View Full Version : What cricket nation or nations do you hate?

Mcchawk
14 Feb 2003, 07:41
Bugger cricket now being a gentlemans game.At present I hate India and Pakistan in fact it's been like that for sometime now. Both are cheats, I'd say the Poms but at least they play (though badly) within the rules.

Which nation or nations do you hate.

DaveW
14 Feb 2003, 07:57
Love beating England.

GOALden Hawk
14 Feb 2003, 08:37
All of them!

In particular Sri Lanka, South Africa, Pakistan and England.

dogboy23
14 Feb 2003, 09:30
South Africa.Very overated team and I dont like there approach to the game although it has changed a little since Pollock became captain.

St-KriS
14 Feb 2003, 09:32
Basically just South Africa, no other team really annoys me. But I love beating England.

iceman
14 Feb 2003, 09:37
South Africa

noodle
14 Feb 2003, 11:05
Sri Lanka has a history of bitching and crying when things don't go there way but other than that I like playing them.

South Africa gets my vote.

tiger of old
14 Feb 2003, 11:13
HATE
Sri-Lanka any side that use,s there race to hide behind and use to their advantage[mulli] i have no respect for.this stems back to their former capt[cant think of his name].

England i dont hate them as such but always loves to give them a flogging.

Dont Mind

South Africa despite their arrogance there style of play isnt to far off the mark to ours even tho we have the wood over them.

India because of one player.tendukar.2nd only to the great bradman.

cheers!

Becker
14 Feb 2003, 11:22
I don't hate them, but Sri Lanka annoys the hell out of me.

The Hippie
14 Feb 2003, 11:29
Originally posted by tiger of old
HATE
Sri-Lanka.this stems back to their former capt[cant think of his name].

Arjuna "you can't have a runner because you're fat!!" (Thank you, Ian Healy :D ) Ranatunga. Yeah, he annoyed the crap outta me too.

Perty4
14 Feb 2003, 11:39
At the risk of being branded a racist (i also hate south africa) i hate Sri Lanka and India. they are no better than a grade level side when they play out here. Yet over there they play some amazing cricket, it annoys me how inconsistent they can be. The fact that Murali has got an amazing percentage of wickets on Asian pitches helps his record no doubt. (So does 9 for at the oval though i guess). the way we were murdered by umpire Venkat on our last tour of India , where he had his finger up WITH THE APPEAL. The fact that these fans trash stadiums and start riots when their side is losing show how passionate (and criminal!) they are.

I just cant wait until we play India over there again, i have no doubt their will not be a repeat of the VVS Laxman episode.
To beat them is like winning a footy game in Adelaide or Perth (for a melbourne side), just the joy of winning on their home soil, against the odds. much like the South African series.

GoEagles
14 Feb 2003, 14:00
I don't hate any nation, but I get worked up when we play South Africa and India.

South Africa are expected to win this World Cup, since it's at home for them. I'd love to see the Aussies beat them at a full house final in J'burg!

India - I love the way they are so passionate about cricket. It's a religion to them. They worship their players and while they have a healthy respect for Australia, they won't believe India can get beaten until they see it for themselves.

lamby29
14 Feb 2003, 14:25
South Africa- overrated, arrogant team.

mattyc2422
14 Feb 2003, 15:22
South Africa, Sri Lanka, Pakistan are the main three.

Catman
14 Feb 2003, 15:27
Pakistan, because they are cheats.

They will probably sue me for that now! :D

Bomber Spirit
14 Feb 2003, 15:43
Sri Lanka - because they play the race card and create diplomatic incidents. They are umpire-shoppers and Murali was cleared not because his action is legitimate (which it clearly isn't) but because Sri Lanka moaned and whinged and made it a test of diplomacy rather than because of the laws of cricket.
Pakistan - match-fixers under Salim Malik, now Ra$hid LaSpiv going to the courts in an unprincipled get-rich-quick scheme.

red+black
14 Feb 2003, 16:38
bangladesh

what a team of no-hopers. shouldn't have full-ICC status for 10 years+. they don't need cricket, they need condoms and food

i'd rather play a test against canada. could play with an orange ball in the snow!

Svea Rike
14 Feb 2003, 16:50
South Africa - hate 'em

red+black
14 Feb 2003, 16:55
Afghanistan, Iraq, and North Korea

what was the question?

Mr Eagle
14 Feb 2003, 17:29
Bloody Canadians. They should go back to Canadia or Quebecistan or wherever it is they come from...

ScouseCat
14 Feb 2003, 17:31
Originally posted by GoEagles
I don't hate any nation

I don't hate any other cricketing nation either. I like to see a good quality game, even if Australia get beaten. The best series I have seen remains the 2001 Australian tour of India even though we lost the series 2-1.

bulldogs1
14 Feb 2003, 17:34
Sri Lanka. Easily.

shiva25
14 Feb 2003, 18:14
Bangladesh for being the most pitiful cricket playing nation around.4 for 5 after the first over against the pretty ordinary SriLankans.
The World cup will turn into a joke if they keep letting these countries play

GhostofJimJess
14 Feb 2003, 20:19
Don't hate any of them ...

Originally posted by shiva25

The World cup will turn into a joke if they keep letting these countries play

No ... International cricket will turn into a joke if cricketing authorities continue to allow the gap between the "haves" and the "have nots" to continue to widen. Countries like the West Indies need some serious assistance from countries such as Australia who have "got it right" off the field.

Obviously a salary cap or a draft are both out of the question, but the tedium and repetition in watching the Aussies smash opposition teams out here year after year will eventually grind the game into the ground. We need to save others to ultimately save ourselves.

I love cricket far more than I love Australian cricket.

clucas91
14 Feb 2003, 20:25
Originally posted by GhostofJimJess
Don't hate any of them ...

No ... International cricket will turn into a joke if cricketing authorities continue to allow the gap between the "haves" and the "have nots" to continue to widen. Countries like the West Indies need some serious assistance from countries such as Australia who have "got it right" off the field.

Obviously a salary cap or a draft are both out of the question, but the tedium and repetition in watching the Aussies smash opposition teams out here year after year will eventually grind the game into the ground. We need to save others to ultimately save ourselves.

I love cricket far more than I love Australian cricket.

Hear hear,

I have been saying this for ages!

Nige_Bix
14 Feb 2003, 20:54
Same here - well almost - I still get a bit niggly when we lose - especially tests!

Port01
14 Feb 2003, 21:30
Sri Lanka for having a sook and complaining about racism every time something goes against them, when they are proud of the lengths people like Ranatunga went to "stick it up them", ie cheat.

India whenever Dalmiya opens his trap.

West Indies for Michael Holdings sulking commentary.

South Africa for claiming the Test Championship was rightfully theirs.

Pakistan for being Dalmiyas little puppy.

Bangladesh for being a test country for nothing else but a vote in the ICC for the subcontinent.

Zimbabwe (well, cant really have a go at them right now)

New Zealand for being captained by Phlegming, and somehow thinking a cricket team consists of 9 average allrounders with maybe a bowler and a batsmen for balance.

England, well, they are poms.

scmods
14 Feb 2003, 21:32
Dont' hate nations as such, but there were two players I hated, and by extension their teams at the time.

Arjuna Ranatunga and Salim Malik. "Hate" really isn't the word - more just a total lack of any respect for them as human beings.

Since they left I have no problems with either of their countries. And I don't think it was any coincidence that relations between the Australian players and the Sri Lankans and Pakistanis (recent incidents notwithstanding) improved markedly once those two were out of the way.

Destructive
14 Feb 2003, 21:55
Originally posted by DaveW
Love beating England.

I think everybody loves beating England.

Perty4
14 Feb 2003, 23:16
Originally posted by GhostofJimJess

. Countries like the West Indies need some serious assistance from countries such as Australia who have "got it right" off the field.

to be honest, i think Australia learnt off the Windies after their invinibility of the 70's 80s and 90s.

And why do the west indies need a helping hand? They are anj improving side with good experienced players (Lara, Hooper, Chanderpaul) and awesome youngsters (Powell, Gayle, Sarwan and Lawson). They are in a fantastic position at the moment, far better than most nations.

St-KriS
14 Feb 2003, 23:19
Originally posted by ScouseCat
The best series I have seen remains the 2001 Australian tour of India even though we lost the series 2-1.

I know this is off the topic, but I have to agree with that. Amazing series. It was exactly what cricket needed at the time during all the bribing trials.

red+black
14 Feb 2003, 23:25
yeah, but it didn't get vvs laxman anywhere. not in the world cup, and his last effort was a pair of golden ducks playing against a west indies a side (not sure of the opponent).

St-KriS
14 Feb 2003, 23:27
Originally posted by red+black
yeah, but it didn't get vvs laxman anywhere. not in the world cup, and his last effort was a pair of golden ducks playing against a west indies a side (not sure of the opponent).

After that the India/Australian series I thought for sure he was the next superstar...what on earth happened to him?! :confused:

Kenny_01
15 Feb 2003, 01:57
Hate pakistan.

crudbucket
15 Feb 2003, 14:03
My dislike of Pakistan goes all the way back to Javed Miandad, a player I regard as the most arrogant cheat that ever wore whites. (could bat though, I'll give him that...)

Sri Lanka, same reason (read Ranatunga for Miandad).

I love beating the Windies, but certainly don't hate them, just a little payback for the 20 years of beltings they gave us.

I love beating England, because England are England and they are the old enemy ....

New Zealand....yawn ....

Zimbabwe, Bangla Desh,(non events)

goal_umpire
15 Feb 2003, 16:08
I don't hate any of the other cricket nations. I just love it when Australia wins against them.

I love seeing the Kiwis play Australia also India playing Australia.

The rivallry between England and Australia is great also.

What I hate is bad sportsmanship. For example Wacquar Younis deliberately bowling full tosses.
Racism

GoEagles
15 Feb 2003, 16:24
Originally posted by Mr Eagle
Bloody Canadians. They should go back to Canadia or Quebecistan or wherever it is they come from...

Heh 'Quebecistan' - those darn wanna-be frenchies!

Canada are hoping they will be able to host several pool matches in the 2007 World Cup in the West Indies / Northern America.

GhostofJimJess
15 Feb 2003, 21:05
Originally posted by Perty4
to be honest, i think Australia learnt off the Windies after their invinibility of the 70's 80s and 90s.

And why do the west indies need a helping hand? They are anj improving side with good experienced players (Lara, Hooper, Chanderpaul) and awesome youngsters (Powell, Gayle, Sarwan and Lawson). They are in a fantastic position at the moment, far better than most nations.

The gap between the current crop of developing Aussie youngsters and those of the Caribbean is far more pronounced than you think, perty ... in Australia's favor.

Our boys have the world's best coaches, best facilities, medical resources, training programs, domestic infrastructure, post-career opportunities, payola, and the list goes on.

The Windies suffered big time from the basketball epidemic which wreaked havoc in the Caribbean during the 90's, and the players we see at the World Cup are basically what they've got! The infestation of soccer in their culture also far more pronounced and dangerous to cricket than in our country.

The future for West Indian cricket is far bleaker than you might think. Some decisive, resolute assistance from the "haves" is crucial.

KangaFett
15 Feb 2003, 21:12
Sri Lanka by a mile for me to....

same reasons as everyone else plus the fact that there suppose to be sportsman, but the sulk soon as they dont get there own way - there like 14 yo private school boys .....they have some talent, try using it!

other than that....would you believe Australia

There our team I support them and they have great skill....but of all the great sports people we have in this country these cricketers must rank heavily in the top 10 ****ers list.....they jump up and down, do idiotic things off the field....they are disgraceful! You dont see to many sports people in any other codes conducting themselves like Australian cricketers.

Its like a bunch of early Julian O'Niels (hope I spelt it right!)

roostersgal4eva
16 Feb 2003, 12:48
Originally posted by Bomber Spirit
Sri Lanka - because they play the race card and create diplomatic incidents. They are umpire-shoppers and Murali was cleared not because his action is legitimate (which it clearly isn't) but because Sri Lanka moaned and whinged and made it a test of diplomacy rather than because of the laws of cricket.

Pakistan - match-fixers under Salim Malik, now Ra$hid LaSpiv going to the courts in an unprincipled get-rich-quick scheme.

Spot on Bomber Spirit - cant stand the pakies and sri lankans & i luv it when we beat them

ive got a new found repect for england after the stance they took with zim - it would be unjust if the missed the super six buy a point or by run-rate....

but i still luv giving it to them :D (3-1, 3-1, 3-1, 3-1 :D)

Goldenblue
17 Feb 2003, 07:30
South Africa

Pretenders to the throne.

Generalissimo
17 Feb 2003, 08:47
Bangladesh cos we never get to play them.

I reckon that while the Aussie top 13 or 14 are playing against genuine test sides like Pakistan and Sri Lanka the Aussies should send over a second-string squad to play against Bangladesh. That way our youngsters get to do a bit of development and Bangladesh get some much needed practice against a side that may not blow them away in the first 15 overs.

I also dislike South Africa. Sri Lanka I don't mind because Aravinda de Silva is a dynamo and Jayasuriya squints all the time.

Still Crowing
18 Feb 2003, 10:07
Originally posted by Mr Eagle

Ah...Quebecistan..."the land where everybody is shacking up, and the legal drinking age is just a suggestion!.....je m'appelle Guy, and I am not a Canadian!" ;)

Kasey

PS Better than being a Newfie though! ;) *ducks*

Still Crowing
18 Feb 2003, 10:15
Originally posted by Generalissimo
Bangladesh cos we never get to play them.

I reckon that while the Aussie top 13 or 14 are playing against genuine test sides like Pakistan and Sri Lanka the Aussies should send over a second-string squad to play against Bangladesh. That way our youngsters get to do a bit of development and Bangladesh get some much needed practice against a side that may not blow them away in the first 15 overs.

<snipped>

I believe we are playing Bangladesh once or twice in the 'off' season up in Cairns (Bundy Rum Stadium) and Darwin (Marrara) during the dry season. Under ICC rules, we 'have' to play all test nations home and away in a 4 year period. This is how South Africa suddenly became the No 1 test nation *cough * bullsh|t *cough*....by playing and beating the minnows (Zimbabwe, Bangledesh etc) even though we caned their ar.ses 5-1 at home and away.

Generalissimo
18 Feb 2003, 15:19
Originally posted by Still Crowing
I believe we are playing Bangladesh once or twice in the 'off' season up in Cairns (Bundy Rum Stadium) and Darwin (Marrara) during the dry season. Under ICC rules, we 'have' to play all test nations home and away in a 4 year period. This is how South Africa suddenly became the No 1 test nation *cough * bullsh|t *cough*....by playing and beating the minnows (Zimbabwe, Bangledesh etc) even though we caned their ar.ses 5-1 at home and away.

Let them have their moment in the sun. When we beat Zimbabwe and Bangladesh we will be well ahead of South Africa, and our #1 spot will stick.

Everyone knows that we are the best test nation, even if we are not officially #1. Yet.

Bombers 2003
18 Feb 2003, 15:39
AUSTRALIA.
Because of B.Lee,D.Hair,Emerson etc

scmods
18 Feb 2003, 16:36
Originally posted by Bombers 2003
AUSTRALIA.
Because of D.Hair,Emerson etc
Wow! Didn't even know they played for Australia!

Still Crowing
18 Feb 2003, 17:00
Originally posted by scmods
Wow! Didn't even know they played for Australia!

If you ask Sri Lanka (esp. Ranatunga), Darrell Hair always plays as twelth man for Australia......ooh ooh he's picking on us 'cos we're black.....ooh ooh, and also 'cos we're the poor hard done by nice guy Sri Lankans. Whingers! The only thing worse than playing the race card to get what you want is people using their sex/sexuality to get what they want.

dr nick
18 Feb 2003, 18:07
The only thing worse than playing the race card to get what you want is people using their sex/sexuality to get what they want.

aint that the truth. political correctness gone mad. socialist criminals running the show.

Becker
19 Feb 2003, 06:30
I don't care what Sri Lanka thinks, I've had enough of their crap.

Brett Li
19 Feb 2003, 06:37
South Africa...by a distance

Brett Li
19 Feb 2003, 06:39
Originally posted by Destructive
I think everybody loves beating England.

?????:confused:

Generalissimo
19 Feb 2003, 08:48
Originally posted by nicko18
aint that the truth. political correctness gone mad. socialist criminals running the show.

I don't know about 'socialist criminals'. Just idiots who use political correctness to mask their own inadequacies as a person.

"He must be yelling at me because I'm Asian, not because I'm a petty loser.", or "I have no employment prospects because I am a woman, not because I am incompetent and grossly unqualified.", or "They call me a slob because I am male, not because I don't wash under my armpits."

I think it was Sam Vimes in the ever popular Discworld books who said, 'Just because someone is a member of an ethnic minority doesn't mean they're not a nasty small-minded little jerk."

Bombers 2003
19 Feb 2003, 15:54
If you ask Sri Lanka (esp. Ranatunga), Darrell Hair always plays as twelth man for Australia......ooh ooh he's picking on us 'cos we're black.....ooh ooh, and also 'cos we're the poor hard done by nice guy Sri Lankans. Whingers! The only thing worse than playing the race card to get what you want is people using their sex/sexuality to get what they want. Well the first part's right anyway,he certainly does act as 12th man in some games.But what i cant UNDERSTAND is Racism,NEVER HAVE.NEVER WILL.