View Full Version : What is up with Adam McPhee's back?
The Magician
31 May 2009, 00:14
I've been meaning to ask for a while, and mods if you feel this is an inappropriate thread, feel free to move or delete it.
Has he had back issues, or is that just his frame? In his breakout year I don't remember him having it arched so badly.
stay true
31 May 2009, 04:13
I'm pretty sure it's his frame. It's gotten more noticable over the past few years as he's bulked up even more.
Vtorians
31 May 2009, 07:58
Are you sure its not the GPS receiver under his jumper, he always seems to wear one.
bipolarbeaR
31 May 2009, 08:41
I get called Smokey at footy because my back is arched like his, I have always had bad posture, he is probably the same.
DapperDon
31 May 2009, 10:17
I get called Smokey at footy because my back is arched like his, I have always had bad posture, he is probably the same.
McPhee gets called Smokey because he started a bushfire by accident in Perth on a Fremantle bonding trip.
Skeeta Olly
31 May 2009, 10:23
I thought he burnt down a house?
Anyway, didn't really notice his arch..
essendon2008
31 May 2009, 15:26
I am pretty sure it's a GPS but could be wrong.
The GPS must be affecting his kicking skills
bomber69
31 May 2009, 18:07
They are called back pecks.
nighthawk
31 May 2009, 20:27
Haha, I have noticed it heaps more this year too. My girlfriend mentions it everytime he comes on screen.
****ing disgusting today from Mcphee ... if he's injured, then get him out, if he's not injured then all the more reason to drop him.
did some alright things in the last quarter, but he was pathetic today.
BringBackCransberg
31 May 2009, 23:18
Bit harsh there, I reckon. Messed up a few kicks, but so did everyone else (who actually got a kick). On the movements out of defence he ran to the right spots, as usual -- just our disposal was pretty crap all day (including his). He panicked/fumbled a couple of times, but he's done that every game for 155 (or whatever) games. Would've been good to see him on SJ, or if it were possible, his floating quarterback game.
"Accidentally" started a bushfire in WA -- the CFA had a GPS tracking device implanted between his shoulder blades (condition of trade with Freo).
Bombertastic
31 May 2009, 23:32
They are called back pecks.
lol:thumbsu:
mustapha
1 Jun 2009, 10:19
****ING DISGUSTING today from Mcphee ... if he's injured, then get him out, if he's not injured then all the more reason to drop him.
did some alright things in the last quarter, but he was pathetic today.
His kicking is OK but he seems to make a lot of poor decisions. He rarely takes the first option. When a player like Lovett or Winderlich has the ball in defense I am confident that a bomber will get the next possession. Not so with Mcphee.
Sam the RAMA fan
1 Jun 2009, 17:42
I was thinking the same thing yesterday.
I didn't notice it at family day though,
I'm guessing it's when he's got the ball he wants to 'arch the back and go'. :thumbsu:
MarkJohnson#1
1 Jun 2009, 17:47
Too much bench press, not enough seated row.
I actually would've put it down to excessive back muscle, as opposed to negative disproportion. I always assumed it was his GPS, though.
MarkJohnson#1
1 Jun 2009, 19:33
I actually would've put it down to excessive back muscle, as opposed to negative disproportion. I always assumed it was his GPS, though.
A combination of both perhaps. His head does appear to protrude slightly forward, but his back is massive.
its definately the gps kiddies. you can notice the unnatural looking point at the top of the spine just below the neck. he looks like the hunchback of notre damme i know. most players are wearing them these days, just not so prominent on others
nighthawk
1 Jun 2009, 23:46
I don't understand then. What are the GPS measurer things like? Are they wearing a padded vest type thing with it inside?