View Full Version : Will we make finals?!
nighthawk
22 May 2009, 12:20
Saw a similar thing on the Carlton board, and thought it might be interesting to do the same thing here. This is the remaining fixture, and predictions on whether we will win or lose.
Richmond W
Geelong L
Adelaide W
Melbourne W
Carlton ?
Collingwood ?
Sydney ?
Bulldogs ?
Richmond W
West Coast W
Brisbane ?
Saints L
Freo W
Hawthorn ?
So if we count those question marks as 50/50s, and therefore half of them as wins, I count 9 wins all up. That puts us at 13 wins by seasons end, but could be anywhere between 11-15.
What do you think? How many will be needed to make finals this year? Have I been too harsh or too generous to our bombers? Of course any game has the chance to go either way, but this is just for a bit of fun.
The Donners
22 May 2009, 12:32
Essendon will make the finals.
We are as good as the third best team in the competition, whoever that may be...
lamaros
22 May 2009, 12:32
Richmond W
Geelong L
Adelaide ?
Melbourne ?
Carlton ?
Collingwood W
Sydney ?
Bulldogs L
Richmond W
West Coast ?
Brisbane ?
Saints ?
Freo ?
Hawthorn L
Pointless exercise.
We should make finals, but working it out game by game like this is a waste of time.
Boucks09
22 May 2009, 12:45
We just need 12 wins in total. We already have 4 so that means we have to win 8 more games.
It's too difficult to predict which games we may or may not win in 2 months time...too many variables.
If we can be 6-5 at the halfway point I'll be wrapped; especially considering we were 2-9 last year.
But I don't like talking about the F word...it's been too long since I went to one supporting my own team!
SirJimi05
22 May 2009, 13:47
Realistically we should win 3 of our next 4 games (Richmond, Adelaide & Melbourne) and providing we do we will make the finals.
The result of this match will tell us yes or no.
The Essendon of recent will lose to Richmond.
If we win, I will believe we have overcome that and are genuine finals contenders. If we don't win, we will not make the finals.
StealthBomber
22 May 2009, 14:13
The result of this match will tell us yes or no.
The Essendon of recent will lose to Richmond.
If we win, I will believe we have overcome that and are genuine finals contenders. If we don't win, we will not make the finals.
Completely agree!! :thumbsu:
We showed signs there is a new Essendon outfit a few weeks back against the Hawks. Self belief and confidence in each other is what we need to maintain, along with consistent footy playing to our strengths and game plan - speed, speed and more speed. If we can progressively improve our decision making at those speeds we will rise.
Seeing our team has settled with minimal changes to each weeks team will also allow our youngsters to gel and play to eachothers strengths.
We should beat the likes of Richmond, Adelaide and Melbourne in the coming weeks....should; depending on the above mentioned.
centurion
22 May 2009, 14:19
As Winner said, lets get passed Richmond first then we'll see.
Games where we are expected to win are the games im not confident about. We aren't a good team yet, we're still developing and this fact is lost on some posters lately i think.
Such an important game this week. If we win hopefully we will get a run on and take it up to Geelong and hopefully beat Adelaide.
If we do, we have a chance of slipping into the finals but our last 3 games of the season are going to be tough and our young list may get tired by the second half of the year, so it's a big ask.
I think the real question is, why were you on the Calton board?
warney7
22 May 2009, 15:41
Looks a lot like this (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=579631) thread doesn't it?
With 14 rounds to go, I predict at least another 20 threads on the same topic.
nighthawk
22 May 2009, 15:49
Haha, oops, my bad. *delete thread*
TimeReaper
22 May 2009, 15:50
As Winner said, lets get passed Richmond first then we'll see.
Games where we are expected to win are the games im not confident about. We aren't a good team yet, we're still developing and this fact is lost on some posters lately i think.
I agree totally with you Centurion, I think that some posters have been seeing the last 2 weeks only and nothing before that. For me I take it as a game by game senario. We all want to make finals, I think we can do it, but it will be a long hard slog.
coke_zero
22 May 2009, 16:19
you could lose your next 3. aslong as you beat one of richmond or adelaide you will be in with a shot and you also have some important players coming back.
bOmBeR_BoY1
22 May 2009, 16:23
Tommorow night is going to prove so much. If we can get up and win, then it's fair to say we may need to reassess our goals towards perhaps a spot in the lower part of the top 8 - a loss tommorow will all but end those hopes. We need to focus on tommorow before any other games coming up - it's going to be a tough one.
Watching the second half of Bendigo training today and seeing the likes of Welsh, Reimers, Laycock, Skipworth, Hurley & McVeigh all out their training and looking good - I'm pleased with where the side is heading.
bomberstomake8
22 May 2009, 17:46
do we have to start these threads?
no one really has any idea at this point, essendon are that inconsistent at the momment its way too hard to say.. this weeks game really worries me.. and we need to make sure we bring players back at the right time, carrying half injured players into the side can have a huge affect on the outcome of a game.
we are definately a chance, but its way to early to tell either way.
sen entertainment bloke
23 May 2009, 07:42
Richmond should be a win tonight. Depending a bit on the mood of the umpires, Geelong is ours for the taking the following week with a four quarter effort.
With 6 indigenious players, would be dissappointed to lose tonight, particularily now that the opponent seemingly has a playing group fracture and Bowden can't do walk throughs, etc.
Adeliade fifty fifty, Melbourne will be a loss I reckon.
Ludwig van Bertstare
23 May 2009, 09:33
If we lose tonight we don't deserve to play finals.
ghostdog
23 May 2009, 10:14
If we lose tonight we don't deserve to play finals.
I concur with the above sentiment...
we might still make finals though.
nighthawk
23 May 2009, 11:54
Richmond should be a win tonight. Depending a bit on the mood of the umpires, Geelong is ours for the taking the following week with a four quarter effort.
With 6 indigenious players, would be dissappointed to lose tonight, particularily now that the opponent seemingly has a playing group fracture and Bowden can't do walk throughs, etc.
Adeliade fifty fifty, Melbourne will be a loss I reckon.
Wait... so Geelong is ours for the taking and Melbourne will be a loss???
I think that Geelong will come out firing next week. They've been given a clear message from the bulldogs that they're not untouchable, and next week they'll want to come out strong and smash us.
Or, i suppose the alternate view is that they may have had a small seed of doubt sowed into their minds, and that they'll stress a bit if we manage to put any pressure on. But who am I kidding, it's Geelong!
Mad Bomber Sean
23 May 2009, 12:11
Impossible to say if we will make the finals or not, but I hope so.
IF we can beat the Tigers, Crows and Dees in the next four weeks we have a decent chance.
But our team is very young & small, could perhaps fall away further into the season.
With more experienced players ready to come into the side I hope that Knights doesnt upset the team balance though by making wholesale changes. Each player needs to earn his position through performance.
Essendon will make the finals.
We are as good as the third best team in the competition, whoever that may be...
Being good enough isn't the issue though, it's about being consistently good enough.
If body's hold up, we'll probably be there. Ryder's going to need some meaningful support in the second half of the year, and we can't expect Jobe to have 18 contested possessions every week, others are going to have to help him out.
I think a lot rests on the successful return of the guys coming back through Bendigo this week and next plus Fletcher. The team we've got right now is exciting, but they're not going to hold up consistently over the next 14 weeks.
GoldenboyHird_5
23 May 2009, 13:57
Even if we do go in 7-5 with 10 to go, the task will still be extremely difficult.
We'd have to win at least half of our games from 13 and onwards. 2007 showed us that that has proved to be a massive hurdle for a team that still had a firing Hird.
i don't like our chances against the Crows and if we DON'T get to 7-5, it's curtains.
As much as I have faith in the team, I just cannot see them winning any more than 5/10 games. Even with the talent about to return.
kelvin_sheedy
23 May 2009, 14:42
If we win tonight then we'll be certain finalists unless we balls it right up.
We have some tricky games like 2 trips to Perth against bottom 4 sides. They should be automatic wins but we know it's very hard to win over there.
The North loss could be a killer as they are a rabble and eeked out a win against a naive outfit.
Every side is beatable in the run home bar Geelong next week. With some sides calling it a season we might be gifted a few wins.
No margin for error tonight.
Lose to Richmond and Essendon sit 4-6 needing to win 8 of the last 12 matches so it would be quite unlikely.
counting our eggs to soon lads ... i'm enjoying our football at the moment and that's what you guys should be doing as well. getting your hopes up by predicting the future and possibly watching us fall flat on our face will kill your enthusiasm for the game.
so take it one step at a time... enjoy the game tonight (i'm heading there now after this post, via a mate's place for a few predrinks and travellers) and we'll see where the season takes us.
bipolarbeaR
23 May 2009, 17:51
This is a pretty quick change in attitude, don't count your tigers before they hatch guys.
sen entertainment bloke
23 May 2009, 23:34
Wait... so Geelong is ours for the taking and Melbourne will be a loss???
I think that Geelong will come out firing next week. They've been given a clear message from the bulldogs that they're not untouchable, and next week they'll want to come out strong and smash us.
Or, i suppose the alternate view is that they may have had a small seed of doubt sowed into their minds, and that they'll stress a bit if we manage to put any pressure on. But who am I kidding, it's Geelong!
Provisos on Geelong being their for the picking (geelong understaning the whistle so well, maybe a problem and it will take a four quarter effort was the other proviso) and Melbourne, write it off. They aren't Richmond. It will be goal for goal for a while and then Melbourne will say, dam'n it, let's win.
Bombermania
23 May 2009, 23:49
With Walsh, McVeigh, Lucas, Fletcher,Skipworth, Prismall, Hurley & Laycock all to return and minue Hill for the season on paper we are in a good position but at present there are still 12 teams with a serious claim to Stepember therefore we should avoid getting excited.
Geelong L
Adelaide W
Melbourne W
Carlton 50/50
Collingwood 50/50
Sydney L Sydney play the style of game we struggle against
Bulldogs L
Richmond W
West Coast W
Brisbane W
Saints L
Freo W
Hawthorn L By round 22 the Hawks should be firing
Sure it is nice to nazal gaze but its impossible to pick weeks ahead, lets go back a few weeks who would have tipped us to lose to North Melbourne but beat Carlton, Collingwood and Hawthorn.
Valve Bounce
24 May 2009, 00:01
I think half way through the second quarter today, nobody was thinking of Finals.
Kaiser Powser
24 May 2009, 00:08
It is so vitally important to win the games that you would pencil in, like tonight. We are the sort of team that will cause some great upsets, so if we can win the games against the lesser teams, things should take care of themselves.
The North loss was terrible, just because we played so god-awful and still just lost it, but that said, a lot went our way against Geelong and Carlton.
There is still a very long way to go and one would expect us to be 5-5 next week, so we will have a lot of work to do, but if we keep playing at the level we have for the last 3 weeks, we should be playing finals.
essendon2008
24 May 2009, 00:24
As i said in my thread of the same topic i believe we can finish 14-8 for the season, comfortably making finals.
And for all those people who hate these threads and think they are pointless, dont reply! People are just having a bit of fun!
AndyLesPaul
24 May 2009, 12:46
5-4 with 13 games to go, we have to win like 7 or so more.
3 of those games are away games, against Sydney Freo and WestCoast, and i hate to say it, but they are danger games.
Games against Geelong Bulldogs Saints and Hawthorn are the only games that I see are the most difficult for us to win.
Bulldogs
Brisbane
Saints
Freo
So from that, if we win most of the games in bold, which would leave us at 11 wins at most, we would need to win away, or against the difficult teams.
A lot of insecurity right here.
Valve Bounce
25 May 2009, 13:07
It is so vitally important to win the games that you would pencil in, like tonight. We are the sort of team that will cause some great upsets, so if we can win the games against the lesser teams, things should take care of themselves.
The North loss was terrible, just because we played so god-awful and still just lost it, but that said, a lot went our way against Geelong and Carlton.
There is still a very long way to go and one would expect us to be 5-5 next week, so we will have a lot of work to do, but if we keep playing at the level we have for the last 3 weeks, we should be playing finals.
I think we played that well against Geelong,..................YET!!! :rolleyes:
We are due for an away win, playing WCE and Freo late in the year when both won't be making finals will make those games a tad easier.
We'd need 12 Wins minimum to reach the finals and we have a pretty tough draw.
Rd's 13 - 16 could decide our season.
Carl, Coll, Syd (SCG), Western Bulldogs
Need to win at least two of the above games along with the Adl game in rd 11.
If we can do this, there will be alot of times looking over their shoulder in September.:thumbsu:
Valve Bounce
25 May 2009, 14:19
We'd need 12 Wins minimum to reach the finals and we have a pretty tough draw.
Rd's 13 - 16 could decide our season.
Carl, Coll, Syd (SCG), Western Bulldogs
Need to win at least two of the above games along with the Adl game in rd 11.
If we can do this, there will be alot of times looking over their shoulder in September.:thumbsu:
I don't think who we play will make the difference - it will be how we play.
If our guys played like they did in the first half against Richmond, they would be lucky to make it to Richmond Station, never mind the finals.
If they play like they did in the second half against Richmond, then Yeah!! they will make the second round of the finals easily.
God knows!! :confused:
I don't think who we play will make the difference - it will be how we play.
If our guys played like they did in the first half against Richmond, they would be lucky to make it to Richmond Station, never mind the finals.
If they play like they did in the second half against Richmond, then Yeah!! they will make the second round of the finals easily.
God knows!! :confused:
No doubt we need to play our best football but who and where we are playing does make a difference. I doubt we would have been able to win on Sat if we had been playing a stronger team who was able to make the most of their options.
baby_bomber_18
25 May 2009, 18:29
As long as we finish above carlton and collingwood, id be satisfied...we are heading in the right direction and a few more years of this gamestyle will take us a long way...carn lloydy get the big tonne this year ;)
GO BOMBERS
bOmBeR_BoY1
25 May 2009, 18:37
We beat Fremantle at Subiaco last year (as well as easily winning our last game against them here) and run West Coast to 10 points over there last year, we would be some sort of show in those games and the larger ground will allow us to implement our running game a little more effectively than say at the SCG.
But a LOT of football to be played prior to this. We've got some winnable games, but that is the dangerous part - we've notoriously lost winnable games in the past. Our effort against Geelong is going to tell us a whole lot.
bacon buster
25 May 2009, 18:39
while we have a lot of hard games coming up, it's not like the other teams (apart from the saints and cats) look like being very consistent either.
i have a feeling we'll be still in the hunt at the very least come round 22.
The first half against Richmond is proof we don't diverse to play finals, but we will because the rest of the league is having an off year.
red+black
26 May 2009, 01:15
We won't finish top 6.
I think it will be very touch and go.
We might sneak in, just.
kelvin_sheedy
26 May 2009, 09:23
I've just upped my expectation to top 4.
No reason why we can't win another 8 games and finish with 13 wins and a top 4 birth.
AndyLesPaul
26 May 2009, 09:55
Which eight games?
SBBomber
26 May 2009, 12:46
We should be able to make it to the finals. Good chance for the jnrs to get some experience for the upcoming years :)
Top 4? Maybe, depending on teams consistency. Some games we're top4 quality, some games we're not. Lets hope its not the latter :D
I'm trying to clear September on my diary..because i have this feeling it could be a busy one.
This is how I see the remainder:
Geelong - L (5-5)
Adelaide - W (6-5)
Melbourne - W (7-5)
Carlton - W (8-5)
Collingwood - W (9-5)
Sydney - L (9-6)
Footscray - W (10-6)
Richmond - W (11-6)
West Coast - L (11-7)
Brisbane - W (12-7)
St. Kilda - L (12-8)
Fremantle - W (13-8)
Hawthorn - L (13-9) - Could decide a top 4 spot this one.
Anywhere between 4th and 8th folks.
red+black
26 May 2009, 14:15
I don't see us winning all 4 of Carlton, Collingwood, Bulldogs and Fremantle (away). You can't just look at absolute best outcomes, so with 1 loss in the above four, 12 wins would still be enough to make finals. But if we lost 2 of those games, then it starts to get very dicey with 11 wins, which may or may not be enough for finals.
strategy
26 May 2009, 17:41
Yes.
You can never pen down a win or a loss , that breeds contempt in a team and false security .
just jetta
26 May 2009, 18:39
This is what I think the ladder will be at season's end...
Geelong - 1 Loss - Round 10 vs. Essendon
St Kilda - 1 Loss - against Geelong
Dogs
Port
Hawks
Brisbane
Richmond - Great 2nd half of season
Freo
And this is who I think will win the B&F's...
Geelong - Joel Selwood
St Kilda - Brendon Goddard
Doggies - Matthew Boyd
Freo - Paul Duffield
Port - Chad Cornes
Hawks - Brad Sewell
Essendon - Jason Winderlich
Blues - Bryce Gibbs
Kangas - Hamish McIntosh
Melbourne - Aaron Davey
Adelaide - Bernie Vince
Sydney - Jude Bolton
Tigers - Robin Nahas
Pies - Leon Davis
Brisbane - Josh Drummond
Eagles - Dean Cox
tim_saints
26 May 2009, 19:45
Saints
Dogs
Hawks
Carlton ( Still has the midfield and fev wil find form plus few to comeback)
Essendon (When You Get Your Full Strength side you will be very good)
Brisbane
Port ( To Inconsistent, one week very very good next week horrible)
Freo
Eagles
North
Call Me Cake
26 May 2009, 22:10
http://i675.photobucket.com/albums/vv115/whereismypopcorn/TRACKaa.png
At least we've had a better start. We can only improve for the near future. :thumbsu:
Mad Bomber Sean
26 May 2009, 23:12
We should be able to make it to the finals. Good chance for the jnrs to get some experience for the upcoming years :)
Top 4? Maybe, depending on teams consistency. Some games we're top4 quality, some games we're not. Lets hope its not the latter :D
TOP 4 ??? Blue Sky minning baby... not gonna happen even in our wildest dreams (& i have some pretty wild ones ! )
All this talk of finals is naive & way to early... I wonder what other supporters think when they see some of us talking this way
Lets just settle down & see how many games we can win over the next month.
AndyLesPaul
31 May 2009, 16:14
Adelaide W 6-5
Melbourne W 7-5
Carlton W 8-5
Collingwood W 9-5
Sydney ??
Bulldogs L 9-7
Richmond W 10-7
West Coast W 11-7
Brisbane ??
Saints L 11-9
Freo W 12-9
Hawthorn L 12-10.
We need to win all the games we should win
budge11
31 May 2009, 16:22
What makes you think you'll beat Adelaide? They just beat the Hawks who you've pinned down as an L.
DonMania#5
31 May 2009, 16:22
Four in a row after getting thrashed, bit optimistic..
Dr Moose
31 May 2009, 16:24
All well and good to make it into the final 8 but being a clear class behind the true premiership contenders beggars the point; why bother? Just to be an easy win for the higher-ranked teams in the first week? I really only want to see us in the finals if we're going to make a proper effort of it
AndyLesPaul
31 May 2009, 16:39
What makes you think you'll beat Adelaide? They just beat the Hawks who you've pinned down as an L.
We beat the Hawks.
and Rd 22 Hawks will be much better than the Hawks of current.
gopies1981
31 May 2009, 22:03
Adelaide W 6-5
Melbourne W 7-5
Carlton W 8-5
Collingwood W 9-5
Sydney ??
Bulldogs L 9-7
Richmond W 10-7
West Coast W 11-7
Brisbane ??
Saints L 11-9
Freo W 12-9
Hawthorn L 12-10.
We need to win all the games we should win
What makes you think you will beat collingwood?
AndyLesPaul
31 May 2009, 22:05
Past experiences.
What makes you think you will beat Essendon? ;)
bOmBeR_BoY1
31 May 2009, 22:10
Pis* off, idiot. You're all the same after a win - from chumps to champs in two weeks with wins against bottom 8 sides.
Both teams are 5-5 and Essendon won the last time the sides met. Like Essendon's gameplan against Geelong, the Pies play into Essendon's hands. We're nothing special, yet, but you guys certainly aren't either. Don't let a couple of soft wins fool you. We'll be back.
Galactico
31 May 2009, 22:14
Pis* off, idiot. You're all the same after a win - from chumps to champs in two weeks with wins against bottom 8 sides.
Both teams are 5-5 and Essendon won the last time the sides met. Like Essendon's gameplan against Geelong, the Pies play into Essendon's hands. We're nothing special, yet, but you guys certainly aren't either. Don't let a couple of soft wins fool you. We'll be back.
While you are every chance to beat us again, I'd be simply hoping to notch up enough wins to scrape into the 8 if I were you. Bit of finals experience is what the Bombers need and that will be a good year.
That said, its the Carlton, Collingwood and Hawthorn return bouts that might actually shock you a little and ruin all hope you have of making the 8. Can't see any of those teams letting you slip again, particularly Carlton and Collingwood.
Will be touch and go.....
Wd should win 3 of our next 4.
Melb, carl and collingwood don't worry me, I'll be very disappointed if we don't boost our percentage back up during this 3 week period becuse we won't get a better opportunity this year.
Adelaide though I am worried about this week, they are certainly up and about the past 2 weeks and have Edwards 300th.
Carlton and collingwood don't bother us.
They have both been at full strength the past 2 seasons we've played them and we've shrugged them off with half strength outfits.
With our list closing in on full strength after the mid season break we should really stamp home our advantage over these 2.
nighthawk
1 Jun 2009, 13:56
... Can't see any of those teams letting you slip again, particularly Carlton and Collingwood...
Yeah, but nobody could see those teams letting us slip the first time round either.
Only difference this time round will be we won't be decimated by injuries like we have been the alst few times. *touch wood.*
MarkMiller93
4 Jun 2009, 18:23
quite simply, do you think essendon will make finals this year?
imho, i think it'd be better for the playing group if we finish 9-10th this year. Because we'll be a slightly better side next year and that'll make us even hungrier for finals. :thumbsu:
AlwaysRight
4 Jun 2009, 18:31
I expect nothing less then finals.
It's very tight so far. It's hard to tell where anyone except St. Kilda, Geelong, Richmond and Melbourne will end up but you should always aim for finals if they're within reach. Also, I think this year is the time that we should show that we are going to be a good team. So we should make a statement early which will include making the finals.
MarkMiller93
4 Jun 2009, 18:32
I expect nothing less then finals.
you expect finals? why's that? it'll be tough considering the injuries.
AlwaysRight
4 Jun 2009, 18:36
you expect finals? why's that? it'll be tough considering the injuries.
We may still be developing, but we've been developing for what, 4 years now? I think it's about time we started to expect at least making finals.
SirJimi05
4 Jun 2009, 18:40
imho, i think it'd be better for the playing group if we finish 9-10th this year. Because we'll be a slightly better side next year and that'll make us even hungrier for finals. :thumbsu:
How can you think this? THe best thing for a young playing group is to get finals experience. Give them a sniff of finals and i can assure you they will be very hungry for another taste.
Quite simply, use the search function.
We had a thread about this recently and it is only on the second page of this forum. Not that far away really.
AlwaysRight
4 Jun 2009, 18:46
Quite simply, use the search function.
We had a thread about this recently and it is only on the second page of this forum. Not that far away really.
And if you look on the next page, i'm almost certain you would find another thread about finals.
My point being that after every game there always seems to be a thread asking if we will make finals or not.
No there isn't.
GoldenboyHird_5
4 Jun 2009, 18:58
You are completely wrong. We are in our SECOND year of rebuilding.
AndyLesPaul
4 Jun 2009, 19:32
And if you look on the next page, i'm almost certain you would find another thread about finals.
Ironically, you're wrong
I think we could make the finals this year, but everythinghas to go our way form here on in.
assuming we beat adelaide we'll be 6-5 and looking good for the 8. we've played the 3 best sides IMO geelong, st kilda, hawthorn as well as getting 2 interstate trips out of the way (bris, port). the draw gets easier in the 2nd half of the year and we're only starting to get back players such as prismall, mcveigh, welsh, fletcher, reimers etc whilst hurley, dempsey, mcphee, lovett-murray etc have also missed due to injury/suspension. it remains to be seen if we get any footy out of either gumby/laycock but if we did that would just be a bonus.
i'd be quite confident we can make finals and it is ridiculous to suggest it wouldn't have anything but a positive effect on our playing group in the future.
Disagree wholeheartedly.
Make finals, lose and get some finals experiance
OR
Miss out, be behind on experience, make finals next year and get belted.
The Donners
4 Jun 2009, 20:10
?????
Finals experience will be invaluable to making us a little bit more than a slightly better side next year...
OzBomber
4 Jun 2009, 21:08
Lol, Mills. Been copping it from everywhere this week. :p
If we win the next four matches we are a chance. Having one ruckman will kill us though
stay true
5 Jun 2009, 02:34
If we can keep up with the pack that are 5-5 now, we're a chance. The next 6 weeks are huge.
Call Me Cake
7 Jun 2009, 16:02
Finals chances are looking really slim I reckon. :thumbsd:
Our piss poor effort in the last quater today aren't going to get us anywhere.
With the piss poor effort against Adelaide we don't deserve to play finals this year.
Forget it. :thumbsd:
/lock thread.Haha, nah I might leave it open mate. Would hardly call it 'piss poor', either. Bloody frustrating though, indeed; we should have put the game out of reach in the first half. Pears should have been moved to Tippet. Prismall, Reimers, McVeigh, Skipworth, Lucas should not have all been picked in the same side within two weeks of each other. Hopefully after losing a game we should've won we'll be able to pinch a few 'unlikely' wins as our players return to fitness.
Call Me Cake
7 Jun 2009, 16:09
Haha, nah I might leave it open mate. Would hardly call it 'piss poor', either. Bloody frustrating though, indeed; we should have put the game out of reach in the first half. Pears should have been moved to Tippet. Prismall, Reimers, McVeigh, Skipworth, Lucas should not have all been picked in the same side within two weeks of each other. Hopefully after losing a game we should've won we'll be able to pinch a few 'unlikely' wins as our players return to fitness.
Ahh, just had a change of heart a minute after I posted that. You got to it before I could edit it though, haha.
And maybe you're right. But I'd rather snap a victory in the 4th, than to lead for 3 quaters and give it up. We need to fix that if we are to think of the finals as anything but a myth.
Piss poor? We wern't that bad, Adelaide are running hot the past weeks and were very accurate.
BomberAce7
7 Jun 2009, 16:24
Season Over. Going to have to win 8-9 out of the next 11 to be safe. Aint gonna happen.
AndyLesPaul
7 Jun 2009, 16:30
11 games left.
good percentage + 7-8 games = Finals.
shit percentage + 7-8 games = Bottom 8.
shit percentage + 8+ games = Finals.
I think our season might depend on whether or not we beat Melbourne, and how much we would beat them by.
Call Me Cake
7 Jun 2009, 16:46
13 games left.
good percentage + 7-8 games = Finals.
shit percentage + 7-8 games = Bottom 8.
shit percentage + 8+ games = Finals.
I think our season might depend on whether or not we beat Melbourne, and how much we would beat them by.
I'm pretty sure there's only 11 games left mate. :confused:
Sam the RAMA fan
7 Jun 2009, 16:49
With today's performance,
NO.
And percentage is rubbish at the moment.
GO BOMBERS 2010! :thumbsu:
AndyLesPaul
7 Jun 2009, 16:51
I'm pretty sure there's only 11 games left mate. :confused:
Rofl.
I was thinking there was 24 rounds for some reason :|
Call Me Cake
7 Jun 2009, 16:51
With today's performance,
NO.
And percentage is rubbish at the moment.
GO BOMBERS 2010! :thumbsu:
If we smash Melb next week, we'll slip into the 8. So, I'll say were still in it if things go our way.
Sam the RAMA fan
7 Jun 2009, 16:55
If we smash Melb next week, we'll slip into the 8. So, I'll say were still in it if things go our way.
That would be nice.
Hope this break helps em a bit and that Fletch, Winderlich and even Welsh is back. Fr*ken carlscum is in the 8 and a win clear! Ahhhh :(
Call Me Cake
7 Jun 2009, 17:10
That would be nice.
Hope this break helps em a bit and that Fletch, Winderlich and even Welsh is back. Fr*ken carlscum is in the 8 and a win clear! Ahhhh :(
Did a little prediction run...
We need to smash Melbourne by a 30+ margin. Other teams will not affect this.
http://i675.photobucket.com/albums/vv115/whereismypopcorn/Lee.jpg
I'd say it's possible. :thumbsu:
As for Carlton, they haven't played St Kilda or Geelong as of yet. Let them have their little celebration. We'll be even come next week. Just in time for our clash in Round 13. :cool:
Sam the RAMA fan
7 Jun 2009, 17:15
As for Carlton, they haven't played St Kilda or Geelong as of yet. Let them have their little celebration. We'll be even come next week. Just in time for our clash in Round 13. :cool:
I like the little prediction run,
and would be pretty happy if that happened. :D
Yeah, would love to see Saints and Cats beat Carlton...
fingers crossed, cause Blues arnt looking to bad at the moment.
We gotta beat Melbourne!!! :o :thumbsu:
AndyLesPaul
7 Jun 2009, 17:20
I like that.
But imagine if the Saints absolutely decked Carlton, and we smashed Melbourne, and we ended up higher than them in the ladder?
:D
Now i wonder how much we need.
inspectorman
7 Jun 2009, 17:28
I like the little prediction run,
and would be pretty happy if that happened. :D
Yeah, would love to see Saints and Cats beat Carlton...
fingers crossed, cause Blues arnt looking to bad at the moment.
We gotta beat Melbourne!!! :o :thumbsu:
NO! we wont make the finals
its hard to make finals when you dont have your best team on the park every week, but how long ago since we had our best team on the park, plus we are a young developing team, its hard to play with 1 ruckman with our number 1 ruckman out for the year and we have to many skinny bodies. Lets hope in this years draft to get a already made player, and get another ruckman. we should make the finals next year if most of our players have a good preseason and less injuries.