems to be lacking a bit of dash, his opponents get away from him to quickly.

loopy_cam
25 Apr 2009, 22:00
He's playing a more defensive role than last year so shouldn't be expected to be getting as many possies. However, he has been sub-par. I didn't think he was too bad today though. He's getting there.

fishguts
25 Apr 2009, 22:01

Rnd 3 vs Carlton 8 Disposals, 4 Marks, 1 Tackle, and 3 Frees Against (quite a bad performance from a first round pick IMO)

From what i remember from last year, he was playing quite well, but it seems he's playing a lot worse, is this because of a bad preseason or something?

Glandular fever in February and that ankle injury that kept him out of round 1.

The coaching staff rate him highly enough that they are willing to get his conditioning up through the ones.

AndyLesPaul
25 Apr 2009, 22:38

The coaching staff rate him highly enough that they are willing to get his conditioning up through the ones.

Oh okay, thats rather re-assuring.

was overseas then so i wasnt really tuned in.

made this thread because it's what i think is right, and because we've had a decent run with player threads :)

bomberz08
25 Apr 2009, 22:46
he was really slow and fumbled today, especially the moment when he was clear on the wing and then coughed it up. Hope he gets into form soon, i think he should be dropped for McVeigh this week

AndyLesPaul
25 Apr 2009, 22:49
he was really slow and fumbled today, especially the moment when he was clear on the wing and then coughed it up. Hope he gets into form soon, i think he should be dropped for McVeigh this week
yeah i saw that moment.

i hope not, McVeigh isnt ready yet, and all player threads made usually end up in a good game for the player spoken about ;)

Lance Uppercut
25 Apr 2009, 23:41
given his kicking is supposed to be his weapon, he has a lot of work to do. Needs to lift significantly.

Then again, apparently Ryder is no good either...

Daytripper
26 Apr 2009, 06:56
Its the pick 6 curse.

CarlosHernandez
26 Apr 2009, 09:08
Always seems a few metres behind his opponent, and doesn't have the leg speed to catch them up after they get the ball.

Wasn't confident watching him yesterday, but it's early in the second season of hopefully a long career!

AndyLesPaul
26 Apr 2009, 09:16
Always seems a few metres behind his opponent, and doesn't have the leg speed to catch them up after they get the ball.

Wasn't confident watching him yesterday, but it's early in the second season of hopefully a long career!
Yeah, today he was the one that kicked the ball to Davis who got it in from 50 :(
He couldn't have done anything about it though.

jimmy5
26 Apr 2009, 10:03
given his kicking is supposed to be his weapon, he has a lot of work to do. Needs to lift significantly.

The kid can roost it a mile. Just seems alittle too intent on showing it off atm, is bombing long and turning it over on a regular basis.

Seems to be struggling with the pace (of AFL) more this year, which makes me think he isn't 100% and therefore maybe shouldn't be in the 1's just now.

ant555
26 Apr 2009, 11:24

Lance never belive the hype or BS post draft stories.
His kicking was never really a weapon. The only good part of it was he was able to kick it 60 meters. Throughout his under 18's he only ever kicked at 70% efficiency.

The problem with this whole thread is people expectations are higher than reality becasue he was talked up a lot becasue we took him in front of Palmer.
I have said a heap of times that he was never going to be a Palmer type player and that he would take 3 or so years before he would be playing consistant senior footy.
If you want a comparison think Brendan Goddard. Someone who will take 3 to 4 seasons before you see the best of him.

To many are disapointed becasue they where thinking instant success.

Slattery_20
26 Apr 2009, 11:29
Goldfish mentality

ant555
26 Apr 2009, 11:30

Already been explained.
If you have ever had or kown someone who has had glandular fever you would know how much it slows you down for several months afterwards.
He missed a lot of training during Feburay and March.

stugots
26 Apr 2009, 12:09
myers will be a gun, all he needs now is plenty of game time, preferably in the 1's, but its understandable knights will keep in & outing him while there are other options worth pursuing

would probably also help if there wasnt a continual flow of drivel as to how bad he is

HighettBomber
26 Apr 2009, 12:35
He showed last year that he can play, just needs to get his fitness and confidence up. He has been ordinary so far, but he will come good and I'm not sure we have any better options at the moment.

Skeeta Olly
26 Apr 2009, 12:35
Already been explained.
If you have ever had or kown someone who has had glandular fever you would know how much it slows you down for several months afterwards.
He missed a lot of training during Feburay and March.

Example A: Roger Federer

AndyLesPaul
26 Apr 2009, 12:44
Example A: Roger Federer
Thats very reassuring. I guess.

Ben the Gooner
26 Apr 2009, 12:54
When he took that mark 45m out, directly in front, I thought that it would say a lot about where his kicking is at.

An absolute mongrel punt, in beautiful conditions, directly in front is frankly not good enough.

stugots
26 Apr 2009, 13:00
When he took that mark 45m out, directly in front, I thought that it would say a lot about where his kicking is at.

An absolute mongrel punt, in beautiful conditions, directly in front is frankly not good enough.

yeh, we dont see that several times every weekend now do we?:rolleyes:

Ben the Gooner
26 Apr 2009, 13:07
From a set shot?

Skeeta Olly
26 Apr 2009, 13:37
Was a shocking kick, but some how made it to the line.

The Dustbin
26 Apr 2009, 13:46

He's clearly under done. Will be better in the second half of the season...

That set shot in the first quarter was pretty disappointing though.

Jex
26 Apr 2009, 13:56
I reckon play him in the middle for Bendigo for 5 or 6 weeks, get minutes into his legs and allow him to forget about his opponent.

Daytripper
26 Apr 2009, 14:03
He's clearly under done. Will be better in the second half of the season...

That set shot in the first quarter was pretty disappointing though.

I could understand him being underdone if he started games well and then faded out but to be honest he's been largely rubbish from minute 1 through to minute 120.

Really like his passion and hopefully he will come good but he's adding no real value to our team at the moment.

The Dustbin
26 Apr 2009, 14:13
I could understand him being underdone if he started games well and then faded out but to be honest he's been largely rubbish from minute 1 through to minute 120.

Really like his passion and hopefully he will come good but he's adding no real value to our team at the moment.

Fair point. I agree that he hasn't done much thus far...

kelvin_sheedy
26 Apr 2009, 14:19
If you want a comparison think Brendan Goddard. Someone who will take 3 to 4 seasons before you see the best of him.

Why Brendan Goddard? Goddard was an elite kick in juniors and showed it in the AFL as soon as he started playing.

We want instant success with Myers because he is a relatively large sized kid and should be able to compete strength wise better then kids who take 4 years to get a body.

One of his main selling points and discussion pre draft was he's likely to make an early impact and I recall people saying Knights wants kids that can kick and run off half back.

So far he has disappointed in every aspect.

AndyLesPaul
26 Apr 2009, 16:11
Why Brendan Goddard? Goddard was an elite kick in juniors and showed it in the AFL as soon as he started playing.

We want instant success with Myers because he is a relatively large sized kid and should be able to compete strength wise better then kids who take 4 years to get a body.

One of his main selling points and discussion pre draft was he's likely to make an early impact and I recall people saying Knights wants kids that can kick and run off half back.

So far he has disappointed in every aspect.

Of course we want instant success, but the as it's been noted on this thread he had glandular fever, and it should take a while for him to recover from that,
and he was always going to take a while to develop

yaco55
26 Apr 2009, 16:19
Myers played better today in the one on one duels.

He still has a way to go !

fishguts
26 Apr 2009, 16:46
Another thing is that he is being played out of position. He is playing almost as a KPP.

marky53
26 Apr 2009, 22:35
lets remember that he is young and inexperienced...... whilst his form hasnt been great, this is development for a player with potential to be a great player..... lay off him and results will come...... people are too quick to judge and criticise......

efcboy
27 Apr 2009, 18:06

interesting the three games highlighted are all the games essendon have won.

no myers, no essendon??!!

we better keep him in...

horj89
27 Apr 2009, 18:47
You have to remmember he is only 19. Still has plenty of years ahead of him.

AndyLesPaul
27 Apr 2009, 18:53
interesting the three games highlighted are all the games essendon have won.

no myers, no essendon??!!

we better keep him in...
Oh i know, as i've stated i few times, it seems every time someone posts a negative thread for a player, they play an awesome game the next week,
heres hoping.

serendipity
27 Apr 2009, 19:11
myers cannot lift his game .....HE HAS NO GAME .... HE IS ANOTHER JOE THE CAMERA MAN ..... HE CANNOT MARK ...CANNOT KICK ...CANNOT HANDBALL ...AND DEFINITELY CANNOT RUN.... he has no game to lift

BomberFan_23
27 Apr 2009, 19:44
Serendipity you have no idea... Your probably one of those supporters who left the game when we were 13pts down on the wkend! or didn't even go??

You think great players are made over night! You probably would have drafted rich over hurley etc. Got no patience! if we lose against brisbane you will start a topic called "Dons have no Future" or some garbage like that.

Just be patient mate! Remember when Mcveigh started or watson started his career? i reckon it took them 3 or 4 years before they were capable at playing at the elite level. The games we put into him now hold him and the club in good sted in the future!

He's played 11 games for $h!t sake! Give him a break!

Myers will have a better career then Palmer it just might take a few years before people see why we choose myers over palmer! which is the same reason we got hurley over rich this season!

Sigmund
27 Apr 2009, 20:08
myers cannot lift his game .....HE HAS NO GAME .... HE IS ANOTHER JOE THE CAMERA MAN ..... HE CANNOT MARK ...CANNOT KICK ...CANNOT HANDBALL ...AND DEFINITELY CANNOT RUN.... he has no game to lift

What a incisive judge of football you must be if you can make these conclusions about a 19YO with 11 games of experience:rolleyes: N*B

marky53
27 Apr 2009, 20:21
What a incisive judge of football you must be if you can make these conclusions about a 19YO with 11 games of experience:rolleyes: N*B

well said......

reincarnated
27 Apr 2009, 20:53
What really pisses me off is, all these excuses come in for Myers. Such as he had a fever in Feb and March, he is young, he will be a gun etc.

If he is not fit, then why is he being played in the seniors? He should be playing for Bendigo, give him 6 to 8 weeks, and let him get that match fitness. Let him touch the footy atleast 20 times a game.

When we have the fittest and one of the most skilled bloke in the list not getting games, when he is getting 30 touches a game in Bendigo...Myers should not be getting games after game for his piss weak efforts.

He directly cost us atleast 3 goals that I counted on the weekend and fumbled at a crucial stage when we were attacking and lost the ball.

Hirdman
27 Apr 2009, 20:55
Give him a break fellas he's 19 he had a bad virus in pre-season he's core fitness is down and he looks sloppy. He has shown enough last year to suggest the boy can play, I think our issue is around finding him a role and supporting him.

lionshine
27 Apr 2009, 21:02
He's only a seconmd year player far out.Dont expect to much from yuor youngsters.

Cheers.

saladin
27 Apr 2009, 21:14
What really pisses me off is, all these excuses come in for Myers. Such as he had a fever in Feb and March, he is young, he will be a gun etc.

If he is not fit, then why is he being played in the seniors? He should be playing for Bendigo, give him 6 to 8 weeks, and let him get that match fitness. Let him touch the footy atleast 20 times a game.

When we have the fittest and one of the most skilled bloke in the list not getting games, when he is getting 30 touches a game in Bendigo...Myers should not be getting games after game for his piss weak efforts.

He directly cost us atleast 3 goals that I counted on the weekend and fumbled at a crucial stage when we were attacking and lost the ball.

is this meant to be Houli? no, you're right, his handballs to guys standing flatfooted and about to get monstered by three opponents are highly skilled.

serendipity
28 Apr 2009, 03:21
I dont need to be a footy Einstein to know that there is no potential with Myres .... if you reckon that cause he is only 19 that he will be a GUN ...then why not say that about any footy player that is 18 or 19.... his disposal is absolute shite... he cannot handball and he definitely cannot kick.... and at least the previous wearer of that number 23 was some sort of athlete and could run all day ... this wanker runs like a pregnant cow!!!!

please tell me what in the hell that you can see as his future potential..... cause I see nothing at all... another Courtney Johns in the making ...(at least he could kick)

daffo
28 Apr 2009, 08:48
Serendipity you're a tool. Most likely you're a Collingwood fan that is pissed after Anzac Day and decided to make a fake account.
Myers does have a lot of upside, although I do believe he was playing better footy last year. I think he does need another month of footy before he'll get up to that standard again, which IMO should be through Bendigo.

Buddy23#
28 Apr 2009, 08:54

Send him Hawthorn's way we'll have him;). Reminds me of Clinton Young, nearly pops the ball when he kicks it. Awesome talent me thinks.

james_omahoney
28 Apr 2009, 10:06
I think it's a bit silly to say he doesn't have talent - we have seen that he does. At the moment he is down on energy, probably due to his illness, and hence down on confidence that comes from that. I don't see it as a negative to play him in the reserves for a while. Go easy on him.

bipolarbeaR
28 Apr 2009, 10:44
............ I don't know what to say other than I cannot wait to bump this shit.

ant555
28 Apr 2009, 10:50

Completely missed the comparison KS.
Why like Goddard you ask. Like Goddard becasue he will play a similar role and like Goddard becasue he will take 3 or 4 years to develop.
Yes Goddard was always a great kick but he was ridiculed by most in his first 3 years for being a poor number one pick.

Well here is your problem KS. You want instant success. How many times do you have to be told that the kid was never going to make an instant impact.
Ask anyone who is a regular around the under 18 traps.
The fact of the matter is he is not a large strong kid. At 190cm and 85 kg he is actually playing about 5 kg light and he is down a couple of kg on his pre season weight due to the virus he had during Feb.

Who said he would make an early impact ? I know there where some around that predicted he may play a few games in his first year but that is completly different to making an early impact. Kelvin if you listen to BS reports then your opinion is going to be distorted by them.
I will use Goddard as an example again here. He played early games but did not have an impact.
Last year he showed that he could run off half back. Take another look at the second game against Carlton. So far this year he has been very flat but the reasons for it have been explained. As far as his kicking goes you have obviously been caught out by the fact that he was described as higly skilled.
The fact is he is a skilled player on both sides of the body but he suffers the same problem Nash has. He makes poor or rushed decisions in regards to where he kicks the ball.
The angst probaly should be directed at the selection committee for picking a player that is strugling to be near his best.

So far he has disappointed in every aspect

Well you can say that but i am more disappointed in the fact that an ankle injury and then a virus has cost him the chance to see if he can play at an improved level.

serendipity
28 Apr 2009, 20:32
listen guys ...you are full of it if you, in anyway, compare myres with goddard...

goddard was always able to take a grab and was a prodigious kick!!!! he lacked the mental toughness to play consistent footy .... he has managed to click in the head recently and has fulfilled HIS POTENTIAL....

myres has no such POTENTIAL..... I must be blind but i cannot see anything in him at all...... absolute waste of a position in the team... HE CANNOT RUN, CANNOT MARK, cannot kick, CANNOT HANDBALL, and he doesnot tackle effectively either.... ABSOLUTE DUDD!!!!!!!

Winner
28 Apr 2009, 20:51
I saw Myers do an awesome chase down on Davis in the first quarter (he didn't tackle him but kept up for about 30 meters), he looked okay then but did not have the legs to keep it up.

Oh and to say "near pefect conditions" when he had that set shot is a joke, sure he shanked it but it was amazingly windy at that end of the ground for the whole match. All players were missing set shots.

All Myers needs is time. He has the perfect body to break tackles, moves like Judd around stopapges, is a good leader and will end up being a general off HBF with Hurley.

bipolarbeaR
28 Apr 2009, 21:19
myres has no such POTENTIAL..... I must be blind but i cannot see anything in him at all...... absolute waste of a position in the team... HE CANNOT RUN, CANNOT MARK, cannot kick, CANNOT HANDBALL, and he doesnot tackle effectively either.... ABSOLUTE DUDD!!!!!!!

Please f

Johnny619
28 Apr 2009, 21:22
So, I am expecting a big game from him this weekend then...

Kaiser Powser
28 Apr 2009, 21:32
Lance never belive the hype or BS post draft stories.
His kicking was never really a weapon. The only good part of it was he was able to kick it 60 meters. Throughout his under 18's he only ever kicked at 70% efficiency.

The problem with this whole thread is people expectations are higher than reality becasue he was talked up a lot becasue we took him in front of Palmer.
I have said a heap of times that he was never going to be a Palmer type player and that he would take 3 or so years before he would be playing consistant senior footy.

I don't think we expect instant success, but it is alarming that he has seemingly gone backwards from last year. That could be from the Glandular, but the fumbles and turnovers are still a worry. I would have thought that he should be playing in the twos until he was right to go, we don't want to wreck his confidence.

I also seem to recall you stating that he was certainly a midfielder around the time of his drafting, so it seems strange that you are now comparing him to Goddard. But he is deceptively tall, so maybe you are onto something there let's hope.

AndyLesPaul
28 Apr 2009, 21:36
I don't think we expect instant success, but it is alarming that he has seemingly gone backwards from last year. That could be from the Glandular, but the fumbles and turnovers are still a worry. I would have thought that he should be playing in the twos until he was right to go, we don't want to wreck his confidence.

I also seem to recall you stating that he was certainly a midfielder around the time of his drafting, so it seems strange that you are now comparing him to Goddard. But he is deceptively tall, so maybe you are onto something there let's hope.
Definately from glandular.
wait on it
Fed had glandular. look what happened to him.

Kaiser Powser
28 Apr 2009, 21:46
Definately from glandular.
wait on it
Fed had glandular. look what happened to him.

That's cool.

I am not overly perturbed. He does seem to possess a lot of attributes that could make him a brilliant footballer: Speed, booming kick, decent height. It is probably his build that is making everyone impatient. We are still calling Davey and Lovett Kids, because they are built like reeds even though they are mid-twenties. We then expect a 19-20 year old to make an instant impact, just because he has a solid build.

Perhaps we are being a tad impatient.

Bombers1234
28 Apr 2009, 21:57
listen guys ...you are full of it if you, in anyway, compare myres with goddard...

goddard was always able to take a grab and was a prodigious kick!!!! he lacked the mental toughness to play consistent footy .... he has managed to click in the head recently and has fulfilled HIS POTENTIAL....

Myers wouldn't of been drafted at 6 unless he killed all his junior career and obviously has potential for more. He was AA under 18/s FFS. Do some thinking before you post this shit fool.

yaco55
28 Apr 2009, 22:43
Is there any chance that Myers could become a key back ?

He does have the physical attributes !

AndyLesPaul
28 Apr 2009, 22:47
Myers wouldn't of been drafted at 6 unless he killed all his junior career and obviously has potential for more. He was AA under 18/s FFS. Do some thinking before you post this shit fool.
Dw Mate, he just made his account, he's clearly trolling, just dont make anything from his opinion

Jonesy1987
29 Apr 2009, 06:14

Must be your first year watching football or have a short term memory, because last year he showed heaps of potential. Watch his games last year verses Carlton, Adelaide and West Coast.