View Full Version : What will the crowd be this week?
At the start of the week the MCC were estimating 55K with general admission being on the ground level of the Ponsford Stand.
Now they've changed their tune estimating 62K with only the top deck available for general admission.
This is exactly what happened with the Round 3 Carlton game.
Is it likely to attract 70K?
With Carlton and Collingwood playing interstate the neutrals who want to attend a game will choose this one over Kangaroos V Fremantle.
Richmond's turmoil during the week just may also drag a few extra along to see how they'll respond.
I love the MCG and can't wait for "hopefully" another exciting win on the big stage in 09.
danielgb123
22 May 2009, 21:58
I would say 65,000 - 75,000 would be a decent guess. Wouldn't be surprised if it hit 80k though :D
OzBomber
22 May 2009, 22:07
I honestly think late 50s early 60s. Don't have a reason, that's just my gut feeling.
Unfortunately I will be unable to attend as I'll be down at Phillip Island. Really dissapointed as I'd love to go.
Bomber32
22 May 2009, 22:17
It should get 65,000 - 70,000 people at the very least.
Mr Mosquito
22 May 2009, 22:53
Does it matter?
bipolarbeaR
22 May 2009, 23:53
Does it matter?
Nope.
The answer is already in :confused:
http://img196.imageshack.us/img196/7255/lolwhat.jpg (http://img196.imageshack.us/my.php?image=lolwhat.jpg)
Donakebab
23 May 2009, 00:00
I'd be happy with those figures.
bipolarbeaR
23 May 2009, 00:22
Damn it, I look like a Hawthorn/Carlton supporter there LOL!
warney7
23 May 2009, 00:23
20 behinds....if only we'd kick straighter!!! :(
But I'd take a 66 point win in front of 66,666 people any day! :D
Given all that's happened, if Richmond was my club, I'd be ashamed to call myself a member/supporter.
The crowd will fall short of 60k, just.
dave_27
23 May 2009, 00:45
There is no way the walk up on the night will be as big as the ess v carl game, they had to open up the top deck of the mcc to the public because it was that big.
Reckon we'll get around 55k, you'd expect essendon supporters to outnumber tiger fans.
bipolarbeaR
23 May 2009, 00:52
There is no way the walk up on the night will be as big as the ess v carl game, they had to open up the top deck of the mcc to the public because it was that big.
Yeah mate, that was my 3rd ever Essendon game, the atmosphere was AMAZING!! Wish I went to the Anzac one, going to the Adelaide game for the long weekend though :)
Donakebab
23 May 2009, 00:56
Yeah mate, that was my 3rd ever Essendon game, the atmosphere was AMAZING!! Wish I went to the Anzac one, going to the Adelaide game for the long weekend though :)
Only your third game? Get out there!
dave_27
23 May 2009, 01:05
20 behinds....if only we'd kick straighter!!! :(
But I'd take a 66 point win in front of 66,666 people any day! :D
Given all that's happened, if Richmond was my club, I'd be ashamed to call myself a member/supporter.
They all seem to live in a deluded world of their own where they think they are a big and relevent football club. :o
Reckon we'll get around 55k, you'd expect essendon supporters to outnumber tiger fans.
5,000 tickets have been given away to Indigenous people.
Only game on in Melbourne Saturday night (same as Rd 3 V Carlton).
Richmond fans will want to come see how their team responds to what took place during the week. Besides the fact they DID come close to Port last week.
We've had crowds in the 50's when both of us have been ORDINARY the last few years.
This game is developing and will nudge 70K.
shad518
24 May 2009, 00:20
Official Crowd: 73, 625
A very nice crowd. Good to see plenty of support for "Dreamtime @ the G".
dave_27
24 May 2009, 00:43
massive crowd. Couldn't believe the amount of people already their when I got in. Excellent turn up by essendon fans, was great to see our fans turn up to an away game in big numbers for once.
We outnumbered the tiger fans but it was a solid effort by the tiger fans to still turn up after the week they've had.
I thought we out numbered you lot.
Pretty awesome effort by our fans considering all the pain we've had.
dave_27
24 May 2009, 00:59
Deluded. Clearly more essendon fans in the stands.
tigertRANCE
24 May 2009, 07:17
Deluded. Clearly more essendon fans in the stands.
Deluded. Clearly more Tigers. 1-7 and to still turn out like we do. Best supporters in the league by a mile. Forget Big4. With any kind of success we would be No.1 without doubt.
GO TIGES!!!
Deluded. Clearly more Tigers. 1-7 and to still turn out like we do. Best supporters in the league by a mile. Forget Big4. With any kind of success we would be No.1 without doubt.
GO TIGES!!!
That's the problem, you guys never have any kind of success.
Hello :D
I look forward to 80K+ crowds against Carlton and Collingwood in Rounds 13 and 14. Could even nudge 90K if we pull a win over Cats next week.
AndyLesPaul
24 May 2009, 09:38
It was an away game, but i did see a lot of Essendon supporters.
toddy104
24 May 2009, 14:55
The essendon footy club will continue to pull big crowds with the style of footy we are playing. The essendon faithful will be out in force over the coming weeks..
gopies1981
24 May 2009, 23:42
Hello :D
I look forward to 80K+ crowds against Carlton and Collingwood in Rounds 13 and 14. Could even nudge 90K if we pull a win over Cats next week.
IF Collingwood happen to win the Next four matches and with most of our player's back in the next 1 to 2 weeks the Collingwood Vs Essendon Game would easily get 90,000.
We have had a pretty bad start to the year and Collingwood crowds have been pretty disapponiting this year Except for the Essendon game and Calrton game were 85,000 and 82,000 fans flocked to the G but if the pies can get a winning streak going we will start comming our of the woodwork and drawing 45-50,000 collingwood fans to our home games at the G!
in the next four weeks Essendon play;
Geelong (Docklands) = loss
Adelaide (Docklands) = Win
Melbourne (Docklands) = Win
Carlton (MCG) = win (should get 75-80,000)
that would put Essendon 8-5.
In the next four weeks Collingwood play;
Port Adeldaide (MCG) = Win (I am somewhat really confident of winning that game)
Melbourne (MCG) = Win
Sydney (ANZ) = Win (Pies have won the last 6 against the swans)
Collingwood (MCG) = Win
That would put Collingwood also at 8-5.
If both teams are 8-5 85-90,000 woud easily be at the game!
gopies1981
24 May 2009, 23:44
I would of said the split would of been 43,000 Essendon fans to 30,000 Richmond fans.
Andrew_5
25 May 2009, 00:01
IF Collingwood happen to win the Next four matches and with most of our player's back in the next 1 to 2 weeks the Collingwood Vs Essendon Game would easily get 90,000.
We have had a pretty bad start to the year and Collingwood crowds have been pretty disapponiting this year Except for the Essendon game and Calrton game were 85,000 and 82,000 fans flocked to the G but if the pies can get a winning streak going we will start comming our of the woodwork and drawing 45-50,000 collingwood fans to our home games at the G!
in the next four weeks Essendon play;
Geelong (Docklands) = loss
Adelaide (Docklands) = Win
Melbourne (Docklands) = Win
Carlton (MCG) = win (should get 75-80,000)
that would put Essendon 8-5.
In the next four weeks Collingwood play;
Port Adeldaide (MCG) = Win (I am somewhat really confident of winning that game)
Melbourne (MCG) = Win
Sydney (ANZ) = Win (Pies have won the last 6 against the swans)
Collingwood (MCG) = Win :confused:
That would put Collingwood also at 8-5.
If both teams are 8-5 85-90,000 woud easily be at the game!
:confused:
gopies1981
25 May 2009, 01:19
:confused:
I meant Fremantle = win Sorry!!
Donakebab
25 May 2009, 01:24
So you play Carlton the same week we do? You're not really helping that Collingwood supporter stereotype. ;)
I'm guessing 40-45,000 this week against Geelong. It was almost sold out when friends bought their tickets on Friday, so a very good sign.
tigertRANCE
25 May 2009, 07:54
I would of said the split would of been 43,000 Essendon fans to 30,000 Richmond fans.
LOL. Your bias against Richmond is pathetic. Clearly more Tiges there. We'd leave the pies for dead also if we ever made finals consistantly and/or made a Grand Final.
GO TIGES!!!
dave_27
25 May 2009, 11:35
We'd leave the pies for dead also if we ever made finals consistantly and/or made a Grand Final.
GO TIGES!!!
Please. You are Richmond, a club steeped in a culture of mediocrity.
You will never play finals consistently.
gopies1981
25 May 2009, 13:24
LOL. Your bias against Richmond is pathetic. Clearly more Tiges there. We'd leave the pies for dead also if we ever made finals consistantly and/or made a Grand Final.
GO TIGES!!!
What a stupid comment considering Collingwood have 350,000 more supporter's then Richmond australia wide. It is a Proven fact that when Collingwood make the finals no club attracts bigger crowds then Collingwod in the Home and Away Season.