View Full Version : Joke of the day

Hoggy
23 Jan 2003, 18:14
69 not out off 37 balls
5 catches
1 stumping

Not good enough to be Man of the match.

You're ****ing kidding yourself Dave Gilbert.

Brett Lee might have bowled well, but come on!

Bakes
23 Jan 2003, 18:16
Do you think it might be because he is involved with NSW cricket?
Its the only reason I can think of.

(Didn't Bichel get 4/20odd?)

Zombie
23 Jan 2003, 18:24
4/18 I believe but you have to take into account that he picked up batsmen 10 and 11 whilst Lee picked up batsmen 1 and 2.

Lee was clearly MoM today, he tore the top order apart and set up a comfortable win for Australia. When Gilchrist strode to the crease the game was already over, although he performed very well with the bat you can't give a MoM award to a batsmen when it was the bowlers that dominated the day.

Zombie
23 Jan 2003, 18:28
Originally posted by Hoggy
69 not out off 37 balls
5 catches
1 stumping

Back to the footy board with you.

It was a toss up between Lee and Bichel, Lee wins out because of the quality of his wickets.

Great_Unknown
23 Jan 2003, 18:36
Originally posted by Zombie
4/18 I believe but you have to take into account that he picked up batsmen 10 and 11 whilst Lee picked up batsmen 1 and 2.

Lee was clearly MoM today, he tore the top order apart and set up a comfortable win for Australia. When Gilchrist strode to the crease the game was already over, although he performed very well with the bat you can't give a MoM award to a batsmen when it was the bowlers that dominated the day.

And you conveniently forgot to mention that Bichel took the wicket of the best English batsman, M Vaughan. Credit where it's due.

PrideofSA
23 Jan 2003, 18:39
Sounds to me as though Gillie clearly deserved MOM while Lee and then Bichel would be 2nd and 3rd in line.

bunsen burner
23 Jan 2003, 18:41
I'll go for Lee. One of the bowlers had to get it as it was them who won the match.

EagleBlue
23 Jan 2003, 18:43
69 not out off 37 balls
5 catches
1 stumping

Dont think you can count Gillys catches though. Humphrey B Bear could have been W/K and taken 5 catches or even better Alec Stewart :D

PrideofSA
23 Jan 2003, 19:29
Originally posted by bunsen burner
I'll go for Lee. One of the bowlers had to get it as it was them who won the match.

it was all the bowlers who shared the load really.

Bowling O M R W
Williams 10 2 22 2 (1w)
Lee 10 1 29 3 (1nb, 1w)
Bichel 7 2 18 4 (1w)
Warne 10 0 28 1 (2w)
Hogg 4 0 13 0

PrideofSA
23 Jan 2003, 19:30
Originally posted by EagleBlue
Dont think you can count Gillys catches though. Humphrey B Bear could have been W/K and taken 5 catches or even better Alec Stewart :D

Well don't count the wickets then either, Mickey Mouse could have got England out.:D

dr nick
23 Jan 2003, 20:20
i thought Symonds, Bevan and Martyn in that order.

JUBJUB
23 Jan 2003, 20:53
I don't have a problem with Lee getting MOM.He did start Englands rot by getting their two most inform players.

Zombie
24 Jan 2003, 01:09
Originally posted by Great_Unknown
And you conveniently forgot to mention that Bichel took the wicket of the best English batsman, M Vaughan. Credit where it's due.

Since when?

N.Knight avg 42
M.Trescothick avg 38
N.Hussain avg 31
A.Stewart avg 31
P.Collingwood avg 30

M.Vaughan avg 20

Vaughan is a lousy one day batsmen.

Becker
24 Jan 2003, 06:13
Why do people care who wins the Man of the Match awards? Nobody will remember who won it in 2 weeks time. It's just a token award to appease the sponsors.

dr nick
24 Jan 2003, 07:33
Originally posted by Becker
Why do people care who wins the Man of the Match awards? Nobody will remember who won it in 2 weeks time. It's just a token award to appease the sponsors.

it all goes towards the one day cricketer of the year and the allan border medal

JUBJUB
24 Jan 2003, 08:41
Originally posted by nicko18
it all goes towards the one day cricketer of the year and the allan border medal

I don't think it does.

Isn't the 'Grumble Bum Medal' voted the same way as the Brownlow [3-2-1] ?

Hoggy
24 Jan 2003, 09:33
Vaughan is a lousy one day batsmen.

You goose.

And you reckon I should head back to the footy board. I would know more about cricket than you by so far it is now funny.

The bloke has only played 20 odd ODI's so there is heaps of time to improve and when someone was in the amount of form he was in, in the Ashes Series - when he was player of the series despite playing in a side that lost 4-1, you know he is a quality player and obviously their best bat.

Why do you think the commentators were saying he was the key?

EagleBlue
24 Jan 2003, 10:21

No it doesnt. The AB medal and ODI player of the year is voted by players and part media (media for AB medal only) The MOM is voted for by match adjudicators/officials

dr nick
24 Jan 2003, 11:01
Originally posted by EagleBlue
No it doesnt. The AB medal and ODI player of the year is voted by players and part media (media for AB medal only) The MOM is voted for by match adjudicators/officials
yeah sorry, i actually knew that... well surely gilchrist would get 3 for his efforts. lets hope the players were not swayed by the official MOM result then.

to deny gilchrist the man of the match... there is nothing more the bloke could have done. i know brett lee bowled really well, but took 3 wickets in 10 overs. that sort of thing happens all the time. i dont recall seeing too many innings like gilchrists yesterday. there was a collective groan whenever he hit a dot ball.

EagleBlue
24 Jan 2003, 12:57
yeah sorry, i actually knew that... well surely gilchrist would get 3 for his efforts. lets hope the players were not swayed by the official MOM result then.

to deny gilchrist the man of the match... there is nothing more the bloke could have done. i know brett lee bowled really well, but took 3 wickets in 10 overs. that sort of thing happens all the time. i dont recall seeing too many innings like gilchrists yesterday. there was a collective groan whenever he hit a dot ball.

I dont think the players would be swayed. Not in ODI anyway, Personally I would have given it to Gilchrist but I dont think his catches should have come into it. None of them were really hard, but then again as pointed out by PrideOfSA none of the wickets were either !!!!

Zombie
24 Jan 2003, 13:21
You goose.

And you reckon I should head back to the footy board. I would know more about cricket than you by so far it is now funny.

The bloke has only played 20 odd ODI's so there is heaps of time to improve and when someone was in the amount of form he was in, in the Ashes Series - when he was player of the series despite playing in a side that lost 4-1, you know he is a quality player and obviously their best bat.

Why do you think the commentators were saying he was the key?

There is no doubt that he is a good batsmen at test level but in one dayers he just doesn't cut the mustard, never has, never will. At county level he can only manage a little better with an average of 26, an average usually reserved for lower order batsmen and allrounders.

One thing you obviously havent learnt since taking up cricket is that Test and One Dayers are a completely different kettle of fish, some players aren't suited one or the other. On your theory you could say Bevan was Australias best test batsmen.

BTW Vaughan isn't some fresh faced teenager who has plenty of time on his side, he is a recycled player who will be 29 this year.

TheMase
24 Jan 2003, 14:19
BTW Vaughan isn't some fresh faced teenager who has plenty of time on his side, he is a recycled player who will be 29 this year.

Geez. I didn't know that.

How come it has taken him so long to get onto the test scene?

Hoggy
24 Jan 2003, 14:26
Originally posted by TheMase
Geez. I didn't know that.

How come it has taken him so long to get onto the test scene?

He had to move to Yorkshire to get a gig at county level as well.

Zombie
24 Jan 2003, 14:39
He was an average county player aswell, a first class average of a little over 35 I believe. I guess he just matured late as a batsmen and got into form at the right time when Englands batting line up was at a low.

It makes you wonder how players like J.Siddons would have gone at test level if they were born in England.

scmods
24 Jan 2003, 15:13

It makes you wonder how players like J.Siddons would have gone at test level if they were born in England.
Since when is being born in England a requirement to play Test cricket for them?

Zombie
24 Jan 2003, 15:59
Originally posted by scmods
Since when is being born in England a requirement to play Test cricket for them?

Hehe, yeah I forgot that. You wonder why more Australian players who can't quite make it into the test side don't go across and play for England.

Fred
24 Jan 2003, 16:25
I doubt if Gilchrist would have batted like he did if he wasn't facing such a paltry target. Lee for MofM was fair enough.

PrideofSA
24 Jan 2003, 19:41
Hehe, yeah I forgot that. You wonder why more Australian players who can't quite make it into the test side don't go across and play for England.

probably coz their state side is of a higer standard than England and why lower yourself to playing with England anyway?

Nige_Bix
24 Jan 2003, 20:24
It will be interesting to see how the votes for the AB Medal go for this match!

fabulousphil
24 Jan 2003, 21:54
Blonds always get the votes.