View Full Version : TV The Logies.... Who Cares?

couchgrinder
3 May 2009, 16:38
Has to be the most cringeworthy awards ceremony going around.

good night to go out for dinner and a movie, does anyone actually watch this?

Bomber32
3 May 2009, 16:58
I've got much better things to do then watch a bunch of overexposed showponies accept awards.

A total waste of an evening IMO.

Bombers_Forever
3 May 2009, 17:08
Couldn't agree more with the topic - it is nothing more than overexposed people patting themselves on the back because the industry itself does nothing.

Cringeworthy and the coverage tomorrow will be worse: it at least gives the morning TV shows something to talk about for a day.

Admiral Afterworld
3 May 2009, 19:27
does anyone actually watch this?

Stupid, stupid, stupid women.

footyman
3 May 2009, 20:10
The night to showcase Australian TV personalities, yet we've just had half an hour of Carson Kressley on the red carpet! Right.... :rolleyes:

Wahooti Fandango
3 May 2009, 20:20
I am going to watch, Be Kind Rewind. :thumbsu:

Xtreme
3 May 2009, 20:28
Great to see Underbelly miss out on 2 awards so far :thumbsu:

Oct19
3 May 2009, 20:34
Scarey to think Borat getting a face full of Balls isn't going to be the most vomit inducing thing on TV tonight.

Warsaw
3 May 2009, 20:51
Scarey to think Borat getting a face full of Balls isn't going to be the most vomit inducing thing on TV tonight.
Jeez, caught a sketch with Kettle with the Bondi Vet. LAME LAME LAME. SOMEONE please just shoot her. NOT ****ING FUNNYYYY

ManWithNoName
3 May 2009, 21:20
The Logies are on?

I'm not saying that as a joke, I genuinely didn't know.

Kahuna
3 May 2009, 21:38
The Logies are on?

I'm not saying that as a joke, I genuinely didn't know.

Haha same here.

AtomicCounty
3 May 2009, 21:52
got a giggle out of seeing shelly crafts nipple. the cameraman totally burned her.

CF
3 May 2009, 22:14
who cares?

all the people who buy TV week, Womans day, etc

Is Bert on tonight? They usually trot him out at some point so he can take the piss out of everyone and they think it is wonderful. I am sure when he is 90 he will still be coming out on a little motorized wheel chair

DeadlyAkkuret
3 May 2009, 22:19
If I didn't see this thread, I wouldn't have known it was on. Silly me I go turn the tv on and there it is, oh what a shameful night for Australian television.

Who the **** is the old dude with the white hair? Wasn't he on Water Rats a few years ago? **** it, I'll just turn it off!

red+black
3 May 2009, 22:32
i only opened this thread cos i was hoping to see some pics of scantily clad women :(

DoubleO7
3 May 2009, 22:54
Gretel Killeen... that god awful hair... argh...

/thread

Selective Retention
3 May 2009, 23:15
Is Bert on tonight? They usually trot him out at some point so he can take the piss out of everyone and they think it is wonderful. I am sure when he is 90 he will still be coming out on a little motorized wheel chair

Like Lou Richards?

To sum up the logies credibility, Kate Richie was nominated IIRC and she hasn't even been on ****ing tv!

johnnyhoward
3 May 2009, 23:19
I thought it was next week. Anyway the only thing I care about is that Harold wins the Gold Logie :thumbsu:

tandino
3 May 2009, 23:24
A month back, Channel 7 were cracking the shits that Sonia Kruger didn't get nominated for a Gold Logie.

Enough said, in my opinion.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/curves/buttons/threadclosed.gif

whichone
3 May 2009, 23:25
To sum up the logies credibility, Kate Richie was nominated IIRC and she hasn't even been on ****ing tv!
Underbelly??

SunKing
3 May 2009, 23:27
Great to see Underbelly miss out on 2 awards so far :thumbsu:

I'm sure you were elated to see Underbelly win all the peer voted awards including best drama/actress/actor:thumbsu::)

damochandler
3 May 2009, 23:30
who voted for 7's coverage of the olympics. that would have to the worst winner of the night by a country mile

tandino
3 May 2009, 23:39
who voted for 7's coverage of the olympics

They should have their TV's confiscated, and subsequently destroyed.

CouchPotato
3 May 2009, 23:50
For people who supposedly don't care, your following it pretty closely :o

stabler
4 May 2009, 00:07
got a giggle out of seeing shelly crafts nipple. the cameraman totally burned her.

need picture.

tandino
4 May 2009, 00:37
need picture.

Ditto.

HBK619
4 May 2009, 01:13
Gretel Killeen cracking onto a 16 year old was probably the worst part of the night, I only flicked it on after watching MasterChef and she was on telling him that she wanted to be his 'mum' and asking if he had a girlfriend to tell her that he loves her, etc. etc. was ****en awful, and the crowd knew it too as it was DEAD SILENCE!

lifelike_
4 May 2009, 03:43
Would I be right in guessing there'll be an ACA story tomorrow night with footage from the all 'exclusive' afterparty?

I'm surprised the Stefanobot and Lisa Wilkinson didn't host it.

I flicked over from Borat for around ten seconds, saw Rove banging on a plastic chair then switched back over. Watching Mr. T turn perfectly good food into a shriveled mess is more compelling viewing.

MacMum
4 May 2009, 04:32
I also find these people to be cringeworthy and didn't watch the show...

The day someone says their dress was one they saw in the window of a little neighbourhood shop, don't know who the "label" is, don't care, or they bought it off the rack at Myers...is the day I might start watching it again!

Pretentious, airhead people the lot of them.....totally unimportant IMO

Invigoration
4 May 2009, 05:34
Haha, Carl from the 'Today' on channel nine obviously didn't care.

I reckon he must still be blind, he came on and said he hasn't slept.

He was going through the weather and he was all over the shop just saying it is great weather everywhere then he just goes "ahh who cares anyway!"

Loved it.

Magpiespower
4 May 2009, 06:55
One good thing to come out of last night's presentation - Gretel Killleen exposed for the lightweight she really is.

A disaster of Wendy Harmer proportions.

Floundered without some wet behind the ears 20-something to bully.

And since she wrote all her own material, she's only got herself to blame...

Bombers_Forever
4 May 2009, 07:26
I only caught parts of it but I will make four points:

- Gretel Killeen........is she staring in the new Star Trek movie? She looked like an alien with that hair and her ears. Her opening monologue was cringeworthy - the silence in the room said it all. Up there with Wendy Harmer for tragic performances.

- Matt Lee - now we know why he always wears hats, his hair is awful!

- Rove.........he really doesn't work well without the crowd there laughing for him. The silence when he made some of his jokes was defeaning.....you are not as funny as you think you are Rove.

- Dave Hughes - why is he funny, someone needs to explain it to me.

FootyJunkie
4 May 2009, 07:50
Logies used to be watchable about 20 years ago... it just felt more a gala event back then, taking place on a Friday Night too.

FIGJAM
4 May 2009, 08:30
Watched the red carpet bit due to the misses' fashion fascination, and the bit that stood out to me was:

Idiot From Getaway: *Random Dribble*

Lisa McCune: *Dribble* Yeah, I can't wait to get in, it looks beautiful inside.

Idiot From Getaway: So do you!

SBI
4 May 2009, 09:18
Just an excuse for the self-important nothingburgers to get dressed up and pissed. Looking at some of the nominations, it is just an indictment of how horrible Australian television is - particularly in the 'comedy' department.

Doesn't help when the voting body has the average IQ of twenty, either.

dmc333
4 May 2009, 09:25
Poor Annie Lennox - 80 million records and she's stuck in a room with all those bums.

On Stefanovic, he was definitely still pissed this morning.

JUBJUB
4 May 2009, 10:08
Would I be right in guessing there'll be an ACA story tomorrow night with footage from the all 'exclusive' afterparty?

Probably,but TT will also have an "EXCLUSIVE" afterparty story.They'll probably also do their usual story about testing toilet seats for drugs.

I saw a picture of Gretel on the Hun website.Has she come out of the closet ?

Invigoration
4 May 2009, 10:40
Probably,but TT will also have an "EXCLUSIVE" afterparty story.They'll probably also do their usual story about testing toilet seats for drugs.

I saw a picture of Gretel on the Hun website.Has she come out of the closet ?

Definitely been chewing some carpet.

SunKing
4 May 2009, 11:11
The day someone says their dress was one they saw in the window of a little neighbourhood shop, don't know who the "label" is, don't care, or they bought it off the rack at Myers...is the day I might start watching it again!

They interviewed Kristy Hinze IIRC and she said hers was some dress from the '60s bought from an op shop I believe:thumbsu: Looked great and made a nice change from the usual wanky designer crap.

Agree with most about Gretel. While I enjoyed the logies she was just dreadful. Her nasty sense of humour didn't go down well & she was indeed exposed as a zero talent hack.

And OMG speaking of no talent hacks Rove is just embarrasing:o Just terribly unfunny. The chair thing was just cringe worthy tv.

Shell
4 May 2009, 11:48
who voted for 7's coverage of the olympics. that would have to the worst winner of the night by a country mile

Agreed.

That and the NRL footy show. (Which imo only wins because maybe votes are split between "Before The Game" and "The Footy show AFL", between all the AFL fans? :confused:)

Gretel Killeen cracking onto a 16 year old was probably the worst part of the night, I only flicked it on after watching MasterChef and she was on telling him that she wanted to be his 'mum' and asking if he had a girlfriend to tell her that he loves her, etc. etc. was ****en awful, and the crowd knew it too as it was DEAD SILENCE!

The reaction to most of the "jokes" she told last night. ;)

Absolute train wreck, NFI why she got the job as host.

scotty88
4 May 2009, 11:56
Why was gretel asked to be host? She's got nothing to do with tv right now. Adam hills should've been the host

krusden
4 May 2009, 12:00
On Stefanovic, he was definitely still pissed this morning.

this is the only time in my life I feel bad that I missed the today show this morning.
That seems like it would have been entertaining at least.
I watched the first "skit" of gretel and her presenting before she was shot and then convinced my GF's dad to turn it over to the IPL.

She was terrible, but I do not see how the people who signed her up expected anything less. I mean her performances on BB were woeful at best - what'd they think: that a haircut would inject talent into her?

Magpiespower
4 May 2009, 12:03
Adam hills should've been the host

Reckon they should let either John Safran or The Chaser run riot...

Shell
4 May 2009, 12:17
Reckon they should let either John Safran or The Chaser run riot...

Chasers are back soon apparently... late May? Read it in the paper yesterday. :thumbsu:

SunKing
4 May 2009, 12:38
Apparently Steven Curry was in the running but they went with Gretel:o.

He would have been awesome I reckon.

swansrule100
4 May 2009, 12:53
i doubt anyone who would be decent would ever agree to host the logies these days, as they realise what a joke it has become.

Bombers_Forever
4 May 2009, 13:13
i doubt anyone who would be decent would ever agree to host the logies these days, as they realise what a joke it has become.

Denton was good - he won't come back to do it though.

JUBJUB
4 May 2009, 13:31
The NRL Footy Show won a Lurgie.I didn't realise they gave out awards for 'Least watched programs'

scotty88
4 May 2009, 14:52
99.9% of Australian tv is sh*it. The logies are always going to be sh*t

Brad-clare
4 May 2009, 16:01
The logies come around once a year, you tend to forget how bad they were until you watch it the next year!

Gretel as a host, what a joke!

Rove winning 7 in a row what joke!

Channel 7 for the Olympics what a joke!

Really one big joke, wonder how it rated?

Punchy Bassett
4 May 2009, 16:08
The logies come around once a year, you tend to forget how bad they were until you watch it the next year!

Probably rated extremely well which is even more scarier than the event itself.

SunKing
4 May 2009, 17:17
wonder how it rated?

1.6m

Rosstickle
4 May 2009, 17:39
99.9% of Australian tv is sh*it. The logies are always going to be sh*t

+1:thumbsu:

The only Australian shows that I like are Before the Game, Summer Heights High and The Ronnie Johns show. And 2 of those aren't even on TV any more.

Goobernutty
4 May 2009, 18:13
The Logies suck because:

Up until this year the same no-name talentless bums from Home & Away sweep all the Most Popular Actor/Actress & Best New Talent awards. Thankfully this year something else got a look in (Packed To The Rafters, which isn't all that bad). NRL Footy Show always wins the sport's coverage award, Rove always wins for best presenter, so why bother having those categories?

The filler they put in (Gretel going to heaven, interviewing the MTV dyke in the bathroom & that retard sixteen-year-old who couldn't even put two words together coherently), plus those god-awful "campaigns" by each of the Gold Logie nominees were not funny in the slightest.

It is the death-gig of Australia for comedians. The pathetic audience refuses to laugh at anything because they're so full of ego they think they're the #1 celebrity & if they do laugh it'll be a sign of weakness.

There's a reason why Australian celebrities stay in Australia & never go anywhere - they're all terrible. The only good thing was it was cold, so we saw some celebrity nipples, & even that was unimpressive.

Sorry, but I needed to get all that out. I watched it & I wanted to stab my eyes out with a fork.

Inappropriate
4 May 2009, 19:09

Please. Somebody. Please.

Invigoration
4 May 2009, 21:10
this is the only time in my life I feel bad that I missed the today show this morning.
That seems like it would have been entertaining at least.
I watched the first "skit" of gretel and her presenting before she was shot and then convinced my GF's dad to turn it over to the IPL.

She was terrible, but I do not see how the people who signed her up expected anything less. I mean her performances on BB were woeful at best - what'd they think: that a haircut would inject talent into her?

He was seriously awesome, and he was saying how hot Lisa Wilkens was all morning and how lucky her husband is. He was pissed and horny, everytime they brought up Rebecca Gibney he would go on about how she isn't a bad sort and what not.

He was even hitting on Fergo (I think that's his name), saying his smile was gorgeous and stuff. He was in great form.

People wrote in emails about it, but they didn't really want to draw any more attention to his drunkness though.

He did sober up a bit towards the end, which was disappointing

Crosby87
4 May 2009, 22:54
The Logies have always been a joke. Our TV industry has to resort to popularity contests to hand out awards.

tandino
4 May 2009, 23:24

Peak audience of 2 Million, which is the biggest joke of all.

damochandler
5 May 2009, 11:49
everyon seems to be pissed about ian smith not winning. gawd fair dinkum. he was on a show that is well passed it's used by date and he isnt even that good. ray magher deserved a nomination ahead of him

dmc333
5 May 2009, 14:13
everyon seems to be pissed about ian smith not winning. gawd fair dinkum. he was on a show that is well passed it's used by date and he isnt even that good. ray magher deserved a nomination ahead of him

Harold and Alf, please!!! ;)

stabler
5 May 2009, 14:16
yeh still waiting on some Shelley Craft nipple action.

damochandler
5 May 2009, 15:20
Harold and Alf, please!!! ;)

what you think harold the bloke who fell into the ocean to just make it look like a former prime minister of years ago is better than an australian icon

johnnyhoward
6 May 2009, 00:03
He was seriously awesome, and he was saying how hot Lisa Wilkens was all morning and how lucky her husband is. He was pissed and horny, everytime they brought up Rebecca Gibney he would go on about how she isn't a bad sort and what not.

He was even hitting on Fergo (I think that's his name), saying his smile was gorgeous and stuff. He was in great form.

People wrote in emails about it, but they didn't really want to draw any more attention to his drunkness though.

He did sober up a bit towards the end, which was disappointing
I hope theres a YouTube of Karl's efforts, if only Get This were still around to talk about it :thumbsu:

Stenglein's a Champ!
6 May 2009, 01:09
Disappointed with the Shelley Craft nipple action, expected a lot better.

Cleavy
6 May 2009, 18:38
Today Tonight just ran a story detailing Robot's Today Show antics from Monday morning.

dmc333
6 May 2009, 22:42
what you think harold the bloke who fell into the ocean to just make it look like a former prime minister of years ago is better than an australian icon

No, no contest, if it was Lou Carpenter...

I still remember watching that episode where he went off the rocks before a shocked Madge. :D

stabler
7 May 2009, 01:30
Disappointed with the Shelley Craft nipple action, expected a lot better.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R93Wwha2jO8

The best i could find. Squint and you can almost imagine it...

Invigoration
7 May 2009, 06:45
I hope theres a YouTube of Karl's efforts, if only Get This were still around to talk about it :thumbsu:

Haha, so it sounds like Karl got a grilling from his missus from his performance. I've missed bits and pieces of it this morning, but he said she wasn't impressed with him hitting on Lisa etc. He sort of hinted to getting into a bit of trouble with the show because of it as well.

Lisa said she was just confused why he only said she looked pretty when he was inebriated. It has been a funny couple of days for Karl, great form.

Invigoration
7 May 2009, 06:49
Oh gawd, lol, seems like it has blown up a bit. I thought it would have gone pretty unnoticed, thought I'd just check google (there is youtube footage):

http://www.news.com.au/entertainment/story/0,28383,25438054-10229,00.html

There is a far bit of coverage on it, funny stuff.

JUBJUB
7 May 2009, 09:26
If you drink and host a TV show,you're a bloody legend !!! :D

UUcWJU7yaZ0

Stenglein's a Champ!
8 May 2009, 00:56
Cracking effort :D

"That was a big word..."

"What, that's it?"

Some gold in there. What does he say during the weather? It almost sounds like he says "...let's dance."

tarky
8 May 2009, 09:22
"a beautiful gallop" lol

if karl drank each day before work the ratings would skyrocket

Oct19
8 May 2009, 11:13
Clearly it would seem that alcohol causes the robot to malfunction :).

damochandler
8 May 2009, 12:25
my money is wih karl not being pissed. it was just an act

that_dood
8 May 2009, 15:31
my money is wih karl not being pissed. it was just an act

He was pissed. He has been a stale robot is whole TV life and wouldn't put on an act like that. Great viewing on that video though.:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

RobbyRoy
8 May 2009, 23:22
That was classic, especially the "you know what....who cares" during the weather.

tarky
9 May 2009, 00:46
the logies have more cred than the oscars

Adrian Shelton
9 May 2009, 17:26
......Until more aussie actors start driving hybrids:p And why didnt Gibney ever get a Logie for her best work back in the day. All Together Now!!!!!!!