View Full Version : Port Power fans, close your eyes :)........
I saw this pic on the main board.... http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif
http://www.geocities.com/Area51/Rampart/9249/ppwank1.jpg
------------------
"I came here to win, I am a winner" - Denzel Washington , Remember The Titans ; 2000
Yes beware fellow Port supporters because that box with a red x really scared the hell out of me.
blackdiamond
24 Apr 2001, 16:24
Who is Port Power?
------------------
Port Adelaide Forever
Originally posted by Scott:
Who is Port Power?
You know Scott, the AFL team you support!! I saw the ad on telly for the "Port Power" Ansett Cup GF video tape. You probably have it in your video cabinet at home.
Or you might see the name "PORT POWER" on the ansett cup winner caps http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif
------------------
"I came here to win, I am a winner" - Denzel Washington , Remember The Titans ; 2000
Getting off the Port Power issue for a moment. Whats the picture suppose to be of QT?. I want to know why I had to close my eyes.
Go here carb ; http://www.geocities.com/Area51/Rampart/9249/ppwank1.jpg
------------------
Blues_Brat
25 Apr 2001, 12:43
http://www.geocities.com/Area51/Rampart/9249
Try that, even better.
Originally posted by Blues_Brat:
Try that, even better.
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHA
------------------
blackdiamond
25 Apr 2001, 14:26
Originally posted by ant:
You know Scott, the AFL team you support!! I saw the ad on telly for the "Port Power" Ansett Cup GF video tape. You probably have it in your video cabinet at home.
Yes I know about the television advert but that was just a complete stuff up by the AFL, nothing to do with the Port Adelaide Football Club.
I did buy a video but upon buying the video they give you a new cover for the video so it does not say Port Power.
------------------
Port Adelaide Forever
Macca19
25 Apr 2001, 15:18
Try that, even better.
I find it rather ironic and hypocritical how crow fans seem to enjoy digging into us about "living in the past" and talking about our premiership count. Thats all you hear at Showdowns from crows fans...its the only comeback you have "how many flags have you won??"...well sorry, i dont remember seeing adelaides ****ing name on the cup from the years 91-94...did any of you?? NO, i dont bloody think so. How ****ing hypocritical...you still crap on about premierships, and that was bloody 3 years ago
The thing is many of us don't feel we get the recognition for it, all this crap about other teams being better than us, it's very convenient to bring up the fact at least we've won a couple of AFL flags in the last 5 years. It's not dissimilar to when my cousin who is a Glenelg fan bags Port Adelaide and I remind him that many Port players have won twice the amount of premierships Glenelg have won in their history. (He never has a comeback for that one http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif )
However it is in the past so maybe we should stop bringing it up, but it's not like all fellow footy supporters live in the present, plenty of people bring up past glories, such as "the great traditions" of certain footy clubs when we should focus on the game right at this moment.
It's all part of footy I reckon.
Blues_Brat
26 Apr 2001, 10:01
How would it feel to be a North Adelaide supporter at the moment.
Living in the past? Of course.
There is no future. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif
Macca19
26 Apr 2001, 10:16
Originally posted by ant:
The thing is many of us don't feel we get the recognition for it, all this crap about other teams being better than us, it's very convenient to bring up the fact at least we've won a couple of AFL flags in the last 5 years. It's not dissimilar to when my cousin who is a Glenelg fan bags Port Adelaide and I remind him that many Port players have won twice the amount of premierships Glenelg have won in their history. (He never has a comeback for that one http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif )
However it is in the past so maybe we should stop bringing it up, but it's not like all fellow footy supporters live in the present, plenty of people bring up past glories, such as "the great traditions" of certain footy clubs when we should focus on the game right at this moment.
It's all part of footy I reckon.
Everyone does it....i just find it really annoying and hypocritical when crows fans have a go at port supporters for bringing up the past...when we dont anyway...its just a crow myth...yet whenever you argue with a crow fan they always mention the 2 flags. Very hypocritical
Yeah well it's also hypocritical of Port fans who bring up their long tradition and many premierships, of course as a Port fan I'm usually bringing it up, but to rival SANFL fans.... http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif Who cares anyway, what matters is the present and if your team is flogging the other team then that's what counts.
Jars458
27 Apr 2001, 08:35
Originally posted by Macca19:
I find it rather ironic and hypocritical how crow fans seem to enjoy digging into us about "living in the past" and talking about our premiership count. Thats all you hear at Showdowns from crows fans...its the only comeback you have "how many flags have you won??"...well sorry, i dont remember seeing adelaides ****ing name on the cup from the years 91-94...did any of you?? NO, i dont bloody think so. How ****ing hypocritical...you still crap on about premierships, and that was bloody 3 years ago
The thing is, the flags were so sweet we will remember them forever!
The thing also is, you may NEVER know what an AFL flag feels like, never mind back to back wins.
I can assure you an AFL flag means more than the SANFL flag.
And I was pretty bloody happy in 1993 when the Eagles won the SANFL.
We all love our teams and use whatever arguments we can.
Crows and Power supporters will always dislike each other intensly, and that's for the good of the game here.
AFL footy has been a lot more enjoyable since Port came into the AFL.
------------------
"That'll do, THAT will do...Unbelievable Darren"
Bruce... September 1997
Try that, even better.
You Crows supporters sense of humor is so funny. Where do you all get it from?. Maybe you get it from watching that joke called the Adelaide Football Club trying to play football every week.
[This message has been edited by carb70 (edited 26 April 2001).]
Well I dont mind my club being called a joke, coz we must have been a preety funny joke to win 2 premierships!
Call us a joke, the bottom line is, Port have won 3 games, all in SA, and they think there top shit.
------------------
Santos L Helper
27 Apr 2001, 09:51
Originally posted by QT:
Well I dont mind my club being called a joke, coz we must have been a preety funny joke to win 2 premierships!
Call us a joke, the bottom line is, Port have won 3 games, all in SA, and they think there top shit.
Yes QT and one of those wins was a thrashing of Adelaide. How sweet it was too!!
------------------
If ya smell what Santos is cooking!!
Yeah good one QT use the old stanard come back line about we have won 2 premierships have you actually won a game since your last premiership or is the club happy with just 2 premierships and missing the finals every season. The main thing is all the players love Ayersy, is he going to get another group hug this week or will he be getting the kiss of death instead?.
Jars458
27 Apr 2001, 10:20
Originally posted by carb70:
Yeah good one QT use the old stanard come back line about we have won 2 premierships have you actually won a game since your last premiership or is the club happy with just 2 premierships and missing the finals every season. The main thing is all the players love Ayersy, is he going to get another group hug this week or will he be getting the kiss of death instead?.
How many times have you guys made the finals and what was the result?
Try not to get too far ahead of yourself mate.
We won last week actually - In MELBOURNE
see if you can this week -personally I doubt it.
------------------
Bruce... September 1997
Originally posted by Jars458:
How many times have you guys made the finals and what was the result?
Try not to get too far ahead of yourself mate.
We won last week actually - In MELBOURNE
see if you can this week -personally I doubt it.
Jars there is no way in the world Port will win in Melbourne this week because we are not playing there we are playing playing in Geelong.
Also if anybody is getting to far head of themselves it's Crows supporters because of their win in Melbourne. Every team can pull off a suprise win in Melbourne it's nothing special. The Crows were lucky that Carlton underestimated them but well done to the Crows for taking full advantage of that. You have to remember your Crows have lost both their games at home and yet Crows supporters are telling Port supporters that they have done nothing because they have only won at home something the Crows have yet to achieve.
Jars458
27 Apr 2001, 12:10
Jars there is no way in the world Port will win in Melbourne this week because we are not playing there we are playing playing in Geelong.
Also if anybody is getting to far head of themselves it's Crows supporters because of their win in Melbourne. Every team can pull off a suprise win in Melbourne it's nothing special. The Crows were lucky that Carlton underestimated them but well done to the Crows for taking full advantage of that. You have to remember your Crows have lost both their games at home and yet Crows supporters are telling Port supporters that they have done nothing because they have only won at home something the Crows have yet to achieve.
Melbourne,,,geelong - same Difference to Port in fact Geelong is worse as you need a plane and then a bus.
We say you have done nothing - because you havn't
Even Mark Grumpy Williams admits that
We have been ordinary and need to win Saturday to have any hope of a decent season.
Melbourne,,,geelong - same Difference to Port in fact Geelong is worse as you need a plane and then a bus.
We say you have done nothing - because you havn't
Even Mark Grumpy Williams admits that
We have been ordinary and need to win Saturday to have any hope of a decent season.
Playing in Geelong is not the same as playing in Melbourne. Finals are not played in Geelong so it's not as important to win there as it is in Melbourne on the grounds where finals are played.
To say we have done nothing just proves how stupid you are. Is being 3-1 doing nothing?. Being 3-1 is a good start to the season the foundation is there that we can build on to playing finals this year, something the 1-3 Crows don't have, they are already playing catch up it's only round 5.
Did you make that Mark Williams quote up all by yourself?. I never heard him call the team ordinary and why would he say we need to win Saturday when we actually play Sunday?. Nice try though.
Finally you haven't told me why, if winning at home is so easy then why haven't the Crows done it yet?.
Jars458
28 Apr 2001, 10:08
Playing in Geelong is not the same as playing in Melbourne. Finals are not played in Geelong so it's not as important to win there as it is in Melbourne on the grounds where finals are played.
To say we have done nothing just proves how stupid you are. Is being 3-1 doing nothing?. Being 3-1 is a good start to the season the foundation is there that we can build on to playing finals this year, something the 1-3 Crows don't have, they are already playing catch up it's only round 5.
Did you make that Mark Williams quote up all by yourself?. I never heard him call the team ordinary and why would he say we need to win Saturday when we actually play Sunday?. Nice try though.
Finally you haven't told me why, if winning at home is so easy then why haven't the Crows done it yet?.
I may have been unlcear as to I meant by saying that you have done nothing.
I mean you have done nothing in the bigger picture - eg finals success, flags etc, not in relation to this season
Clearly 3 wins vs one win is much better and I would be foolish to make a comparison.
M Williams said before the Showdown that Port had won the nNsett cup but the Crows had won two of the real ones and that Port had a long way to go etc etc. That's what I meant by that.
Your delineating between Geelong and Melbourne is really quite facile.
The bottom line is you have to win outside of Adelaide to show you are on the way towards bigger and better things.
Port will make the finals for sure, but they will need to win in Melbourne to get anywhere.
Crows will struggle. I can admnt that, realism is important.
Go Geelong!!
------------------
Bruce... September 1997
Macca19
28 Apr 2001, 13:05
The bottom line is you have to win outside of Adelaide to show you are on the way towards bigger and better things.
Port will make the finals for sure, but they will need to win in Melbourne to get anywhere.
Crows will struggle. I can admnt that, realism is important.
Go Geelong!!
Its alright we will win outside of Adelaide...in our finals year in 1999, we won in every state. We won in Adelaide, Melbourne, Brisbane, Sydney and Perth. Im sure we can go close to doing that again this year.
[B]
And I was pretty bloody happy in 1993 when the Eagles won the SANFL.
/B]
You have sold out mate. Was an AFL flag more important than a SANFL flag in 1993 ???? You sound like a typical Crows bandwagoner who has turned his back on his SANFL club to join the Chardonnay set....or are you one of those 80 year old ladies with Crows stickers on her car and knitted Crows booties hanging from the rear vision mirror who has never been to a SANFL game. Whichever, you should be ashamed for making that comment!
PS - appologies to the many Crows fans who do not fit into either of the above categories.
Macca19
28 Apr 2001, 20:04
Maybe for you...not for some tho. A Port Magpies premiership will always be more important to me than a Power premierhsip. Ive been supporting the Magpies since i was 4...ive been supporting the Power since i was 15, so a big difference. Magpies are closer to me than the Power is and always will be. Unlike some supporters, i dont forget about and leave my roots for something bigger and better
Originally posted by Nod:
You have sold out mate. Was an AFL flag more important than a SANFL flag in 1993 ???? You sound like a typical Crows bandwagoner who has turned his back on his SANFL club to join the Chardonnay set....or are you one of those 80 year old ladies with Crows stickers on her car and knitted Crows booties hanging from the rear vision mirror who has never been to a SANFL game. Whichever, you should be ashamed for making that comment!
PS - appologies to the many Crows fans who do not fit into either of the above categories.
And just what is wrong with little old ladies who support ANY team in the AFL. So what if they've never been to an SANFL game, the money they pay to the AFL team goes back to the local league. This business about having to have supported a local team for thirty years or so to be a good AFL supporter is absolute crap. And I'm not a little old lady, and yes, I have supported an SANFL team for years, but no way does this make me better than any other supporter.
Originally posted by Crow54:
And just what is wrong with little old ladies who support ANY team in the AFL. So what if they've never been to an SANFL game, the money they pay to the AFL team goes back to the local league. This business about having to have supported a local team for thirty years or so to be a good AFL supporter is absolute crap. And I'm not a little old lady, and yes, I have supported an SANFL team for years, but no way does this make me better than any other supporter.
Fair comment. I just get annoyed with people who have supported the SANFL for years and now run it down as a second rate competition.
Blues_Brat
30 Apr 2001, 01:08
To me ONE Sturt flag would mean more than TWENTY Crows flags.
Blues_Girl
30 Apr 2001, 18:40
I would say 20 Crows Flags....To me one Sturt flag would mean more than anything! Having seen the Crows win 2....I now wanna see Sturt win one.....then when I return from cloud 9 someone could put a bullet through my head and i'd be one ****in happy person!
Not at all - you miss the point.
I said I was pretty happy in 93!!
I was pretty pissed off at last years SANFL grand final too.
I see as Many Eagles games as I can and see all their finals games.
So, unless you like the SANFL more than the AFL you are a bandwagonner??? You have got to be joking
My Crows membership costs me $270
My Eagles membership cost me $55
So don't crap on to me about being a bandwaggoner you idiot.
I support both levels of the game as much as I can.
And having exprerienced both types of Premiership, the AFL means more because its at a higher level. That's all.
Now stop being a moron and start taking in what you read and then thinking about it.
Is your IQ above room temperature even???
I doubt it.
Don't drive angry!!!
------------------
Bruce... September 1997
Maybe for you...not for some tho. A Port Magpies premiership will always be more important to me than a Power premierhsip. Ive been supporting the Magpies since i was 4...ive been supporting the Power since i was 15, so a big difference. Magpies are closer to me than the Power is and always will be. Unlike some supporters, i dont forget about and leave my roots for something bigger and better
So if your old Primary school wins a Premiership - that's more important!!!
Each person is obviously different, but one can't be judged against another.
I can understand that, as Sturt don't even look like winning a flag.
I was down at Unley a few weeks ago - their are more old ladies there than at Crows games.
Not that there's anything wrong with that.
So if your old Primary school wins a Premiership - that's more important!!!
Each person is obviously different, but one can't be judged against another.
id be very happy if my primary school won a premiership. One of my cousins plays in that team and it would be good for them to win. When i played there we lost 3 grand finals in 6 years.
your great grandfather's Kindy team????
Blues_Girl
1 May 2001, 19:04
I was down at Unley a few weeks ago - their are more old ladies there than at Crows games.
Not that there's anything wrong with that.
Excuse me! When I look around Unley Oval I don't see a lotta old ladies there! There are some and those are the old ladies that have practically kept that club going! I will admit there day is probably over but there is no one willing to take over!
Downsborough
2 May 2001, 16:51
Not at all - you miss the point.
I said I was pretty happy in 93!!
I was pretty pissed off at last years SANFL grand final too.
I see as Many Eagles games as I can and see all their finals games.
So, unless you like the SANFL more than the AFL you are a bandwagonner??? You have got to be joking
My Crows membership costs me $270
My Eagles membership cost me $55
So don't crap on to me about being a bandwaggoner you idiot.
I support both levels of the game as much as I can.
And having exprerienced both types of Premiership, the AFL means more because its at a higher level. That's all.
Now stop being a moron and start taking in what you read and then thinking about it.
Is your IQ above room temperature even???
I doubt it.
Don't drive angry!!!
I was going to agree with Nod and bag you for selling out however you have sold me. I too thought it was soft that all these people who supported the SANFL for years have jumped off however if I supported a soft, heartless, pathetic team like the Eagles I would jump off as well. Which brings me to the next point, until the Crows get rid of some of these Pecker players they won't be seeing the finals for a long time so I suggest you go back and support your school team because they are your best chance of seeing another premiership.
Port Adelaide 1870
4 May 2001, 15:56
One AFL flag means means much more than one VFL flag or one SANFL flag as it is on a national level...I agree
One VFL flag equatesone SANFL flag as they were both suburban comps.........
Adelaides 2 National flags are worth much more than Essendons 14 suburban flags
or Ports 34 suburban flags, but Ports 34 suburban flags are worth 20 flags more than Essendons!!!
SANFL footy is now second rate..to AFL it was once the equal of WAFL and VFL.
PA1870