View Full Version : Time to stand up to the Hawks scum - It's 0 - 6
reincarnated
4 May 2009, 21:10
2008 R11 Essendon 12.7 (79) Hawthorn 19.16 (130)
2007 R18 Hawthorn 17.17 (119) Essendon 7.14 (56)
2007 R6 Essendon 15.6 (96) Hawthorn 20.11 (131)
2006 R20 Essendon 15.16 (106) Hawthorn 19.10 (124)
2006 R5 Hawthorn 12.12 (84) Essendon (83)
2005 R20 Hawthorn 17.15 (117) Essendon 16.8 (104)
It’s time to stand up to the scum. Seriously, enough is enough.
We are playing a club who wanted to be like what we were in 1999 through to 2004. In 2001, they called the Essendon Football Club and wanted to see how we operated. We opened our doors and let them in.
They went away, and since then have built their Club to be like us. They drafted players who are tough and competitive. We had Jason Johnson, Mark Johnson, Dean Soloman, Damien Hardwick etc and had a full forward who was like a run away train. Now they’ve brought in players like Mitchell, Hodge, Brown, Guerra etc, and Roughead in to their Club. Who do Roughead and Franklin remind you of? ie. Lloyd and Lucas. They are now what we were in our prime, if not better. I say that because they can only get better with age. They are still very young. They’ve brushed us aside like flies in the last 3 meetings especially. It’s been embarrassing. :mad:
It’s time to stand up to them. I don’t want our boys to go and beat up their blokes and get suspended, like they did in 2004. I just want my club to go out and attack the ball like there’s no tomorrow. At the end of the match I want them to know that they've just played against the mighty Bombers. I want EFC to make me proud on Friday night. I want us to smash the scum.
AndyLesPaul
4 May 2009, 21:15
2008 R11 Essendon 12.7 (79) Hawthorn 19.16 (130)
2007 R18 Hawthorn 17.17 (119) Essendon 7.14 (56)
2007 R6 Essendon 15.6 (96) Hawthorn 20.11 (131)
2006 R20 Essendon 15.16 (106) Hawthorn 19.10 (124)
2005 R20 Hawthorn 17.15 (117) Essendon 16.8 (104)
It’s time to stand up to the scum. Seriously, enough is enough.
We are playing a club who wanted to be like what we were in 1999 through to 2004. In 2001, they called the Essendon Football Club and wanted to see how we operated. We opened our doors and let them in.
They went away, and since then have built their Club to be like us. They drafted players who are tough and competitive. We had Jason Johnson, Mark Johnson, Dean Soloman, Damien Hardwick etc and had a full forward who was like a run away train. Now they’ve brought in players like Mitchell, Hodge, Brown, Guerra etc, and Roughead in to their Club. Who do Roughead and Franklin remind you of? ie. Lloyd and Lucas. They are now what we were in our prime, if not better. I say that because they can only get better with age. They are still very young. They’ve brushed us aside like flies in the last 3 meetings especially. It’s been embarrassing. :mad:
It’s time to stand up to them. I don’t want our boys to go and beat up their blokes and get suspended, like they did in 2004. I just want my club to go out and attack the ball like there’s no tomorrow. At the end of the match I want them to know that they've just played against the mighty Bombers. I want EFC to make me proud on Friday night. I want us to smash the scum.
If i remember right, that match was a bitch.
Colin D'Cops
4 May 2009, 21:16
So do I mate; So do I. Unfortunately, the outcome looks very predictable. Hopefully we can go in for the ball at every opportunity and feed it out to the likes of Winderlich, Lovett, Davey etc to give us some opportunity to win the game. Also for us to be competitive; One of Lloyd/Lucas really needs to stand up and kick 4+ goals. Nothing like a bit of scoreboard pressure.
Just about the only other team with a injury run like ours. I suppose we have a slight chance of a upset. But really. Nah.
reincarnated
4 May 2009, 21:34
Was this the Monty "Hollywood" Banana match?
I just have a positive outlook on the match. They don't have their best defense at the moment. Lloyd's got rid of his nervous 900 goals. If we can get someone who can provide us something at CHF, we are half a chance.
Fletcher is a huge loss. Praying Hurley and Daniher, and also McVeigh gets up for this match.
Simon Taylor might miss due to suspension. And I hope Gilham doesn't get up for the match, as he is been injured. This will leave their ruck stock and defense a bit weak, as Campbell will be forced to play FB again.
bOmBeR_BoY1
4 May 2009, 21:40
They still have a little way to go to match our 10 consecutive wins from 1998 through to 2005...
R3 2005 Essendon 10.17.77 defeated Hawthorn 11.9.75 @ MCG
R11 2004 Essendon 24.10.154 defeated Hawthorn 12.8.80 @ MCG
R8 2003 Essendon 15.16.106 defeated Hawthorn 8.5.53 @ MCG
R12 2002 Essendon 10.12.72 defeated Hawthorn 10.5.65 @ MCG
PF 2001 Essendon 11.10.76 defeated Hawthorn 9.13.67 @ MCG
R9 2001 Essendon 18.14.122 defeated Hawthorn 8.9.57 @ Docklands
R19 2000 Essendon 25.15.165 defeated Hawthorn 13.4.82 @ Docklands
R4 2000 Essendon 20.17.137 defeated Hawthorn 14.6.90 @ MCG
R9 1999 Essendon 15.17.107 defeated Hawthorn 7.5.47 @ Waverley Park
R10 1998 Essendon 13.15.93 defeated Hawthorn 13.9.87 @ Waverley Park
Major ownership there.
A great & respected rival of ours, dating back decades, despite the ownership the teams have had over each other at certain times in history. I don't think either set of supporters could really go into any of our clashes with a massive degree of winning confidence.
It will be good when we buck the current trend they have over us, don't think it will be happening this week though.
One thing in our favour is quite an impressive finals record over the Hawks - we won our last final against them and our last two Grand Final meetings. Nobody can take that away.
AndyLesPaul
4 May 2009, 21:42
Was this the Monty "Hollywood" Banana match?
I just have a positive outlook on the match. They don't have their best defense at the moment. Lloyd's got rid of his nervous 900 goals. If we can get someone who can provide us something at CHF, we are half a chance.
Fletcher is a huge loss. Praying Hurley and Daniher, and also McVeigh gets up for this match.
Simon Taylor might miss due to suspension. And I hope Gilham doesn't get up for the match, as he is been injured. This will leave their ruck stock and defense a bit weak, as Campbell will be forced to play FB again.
Um, presumingly, this is the only close match i saw.
Sam the RAMA fan
4 May 2009, 21:46
Hoping our boys can shut down their forwards.
Roughead was on fire against the blues, can't let him kick 8 against us,
now that Fletcher is out.
Good to see McVeigh and Hurley back.
I'm actually quite excited to see how Hurley goes,
didn't do to bad in the first round.
Playing Saints and Cats in the next 4 weeks also.
Fletcher is a massive loss, and of course Hille,
but Hooker didn't do to bad either.
Would love to beat Hawks and Tigers,
because I think the Saints and Cats will be hard indeed.
We gotta pack the stadium out...
COME ON DONS! :thumbsu:
deathevocation
4 May 2009, 22:02
It's really 0-7 given Solomon cheated in your last win. Anyhow, this one is going to be one way traffic ala round 20 1992. I'd also be surprised if we don't smash your official 0-10 record. Can't see Essendon getting near us for a long time unless you catch us on an off day. Maybe 2014 :)
It's really 0-7 given Solomon cheated in your last win. Anyhow, this one is going to be one way traffic ala round 20 1992. I'd also be surprised if we don't smash your official 0-10 record. Can't see Essendon getting near us for a long time unless you catch us on an off day. Maybe 2014 :)No, it's not really. Not at all. The match stands as of the final score. I would offer your mob good luck, but you've shown no respect on our boards, so run along.
It's really 0-7 given Solomon cheated in your last win. Anyhow, this one is going to be one way traffic ala round 20 1992. I'd also be surprised if we don't smash your official 0-10 record. Can't see Essendon getting near us for a long time unless you catch us on an off day. Maybe 2014 :)
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y189/matthewbrown/6p5sxzcjk0.gif
Hahahaha! Why do you even have that?!
Saw it posted somewhere, stole it as I figured it'd come in handy some time
Haven't had the chance to use this one though :(
http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/dd218/CJanssen-Wishaupt/sexiness.gif
Colin D'Cops
4 May 2009, 22:53
:D:D:D
Fair dinkum Spikey; You're the King @ derailing threads.
Am I the only one totally hypnotized by Prince's flick of the head in the last GIF?
james_omahoney
4 May 2009, 23:08
Am I the only one totally hypnotized by Prince's flick of the head in the last GIF?
the first gif is hilarious.
deathevocation
5 May 2009, 08:59
Yeah, that first one is funny. As for Whomb - come on, it's Essendon v Hawthorn, get in the spirit.
AxelFoley
5 May 2009, 09:12
Draw the line in the sand...........
Man that run of 10 defeats is depressing.
Do you fellas think that Hurley will be back this week, i like the way he looked in the first round (and hes in my supercoach team!)?
Jonesy1987
5 May 2009, 11:26
Man that run of 10 defeats is depressing.
Do you fellas think that Hurley will be back this week, i like the way he looked in the first round (and hes in my supercoach team!)?
If Fletch wasn't injured I'd say they'ed give him a run in the ressies, without seeing training I'd have to say he is as good a chance as anyone to come in.
Thanks jonesy, I kinda thought that might be the situation, I'd like to see the young bloke play again cos as i said i liked the way he looked.
In a couple of years you blokes will have an excellent backline i suspect
hurley is unlikely to be risked.
i would have preferred this thread waited until R22 when the bombers have some players back!
Yeah, that first one is funny. As for Whomb - come on, it's Essendon v Hawthorn, get in the spirit.Fair point. Banter between clubs does make the game a bit more enjoyable. As long as it's banter, and not trolling.
May not be this week but I have a feeling the Hawthorn Football Club is going to have its pants pulled down by the Essendon Football Club in a BIG way in the near future....;)
centurion
5 May 2009, 15:31
May not be this week but I have a feeling the Hawthorn Football Club is going to have its pants pulled down by the Essendon Football Club in a BIG way in the near future....;)
Please explain
The Kipster
5 May 2009, 16:28
I just like the way we call each other scum...so much love in the air....seriously though, those 10 in a row were a freakin nightmare for us...I used to have to rock myself to sleep, curled up in a ball after your 5th win on the trot :p
AC for PM
5 May 2009, 16:39
Shouldn't the thread title be "Time to stand up to the Hawks, scum - It's 0 - 6"
You missed out a very important comma.
AndyLesPaul
5 May 2009, 16:51
Shouldn't the thread title be "Time to stand up to the Hawks, scum - It's 0 - 6"
very nice. lol.
Lloyd>Franklin ;)
You missed out a very important comma.Haha, nice one.
AC for PM does have a point regarding misleading title. It should read:
Time to stand up to the MINNOW Hawks scum - It's 0 - 6"
Scum on its own = Carlton.
Minnow Scum = Hawthorn.
Oh no you didn't
http://img361.imageshack.us/img361/781/rkellywtfio8iv1.gif
Please explain
The wheel is slowly turning my friend and the minnows are no 1 on the list to get whats coming to them from us sooner rather than later. Mark my words.
Port Adelaide are no 2 on that list ftw. ;)
OzBomber
5 May 2009, 17:17
Definitely.
oUx_Zyzx3Sc
AndyLesPaul
5 May 2009, 18:28
Definitely.
oUx_Zyzx3Sc
Oh god.
i remember there was a game we won before that that was similar to this too
OzBomber
5 May 2009, 18:46
They still have a little way to go to match our 10 consecutive wins from 1998 through to 2005...
R3 2005 Essendon 10.17.77 defeated Hawthorn 11.9.75 @ MCG
R11 2004 Essendon 24.10.154 defeated Hawthorn 12.8.80 @ MCG
R8 2003 Essendon 15.16.106 defeated Hawthorn 8.5.53 @ MCG
R12 2002 Essendon 10.12.72 defeated Hawthorn 10.5.65 @ MCG
PF 2001 Essendon 11.10.76 defeated Hawthorn 9.13.67 @ MCG
R9 2001 Essendon 18.14.122 defeated Hawthorn 8.9.57 @ Docklands
R19 2000 Essendon 25.15.165 defeated Hawthorn 13.4.82 @ Docklands
R4 2000 Essendon 20.17.137 defeated Hawthorn 14.6.90 @ MCG
R9 1999 Essendon 15.17.107 defeated Hawthorn 7.5.47 @ Waverley Park
R10 1998 Essendon 13.15.93 defeated Hawthorn 13.9.87 @ Waverley Park
Major ownership there.
A great & respected rival of ours, dating back decades, despite the ownership the teams have had over each other at certain times in history. I don't think either set of supporters could really go into any of our clashes with a massive degree of winning confidence.
It will be good when we buck the current trend they have over us, don't think it will be happening this week though.
One thing in our favour is quite an impressive finals record over the Hawks - we won our last final against them and our last two Grand Final meetings. Nobody can take that away.And look. The majority of those games at the MCG. It's ridiculous that this game is at Docklands. :thumbsd:
Doubt I'll get to go now cos it'll be a sell out.
Boucks09
5 May 2009, 20:31
Definitely.
oUx_Zyzx3Sc
I remember that game vividly. I was living in Tokyo and avoided the result to watch the 'replay' live. Fair to say I had tears swelling after that loss. We had lost something like 12 in a row at that point and we so close to breaking the drought.
In regards to this week I believe we will play much better than the general consensus thinks. Hawthorn are coming off a tough win and to be honest are not in great form. If Fev doesn't hit the post they are 2-4 and under the pump massively.
We lose Lucas and Fletcher but don't rely on either anywhere near as much as we used to. This week we have launched the 84/85 celebrations and you can be sure that the likes of TD will be getting into the boys all week about how much a win against Hawthorn means.
We will come out breathing fire after a horrible loss and let down for Fletcher's 300th. We have shown this year that we lift for big occassions and against big Victorian rivals. Don't get sucked into all this hype about Franklin and Roughead kicking 10 each. The fact is Fletcher wouldn't of played on either in any case, and Brown and Bradshaw only kicked 9.0 against us last week when we lost poorly. It would've been nice to have Daniher and Hurley play but the fact is they have less than 10 games of AFL experience between them. Hooker and Pears looked great last week and I see no reason to think they can't outperform hacks like Paul Bower and Bret Thornton.
I'm looking to a couple of blokes this week to show some leadership.
1). Adam McPhee. He would only need to remember when Vandenberg got Pichone and Batemen to sit on him whilst he laid into him. What a tough act that was. Macca needs to fire up and exert some physical pressure on these boys. None of this bulls*** elbowing blokes when he runs past. Get into the likes of Whitecross, Moss,Dowler, Murphy etc early and make sure they know who they are playing. I want some more "I will ****ing kill you" looks from Macca. He has gone into his shell too much this season to focus on his own game. That will fire up Browny, Lewis etc and take their mind off the game as we know they are undisciplined and react to these things.
2). Lloyd. Has fired blanks since the Carlton game. With Lucas gone the responsiblity falls on him as the Captain and main forward. No more misses and plenty more efforts to assert himself on the game. He also needs to get into Jay Neagle all week about him taking his chance and not galavanting around like horse without a jockey.
Lets get off to a good start, get the home crowd fired up and take it right up to reigning premier.
****EN C'MON!
OzBomber
5 May 2009, 20:58
I remember that game vividly. I was living in Tokyo and avoided the result to watch the 'replay' live. Fair to say I had tears swelling after that loss. We had lost something like 12 in a row at that point and we so close to breaking the drought. !Actually, it was our 4th loss in a row. ;)
Still heartbreaking though.
Mervyn Beasley
5 May 2009, 21:24
I remember that game vividly. I was living in Tokyo and avoided the result to watch the 'replay' live. Fair to say I had tears swelling after that loss. We had lost something like 12 in a row at that point and we so close to breaking the drought.
In regards to this week I believe we will play much better than the general consensus thinks. Hawthorn are coming off a tough win and to be honest are not in great form. If Fev doesn't hit the post they are 2-4 and under the pump massively.
We lose Lucas and Fletcher but don't rely on either anywhere near as much as we used to. This week we have launched the 84/85 celebrations and you can be sure that the likes of TD will be getting into the boys all week about how much a win against Hawthorn means.
We will come out breathing fire after a horrible loss and let down for Fletcher's 300th. We have shown this year that we lift for big occassions and against big Victorian rivals. Don't get sucked into all this hype about Franklin and Roughead kicking 10 each. The fact is Fletcher wouldn't of played on either in any case, and Brown and Bradshaw only kicked 9.0 against us last week when we lost poorly. It would've been nice to have Daniher and Hurley play but the fact is they have less than 10 games of AFL experience between them. Hooker and Pears looked great last week and I see no reason to think they can't outperform hacks like Paul Bower and Bret Thornton.
I'm looking to a couple of blokes this week to show some leadership.
1). Adam McPhee. He would only need to remember when Vandenberg got Pichone and Batemen to sit on him whilst he laid into him. What a tough act that was. Macca needs to fire up and exert some physical pressure on these boys. None of this bulls*** elbowing blokes when he runs past. Get into the likes of Whitecross, Moss,Dowler, Murphy etc early and make sure they know who they are playing. I want some more "I will ****ing kill you" looks from Macca. He has gone into his shell too much this season to focus on his own game. That will fire up Browny, Lewis etc and take their mind off the game as we know they are undisciplined and react to these things.
2). Lloyd. Has fired blanks since the Carlton game. With Lucas gone the responsiblity falls on him as the Captain and main forward. No more misses and plenty more efforts to assert himself on the game. He also needs to get into Jay Neagle all week about him taking his chance and not galavanting around like horse without a jockey.
Lets get off to a good start, get the home crowd fired up and take it right up to reigning premier.
****EN C'MON!
Perlease!
Nobody is scared of Adam McPhee.
The only reaction you would get from Brown and Lewis is to laugh in his potholed face.
McPhee just needs to concentrate on keeping his critical error count down. If he does that it would be way more scary.
Perlease!
The only reaction you would get from Brown and Lewis is to laugh in his potholed face.
McPhee just needs to concentrate on keeping his critical error count down. If he does that it would be way more scary.
I would be scared of Skeletor - He's got pretty massive swords - those combo's are pretty deadly.
Boucks09
5 May 2009, 21:33
Actually, it was our 4th loss in a row. ;)
Still heartbreaking though.
Bloody hell it was too. The loss still hurt anyway...we were brave that day.
Colin D'Cops
5 May 2009, 21:34
McPhee just needs to concentrate on keeping his critical error count down..
Will be sure to remind him of that statement, but only if you promise to tell Lewis one thing; To keep putting his own interests infront of the team and make sure he suspends himself yet again. :thumbsu:
The Dustbin
5 May 2009, 21:37
We can stand up to them, but it would be a major surprise if we win Friday night.
How did Simon Taylor fare at the tribunal? Smart bloke Taylor. :o
Boucks09
5 May 2009, 21:44
Perlease!
McPhee is an instinct player. He makes critical errors when he concentrates too much. I think he plays his best footy when he is aggresive and attacks the ball and contest. We saw that on ANZAC Day when he ran in straight lines out of defense.
I'd be surprised to see Brown or Lewis shirk a potential confrontation if McPhee was in their face early in the game. Guess we will have to wait and see.
Boucks09
5 May 2009, 21:46
We can stand up to them, but it would be a major surprise if we win Friday night.
How did Simon Taylor fare at the tribunal? Smart bloke Taylor. :o
He got off. I didn't think there was much in it TBH but I wouldn't want to be Nick Maxwell!
OzBomber
5 May 2009, 21:54
Cmon guys, you better still turn up and support the blokes. I'm goin with a mate. Should be good to see our young blokes go up against Buddy and Roughy. Lloyd will now have 900 no longer worrying him.
The Dustbin
5 May 2009, 21:59
I'll be there. :thumbsu:
I ****ing hope we beat these pricks.
Big Blow Hard
5 May 2009, 23:00
Can someone remind me when Jordan Lewis became a so called tough guy. I remember him from Warrnambool, he is a pussy. Belting up blokes with all his mates. Real tough guy:confused: Seems you get reported a few times and all of are sudden you are supposed to be tough, nah.
Can someone remind me when Jordan Lewis became a so called tough guy. I remember him from Warrnambool, he is a pussy. Belting up blokes with all his mates. Real tough guy:confused: Seems you get reported a few times and all of are sudden you are supposed to be tough, nah.He does have a bit of Cameron Mooney about him. Gets reported a few times for being a thug, so people presume he's a tough guy. Neither would intimidate many players, I wouldn't think. I'd be more hesitant running into a pack against players like Ablett, Chapman, Glass, JBrown.
Colin D'Cops
5 May 2009, 23:23
Lewis' the type of guy you would expect a knife to be in his back pocket. Cheap shots galore is his motto. Reimers would have him in a fight well & truly; Would get him on the ground 9 times outta 10 guarenteed.
rdhopkins2
6 May 2009, 00:34
Bring it on!!!! :)
Can't wait for this game!
rainman06
6 May 2009, 07:07
Jordan Lewis is the softest, dirtiest, cheapest player in the game. He is the antithesis of the tough man.
boozeDragon
6 May 2009, 09:07
He does have a bit of Cameron Mooney about him. Gets reported a few times for being a thug, so people presume he's a tough guy. Neither would intimidate many players, I wouldn't think. I'd be more hesitant running into a pack against players like Ablett, Chapman, Glass, JBrown.
Gotta disagree here. Mooney only goes after blokes that are smaller than him. I've seen Lewis tough it out with a lot of bigger blokes. He may be a bit of a drama queen and prone to making poor decisions but he's definitely not a gutless sniper.
Boucks09
6 May 2009, 10:30
Gotta disagree here. Mooney only goes after blokes that are smaller than him. I've seen Lewis tough it out with a lot of bigger blokes. He may be a bit of a drama queen and prone to making poor decisions but he's definitely not a gutless sniper.
Would you put Jordan Lewis in the same category as Richie Vandenberg? If so he would need to meet the following criteria:
- Take on bigger blokes = Adam McPhee
- Drama Queen = cracked it when told he wasn't in the best 22 by the media when he was captain
- Poor decision = starting a brawl then seeing his side concede the next 10 goals
- Gutless sniper = having 2 blokes hold an opponent down whilst he continually punches and knees him
I have a feeling that our gutless sniper/drama queen might be in for a big game :)
And our pot-bellied forward.
Big Blow Hard
6 May 2009, 11:12
I have a feeling that our gutless sniper/drama queen might be in for a big game :)
And our pot-bellied forward.
Buddy yes, Lewis i see being solid but not outstanding. Lewis we can nullify, Buddy I shudder to think.
AC for PM
6 May 2009, 13:55
Goodnight Essendon 2009 - lights out on friday night thanks to Roughead and Franklin.
Hope its a corker but I can't see it happening. One-way traffic.
It's awfully nice of you to think you will end our season, but nah.
Jordan Lewis is the softest, dirtiest, cheapest player in the game. He is the antithesis of the tough man.
What cheap shot has he even made? certainly nothing in the last few years. I think your abit confused about what a soft player is. You have an opportunity to find out on Friday night, pay special attention to those wearing black and red particularly one posing as a full forward.
I'm just looking forward to getting my paper Saturday morning, turning straight to the ladder and looking at how much better our percentage is.
centurion
6 May 2009, 14:18
What cheap shot has he even made? certainly nothing in the last few years. I think your abit confused about what a soft player is. You have an opportunity to find out on Friday night, pay special attention to those wearing black and red particularly one posing as a full forward.
I'm just looking forward to getting my paper Saturday morning, turning straight to the ladder and looking at how much better our percentage is.
The guy that is 'posing' as a full forward in the red and black is tough enough don't worry about that. If he was posing, he wouldn't of kicked over 900 goals in his career.
As for saturday morning, take care not to blow all over the paper because then it will be useless.
The Kipster
6 May 2009, 14:24
I'll be there. :thumbsu:
I ****ing hope we beat these pricks.
those weak pricks, you mean....:) and I highly doubt it when you are missing pretty well your entire mid-field....I suggest you look into yourself Grasshopper and be satisifed with a good team effort regardless of the result....:p
Big Blow Hard
6 May 2009, 14:29
Goodnight Essendon 2009 - lights out on friday night thanks to Roughead and Franklin.
Hope its a corker but I can't see it happening. One-way traffic.
Don't flatter yourselves mate. A loss to you will far from kill our season.
That will happen against Geelong thee weeks later! ;)
I remember that day! Was at the lunch table at a family function, and the cousin was listening over his pocket radio. Then was getting excited because we were 1 goal down, then the radio cut out.
Once he got it going again, Hawks were up by 1 at the siren :eek:
Boy did he cop it :thumbsu:
I remember that day! Was at the lunch table at a family function, and the cousin was listening over his pocket radio. Then was getting excited because we were 1 goal down, then the radio cut out.
Once he got it going again, Hawks were up by 1 at the siren :eek:
Boy did he cop it :thumbsu:
Mark Williams in the wet shooting straight against Hollywood Monfries.
Was a good game :thumbsu:
windyhill
6 May 2009, 17:49
Full strength list to pick from I`d probably tip Essendon. Then again I`ve been wanting a full strength list to pick from for the last 37 years.
Boucks09
6 May 2009, 19:42
The last time we were told by opposition supporters that we had no chance we came out and won...Round 3 anybody?
The best thing about this game is that we have absolutely nothing to lose. If we get pumped then it's what the majority of people expected. I honestly feel that we will come out and put in a much much better performance than many people are expecting.
The crowd will be pro-Essendon.
The stadium will be decked out in the the red and black.
It's the launch of out 84/85 celebrations.
We play well in big matches on the big stage.
**** it, I'm going there expecting us to take it right up to the Hawks and if we are in the game in the last quarter then who knows what could happen. If we get pumped then so be it but I've got a surprising amount of optimism for this match. As I've previously said, if Fev didn't hit the post Hawthorn are 2-4 (with wins against 2 bottom 8 sides) and massively under the pump. They can underrate us at their own peril.
Their form so far this year is no better than ours. Yes we have some injuries to key players, but we have not been relying on them so far this season.
Hille - well below form when he played
Fletcher - the best forward he has played on his Rocca! Also few possessions in his last few matches
Lucas - no goals in last 3 games
McVeigh - has played 1/2 a game so far and we have already won 3 without him
Welsh - won 3 games without him
Reimers - as per Welsh
Laycock - as per Welsh
Hurley - as per Welsh
Daniher - Hooker is playing as well as him ATM
We've done it to Carlton. We've done it to Collingwood. There is no reason why we can't do it to Hawthorn this week.
AC for PM
6 May 2009, 19:42
Don't flatter yourselves mate. A loss to you will far from kill our season.
That will happen against Geelong thee weeks later! ;)
Touche :D
In all seriousness this is the one game I look forward to the most every season. After years of heartache through the late 90s against you blokes, each loss added to my hatred. Now the tables have turned slightly it's kinda fun playing Essendon. Just gotta make the most of it before the tables start turning again - won't be this week luckily. :p
Big Blow Hard
6 May 2009, 20:22
Touche :D
In all seriousness this is the one game I look forward to the most every season. After years of heartache through the late 90s against you blokes, each loss added to my hatred. Now the tables have turned slightly it's kinda fun playing Essendon. Just gotta make the most of it before the tables start turning again - won't be this week luckily. :p
Thats what General Custer said!........maybe........probably not.
But somewhere in history someone has to have made that statement or similar, and had it backfire. :p
Uncie Frase
7 May 2009, 20:55
The last time we were told by opposition supporters that we had no chance we came out and won...Round 3 anybody?
The best thing about this game is that we have absolutely nothing to lose. If we get pumped then it's what the majority of people expected. I honestly feel that we will come out and put in a much much better performance than many people are expecting.
The crowd will be pro-Essendon.
The stadium will be decked out in the the red and black.
It's the launch of out 84/85 celebrations.
We play well in big matches on the big stage.
**** it, I'm going there expecting us to take it right up to the Hawks and if we are in the game in the last quarter then who knows what could happen. If we get pumped then so be it but I've got a surprising amount of optimism for this match. As I've previously said, if Fev didn't hit the post Hawthorn are 2-4 (with wins against 2 bottom 8 sides) and massively under the pump. They can underrate us at their own peril.
Their form so far this year is no better than ours. Yes we have some injuries to key players, but we have not been relying on them so far this season.
Hille - well below form when he played
Fletcher - the best forward he has played on his Rocca! Also few possessions in his last few matches
Lucas - no goals in last 3 games
McVeigh - has played 1/2 a game so far and we have already won 3 without him
Welsh - won 3 games without him
Reimers - as per Welsh
Laycock - as per Welsh
Hurley - as per Welsh
Daniher - Hooker is playing as well as him ATM
We've done it to Carlton. We've done it to Collingwood. There is no reason why we can't do it to Hawthorn this week.
"There is no reason why we can't do it to Hawthorn this week?"
Yes there is. Plenty of reasons...
Big Blow Hard
7 May 2009, 21:24
"There is no reason why we can't do it to Hawthorn this week?"
Yes there is. Plenty of reasons...
NAME ONE!......actually, dont.:p
Beerfish
8 May 2009, 07:14
There's going to be some pretty red faced Hawk supporters if we do manage to get up going by some of the comments in here.
If there's one thing worse than a mofo it's a cocky mofo.
AC for PM
8 May 2009, 08:54
Stirring things up is fun - nothing serious in it. Pre-game banter is one of my favourite things about the footy.
I'll be here to cop my serve if we lose. But we won't :p
Beerfish
8 May 2009, 09:02
Question is, if you weren't so confident of winning, would you be here in the first place?
Good luck tonight. I hope you'll need it. :)
AC for PM
8 May 2009, 09:20
True - I'd probably be back on the Hawk boards creating threads like "How do you solve a problem like Dyson and NLM?"......
Good luck tonight too - I hope you'll need it as well. :D
Jonesy1987
8 May 2009, 14:54
True - I'd probably be back on the Hawk boards creating threads like "How do you solve a problem like Dyson and NLM?"......
Ask Collingwood they know how to stop them :D
AC for PM
8 May 2009, 22:24
Too good boys, just too good...
give it to me - i deserve it
http://www.realclearsports.com/blog/Happy%20Gilmore.jpg
AndyLesPaul
8 May 2009, 22:28
Too good boys, just too good...
give it to me - i deserve it
http://www.realclearsports.com/blog/Happy%20Gilmore.jpg
After posting that image. i dont think you do. :thumbsu:
sounded like a great match, cant wait to watch the final quarter.
I heard so many boos on the radio. Hawthorn fans at the game really deserved that loss IMO.
Sigh. Gonna be staying up to 3 it seems.
The Dustbin
8 May 2009, 23:05
Sigh. Gonna be staying up to 3 it seems.
It's worth it. :thumbsu:
hell yes!!!!
AndyLesPaul
8 May 2009, 23:12
LOL
MONFRIES JUST LET OFF THE F-BOMB
who heard that?
The Dustbin
8 May 2009, 23:27
LOL
MONFRIES JUST LET OFF THE F-BOMB
who heard that?
Yeah, that was pretty funny.
Not as funny as seeing the Hawks trudge off the Dome.
:D
AndyLesPaul
9 May 2009, 00:02
Yeah, that was pretty funny.
Not as funny as seeing the Hawks trudge off the Dome.
:D
But all in all, none of that is funnier than Didier Drogba.
dont agree?
WELL THATS A ****ING DISGRACE :D
mcgarnacle
9 May 2009, 00:05
fantastic.
as i keep saying.......Essendon only have to defeat Carlton, Hawthorn and Collingwood, then it's a great year.
IMO, we're premiers already. :thumbsu:
Fabulous victory, truely deserved it. I bet you guys will be resting your feet, relaxing while hoping we get humiliated by Fremantle tommorrow to round off a perfect weekend for the club.
The Dustbin
9 May 2009, 00:18
But all in all, none of that is funnier than Didier Drogba.
dont agree?
WELL THATS A ****ING DISGRACE :D
Drogba, what a wanker. :o
Fabulous victory, truely deserved it. I bet you guys will be resting your feet, relaxing while hoping we get humiliated by Fremantle tommorrow to round off a perfect weekend for the club.
Well yeah....
Dunno about that.. it's always funny watching freo lose.
Beerfish
9 May 2009, 02:02
Amen. :thumbsu:
FandangoDingo
9 May 2009, 03:07
Down to 93.82%. You will be happy to see that your "points" remain unchanged. Enjoy! :thumbsu: :D
perthbombersfan
9 May 2009, 03:31
why wait til saturday morning.
you could have got a fair idea about how it would look on friday night before the end of the fourth.
Beerfish
9 May 2009, 10:35
Down to 93.82%. You will be happy to see that your "points" remain unchanged. Enjoy! :thumbsu: :D
Hahahahaha. :D:thumbsu:
Mad Bomber Sean
9 May 2009, 11:06
fantastic.
as i keep saying.......Essendon only have to defeat Carlton, Hawthorn and Collingwood, then it's a great year.
IMO, we're premiers already. :thumbsu:
Yep thats it :thumbsu:
reincarnated
9 May 2009, 11:45
So this is how it feels like if your wishes come true...
I feel so proud of my Club. This is an example. Doesn't matter if one or two players in the team makes a lot of mistakes during the game. It doesn't matter if the umpires are just crucifying you. If every player on the ground plays with the courage they did last night, we will win more games than lose.
To the Hawks supporters...I hope this hurts. Some of the crap we copped on the main board over the last 2 years mainly, I hope you scums go back in to your woods now.
To me it's just another 4 points. I hate melbourne more than hawforn.
Big Blow Hard
9 May 2009, 13:25
To me it's just another 4 points. I hate melbourne more than hawforn.
Really??
Melbourne could disapear and I would not even miss them to be honest.
centurion
9 May 2009, 14:07
The wheel is slowly turning my friend and the minnows are no 1 on the list to get whats coming to them from us sooner rather than later. Mark my words.
Port Adelaide are no 2 on that list ftw. ;)
Dave, you are a prophet my friend.
I'll add the wheel turned sooner than we expected but who cares, i'll give you all the credit.
Great stuff. :thumbsu:
Nice bump their centurion. ;)
Just have to have belief my friends. We are Essendon.
Port Adelaide is next, quarter final anyone? :D
Sam the RAMA fan
9 May 2009, 15:32
What a ripper!!
STILL ON CLOUD NINE!!
We've been the underdogs against blues, pies and hawks, and came out in front.
Last night especially with the 44 point win :thumbsu:
I read somewhere Hurley was coming back for this game,
would love to see him back out there soon.
Looking forward to Reimers, Welsh, McVeigh and Prizza to.
COME ON DONS. :D
Saints and Cats gonna be hard.
Need to beat the Tigers.
Really??
Melbourne could disapear and I would not even miss them to be honest.
I hope melbourne die. Same with st kilda.
Big Blow Hard
10 May 2009, 23:20
I hope melbourne die. Same with st kilda.
I don't really want them to fold, but they are a side I just have no interest in. Good or bad. They just don't even enter my thought sadly. lol