View Full Version : We're 4th!
OzBomber
24 May 2009, 19:19
Who would've predicted that after 9 rounds we would've been 4th. How good is this!
Doubt it'll last long, but we're looking the goods this season.
Valve Bounce
24 May 2009, 19:21
Who would've predicted that after 9 rounds we would've been 4th. How good is this!
Doubt it'll last long, but we're looking the goods this season.
Yeah!! let's enjoy the moment this week. :)
We've gotta play Geelong next week :(
warney7
24 May 2009, 19:22
Great work by Melbourne to kick 5 of the last 6 goals against Hawthorn! :thumbsu:
Andrew_5
24 May 2009, 19:28
4th :eek: :D:D:D
Great work by Melbourne to kick 5 of the last 6 goals against Hawthorn! :thumbsu:
Haha, yeah. I thought that game would be a big boost for Hawthorns percentage but not so much.
Even if it is the only time this year that it happens, everything is right with the world; Essendon are top four and Carlton got knocked out of the eight.
AndyLesPaul
24 May 2009, 19:39
The only two downsides i can see from this are it isnt round 22 yet, and there are like 8 teams in the middle with 4-5 wins.
Colin D'Cops
24 May 2009, 19:40
http://images.usatoday.com/life/_photos/2006/11/17/happy-feet-topper.jpg
the diddy
24 May 2009, 19:46
If we can 3 of the next 4 we should be looking good, by then a few players should be back on senior side like Fletcher, Mcveigh, Prismall , Hurley and maybe Lucas and Reimers depending on form and fitness.
ManWithNoName
24 May 2009, 19:50
Good. Now improve on it.
loopy_cam
24 May 2009, 20:31
Should've won the roos game. :thumbsd:
: p
bombers_4_ever
24 May 2009, 20:53
Should've won the roos game. :thumbsd:
: p
And St Kilda
Lance Uppercut
24 May 2009, 20:55
and Port :thumbsd:
And Geelong. :thumbsd:
Oh wait... my bad.:p
bombers_4_ever
24 May 2009, 21:00
And Brisbane :thumbsd:
loopy_cam
24 May 2009, 21:06
Sack the coach!
dave_27
24 May 2009, 21:10
Everyone should get on their knees for the Essendon Football Club.
red+black
24 May 2009, 21:23
Next week should be a good warm-up for the Qualifying Final.
bOmBeR_BoY1
24 May 2009, 21:24
I love the optimism. We'll enjoy it for 1 week anyway.
The competition is so close at the moment, it could all change very quickly.
Lets Roar like '44
24 May 2009, 21:29
Well done to Essendon, proved alot of people wrong and it's exciting watching your team play. Good to see the supporters havent got all arrogant about it either, nothing wrong with some good fun optimism... Unlike clubs like Carlton who just think their shit dont stink.
And as much as hate Lloyd when he plays Bris he is a dead set champion, nearly 1000 goals is a remarkable effort and I hope he gets there!
red+black
24 May 2009, 21:31
I'll just be absolutely rapt if we can sneak into 8th.
Long long way to go, but we should win 3 of the next 5.
bombers_4_ever
24 May 2009, 21:44
I'll just be absolutely rapt if we can sneak into 8th.
Long long way to go, but we should win 3 of the next 5.
Well being Essendon usually means we win games we shouldn't and lose games we should.
bomberz08
24 May 2009, 21:56
Its great. I hope we can keep it up and be in a similer position in rd. 22.
we have some very winnable games coming up, so hopefully we can break away from the others who currently have 4-5 wins.
james_omahoney
24 May 2009, 21:59
Fun Fact: Bombers are ranked equal worst in the league for first quarters won (2), but best in the league for 3rd quarters won (7).
Andrew_5
24 May 2009, 22:07
Fun Fact: Bombers are ranked equal worst in the league for first quarters won (2), but best in the league for 3rd quarters won (7).
premiership quarter :thumbsu:
The Donners
24 May 2009, 22:10
premiership team :thumbsu:
edited for accuracy
Donakebab
24 May 2009, 22:34
Future premiership team :thumbsu:
Edited again for closer accuracy.
The Donners
24 May 2009, 22:37
Edited again for closer accuracy.
Hmmm... I've got nothing left to edit... so I'll offer this:
http://www.geelongadvertiser.com.au/images/uploadedfiles/editorial/pictures/2008/06/13/Matthew_Lloyd_(350_x_470).jpg
DarkTint
24 May 2009, 22:40
hey guys i know i'm the enemy, scum, filth wateva wat can i say you gave it to us but basically .......... just wanted to say congratulations. :eek:
You guys deserve all the plaudits you get because you've got a great, exciting, young vibrant team coming up with experienced players who are showing them the way. Being coached from just my opinion a gun young coach willing to take risks and implement his own ideas rather than recycle and repackage someone elses.
I love Paddy Ryder, just drips excellence. Have loved him from day 1. Just one of those players you can go to the footy and watch all day.
Just keep doing wat ur doing guys and theres a ticket to september waiting for you.
If we can get our act together and somehow sneak into the eight maybe just maybe there could a match for the ages waiting. carl vs ess winner to face loser of geel V haw/st kilda .....
ATM as a Blues supporter its all just a dream right now ...........
Ryder will tear up geelong. Good luck on the weekend.
AndyLesPaul
24 May 2009, 22:41
Hmmm... I've got nothing left to edit... so I'll offer this:
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/08/r18-gsp-11.jpg
edited for accuracy :thumbsu:
ghostdog
24 May 2009, 23:32
Awesome pics! :thumbsu: Is that first one over Beau Wilkes?
Before the Hawks match I think most expected us to win one out of the next four, of Hawthorn, St Kilda, Richmond and Geelong. Stoked with 2 out of four, and who knows next week?
Just on St Kilda and Geelong, interesting how time takes its crazy toll. Other sides have shown these two aren't entirely infallible recently.
Might we be the side to shock the Cats? :rolleyes:
I can feel a 'How to Beat Geelong' thread coming.
bipolarbeaR
25 May 2009, 00:26
I don't care where we are! How exciting are we to watch in the 4th quarter? The team is so amazingly fit.
The third wasn't too bad either.
Boucks09
25 May 2009, 11:45
I was at the Hawthorn game (my girlfriend is a Hawks fan unfortunately). My brother rang me halfway through the game and told me that we were 4th so I stood up and started clapping during a stoppage. Everybody around me asked what was going on so I said: "Essendon are currently in the top 4 on the AFL ladder".
They all told me to sit down and stop being a moron...well lo and behold who do you think started sledging the Hawks in the last 15 minutes when they were too scared to attack the bottom team and started kicking the ball backwards?:p
The Hawks got us that 4th spot and it wasn't lost on me. Safe to say I was fairly unpopular in the proceeding few hours.
Go DONS!
The Donners
25 May 2009, 12:07
I was at the Hawthorn game (my girlfriend is a Hawks fan unfortunately). My brother rang me halfway through the game and told me that we were 4th so I stood up and started clapping during a stoppage. Everybody around me asked what was going on so I said: "Essendon are currently in the top 4 on the AFL ladder".
They all told me to sit down and stop being a moron...well lo and behold who do you think started sledging the Hawks in the last 15 minutes when they were too scared to attack the bottom team and started kicking the ball backwards?:p
The Hawks got us that 4th spot and it wasn't lost on me. Safe to say I was fairly unpopular in the proceeding few hours.
Go DONS!
Great story! Kudos! :thumbsu:
AlwaysRight
25 May 2009, 17:17
At the start of the year, i would of been happy just being in the top 8. Hopefuly we can keep this up. :D
Call Me Cake
26 May 2009, 23:16
Based on previous efforts I didn't expect us to be in the 8 by round 9 let alone 4th.
5-4 is definately an improvement compared to 2-7.
There's no reason why we shouldn't be excited for the rest of the year. WELL DONE!
Jambo90
27 May 2009, 00:03
I live in briso and some of my mates are huge lions fans. For the last few weeks all they have been talking about is "3 wins in a row" (not their premierships, but form) and talking themselves up. Realising that port were going to lose heaps of percentage sunday arvo, i was constantly hitting the refresh button on the web to wait to see the updated ladder.
Feels good even when they think they are going well but we are doing better. :thumbsu: