View Full Version : David Myers, the defense

Pages : [1] 2

fishguts
3 May 2009, 18:49
Now, I for one am sick of having to defend Myers in every second thread from the likes of Kelvin and more recently, Daytripper so I'll put my case in one thread.

*He is being played out of position as a defensive KPP
*Please tell me one player who has gone and kicked a bag on Myers?
*He is a midfielder, he hasn't been giving the chance this year
*His disposal has been getting as the year has gone
*His fitness is now back
*Always puts defensive pressure on and protects the player with the ball, something we can't say with 90% of our team
*Has only played 13 games, not 70 like most of you seem to act like
*Shows leadership and a desire to play for the jumper
*Took his first contested mark last night, something Kelvin has been criticizing him about
*Wasn't our worst by a long way last night, in fact, can't remember a mistake, you'd think he'd cost us 5 goals last night.

I suggest bashers you say he hasn't shown anything to watch the following games

V Sydney
V Adelaide
V Hawthorn
V Carlton
and the first half V Fremantle before he got injured

Then come back and say he hasn't shown anything

I rest my case.

hateitorlovett13
3 May 2009, 19:11
Agree. It's a pretty horrible reflection on EFC fans as a whole when a bloke like Myers can go from being hailed as our next captain and James Hird to a complete failure- all in the space of 5 or 6 games.

A kid like this will take time to develop as he becomes more used to the pace of AFL, along with the skill and determination required to be held elite. Give him time, he has shown signs of improvement and played well yesterday.

Big Blow Hard
3 May 2009, 19:22
I'm with you fisguts. But even the Essendon board can be rife, like the best of BF with clueless idiots who expect that a young player must be dominating within his first 10 games or he is a spud.

Myers has been improving every game in my opinion, and it seems you have covered most of it. I think he has moments where he shows incredible maturity and poise, and I still firmly believe he will be a great long termer for EFC.

Sure, there will be a case for him being omitted here and there, which is natural for players with so little experience. Any gametime we can give him over the next month against some formidable opposition will be invaluable.

I am sure there will be red faces come years end. He has been almost as servicable as Zaka in the last couple of games, yet Zaka is a legend already. there have also been more senior players who have been less impressive this year. IMO, the blowtorch needs to be applied to Gus more than Myers. But there will be arguments for Gus as well.

kelvin_sheedy
3 May 2009, 19:32
He's playing as an attacking HBF - Hurley, Daniher, Pears, Fletcher, McPhee, Slattery have been defensive but that's a lose term anyway.

He got mauled by Simon Wiggins and has lost out to every other opponent and pretty much every contest.

He is getting turned inside out by every forward he's played against.

He trails each opponent by 1-2m and can't close anyone done.

His kicking has been poor, very poor.

He takes an eternity to get it onto the boot.

He's fumbled more times than a kid about to lose his virginity.

He's been worse than Nash and that's saying something.

He's averaging 11 possessions of which 2 have been contested.

His disposal efficiency is 75% for the year. That is skewed because he got %100 for the Carlton game for 8 touches with 3 clangers and a mauling from the dud Wiggins. He's tracking around the 65% mark for a guy that doesn't get the contested possesion - very poor for a draftee that was meant to improve our general skill level.

His kicking looks woeful at the moment. It's either up and under or a floater. None seem to go right.

He's yet to receive a free but I guess if you are no where near it then it might be a good thing.

0.3 in scoring. Not bad if you're a country league footballer but for a highly touted kid who can supposedly roost the ball... hmmm

Averaging 1 tackle a game. Just can't get near anyone to lay a tackle. Too slow, no mobility, can't turn. Makes Jobe Watson look like Usain Bolt.

Apart from the above I reckon he's going alright. :thumbsu:

GoldenboyHird_5
3 May 2009, 19:39
you really do want to see him de-listed don't you?

Bombers1234
3 May 2009, 19:41
That's fine if you don't rate him, but to relentlessly drag him down is very ignorant. I see so much upside to him, his body is naturally big, has good balance, a great one on one mark and a thumping kick.

If anyone saw Brendan Goddard's game today for the saints, that will be Myers in 3 years. And when he does turn good, im sure all these doubters will jump on the bandwaggon.

Sigmund
3 May 2009, 19:43
He's playing as an attacking HBF - Hurley, Daniher, Pears, Fletcher, McPhee, Slattery have been defensive but that's a lose term anyway.

He got mauled by Simon Wiggins and has lost out to every other opponent and pretty much every contest.

His disposal efficiency is 75% for the year. That is skewed because he got %100 for the Carlton game for 8 touches with 3 clangers and a mauling from the dud Wiggins. He's tracking around the 65% mark for a guy that doesn't get the contested possesion - very poor for a draftee that was meant to improve our general skill level.

His kicking looks woeful at the moment. It's either up and under or a floater. None seem to go right.

He's yet to receive a free but I guess if you are no where near it then it might be a good thing.

0.3 in scoring. Not bad if you're a country league footballer but for a highly touted kid who can supposedly roost the ball... hmmm

Averaging 1 tackle a game. Just can't get near anyone to lay a tackle. Too slow, no mobility, can't turn. Makes Jobe Watson look like Usain Bolt.

I can see you are at it again Kelvin... Generalising quotes such as this really are telling in terms of your ability to remain objective in your opinions. You give yourself and your incredible myopic bias away with such sweeping statements. Are you sure that you are not salivating as you write these posts???

Duckworth
3 May 2009, 19:48

He has been pretty good in the run and carrry plays. I would guess he is under instruction to take risks, carry the ball and take the opposition on. Knights is moulding him into the player that fits in with our risky run through the middle style. It looks good when i works but when it fails it looks terrible.

Don't hang a 2nd year kid out to dry. Shame on you Kelvin, Shame, Shame Shame... (sorry borrowed some words from Derryn Hinch)

kelvin_sheedy
3 May 2009, 19:50
That's fine if you don't rate him, but to relentlessly drag him down is very ignorant. I see so much upside to him, his body is naturally big, has good balance, a great one on one mark and a thumping kick.

If anyone saw Brendan Goddard's game today for the saints, that will be Myers in 3 years. And when he does turn good, im sure all these doubters will jump on the bandwaggon.

He's big, yes.

Balance? In which game has he shown it?

Good one on one mark? Again what evidence is there? His 1 contested mark in 4 games?

Thumping kick - yes. Accurate no. Floaters - yes.

Brendan Goddard had elite kicking from day one. Myers doesn't. If he can get to anywhere near him we'll all breathe a sigh of relief.

Daytripper
3 May 2009, 19:52
*Took his first contested mark last night, something Kelvin has been criticizing him about

I venture to say that would be his first contested mark in an Essendon jumper.

Terrific.

Are our expectations so pitiful of players that pull on our jumper that this is something to be celebrated....

I have nothing against the kid but his performances have been very ordinary so far. I hope he does get better next year but I cannot see any reason why he is getting a game at the moment.

fishguts
3 May 2009, 19:52

You say he hasn't been playing defense, yet you are saying he got mauled by his opponent, is he defensive or not? And with Wiggins, where did he get the ball? not inside 50? Thought not.

Not entirely true, a good example is last week where Davis couldn't get around Myers, if he had of he was away, but Myers cut him off and caused a turnover.

At least he is chasing, if he's only trailing by 1 metre with his fitness not fully up yet, then he is doing well and busting his gut.

Another old wives tail, it has been fine, 3 shanks I can think of, but apart from that they've hit the target.

That comes with playing defense when he is a midfielder, he isn't use to the pressure of clearing the ball and hitting the target within a split second.

He's fumbled 3 I can think of, most of them were from the Fremantle game.

Nash has been good in the seniors when he has played, again, he's played 13 games, and your expecting him to be dominating already.

But you said he's meant to be an attacking HBF, then of course he will not be getting many contested disposals. Just wait until he plays in the midfield.

He's averaging 75% for the year, that's very much acceptable. Don't discredit the games he did well in just to skew the argument in your favour.

He's hitting his targets, that's all that matters. Lovett is another who lofts his, don't hear any criticizing of his kicking do we?

What a stupid arguement. He hasn't got a free so he should be dropped? :rolleyes:

The closest to goal of all those shots was 50m out, it's not like he has missed set shots from 25m out on no angle.

No arguements on the one tackle, but what I found interesting was that last night Myers ran more distance then Dempsey and Zaharakis, and his top speed was only 1km slower then both Dempsey and Zaharakis top speed for the night. And considering Dempsey and Zaharakis are supposedly two of our fastest, that says something.

Daytripper
3 May 2009, 19:53

Brendan Goddard looked elite from game 1. Absoloutly no comparison at the moment.

fishguts
3 May 2009, 19:53
I venture to say that would be his first contested mark in an Essendon jumper.

Terrific.

Are our expectations so pitiful of players that pull on our jumper that this is something to be celebrated....

I have nothing against the kid but his performances have been very ordinary so far. I hope he does get better next year but I cannot see any reason why he is getting a game at the moment.

I'm not celebrating it, but Kelvin during the pre-season used it the fact he didn't take a contested mark in his first 8 games as a reason as to why he won't be any good.

Big Blow Hard
3 May 2009, 19:55
He has been pretty good in the run and carrry plays. I would guess he is under instruction to take risks, carry the ball and take the opposition on. Knights is moulding him into the player that fits in with our risky run through the middle style. It looks good when i works but when it fails it looks terrible.

Don't hang a 2nd year kid out to dry. Shame on you Kelvin, Shame, Shame Shame... (sorry borrowed some words from Derryn Hinch)

Actually. Derryn Hinch never really said it much, if at all. It did not become synonomous(sp) with Hinch until the parody skit by Fast Forward/Full Frontal made it so. Ever since people have falsely applied those words to Hinch.

But I digress form the topic...:D

fishguts
Brendan Goddard looked elite from game 1. Absoloutly no comparison at the moment.

Actually no he didn't, he showed signs, much like Myers, but has taken him a good 3-4 years to actually consistently control a game.

Daytripper
Agree. It's a pretty horrible reflection on EFC fans as a whole when a bloke like Myers can go from being hailed as our next captain and James Hird to a complete failure- all in the space of 5 or 6 games.

Leave me out of that. I happen to think most draft picks are horrifically over-rated as most long term posters would attest to.

Daytripper
3 May 2009, 19:58
Actually no he didn't, he showed signs, much like Myers, but has taken him a good 3-4 years to actually consistently control a game.

What games are you watching ?

I will repeat. There is absoloutly no comparison between Goddard in years 1 & 2 and Myers in years 1 & 2. None. Zilch. Nothing.

This is whats wrong with low draft picks. Supporters pump up their tyres so much expecting something that is just not going to happen.

If he was pick 40 and not pick 6 would he still be getting a game ?

Big Blow Hard
3 May 2009, 19:59

I don't think he did look elite straight away, but that is opinion.

Myers showed in the games he played last year, a maturity that is rare in first year players. He was calm and poised deep in defence under greaqt pressure. Like anyone with a disrupted preseason it is going to take him some time again. But to Gary O'Donnell, it took two year before he played a game. Simple fact is, some players take a little more time than others. He will be great.

Daytripper
3 May 2009, 20:00
I'm not celebrating it, but Kelvin during the pre-season used it the fact he didn't take a contested mark in his first 8 games as a reason as to why he won't be any good.

Well, its a pretty f**king damming statistic for someone who is 6 ft 3.

Big Blow Hard
3 May 2009, 20:00
What games are you watching ?

I will repeat. There is absoloutly no comparison between Goddard in years 1 & 2 and Myers in years 1 & 2. None. Zilch. Nothing.

This is whats wrong with low draft picks. Supporters pump up their tyres so much expecting something that is just not going to happen.

If he was pick 40 and not pick 6 would he still be getting a game ?

Dyson.

Daytripper
3 May 2009, 20:02
He will be great.

Just let him play football. In all likelihood he will be a handy player. Nothing special. Just like the majority of AFL footballers and the majoriity of draftees picked from #2 onwards.

Daytripper
3 May 2009, 20:03
Dyson.

Dyson is a better footballer than Myers at the moment. Comfortably actually.

AndyLesPaul
I say we should make an official "player hater" thread. :D

fishguts
Well, its a pretty f**king damming statistic for someone who is 6 ft 3.

And how many Contested marks does Watson take. Just because he's 6 ft 3 doesn't mean he has the core strength to take a contested mark every week.

reincarnated
3 May 2009, 20:04
My argument basically is that he is just got so many weaknesses to his game. But he keeps getting games. Houli apparently got one weakness, (which I believe is bull s...) and he is made in to this scape goat for our Round 1 loss still after Round 6.

Apparently Houli hand passed to one of our player who called for it, who was under pressure at that time. So he shouldn't get a game...

But Myers keeps hand passing to invicible players or shadows and the ball gets turned over and we get goals after goals kicked on us, but it's okay.

Simple...Houli should be playing before Myers at this stage.

Big Blow Hard
3 May 2009, 20:08
Dyson is a better footballer than Myers at the moment. Comfortably actually.

Maybe. But the point is I used Dyson to defuse your Pick 40 suggestion. Dyson has been getting games consistantly, and had infinite patience shown to him. Why should this not be offered to Myers. And if you think Dyson will not be far, far better than Dyson after as many years, then you should go back to bed, you are still dreaming.

Kong
3 May 2009, 20:10
Brendan Goddard looked elite from game 1. Absoloutly no comparison at the moment.Rubbish. Goddard didn't look a star until a year or so ago; and it's only this season that he's consistently been turning matches. The word 'elite' has been cheapened by BigFooty, anyway. It gets thrown around far too often.
If he was pick 40 and not pick 6 would he still be getting a game ?Yes. The coaching staff rate players on what they've seen at training, around the club etc, not what pick they selected them with. I dare say they're playing him through his lack of fintess for the same reasons they extended his contract during the middle of his first season, and why so many club insiders rate him.

Big Blow Hard
3 May 2009, 20:12
Just let him play football. In all likelihood he will be a handy player. Nothing special. Just like the majority of AFL footballers and the majoriity of draftees picked from #2 onwards.

Mate. anyone who makes the AFL is handy. A player can be great, without being a star. You are one of the critics bagging him and calling for his head , how about YOU just let him play football and stop being a dick! :mad:

fishguts
3 May 2009, 20:13
My argument basically is that he is just got so many weaknesses to his game. But he keeps getting games. Houli apparently got one weakness, (which I believe is bull s...) and he is made in to this scape goat for our Round 1 loss still after Round 6.

Apparently Houli hand passed to one of our player who called for it, who was under pressure at that time. So he shouldn't get a game...

But Myers keeps hand passing to invicible players or shadows and the ball gets turned over and we get goals after goals kicked on us, but it's okay.

Simple...Houli should be playing before Myers at this stage.

If you think that is the major reason then you are an idiot. His defensive work is why he is left out. We have to many one way players as it is, yet alone to bring in Houli who hasn't fixed that aspect at VFL and play him in the backline. Myers puts in an effort and does the 1%, Houli doesn't.

sen entertainment bloke
3 May 2009, 20:14

Goddard had questions marks about hime for his first two seasons from memory. Was caught out of position and had his work ethic questioned.

Good to see the player he has devolped into.

Daytripper
3 May 2009, 20:17
Rubbish. Goddard didn't look a star until a year or so ago; and it's only this season that he's consistently been turning matches. The word 'elite' has been cheapened by BigFooty, anyway. It gets thrown around far too often.

I saw Goddards first game and remember thinking how good he looked and what an awesome prospect he was. Its the intangibles like the way he moves, his kicking action, his ability to read the play.

Myers gives me nothing of that. I hope I'm wrong.

If you put up a thread on the MB comparing Goddard and Myers years 1 & 2 and dared to suggest that they were both equal, it would be looked upon with scorn from everyone. And rightfully so.

Can I repeat I have nothing against the kid. I don't pot players. Have been a big supporter of players like Dyson, Stanton, McPhee who get ferociously potted here. Hell I even championed Kepler Bradley for a while.

However lets call a spade a spade and stop with this Myers is playing well nonsense. You may hope that he is (nobody likes seeing a high end draft pick perform badly not least because of the caning they get from opposition supporters a la Tambling) but he isn't.

fishguts
3 May 2009, 20:23
I saw Goddards first game and remember thinking how good he looked and what an awesome prospect he was. Its the intangibles like the way he moves, his kicking action, his ability to read the play.

Myers gives me nothing of that. I hope I'm wrong.

If you put up a thread on the MB comparing Goddard and Myers years 1 & 2 and dared to suggest that they were both equal, it would be looked upon with scorn from everyone. And rightfully so.

Can I repeat I have nothing against the kid. I don't pot players. Have been a big supporter of players like Dyson, Stanton, McPhee who get ferociously potted here. Hell I even championed Kepler Bradley for a while.

However lets call a spade a spade and stop with this Myers is playing well nonsense. You may hope that he is (nobody likes seeing a high end draft pick perform badly not least because of the caning they get from opposition supporters a la Tambling) but he isn't.

We're not saying he's playing well, but he's playing a hell of a lot better then you and kelvin make out.

Daytripper
3 May 2009, 20:23
I've seen all this before with Kepler Bradley.

For the first two years supporters with stars in their eyes try and ignore a players deficiencies because they still live off his draft camp report.

Year 3 they start to get concerned.

Years 4 & 5 the players is unmercifully heckled by the same supporters who thought the sun shone out of his ass in his first two seasons.

The Dustbin
3 May 2009, 20:29
Fair arguements from both sides.

I must admit, Myers hasn't looked too good this year so far.

He hasn't had the best of pre seasons, I'm hoping that we'll see the best of him in the next few weeks or worst off - the second half of the season.

Just a little reminder that he is a second year player with 12 games experience. ;)

kelvin_sheedy
3 May 2009, 20:40
We're not saying he's playing well, but he's playing a hell of a lot better then you and kelvin make out.

Are you crazy?

90% of the people on this board are questioning his place in the side. Would he be getting a game if we had a few injured players back - No. Has he been dropped this season for poor performance - yes.

How can he be playing well if he's been dropped and every second person is calling for him to get some form and fitness in the reserves.

People like yourself assume pick 6 must come good and should be played regardless of form.

The Goddard comparison makes me wet my pants from laughter. Goddard,I repeat again, was rated as a laser precision booming kick. He went No. 1 because of that. Myers is a million miles away from it. Goddard had good games from year 1. He was up and down like most guys and is still not the be all and end all but a very good AFL footballer.

kelvin_sheedy
3 May 2009, 20:44
I've seen all this before with Kepler Bradley.

And what about our next superstar mid in Angus Monfries.

Most people are judging Myers due to the high draft pick and crossing their fingers that he becomes elite similar to every other first round draftee we've had.

larson
3 May 2009, 20:44

Spot on

lemon chicken
3 May 2009, 20:46
Think it was about the mid part of the match Myers had the ball at half back and tried to hanball to Stanton about 3 metres away and completely missed him as we were about to clear and run on. This is not the first time ive seen it happen from him this year but he's lack of agility and being able to turn his body sideways looks uncomfortable. I'd ban him from the gym for a month and send him to yoga.

hateitorlovett13
3 May 2009, 20:47
I wouldn't look too far into the contested marks, in today's game they are considerably rarer. 10 years ago Richo would take 10 in a match- now teams often struggle to take over 12-15. That will come with confidence, which won't come if he continually gets bagged.

And what's this shit about Goddard being elite from the start? He was a gutless wanker for at least his first 2 seasons and struggled to get a kick. I've personally only started to rate him over the past year or so.

Myers needs time, just like Jetta, just like Houli, just like a considerable proportion of our list. We are young and we will improve. Maybe your expectations are too high if you're dumping that kind of shit on a kid as inexperienced as David.

fishguts
3 May 2009, 20:49
Are you crazy?

90% of the people on this board are questioning his place in the side. Would he be getting a game if we had a few injured players back - No. Has he been dropped this season for poor performance - yes.

And guess what, he went back to Bendigo, played well, got back in the side and has had 2 solid games.

How can he be playing well if he's been dropped and every second person is calling for him to get some form and fitness in the reserves.

I even said he should be put back to Bendigo, he did well got back in and has been solid.

People like yourself assume pick 6 must come good and should be played regardless of form.

Bullshit, I said he should be dropped after the Carlton game. On the contrary, it's people like yourself who expect him to be performing like Palmer or Selwood. And when he doesn't in his second year, you make him your whipping boy.

The Goddard comparison makes me wet my pants from laughter. Goddard,I repeat again, was rated as a laser precision booming kick. He went No. 1 because of that. Myers is a million miles away from it. Goddard had good games from year 1. He was up and down like most guys and is still not the be all and end all but a very good AFL footballer.

Myers has a booming kick that is generally accurate, Myers has also been up and down, he was up for 8 games last year, and down for 5 so far this year. I'll back Ant in when he says Myers best comparison is Goddard, he has actually watched this kid through junior footy.

kelvin_sheedy
3 May 2009, 20:56
Myers has a booming kick that is generally accurate, Myers has also been up and down, he was up for 8 games last year, and down for 5 so far this year. I'll back Ant in when he says Myers best comparison is Goddard, he has actually watched this kid through junior footy.

Ant did not compare Myers to Goddard in playing style. More in terms of how many years before we can see any impact.

Myers was not Ant's choice for Pick 6 either.

Not sure what Ant has to do with it anyway. Myers has been playing poorly and every Joe Blow can see that. It's not as if we are hoping for the kid to fail.

We need him to get better but while he's taking up a spot in our senior side and not doing much he'll cop his fair share and we'll give realistic opinions of where he is at. Currently no good, hopefully much better sometime soon.

fishguts
3 May 2009, 21:13
Ant did not compare Myers to Goddard in playing style. More in terms of how many years before we can see any impact.

Actually he compared them in both these aspects.

Myers was not Ant's choice for Pick 6 either.

So, this just indicates to me that you don't like him because you wanted Palmer.

Not sure what Ant has to do with it anyway. Myers has been playing poorly and every Joe Blow can see that. It's not as if we are hoping for the kid to fail.

I brought Ant's opinion into it because he has the most informed opinion of all of us.And to me, it does sound like you want him to fail, considering nearly every second post is complaining about him.

We need him to get better but while he's taking up a spot in our senior side and not doing much he'll cop his fair share and we'll give realistic opinions of where he is at. Currently no good, hopefully much better sometime soon.

And who's going to take his place whilst in the backline?
Once he plays midfield, he will then be up against Houli For a midfield spot.

Spikey
3 May 2009, 21:32
No. Just no.

Enki
3 May 2009, 21:36
Are we sure serendipity and spread_eagle aren't the same troll? They are both as stupid as each other, that can't be a coincidence can it?

fishguts
3 May 2009, 21:44
FACT: Cyril hasn't even played a full game in the midfield, you and your fellow hawk supporters just talk him up as his equal.

Spikey
3 May 2009, 21:47
Because at the time of the draft, were you thinking "We should had picked up this Rioli kid, not ****ing Myers"? Of course ****ing not. So how can you say it was a 'obvious **** up by the club'? It certainly wasn't at the time. We didn't need Rioli two seasons ago (non do we now). We had Davey and Jetta. Now I know you hate Jetta for whatever reason, but it would have been a bigger **** up by the club to pick Rioli over Myers or Palmer. What can Rioli do that Davey can't anyway?

And just because he barracked for Essendon as a kid isn't reason to draft him. :rolleyes:

EDIT Well this post doesn't make any sense anymore

Boucks09
3 May 2009, 22:03
I found the stat regarding Myers' total KM's for the game extremely interesting. To outrun both Dempsey and Zaharakis (who you would say have running ability as their main assests) is staggering given his lack of preseason.

Knights is moulding a side based on a few critical values and rules. Myers is obviously adhering to all of those rules and being rewarded for it.

In regards to comparisons with other players I will say that it is a lot easier to play a position in which you can run around and do as you please (e.g. Palmer) than it is to play as a defender.

I thought Myers had his best game of the year last week and was better than the following:

- Zaharakis (hardly touched it and turned it over)
- Lucas (enough has been said)
- Lonergan (was sore but nonetheless ineffective)
- Monfries (terrible game)
- Dempsey (no impact and didn't chase hard enough)
- Lloyd (didn't step up and kick the goals he needed to)
- Jetta (no defensive pressure)

The first two are a chance of being dropped, but I doubt the rest will be.

Myers is a long term prospect and I believe Knights has him earmarked to play the Luke Hodge role as the general of the backline when Fletcher retires. He is learning to play the defensive aspect of his game first before expanding on his offense. I liken it to a reversal of our game plan from last year and this year (offense first then defense). He is competing with Houli for the spot but Bachar by all accounts has still not improved his defensive game. Nash has zero defense and Quinn is still learning so he is ahead of all 3 at this stage.

I thought before the Brisbane game that he should've been dropped to get fit in the VFL, but given Bendigo had the BYE they wanted him to play. His workrate must be massive given his total KM's for the game. I would much rather that, then a lazy player who slacks off.

They don't win you premierships.

serendipity
3 May 2009, 22:05
spikey

are you serious??? davey is not a shadow of cyril.... davey continually over runs the footy ....he can not kick goals ...he is all action with no output .... gets caught too easily .... cyril slips tackles... he is ineffective compared to cyril.... oh by the way Cyril is 19 and Davey is 24 .... who has the most potential????

I hate Hawthorn and always will!!! I maintain that cyril should have been our draft pick and not that DUD!!! ... (hawthorn supporters are thanking the Big Fella that essendon did not draft cyril.... everynight.... when they say the sleep time prayers!!!!

and stop muddying the waters by dragging Davey into this argument regarding how big a dud Myers is!!!

Spikey
3 May 2009, 22:11
Correct me if I'm wrong. But you dragged Rioli into an argument about Myers. I pointed out it would have been stupid of the Club to pick Rioli when we already had players like him.

And how can you maintain something you said 5 minutes ago anyway? If you were on here saying it 3 years ago...then you could. But you're just a retrospective draft champion. Bet you wouldn't have picked Keps. Or Gumby. Am I right?

Rioli is a forward pocket, who can move into the midfield...maybe. He was picked in the first round. Davey is the same. But picked in the 3rd round....

Big Blow Hard
3 May 2009, 22:17
spikey

are you serious??? davey is not a shadow of cyril.... davey continually over runs the footy ....he can not kick goals ...he is all action with no output .... gets caught too easily .... cyril slips tackles... he is ineffective compared to cyril.... oh by the way Cyril is 19 and Davey is 24 .... who has the most potential????

I HATE HAWTHORN AND ALWAYS WILL!!! I maintain that cyril should have been our draft pick and not that DUD!!! ... (hawthorn supporters are thanking the Big Fella that essendon did not draft cyril.... everynight.... when they say the sleep time prayers!!!!

and stop muddying the waters by dragging Davey into this argument regarding how big a DUD MYRES is!!!

FFS Serindiikheady(sp?). He has played a dozen games. He looked good last year. He has come off interupted preseason and is a loooong way form being labelled a dud.

Sure Rioli is a great player, but we did not need that type of player. We have all you hypocrites screaming to draft midfielders, which myers is destined to be, and then because one guy that was rated as low as second round by some, higher by others, turns out to be a freak, it is Myers and Essendons fault? Get a grip idiot.

pazza
3 May 2009, 22:23
Let's keep it on the level everyone.

serendipity
3 May 2009, 22:28
Spikey

only true fair dinkum idiots would have drafted Bradley and Gumby....

the same frikin idiots who drafted myres over riolli!

serendipity
3 May 2009, 22:29
keep riding away KNYGHTRYDER.... just keep on going....

Spikey
3 May 2009, 22:38
Spikey

only true fair dinkum idiots would have drafted Bradley and Gumby....

the same frikin idiots who drafted myres over riolli!

"retrospective draft champion". Can we ban him yet Whomb? He clearly has nothing positive to add.

Duckworth
3 May 2009, 22:41
"retrospective draft champion". Can we ban him yet Whomb? He clearly has nothing positive to add.

I agree.

bomberlegend2007
3 May 2009, 22:43
spikey

I hate Hawthorn and always will!!! I maintain that cyril should have been our draft pick and not that DUD!!! ... (hawthorn supporters are thanking the Big Fella that essendon did not draft cyril.... everynight.... when they say the sleep time prayers!!!!

and stop muddying the waters by dragging Davey into this argument regarding how big a dud Myers is!!!

Did we need a Cyril type of player.......NO.
Did we need a Myers type of player......Yes.

What some of you don't realise is that it takes time for players like Myers to develop. Midfielders like Selwood, Palmer ect, are ready made players, and in the first season they are stars.

In 3 to 5 years, when we are playing on the last Saturday in September, these things won't matter because our KPP are at their peak, and the midfielders are ready made stars. And the people that have critics of these players now, would be saying "I knew he was a good player, I was his fan since day 1."

Support your team, becasue that what we are, supporters. Not Criticisers.

Kong
3 May 2009, 22:44
Serendipity won't be bothering us for a while.

Spikey
3 May 2009, 22:52
Whomb>RIG

james_omahoney
3 May 2009, 23:12
Serendipity won't be bothering us for a while.

Whomb FTW. Pwned him. Init ;)

Kong
3 May 2009, 23:30
Whomb>RIG

Whomb FTW. Pwned him. Init ;)Big time.

daffo
4 May 2009, 09:33
The lack of pre-season had really harmed Myers in the first couple of rounds but he is starting to get his game going again. I still wonder why we didn't play him through Bendigo until he got fit. Knighter must really like the kid. I personally fell in love with him last year then fell out of it towards the end of last year. I still worry about his pace but hey a lot of stars in the comp have no pace at all (Mitchell, Goddard, Watson etc)

Myers has a booming kick, great vision and hopefully when he homes his skills we will all see the benefits of that.

Daytripper
8 May 2009, 23:31
Really liked his game tonight.

His genuine best game for the club.

Well done David.

kelvin_sheedy
8 May 2009, 23:38
Positioning was good around the contest and the best he's looked in terms of mobility.

His disposal by foot and hand is woeful though and a really big concern - %54
efficiency.

In our bottom 3 again.

FrankGrimes
8 May 2009, 23:42
Positioning was good around the contest and the best he's looked in terms of mobility.

efficiency.

In our bottom 3 again.

kelvin we have a great win against the premiers and this is your first post..... you really are a bitter twisted negative young women aren't you....

Daytripper
8 May 2009, 23:43

efficiency.

In our bottom 3 again.

Kelvin, it must have been a very good bottom three then.

Not in our best players for sure but tonight was the first game he has played for our club where he actually positively contributed.

I can't pot him for that and hope he he keeps it up.

donsman4eva
8 May 2009, 23:47
I actually thought he was quite poor tonight. Every time he had the ball in his hands, I worried. And it was usually justified. He seemed to panick a couple of times and he never really took the game on.

I know he's only played a handful of games, and I'm not saying he is a bad player, but geez he's out of form. His kicking is woeful and he seems clumsy with his hands. Get him back to the 2's to maybe find some form.

kelvin_sheedy
8 May 2009, 23:47
Kelvin, it must have been a very good bottom three then.

Not in our best players for sure but tonight was the first game he has played for our club where he actually positively contributed.

I can't pot him for that and hope he he keeps it up.

Mate, I didn't see any positives apart from him getting in a few contests and using his hands to get the ball out.

He turned it over by foot and hand more than any other player. He blazed away at times and his handballs seem too fatigued to hit their target.

I reckon it's a perception thing and because we won we can't see the actual mistakes players make.

Daytripper
8 May 2009, 23:50
Mate, I didn't see any positives apart from him getting in a few contests and using his hands to get the ball out.

He turned it over by foot and hand more than any other player. He blazed away at times and his handballs seem too fatigued to hit their target.

I reckon it's a perception thing and because we won we can't see the actual mistakes players make.

You know what I probably agree. But it was still his best game for the club.

Just looked a bit more assured tonight.

Wahooti Fandango
8 May 2009, 23:52
Showed improvement, which is good.

kelvin_sheedy
8 May 2009, 23:54
You know what I probably agree. But it was still his best game for the club.

Just looked a bit more assured tonight.

I agree in terms of looking more assured. He seemed confident in his body and his attack on the ball.

He's probably getting enough of a fitness base to be able to contribute but we aren't seeing any improvement in disposal.

Mad Bomber Sean
8 May 2009, 23:59
My 2nd BF post

I agree that he was less influencial than others today. But we should give the guy some space. We're not going to win a flag this year, according to our experts he should be a good player.

I have liked what I have seen so far and frankly we are not going to win a flag this year.

Lets give him the space to develop and become a good player. I am very very confident that he will become a very important player for us if we give him the time to develop into the player he can be.

Our best win for the seaon... :D

Tony Delaney
8 May 2009, 23:59
Be patient people. Supporters want too much too soon. I remember reading before the 2007 season someone was saying that this will be Monfries breakout year. It's only now he is showing what he can do. Remember some players take longer to get to their potential than others and a players best footy is generally from 23yo onwards for a reason. Give the kid time.

Strike Swiftly
9 May 2009, 00:05
I trust Knights judgement, therefore I have complete faith in Myers. He was good tonight.

Mad Bomber Sean
9 May 2009, 00:05
The guy is still getting used to the speed of AFL footy & his fitness is starting to improve. I reckon that once he is at full fitness he will be ranked as a mid level player in terms of influence/ effectiveness in the games themselves. With the sheer speed of the games, sprinting to the contest, that takes so much out of you that when you go to K /HB and you are effected by fatigue & under pressure it is very very hard.. especially when playing the premiers.. I think that he did OK tonight. Not great but not a liability. He helped out to impose size and numbers at critical times when the ball came into pack situations with Roughy & Buddy ( best FWD's in the league )..

Mad Bomber Sean
9 May 2009, 00:07
It was a break out game for Monfries tonight though... beating Hodge then killing it all night long.

Bloodstained Bomber
9 May 2009, 00:15
Anyone that knows a bit about football can see the kid is struggling with the pace of the game.

His athleticism is a big question mark for me but he will take time to show his real form but still not sure it will be good enough to make it long term.

lamaros
9 May 2009, 00:30
Is struggling with his body, not really getting close to it at ground level, but otherwise is playing well.

Mad Bomber Sean
9 May 2009, 00:44
Agree with Lamaros, he is playing his role well & we won. ATM dont have anyone else to fill his position so if he only plays OK and we still win - this has a HUGE upside for us.

lemon chicken
9 May 2009, 04:27
Every week he misses simple handball targets less than 3 metres away. I cant understand it, its a basic skill. Just looking way out of depth. Houli was way better. Cant see him keeping his spot for next week with the names coming back.

SirJimi05
9 May 2009, 05:08
How bout we judge the kid after 3 or so years ffs.

Some of you are a disgrace.

He did a few errant handballs tonight but his second efforts and endevour could not be questioned.

Also, I would say that Zaka's disposal has been of a similiar standard to Myers yet i notice some of those bagging his kicking are the same ones who have credited Zaka for his disposal. Interesting.......

citizen-erased
9 May 2009, 08:58
i like these threads
Mainly cos they remind of a lot of early threads that bagged out McVeigh, McPhee, Welsh, Lucas and some guy named Hille.

As a collective effort i thought our backline was great last night. Worked together to nullify what is the most dangerous forward line in the league.
5 goals to Buddy is below par
2 goals to Roughie (who i think is the best FF at the moment)
1 goal to Williams

Not a bad effort.

AndyLesPaul
9 May 2009, 09:35
Just putting it out there, should we have drafted hurley?

I mean we sort of have a surplus on young backmen right now.

Mad Bomber Sean
9 May 2009, 09:48

Interesting question, Hurley like Daniher can play FWD and I think that this is something that we should seriously consider doing, given the state of Gumby. Does any one else agree?

The other thing is that Hooker is revalation in terms of his mobility. If he continues to play the way he did last night, he play all over the ground. DayTripper mentioned he saw a bit of Goodes and Petrie in him which I also see. still early days

citizen-erased
9 May 2009, 09:49

we've gone pretty heavy on the backline players in the past 2 drafts

Hurley, Pears, Myers, Hooker, Danniher. Tyson Slattery is another tall back right?
Add Dempsey and you basically have a new backline.
It was a major area of concern though. Esp with our attack from the back game plan, so a re-invention was probably needed. Plus, Welsh and McVeigh have been handy as attacking midfielders, so not needing them down back has been handy
Question would be would we have been better off with a Rich or Ziebell....i dont think so. Stants, Watson, Winderlich, Hocking, McVeigh, Welsh and Lovett are a great midfield outfit.

bomberstomake8
9 May 2009, 09:50

without a doubt.. hurley will be the best of the lot, and then says a lot considering how well hooker and pears are doing. competition for spots is never a bad thing

dont forget as well that hurley has shown he is more then capable as a key forward at junior level and could be used as a CHF if gumby doesnt come up

also who would have you drafted over him? rich?
i would argue that we have a surplus of midfielders right now, only one or two could be considered to be dropped right now yet we have welsh, prismall, mcveigh, reimers to come back in.

BrunoV
9 May 2009, 09:55
Myers has grown two to three inches since he was drafted. He is about 193 at the moment. He was drafted at about 187-8. He has also had a dodgy preseason.

He can't bend down anymore and will take 12-18 months longer to develop than he would have.

It is the same thing that happened to Goddard. All of the sudden you body is not as it should be, and your coordination and mobility suffer.

It is a shame because those few games he played last year were great.

He will get there just have faith. The advantage is that when he is ready he is another key position option as well as being able to play midfield or on a smaller forward.

AndyLesPaul
9 May 2009, 10:03
without a doubt.. hurley will be the best of the lot, and then says a lot considering how well hooker and pears are doing. competition for spots is never a bad thing

dont forget as well that hurley has shown he is more then capable as a key forward at junior level and could be used as a CHF if gumby doesnt come up

also who would have you drafted over him? rich?
i would argue that we have a surplus of midfielders right now, only one or two could be considered to be dropped right now yet we have welsh, prismall, mcveigh, reimers to come back in.
Dunno, maybe a Forward?
and not rich, i'm not going to sound like kelvin.

Sidebottom drifted to Collingwood.

but yeah i'm not saying it wasnt a good idea we drafted Hurley, just noticed the amazing amount of backs we have.

Maybe Daniher needs to go Forward

Slattery_20
9 May 2009, 10:09
Dunno, maybe a Forward?
and not rich, i'm not going to sound like kelvin.

Sidebottom drifted to Collingwood.

but yeah i'm not saying it wasnt a good idea we drafted Hurley, just noticed the amazing amount of backs we have.

Maybe Daniher needs to go Forward
But at the end of last year there were fairly massive question marks on Daniher, Pears and Hooker, and I (for one) was genuinely questioning where the next good EFC backline was appearing from.
Well, it's arrived.

BrunoV
9 May 2009, 10:26
They say that Hurley was the best credentialed backman drafted for years. He is versatile enough to have kicked 6 a few times in the under 18s.

I would say that the game against Port supported the wraps.

You don't pass up the opportunity to draft a player like that.

Big Blow Hard
9 May 2009, 12:14
Hurley/Zaharakis/Myers >>> Rich/Random/Random

Can't believe this is being questioned.
For those bagging Myers, pull it in a bit. Not everyone is a star after 12 games. Give him time, he will justify his pick.

Still adamant Hooker will be the steal of the last draft.

Smyth94
9 May 2009, 12:46

How can you say that after the game he had on Tredrea?

Not to mention Hurley's exquisite kicking skills.

AndyLesPaul
9 May 2009, 13:25
How can you say that after the game he had on Tredrea?

Not to mention Hurley's exquisite kicking skills.
Well because the year before we drafted Daniher Pears and Hooker
who are all potential KPP's?
Are you denying that we dont have a surplus of young backmen?

The Coast
9 May 2009, 13:31
It seems that there's alot of talk on here that is similar to the way some West Coast fans talk about the drafting of Masten ahead of most others in that draft. I think a few people have got it right by saying that you've just got to give the kid some time. Essendon are going to have a killer backline in a few years with Hurley, Pears, Hooker (after last nights effort), Daniher etc. and Im tipping Myers will be a key part of that.

And if you don't want him then send him back to WA, we'll take him!

Big Blow Hard
9 May 2009, 15:22

Is that really an issue. Remember Hurley and Daniher can be put forward as well. Daniher was a good forward a junior level from all reports. Hurley was the draft choice we HAD to make at the time. That our backline is shaping up nicely with the others is a bonus. Hurley was the player we had to draft this year. Unless you ask Bombersno1, lol

AndyLesPaul
9 May 2009, 15:26
Is that really an issue. Remember Hurley and Daniher can be put forward as well. Daniher was a good forward a junior level from all reports. Hurley was the draft choice we HAD to make at the time. That our backline is shaping up nicely with the others is a bonus. Hurley was the player we had to draft this year. Unless you ask Bombersno1, lol
or Kelvin.

Yeah it's just a question i asked before i realised how versatile Hurley is

Slattery_20
9 May 2009, 17:24
I understand that last sentence but I don't think it makes sense, if that makes sense

Good problem to have IMHO. Our forward line prospects aren't doing so well as to force Daniher or Hooker out when Hurley gets back, I've a suspicion they'll just be swung forward.
EDIT: one more thing - If we didn't draft Hurley, 99% chance the Blues would have. Had he played in round 3, they would have freed up Waite & we would have lost

Definite 84 look about this side, about 4-5 guys who can play well at either CHF or CHB or ruck a little bit. Zaka similar to Neagle, popping goals from midfield?

SirJimi05
9 May 2009, 22:54
i like these threads
Mainly cos they remind of a lot of early threads that bagged out McVeigh, McPhee, Welsh, Lucas and some guy named Hille.

Hmm there was a thread running just over a year ago comparing Hille and Laycock and a heap of people named Laycock as the better player.

Just goes to show you that half the people on our board cant be taken seriously.

SirJimi05
9 May 2009, 22:57

Yes i am denying this. Firstly you can never have too many KP players. Secondly, i would hardly say that Daniher, Pears and Hooker are going to give us the sufficient KP depth the club will need moving forward. What do you think would happen in a year or so when Fletch is retired if one or two of these guys are injured at the same time or even worse one or more of them dont even make the grade?

We have a surplus of Mids but definitely not KP defenders.

lamaros
9 May 2009, 23:47
Hmm there was a thread running just over a year ago comparing Hille and Laycock and a heap of people named Laycock as the better player.

Just goes to show you that half the people on our board cant be taken seriously.

Hopefully the same will be said this time next year of all the supporters that have made a sport out of bagging Laycock. That kid has real talent and I hope he gets his focus right and gets it all out on the park for Essendon on a consistent basis in the future.

Tippaz
12 May 2009, 03:29
i think Myers could be our version of Goddard.

at the start of the year, he only had 9 games to his name. (Goddard on 113)

HBF seems the best place to settle him atm. give him time.

(and a few more years in the gym http://www.forumsport.co.uk/images/emoticons/icon_nemo.gif)