View Full Version : Adeladie Game Review
kelvin_sheedy
7 Jun 2009, 17:07
Reason for loss = underdone players with no run left and shocking selections + great kicking by the Crows.
Good game by us overall but it was the same old cracks that get us. Forward line too slow and no defensive pressure.
What are the selectors thinking when they put Lloyd, Neagle, Lucas, Monfries, Skipworth in the same forwards line?
The positives are that we have a lot to look forward to in the second half of the season. A one week break now with Fletch and Winderlich to return. Greater fitness base for McVeigh, Prismall and Reimers. NLM , Hurley to provide selection pressure.
Hopefully Jetta replaces Skipworth and Welsh can come in and replace Monfries who is just not up to it at AFL level.
AndyLesPaul
7 Jun 2009, 17:09
Thats not all.
Lucas was our only option up forward, and he needed to ruck.
Monfries was quite good, i disagree.
as was Skipworth.
Lloyd and Neagle were just owned badly by the amazing Crows defence.
The Crows are almost definately top 4 next year.
I can just see it.
Wahooti Fandango
7 Jun 2009, 17:12
Our ruck situation must be sorted quickly.
Commiserations guys. That was an outstanding game of footy from both sides. Just a pity that one side had to lose.
Well played and good luck for the rest of your season.
Was it a calculated risk that didn;t pay off or a terrible decision?
It was always going to be a risky decison playing Reimers, Mcveigh, Prismal and Skipworth who all had fitness queries going into today.
Was it worth the risk?
AndyLesPaul
7 Jun 2009, 18:23
Skipworth was fine, as was McVeigh (dunno bout 4th quarter though)
They were underdone last week though.
As underdone as Prismall and Reimers were this week.
toddy104
7 Jun 2009, 18:26
The one that got away..............
This loss hurts very deep. Hate to state the obvious, But, a win today going into the spilt round would have set up our season, and with melbourne next up we could have been
7 - 5
OUCH!!!! :thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:
Jonesy1987
7 Jun 2009, 18:31
For sure, was my main worry going into the game, plus Dempsey was coming back from injury, was asking for a bit of trouble, Jetta in for Reimers would probably have been better.
Jonesy1987
7 Jun 2009, 18:35
Lets not dwell on this loss too much, pretty simple, we ran out of legs in the last and poor defensive marking of Tippet and Knights. Plenty of positives as well:thumbsu:
retroparty
7 Jun 2009, 18:36
Good effort for 3 quarters but unfortunately couldn't put them away and they ended up running over the top of us.
Had a few blokes back from LTIs which didn't help and had no support for Ryder in the ruck.
Nice to see Scotty Lucas kicking some goals and showing all the doubters he can still play. On the contrary Lloyd was pathetic and needs to find some confidence.
I think Zaka needs a run in the two's. Been down a bit on form and could do with a spell with Bendigo.
Can't wait for Fletcher to come back. Means that Hooker doesn't need to play seniors anymore...
Disappointed with todays last quarter but hopefully we can turn it around and when our next 3 or 4 games.
kelvin_sheedy
7 Jun 2009, 18:37
Can't wait for Fletcher to come back. Means that Hooker doesn't need to play seniors anymore...
So who will help Ryder in the ruck then?
George Washington
7 Jun 2009, 18:38
Skipworth was fine, as was McVeigh (dunno bout 4th quarter though)
They were underdone last week though.
As underdone as Prismall and Reimers were this week.
Clearly its unavoidable.. the only way to get AFL match fitness is to play AFL matches. Probably one of the problems of Bendigo getting smashed by 100 points every week.
Skipworth played alright, not great but solid. Mcveigh did quite well on porps and got 18 touches. Obviously it takes a week to get back into it, especially when you have been out for as long as prismall and to a lesser extent Reimers.
I don't think this was the problem, and Mcveigh, Reimers and Prismall with more games under their belt will only help us against Collingwood, Carlton etc.
hateitorlovett13
7 Jun 2009, 18:42
I wanna know what has happened to our game plan.
Against Carlton, Collingwood, Hawthorn and other games we absolutely obliterated the opposition with our pace, frequently running up the guts with a chain of handballs from half back which destroyed any zone.
I don't think I've seen us implement that game plan once in the last three weeks. Hooker had a shocker today but he seems to be the only one who is willing to repeatedly run off his man and take the game on- sure, we'll get caught doing it sometimes but it is a whole lot better than doing a half arsed effort, ala past 3 weeks, and handballing to stagnant players with an opposition man right on their tail, bombing it forward, or holding it up and chipping it around.
Makes it so much harder for our forward line when we slowly chip it up the field and allow a disgustingly defensive team like Adelaide to flood back. They killed us with numbers behind the ball, before exposing our lack of defensive skill through simply running off us when they gained possession.
And dear god, we could use a decent centre bounce set up. We seem to get killed every week, which is a worry when we had a midfield of Lovett, Watson, Prismall and Ryder today. Found it very surprising to see that we were leading the clearances at one stage through the third quarter, I thought Edwards absolutely killed us from the stoppages and we really struggled.
Frustrating stuff at times, and I'm a bit worried that we seem to be playing our worst football when we are starting to get some of our injured players back in the side. Hopefully we get some fitness over the next few weeks and can really kick for the finals, but if we don't then it's a real worry for our experienced players.
The Donners
7 Jun 2009, 18:42
Lets not dwell on this loss too much, pretty simple, we ran out of legs in the last and poor defensive marking of Tippet and Knights. Plenty of positives as well:thumbsu:
Agree. I was very disappointed with Knights' coaching today. The most puzzling was not moving Pears onto Tippett until he'd kicked his 7th goal. I'm all for our young players learning lessons against experienced opponents, Tippett is not what I would call an experienced opponent.
The other was playing Lucas in the ruck, why not Hooker or Neagle? Not the only tall forward who had kicked a goal today.
5 and 6 is where I had Essendon pre-season at the half-way mark. I had Essendon going on to win 12 games for the season so I think we're where we should be. Melbourne, Carlton and Collingwood... all winnable.
Ben the Gooner
7 Jun 2009, 18:52
Fletcher to help in the ruck.
Basically, the selection of Reimers and Prismall killed us. We could have carried maybe one of those, if say Jetta or Darcy was in the side.
Not both.
Reason for loss = underdone players with no run left and shocking selections + great kicking by the Crows.
Good game by us overall but it was the same old cracks that get us. Forward line too slow and no defensive pressure.
What are the selectors thinking when they put Lloyd, Neagle, Lucas, Monfries, Skipworth in the same forwards line?
The positives are that we have a lot to look forward to in the second half of the season. A one week break now with Fletch and Winderlich to return. Greater fitness base for McVeigh, Prismall and Reimers. NLM , Hurley to provide selection pressure.
Hopefully Jetta replaces Skipworth and Welsh can come in and replace Monfries who is just not up to it at AFL level.
Worst team selection for the year IMO.
Monfries, Skipworth, Zaharakis and a half fit Lucas amd Reimars all play essentially the same role as lead up half forward flankers.
Reimers is one of my favourite players but he surely needed more of a run at Bendigo.
We were short of at least one defender and in the game we were badly exposed for height in our backline. Daniher or Atkinson might have been better choices.
No disrespect to Adelaide who are on fire at the moment but the team selection was very strange and completly different to the conservative selections pre Geelong.
toddy104
7 Jun 2009, 18:56
I think all clubs have now worked out what our game plan is. And in short, it is easy to stop.
We aren't going to win many more games unless we have some alternate styles of play when our running game is not working. :(
I also agree that some teams are really waking up to our game plan , teams are really starting to clutter the centre corridor and also now starting to flood our defense (todays game) , Also could Angus Monfries please be dropped to the two's it's time for a wake up call , I have always believed he is overrated and so inconsistent sure he has a the odd game e.g Hawthorn and he plays great takes good marks and uses the ball well but geeze theres to many games where I say his disposal count well below 10 it's discusting to see a player playing atleast 90% of the game with less then 10 disposals.
cannot wait for welsh , hurley and fletcher to come back our backline will have some strength to it again!
retroparty
7 Jun 2009, 19:15
So who will help Ryder in the ruck then?
Lucas or Fletcher.
If these guys don't work out (imo probably won't) then Hooker comes back in. Once we have some more KPP defenders available, Hooker should be back at Bendigo.
Probably a bit harsh to say he shouldn't be in the team anymore. I just thought he was disgraceful today.
I'd like to see more crumbing from Monfries, IMO most of his possession is from marks on the lead. Hes not the roving forward we are after, at the moment. Agree too many similar players, Monfries, Zaharakis, Skipworth (he does slow us down a little)
Reason for loss = Getting killed out of the guts. First half we won in the centre and should have been 5 goals up of not for Adelaides kicking. Second half they dominate out of the centre and it was always a matter of time till they shook us off.
The Donners
7 Jun 2009, 19:34
I think all clubs have now worked out what our game plan is. And in short, it is easy to stop.
We aren't going to win many more games unless we have some alternate styles of play when our running game is not working. :(
The running game generally only works when you get the ball out of the middle. After half-time Watson was shut down and thus we couldn't get first hands on the ball. Our lack of accountabiltity today was our issue today, not the fact that our game plan had been worked out.
How many uncontested possessions did Edwards, Vince and Thompson have today?
HULK HOGAN
7 Jun 2009, 19:40
The reason we lost today is because its the first time we have been beaten by a tall marking forward, on the scoreboard all year.
Tippett! other than that we were pretty good (we just couldnt take a mark up forward)
Lucas has got me smiling.
Prissmal seemed to get lost in our gameplan (no worries there.)
Cant help but think our forward line in the latter half of the year is goin to be -HF- Monfries 18 Welsh
F Neagle Lucas Davey
With Neagle being replacable depending on match up
Love Mcveigh being able to play down back, but goin forward when Knights finds it appropriate.
We will win next week.
I am off my face:D
we lost because, and i'll say it again, we didn't select daniher. we didn't select a backman and considering we were down for tall backs on paper it's no surprise that's where we lost the game. Our team list named stanton, mcveigh and mcphee at the back ... one midfielder, one underdone midfielder and an injury-ridden backman.
bringing in underdone midfielders instead of a KP backman meant we got killed in our defensive 50, as suggested by the fact they were scoring a goal for every second inside 50.
we cant run out games like we did at the start of the year by playing too many underdone midfielders.
disappointed in knights. he got a bit excited about seeing pris and reimers almost fit and he jizzed in his pants.
HULK HOGAN
7 Jun 2009, 19:49
we lost because, and i'll say it again, we didn't select daniher. we didn't select a backman and considering we were down for tall backs on paper it's no surprise that's where we lost the game. Our team list named stanton, mcveigh and mcphee at the back ... one midfielder, one underdone midfielder and an injury-ridden backman.
bringing in underdone midfielders instead of a KP backman meant we got killed in our defensive 50, as suggested by the fact they were scoring a goal for every second inside 50.
we cant run out games like we did at the start of the year by playing too many underdone midfielders.
disappointed in knights. he got a bit excited about seeing pris and reimers almost fit and he jizzed in his pants.
Maybe?? Theres no way Tippet should been able to kick 7.1, how many contested marks and goals from set shot did he get?? More than us put together I reckon.
A game we should have won easily! Like last year no accountability when the ball is going the other way. Also they figured out that Watson was a problem but what did we do about Edwards, etc in the guts? OMG!
Thanks for the thread, the contribution it makes this forum cannot be expressed in words.
Darealrath
7 Jun 2009, 20:23
How many uncontested possessions did Edwards, Vince and Thompson have today?
It was driving me crazy how much space they'd have on the wing when they switched play.
Some random thoughts:
It seemed every time we'd get a couple goals up we'd let them back in it with a pretty ordinary turnover that would lead to a shot on goal (that invariably was accurate). We just don't have that ability to kill off teams when we are on top, yet.
In the last quarter they were simply the better team, smashing us in the middle as the influence of Ryder, Watson and Stanton faded out.
We really missed Fletcher today. Hooker just wasn't up to it.
We really missed Winderlich too.
Our gameplan can't afford carrying underdone players. Hopefully Knights realises that. Reimers and Prismall will be good for the run but Jetta and Daniher might have got us over the line.
Adelaide are a potential top 6 side so no disgrace in the loss but it's going to make making the finals very difficult. We really need to turn it up a notch after the break.
I agree about the accountability. They started picking up Jobe after his great start, but did we do the same? No. How did Tyson Edwards get that many posessions? We mut improve our defensive game.
BringBackCransberg
7 Jun 2009, 20:34
It was driving me crazy how much space they'd have on the wing when they switched play.
Me too.
Some Crows fan said before the game that what they do well was to go forward and still have a defensive structure pretty much in place (I guess it's part of a rolling-zone game style). Our kamikaze movements forward are freakin' awesome but, as has been said a million times, one turnover and BANG. I don't think we need to go as far as Adelaide in having a half-defensively-minded forward approach, it just seems like we need to introduce some kind of structure, no matter how liberal, to stop the turnovers being so devastating.
So much space, then it's just, 'draw a man, pass', 'draw a man, pass', 'draw a man, pass into 50', 'mark and....goal'.
Edit: I just realised what I've said isn't completely congruent with what you said (you said in in reference to switching.)
Exactly the same sentiments were expressed at after game drinks
I don't think you should be disappointed with that effort.
-Adelaide are a playing good football the past few weeks and have beaten Carlton and Hawthorn who are pretty good sides.
-They were very accurate, usually teams wouldn't have such accuracy and if that were the case we would have won.
SirJimi05
7 Jun 2009, 21:01
Can the MODS merge all of this ridiculous Game review threads together?
The search function cant even be blamed for this when you can see 2 or 3 identical threads on the 1st page already.
SirJimi05
7 Jun 2009, 21:02
The search function cant even be blamed for this when you can see 2 or 3 identical threads on the 1st page already.
bomberfan101
7 Jun 2009, 21:47
I worked all day and missed the game..i did hear a bit of the first quarter though..
How did Prismall go today? Is McVeigh's fitness getting better?
windyhill
7 Jun 2009, 22:16
Too many changes is never a good thing. Mcveigh, to me, looks like he needs another fortnight at Bendigo. Looks way off it. Priz and KR37 needed the run, Scotty fitted back in like a hand in a glove. Always tricky when you are bringing blokes back. How do we deal with Fletch ? Hurley ? etc.....
George Washington
7 Jun 2009, 22:17
Too many changes is never a good thing. Mcveigh, to me, looks like he needs another fortnight at Bendigo. Looks way off it. Priz and KR37 needed the run, Scotty fitted back in like a hand in a glove. Always tricky when you are bringing blokes back. How do we deal with Fletch ? Hurley ? etc.....
McVeigh played really well today :confused:
18 touches and held Porps to 1 goal. What more do you want?
windyhill
7 Jun 2009, 22:24
McVeigh played really well today :confused:
18 touches and held Porps to 1 goal. What more do you want?
Just my opinion brother.
The search function cant even be blamed for this when you can see 2 or 3 identical threads on the 1st page already.Done. I've been travelling/busy the past few days, and to come on today was a rude suprise. Boy people get keyboard-happy after a loss.