v
Box Hill Hawks
Sunday 10th May
@ Visy Park
Seniors start 2:00pm
rdhopkins2
6 May 2009, 20:26
Will be heading over to Underbelly Park for this. Should be a good game and again will try and take some photos and post a couple on here. See ya there!
Dermie The Kid
6 May 2009, 22:02
Looking forward to this game as I think we can get back on the winners list.
Xavier Ellis makes a welcome return.
B: Renouf Markovic Ellis
HB: Bello McQueen-Miscamble Shiels
C: Gibson J. Kennedy Iles
HF: Kiel Lisle Yze
F: Smithwick Morton Curnow
R:Pedersen Schoenmakers Kenna
Int:Warby Renton Muston Neil Breust George Fagan Smith
kaitlin3017
7 May 2009, 19:50
awesome- i am so going to this game- muston, kennedy and schoenmakers all playing!! nice :P
it will be good to go and see the boys, i haven't been to a box hill match yet this year, but i am so looking forward to this one.
Mitchell Madness
7 May 2009, 19:58
since im not working, i might head down
Rudi Gilham
7 May 2009, 20:03
Box Hill v Collingwood
B Renouf Markovic Ellis
HB Bello McQueen-Miscamble Shiels
C Gibson J. Kennedy Iles
HF Kiel Lisle Yze
F Smithwick Morton Curnow
R Pedersen Schoenmakers Kenna
Int Warby Renton Muston
Neil Breust George
Fagan Smith
Good to see Beau Muston in. Thorp out again, obviously. Yze is in despite last week's injury. Boyle is a massive loss. No Suckling or Milne.
Xavier Ellis is a great in.
Rudi Gilham
7 May 2009, 20:05
Jesus you're quick Scout!
HigginsHawk
7 May 2009, 22:23
Maybe young Bruest might get a run as well.
I felt sure that Ellis would go straight into ones. Why would Stokes come straight into ones when he didn't play last week?
Maybe young Bruest might get a run as well.
I felt sure that Ellis would go straight into ones. Why would Stokes come straight into ones when he didn't play last week?
Might just be getting some match fitness up whilst easing him back into it.
Kid is a gun and will be straight back in the ones next week.
RustyHawk
8 May 2009, 02:17
Collingwood vs. Box Hill Hawks
Sunday 10th May
Visy Park at 2:00 PM
B
Cox......Thoolen..... Blight
HB
Goldsack. Reid........ Shaw
C
Dyas...... Peverill..... Wellingham
HF
Stanley... Dawes...... Cook
F
Rocca.... Bryan....... Medhurst
R
Wood. Sidebottom......... Dick
Int.
K. Pendlebury.. Reed.... Colbert
Francis... Keefe.. Blair.. Rounds
Sheahan..... Frost.... Walker
Hunt..... Mahoney
Box Hill Hawks
B
Renouf..... Markovic..... Ellis
HB
Bello........ McQueen-Miscamble.. Shiels
C
Gibson..... J. Kennedy...... Iles
HF
Kiel........ Lisle............ Yze
F
Smithwick... Morton....... Curnow
R
Pedersen..... Schoenmakers.... Kenna
Int
Warby.. Renton... Muston.... Neil
Breust...... George... Fagan....Smith
RustyHawk
8 May 2009, 02:20
Interestingly the Development Team play at home against Werribee. Only 2 Hawk rookies in this team (underlined)
Box Hill Hawks vs. Werribee Tigers (Reserve Grade)
Sunday 10th May
Box Hill City Oval at 10:00 AM
Box Hill Hawks
B
Hoegel.... Van Unen... Carey
HB
Warby...... Sandilands... Marcius
C
Nye......... Cross.......... Sierakowski
HF
Fagan....... Walker...... Bull
F
Smith........ Conyers...... Breust
R
Renton....... Purcell....... George
Int
Tomkins.... Hogan. Parker.... Sherwen
Fieschi.... Cunningham.. Furey.. Coyle
Werribee Tigers
B
Meredith....... Saker......... Sharp
HB
Baddeley....... Prismall...... Quigley
C
Riggio............ Dickson......... Kenelley
HF
Risol.............. O'Keefe.......... Bryce
F
Kennedy......... Bongetti......... Banjanin
R
Gardiner......... Boyle.......... Black
Int
Robbins.. Hudson..... Haby..... Lunardi
Speight...... Kangars.. Normington
Magnabosco....Short
Mather
Also good to see Renouf in the side to give poor old Pedersen a chop out in the ruck:thumbsu:
Why is Lisle named at CHF? Will he play there? I thought we were grooming him and Shoey as a future FB/CHB.
cschreuder61
8 May 2009, 13:05
Markovic couldn't have been far from getting another shot at the rookie list for this season.
I've seen him in the best quite a lot lately.
What are the thoughts on him at the moment?
GNCLongJack
8 May 2009, 14:54
Hey Rusty, still no mention of Carl Peterson, ...........is he injured?
Rudi Gilham
9 May 2009, 19:07
http://livevfl.com.au/_/HOME.html
I can't get this to work for some reason.. Maybe others may have some luck?
They are broadcasting Box Hill v Collingwood live. Perhaps someone can post updates tomorrow arvo?
RustyHawk
10 May 2009, 01:50
http://livevfl.com.au/_/HOME.html
I can't get this to work for some reason.. Maybe others may have some luck?
They are broadcasting Box Hill v Collingwood live. Perhaps someone can post updates tomorrow arvo?
3WBC 94.1 normally carries our games. Paul Hooper and his team do an excellent job bringing local footy to the home. Id try 94.1 - streaming available.
RustyHawk
10 May 2009, 01:52
Hey Rusty, still no mention of Carl Peterson, ...........is he injured?
Yes he is injured.
Started training with the main group now so shouldnt be too much longer before we see him out there.
Freaky, freaky skills. Looks the most natural footballer ive ever seen.
simonoz
10 May 2009, 08:01
Can someone here shed some liht on young Suckling - looked pretty good rd 1 in the seniors....had a minor injury - and have never seen him again, also not sleected for Box Hill.
Tks
RustyHawk
10 May 2009, 10:45
With Hawthorn playing next Friday night and over in the West, I wonder how many of these senior listed players will NOT turn out for Box Hill today?
If you were thinking of bringing Ellis back next week would you give him only 5 days recovery?
Renouf.. Ellis.. Shiels... J. Kennedy... Lisle... Morton.. Schoenmakers....
rdhopkins2
10 May 2009, 10:49
Once again, I'll be heading off to Pig's Arse Park to watch this, any players you want me looking out for etc?
If anyone has mail on the starting 22 please let me know so I can prepare the notepad accordingly!
SA HAWK
10 May 2009, 10:51
With Hawthorn playing next Friday night and over in the West, I wonder how many of these senior listed players will NOT turn out for Box Hill today?
If you were thinking of bringing Ellis back next week would you give him only 5 days recovery?
Renouf.. Ellis.. Shiels... J. Kennedy... Lisle... Morton.. Schoenmakers....I was thinking the same myself.
Maybe some will only play a half.
You would think Ellis, Morton & Renouf would be a fair chance to play next week.
RustyHawk
10 May 2009, 13:29
3WBC are reporting at least 1 out for Box Hill.
No 13: Yze - out injured
Renouf is playing.
RustyHawk
10 May 2009, 14:09
After 3WBC reported "Schoenmakers" was being rested I hear his name being mentioned in passages of play......
1st Quarter - 6 minutes
BHH 00.00.00
Coll: 02.01.13
RustyHawk
10 May 2009, 14:15
Muston playing for Box Hill seniors.
1st Q
BHH 00.00.00
Coll: 03.01.19
Goal to Dawes
RustyHawk
10 May 2009, 14:16
1st Qrt - 14min
BHH: 00.00.00
Coll: 03.02.20
Ellis and Shoenmakers getting some mentions. Good news.
RustyHawk
10 May 2009, 14:18
1st Qrt 15min
BHH: 00.00.00
Coll: 04.02.26
Goal to Chris Bryan
RustyHawk
10 May 2009, 14:21
1st Qrt 18min Hawks score their first through Renouf
BHH: 01.00.06
Coll: 04.03.27
RustyHawk
10 May 2009, 14:31
1st Qrt 27.5 min mark - Chris Dawes scores his second - helped by a 50m free.
BHH: 01.00.06
Coll: 06.06.42
Collingwood's Shannon Cox has come off with an ankle injury.
RustyHawk
10 May 2009, 14:34
End of 1st Quarter - no change in score
Renouf the only goal kicker for Box Hill.
Goals for Collingwood in that quarter
Dawes - 2 goals
Byran - 1
Pendlebury - 1 (Brother of the collingwood senior listed player)
Blair - 1
Hunt - 1
Free kicks: Collingwood 11 - Box Hill 2!
RustyHawk
10 May 2009, 14:48
2nd Quarter.
Box Hill have kicked one and Dawes of Collingwood his 3rd
*Kennedy just kicked a point for BHH.
BHH: 02.01.13
Coll: 07.06.48
RustyHawk
10 May 2009, 14:52
Q2
Musto, Musto, Musto Man - kicks his first for the day from 48 out!
BHH: 03.01.19
Coll: 07.06.48
RustyHawk
10 May 2009, 14:56
Bryan, one of two AFL listed ruckman that Renouf is rucking against has kicked his 2nd goal for the game. Cameron Wood is the other big man for Collingwood.
Coll: 08.07.55
Dawes 3
Bryan 2
Blair 1
Hunt 1
Pendlebury 1
RustyHawk
10 May 2009, 15:04
Quarter 2.
Dawes kicks his 4th. BHH not helped by a 50 m free against Schoenmakers
Coll: 09.08.62
CharlieMitchell
10 May 2009, 16:33
Commentators made mention that Musto has been best on ground of the Hawthorn listed players, fantastic news.
Sounds as though he is getting a fair bit of it.
carntheroos4eva
10 May 2009, 16:54
What were the final scores?
debranche
10 May 2009, 18:01
From the C'wood board:
Collingwood 6.6 9.12 15.14 18.16 (124)
Box Hill Hawks 1.0 4.1 7.2 11.2 (68)
GOALS:
Collingwood: Dawes 5 Bryan 4 Hunt 2 Pendlebury Blair Colbert Keefe Francis Cook Wood
Box Hill Hawks: Pedersen 3 Breust 3 Muston 2 George Kennedy Renouf
BEST:
Collingwood: Frost Dawes Wood Bryan Cook Francis
Box Hill Hawks: Ellis Iles Kenna Muston Breust Markovic
Gee Musto would be a massive story if he kicks on from here.
carntheroos4eva
10 May 2009, 18:06
From the C'wood board:
Collingwood 6.6 9.12 15.14 18.16 (124)
Box Hill Hawks 1.0 4.1 7.2 11.2 (68)
GOALS:
Collingwood: Dawes 5 Bryan 4 Hunt 2 Pendlebury Blair Colbert Keefe Francis Cook Wood
Box Hill Hawks: Pedersen 3 Breust 3 Muston 2 George Kennedy Renouf
BEST:
Collingwood: Frost Dawes Wood Bryan Cook Francis
Box Hill Hawks: Ellis Iles Kenna Muston Breust Markovic
Gee Musto would be a massive story if he kicks on from here.
thanks for that :thumbsu:
Bennycoff
10 May 2009, 18:25
Ellis back in given he was in the best I presume.
Muston how long away?
BuddyHawkers
10 May 2009, 18:27
Can't wait to see Muston in the AFL Senior side
rdhopkins2
10 May 2009, 18:32
Well wasn't that an awful outing to Pigs Arse Park! Muston and Peders were good, thought Kennedy tried hard. Breust was also impressive. Conditions were fine- sunny and no wind. Would like to say that a few of the boys put their hands up for selection but really almost all the Hawthorn listed players had days to forget :(
Collingwood were far superior in disposal, marking, communication and tackling- something we should take note of for next week, much like the seniors. We never gave up but we were never really in the game after their lightning start.
The umpires had no bearing on the result but the boys need to learn that if they give away a free not to give away the 50 (for backchat, over the mark etc)- as wrong as he might be, just laugh and get on the mark. Simple discipline fellas.
Much like Hawthorn the boys just need to get back to basics, help each other out and get back on the winners board.
Fortunately no major injury concerns. With only a 5 day break until we play Freo on Friday, it will be a reduced training week for those boys who played today.
Will try and post a little more later tonight.
Go Hawks, we CAN turn it around!
moginie
10 May 2009, 18:33
Great to see Ellis, MUSTON!!!! & Breust named in our best.
Let's hope for great things from B2.
The BIG X
10 May 2009, 19:37
The positivies out of today's game were:
Muston played the game out (cramped in last qtr)
Ellis played a servicable game - probally what was expected of him.
Bruest has what it takes.
Different topic - thought I would mention it here.
Found a HFC Scarf on the ground at the quarter time break. I took it out again at 3/4 time to try to find the owner.
Would the owner please form a que when claiming it - all you have to do is tell me how many years are shown on the scarf.
Could Muston be ready to play this week against Freo? Half a game in the reserves, 3/4(?) for the reserves, full game and 4th best for the seniors shoul have him ready. Playing against Freo couldn't be much worse than playing for BH for his achilles and knee.
I reckon give him a go because if we leave him in BH he's going to get injuured eventually so i say play him.
does he look ready big x?
buddylove_23
10 May 2009, 19:52
I found something too... Clarko's mobile... went and gave it to sammy and he passed it onto Clarko who said thanks, sammy said lucky a collingwood supporter didn't get his hands on it they could have done some damage...
The BIG X
10 May 2009, 19:54
No one will be more excited than me when Musto playes his first game this year but he needs at least another run at Box Hill before he will be considered.
Needs a bit more match practice.:thumbsu:
bigbol069
10 May 2009, 20:21
Musto was great, but a long way to go with match fitness to play AFL. Massive game for his confidence and the selectors will have a big smile on their faces after that one. Likewise with the performances of Ellis and Kennedy.
Very good signs from Kiel who will be a very good player and Breust finished the game well with a few goals.
A pity Markovic isn't on our list, he'd be our no 1 backman right now.
debranche
10 May 2009, 20:36
How's Musto's speed and evasive skills these days?
HawkXNtric
10 May 2009, 21:09
I see that Markovic was named amongst the best yet again. For those that have seen a few Box Hill games this year, would he be good enough to make it on to an AFL senior list, or is there inherently something that makes him not as good a prospect as a Murphy or a Dawson? (When we delisted Dawson last year I was sure that we would select Markovic as insurance, but that obviously didn't happen.)
Also, keep them Box Hill reports coming! Most informative for those of us who can't make it to the games.
bigbol069
10 May 2009, 22:02
How's Musto's speed and evasive skills these days?
Speed at the contest is ok and evasive skills are still very good and I think will improve even more with confidence and fitness. Played all 4 quarters today but was rotated off the bench frequently. Needs to build the stamina.
Rudi Gilham
10 May 2009, 22:05
I saw the selected sides on Sporting Pulse and it seems Jarryd Morton & Liam Shiels didn't play. Don't know why. Also Adem Yze was a late withdrawal, to go with Boyle from last week.
bigbol069
10 May 2009, 22:08
I see that Markovic was named amongst the best yet again. For those that have seen a few Box Hill games this year, would he be good enough to make it on to an AFL senior list, or is there inherently something that makes him not as good a prospect as a Murphy or a Dawson? (When we delisted Dawson last year I was sure that we would select Markovic as insurance, but that obviously didn't happen.)
Also, keep them Box Hill reports coming! Most informative for those of us who can't make it to the games.
He would WALK into our side at the moment if he was on our list. Going very well Marko is.
kaitlin3017
10 May 2009, 23:07
No one will be more excited than me when Musto playes his first game this year but he needs at least another run at Box Hill before he will be considered.
Needs a bit more match practice.:thumbsu:
you will be happy, mate i will be friggin bouncing off the walls!! if he was to play this week i would make a trip over to perth i will walk if i have to! LOL
yeah my obsession with beau muston is a bit much :P so can't wait for him to get a game- he should at least get a game this yr you would think
houdinihuddo
11 May 2009, 00:23
34 to 13 scoring shots is a better indicator of the Magpies superiority in every department. They were bigger, stronger, ran harder for longer, used the ball better by hand and foot, applied more tackling pressure and their protection of the ball carrier was superior. They had 14 or 15 AFL players to our 7.
Jarryd Morton did not play more than likely because he is in line for selection against Freo on Friday. Liam Shiels also did not play however I saw him at the seconds match and judging by the way he walked he may have been a little sore. I only watched the last quarter of the seconds and Will Sierakowski had a couple of good possessions before he appeared to hurt his shoulder late in the quarter. The pleasing thing was that he threw himself into the next contest. Werribee led by a couple of goals before BH hit back and took the lead with about 10 minutes to play. Werribee kicked a goal with a couple of minutes to play and won by five points 12.17 to 13.6.
My thoughts on the HFC players:
Xavier Ellis – X showed his class with some good link work and clean disposal. My gut feeling is that the fitness staff thought he was not ready to return and X insisted he was ready to play and wanted to prove his fitness. X has great character and determination.
Beau Muston – The best news from the game was that he played his first full game and showed enough to suggest that he will push for selection as soon as he builds up his match fitness. He ran hard and his ball handling was generally good. He is good at controlling the ball and keeping it in his zone until he gets an opportunity to break away or dispose of it to advantage. The main feature of his game today was a number of long kicks which gave the defenders no chance of spoiling the leading player.
Luke Breust – Played a very good first up game in the VFL. He basically played at the same level he played at in the seconds. He was quick off the mark, backed himself to run around or break clear of an opponent and generally disposed of the ball well. On a number of occasions he was caught in possession however he was damaging when he did break clear. He took one strong mark in front of Thoolen who is a 196 cms rookie and a couple of minutes later Thoolen outmarked one of our tall players. To round off his game Luke laid some very good tackles and kicked three goals.
Josh Kennedy – Played another solid game. Some of his quick handballs from ruck contests were very good however due to C’wood’s excellent pressure there were not many opportunities for our players to break clear. Josh ran hard despite having little support.
Brent Renouf – He dropped a couple of marks he should have taken and he was beaten in the ruck contests by Wood. He covered a fair bit on ground but did not impose himself on the game in order to earn a recall. In the second half he had a couple of strong spoils.
Hayden Kiel – Did some good work but generally I thought he looked as though he needs a couple of games under his belt. He is a low to the ground player with good balance.
Jordan Lisle – He struggled today and was beaten by more experienced opponents. He should benefit from the experience.
Ryan Shoenmakers – Ryan just couldn’t seem to get into the game. On a couple of occasions he made good position but was ignored. At times he looked slow but I think it was only a lack of endurance and he needs to build up his stamina.
To answer HawkXNtric’s enquiry about Lukas Markovic, I see him as a very good VFL player who plays in front, is strong in a contest and runs straight at the ball. He also reads the game well and generally handles the ball cleanly. However in my opinion Lukas would struggle in the AFL because I think he lacks pace and struggles when he is required to change direction.
Jenko1979
11 May 2009, 09:51
I see you have provided a handy review of all the Box Hill Hawks players, I am wondering whether you know where Mathew Suckling is at? I cant seem to find his name anywhere? I have him in my supercoach team, he played round 1 & then was dropped due to an injury and I haven't heard or seen of him since. Can someone please fill in the gap? Thanks in advance!
go hawks!!!
11 May 2009, 10:12
where was morton?
mattie55
11 May 2009, 11:03
Left him out - Guessing he is a definite inclusion for Friday night ...
GNCLongJack
11 May 2009, 15:55
Luke Breust ......No. 47 on Hawthorn's list as a rookie.
Luke turns 19 this year's Remembrance Day, listed at 184 (just over 6') and only 74kg (Shane's weight in his Brownlow days) .........these are the only things holding Luke back, youth and underweight. Peterson is round about the same size but almost 22. Kiel 21y.o. 180 and 84kg
Reference to this year's AGE Footy Guide 2009 .....March 22.2009
"Luke Breust" .....Fast, agile, good mark, kicks a goal - Why isn't he on the senior list?
Managed correctly ...... a huge future for Luke with the Mighty Hawks !!
BuddyHawkers
11 May 2009, 17:28
Luke Breust ......No. 47 on Hawthorn's list as a rookie.
Luke turns 19 this year's Remembrance Day, listed at 184 (just over 6') and only 74kg (Shane's weight in his Brownlow days) .........these are the only things holding Luke back, youth and underweight. Peterson is round about the same size but almost 22. Kiel 21y.o. 180 and 84kg
Reference to this year's AGE Footy Guide 2009 .....March 22.2009
"Luke Breust" .....Fast, agile, good mark, kicks a goal - Why isn't he on the senior list?
Managed correctly ...... a huge future for Luke with the Mighty Hawks !!
Yes I agree:thumbsu:
Roger Rogerson
11 May 2009, 19:17
34 to 13 scoring shots is a better indicator of the Magpies superiority in every department. They were bigger, stronger, ran harder for longer, used the ball better by hand and foot, applied more tackling pressure and their protection of the ball carrier was superior. They had 14 or 15 AFL players to our 7.
Jarryd Morton did not play more than likely because he is in line for selection against Freo on Friday. Liam Shiels also did not play however I saw him at the seconds match and judging by the way he walked he may have been a little sore. I only watched the last quarter of the seconds and Will Sierakowski had a couple of good possessions before he appeared to hurt his shoulder late in the quarter. The pleasing thing was that he threw himself into the next contest. Werribee led by a couple of goals before BH hit back and took the lead with about 10 minutes to play. Werribee kicked a goal with a couple of minutes to play and won by five points 12.17 to 13.6.
My thoughts on the HFC players:
Xavier Ellis – X showed his class with some good link work and clean disposal. My gut feeling is that the fitness staff thought he was not ready to return and X insisted he was ready to play and wanted to prove his fitness. X has great character and determination.
Beau Muston – The best news from the game was that he played his first full game and showed enough to suggest that he will push for selection as soon as he builds up his match fitness. He ran hard and his ball handling was generally good. He is good at controlling the ball and keeping it in his zone until he gets an opportunity to break away or dispose of it to advantage. The main feature of his game today was a number of long kicks which gave the defenders no chance of spoiling the leading player.
Luke Breust – Played a very good first up game in the VFL. He basically played at the same level he played at in the seconds. He was quick off the mark, backed himself to run around or break clear of an opponent and generally disposed of the ball well. On a number of occasions he was caught in possession however he was damaging when he did break clear. He took one strong mark in front of Thoolen who is a 196 cms rookie and a couple of minutes later Thoolen outmarked one of our tall players. To round off his game Luke laid some very good tackles and kicked three goals.
Josh Kennedy – Played another solid game. Some of his quick handballs from ruck contests were very good however due to C’wood’s excellent pressure there were not many opportunities for our players to break clear. Josh ran hard despite having little support.
Brent Renouf – He dropped a couple of marks he should have taken and he was beaten in the ruck contests by Wood. He covered a fair bit on ground but did not impose himself on the game in order to earn a recall. In the second half he had a couple of strong spoils.
Hayden Kiel – Did some good work but generally I thought he looked as though he needs a couple of games under his belt. He is a low to the ground player with good balance.
Jordan Lisle – He struggled today and was beaten by more experienced opponents. He should benefit from the experience.
Ryan Shoenmakers – Ryan just couldn’t seem to get into the game. On a couple of occasions he made good position but was ignored. At times he looked slow but I think it was only a lack of endurance and he needs to build up his stamina.
To answer HawkXNtric’s enquiry about Lukas Markovic, I see him as a very good VFL player who plays in front, is strong in a contest and runs straight at the ball. He also reads the game well and generally handles the ball cleanly. However in my opinion Lukas would struggle in the AFL because I think he lacks pace and struggles when he is required to change direction.
Fantastic report Houdini - greatly appreciated.
Very pleasing to hear about Muston.
Good to hear that Bruest is showing something as well. He did look way out of his depth in the pre-season games and wasn't surprising to hear he started the season proper in the Box Hill 2's but he obviously can play as he has pushed into the seniors and is showing some form.
Is Kiel someone who runs the lines? We are desperate for another hard runner with youngy and changa out. Thought Morton would have played AFL last week as he can play that role.
I haven't seen him play but my impression is that he is more a nuggety inside mid rather than a runner. Can anyone confirm?
houdinihuddo
13 May 2009, 13:18
RR and Markr. Based on the little I have seen of Kiel he is an insider however it is possible that his running has been restricted due to his long battle with leg injuries.