View Full Version : everyone needs introductions
_espoir
14th February 2003, 10:44
well, since i saw a few people i know on here i thought i might as well join my fellow port fans
*ahem* Hi, my name is Amanda a 21 year old
I'm currently a part time sports photographer for one of the pros that does shots around the ground...
my father used to play for the B grades along with my grandpa and great grandpa for port maggies... other than that anything you wanna know just ask
Eago77
14th February 2003, 10:53
Originally posted by _espoir
well, since i saw a few people i know on here i thought i might as well join my fellow port fans
I'm currently a part time sports photographer for one of the pros that does shots around the ground...
my father used to play for the B grades along with my grandpa and great grandpa for port maggies... other than that anything you wanna know just ask
Wow, good family history you have there! How many games did they play for the mighty magpies?
noddy
14th February 2003, 10:53
All these new signings are starting to look a little sus if you ask me, how many more alias can you come up with dk?? ;)
Eago77
14th February 2003, 10:54
Got any good photos that we might not of seen before?
Eago77
14th February 2003, 10:55
Originally posted by noddy
All these new signings are starting to look a little sus if you ask me, how many more alias can you come up with dk?? ;)
Doubt it's dk as there isn't enough........................... of those thingys..................!
_espoir
14th February 2003, 10:56
Originally posted by Eago77
Wow, good family history you have there! How many games did they play for the mighty magpies?
wow i'm gonna have to check up on that one, my great grandpa was the head trainer (eek sorry looked at the wrong person) of the 1936 permires with my grandpa as capatin
other wise i'll have to check up, my dad didn't play many games broke his thumb in the ruck then started working and never went back to it, used to play with Brian Cunningham for a short while (went to the same schools) i on the other hand went to primary school with Dew..
Macca19
14th February 2003, 11:03
wow i'm gonna have to check up on that one, my great grandpa was the coach of the 1936 permires with my grandpa as capatin
Your great Grandpa is Shine Hosking??
Eago77
14th February 2003, 11:10
wow i'm gonna have to check up on that one, my great grandpa was the coach of the 1936 permires with my grandpa as capatin
other wise i'll have to check up, my dad didn't play many games broke his thumb in the ruck then started working and never went back to it, used to play with Brian Cunningham for a short while (went to the same schools) i on the other hand went to primary school with Dew..
1936:
Port - first (again!!!)
Coach - S Hosking (MM 1910) (coach 21, 27-31 & 36-38, also coach of PA-WT 42-44) (captain part of 1912) (B&F 1910)
Captain - J Dermody (captain 36-37), (B&F 33 & 35)
_espoir
14th February 2003, 11:13
have no idea what you are talking about lol
as for photos?
http://ne.netkitten.net/misc/portvsessedon.JPG
http://ne.netkitten.net/sports/5.JPG
http://ne.netkitten.net/carr.JPG
(not football but Stuart O'Grady)
http://ne.netkitten.net/misc/sg.jpg
(OH nooo sorry HEAD TRAINER was my great grandpa!.. not choach my bad sorry!! )
_espoir
14th February 2003, 11:28
1936:
Port - first (again!!!)
Coach - S Hosking (MM 1910) (coach 21, 27-31 & 36-38, also coach of PA-WT 42-44) (captain part of 1912) (B&F 1910)
Captain - J Dermody (captain 36-37), (B&F 33 & 35)
look for C.Andersen Jrn (or Snr) he was captain for a bit... his dad (great grandpa) was head trainer ..i read the wrong thing...
dreamkillers
14th February 2003, 11:30
I only need the one noddy......unlike a few of your mates on the cows board who have been caught out before........:D
dreamkillers
14th February 2003, 11:49
Welcome to the Port board Amanda.......
Again it's great to see so many new Port supporters on the board.
Perhaps it might be a good time for everyone to add a little piece about themselves as an introduction to all.
Name: Stephen
Location: Darwin (been in the NT for 9 years - originally from Adelaide)
AFL Team: Port Adelaide
SANFL Team: Port Adelaide Magpies
Membership/Season Tickets: Full Member of both Port clubs and Cat 1 Footy Park with GF anchor as well as co-ordinator of the Port Adelaide Top End Supporters Group
Other Teams: 36'ers, any NT sporting team and any Australian side
Footy/Club History in the family: My Grandfather played for West Adelaide in the 1920's going on to captain the side and represent SA in interstate footy. He was a life member of the club and played in one of those rare premierships West have achived. My father played for West's U19's with Doug Thomas but saw the light with my mother converting him to Port Adelaide many years ago.
Favourite Premiership and why: 1977.....after the depressing loss in 1976 it was awesome to comeback and win as well as hearing Russell say those immortal words....... .............. "It's been a bloody long time but by gees it;s worth it" as he held up the Cup.
Have to also add 1990 after the crap we copped over the initial AFL bid it was great to come out and thump the Bays........as well as our 3rd in a row which has now happened 3 times during my lifetime already........
Feel free to add any other items you like as we'll expand as we go along............
Pred
14th February 2003, 11:58
I only have 2 claims to fame by association, I think :)
My great grandad was Bos Daly, who played for Norwood, and (I think) North. He still holds the SANFL goalkicking record for a match. He kicked 27 goals in a match (I think for Norwood).
Other than that, my cousin Mark Donovan played for Glenelg (Boo-hiss) in the 80's. He was number 32.
_espoir
14th February 2003, 12:10
i have no idea what numbers my grandpa(s) were... thats something for me to ask my father about.... knowing him he'll tell me the life history and forget the real question i asked...:D
Power Pride
14th February 2003, 12:13
Name: Jenni
Location: Henley Beach (down the road from Josh Francou, around the corner from Cain Ackland, near Nick Stevens, Darryl Wakelin, Warren Tredrea and Damien Hardwick.)
Membership/Season Tickets: Very nearly a Port Magpie full member, just as soon as I get my $50!
Other Teams: Fremantle (I only like to see them do well, they've sucked a bit these past few years, they're due for some success IMO.), Aussie Cricket Team, 36ers.
Footy/Club History in the family: None.. I only moved to Australia in 1993!
Favourite Premiership and why: Never seen one. Hopefully this year! :D:D
Added Item:
Association with either your AFL or SANFL team: I help maintain the Port Magpies website. And YES, it will get better! :D
dreamkillers
14th February 2003, 12:22
Originally posted by Power Pride
I help maintain the Port Magpies website. And YES, it will get better! :D
Do you know the link for the honour board that was done last year.....I couldn't find it on the site but I know it still exists as I have the link on my PC at home.
Might help with a few of the earlier captain and coaching details.
Power Pride
14th February 2003, 12:24
Originally posted by dreamkillers
Do you know the link for the honour board that was done last year.....I couldn't find it on the site but I know it still exists as I have the link on my PC at home.
Might help with a few of the earlier captain and coaching details.
I have absolutely no idea where that went. PM me the link and I'll email Neil and tell him to put it back on, I have some graphics I need to email him anyway.
_espoir
14th February 2003, 12:24
i guess since everyone is doing the status i'll do mine
Name: Amanda
Membership/Season Tickets: I have Port Power, my father has Port magpies/port power
Other Teams: Essendon, (hehe)
Footy/Club History in the family: Only grandpa/great grandpa (played in 1913/14/36 permires)
Association with either your AFL or SANFL team: Well i printed the profile shots of port power.. told the photographer which one i liked best. Printed the Best/Fairest shots this year (if you get the members mag, the shots in there are from Glamour Studios the guy who owns it is giving me sports shots to do around the ground) other than that..... Mathew Clarke (crows) comes into my work gets his photos done, so anyone want blackmail stuff? those crow's parties...another wayne carey thing
anything else?
Macca19
14th February 2003, 13:25
Name: Craig Mckay aka Macca
Membership/Season Tickets: Cat 1 Football Park membership and Full Membership
Other Teams: Manchester United, Barnet Bees, most Adelaide based teams, Mark Webber
Footy/Club History in the family: My grandfather was trainer for a few years a long time ago. Two cousins played for the Magpies. Great Grandmother was life member, used to board players.
Favourite Premiership and why: 1996. We werent expected to win, especially without Poole. Grand Final Day was my 15th birthday so it made it extra special. Scott Hodges dominated which made it even better. Watching the ****y arrogant Centrals supporters who thought the game was won before the match crying after the game made it even more better!
koulagirl22
14th February 2003, 13:26
*edits hers 'cos she's changed since she's done it*
Name: Bernadette
Occupation: University student - 1st year LLB/LP+BA at Flinders
SANFL Team: West Adelaide
Membership/Season Tickets: Port Adelaide/West Adelaide..
Other Teams: Collingwood, Essendon... CANTERBURY! The Kangaroos... oh.. and occasionally Brighton. Arsenal... um...
Footy/Club History in the family: Um... eh-oh... laaalaaaa....
Association with either your AFL or SANFL team: I have a few friends...
Eago77
14th February 2003, 13:35
Name: Kent
Membership/Season Tickets: Cat 1 Football Park membership and Full Membership, PAMFC member
Other Teams: 6ers, Charlton Athletic, WTDCC
Footy/Club History in the family: My family history is more cricket based. Uncle played for Port CC, that's as close as we get.
Favourite Premiership and why: 1990 i think
Association with either your AFL or SANFL team: Sponsor both the Power & the Magpies
Pred
14th February 2003, 13:35
Name: Mike
Location: Tokyo - well near Tokyo anyway. Before that, Adelaide (Glenside - the suburb, not the loony bin).
AFL Team: Port Adelaide (dumb question? :))
Membership/Season Tickets: Nothing at present :~(
Other Teams: Bit of a soft spot for the Dons, and I respect Brisbane (don't like em though). Redbacks and Aussie cricket team I spose. Saitama Reds (local soccer team here). Tokyo Goannas (AFL team). 36ers. Newcastle in the soccer.
Footy/Club History in the family: Like I said in my other post, Bos Daly was my great grand father. Still holds the goalkicking record in the SANFL after kicking 27 goals in a match. Mark Donovan (cousin played for Glenelg). I played VERY briefly for the Parndana footy club on Kangaroo Island (same league as Ladey comes from), and used to play a bit for the Adelaide Uni Blacks.
Favourite Premiership and why: Can't really remember one sticking out, but my favourite final (apart from beating Essendon last year), was the year Hodges won the game with a 50 metre goal from the corner of the 50m arc and the boundary. Against Norwood, wasn't it. Oh, and the 2003 premiership :)
Malibu#27
14th February 2003, 14:04
Name: Matt
Membership/Season Tickets: Season tickets - Getting Membership
Other Teams:
Previous Fan of Carlotn (Craig Bradley), Essendon (Wanganeen), and Collingwood (Buckley) while I was growing up.
36ers, Redbacks ...etc etc etc
Footy/Club History in the family:
Played country footy since I was 10.
Played in numerous underage representative sides (representing Centrals)
Coached local junior side, played 170 odd games of seniors before my back blew up and I had to retire last season. (My body is still trying to convince my head of this fact)
Favourite Premiership and why:
The most recent premiership we won against Norwood - great game fitting result.
The reserves GF we won against Norwood the day Eugene kicked about 5 in the last quarter .... even though the A's lost, I ran into an old friend who was playing for the pies, and got myself back to Alberton complete with a players drink pass, and free access to the entire place :)
[/B]
dreamkillers
14th February 2003, 16:06
Originally posted by Malibu#27
The reserves GF we won against Norwood the day Eugene kicked about 5 in the last quarter .... even though the A's lost, I ran into an old friend who was playing for the pies, and got myself back to Alberton complete with a players drink pass, and free access to the entire place :)
I've got that game on an unofficial video that the club released featuring a slightly drunk Tim Giniver and Barry Curtin commentating - that last quarter effort was pretty amazing by Eugene.
chris17
14th February 2003, 16:10
Name - Chris Niehus
Age - 26
Location - Kent Town
Occupation - Writer/Music Journalist
AFL Team - Port Adelaide
SANFL Team - Port Magpies
Membership/Season Tickets - Power - Season Ticket/Generation Supporter/Sponsor of the Supporters Club...Magpies - Member/Season Ticket
Other Teams - Liverpool, Boston Red Sox
FootyClub/History in the Family - I played under 11's with Alf Steed at Port Districts and Nathan Seal went to my primary school..(semaphore dominican)..beat him up once if i remember correctly..lol Won best first year player award at Port Districts.Played school football at St Michaels with the Kluzaks and Camporeale. Played First 18 at CBC with that guy who once played a few games for Centrals..(yeah must have been good cant remember him)..
Fav. Premiership and why - 1988, because it was the first for ages. 1990 because of the AFL crap that year, and Glenelg taking out a court injunction..(B**tards).
dreamkillers
14th February 2003, 16:16
Originally posted by Pred
but my favourite final (apart from beating Essendon last year), was the year Hodges won the game with a 50 metre goal from the corner of the 50m arc and the boundary. Against Norwood, wasn't it.
96 Prelim where we were over 20 points down as time on started in the last quarter........
As soon as it hit the boot it was going through...........great moment in the club's history.......:D
Nicski
14th February 2003, 19:16
96 Prelim where we were over 20 points down as time on started in the last quarter........
As soon as it hit the boot it was going through...........great moment in the club's history.......:D
Yes that was awesome....grand final was pretty damn good too ;)
Oh and by the way, welcome Amanda (sorry I'm a bit late!) Your pics are awesome :)
Jabsy
15th February 2003, 08:39
I've got that game on tape at home if you wanna borrow it DK...
dreamkillers
15th February 2003, 09:39
Originally posted by Jabsy
I've got that game on tape at home if you wanna borrow it DK...
Thanks for the offer but I've got a copy of it as well.......although you might be able to help out in another way..........
I want to get all the footy vids I've collected over the years transferred onto DVD/VCD which I was planning to do on my trip down south later in the year but was wondering if you knew anyone up here that can do it.........and doesn't charge excessively.
Cheers
Paralowiepower
16th February 2003, 08:42
Name Shane Kelly
Age 31
Location Paralowie
Occupation Warehouse Manager
A.F.L Team Port Adelaide F.C
S.A.N.F.L Team Port Adelaide Magpies F.C
Membership/Season Ticket Both
Other Teams Manchester United (since 83 F.A cup winners over Brighton, plus mum was born in Manchester). Manly even though I am not a big fan of rugby league. Fitzroy in the S.A amature league.
Footy/Club History in the Family Played for Tea Tree Gully P.S, Nailsworth H.S and Morgan. Got picked for Central District Country Team once. Family none that I know of.
Favourite Premiership and Why 1994, great comeback.
1996, great atmosphere. Ansett cup and Wizard cup
Association with either your AFL or SANFL team President of the Port Adelaide metro Supporters Club (AFL)
Nod
16th February 2003, 09:27
Name Brenton
Age 45
Location Warradale
Occupation just taken package after 28 years. Was Bank Manager.
A.F.L Team Port Adelaide
S.A.N.F.L Team Port Adelaide
Membership- Power and Magpies member. Footy Park Cat 1
Other Teams - Only Australian teams and whoever is playing Norwood or the Crows
Favourite Premiership and Why- 1994. 39 points down late in that 1st quarter. Great fighting Port comeback.
Port1978
16th February 2003, 14:35
Name: Renee
Location: Perth. I've been here for 3 years now, I'm originally from Adelaide
Membership/Season Tickets: Full interstate member of PAFC, Power Generation member, full member of Port Adelaide Magpies, member of WA Port Supporters group
Other Teams: Subiaco in the WAFL, and the Adelaide 36ers
Footy/Club History in the family: I'm related to Ken Eustice, I think he's my 4th cousin or something like that.
Favourite Premiership and why: not sure which is my favourite...they are all great! :D
Jabsy
16th February 2003, 17:49
Thanks for the offer but I've got a copy of it as well.......although you might be able to help out in another way..........
I want to get all the footy vids I've collected over the years transferred onto DVD/VCD which I was planning to do on my trip down south later in the year but was wondering if you knew anyone up here that can do it.........and doesn't charge excessively.
Cheers
I could have a crack I guess... But I only have a capture card that will do mpeg1 from a composite or rca source. I have some software that is sposed to do mpeg2, but haven't tested it. I can do mpeg2 from firewire tho, but I dont think this will help.
I dont have a dvd burner either, but could burn svcd's. Problem is each game will take 4 cd's this way.
I'll see if I can find someone with a dvd burner. Maybe I should con one of my clients into buying one.
Perhaps we could discuss this further when watching Port flog some West Aussie team on the 28th??
mic59
16th February 2003, 18:45
Name: Michael(pretty original handle,ay?)
Membership/Season Tickets: Full member of PAFC, Power Season Ticket Holder
Other Teams: Newcatle United(England)
Footy/Club History in the family: I went to school with Mark Aiston?
Favourite Premiership and why: 1998 v Sturt, first ever that I was so overcome with emotion I hugged a guy I didn't know.
Rats Tossbag
16th February 2003, 18:49
quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Cheers
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ive had two Port videos ripped to VCD (The Russell Ebert Story & Magpie Magic 125 years in the making) and the quality was pretty good.
Let me know when your heading down next and I will see if something can be arranged. ;)
quote:
Originally posted by Jabsy
I dont have a dvd burner either, but could burn svcd's. Problem is each game will take 4 cd's this way.
If there being ripped from VHS video tapes it wouldnt be worth doing them as SVCD as it will not improve the quality, so you might as well just convert them to VCD and probably get 2 quarters on one cd.
;)
rubberman
16th February 2003, 18:59
Name: Ray
AFL team: Port Adelaide
SANFL team: Maggies
Membership/Season tickets: Club Member Port Adelaide Football Club, Club Member Port Adelaide Magpies, Season ticket for Port Adelaide Football Club.
Other Teams: Anyone that plays against the Cows. Liverpool Football Club. 36ers
Footy/Club History: Only played footy at primary school. Played more soccer in my life, but still ima Coodabeen.
Favourite Premeirship: All of them
:D :D
Rats Tossbag
16th February 2003, 21:01
i guess since everyone is doing the status i'll do mine
Name: Amanda
quote:
Originally posted by Paralowiepower
Name Shane Kelly
Age 31
Location Paralowie
Another Paralowian that makes 3 of us. :D
Paralowiepower
16th February 2003, 21:15
Maybe we could put in for a Power Wizard cup game up here :D
JuniorBurger
16th February 2003, 23:26
Name: Simon
Memberships/Season tickets: Only Power season ticket at the moment (financially restricted :( )
Other teams: Mighty Pompey (for the unenlightened, Portsmouth Football Club), any Australian team (except Socceroos when playing England, doh!), 6ers and Redbacks.
Footy/ Club History: Never played footy only started really following it recently (thanks to my Father in law), moved to Australia from England when I was 13 so have played Soccer all of my life.
Favourite Premiership: Yet to see one but heres hoping for this year!:D
Grave Danger
16th February 2003, 23:27
Name: Tim
SANFL team: Port Adelaide
Membership/Season tickets: Club Member Port Adelaide Football Club, Portonian
Other Teams: Tottenham Hotspur, England, Warriors, Glory, Wildcats.
Footy/Club History: Played for Woomera Centrals (Premiers 1980!). Started following Port after getting off the boat at Outer Harbour in 1964.
Favourite Premeirship: 1977
Zombie
17th February 2003, 00:03
Name: Ashley
Location: Hope Valley, family just bought land in Walkley Heights.
AFL Team: Port
SANFL Team: None really, usually follow the Power players in the SANFL though
Membership: Season Tickets in the Northern Grandstand
Club History in the family: Nup, am somehow related to Roger Bannister though apparently, don't ask me how.
Favourite premiership: 2003 ;)
Zombie
17th February 2003, 00:11
Name Shane Kelly
Age 31
Not Shane Kelly the cyclist by any chance?
Jabsy
17th February 2003, 11:35
Originally posted by Rats Tossbag
quote:
If there being ripped from VHS video tapes it wouldnt be worth doing them as SVCD as it will not improve the quality, so you might as well just convert them to VCD and probably get 2 quarters on one cd.
Depends on the quality of the rip.
Nicski
17th February 2003, 12:33
Name: Nicole
SANFL Team: Port
Membership: Season Tickets for the Power, became member of Woman in Power this year too :)
Club History in the family: No...I don't think anyway...um went to primary school with Brett Ebert hehe
Favourite premiership: 1996 Port/Centrals and 1994 Port/Eagles
_espoir
17th February 2003, 12:40
Originally posted by Nicski
went to primary school with Brett Ebert hehe
i went to primary school with Stuart Dew, he got hit in the eye with a cricket ball ... me/ my mother put ice on it, until his mother came and got him...
Power Pride
17th February 2003, 13:20
i went to primary school with Stuart Dew, he got hit in the eye with a cricket ball ... me/ my mother put ice on it, until his mother came and got him...
I plan to remind him about that. :D
Nicksi - do NOT ever repeat that you went to school with Brett, there's at least one person on this board that would flip her lid, and none of us would EVER hear the end of it. :rolleyes:
I could say hi to him when I next see him at training (most probably Wednesday) if you'd like :)
Nicski
17th February 2003, 17:44
Awww poor little Dewy...that's heaps funny!
Hehe Powerpride, I think I can guess which person on the board that might be!!!! :P
It's pretty funny stuff...don't know if Brett would remember me, but I could probably dig up some old school photos ;)
Power Pride
17th February 2003, 18:14
Originally posted by Nicski
Awww poor little Dewy...that's heaps funny!
Hehe Powerpride, I think I can guess which person on the board that might be!!!! :P
It's pretty funny stuff...don't know if Brett would remember me, but I could probably dig up some old school photos ;)
LOL its not mistressemma, hehe. And its not me either. So :p, lol.
AHA school photos.. I dont think he'd be too impressed with them after seeing his reaction to last years profile picture on the Magpies website when I got him to sign it.. he nearly went into shock! lol :D
blackdiamond
17th February 2003, 20:08
[B] Name: Scott aka Scott (how original) :D
Occupation: Customer Service Representative for Optus at Mawson Lakes
Membership/Season Tickets: Full Club Member and Season Ticket Holder
Other Teams: I wasn't aware there were other teams
Footy/Club History in the family: Little to no association. Played footy with Danny Morton at Primary School, my cousin is about to marry the sister of Darryl Poole. I did appear in the highlights package of a computer game called AFL99.
Favourite Premiership and why: 1990 against Glenelg when it seemed that the worlds eyes were on us as we tried to enter the AFL, Hodges set a new record of 153 goals for a season. 1994 was particularly special against Woodville/West Torrens, most thought we were gone for all money until Hodges turned it on. 1996 wasn't too bad either, this was the emergence of Warren Tredrea.
Nicski
17th February 2003, 20:35
AHA school photos.. I dont think he'd be too impressed with them after seeing his reaction to last years profile picture on the Magpies website when I got him to sign it.. he nearly went into shock! lol :D
I just found some photos from year 2 and year 4!! Hehehe, too funny!! He looks so innocent :p
Paralowiepower
17th February 2003, 20:56
Originally posted by Zombie
Not Shane Kelly the cyclist by any chance?
Err no. ;)
Port1978
17th February 2003, 22:49
Originally posted by Grave Danger
Name: Tim
Another Perth person I see. :)
Zombie
17th February 2003, 23:46
Err no. ;)
Same name and the same age, pretty spooky if you ask me ;)
Malibu#27
18th February 2003, 07:11
Originally posted by Scott
Occupation: Customer Service Representative for Optus at Mawson Lakes
Hmmmm - just across the road from me :)
Bresh
18th February 2003, 09:35
Name: Jon
Occupation: Student at Flinders University. A bit of casual work at Maccas Marion.
Membership/Season Tickets: Member and season ticket holder
Other teams: Australian National Teams, Southern Redbacks, Newcastle United, LA Clippers, Maryland Terrapins
Footy club history: Great uncle, Graham Fisher, played for many years in the Maggies 2s. Most of Mum's side originated from the Port and surrounding areas.
Favourite premiership: 1992. Several reasons for liking this one... the come back, Chalmers' 80m goal and "Nafan" Buckley absolutely killing Glenelg! :cool:
Santos L Helper
18th February 2003, 09:57
Name: Frank
Other Teams: Detroit Redwings, LA Clippers and Liverpool.
Favourite Premiership: 1981. Another thrashing of those insiped Tigers and Bomber Clifford put a torp through from 80 metres.
Nicski
18th February 2003, 13:03
Originally posted by Guey_34
[B] A bit of casual work at Maccas Marion.
Yay, a fellow Maccas employee!! :p
Except I work at a different one :cool:
Leaping Lindner
18th February 2003, 13:38
Originally posted by Pred
I only have 2 claims to fame by association, I think :)
My great grandad was Bos Daly, who played for Norwood, and (I think) North. He still holds the SANFL goalkicking record for a match. He kicked 27 goals in a match (I think for Norwood).
Other than that, my cousin Mark Donovan played for Glenelg (Boo-hiss) in the 80's. He was number 32.
Pred
Bos Daly did play for North Adelaide and was a member of the 1902 and 1905 premiership teams.He was also the states leading goalkicker (when with us) in 1903(54 goals) and 1905 (30 goals). When at Norwood he was the state leading goalkicker in 1893 (88 a state record until 1930) 1894 (47)1895(46) and 1899 32) he was also the states leading goalkicker in 1900 (27) when he played with West Torrens. He actually kicked 23 goals in one game(Norwood vs Adelaide in 1893) which is the still the state record for one game(being equalled by ken Farmer in 1940.)
He was also a member of the North board for many years after he retired from playing. There is a great photo of him congratulating ken Farmer on equalling his record in the book THE FARMER FILES.
Hope that is of interest.
blackdiamond
18th February 2003, 19:29
Originally posted by Malibu#27
Hmmmm - just across the road from me :)
I always wondered who lived in those Satellite Dishes. :D
Malibu#27
19th February 2003, 06:56
Originally posted by Scott
I always wondered who lived in those Satellite Dishes. :D
Nah - I live in the little shed next door - I just have a very expensive home entertainment set up. Ahhhhh --- the wonders of foreign pay TV :)
Grave Danger
19th February 2003, 13:25
Originally posted by port1978
Another Perth person I see. :)
Yes - for almost as long as I'd lived in SA. Hence my lack of allegiance to any SA teams other than Port and Port :p
Pred
19th February 2003, 13:55
Originally posted by Leaping Lindner
Pred
Bos Daly did play for North Adelaide......8<...snip...8<....Hope that is of interest. Wow - thanks a lot LL :)
Didn't know much of that. Bos was (I am led to believe), my father's mother's father. Pity I didn't inherit more of the footy genes :(
Port1978
19th February 2003, 16:30
Originally posted by Grave Danger
Yes - for almost as long as I'd lived in SA. Hence my lack of allegiance to any SA teams other than Port and Port :p
Are you going to the Port vs WC match in round one?
Are you the same Tim who's on the Port Adelaide mailing lists?
Paralowiepower
26th February 2003, 22:25
Originally posted by koulagirl22
Name: Bernadetta
Other Teams: Collingwood, Essendon
Your kidding right? :rolleyes:
dreamkillers
26th February 2003, 22:52
I have absolutely no idea where that went. PM me the link and I'll email Neil and tell him to put it back on, I have some graphics I need to email him anyway.
I haven't been able to find the links to the honour boards but have a copy of the 3 JPEG files that I can send by email to get them back on the club's web site.
Power Pride
27th February 2003, 11:59
I haven't been able to find the links to the honour boards but have a copy of the 3 JPEG files that I can send by email to get them back on the club's web site.
Certainly! Just send 'em on through. :)
sog35
27th February 2003, 20:51
Name: Andrew
Membership/Season Tickets: Member and season ticket holder
Other teams: Adelaide 36ers, Houston Rockets, Ottawa Senators, Barnsley FC
Footy club history: See Guey_34 for details
Favourite premiership: 1983. West Adelaide's last premiership against Sturt. Neil Kerley at the helm. Peter Meuret's goal from the boundary line. The 8 goal 2nd quarter. The interview's in the rooms after the games.... [/B]
dreamkillers
27th February 2003, 21:46
Certainly! Just send 'em on through. :)
Send me a pm with your email address and will do......:)
P0RT P0WER
6th April 2003, 20:46
Originally posted by sog35
Name: 1983. West Adelaide's last premiership against Sturt. Neil Kerley at the helm. Peter Meuret's goal from the boundary line. The 8 goal 2nd quarter. The interview's in the rooms after the games.... [/B]
Peter is now a wine rep for Mcwilliams, see him around the place a bit, it's amazing the amount of ex-footy players who end up being alcohol reps. They seem to turn out pretty good, the only dud I remember being a footballer was Nigel Smart, he was useless, since he finished up with West End no current footballers have been employed since.
Tredders#16
13th April 2003, 21:20
Name: Warren
Membership and Season Tickets: Membership and season ticket holder.
SANFL Team: Port Magpies
Other Teams: Used to barrack for the Saints before Port came into the comp. Still follow them a bit, but not closely.
Fave Premiership: 1994
Ray Nolan
28th April 2003, 22:33
This seems as good a place as any to make my first post. :)
Name: Ray Nolan
Occupation: Student (5th Year: Law/Legal Practice & International Studies @ Flinders University)
AFL Team: Port Adelaide F.C.
SANFL Team: Port Adelaide Magpies F.C.
Membership/Season Tickets: Full Member and Season Ticket Holder with Port Adelaide, Full Member at Port Adelaide Magpies
Other teams: Socceroos, the legendary Birmingham City F.C., Southern Redbacks, Adelaide 36ers, Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles, Wallabies, Sri Lanka Cricket Team, Montreal Canadiens & Mark Webber & Jaguar Racing.
Footy club/history in the family: None really, given my English background I played Soccer (my fave sport) & Rugby for winter sports. No Football playing tradition on either side of my family really.
Favourite premiership: 1995 against Centrals because that was the only one I've been fortunate enough to attend. What a great night it was at Alberton!
Eago77
29th April 2003, 14:40
Originally posted by Ray Nolan
Occupation: Student (5th Year: Law/Legal Practice & International Studies @ Flinders University)
Welcome to the board Ray, shame about you having to do all that nasty studying, most Port supporters just take the dole, you should know better than wasting your time studying!!
dreamkillers
29th April 2003, 19:24
Name: Ray Nolan
Welcome to the board Ray.......always good to have another Port person aboard and I'm sure you'll enjoy the banter.......particularly after last Saturday night's result.......:D
Tredders#16
29th April 2003, 23:02
Hi there Ray, hope u enjoy ur time here on bigfooty.
Welcome aboard.
PeterA
30th April 2003, 05:14
Name: Peter
Membership/Season Tickets: Season Ticket holder and full member of the Power and the Magpies
Other Teams: Newcastle Knights,Adelaide 36ers,all Australian Sides, and any australian sportspeople.
Footy/Club History in the family: My Great grandfather,J.J. Collins, was the first captain of the West Torrens Football Club in 1897.
Favourite Premiership and why: 1994. To give a side a six goal head start and then overrun them was fantastic.
_espoir
30th April 2003, 22:06
hey new people (ray and peter)
:) i just wonder when the crows supporters are gonna come up with something new... the "we won 2 cups or port choke in finals" insults are getting a little old wouldn't you say?
As at 27/9/03... yes.
Kane McGoodwin
2nd May 2003, 15:46
hey new people (ray and peter)
:) i just wonder when the crows supporters are gonna come up with something new... the "we won 2 cups or port choke in finals" insults are getting a little old wouldn't you say? ... as opposed to the Maggies have won a heap of SANFL premierships which gives the Power a heap of tradition. Can't have it both ways! ;) :p
Beffery
12th June 2003, 13:53
:) Hey people! This is my first message on BigFooty so please be kind! :D
Name: Beth (aka Beffery)
Occupation: Business Admin Trainee, hopefully next year in Melb studying Music Performace at the VCA (Victorian College of the Arts)
Membership/Season Tickets: Unfotunately neither :( Can't get to games from here, but next year will be a proud Victorian Membership holder!
Other teams: Benalla Saints, proud to have Jarrad Waite as an ex member (Now rising star nominee for round 10 from Carlton)
Footy club history: Ummm.. relation of Geoff Lauder, anyone know him?
Favourite premiership: Hopefully this years went Port wins! :cool:
Kid Dynamite!
12th June 2003, 14:09
Welcome to the forums, Beth!
Good to see another country bumpkin on board! :D
sog35
12th June 2003, 14:56
May I also add my welcomes, Beth!
Beffery
12th June 2003, 16:22
Thanks!! I feel very welcome now! :D I look forward to checking out the board during the slow days at work (ie. every day! ;) )
kaysee
12th June 2003, 18:02
Name: Scott Kent-Collins
Location: Nomad - currently in Modbury whilst awaiting our houe to be built at Mawson Lakes.
Occupation: Software Engineer (Full Time). Uni Student (Part Time- studing for another Degree).
Membership/Season Tickets: This is my 1st year without season ticket (I now get free access to our games and we are saving money whilst building our house). Taking out membership next year.
Other teams: PAMFC, 36ers, Liverpool and anything OZ.
Footy club history: Not too much to write home about... My Brother played a couple of years in the Under 19s before having a few shoulder injuries and moving on. Went to school with and stuffed around in a few classes with Stephen Carter.
Favourite premiership: Hopefully Port this year 2003... but the 1989 VFL GF Hawthorn v Geelong was the best final I have ever seen.
dyertribe
8th July 2003, 00:05
Name: Andrew
Occupation: Student, in the second year of my Bachelor of International Studies degree at Flinders University.
AFL Team: Adelaide.
SANFL Team: Port Adelaide.
Membership/Season Tickets: Adelaide Gold Member. Haven't had a Port Magpies membership since I was a junior in 1988 - still remember Timmy Ginever giving me a dodgy French Onion SAMBOY chip ;)
Other Teams: Newcastle United FC (EPL), Socceroos.
Footy/Club History in the family: My dad won a B&F for Prahran U-19s (VFA) back in the seventies and I had a Great Uncle who coached Fitzroy's reserves back in the day apparently. That's it.
Favourite Premiership and why: 1989. We owed North Adelaide bigtime and all I have to say is 15.18 (108) to 1.8 (14) :D
Other than that, 1997 and 1998 Crows... I was lucky enough to be in the Great Southern Stand for both.
Eago77
8th July 2003, 11:32
Originally posted by dyertribe
[b]AFL Team: Adelaide.
SANFL Team: Port Adelaide.
This does not compute!
Kid Dynamite!
8th July 2003, 13:40
This does not compute!
Try having a mate who's converting to a Crows supporter! :(
_espoir
8th July 2003, 13:47
Originally posted by Kid Dynamite!
lol ...lets not name her name *cough lauren cough* hahaa
dreamkillers
8th July 2003, 16:33
Originally posted by Kid Dynamite!
Obviously must have been a reject who somehow got through.......;)
dyertribe
8th July 2003, 17:23
This does not compute!
Blame my unwavering adoration for Scott Hodges, Bruce Abernethy, Simon Tregenza and Darren Smith ;)
evertonfc
27th July 2003, 01:33
Name: Sebastian
Occupation: Journalist/Student (first year of my Bachelor of Journalism degree at La Trobe University).
AFL Team: St Kilda.
SANFL Team: Sturt.
Membership/Season Tickets: St Kilda (Full Social Club) Member since 1992.
Other Teams: Everton (duh), Melbourne Storm, Socceroos.
Footy/Club History in the family: None to St Kilda (or PAFC for that matter), but a Great Uncle is an 'Invincible' :)
Favourite Premiership and why: 1966. The one and only. :(
koulagirl22
28th July 2003, 08:10
*stares* okay so i'm bored and i actually read this thread and find that there's so many people here who i probably bloody walk past at uni whom i don't know.
who's up for a flinders/bigfooty get-together at the tav sometime?
Blues_Girl
28th July 2003, 19:59
Originally posted by evertonfc
SANFL Team: Sturt.
I love you :D
evertonfc
28th July 2003, 23:25
Originally posted by Blues_Girl
I love you :D
I've been a Sturt supporter since I was an ankle biter - but I have no idea why!
Follow them as closely as possible (from Melbourne!), but unfortunately we don't get much coverage over here. Most of the reports I have to hunt down from the Internet, but it's better than nothing!
You love me, eh? Geez, that was easy! Woohoo!
Blues_Girl
29th July 2003, 09:42
Originally posted by evertonfc
I've been a Sturt supporter since I was an ankle biter - but I have no idea why!
Follow them as closely as possible (from Melbourne!), but unfortunately we don't get much coverage over here. Most of the reports I have to hunt down from the Internet, but it's better than nothing!
You love me, eh? Geez, that was easy! Woohoo!
You're a Sturt supporter because you have supreme taste!
I'd be forced to kill myself if I had to rely on the internet for information on Sturt!
dyertribe
4th August 2003, 15:17
who's up for a flinders/bigfooty get-together at the tav sometime?
Yes, I found out that RN and I unknowingly shared the same lecture theatre last semester despite the fact I never actually went ;)
I've actually deferred this semester... I dragged my GPA up to 5.7 so I decided to pike for 6 months - but yeah, I've probably seen you at the Tav 1000 times :D
koulagirl22
4th August 2003, 17:55
Originally posted by dyertribe
Yes, I found out that RN and I unknowingly shared the same lecture theatre last semester despite the fact I never actually went ;)
I've actually deferred this semester... I dragged my GPA up to 5.7 so I decided to pike for 6 months - but yeah, I've probably seen you at the Tav 1000 times :D
argh. ANOTHER lawyer-in-the-making... that's three of us...
and yeah, you've probably seen me around... i'm ALWAYS around somewhere... and do you know who that guy is who ALWAYS wears the '97 port cap? i keep telling him i like it but so far haven't quite gotten a reply.
Ray Nolan
4th August 2003, 21:40
and do you know who that guy is who ALWAYS wears the '97 port cap? i keep telling him i like it but so far haven't quite gotten a reply.
I almost always wear a Port cap (the one below) at Uni, but I don't know if it's the 97 one. No one's said anything to me about it so it's probably not me.
http://shop.afl.com.au/power/graphics/products/detail_2269PGS.gif
If you see a big guy in a beige jacket around the Law/Commerce building with that cap on it'll most probably be me.
koulagirl22
4th August 2003, 23:38
I almost always wear a Port cap (the one below) at Uni, but I don't know if it's the 97 one. No one's said anything to me about it so it's probably not me.
http://shop.afl.com.au/power/graphics/products/detail_2269PGS.gif
If you see a big guy in a beige jacket around the Law/Commerce building with that cap on it'll most probably be me.
*blinks* well... i saw ones like it in '97 and assumed it was the same one.
and um... next time could you please say hello back? i'm the one who usually wears mostly black with a not-so-hidden koula badge.
Ray Nolan
5th August 2003, 16:40
*blinks* well... i saw ones like it in '97 and assumed it was the same one.
and um... next time could you please say hello back? i'm the one who usually wears mostly black with a not-so-hidden koula badge.
If it was me you said hello to (and I'm not sure it was, cos I don't remember it:confused: ) then I'm sorry if I didn't respond. I probably didn't hear you (unfortunately my hearing is not great:( ), it certainly wouldn't have been through deliberately ignoring ya, I can guarantee that. I'm not that much of a chump, honest!
dyertribe
5th August 2003, 18:06
argh. ANOTHER lawyer-in-the-making... that's three of us...
and yeah, you've probably seen me around... i'm ALWAYS around somewhere....
I'm actually just a something-not-sure-what-in-the-making... I'm just doing the Bachelor of International Studies degree, not the double-law version that RN is doing ;)
I might try and transfer degrees into something more worthwhile - or I'll just do something politics-related. Is there a choice??!!