View Full Version : Changes vs Geelong

Pages : [1] 2 3

AndyLesPaul
23 May 2009, 23:43
IN: Hurley, Lucas, McVeigh(if fit)
OUT: Lovett Murray (if susp), Dempsey (if inj), Neagle

danielgb123
23 May 2009, 23:48
Neagle took some good marks and applied a few tackles which is good to see. I can't see him being dropped as we want to get some game time into him. NLM was just stupid in what he did, played a decent game and took some good marks. Dempsey should be fine; looks like he rolled his ankle.

As for McVeigh, even if he is right I would say leave him out for another week. No point in bringing him in against Geelong and having him injure himself so we have a chance. Not sure how Lucas has done in the VFL, so no comments on him. Hurley, I would like to see him back in action :)

Kaiser Powser
23 May 2009, 23:54
Firstly hopefully Dempsey's ankle comes up ok.

I reckon Lucas will be recalled against Geelong. Neagle has been OK, but we need Lucas' experience if we are to stretch their backline.

I reckon Dyson's spot could be under review after a pretty poor performance, McVeigh would have to be a certainty if he gets through the Bendigo game.

Geelong do not have the tallest forward line and I think Hurley would be a pretty good match up on Mooney. Not sure if people agree, but I reckon Hooker might make way for Hurley. If NLM gets reported he will go out for Hurley.

Out: Neagle, Dyson, Hooker

In: Lucas, McVeigh, Hurley

AndyLesPaul
23 May 2009, 23:54
Neagle had 4 marks resulting in 4 disposals and 2 tackles, if Lucas has a good game it'll be hard to see Neagle in the team next week.

Donakebab
24 May 2009, 00:03
Bit early to be calling ins and outs, too many factors to wait on. How players fair for Bendigo, NLM getting rubbed out, how Dempsey and Lonergan pull up, etc...

bOmBeR_BoY1
24 May 2009, 00:38
Bit premature considering Bendigo is yet to play.

I think Lucas would of seen Neagle's game tonight and his eyes would of lit up. My tip is he will play a blinder in the VFL tommorow and get a gig next week in the seniors.

d-mac3276
24 May 2009, 00:50

I reckon Lucas will be recalled against Geelong. Neagle has been OK, but we need Lucas' experience if we are to stretch their backline.

I reckon Dyson's spot could be under review after a pretty poor performance, McVeigh would have to be a certainty if he gets through the Bendigo game.

Geelong do not have the tallest forward line and I think Hurley would be a pretty good match up on Mooney. Not sure if people agree, but I reckon Hooker might make way for Hurley. If NLM gets reported he will go out for Hurley.

In: Lucas, McVeigh, HurleyPfft come on mate i've been a very harsh critic of Dyson over the years and although he was quiet tonight its hardly time to call for his head as he has been very good in the past coupla weeks.
How can u say after one quiet one that he should be dropped, come on mate your better than that.

adii_7
24 May 2009, 00:50

hooker on mooney.

if we drop hooker, i am rocking up to the game in a geelong guernsy.

HOOKER IS A GUNNNNN !

Pevers-Legend
24 May 2009, 02:11
3 guys in the gun for me:

Neagle - has talent but he does f'all for 3 1/4's each game. I just hope he learns the consistency needed cause he has all the tools

Lonergan - has been a passenger - lucky we have had injuries in his position. Love his attack on the footy - but Sammy - for a mid you just don't get enough of the pill

Jetta - showed zero confidence and made a few half hearted efforts - this kid can play - just don't think he is doing as much as his previous seasons when he was in the team.

I suspect one or two will be lucky to stay in due to injuries/brain explosions.

As to who comes in - lets wait till Bendigo play.

Pevers-Legend
24 May 2009, 02:17
Oh and why drop hooker??

Until Fletch is fit - Fletch Mk II can stay in the team while he plays good footy.

keepzitreal
24 May 2009, 02:34
I will reserve my judgement until after Bendigo play and we hear more on Dempsey.... though I will say that I think it's important that we get bigger bodies in.

On tonights game I think all of Dyson, Jetta and possibly Bellchambers in danger though we will probably need him against Geelong.

If McVeigh and Hurley play well for Bendigo I think both should come in... possibly even Skipworth if he performs...

Pevers-Legend
24 May 2009, 02:45
I will reserve my judgement until after Bendigo play and we hear more on Dempsey.... though I will say that I think it's important that we get bigger bodies in.

On tonights game I think all of Dyson, Jetta and possibly Bellchambers in danger though we will probably need him against Geelong.

If McVeigh and Hurley play well for Bendigo I think both should come in... possibly even Skipworth if he performs...

You are right on Bellchambers - forgot about him - but who do we replace him with - Chook is a few week off yet and Hooker is not a ruckman.

Good experience for Bellchambers - just needs time an hopefully he wil come on.

caboose
24 May 2009, 02:59
3 guys in the gun for me:

Neagle - has talent but he does f'all for 3 1/4's each game. I just hope he learns the consistency needed cause he has all the tools

Lonergan - has been a passenger - lucky we have had injuries in his position. Love his attack on the footy - but Sammy - for a mid you just don't get enough of the pill

Jetta - showed zero confidence and made a few half hearted efforts - this kid can play - just don't think he is doing as much as his previous seasons when he was in the team.

I suspect one or two will be lucky to stay in due to injuries/brain explosions.

As to who comes in - lets wait till Bendigo play.

Excellent post, and I couldn't agree more. On all counts.

Lonergan and Jetta are complete passengers at the moment, and Jay's (lack of) stamina is a serious problem.

However, it's way too premature to be nominating ins and outs until we've seen Bendigo play and taken account of any injuries and/or suspensions among the 22 who played tonight.

keepzitreal
24 May 2009, 08:11
You are right on Bellchambers - forgot about him - but who do we replace him with - Chook is a few week off yet and Hooker is not a ruckman.

Good experience for Bellchambers - just needs time an hopefully he wil come on.

Yeah I agree, Belly has to stay in, Ryder can't do it on his own... Hooker will be a good matchup for Moonee, with McPhee taking Johnson, Hurley coming back to play on Hawkins and Pears going to someone like Enright or another mid sized forward. Will be interesting to see what they go with. I think Lucas in for Neagle is an option, its been 3 weeks, Jay has been good but not offering heaps and provided he plays well today, if he is ever gonna come back you'd think this week should be it...

bOmBeR_BoY1
24 May 2009, 09:00
It's almost turning into an embarrassing of riches for us in terms of players returning from injury who probably deserve a spot in the seniors given a good performance or two in the reserves.

Injuries have actually been a blessing in disguise for us so far this year. We have unearthed some very, very good talent that is gaining big game experience which will benefit us massively as a club in the longer term. Unlike Carlton who are one major injury from being a total basketcase. Could you imagine them without 8 or 9 of their starting 22, including two of their best defenders and two of their best midfielders? BAH.

Will be an interesting selection coming up this week.

Nicko_
24 May 2009, 09:06
Hopefully NLM is not rubbed and Dempsey comes up ok.

I hate to say this, as i like him as a player, he goes hard at it, gives his all and is not scared of anything, but the fact is he doesnt get enough of the ball, so Lonergan would have to be an out for me, directly replaced by McVeigh if he has runs out a good game for Bendigo, or possibly Prismall to play his first game against his old side.

Jetta once againt didnt shine and went missing alot of the time, however layed a couple of nice tackles to set us up. I dont think he should be in the team, however in saying that, i dont think he should be dropped. As other have previously stated, he needs to get consistant games in the seniors to be judged on, otherwise his confidence will be severely effected.

Dyson made some poor decisions, and disposal was a bit sloppy at times, still wasnt the worst out the and did some good things. His spot isnt in Danger.

Hooker didnt look as comfortable against smaller opponents, still provided a bit of daring run off his player. Stays in the team.

Neagle.... did he only play 40% game time or something? was watching the game on TV and thinking to myself "where the #@$% is Neagle" took couple of strong marks. Position could be in in question, although i hope not.

I think Houli has shown enough defensive work to warrant his place in the side, just need to work on his decision making at times, particularly with handballs. His kicking is very good though.

Bellchambers still doesnt look ready. I know it could be a bit early, but if Laycock can get a decent run with Bendigo and come up ok, he could be an inclusion. Belly is only playing limited gametime, im sure Laycock would be able to handle 50% gametime, partly up forward, part in the ruck.

My changes for next week:

Outs: Lonergan, Bellchambers**
Ins: McVeigh/Prismall, Laycock** dependant on fitness and gametime at Bendigo.

ghostdog
24 May 2009, 09:15
A lot of people seem willing to see Neagle out in favour of Lucas. Neagle was quiet last night. I would be interested to know how much game time he actually got last night, because I don't think I even saw him provide a lead. His game against Hawthorn was terrific, he's a massive body and a good kick.

Lucas has kicked some goals in the twos, but to what extent does the pace of the twos suit where he was at before he was demoted? Sorry, I'm not convinced re: Lucas. As soon as Neagle was brought in he did the things Lucas couldn't in the first six matches, and now on the back of two matches for Bendigo people think he'll be right against Geelong? I reckon he needs at least a couple of more weeks at Bendigo or until he finds the touch and pace of last year. Bring him back against a side he's likely to have success against (and Geelong ain't it) so that he can build his confidence at the top level. I would suggest that's against Melbourne.

On Neagle. Knighter's philosophy suits everyone with every other player than Neagle? Take the rose coloured glasses off folks. Scott is almost done. We need to get game time into Neagle. Hopefully, sooner rather than later, he'll be kicking bags. I hoped that was going to be last night. It's never out of the question as far as I'm concerned, especially when he's the size he is. Lead - mark - kick.

ghostdog
24 May 2009, 09:20
Neagle.... did he only play 40% game time or something? was watching the game on TV and thinking to myself "where the #@$% is Neagle" took couple of strong marks. Position could be in in question, although i hope not.

Bellchambers still doesnt look ready. I know it could be a bit early, but if Laycock can get a decent run with Bendigo and come up ok, he could be an inclusion. Belly is only playing limited gametime, im sure Laycock would be able to handle 50% gametime, partly up forward, part in the ruck.

I concur re: Neagle.
Disagree re: Laycock. He was getting bagged last year for his lack of fitness and pace. The guy has been out for yonkies, no way he is playing firsts next week. I reckon he'll be lucky to play 50% at Bendigo.

JennaJ
24 May 2009, 09:29
I think Bellchambers will stay in the side for another couple of weeks till Laycock gets some match fitness.
Leeroy ha s to go back to the seconds and put a string of good games together till he gets back in the side. Showed he had no confidence last night, and every time he got the ball he spent it before he got it ie dropped chest marks.
Hooker looks like he will be a player but make a lot of mistakes tonight and i think that everyone will agree that Hurley is a better option.
I think Lucus will come back into the side next week plus we fell down a bit through half forward.
Also Ricky Dyson has to be on shaky ground again some very poor skill errors

Ins: Lusus Hurley McVeigh

Out: NLM (Susp??) Hooker Jetta

citizen-erased
24 May 2009, 09:50
The geelong game isnt the one to test Lucas' form for the AFL. That said, we are gonna lose, so whats the harm. So maybe bring him in, but i wouldnt drop Neagle. Lloyd and Neagle are working a lot like Roughead and Buddy. One is quiet, the other plays a blinder. I like this combo.

NLM is going to be missing for a few weeks and i think his spot in the side has been jeopardised now. has been playing great, but he gave the opening for one of prismall, reimers or mcveigh to come in. Possibly even Hurley to release McPhee up forward.

With chappy out, all we need is someone to watch Selwood (no point trying to curtail ablett. stick winderlich on him to at least make him accountable for one of our players). I would like to Lonergan keep his spot to do this. if not lonergan, perhaps Reimers or Welsh if either can get up for the match

Does anyone know if Ottens is back? Without Ottens, Milburn and Chapman i think we can put up a decent fight with the team we have

small changes:
Out: NLM (susp), Jetta, *Dempsey if injured
In: Hurley, Skipworth, *Lucas

mattyboy_666
24 May 2009, 09:51
Hooker was slightly off last night, but the younger guys will be inconsistent for awhile. But still did enough to hold his spot surely.
He was originally put in the team as a back up ruckman ahead of Bellchambers wasn't he? Bellchambers just needs time in the VFL to get his tank up. More of a liability atm. Hooker is very mobile for a bigman, whack in Hurley for next week down back, and Hooker can help out Ryder when he's tired, then swing back into defence as a loose man (Fletcher role)?? I reckon he'd go alright in ruck, and could do enough to give Ryder a rest here and there.
Would be nice to see Prismall debut for the Dons against his old club, hopefully he plays alright today, but still probably needs another week in the magoos.

Possible OUTs: Bellchambers, Neagle, Houli, NLM(susp)
Possible INs: Hurley, Lucas, McVeigh, T.Slat/Prismall (if NLM goes)

Still depends on how they all go today though

Ben the Gooner
24 May 2009, 10:03
Out: NLM (susp.), McPhee (inj.), Jetta (omit)
In: Lucas, Hurley, Prismall

Lonergan can consider himself a bit lucky.

Hooker to play the role McPhee has been playing.

AndyLesPaul
24 May 2009, 10:06

Is McPhee injured?
and how bad?

Also, Lucas Neagle and Lloyd in the forward line?

Ling Sting
24 May 2009, 10:15
Does anyone know if Ottens is back? Without Ottens, Milburn and Chapman i think we can put up a decent fight with the team we have

small changes:
Out: NLM (susp), Jetta, *Dempsey if injured
In: Hurley, Skipworth, *Lucas

Ottens is still a few weeks off at best. Chappy will definately miss at least 1 game. Not sure about Milburn but Longeran or David Johnson can sufficiently fill his roll down back.

The dogs basically ran over the top of us on Friday, if you blokes stay with us for the first 3 quarters there is no reason why you couldn't do the same. Should be a good game.

I'm hoping that Skippy and Hurly get back into your team to strengthen my SC team ;)

bomberfan101
24 May 2009, 10:16
Too early to call yet...

But i can see Lonergan being dropped, NLM being suspended and Dempsey out with his ankle injury.

I can also see McVeigh, Lucas, Prismall and Hurley coming back into the side :D

Although the side may need a re-shuffle if that's the case, so may be a couple of more outs / less ins.

R_n_B
24 May 2009, 10:16
Geez, it's a bit early for this! I don't know how you people can make such predictions before we know the extent of injuries and suspensions etc. every week :)
But, it is fun to speculate and see what other think should be changed.

The only definite out I think will be NLM through suspension.
McPhee should be right to play, as he did come back on the field and looked alright.
Dempsey not sure about as he was on crutches after the game.
AFL website reckons both McPhee and Dempsey should be right next week.
Lonergan also limped off at the end of the game, but looked fine in the change rooms.

Andrew_5
24 May 2009, 10:31
In: Hurley
Out: Jetta

I'll only make the one change, The rest of the guy's coming in for Bendigo will need a few more weeks to get there body and fitness right.

I'd like to see Houli play in Jetta's posi and Hurley can replace Houli in the back pocket.
our inside 50's haven't been that great at times, so i would like Houli to play hf flank and pinpoint passes to Lloyd and Neagle..
For us to win we have to play 4 quarters of football and our defence i think is the key, we need to rattle their forward line for us to have any chance of winning..

Edit: Forgot about NLM.. If he gets rubbed out then replace Jetta with him..

Sigmund
24 May 2009, 10:48

Thank god you are not on our selection committee:o

bombersno1
24 May 2009, 10:50
In: Myers
Outs: Jetta (what the heck did he add!)

Hurley, Prismal, McVeigh, etc would come under consideration with the proviso they get through the VFL game

Shane Hird
24 May 2009, 11:06
A game against Geelong is not the right time to bring back Scotty.

No way in hell should they even contemplate playing him...no way.

Andrew_5
24 May 2009, 11:12
A game against Geelong is not the right time to bring back Scotty.

No way in hell should they even contemplate playing him...no way.

I agree, but I'd like to hear your thought on Why??
Say he kicks 10 today, would you bring him in??

Mad Bomber Sean
24 May 2009, 11:27
Dempsey, Mcphee & NLM are maybe's for the Cats game due to injuries & suspensions.
Neagle, Longergan and Jetta could also be ommitted due to questionable effort/form.

Replacements are form/match fitness ( & match ups against Cats) depended at Bendigo.

Mcveigh, Hurley & Lucas Skippy are most likely, although Myers & Prismal, Reimers might also get a look in.

To early to make a call on this.

dave_27
24 May 2009, 11:34
Why on earth would you drop Neagle after 1 quiet game? He probably worked harder last night than anyother game he has played for once.

He loves the Dome mind you aswell, he MUST play next week.

BomberAce7
24 May 2009, 11:36
Ins - Hurley, McVeigh.
Outs - Lovett-Murray (Susp), Dempsey (Inj)

Could just be the 1 change if Courtney gets up. Also on Neagle, he was playing alot up the ground last night which is not his position. Jay plays best in the forward 50 leading & marking. Personally i would leave Jay at full forward with Lloyd at CHF with Lloyd dropping back into the 50. Jay is not a CHF.

Ben the Gooner
24 May 2009, 12:13
In: Myers
Outs: Jetta (what the heck did he add!)

Funny, you could ask that question about most of Myers' games this year.

james_omahoney
24 May 2009, 12:26
Neagle, Longergan and Jetta could also be ommitted due to questionable effort/form.

Couldn't disagree more on Neagle. The kid's played 12 games and snagged 17. That's a better output than the first 12 games from players like Franklin, Roughead, Lloyd and Fevola. He kicked 3 against the Saints in the first half which kept us in the game. Last night he was very quiet but watching the game his endeavour was actually pretty good. Should definitely persist. He's doing reasonably well and let's be honest, if he's going to be playing with this group of players for the long term then he needs to be out there on the park with them and getting experience.

AndyLesPaul
24 May 2009, 12:54
Couldn't disagree more on Neagle. The kid's played 12 games and snagged 17. That's a better output than the first 12 games from players like Franklin, Roughead, Lloyd and Fevola. He kicked 3 against the Saints in the first half which kept us in the game. Last night he was very quiet but watching the game his endeavour was actually pretty good. Should definitely persist. He's doing reasonably well and let's be honest, if he's going to be playing with this group of players for the long term then he needs to be out there on the park with them and getting experience.
To be honest, thats not a very good comparison, because this is Neagles 3rd season, and i'm pretty sure Franklin Roughead Lloyd and Fevola all played their first 12 games in the first season.

EDIT:
Further research, Lloyd 2 seasons 16 games 25 goals
Roughhead first season 16 games, 6 goals
Franklin first season 20 games, 21 goals
Fevola 2 seasons 16 games, 26 goals
Neagle 4 seasons (didnt play in 2006) 12 games, 17 goals

GoDons
24 May 2009, 12:58
Jetta hasn't spent two weeks in the same side over the last month, we need to give him some continuity.

Knights has preached young guys coming into the side and staying in the side over a few weeks, Having played well at VFL level, Leroy's owed that opportunity.

lemon chicken
24 May 2009, 13:27
I think a few people might be under rating Lonergans second half. Was one of the keys to getting us back in the game.

Kong
24 May 2009, 13:29
To be honest, thats not a very good comparison, because this is Neagles 3rd season, and i'm pretty sure Franklin Roughead Lloyd and Fevola all played their first 12 games in the first season.

EDIT:
Neagle 4 seasons (didnt play in 2006) 12 games, 17 goalsWhile I agree that's it's difficult to compare those players over different ages, I agree with j_om. Neagle, even last night, has shown more and straightened us up structurally, more than Lucas did in any of the games he was handed. Neagle is the heir apparent at Full Forward, so unless he has three of four shockers in a row, persist.

Godzke
24 May 2009, 13:30
I was sitting there thinking to myself "if neagle gives any less of a sh*t playing out there and lucas gives a half decent game in the VFL then there's a straight swap for the selection committee" unless they choose to have both playing. Wouldn't surprise me given the lack of targets we had last night.

knights has to be more aware and react quicker by playing lloyd out of the goalsquare rather than persisting having him play up the ground in situations like that.

Jetta trade him at the end of the year does not fit our team set up.
a good point...
Davey stepped up his position was under fire over the last month
and a not so good point.

i don't see how his position was under fire considering he's leading our tackles count. he could be definitely offerring more, but he's already giving enough to be a part of the team. we can't expect he's going to do magic every time he gets the ball.

on jetta, it's a tough call to make, but at the end of the season the coach has to analyse which players are in abundance to what's required (even if they are still very good) and use them as trade bait.

prismall is a good example, even though he was adding salary cap pressure to the cats, which is not a problem at essendon as far as i know, he was still seen as surplus to requirements given the abundance of midfield talent at geelong.

Is McPhee injured?
and how bad?

Also, Lucas Neagle and Lloyd in the forward line?
i agree with ben here as far as selections go. NLM should stay, if not suspended, mcphee needs a week off with that ankle (he's going to be feeling sore for a while, i can just tell) and jetta should be dropped (not based on the fact that one avg performance deserves an omission but because we've got senior players coming back -- conditional to how those players actually play in the VFL this week of course).

the forward line was non existent for the best of last night. lloyd playing up the ground again meant neagle (with his pathetic work ethic) offerred little. He needs a royal kick up the arse. his contested marking is brilliant and he's a great kick at goal, but he needs to work on his leads. Kelvin moore was laughing at how easy it was to contain him by playing 5m in front of him. you could just tell neagle had no clue where to lead and when.

i know that's inexperience and will improve with time, but the work ethic to make leads rather than sitting in the goal square needs to improve right now!
Jetta hasn't spent two weeks in the same side over the last month, we need to give him some continuity.

Knights has preached young guys coming into the side and staying in the side over a few weeks, Having played well at VFL level, Leroy's owed that opportunity.this is a fair point to make, but given the fact that selection at essendon is cut throat, based on how many guys are trying to come into the side, then you have to quickly adjust.

not easy but that's what is required of him

james_omahoney
24 May 2009, 13:39

EDIT:
Neagle 4 seasons (didnt play in 2006) 12 games, 17 goals

It's not a perfect comparison but it goes a long way to making a point. To suggest he may be in danger of being dropped is ridiculous - he's done fairly well and the stats are somewhat of an indicator (I realise that it wasn't you who made the suggestion).

lemon chicken
24 May 2009, 13:39
Jetta trade him at the end of the year does not fit our team set up.

Davey stepped up his position was under fire over the last month

You wanted him dropped for this week. :confused: So we trade a 20yo and davey gets a serious injury again we play who as a small forward?

AndyLesPaul
24 May 2009, 13:42
While I agree that's it's difficult to compare those players over different ages, I agree with j_om. Neagle, even last night, has shown more and straightened us up structurally, more than Lucas did in any of the games he was handed. Neagle is the heir apparent at Full Forward, so unless he has three of four shockers in a row, persist.

It's not a perfect comparison but it goes a long way to making a point. To suggest he may be in danger of being dropped is ridiculous - he's done fairly well and the stats are somewhat of an indicator (I realise that it wasn't you who made the suggestion).
Hmm yeah, Simplying suggesting that if Lucas has a great game at Bendigo, Neagle will be in the gun. Watching Neagle last night, he did relatively better than the 4 marks and 4 disposals he did get, but i noticed him just not being fast enough on the lead to get past the person on him.

james_omahoney
24 May 2009, 13:48
Hmm yeah, Simplying suggesting that if Lucas has a great game at Bendigo, Neagle will be in the gun. Watching Neagle last night, he did relatively better than the 4 marks and 4 disposals he did get, but i noticed him just not being fast enough on the lead to get past the person on him.

I think Knights is a bit over Lucas to be honest. I wouldn't say Neagle would be under the gun this week if Lucas kicks a bag today. If Lucas keeps kicking bags and Neagle has a few more quiet games then yeah, there'd be more pressure on him. As of now/this week, I don't think that spot is in danger.

Also remember that he was drafted as an underage prospect - counting 06 is pretty harsh, considering he had huge injury setbacks with his ankles that ran into 2007. It'd be like counting 2009 as Michael Still's first year (being eligible for TAC Cup this year).

So 1 game in 07 after he came back from injury and 17 goals over 08/09 is a reasonable effort.

AndyLesPaul
24 May 2009, 13:51
I think Knights is a bit over Lucas to be honest. I wouldn't say Neagle would be under the gun this week if Lucas kicks a bag today. If Lucas keeps kicking bags and Neagle has a few more quiet games then yeah, there'd be more pressure on him. As of now/this week, I don't think that spot is in danger.
Hmm yeah, I just really want to see Lucas play in the 1's and not be forced to retire like all the other former Essendon guns. And Also, Knights still had hope in Lucas before he was dropped, and wants him to improve, so if Lucas does improve, surely he's due for a match in the 1's

kelvin_sheedy
24 May 2009, 13:59
If McVeigh gets through ok then in for NLM being suspended.

The rest should be touch and go. Do we bring in Skippy for Jetta? No for me, give Jetta more of a run.

Hurley in for ? Pears and Hooker have cemented their spots and he might have to bide his time.

Fletcher ? Will he be ready? If yes then in he comes.

I'd keep Neagle over Lucas and just keep on playing the kid.

Very hard at the moment to select a side.

Ben the Gooner
24 May 2009, 14:02
We do need to think about the opposition as well as our own team when choosing our ins and outs.

Geelong's backline works best when Mackie is freed up and Harley can zone off his man.

Therefore, playing Lloyd, Lucas and Neagle means that Scarlett, Taylor and Mackie/Harley need to play tall, given Milburn is injured. That could help us a lot.

Mooney and Hawkins will play this week, and with McPhee a good chance to be out, we need a third tall defender. Therefore, Hurley is probably a good chance to come in.

Myers and T Slattery need to be considered a chance, because S Johnson, Varcoe, Stokes and Ablett will all play forward next week, with at least two of those being permanent forwards. H Slattery, Houli and Dempsey will take three of them, but Dempsey is also a chance for a forward tag by Max Rooke.

AndyLesPaul
24 May 2009, 14:06
Fletcher ? Will he be ready? If yes then in he comes.
I dont think he'll be ready for a while :(

We do need to think about the opposition as well as our own team when choosing our ins and outs.

Geelong's backline works best when Mackie is freed up and Harley can zone off his man.

Therefore, playing Lloyd, Lucas and Neagle means that Scarlett, Taylor and Mackie/Harley need to play tall, given Milburn is injured. That could help us a lot.

Mooney and Hawkins will play this week, and with McPhee a good chance to be out, we need a third tall defender. Therefore, Hurley is probably a good chance to come in.

Myers and T Slattery need to be considered a chance, because S Johnson, Varcoe, Stokes and Ablett will all play forward next week, with at least two of those being permanent forwards. H Slattery, Houli and Dempsey will take three of them, but Dempsey is also a chance for a forward tag by Max Rooke.Oh okay, was just wondering why, don't know too much about Geelong

kelvin_sheedy
24 May 2009, 14:21

Myers and T Slattery need to be considered a chance, because S Johnson, Varcoe, Stokes and Ablett will all play forward next week, with at least two of those being permanent forwards. H Slattery, Houli and Dempsey will take three of them, but Dempsey is also a chance for a forward tag by Max Rooke.

I reckon we'd get murdered if we play Lucas, Neagle and Lloyd n the same side against the Cats.

They will be winning most of the ball and we'll be chasing a fair bit. If we have 2 or 3 big guys that can't put pressure on then they'll run it out with ease.

We must have pace and tackling pressure so they don't run it out with handball.

Kong
24 May 2009, 14:21
[..]
Myers and T Slattery need to be considered a chance, because S Johnson, Varcoe, Stokes and Ablett will all play forward next week, with at least two of those being permanent forwards. H Slattery, Houli and Dempsey will take three of them, but Dempsey is also a chance for a forward tag by Max Rooke.What do you think of something along the lines of:
Hurley - Hawkins
Pears - Mooney
Hooker - Johnson (should be able to match him for mobility)
Slattery - Stokes
Houli - Varcoe
Dempsey - Ablett/Midfield rotation.

Godzke
24 May 2009, 14:25
What do you think of something along the lines of:
Hurley - Hawkins
Pears - Mooney
Slattery - Stokes
Houli - Varcoe
he doesnt seem that agile to me ... johnson would kill him

Ben the Gooner
24 May 2009, 14:27
Hurley - Hawkins
Pears - Mooney
Slattery - Stokes
Houli - Varcoe

Like the first two.

I'd say:

Slats to S Johnson - our number one stopper to their number one small forward
Dempsey to Varcoe - probably the least dangerous, and therefore easiest to rebound against small forward
Hooker - Stokes
Houli - midfield rotation

james_omahoney
24 May 2009, 14:33
Hurley - Hawkins:thumbsu:
Pears - Mooney:thumbsu:
Slattery - Stokes
Houli - Varcoe

Probably fairly good matchups but if the Hooker/Johnson one doesn't pan out then some rotations with Slats to Johnson, Houli to Stokes and Hooker to Varcoe with Dempsey helping to cover Stevie Jay. Slats does the stopping job well on the danger forwards.

Sigmund
24 May 2009, 15:19
Hurley - Hawkins
Pears - Mooney
Slattery - Stokes
Houli - Varcoe

Or what about

Hooker - Mooney
Pears - Johnson
????

Tayte probably reads the ball a little better than Hooker...Perhaps Hooker has a bigger engine to match Johnson?

cAsEy_18
24 May 2009, 15:20
With Chapman out, Stevey J is obviously the danger man, but do not underrate Stokes, he is their next most dangerous forward imo. We got it all wrong with McPhee and then Slattery going to Brown, i'm not sure who should come in to play on this type...Atkinson?

PressureCooker
24 May 2009, 15:57
You wanted him dropped for this week. :confused: So we trade a 20yo and davey gets a serious injury again we play who as a small forward?

ZAHARAKIS!! :thumbsu:

AndyLesPaul
24 May 2009, 16:01
amen to that.

though Jetta is more of a small forward.

BrunoV
24 May 2009, 16:57
Lucas for Neagle

Even when Lucas was playing poorly he was still in the game much more than Neagle has been. I like what Neagle does but we can't afford a game with such little influence against the Cats. Afterall, Lucas was only missing touch. If he has regaind it then he should convert the chances into marks and goals. I don't really want to expose Neagle to Scarlett as it could get ugly with Jay's lack of fitness.

Prismall for Jetta

Probably need to make the call by Tuesday or Wednesday when we know how Prismall is feeling. This is nothing against Jetta (I thought he did what he had to against Richmond) I just think that we need the extra hard bodied rotation in the centre square and like others hav suggested McVeigh has no form or fitness to speak of and would be too much of a risk this week. Jetta had the worst game of the smaller runners so he is the unlucky one.

Hurley to miss as there is no match up for him in the cats forward line. He has been playing back in the twos so I doubt he would be brought in for Neagle though Hurley is supposed to be a competent forward.

Dyson has to be safe. He has strung three or four 20+ possession games in a row. His kicking is almost the best in the team as well.

Hooker is even safer than Dyson. He will get Mooney and Pears will get Steve Johnson. I will join that guy in the Geelong jumper if Hooker is dropped. On form and position he is top 10 in terms of most important player at the club because he increases our flexibility considerably. Not to mention that what he has shown in the physical and footballing sense has been great. Having done this little part Hurey has a spot against Hawkins all of the sudden.

Hurley for Lovett Murray

Assuming that NLM is suspended which I am sure that he will be. As a side point I think NLM is in our best 22 after the last few weeks. It was also interesting to learn that he is looked up to buy our indigeous contingent. This is in no way suggesting that he is a token spot on the list it just didn't occur to me that he was so active in the community. I like the mongrel as well, it is important (Hawthorn Football Club anyone?).

AndyLesPaul
24 May 2009, 17:06
Lucas had a shocker in the twos, Neagle stays.
hmm, i have to say i agree with the other two decisions.
Only because I know that Prismall will give his absolute best against he old club, and Hurley is heard is also a forward option.

PressureCooker
24 May 2009, 17:20
amen to that.

though Jetta is more of a small forward.

Yeah I get what you mean. Zaka's overhead skills are amazing for his height (only 4 cm taller than Leroy) and certainly plays as a medium sized forward rather than the small, crumbing, tackling role.

bombersrbest05
24 May 2009, 18:04
Hurley has to come in for someone, I think maybe NLM suspended or not.
He has been the best for Bendigo two weeks in a row so he is doing something right and the message we should be sending to young players is if you can play well in the 2's consistently then you will get a game in the 1's

HULK HOGAN
24 May 2009, 18:09
out- Jetta, Bellchambers.
In - Prismall, Laycock

AndyLesPaul
24 May 2009, 18:13
Yeah, i think the only reason Hurley wasn't in the team this week was because we weren't in need of that many KPD's

Hopefully he's in this week.

reimersyoubeauty
24 May 2009, 18:19
Jetta out
jetta out
jetta out
jetta out

Andrew_5
24 May 2009, 18:26
out- Jetta, Bellchambers.
In - Prismall, Laycock

Doubt Laycock will come in mate..
First game back with no preseason

cAsEy_18
24 May 2009, 18:28
OUT: Lovett Murray (Sus)
IN: Hurley

Leave Jetta. Give him another 3 weeks. Was really impressed with his work rate and effort last night, as well as his chasing that could only be admired from being at the game. The amount of situations he got to was sensational and he got himself in the right positions, he just appeared to lack confidence in himself, resulting in a few rushed handballs and a few fumbles. Had he not fumbled last night, had he been a bit more calm, he would've been very very good last night, and i think a confident Jetta will eventually reduce his amount of fumbling. Give him his chance.

Laycock i think will eventually take Bellchambers spot, but not this week, maybe next. Make Laycock earn his spot (Even though it appears he played well today) and really make him work hard.

Lucas for Neagle, no, one of Neagle's lesser games last night, and yet he still contributed more than Lucas was when he was playing. Neagle is the future, is very promising, and whatsmore is still playing better footy than Lucas. Don't suggest playing all 3 as 3 slow forwards will get towelled up by Geelong.

McVeigh, didn't see the Bendigo game, but mustn't be ready, if he's not getting in the best at Bendigo, thats not the McVeigh that we know, don't bring him back until he's absolutely right.

Prismall is border line this week, a chance, but i'm not too sure who you leave out. Maybe 1 more week for him with Bendigo, no need to rush him back just because it's his old club.

HULK HOGAN
24 May 2009, 18:32
Doubt Laycock will come in mate..
First game back with no preseason
Yeah thats true! I think Hurley needs a go aswell.
As long as Jetta's out:D

Andrew_5
24 May 2009, 18:35
Yeah thats true! I think Hurley needs a go aswell.
As long as Jetta's out:D

Absolutely, for essendons sake and my supercoach side too :D

HULK HOGAN
24 May 2009, 18:36
OUT: Lovett Murray (Sus)

Leave Jetta. Give him another 3 weeks. Was really impressed with his work rate and effort last night, as well as his chasing that could only be admired from being at the game. The amount of situations he got to was sensational and he got himself in the right positions, he just appeared to lack confidence in himself, resulting in a few rushed handballs and a few fumbles. Had he not fumbled last night, had he been a bit more calm, he would've been very very good last night, and i think a confident Jetta will eventually reduce his amount of fumbling. Give him his chance.

Laycock i think will eventually take Bellchambers spot, but not this week, maybe next. Make Laycock earn his spot (Even though it appears he played well today) and really make him work hard.

Lucas for Neagle, no, one of Neagle's lesser games last night, and yet he still contributed more than Lucas was when he was playing. Neagle is the future, is very promising, and whatsmore is still playing better footy than Lucas. Don't suggest playing all 3 as 3 slow forwards will get towelled up by Geelong.

McVeigh, didn't see the Bendigo game, but mustn't be ready, if he's not getting in the best at Bendigo, thats not the McVeigh that we know, don't bring him back until he's absolutely right.

Prismall is border line this week, a chance, but i'm not too sure who you leave out. Maybe 1 more week for him with Bendigo, no need to rush him back just because it's his old club.
The amount of situations Jetta got himself to was sensational?? WTF
He had 9 possies and 2 tackles, what was he doin when he got to these situations:eek:
Why do people think we have to carry this Kid:confused: put him in the vfl and teach him to play there!!!!!!!!!

essendon2008
24 May 2009, 19:03
Would love to see Hurley back. If not needed down back he can always play up forward

dave_27
24 May 2009, 19:22
Atkinson anyone?

warney7
24 May 2009, 19:25
Atkinson anyone?

I lol'd :thumbsu:

IN: Prismall, McVeigh

OUT: Jetta, NLM

If that leaves us light on for forward options, I'd back Lonergan to be good for 2 goals if he played inside 50.

If McVeigh still isn't ready then hopefully NLM doesn't get rubbed out.(not that I want him to get suspended if McVeigh is right to go...)

Godzke
24 May 2009, 19:30
let's not bring prismall in thanks!

no need for him to debut against his old club and receive special attention. if he wasn't coming back from injury, that would be fine, but we're still nursing him through the VFL matches.

so another week or 2 for him

AndyLesPaul
24 May 2009, 19:33
He played his first full game today, and was bound to start around midseason. ie now.
And Prismall would do his best for the bombers to prove Bomber wrong for not playing him enough

Skeeta Olly
24 May 2009, 19:48
Couldn't agree more

We get it, you hate Jetta.

Settle.

cAsEy_18
24 May 2009, 19:52
The amount of situations Jetta got himself to was sensational?? WTF
He had 9 possies and 2 tackles, what was he doin when he got to these situations:eek:
Why do people think we have to carry this Kid:confused: put him in the vfl and teach him to play there!!!!!!!!!

Were you at the game? The amount of times he chased someone to put them under pressure that they had to hurry to get it off, then he'd pressure that guy, and the next... it was invaluable to the team. Very impressed in that regard. If you were watching on TV you wouldn't have seen that, all that work that he did that unfortunately didn't show up on the precious stats sheet. All you would've seen was "another Jetta fumble, Gee Jetta." Give the guy a break, along with Alwyn, he was trying to sprint around all night chasing Richmond. Give him a few games to find his feet, a few consecutive games, and then if he's still fumbling, if he still doesn't look up to it, then maybe drop him back.

AndyLesPaul
24 May 2009, 19:55
We get it, you hate Jetta.

Settle.
Theres no point, He won't stop.

Godzke
24 May 2009, 19:56
Hurley, skipworth, laycock and Prismall were named amongst the best for bendigo in their 60 point drubbing at the hands of Coburg but it sounds like none of the potential returns this week actually played that well (with the exception of laycock).

“Mark McVeigh definitely needed the run as did Hayden Skipworth. Both did a few nice things but they will have derived great benefit from getting a game under their belt. Kyle Reimers did some nice things. He kicked a nice goal coming off a wing and kicked the ball well to advantage going inside 50m.

“Michael Hurley tried hard, he was probably not as good as he was last week but still did well. Darcy Daniher was moved into the back half after half time and did quite well. Scott Lucas kicked three from limited opportunities and Brent Prismall now has a couple of games under his belt so they are all making progress .”

i read the EFC website often enough to know that if a player played a good game then they'll often speak very highly of them.

so unless someone who actually watched the bendigo match today has a different analysis, i'm not entirely sure if any major changes (excl. injured players) should be made.

HULK HOGAN
24 May 2009, 20:04
Were you at the game? The amount of times he chased someone to put them under pressure that they had to hurry to get it off, then he'd pressure that guy, and the next... it was invaluable to the team. Very impressed in that regard. If you were watching on TV you wouldn't have seen that, all that work that he did that unfortunately didn't show up on the precious stats sheet. All you would've seen was "another Jetta fumble, Gee Jetta." Give the guy a break, along with Alwyn, he was trying to sprint around all night chasing Richmond. Give him a few games to find his feet, a few consecutive games, and then if he's still fumbling, if he still doesn't look up to it, then maybe drop him back.
Yes i was at the game but I took my rose colored glasses off.
I thought he was slow to react and got lost a fair bit. IMO hes not up to it
we have got better players we can play in his position especially when the injurys come back, it will be a stint in the vfl for leeroy and hopefully a big pre season.

hird+lloyd=legends
24 May 2009, 20:29
IN - Hurley(if NLM is susp.) ,Prismall.

OUT - NLM(if susp.), Jetta.

Dazman
24 May 2009, 20:43
He played his first full game today, and was bound to start around midseason. ie now.
And Prismall would do his best for the bombers to prove Bomber wrong for not playing him enough

Thats just laughable. Wasn't Bomber's fault Pris didn't get a game. And I don't think he's going to play better just because its his old team/coach.

Just on your first sentence - its very true - first full game of VFL since the reco, so he'll need more match time and will come in after the mid-season split round break. i.e. not this week

Its all about the SKIPPY this week. Has to come in.

AndyLesPaul
24 May 2009, 21:13
Thats just laughable. Wasn't Bomber's fault Pris didn't get a game. And I don't think he's going to play better just because its his old team/coach.
Yeah it probably wasn't bomber's fault, he just chose the teams. Though I'm adamant in the fact that he would play the best he can against his old club.

lamaros
24 May 2009, 21:53
McVeigh will come in if he wants to. No doubt over his quality, he just wanted to test out his ankle without the pressure. Won't play two weeks for Bendigo and will come in this week unless there's an injury problem.

Prismall a good chance to come in too.

Laycock I don't know. If he can give more than Bellchambers I expect he'll be in this week also.

Hurley might depend on matchups and if NLM goes out.

So I'm thinking:

In: McVeigh, Laycock, Prismall, Hurley,

Outs from: NLM (if susp.), Dempsey (if inj.), Lonergan, Houli, Bellchambers, Neagle, Jetta,

Dazman
24 May 2009, 21:59
Yeah it probably wasn't bomber's fault, he just chose the teams. Though I'm adamant in the fact that he would play the best he can against his old club.

Do you know much about footy bud?

When you play you actually try your hardest every time. You don't try harder because your girlfriend is in the crowd. You don't try harder because your playing against a mate and you don't try harder because your playing against your old coach. Your second point is null and void. You think a guy might have tried harder in a game because he kicked 8 goals but its a combination of the match-ups and the players around him that got him the 8 goals.

On the first point, Prismall did not play much for Geelong because he wasn't in the best 22. Good player I reckon he'll be very solid and he'll play 150 - 200 games as a hard running on-baller. But he didn't play because he was behind Ablett, Bartel, Corey, Selwood, Enright, Ling and Kelly. He didn't play because he was in a very strong team. The reason he did not play was not because Bomber was an idiot and he didn't like him. I don't know what more you can ask of Bomber Thompson, he played Prismall in the VFL and brought him in when one of the guys mentioned was injured. Should he have let the whole team suffer to keep Pris happy.

AndyLesPaul
24 May 2009, 22:06
On the first point, Prismall did not play much for Geelong because he wasn't in the best 22. The reason he did not play was not because Bomber was an idiot and he didn't like him. I know, i don't think i ever said that. I'm just saying that i'm hoping Prismall will play well against the cats, and i felt like saying it that way.

KaaN10
24 May 2009, 22:09
McVeigh will come in if he wants to. No doubt over his quality, he just wanted to test out his ankle without the pressure. Won't play two weeks for Bendigo and will come in this week unless there's an injury problem.

Prismall a good chance to come in too.

Laycock I don't know. If he can give more than Bellchambers I expect he'll be in this week also.

Hurley might depend on matchups and if NLM goes out.

So I'm thinking:

In: McVeigh, Laycock, Prismall, Hurley,

Outs from: NLM (if susp.), Dempsey (if inj.), Lonergan, Houli, Bellchambers, Neagle, Jetta,

Houli? Why?

lamaros
24 May 2009, 22:11
When you play you actually try your hardest every time. You don't try harder because your girlfriend is in the crowd. You don't try harder because your playing against a mate and you don't try harder because your playing against your old coach.

This is BS. All players will admit that there are times that they know they could've have gone harder and tryed more. Tom Harley actually said it the other week on 'On The Couch' and Josh Fraser agreed with him, I'm sure other AFL players will also agree.

Ideally it's not the case, but to imply that people are not influenced by events external to the game is a joke. You obviously don't know much about footy yourself.

HULK HOGAN
24 May 2009, 22:16
Do you know much about footy bud?

When you play you actually try your hardest every time. You don't try harder because your girlfriend is in the crowd. You don't try harder because your playing against a mate and you don't try harder because your playing against your old coach. Your second point is null and void. You think a guy might have tried harder in a game because he kicked 8 goals but its a combination of the match-ups and the players around him that got him the 8 goals.

On the first point, Prismall did not play much for Geelong because he wasn't in the best 22. Good player I reckon he'll be very solid and he'll play 150 - 200 games as a hard running on-baller. But he didn't play because he was behind Ablett, Bartel, Corey, Selwood, Enright, Ling and Kelly. He didn't play because he was in a very strong team. The reason he did not play was not because Bomber was an idiot and he didn't like him. I don't know what more you can ask of Bomber Thompson, he played Prismall in the VFL and brought him in when one of the guys mentioned was injured. Should he have let the whole team suffer to keep Pris happy.
Obviously you don't know much about football if you think players and teams dont rise for different occassions. Last night Richmond came out breathing fire, but couldnt carry out the mission? Why dont they play like that every week?? Of course Prissa would have added motivation playin against his old club, aswell as playin his 1st game for THE MIGHTY DONS!!
There are 100's of examples of these situations

HULK HOGAN
24 May 2009, 22:18
This is BS. All players will admit that there are times that they know they could've have gone harder and tryed more. Tom Harley actually said it the other week on 'On The Couch' and Josh Fraser agreed with him, I'm sure other AFL players will also agree.

Ideally it's not the case, but to imply that people are not influenced by events external to the game is a joke. You obviously don't know much about footy yourself.
You just stole my thunder:D

bombre-boy
24 May 2009, 22:29
[quote=cAsEy_18;14596438]OUT: Lovett Murray (Sus)

Spot on...

I would strongly consider playing hurley up forward this week, if required he could assist in defence...

table tennis
24 May 2009, 22:41
I personally dont think NLM has a case to answer. He was late. But pettifer got up and played the rest of the game, contact obviously wasnt severe.

Prismall Will have another in the magoos. One full match under his belt, he will probably have another one.

I think If anyone was to get the axe it would be out of neagle and Jetta.

Both have huge upsides, however Jay needs to work harder, and jetta needs touch.

Leeroy to have a couple of runs with Bendigo, Jay to kick some goals and work his arse off.

Scotty Lucas should come back in. I watched his first game down there, and he made the most of very limited opportunites, and that seems to be going trend for him at the moment. Bring him back as this champion is not finished.

Hurley will probably come in. However, i wouldnt believe reports stating he played a good game in the VFL - Jack Riewoldt kicked 6 on him.

Hopefully dempseys ankle comes up - he is crucial to our game plan, as is NLM at the moment, it would be huge if we lost one of these, let alone both.

For those calling for Houli's and Dysons heads, maybe get your heads evaluated. Both been good since coming back. Houli needs to improve his disposal but Nahas looked dangerous all night, and Houli restricted him, which would have been tough. Dyson has had a very good year to date. I was very critical of him last year. and he has to keep playing well to keep his spot, however he was ok last night and doesnt deserve to be dropped.

Chook will be back in 3-4 weeks to take bellchambers spot.

Knight Ryders
24 May 2009, 22:56
I personally dont think NLM has a case to answer. He was late. But pettifer got up and played the rest of the game, contact obviously wasnt severe.

Prismall Will have another in the magoos. One full match under his belt, he will probably have another one.

I think If anyone was to get the axe it would be out of neagle and Jetta.

Both have huge upsides, however Jay needs to work harder, and jetta needs touch.

Leeroy to have a couple of runs with Bendigo, Jay to kick some goals and work his arse off.

Scotty Lucas should come back in. I watched his first game down there, and he made the most of very limited opportunites, and that seems to be going trend for him at the moment. Bring him back as this champion is not finished.

Hurley will probably come in. However, i wouldnt believe reports stating he played a good game in the VFL - Jack Riewoldt kicked 6 on him.

Hopefully dempseys ankle comes up - he is crucial to our game plan, as is NLM at the moment, it would be huge if we lost one of these, let alone both.

For those calling for Houli's and Dysons heads, maybe get your heads evaluated. Both been good since coming back. Houli needs to improve his disposal but Nahas looked dangerous all night, and Houli restricted him, which would have been tough. Dyson has had a very good year to date. I was very critical of him last year. and he has to keep playing well to keep his spot, however he was ok last night and doesnt deserve to be dropped.

Chook will be back in 3-4 weeks to take bellchambers spot.

I would be very surprised if Jetta was dropped this week. His fumbling is frustrating, but Davey, Jetta, Monfries and Zaharakis will be very important this week to stop easy ball coming out of the Cats backline.

100% agree on the Houli and Dyson comments, particularly Houli. That's two weeks in a row he has kept an in-form small forward to very little impact. I believe he has great ball use, but he hasn't shown it yet. I think it will come.

The match-up on SJ is the one worrying me the most. Quick, elusive and a big tank make him a very hard match-up. I'd be inclined to actually go with Dempsey if he pulls up ok. When SJ goes high up around the midfield, it bring Dempsey right into the play where he could be a damaging player going into the forward 50. McVeigh would be the best match-up if he was match fit.

BrunoV
25 May 2009, 00:11
The match-up on SJ is the one worrying me the most. Quick, elusive and a big tank make him a very hard match-up. I'd be inclined to actually go with Dempsey if he pulls up ok. When SJ goes high up around the midfield, it bring Dempsey right into the play where he could be a damaging player going into the forward 50. McVeigh would be the best match-up if he was match fit.

It has to be Pears. You need Pears to go with Johnson in the air. I wouldn't have thought that Johnson would be that much quicker either.

lamaros
25 May 2009, 00:32
Houli? Why?

I really like Houli, but i just think he still makes too many really bad turnovers in a dangerous part of the pitch. Geelong will punish such errors.

The Dustbin
25 May 2009, 01:23
I really like Houli, but i just think he still makes too many really bad turnovers in a dangerous part of the pitch. Geelong will punish such errors.

Was pretty good last night - 100% efficiency. :thumbsu:

Donakebab
25 May 2009, 01:29

From what I've read it was more like 3. He only played half the game on Riewoldt, the rest of the time it was Daniher.

Godzke
25 May 2009, 01:51
From what I've read it was more like 3. He only played half the game on Riewoldt, the rest of the time it was Daniher.
it doesn't matter ... we don't need KP backs because geelong dont have any decent KP forwards. We're better persisting with Hooker and Pears against Mooney and Gamble. Gamble will probably go out with serious concussion and we can man Hawkins (who i think has been very ordinary this year) instead. Lovett-murray can provide a 3rd tall option in defence if needed, although i highly doubt he will be needed. Stopping Bartel, Johnson, Ablett and Stokes on the half forward flanks is the key.

selection should be based on shutting down these men.

Donakebab
25 May 2009, 03:45
NLM will get rubbed out, and despite a few bad games, if you let Hawkins run loose he will indeed kick a bag. Hurley in.

I think it's been proven a hard tag on Ablett ends up doing more harm then good, effectively taking a high quality player out of the game that could be used elsewhere. Stevie J has to be the target, cut him out and you should (hopefully) cut Geelong's scoring down massively.

yaco55
25 May 2009, 04:49
Like the first two.

I'd say:

Slats to S Johnson - our number one stopper to their number one small forward
Dempsey to Varcoe - probably the least dangerous, and therefore easiest to rebound against small forward
Hooker - Stokes
Houli - midfield rotation

Ben

Oh Ben !

How much football do you watch ?

Slattery has problems with small forwards who are strong overhead - not withstanding that Johnson is 6 or 7cm taller.

And Johnson played most of the game on Friday in the forward 50 and got at least 2 of his 4 goals from one on one contested marks.

The Johnson match up is crucial because he is the most INFLUENTIAL ( currently ) player in the Cat's lineup and leads the league for score involvements.

I would try Pears on him and hope for the best.