View Full Version : Nathan Brown in today's Herald Sun
From the Herald Sun (http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,5972134%255E20322,00.html)
Why a lazy Dog is firing
12 February 2003 Herald Sun
By SCOTT GULLAN
AFTER a particularly hard training session in Ireland last year as part of the Australian international rules team, Nathan Brown was thinking about the showers and where the Guinness was flowing that night.
As he trudged to the changerooms, something caught his eye back on the oval. It was Hawthorn captain Shane Crawford doing run-throughs.
"We were basically over there to have a good time, have a few beers and obviously still win," Brown said.
"After this really hard session, Crawf was out there doing extra running after training. I thought, 'Well, if it is good enough for him, he's won a Brownlow Medal, then who am I not to be doing that sort of stuff?'"
From that moment the self-confessed lazy footballer was a changed man.
The results were there for all to see at last week's Bulldogs training camp on the Sunshine Coast with Brown the standout performer.
Instead of loafing at the back of the bunch, he is now nipping at the heels of the leaders.
In a series of sprinting drills at the camp against renowned sprinters Brad Johnson, Matthew Robbins and Rohan Smith, Brown dominated every one.
"I'd have to say now I'm twice as fit as I've ever been," he said. "I'm not the fittest at the club but I'm not the 15th fittest at the club, either.
"I'm a lot better than what I was. I'm actually enjoying running because I'm not coming last any more."
After returning from Ireland, Brown started jogging several times a week during the break, sometimes with coach Peter Rohde or other teammates.
"A couple of times over the pre-season before I have put on some weight and it came down to me being just lazy," he said.
"That is all I can say. I was lazy and probably weak in the mind. I wouldn't get out of bed and go for that run when I didn't have to. You should but I thought, 'Oh, well, I won't do it today because we haven't started training yet'.
"This year is the first year I have done it. I felt a lot better within myself, a lot happier, a lot fitter and I wasn't dreading going back to training."
Two years ago he returned from the Ireland trip at 85kg; today he is down to 78kg.
At this point Brown paused and smiled. He wanted to set the record straight. While he was a reformed man, he still didn't enjoy training.
"I'm still a little bit lazy. I don't enjoy training much at all but I have enjoyed it a hell of a lot more this pre-season," he said.
"My personal point of view is that you have to keep raising the bar, that's why the great players are so good. Ablett, Carey, James Hird - they just kept raising the bar.
"I'm getting tagged a lot more now, getting a lot more attention. If I don't do something to better myself, other people will catch up to where I'm at. I've got to try and keep two steps ahead of them."
Last year Brown mixed his time between the midfield and full-forward where he led the club's goalkicking with 57 and earned All-Australian honours.
He has pin-pointed leg speed as the dimension he wants to add to his game.
"I've always had the pace but I never really used it," Brown said. "I remember Plough (Terry Wallace) used to always say to me, 'You've got the pace, when you get it just go'. But I was always into getting the ball and looking to where I was going to kick it instead of just going."
While we are seeing a new, serious Brown on the field - he turned 25 on Monday - the larrikin and party boy still lives.
"I'm more serious when it comes to actual football stuff," he said.
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,1658,235672,00.jpg
Nathan Brown twice as fit as normal? I've always wondered what an uninterupted preseason would do for Browny.
Claims he's twice as fit as he's ever been. Scarey stuff for the other teams i would say!!
Good article. It just goes to show how much browny has grown up. I would'nt want to be barracking for any other team with browny being twice as fit.
stefoid
12 Feb 2003, 09:02
Interesting to see that previously he thought just being a smart disposer was good enough. Now it seems he wants to be quick and smart. that should be interesting. I think he can thank his red headed mate from Melbourne for putting a burr up his arse more than crawford doing an extra running session. When do we play Melbourne next?
chels_09
12 Feb 2003, 09:53
First let me say......WHAT A GREAT PIC!!!!!
Nathan has really come of age in the last few years, and that was proven to me when i spoke to him at training a few weeks back and he said "you gotta do the hard yards to get a few early wins on the board""
Its interesting to note that he has been jogging with Rohde a few times, are they building a relationship that he and plough once had????
Does anyone else here believe that in the next 2-3 years we will see this boy as our captain??
dogboy23
12 Feb 2003, 10:07
Originally posted by chels_09
Does anyone else here believe that in the next 2-3 years we will see this boy as our captain?? He has some qualities that would be great as a captain and some that wouldn't.The things I like about him as a potential captain are
1-He is our best big game player and is that confident in his ability he wants the ball when the game is up for grabs.
2-The young guys love him and look up to him
3-If appointed it would be in a time frame that would allow him plenty of time in the job (probably 4 or 5 seasons)
You would have to say the next captain would be out of Brown,Darcy or if not them then you are looking at the next tier.Guys like Murphy and co dont seem captaincy material now but either did Browny 2 seasons ago and a couple of good seasons from any of the youngsters could see them in line alot further down the track (probably talking 3 or 4 seasons).
Originally posted by dogboy23
He has some qualities that would be great as a captain and some that wouldn't.The things I like about him as a potential captain are
1-He is our best big game player and is that confident in his ability he wants the ball when the game is up for grabs.
2-The young guys love him and look up to him
3-If appointed it would be in a time frame that would allow him plenty of time in the job (probably 4 or 5 seasons)
You would have to say the next captain would be out of Brown,Darcy or if not them then you are looking at the next tier.Guys like Murphy and co dont seem captaincy material now but either did Browny 2 seasons ago and a couple of good seasons from any of the youngsters could see them in line alot further down the track (probably talking 3 or 4 seasons).
I know this debate has raged on before, but do you honestly not see Johnno becoming captain at one stage?
dogboy23
12 Feb 2003, 10:44
Originally posted by Sporty Spice
I know this debate has raged on before, but do you honestly not see Johnno becoming captain at one stage? By the time Grant is finished up I reckon Johnson will be limited in what he can do.He,Smith and Westy all bleed red white and blue and westy has said he wants to be captain but being running players they will have a reduced role by the time Grant retires.Perhaps if Grant relinquishes it before he retires then it will bring West and Jonno into it.
The Doctor
12 Feb 2003, 10:44
Does anyone else here believe that in the next 2-3 years we will see this boy as our captain??
I would love to see him become our next captain. He is a natural leader.
His style would be more the delegating style with everyone doing their bit rather than the 'follow me' or 'I must do it all' style (like Buckley). You can see when Brown talks people listen and where he walks people watch.
Players will follow naturally those with the kind of magnetic charisma and charm that Brown has. It doesn't matter to me that he has been a bad boy at times. Some of the best leaders are those who have had similar experiences he has had because they have pushed the limits to see how far they can bend and how people will react.
Another thing is I'm sure there will not be too many dull moments should he become captain.
By the time Grant is finished up I reckon Johnson will be limited in what he can do.He,Smith and Westy all bleed red white and blue and westy has said he wants to be captain but being running players they will have a reduced role by the time Grant retires.Perhaps if Grant relinquishes it before he retires then it will bring West and Jonno into it.
Personally, i can see Johnno playing a few seasons after Grant, which is what i was basing it on. I'm all for Browny being the next to captain the team, was just curious as i would love to see Johnno take control too.
Westy_Boy
12 Feb 2003, 10:57
Originally posted by stefoid
I think he can thank his red headed mate from Melbourne for putting a burr up his arse more than crawford doing an extra running session.
Or the fact that he's got a contract renewal coming up and sees this year as an opportunity to add another $200K to his salary.
Cheers
Ultra-cynical Westy
The Doctor
12 Feb 2003, 11:02
Personally, i can see Johnno playing a few seasons after Grant, which is what i was basing it on. I'm all for Browny being the next to captain the team, was just curious as i would love to see Johnno take control too.
It's not a bad position to be in. Johnno would probably make a fine captain but he would be my 2nd pick to Brown. I reckon Johnno would be one of those captains that tries to do it all. Just look at the way he plays. He tries so hard and with captaincy I'd reckon he'd go even harder. I'm not sure he has the people management skills to be able to get the people to go with him at the same pace.
The other thing about Johnno is he is such a nice guy. Would he be able to curb his natural friendly style and become a tough bastard or a disciplinarian when the need arose. Would other players handle any admonishments or even take notice if it isn't normally his style?
Sorry to disagree, but I don't think Browny has a snowball's of ever being captain, unless he has a major attitude transplant. The young guys do admire him, but as a role model of what? That's what I'm not sure of. Is the Get Fit campaign for the good of the team, or to promote Number One?
I might change my mind if he resists the big $$$ to stay with the Bulldogs. That is the kind of example he needs to be setting.
Johnno WILL make a great captain. Westy and Darce would be other contenders. In the distant future, Gilbee and Power could show something if they are still with us.
Doggiesrule1020
12 Feb 2003, 13:03
I actually think that it is a three way for captain with either johnno westy or darc to get the job.Johnno is a doggies boy through and through and i personally would love to see him be our next captain.
There seems to be an annual pre-season article on Browny about his new maturity level, extra fitness, extra strength etc, etc
And they are probably all true too.
But incrementally improving your maturity and fitness on an annual basis is to be expected of someone who started from such a low base.
Whether he has now reached the sort of levels on both counts that would be expected of somone touted as a future captain will be demonstrated through the season in on and off field performances - not his performance in the annual pre-season interview ritual.
dogboy23
12 Feb 2003, 15:25
You also have to take into account that he would be the face of the club and he is a pretty marketable sort of guy.I do agree that this next period when he signs his new contract will tell us alot about where he is at.
SCRAY72
12 Feb 2003, 15:45
I think he is captain material just like Darce and Westy.
I don't think Johnson is captain material but that is my opinion only.
It really also depends on how long Granty keeps the job.
I agree with Dogboy, we will learn of Browny's ambitions in the next six months when he re-negotiates his contract.
Westy_Boy
12 Feb 2003, 16:36
Originally posted by SCRAY72
I agree with Dogboy, we will learn of Browny's ambitions in the next six months when he re-negotiates his contract.
Let's say he has his best season ever, kicks 80 goals and gets 500 touches.
He demands a five year contract worth $700K a season, and there's a few clubs in the market willing to pay it and he won't stay for a cent less.
What should we do? I've got a few thoughts on it, but wanna get everyone elses opinions first.
dogboy23
12 Feb 2003, 17:00
Originally posted by Westy_Boy
He demands a five year contract worth $700K a season, and there's a few clubs in the market willing to pay it and he won't stay for a cent less.
What should we do? I've got a few thoughts on it, but wanna get everyone elses opinions first. Trade his arse no player is worth $700,000 and it would prevent us keeping some of our youngsters.I reckon after the sort of season Brownys likely to have he will be worth atleast a couple of good players (tall ones:) ) or a high first round pick and a player.Just to clarify I dont want to trade Browny but if he put us in that position you would have to do whats in the clubs long term interests.
What should we do? I've got a few thoughts on it, but wanna get everyone elses opinions first.
Lets say he asks for a small country and 5 wives...
Has there not been enough negative things said about us, we have to start creating our own?
Lets say he gets all that and asks for less, ensuring he puts the club first and wants to stay at the Bulldogs. We keep him, he becomes a one team career player and we win x amount of premierships in the next 10 years?
dancingdoggie17
12 Feb 2003, 18:44
ohh, thank goodness u included the pic, pc!!
with all this hype i can't wait till rd 1!!!
ohh yeah, there's also in the local paper about him saying how fit he is. that also had a nice pic!!
he's a legend!
how can people say we should use him as trade bait? it's like using a bloody orange roughy as bait for a bloody mullet!
dogboy23
12 Feb 2003, 19:18
Originally posted by dancingdoggie17
how can people say we should use him as trade bait? it's like using a bloody orange roughy as bait for a bloody mullet! If we didn't under the circumstances that westy used as an example then we would die within seasons.I did say I would only do it under those circumstances.
If we didn't under the circumstances that westy used as an example then we would die within seasons.I did say I would only do it under those circumstances.
You're talking hypertheticals for no other reason than to turn a postive story into a negative.
After years of bad publicity, are we falling into the trap of searching for the bad in the good?
What happens if he does his knee this year? What happens to his value? Will he go?
What happens if he wins the Brownlow this year? In his acceptance speach does he announce that he wants a multimillion dollar deal with another club?
What happens if he wins the Norm Smith, does that mean he'll leave us. Do we celebrate winning but lement it too as we know know he'll leave the club?
The season hasn't even started, we haven't had any bad press. When we do we complain, when we don't we create it. Come on guys, why think the worst of a situation? A little bit of positivity goes a long way.
dogboy23
12 Feb 2003, 20:02
You're talking hypertheticals for no other reason than to turn a postive story into a negative.
After years of bad publicity, are we falling into the trap of searching for the bad in the good?
What happens if he does his knee this year? What happens to his value? Will he go?
What happens if he wins the Brownlow this year? In his acceptance speach does he announce that he wants a multimillion dollar deal with another club?
What happens if he wins the Norm Smith, does that mean he'll leave us. Do we celebrate winning but lement it too as we know know he'll leave the club?
The season hasn't even started, we haven't had any bad press. When we do we complain, when we don't we create it. Come on guys, why think the worst of a situation? A little bit of positivity goes a long way. Its a big issue and its coming up we would be crazy to have not already thought about what we are going to do about his next contract.I dont really think its negative publicity just discussing a genuine issue that westy has brought up.
BTW good to see you back posting on a more regular basis.
Its a big issue and its coming up we would be crazy to have not already thought about what we are going to do about his next contract.I dont really think its negative publicity just discussing a genuine issue that westy has brought up.
BTW good to see you back posting on a more regular basis.
Thanks, good to be posting about normal footballing issues again. I may return to normal shortly.
I agree that it's a big issue, and i'm sure we've all thought about it, i'm sure we were all thinking about it when the pay cuts first came about.
I'm also sure that Browny/his agent/the club have also thought about this (they are NOT as stupid as JG & Fansquad make them out to be!) but in terms of being a big issue now, right at this moment, i think there are others that are bigger, such as the impending season.
One player is not bigger than the club, if he leaves, so be it, if he stays, fantastic, if he's a gready bastard, screw him, but i don't think that thinking the worst is going to help.
There are a number of options/choice that will/can be made through out the course of the season, some that will effect us then and there, some that will effect us in the future, i just think by taking the worst case sernario and using that as the bases of a discussion is probably not the way to go.
I'm not saying "push the bad news away and all will be fine" I'm just saying there are many options, and if the bad are to be bought up, maybe it's best served to bring up the alternatives too.
Westy_Boy
12 Feb 2003, 20:37
I'm talking hypotheticals because I see it as a realistic problem that the club will have to face at the end of the year, and I wouldn't mind a discussion/everyone's opinion on a matter other than how player C's arse has improved over the pre-season. The reason that I see the situation as realistic is because given that he was demanding $500K as a 21 year old with barely 50 games under his belt, chances are that he'll be demanding a fair bit more now that he's a consistent match-winner at his peak. He's made no secret of the fact that he wants to get the most money out of his footy career so he doesn't have to work after his retirement, and I've seen nothing to suggest that his stance will change.
He'll be 26 by the time his next contract kicks in, and contracts at this stage of a players career are probably the most dangerous from the clubs point of view - a few clubs have been seriously burned in similar situations where gun players have come out of contract, have matched absurd long-term offers from other clubs, and one, two, three years later are left with players who's performances have fallen away considerably from their best, are a lot more prone to injuries as they get older, are being paid 5 times the amount that their output would suggest, and next to worthless on the trade market because no-one will touch them with a ten-foot pole thanks to an absurd salary arranged 4 years prior. The added problem with us at the moment is that it will cost us players, very good players, not only this year, but as long the list has to be shaped in order to accomodate one or two short-sighted contracts which are taking up a ridiculous percentage of the cap.
We can be all happy and positive about a player deciding that he's no longer going to be lazy (7 years into his professional career) because he saw a player from another club doing an extra run, but it doesn't change the fact that we're gonna be in deep shlt with regard to our salary cap at the end of the year. We've got over a third of the list coming out of contract, with most of them due for a significant pay rise, and the situation will get a lot worse if we have a successful season. It's unfair and unrealistic to expect the players to accept pay cuts again, and given that we have to continue trending towards 92.5% of the cap in order to remain eligible for assistance, something's gonna have to give. I hope the club is aware of it and giving a lot of thought to ways in which to deal with the problems which might come up, cos if everyone's taking a "we'll cross that bridge when we come to it" approach there's gonna be some major, major bloodletting (for next to nothing in return) come October.
I'm talking hypotheticals because I see it as a realistic problem that the club will have to face at the end of the year, and I wouldn't mind a discussion/everyone's opinion on a matter other than how player C's arse has improved over the pre-season. The reason that I see the situation as realistic is because given that he was demanding $500K as a 21 year old with barely 50 games under his belt, chances are that he'll be demanding a fair bit more now that he's a consistent match-winner at his peak. He's made no secret of the fact that he wants to get the most money out of his footy career so he doesn't have to work after his retirement, and I've seen nothing to suggest that his stance will change.
He'll be 26 by the time his next contract kicks in, and contracts at this stage of a players career are probably the most dangerous from the clubs point of view - a few clubs have been seriously burned in similar situations where gun players have come out of contract, have matched absurd long-term offers from other clubs, and one, two, three years later are left with players who's performances have fallen away considerably from their best, are a lot more prone to injuries as they get older, are being paid 5 times the amount that their output would suggest, and next to worthless on the trade market because no-one will touch them with a ten-foot pole thanks to an absurd salary arranged 4 years prior. The added problem with us at the moment is that it will cost us players, very good players, not only this year, but as long the list has to be shaped in order to accomodate one or two short-sighted contracts which are taking up a ridiculous percentage of the cap.
We can be all happy and positive about a player deciding that he's no longer going to be lazy (7 years into his professional career) because he saw a player from another club doing an extra run, but it doesn't change the fact that we're gonna be in deep shlt with regard to our salary cap at the end of the year. We've got over a third of the list coming out of contract, with most of them due for a significant pay rise, and the situation will get a lot worse if we have a successful season. It's unfair and unrealistic to expect the players to accept pay cuts again, and given that we have to continue trending towards 92.5% of the cap in order to remain eligible for assistance, something's gonna have to give. I hope the club is aware of it and giving a lot of thought to ways in which to deal with the problems which might come up, cos if everyone's taking a "we'll cross that bridge when we come to it" approach there's gonna be some major, major bloodletting (for next to nothing in return) come October.
a/ Who on earth can fit a 700k player under their cap
b/ If his work ethic has changed, what's to say his way of thinking hasn't changed?
c/ What's the say we're going to need another AFL grant? If we break even as is predicted by the board, why would we need a hand out? (or have i gotten the plan mixed up?)
The Doctor
12 Feb 2003, 21:01
I hope the club is aware of it and giving a lot of thought to ways in which to deal with the problems which might come up, cos if everyone's taking a "we'll cross that bridge when we come to it" approach there's gonna be some major, major bloodletting (for next to nothing in return) come October.
Yes I seem to recall only too recently we lost Luke Penny when we didn't want to. We didn't handle that situation in the lead up to him wanting out all that well and we didn't handle it at the trade table as well as we could have had we been properly prepared.
We must not allow these things to happen to us again. Whether it be Penny, Brown or whoever. Brown's contractual situation is bound to be far more complex than Penny's and his value to the club far greater as a result of his popularity and skill. Which makes it all the more important the playing list planning for 2004 be carefully considered ASAP with contingency plans for when the best laid plans don't come to fruition.
Whether we like it or not Brown could go. If he does his worth at the trade table would be enormous and if we play our cards right we could come out of it in an even healthier position. More easily said than done but very possible if we are properly prepared.
Having said that Brown is at a similar stage of his career that Chris Grant was in 1996 when he had to make a choice. Grant stayed and set a mighty precedent for future stars of the club to follow. No wonder he is captain. I hope Brown follows suit and becomes his successor as capt. and a club legend accordingly.
btw who else is coming out of contract?
Captain Sensible
12 Feb 2003, 22:18
As ever Westy your assessment is spot on.
The Brown probem is incredibly complex and involves decisions on a lot of players careers for not only next season but for the life of any contract he signs. Add that to the persitent rumours about Brown's intentions for after this season its a problem I am sure the club is already giving a lot of thought to.
One thing in our favour is that clubs are becoming more and more reluctant to trade for big name players.
Mr. Walker
13 Feb 2003, 07:18
What a great thread. Not sure if this is the best thread ever or just seems so in comparison to recent others!
I agree wholeheartedly with the view of "plan for the future". No -one wants Brown to go but if his asking price puts him out of our reach then we should be prepared to get the best deal possible. We do have a couple of things in our favour. Firstly, Chris Grant and the example he set. This would be a powerful symbol to every other player at the club and the chance to gain a bit of the respect Chris has would be an incentive to anyone. Secondly, the good work of the recruiting staff will mean that all of the players will see a chance to be part of long term success by staying at the club.
I don't for a minute think that these factors will cause Brown to only ask for half the going rate. I believe a player should be paid his worth but it may mean that he takes a figure at the mid point of reasonable range rather than the top end.
X_box_X
13 Feb 2003, 08:48
Great article.
He'll have a top year.
stefoid
13 Feb 2003, 09:28
I think the trend is for player salarays in general to come back to realtiy. Too many clubs have burned themselves in their greed for perceived superstars. Look at Richmond. Imagine paying Gaspar half a mil a year!!
The good thing is that we seem to have ridden out the storm without loosing a single star to other clubs, except for Penny and I reckon that is getting off lightly -- his situation stinks of personal issues to me anyway.
Clubs like Collingwod and Carlton have a poaching mentality, especially when their chips are down they start waving their chequebooks, but Carlton has been absolutely hammered financially, and collingwood is on the ascent due to their draft picks and will have to pay its own homegrown players.
I think the upshot is Browny wont get as much for himself, should he wish to test the market, as he might have 2 years ago.
dogboy23
13 Feb 2003, 09:30
Originally posted by Mr. Walker
I don't for a minute think that these factors will cause Brown to only ask for half the going rate. I believe a player should be paid his worth but it may mean that he takes a figure at the mid point of reasonable range rather than the top end. I agree we cant expect to jib him out of the pay packet that he deserves.He will probably be IMO our number 1 player (if hes not already) after this season and deserves to be paid accordingly.We just have to hope that he will be satisfied to take a very good pay packet rather than a ridiculously good pay packet.The difference between what we will be able to give him and what he could get at Carlton for example would be over $100,000 IMO.
I would be interested on how the current players rank in terms of what they are payed.Just a speculative guess would be something like
1-Grant
2-West
3-Darcy,Brown,Johnson
4-Smith
And then it would be the highly ranked youngsters and 2nd tier players with the odd guy getting more than others.Would that be around the mark?I think Johnson just signed a new contract last season so he may have gone ahead of West.
dogboy23
13 Feb 2003, 09:38
I think the trend is for player salarays in general to come back to realtiy.Imagine paying Gaspar half a mil a year!!
. Alot of that will depend on the players I reckon.Never mind Gaspar imagine paying Ben Holland 400,000 k a year and having him sitting his fat arse on the sidelines:) .Thats gotta hurt!
The Doctor
13 Feb 2003, 09:47
I think the trend is for player salarays in general to come back to realtiy.
Clubs like Collingwod and Carlton have a poaching mentality,
I agree with your view about the correction in players wages. However the sal cap has just gone up another $400k for most clubs. Some can still afford to pay the full amount. Not sure what the % increase intention for next year is.
I reckon the dangers would come from the interstate clubs especially Brisbane and Swans with their extra negotiating power. Most of the Vic clubs have their sal cap constraints.
The Lions could possibly lose Lynch, Ashcroft, McRae and White at the end of this season freeing up a lot of $$. Lynch alone would be quite a bit and they have plenty to bargain with. Swans may not be as appealing but they have plenty of money to throw at anyone.
So they would be the two that would concern me most at this stage.
chels_09
13 Feb 2003, 10:12
My Opinions:
1. Brown as captain.
I believe this man will make a great captain, if he can prove himself again this year that he is here for a reason. He has the support of alot of the younger brigade and also off Rohde as Brown stated in his interview he has been running with him!! Being a captain means alot of things, alot of things which take maturity and i think he has alot of that, well definatly alot more the his first season, and he can only get better.
Johnno and Darc and Westy i believe will be a little out of the age bracket when its time for a new captain and i dont think any player will mind handing the captaincy to brown.
2. Trading Brown
Even though he is my hero, if he asked the club for too much even i would be happy to traid him for someone just as good. Players, after being given a chance by an AFL club should be as loyal as they can be to that club, and our club has changed Brown as a person, and as a footballer. So if he comes with unreasonable requests, even i say trade him.
That would be the worst case, i would love to see Brown finish his career in the red white and blue making that number 17 gurnsey a famous one.
stefoid
13 Feb 2003, 10:29
Originally posted by The Doctor
I agree with your view about the correction in players wages. However the sal cap has just gone up another $400k for most clubs. Some can still afford to pay the full amount. Not sure what the % increase intention for next year is.
I reckon the dangers would come from the interstate clubs especially Brisbane and Swans with their extra negotiating power. Most of the Vic clubs have their sal cap constraints.
The Lions could possibly lose Lynch, Ashcroft, McRae and White at the end of this season freeing up a lot of $$. Lynch alone would be quite a bit and they have plenty to bargain with. Swans may not be as appealing but they have plenty of money to throw at anyone.
So they would be the two that would concern me most at this stage.
Lions would have to step quietly after bitching about needing a salary cap bonus above victorian clubs purely to stop poaching from them. If they then turned around and started poaching the other way...
having said that, the AFL is so desperate to have the swans and lions succeed, they probably wouldnt care that much.
My Opinions:
1. Brown as captain.
I believe this man will make a great captain, if he can prove himself again this year that he is here for a reason. He has the support of alot of the younger brigade and also off Rohde as Brown stated in his interview he has been running with him!! Being a captain means alot of things, alot of things which take maturity and i think he has alot of that, well definatly alot more the his first season, and he can only get better.
Johnno and Darc and Westy i believe will be a little out of the age bracket when its time for a new captain and i dont think any player will mind handing the captaincy to brown.
2. Trading Brown
Even though he is my hero, if he asked the club for too much even i would be happy to traid him for someone just as good. Players, after being given a chance by an AFL club should be as loyal as they can be to that club, and our club has changed Brown as a person, and as a footballer. So if he comes with unreasonable requests, even i say trade him.
That would be the worst case, i would love to see Brown finish his career in the red white and blue making that number 17 gurnsey a famous one.
Couldn't have said it better myself chels.
Lions would have to step quietly after bitching about needing a salary cap bonus above victorian clubs purely to stop poaching from them. If they then turned around and started poaching the other way...
having said that, the AFL is so desperate to have the swans and lions succeed, they probably wouldnt care that much.
You young people
17 was famous long before Browny.
I believe the boy from Fish Creek made it what it is today, not some young punk arse whipper snapper :p
chels_09
13 Feb 2003, 22:00
I believe the boy from Fish Creek made it what it is today, not some young punk arse whipper snapper
HHHrrrrmmm, i think alot of people here will agree with me, the number will be remembered for that young punk Brown!!!! :cool:
Doggiesrule1020
14 Feb 2003, 14:48
Im not that young not to remember the boy from fish creek but in case you dont remeber he went to adel and no offence i think that young arse whipper sniper will be the one no 17 is remebered for.
No offence, but you guys have NO idea what so ever when someone is taking the **** do you.
The Doctor
14 Feb 2003, 15:29
I think this is exactly what the guys on the anti-teenies thread were on about.
Here is a perfectly good thread involving some excellent discussion on a very interesting footy topic which has now been de-railed.
I don't mind threads being de-railed slightly, never one to complain, often do it myself, but every single thread has become "we can talk about what we want" crap.
It's good that the site has generated a little more traffic, it's sad that an off the cuff remark and a little bit of a joke because the same old garbage.
There a threads for garbage, normally started by me, there are threads to be serious and not start the "browny's particulars are great" conversation.
dancingdoggie17
14 Feb 2003, 21:52
i like his bum
The Doctor
15 Feb 2003, 14:34
i like his bum
The evidence is incontrovertible. No need for any further deliberation by the jury.
The teenies are incorrigible. This court has found in favour of the plaintiff.
Captain Sensible
15 Feb 2003, 19:53
The evidence is incontrovertible. No need for any further deliberation by the jury.
The teenies are incorrigible. This court has found in favour of the plaintiff.
Check out Judge Judy.:D
Doggiesrule1020
15 Feb 2003, 20:05
Hey sorry doctor but if youre talking about me chels,and mel we arent teenies.
Originally posted by Doggiesrule1020
Hey sorry doctor but if youre talking about me chels,and mel we arent teenies.
Just as ****ing stupid
That's very harsh, Sporty.
(I got told off for using **** :( )
dancingdoggie17
16 Feb 2003, 18:19
well who can't tell when someone's taking the *****??? lol
I WAS JOKING!!
well who can't tell when someone's taking the *****??? lol
I WAS JOKING!!
I had been drinking when i posted that, so...
I'd like to reiterate that the above holds true even in a sober mood :D
Who really cares what you guys think anymore. As long as we girls are paid up members we can talk about what we want, who we want and when we want. Same goes with you guys. Its a public board so we can talk bout what ever we want.
Originally posted by mel 40
Who really cares what you guys think anymore. As long as we girls are paid up members we can talk about what we want, who we want and when we want. Same goes with you guys. Its a public board so we can talk bout what ever we want.
:D Reelin em in!!!! :D
From now on, i will start **** takes with :
:D
Doggiesrule1020
16 Feb 2003, 18:41
I agree with you mel.And anyway we have brought up footy topics as you all have requested but we dont get any replies so i guess well have to go back to our own topics we dont bug you guys anyone when you want to talk about chicks so when we want to post about the boys we should be able to.
bulldogs_54
30 Sep 2003, 14:18
i remember that article
Chicago1
30 Sep 2003, 14:29
Do you still believe this, chels?;)
Edited to add : Glad to see a later post which I've quoted below.
Chicago1
30 Sep 2003, 14:37
Having said that Brown is at a similar stage of his career that Chris Grant was in 1996 when he had to make a choice. Grant stayed and set a mighty precedent for future stars of the club to follow. No wonder he is captain. I hope Brown follows suit and becomes his successor as capt. and a club legend accordingly.
I guess we just experienced the difference between a true legend and a mercenary. I do not think Chris Grant's name and the other one's name should ever be mentioned in the same sentence again.
Chicago1
30 Sep 2003, 14:44
My Opinions:
2. Trading Brown
Wise words, chels. Too bad this outcome seems to have come true. :(
Originally posted by Curly5
Sorry to disagree, but I don't think Browny has a snowball's of ever being captain, unless he has a major attitude transplant. The young guys do admire him, but as a role model of what? That's what I'm not sure of. Is the Get Fit campaign for the good of the team, or to promote Number One?
I might change my mind if he resists the big $$$ to stay with the Bulldogs. That is the kind of example he needs to be setting.
Not a bad call by moi. I wish I'd been so wrong. :(