View Full Version : Redevelopment of Carrara
Mr Crow!
1 May 2009, 02:27
Ok... the funds have been pledged (State, Local, AFL).
When is this due to begin? Will it be finished by the start of the 2011 season? What will the final capacity be?
CoastBhoy
1 May 2009, 07:11
July , yes , 28k.
lionshine
1 May 2009, 08:49
Ok... the funds have been pledged (State, Local, AFL).
When is this due to begin? Will it be finished by the start of the 2011 season? What will the final capacity be?I think about 25,000 people stadium.July they will start to re-build it and yes it will be ready by the 2011 season!
magic_johnson!
1 May 2009, 18:16
anyone got a picture?
is it the one that was going around a while ago?
Stereophonic
2 May 2009, 07:02
Believe so, dont have a link but you will find it without too much fuss.
SwampCreature
4 May 2009, 12:45
Sounds impresive. The naysayers will snort at the capacity, but it will be equal to what Kardinia park is right now. I wonder if we'll ever sell it out every week like the cats do. Probably not as the really massive games we will play at the Gabba.
CoastBhoy
4 May 2009, 13:42
anyone got a picture?
is it the one that was going around a while ago?
http://www.propertyoz.com.au/library/carrara4%20260x182.jpg
magic_johnson!
5 May 2009, 18:42
cheers mate
loooks nice :thumbsu:
is it just me or does that seem like more light towers then normal?
CoastBhoy
5 May 2009, 18:50
cheers mate
loooks nice :thumbsu:
is it just me or does that seem like more light towers then normal?
When i drove past it this morning there were 6.;)
magic_johnson!
5 May 2009, 19:29
When i drove past it this morning there were 6.;)
hahah sorry, the poles in the foreground had me confussed and i counted them as light towers.
Funkalicous
6 May 2009, 09:01
That looks wicked! :thumbsu:
http://news.thomasnet.com/IMT/allianzarenacombo.jpg
Gold Tiger11
6 May 2009, 16:55
Looks Like will be a great stadium i look forward to watching Gold Coast vs Richmond there in the future.
Just thought i'd add that i just heard the news on the radio today that the Government have commited to the GCFC.
Anna Bligh then announced that the redovelopment will commence from the 2nd half of this year and will be completed early 2011.
I can't wait. This is awesome news for the Coast.
magic_johnson!
7 May 2009, 18:16
that design has been dumped, for a more easier expandable:
New picks of what the stadium will look like.
http://www.goldcoast.com.au/images/uploadedfiles/editorial/pictures/2009/05/07/afl-stadium0709.jpg
http://www.goldcoast.com.au/images/uploadedfiles/editorial/pictures/2009/05/07/stadium-concept.jpg
tbh, i don't think it's that flash. not as flash as the first proposed.
ChipDouglas
7 May 2009, 21:31
that design has been dumped, for a more easier expandable:
I saw the briefest glimpse of the new stadium on the 9 news. It was in a video flyover and blink and you would have missed it. Hopefully someone can find and post the whole thing.
Paddy_Mac
8 May 2009, 13:56
I agree, I preferred the other one. The stand on the wing closest to the shot looks very similar to the stand at the SCG on the wing which i cringe at with the small first tier and the large 2nd tier. Bemusing to see no cover on each end. I like the corporate wing, that looks good.
The Allianz arena is simply amazing; world class. Then for someone to say on the other thread that the Gold Coast stadium would be world class...was pretty ironic.
PumpyChowdown
8 May 2009, 14:41
Fullscreen animated flyover.
Impressive.
http://www.goldcoast.com.au/article/2009/05/08/76995_gold-coast-afl.html
CoastBhoy
8 May 2009, 16:28
Fullscreen animated flyover.
Impressive.
http://www.goldcoast.com.au/article/2009/05/08/76995_gold-coast-afl.html
Good get there mate , how good does that look.
magic_johnson!
9 May 2009, 22:34
I agree, I preferred the other one. The stand on the wing closest to the shot looks very similar to the stand at the SCG on the wing which i cringe at with the small first tier and the large 2nd tier. Bemusing to see no cover on each end. I like the corporate wing, that looks good.
The Allianz arena is simply amazing; world class. Then for someone to say on the other thread that the Gold Coast stadium would be world class...was pretty ironic.
i read an article that said "it will soon after be a 50,00 seater"
hopefully it would look a bit classier then that :p
magic_johnson!
9 May 2009, 22:38
i also cringe at the scg stand, but the gc one looks more like the stand at lords, which is slighty better. (ie, the second level hangs over the first level to a degree)
magic_johnson!
9 May 2009, 22:42
ok, the flyover looks better then the pictures
What parts of the current staduim are they keeping?
CoastBhoy
10 May 2009, 19:11
Hopefully none !!
Stereophonic
10 May 2009, 19:45
Hopefully none !!
Yep, resurface it as well I reckon. Should look like the Gabba not the local park.
CoastBhoy
10 May 2009, 20:10
Yep, resurface it as well I reckon. Should look like the Gabba not the local park.
Yeah thought the same mate , the Eastern game i went to only a couple of weeks ago , it looked like carpet , but last night night did'nt look great.
Stereophonic
10 May 2009, 20:29
Yeah thought the same mate , the Eastern game i went to only a couple of weeks ago , it looked like carpet , but last night night did'nt look great.
Really? Yeah it looked horrible last night.
campbell
10 May 2009, 20:39
I like the area around the backs of the stands though, where the kids kick the footy etc, whilst still in the stadium, not in the car park. I hope that stays.
A nice suburban feel.
captainbucket
11 May 2009, 21:54
the square forward pocket ...wouldn't be the same without it;)