View Full Version : ROUND 9 VFL: Box Hill v Bendigo Bombers (Change of Venue)

CrowdedHouse
2 Jun 2009, 17:20
G'day everyone.

There has been an update in the fixtures section of the VFL website for Monday's Queen's Birthday Public Holiday game.

The Bendigo Bombers v Box Hill Hawks match will now be play at WINDY HILL, ESSENDON instead of Bendigo.

AFAIK it's still same start time.

3WBC might be broadcasting the game - logistics of that being work out now.

Peter.

CrowdedHouse
2 Jun 2009, 18:21
And now here is the reason for the ground change...

MEDIA RELEASE FROM THE VICTORIAN FOOTBALL LEAGUE

AFL Victoria wishes to advise that Victorian Football League matches will not be played at Bendigo’s Queen Elizabeth Oval until the ground is deemed fit for play.

AFL Victoria recently commissioned the AFL’s turf consultants Australian Golf Course Superintendant Association to inspect the condition of the QEO.

Its preliminary report found the QEO surface was inconsistent in its firmness, its grass cover and had different grass types and therefore was unsuitable for VFL matches.

Consequently, this Monday’s Bendigo Bombers versus Box Hill Hawks clash has been moved to Essendon’s Windy Hill.

AFL Victoria Operations Manager John Hook said the VFL had made the call to look after the interests of its clubs and players.

“We had real concerns expressed to us by VFL clubs who had played there recently,” Hook said.

“There is uncertainty for a player’s footing and this can lead to a greater risk of injury.

“The welfare of the players is paramount.”

Hook said it was disappointing that matches had to be moved from a Victorian football stronghold.

“It’s putting enormous pressure on the Bendigo Bombers and it’s not their fault,” Hook said.

“We are disappointed for the Bendigo Bombers as they have sponsorship commitments to fulfill at the ground and they would like to play at the QEO in front of their home fans.

“Bendigo is an important Victorian football region and an important part of the VFL competition. It’s disappointing VFL games cannot be played there.”

The next match scheduled for the QEO is the Sunday, July 12 round 13 clash against Geelong.

Hook said the ground would be monitored and hoped it would again be fit for VFL standard.

“The possibility of future games will be discussed with the City of Greater Bendigo and determined by what can be done,” Hook said.

go hawks!!!
2 Jun 2009, 20:54
thanks for that, i would have rocked up to bendigo, actually i was planning a night out in bendio on sunday nite

The Messenger
3 Jun 2009, 07:54
Crap, it was going to be the first game I could get to for the year and they move it to Melbourne. The QEO isn't in that bad nick that they couldn't play on it. Footballers have got soft.

thatswhatimtalkinabout
3 Jun 2009, 12:49
From the Bendigo League board;

sign of things to come in 2010

Monday's Bendigo game moved to Windy Hill
Wednesday, 3 June 2009
Craig Rowston for essendonfc.com.au
Page 1 of 1
The Bendigo Bombers' Queen's Birthday game will now be played at Windy Hill at 2pm on Monday 9th June 2009. The change in venue was made after an independent ground inspection at the QEO in Bendigo concluded that, at this stage, it is unsuitable for VFL football.

The Bendigo Bombers are very disappointed they cannot play their next home game in Bendigo. The club has also been informed that no future VFL games will be played on the QEO until such time as it is deemed as being up to VFL standards.

The Bendigo Bombers have committed to working closely with the City of Greater Bendigo to support their endeavors to bring the ground back up to the required level and to explore the possibilities of any alternative venues that may be up to the required standard. The Bendigo Bombers have apologised for any inconvenience this may cause to any of its sponsors and supporters.

The Bendigo Bombers take on the Box Hill Hawks on Monday with the reserves starting at 11.15am and the main game at 2pm. Free entry on presentation of your EFC membership

How do the Bendigo Bombers expect to get the support of the Bendigo football community when they continue not to tell the truth.
Reported today they say that the game next Monday has been transferred to Melbourne as a result of a ground inspection that was carried out on Tuesday 2nd June. Then why did the umpires get notified Thursday 28th May that the game has been trasferred.

Whilst I can't substantiate the veracity of the above claim, it would be pretty fair to say the strength of the relationship between Bendigo & Essendon is pretty tenuous at best.

People up here no longer really care, and to tell you the truth they never really embraced them in the first place.

Monday would have been the first time I'd been to watch them this year - guess that's out now.

RustyHawk
3 Jun 2009, 16:52
Thanks for the information C H :thumbsu: much appreciated.

Woodside Hawk
3 Jun 2009, 17:14
Would it be worth posting something on the main board? I reckon there'd be a few Melb. based Hawks supporters that may choose to head on down on Monday when they find out it's at Windy hill instead.

RustyHawk
3 Jun 2009, 17:21
Would it be worth posting something on the main board? I reckon there'd be a few Melb. based Hawks supporters that may choose to head on down on Monday when they find out it's at Windy hill instead.

Yes, your right, will post and stick thread re change.

go hawks!!!
4 Jun 2009, 17:35
can someone post the box hill team when it gets in....interested to see if gilham is in

Badga
4 Jun 2009, 20:03
http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-118-0-0-0&sID=60264&&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=9178319&sectionID=60264

Teams are here.. good to see Gilham and Ladson back

bender22
4 Jun 2009, 20:08
Dowler named for box hill.

I call shananigans. Why is he in the magoo's behind morton

Delicate Des
4 Jun 2009, 20:24
TWITA makes the following remark - "Whilst I can't substantiate the veracity of the above claim, it would be pretty fair to say the strength of the relationship between Bendigo & Essendon is pretty tenuous at best.

People up here no longer really care, and to tell you the truth they never really embraced them in the first place."

I'm a Bgo member and know this to be crap! Essendon have supported the BB strongly. It's true people havent embraced the concept, but the culture of the community of Bendigo is so parochial they couldnt see an opportunity if it was gift wrapped. Being a 100,000 population regional centre with an AFL link is an outstanding opportunity for those interested in playing at elite level. Instead mediocrity reigns supreme and they listen to the old hacks and settle for second best. Anyone with half a brain knows the QEO is overused and chopped up, and the game against Coburg was in substandard conditions. I suggest the outcome of the "inspection" was evident to all, including the AFL, before it was completed.
The Bendigo Bombers are not at fault at all, the City Council are the controllers of the ground and responsible for the scheduling. The Council stuffed up putting lights on and stuffed up the upgrade of the surface. Football is the loser because its about other people, not the future of the game in regional victoria.

thatswhatimtalkinabout
4 Jun 2009, 20:40
TWITA makes the following remark - "Whilst I can't substantiate the veracity of the above claim, it would be pretty fair to say the strength of the relationship between Bendigo & Essendon is pretty tenuous at best.

People up here no longer really care, and to tell you the truth they never really embraced them in the first place."

I'm a Bgo member and know this to be crap! Essendon have supported the BB strongly. It's true people havent embraced the concept, but the culture of the community of Bendigo is so parochial they couldnt see an opportunity if it was gift wrapped. Being a 100,000 population regional centre with an AFL link is an outstanding opportunity for those interested in playing at elite level. Instead mediocrity reigns supreme and they listen to the old hacks and settle for second best. Anyone with half a brain knows the QEO is overused and chopped up, and the game against Coburg was in substandard conditions. I suggest the outcome of the "inspection" was evident to all, including the AFL, before it was completed.
The Bendigo Bombers are not at fault at all, the City Council are the controllers of the ground and responsible for the scheduling. The Council stuffed up putting lights on and stuffed up the upgrade of the surface. Football is the loser because its about other people, not the future of the game in regional victoria.

Okay DD - you tell me I'm talking crap and then pretty much go on to agree with me and then blame the Bendigo community for not embracing the Bombers?

It just has never really worked here I'm afraid - there has been a pretty average relationship with the local league IMO and unfortunately you just don't build allegiance and passion over a decade.

Ultimately whose responsibility is that anyway? The Diggers/Bombers to go out and try and win some hearts and minds or the Bendigo community?

Just as a matter of interest;

http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/rfnews/essendon-considers-dumping-bendigo/2009/06/03/1243708507024.html

Essendon considers dumping Bendigo
Brent Diamond | June 4, 2009

ESSENDON appears likely to ditch its VFL partner, the Bendigo Bombers, and enter a stand-alone team in the competition next season.
The Dons, whose affiliation with Bendigo expires at the end of the season, are expected to join Geelong and Collingwood as stand-alone VFL clubs. It is a decision that would put Bendigo at risk of folding in the VFL due to its shallow talent pool.
"We've been looking at different models and stand-alone is one of them," Essendon football manager Paul Hamilton said.
"Our first aim is to review what our options are and we're in discussions with our Bendigo group, that's where we're at at the moment."
It is understood Essendon is frustrated at seeing its fringe senior players, most recently Scott Lucas, Brent Prismall, Andrew Welsh and Darcy Daniher, compete in a team that is being beaten by large margins.
The alignment is also seen to be one of the more fragile in the competition, according to insiders at Essendon.
The travel factor has also been problematic for the players and coaches, and is "hard work", according to coach Adrian Hickmott.
"I travel up here every second week," Hickmott said.
"I keep saying to these blokes, it's like going to Western Australia."
After eight rounds, the winless Bendigo Bombers are on the bottom of the VFL ladder with a percentage of 48.75, having twice lost by 100 points or more.
They lost by 112 points to Sandringham on Sunday.
"No one likes losing, but it's not the No. 1 criteria," Hamilton said.
"We're certainly happy with getting into the market of Bendigo and the community up there but there are other areas that we'd also have to look at."
AFL Victoria chief executive Peter Schwab said there weren't criteria in place for a set number of AFL teams that could stand alone in the VFL, but he said all teams had to apply through AFLV.
While AFLV holds the cards in shutting down such applications, the VFL has the potential to grow into an AFL reserves competition in future years if AFL clubs prefer to go down the stand-alone path.
A partnership with financially stricken Frankston is also a possibility for the Bombers, with the second-last Dolphins desperate for financial help and success.
Essendon will decide in August on its future in the VFL.
Bendigo chairman David Joss said it would be a challenge for the team to remain viable in the VFL if it parted ways with the Bombers.
"It would certainly be a challenge for the talent pool that's available to us," Joss said. "We did recruit really hard, but the reality is the Bendigo market isn't great in attracting talent."
He said the club was also reviewing its situation after "a disappointing start to the season".
"We're looking at all options and that's (splitting with Essendon) got to be one," Joss said. "But the reality is that AFL Victoria mightn't accept any more stand-alone AFL clubs in the VFL."

Now **** me, the coach thinks that driving an hour and a quarter up the road is like going to ****ing Perth, when at the same time they are talking Frankston, shorter in distance, longer in travel time - what does that tell you about the committment?

market
6 Jun 2009, 10:22

The travel factor has also been problematic for the players and coaches, and is "hard work", according to coach Adrian Hickmott.
"I travel up here every second week," Hickmott said.
"I keep saying to these blokes, it's like going to Western Australia."

Now **** me, the coach thinks that driving an hour and a quarter up the road is like going to ****ing Perth, when at the same time they are talking Frankston, shorter in distance, longer in travel time - what does that tell you about the committment?

Pretty funny....

I always think, making the trip back from Melbourne to Perth after a Hawks game, "what a chore, can't wait to get back to the MCG"....

But it sounds like nothing in comparison to the journey undertaken by the Bombers up to Bendigo....:eek:

If its really like that, may as well get the Bombers to affiliate with a WAFL team (plenty of strong ones around - where Scott Lucas and co won't have to play in a team that gets beaten by 100 points etc....), I mean its the same as going to Bendigo, right?

thatswhatimtalkinabout
6 Jun 2009, 10:47
If its really like that, may as well get the Bombers to affiliate with a WAFL team (plenty of strong ones around - where Scott Lucas and co won't have to play in a team that gets beaten by 100 points etc....), I mean its the same as going to Bendigo, right?

Nice.:thumbsu:

I might head over to the Bombers board and make that very suggestion......ahhhh, given my history on opposition boards, perhaps not.....

Rudi Gilham
7 Jun 2009, 11:00
This could be closer to the final line-up for tomorrow's game against Bendigo. With wet weather forecast, I wouldn't be surprise if there were some doubts over Whitecross, Gilham & Ladson playing.

Skipworth, Welsh and Nash could be danger players for Bendigo.

B Curnow Markovic Gibson

HB Whitecross Gilham Kiel

C Dowler Iles Morton

HF Ladson Lisle Smithwick

F Yze Schoenmakers Pederson

R Walsh
RR J Kennedy

R Kenna

Ic: Breust, Bello, Smith, Dyson

Emerg: Neil, Sierakowski, Conyers, Nye

CrowdedHouse
7 Jun 2009, 15:00
2pm Start time at Windy Hill.

Someone will have to give SMS updates, as there will be no radio coverage tomorrow :(

Pete.

Neville Bartos
8 Jun 2009, 10:41
This could be closer to the final line-up for tomorrow's game against Bendigo. With wet weather forecast, I wouldn't be surprise if there were some doubts over Whitecross, Gilham & Ladson playing.

Skipworth, Welsh and Nash could be danger players for Bendigo.

B Curnow Markovic Gibson

HB Whitecross Gilham Kiel

C Dowler Iles Morton

HF Ladson Lisle Smithwick

F Yze Schoenmakers Pederson

R Walsh
RR J Kennedy

R Kenna

Ic: Breust, Bello, Smith, Dyson

Emerg: Neil, Sierakowski, Conyers, Nye
And obviously no Shoenmakers or Tuck.

TheWrench
8 Jun 2009, 13:13

And apparently Lisle is out with a back injury, maybe why Schoey got the call up yesterday ahead of Lisle.

bender22
8 Jun 2009, 15:08
Apparently - Box Hill 40, Bendigo 2.

Laddo and Gilham kicking ass.

noosa hawk mad
8 Jun 2009, 15:09
Any scores guys????

noosa hawk mad
8 Jun 2009, 15:11

Laddo and Gilham kicking ass.Great news mate cheers for the update!:thumbsu:

djboonie
8 Jun 2009, 15:18

Laddo and Gilham kicking ass.

No idea who is playing well, so I'll take that bender! :thumbsu:

Half Time

2009 VFL Seniors
Bendigo Bombers 0.2 1.3 . .
Box Hill Hawks 2.2 6.4 . .

madhawkboy
8 Jun 2009, 15:21
Is there any radio stream going on?

Goldhawk
8 Jun 2009, 15:25
Box Hill Reserve's won 21.14.140 def. Bendigo 5.8.38

Half time Box Hill 6.4.40

Bendigo 1.3.9

djboonie
8 Jun 2009, 15:25
Dont think so. :(

madhawkboy
8 Jun 2009, 15:29
Dang. How are you guys getting this information?

Goldhawk
8 Jun 2009, 15:33
http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-118-0-0-0&sID=60264&&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=9182558&sectionID=60264

Try this web site...then click on progressive qrt by qrt scores

madhawkboy
8 Jun 2009, 15:40
Cheers GH

moistie
8 Jun 2009, 15:43
Rain is coming down fairly heavily at the moment in Essendon.

aquila
8 Jun 2009, 15:57
Considering that Bendigo's % is 49 and the essendon boards are celebrating kicking a goal at half time, i don't think that this game should be anything other than getting game time into our returning senior players.

djboonie
8 Jun 2009, 16:06
2009 VFL Seniors
Bendigo Bombers 0.2 1.3 2.5 .
Box Hill Hawks 2.2 6.4 11.11 .

hawks_time
8 Jun 2009, 16:51
Anyone attend the game and able to provide a match report?

fishguts
8 Jun 2009, 16:57
Just on the Essendon/Bendigo relationship, I can confirm that TWITA's comments are correct. Essendon are only in buisness with Bendigo as a cost saving venture, and with the lack of locals wanting to play VFL but rather play local leagues, there isn't the talent to be competitive. Plus the drive out every 2nd week isn't very liked by the senior players.

Essendon if it can get a license, will become a stand alone team as of next year.

fishguts
8 Jun 2009, 16:58
Considering that Bendigo's % is 49 and the essendon boards are celebrating kicking a goal at half time, i don't think that this game should be anything other than getting game time into our returning senior players.

A good game for bendigo is avoiding a 200 point loss in the reserves and a 100 point loss in the seniors unfortunately.

Messenger
8 Jun 2009, 17:01
Anyone attend the game and able to provide a match report?

Left at half time in advance of the monsoon. Bendigo are rubbish so all you can hope for is no injuries. The Bombers really crowded the midfield to slow things up, but as soon as Box Hill got any space they were off to the races.
Box Hill are kicking to Pedersen and Yze in trying conditions, so with a better forward set up (Dowler CHB), we would flog them senseless.

Gilham played and so far so good. Didn't have much to do, which is just as you would want it.

Ladson out there too I believe.

No hawks setting the world on fire. It's a slog.

Pessimistic
8 Jun 2009, 17:06
I am assuming the Box Hill hawks alignment is still going well, but would we now be the only alignment to stay the course ?

Leafie
8 Jun 2009, 17:10
I just got back from the game.

Ladson was pretty good, got alot of the ball and provided alot of run from the half back line. Possibly ready to come back next week if need be.

Gilly started well but got tired towards the end, needs another week in the magoos for match fitness.

I noticed them playing the zone set up at certain points, trying to drill into the young guys on how the structure works. I like it!

X man(big cut on his lip from that bald moron!), Lewy, Boiler( limping bad, poor bloke), Bailey(He is bloody tall, lets hope he get on the park sometime in the near future), Rough, B Mac and Susie. They were all sitting around me. Oh ozzy aswell.

RustyHawk
8 Jun 2009, 17:28
Final Scores

Box Hill: 13.13.91

Bendigo: 06.05.44

+ 47 point victory to the Box Hill Hawks.

Normza
8 Jun 2009, 17:35
2009 VFL Seniors
Bendigo Bombers 0.2 1.3 2.5 6.8 (44)
Box Hill Hawks 2.2 6.4 11.11 13.13 (91)

GOALS:
Bendigo Bombers: German Crameri Daniher Quinn Malone Bristow
Box Hill Hawks: Smithwick 3 Gibson 2 Morton Dyson Pedersen Iles Fagan Breust Kennedy Yze

BEST:
Bendigo Bombers: German Welsh Atkinson Bristow Daniher Quinn
Box Hill Hawks: Iles Curnow Ladson Smithwick Gibson Neil

REPORTED PLAYERS:
Bendigo Bombers: Nil
Box Hill Hawks: Nil

Mervyn Beasley
8 Jun 2009, 17:40
Did Whitecross and Dowler play??

Anyone.

Cheers:)

Rudi Gilham
8 Jun 2009, 17:43

Or Whitecross. Or Lisle.

Rudi Gilham
8 Jun 2009, 17:46
And apparently Lisle is out with a back injury, maybe why Schoey got the call up yesterday ahead of Lisle.

It's a worry f he has a back injury. Wasn't that what ruined his pre season?

Good to see my man Ed Curnow in the best again.

Collins-Langford-Ayres
8 Jun 2009, 18:49
Thanks for the updates guys. Really nice that Laddo came through well.

Assume both he and Gilham will get another game at BH, particularly with the short mid-game duration.

arads
8 Jun 2009, 18:56
Did Whitecross and Dowler play??

Anyone.

Cheers:)

Dowler played a good game. Wasn't an easy game for the taller boys or the fowards, pretty scrappy stuff for most of it. Was great to see Laddo get a kick, but he missed an absolute sitter of a goal from virtually the tip of the goal square. Didn't just miss it either, absolutely shanked it! Great to see Gilham back getting a kick, played really well in defence and half back.

Good turn out at Windy Hill, would have been a few thousand. Was a dissapointing last quarter but the game was all over anyway, only percentage to gain.

Pessimistic
8 Jun 2009, 18:57
Ladson would be Cyrils replacement surely ?

bards
8 Jun 2009, 19:36
Box Hill have no game next week (I think), which is annoying as I would love Ladson and Gilham to have one more. Might rush Gilly back for Bradshaw, otherwise Dowler would have to come in to cover him, with Bob to take Brown.

EDIT: Jut checked and the VFL also have a split round, with Box Hill playing on Sunday 21st, so yes, a week off.

DannyJ
8 Jun 2009, 21:35
Box Hill have no game next week (I think), which is annoying as I would love Ladson and Gilham to have one more. Might rush Gilly back for Bradshaw, otherwise Dowler would have to come in to cover him, with Bob to take Brown.

EDIT: Jut checked and the VFL also have a split round, with Box Hill playing on Sunday 21st, so yes, a week off.

Can't afford to rush them. May aswell wait until after the break and give them every chance to be right for the last 10 matches of the season.

I would love them to announce Croads return via Box Hill in the next couple of weeks. It would all be falling into place then.

The way I see it (Premiership absentees return to senior team);

Ladson- Rnd 13
Gilham-Rnd 13
Young- Rnd 15 (Gives him a week at Box Hill in the Rnd 14 week)
Rioli- Round 14-15 (Hope he's right for the Dogs, but don't take a risk)
Brown- Rnd 12-13 (His knee might need another week, but he will prob play vs. Brisbane)

Croad- Indefinite (I've heard so many stories from a Rnd 13 return to career over). I really hope we can get him 100% during the 2nd half of the season.
Crawford- Retired

go hawks!!!
8 Jun 2009, 21:38
my commenyts from a freezing day at windy hill today....

gr8 to see lado and gilham playing, i was going to run on and give gilham my jacket so he did not catch a cold

gilham: was beaten twice in the 3rd quarter one on one otherwise was great, his disposal is sorely missed...hope he got through unscatched......i will say given 6 day recovery time, he will not play next week....

lado: brillinat to see him.....even took a strong mark inside 50 but missed...good disposal

dowler: well played wing, then forward than back....lacked confidence in the wet, gave away 2 goals in last quarter due to clangers....feel sorry for him...should not have lost his place, but mentally needs to be stronger if he loses his confidence so easy

morton: nightmare!!! nothing more

kennedy: best game all year....played brilliant in the centre, then stayed up forward, could be a strategic move to turn him into a midfielder who can play forward .

bruest: this guy is a star....great composure!

ummm who else

smithwick is great

walsh...few good marks thats all

no lisle

great to see gilham and lado in there, and hope they both recover ok.....i must say...gilham does not look 'shaped' arms and body wise....i would have like him to bulk a little, but then i am critical