View Full Version : Andrew Bews puts the boots in.

marcuz
27 May 2009, 09:56
Andrew Bews sunk the boots into our club this morning in the Addy. Yes i know its the ADDY but i am from geelong and i only buy it for the sex adds.;)

Anyway here are just some of the gems he wrote in this high quality piece.

THIS is not going to be a very popular article. Many out there in the footy world will possibly look at this and assess it as taking a cheap shot at one of the great innovations of the footy world.

Maybe so, but to me the Bombers are the most over-publicised underachievers in the AFL.

They've been window dressing as many games as they can to try to draw crowds to lift their profile out there in the greater football community.

We're trying to draw crowds at windy hill these days apparently. And here i thought our big crowds were due to there being a lot of us, its all due to hype and propaganda.

Good marketing? Well, yes, I'll agree, but the way Essendon claims or hijacks any untagged event in the footy calendar looks desperate and is beginning to drive me up the wall.

How can you hijack your own idea? You admit its good marketing but then kick them for being innovative. Well **** me how dare teams show some innitiative, maybe if a few others did they wouldnt be taking it in the arse financially.

I don't know how people get it so wrong or get caught up in such delusional trumped up hype; this was a battle of two sides that have been strugglers for longer than I'd like to think about. At least Essendon has crept up the ladder somewhat this year. But the Bombers have only played a couple of the very good sides. With wins over Fremantle early in the season Carlton in a close one Collingwood, Hawthorn and Richmond, the underdone and injury-crippled Hawks remain the only genuine scalp of credibility.

Only one genuine win and that was against an injury ravaged hawks. Checked our injury list by any chance you plonker? The underdone injury riddled young bombers beat those injury riddled hawks by 44 points. We have been inconsistant at times but that generallly happens when you field the youngest team in the league every ****ing week.

Oh and it gets better folks.

Most of the time players are simply trying to stay in the side for next week. The game was ordinary at best and further evidence to that was the amount in which Essendon won by. The embarrassing thing for them was how long it took them to put the game beyond doubt.

It took us three quarters to put the tiges away. It took Port adelaide at home up until the final siren to do it. How did your cats go against richmond bewsy? They were behind Richmond going into the last quarter at kardinia park, were they embarrassed also?

For the record there is only one game worth winning or holding bragging rights for and the Hawks have these rights currently.

Wow, that's deep. Can somebody tell me what the **** that has to do with anything? This game is a game of celebration, there are no special prizes or bragging rights.

I do give Bewsy some credit, not many people can put so much incoherent tripe together and get it printed every week. This kind of deep thinking literary giant is wasted at the addy.

http://www.geelongadvertiser.com.au/article/2009/05/27/73491_geelong_sports.html

Mr Mosquito
27 May 2009, 10:06
WHAT A TOOL!!! I am sensing a severe case of the green eyed monster. Blockbuster games are not blockbusters due to where the terams are on the ladder. Its due to them being ancient arch rivals or both teams being party to an event that is higher than football eg Dreamtime at the G. The evidence in this is the 73,000 people that rocked up to see 8th play 15th.

Get a dog up ya bews!

P.S If our boys didnt already need more inspiration for the weekend knighta should show it to them.

dave_27
27 May 2009, 10:10
I believe Bews is perhaps a little jealous Essendon at its lowest ebb since the 70's is still more relevent and draws far bigger crowds than the greatest Geelong team in history. ;)

27 May 2009, 10:12
i have a feeling the mans a knob.

yes how about we discourage people from attending particular home and away games and see how well the afl survives for him to write nonsense about

dave_27
27 May 2009, 10:17
Only one genuine win and that was against an injury ravaged hawks. Checked our injury list by any chance you plonker? The underdone injury riddled young bombers beat those injury riddled hawks by 44 points. We have been inconsistant at times but that generallly happens when you field the youngest team in the league every ****ing week.

That was the funniest bit of the whole article. What a meat head. :D

bOmBeR_BoY1
27 May 2009, 10:41
How many flags did Bews win again as a player?

Would of won 3 at Essendon - shame that.

The guy is a complete knob-jockey but probably been asked to write a negative article by the Advertiser about Geelong's opponent this week. The tide can turn very quickly in football. Geelong has been an extremely good side for a couple of years but nothing lasts forever, and neither will they. Our time is approaching.

Sealz
27 May 2009, 10:49
Epic Fail.

Mad Bomber Sean
27 May 2009, 10:54
Is it me or do I sense real fear and more than a touch of insecurity in his voice ?

didak04
27 May 2009, 10:58
Bewsy is and always has been a complete and utter ****wit.

That article was pure garbage, as is anything that spews out of that imbeciles mouth.

Bews just hates any side that takes the attention off his beloved cats. It's sickening.

Gpat
27 May 2009, 13:01
Sheeds would have cut out the article and posted it all over the changerooms.

Not sure Knighta will give a rats.

daffo
27 May 2009, 13:11
I don't think we'd give a rats. Sounds like he needs to make statements like that to get attention.

Smokin
27 May 2009, 14:11
amazing that he would use the Richmond example, when Geelong have played them and struggled to kill them off than we did.

Knights couldnt use that for inspiration, because I dont think anyone can take that article seriously at all. Just an all round bad article which makes him look the fool, nobody else.

Donakebab
27 May 2009, 14:34
amazing that he would use the Richmond example, when Geelong have played them and struggled to kill them off than we did.

Knights couldnt use that for inspiration, because I dont think anyone can take that article seriously at all. Just an all round bad article which makes him look the fool, nobody else.

Not only did they struggle, but it was at the Cattery too.

Bews is a hack and everyone knows it. Stuck writing for a crummy local rag. How sad.

Ludwig van Bertstare
27 May 2009, 15:34
Who's Andrew Bews?

thebigboy
27 May 2009, 15:37
Did we reject him at any stage of his footy career? That "article" stinks of bitterness.

If that's his way of getting himself some attention, then good luck to him. He will be now been seen as a whinger.

thebigboy
27 May 2009, 15:37
Double post.

BringBackCransberg
27 May 2009, 15:53
At least Essendon has crept up the ladder somewhat this year.

4th? Sure it's on percentage and it's relatively early days, but this one line just shows the skewed mind with which he's writing.

And the ANZAC/Dreamtime games transcend football and marketing, which he would know if he'd ever attended either of them.

Jaymin
27 May 2009, 16:00
The best thing about the article is him saying that Carlton and Collingwood aren't credible wins! :D

addog
27 May 2009, 16:36
geelong has always and will always be my most hated team. articles like this just some up geelong, they are in there own little world down there. it was so good seeing them lose to hawthorn last year. lets give it to them sunday and send them back to that pit they call geelong.

Ben the Gooner
27 May 2009, 16:41
I don't know who you are, and I don't give a **** what you think about the best club in the universe.

Spikey
27 May 2009, 16:44
Who's Andrew Bews?

hhhh

yodellinhank
27 May 2009, 16:47
Who's Andrew Bews?

I think he was the little weasel who, in the 89 grand final, waited for Dipper to be restrained by two of his teammates before bravely attacking him from behind. Wasn't he?

Kong
27 May 2009, 18:42
geelong has always and will always be my most hated team. articles like this just some up geelong, they are in there own little world down there. it was so good seeing them lose to hawthorn last year. lets give it to them sunday and send them back to that pit they call geelong.Hey! :p

windyhill
27 May 2009, 21:45
Stick to kardinia park Bews. The same ground Essendon are too big for. Even at our lowest ebb we`ll still out draw those banjo playing hicks year in year out. Little man, little club syndrome.

saladodger
28 May 2009, 01:36
The underachievers tag would probably fit a club better that has won only one flag in the past 45 years.

I am not amazed that one man has such an obvious dislike for the bombers, what amazes me is that an editor somewhere down in geelong has read that rubbish and thought, "yep that looks good, lets run with it"

I am surprised that any football fan could attack the notion of the AFL celebrating our Indigenous population and the Anzacs. These occasions raise awareness of Australian history and incorporate Aussie rules footy, sounds good to me.

In spite of Bews opinion that we manufacture blockbusters, our games against Carlton and our second meeting with Collingwood have no gimmick attached but will undoubtedly draw a crowd larger than that of any of the Cats home and away games this season.

All things aside Bews is obviously a f**kwit who has shown his credibility in the world of journalism to be non existent.

The Sim Dog
28 May 2009, 01:39
^^^^ :rolleyes:

Typical.

That article is indeed a bunch of absolute garbage. But anyone here hating Geelong or their fans for it are being just as silly as Bews was.

I for one really like the Bombers and their fans on the whole and always have. Only thing I ever didn't like was how a lot of Essendon fans continued to sook about not wanting Sheedy gone, and were not giving Knights much of a go but thankfully that is past now.

I like Essendon and fans as they are a big successful club but don't have to constantly let everyone know about it all the time and act like they're more important to the AFL than other teams unlike Collingwood and their fans love to do for them.

stay true
28 May 2009, 01:41
That was good for a laugh. Thanks for the amusement Bewsey.

saladodger
28 May 2009, 02:03
I did not intend to have a dig at Geelong FC or its supporters SimDog.
I raised the points in my post that I would raise to Bews if I were to discuss the article with him, I feel its those points he has not taken into account while coughing up this rubbish article.

Damon_3388
28 May 2009, 02:20
Who cares who the Bombers have beaten, or whether they are 'lesser' sides or not? The fact is, they've won games fair and square. You can only beat the side that the opposition puts in front of you. If they are considered to be 'lesser' sides, then so what? It still counts as a win, no matter who you beat.

FandangoDingo
28 May 2009, 02:58
I believe Bews is perhaps a little jealous Essendon at its lowest ebb since the 70's is still more relevent and draws far bigger crowds than the greatest Geelong team in history. ;)

Bingo! Spot on!

Who's Andrew Bews? :thumbsu:

http://clicheguevara.files.wordpress.com/2007/12/monkey.jpg

Who cares who the Bombers have beaten, or whether they are 'lesser' sides or not? The fact is, they've won games fair and square. You can only beat the side that the opposition puts in front of you. If they are considered to be 'lesser' sides, then so what? It still counts as a win, no matter who you beat.

He did have a very solid point about Collingwood & Carlton lacking credibility though ;)

Damon_3388
28 May 2009, 03:05
He did have a very solid point about Collingwood & Carlton lacking credibility though ;)

Carlton, of course. But we live on Credibility Street at Collingwood ;)

What I was saying was that the AFL isn't the Bowl Championship Series - we don't focus on strength of schedule to determine our rankings. A win is a win, and Essendon have got some wins, and should be given full credit for them, no matter who they are against.

Beerfish
28 May 2009, 09:38
Meh.. I chuckled.

efcboy
28 May 2009, 10:17
bews should stick to laying bricks - thats the only thing he has any idea about. geelong win one flag in 45 years (and bews wasn't even part of it) and he thinks he as a geelong person has the right to slag off essendon. turn it up - geelong has got a long, long way to go to be held in the same regard as the powerful essendon fc. we have more members than their home stadium can fit.

he clearly has no idea - essendon beat richmond by 40 points and geelong struggled against the tigers at home.

i think the bombers are a genuine chance this week - m.stokes and chapman are big losses for the cats forward line. the only regular goal kicker now is s.johnson who will surely cop a lot of attention.

bews is only setting himself up for a fall with garbage articles like this.

mayhem20202
28 May 2009, 10:38
I love the way he talks about how "this was a battle of two sides that have been strugglers for longer than I'd like to think about". What a tool. Longer than he'd like to think about, is he an alcoholic? If he means that he wouldn't like to think about any further back than 2001, then that is probably because, firstly Essendon was rather successful prior to that, secondly, Geelong lost so many grand finals in that period that Essendon won 4 premiership and he doesn't want to think about that, or thirdly, he could potentially be an alcoholic/drug addict and have no memory of anything earlier than those years. Essendon have won the same amount of premierships as Geelong in this decade, 1 in the previous decade and 2 in the one before that. 4 premierships since 1980, that is one every 8 years(actually about 7.5 or so, but, you get the idea), in a competition with probably on average has had 14 sides in it (taken into account that it hasn't had 16 sides for the whole of 1980 - 2009). That is a lot better than average return. Geelong in the same period has won 1 premiership. That is a return of one premiership every 30 years, which is fairly poor. I could make those figures look a lot worse if I chose to. ie. cut the dates down to only include 1984 - 2008 and it is 4 prems vs 1 in a 25 year period, which equates to one every 6 years. Or, if he wants to, we could spread the stats even further, but, I am not a big one for ancient history, and I don't care about the fact that Essendon have won 16 premierships, I feel that info is irrelevant now. Anything any further back than 20 - 25 years doesn't matter any more, in my opinion.

The other thing which amused me was him talking about was how Essendon have not had any credible wins. When a side finishes out of the top 8, and then is 5 - 4 to start the following year, it doesn't matter who they beat, it is credible. If you want to be real picky, and work on the same lines that he worked along, when you have won 51 of your past 54 games, shouldn't you be beating everyone by 10 goals, just to "retain credibility". In this case, the games this season against (to quote himself) "an injury depleted Hawthorn side" (Geelong won by 8 points, Essendon by 44), Richmond (Geelong won by 20 points, Essendon by 40 points), and the Western Bulldogs (winning by 2 points) have hardly proved anything. I don't subscribe to this theory, as you can only beat who is put in front of you, however, if this clown wishes to use such a stupid theory to break down why Essendon are terrible despite being 4th on the ladder, then why shouldn't we analyse Geelong's wins.

Shane Hird
28 May 2009, 13:28
An absolute bunch of mindless word drool.

Should be ashamed of himself for taking money to write it.

Shane Hird
28 May 2009, 13:32

That's the spirit!:thumbsu:

Take that and put it in your pipe Bewsie...Bewsy..Andy.B..

The Cork Soaker
28 May 2009, 14:32
If the Rat's objective was to get under the skin of a few bomber fans then he'd be sitting back reading this with a great deal of satisfation..... well done bomber fans ......heres' a tip for life..... next time someone throws a left hook at you......don't lean into it.

Way to go Rat

hugorune
28 May 2009, 14:48
Sorry Cork Soaker, but weak attempts at journalism, such as Bews' effort, are there to be laughed at, and this was an opportunity too good for us to pass up :)

Good marketing? Well, yes, I'll agree, but the way Essendon claims or hijacks any untagged event in the footy calendar looks desperate and is beginning to drive me up the wall

Probably because no one at Geelong has ever had the creative intelligence to make a game into an even greater occasion the way Sheeds did.

james_omahoney
28 May 2009, 14:54
I found it to be unnecessarily ABews-ive, to be frank.

marcuz
28 May 2009, 15:43
If the Rat's objective was to get under the skin of a few bomber fans then he'd be sitting back reading this with a great deal of satisfation..... well done bomber fans ......heres' a tip for life..... next time someone throws a left hook at you......don't lean into it.

Way to go Rat

He hasnt the brains nor the sublety for that to be a piss take. I've met Andrew a few times and his brother was my phys-ed teacher in High school, neither are the sharpest knives in the drawer.

Ben the Gooner
28 May 2009, 19:33
I found it to be unnecessarily ABews-ive, to be frank.

:D:thumbsu:

stander
28 May 2009, 20:45
Who's Andrew Bews?

He was a small nuggety ferretty looking back pocket who always looked nervous when he played the Dons in the 80's. Can't blame him for attempting a dumb payback because he copped heaps at Windy Hill. Migrated to the Bears in 93 I think, and stood tall with Roger protecting him from the nasties.

rainman06
28 May 2009, 21:19
Its the kind of drivel you hear from a bloke at the pub who has had 10 pints and just says things that sound aggressive so someone will argue with him.

I couldnt think of anything less significant than a shit player turning into a shit writer and wasting column space in The Geelong Advertiser.

Big Blow Hard
28 May 2009, 21:22
**** it! Pin it up at the club for the boys to read. If we were down at all, that could provide the incentive to fire the Bombers up big time.

Andrew Bews, what was he? Like the fifth best midfielder in the biggest underachieving side of the last thirty years. (Apologies to my cuz, Couchy).