View Full Version : TV UNDERBELLY (3): The Golden Mile
Big Blow Hard
11 Jun 2009, 15:48
Channel Nine officially annonced it's third series would be based around the rise of Sydneys Kings Cross and it's identities.
Pity, I was looking forward to a Painters and Dockers Underelly.
Should still be interesting though.
Kings Cross = Plentiful Nudity :p
http://news.ninemsn.com.au/entertainment/824404/nine-commissions-underbelly-iii
Looks like they'll be pushing TnA more than ever now.
rocker_oz33
11 Jun 2009, 21:22
interesting name "the golden mile"
ManWithNoName
12 Jun 2009, 00:02
interesting name "the golden mile"
Looks like they'll be pushing TnA more than ever now.
Do the math.
What relation will the VO chick be to the main female cop character this time? :rolleyes:
NorthBhoy
12 Jun 2009, 08:25
Pfft, Sydney crime is rubbish. Coked up homosexuals. No-one cares.
after season 2 being such a debacle I wonder why they even consider a season 3?
Roachy8
12 Jun 2009, 09:44
Pfft, Sydney crime is rubbish. Coked up homosexuals. No-one cares.
Not sure about this...
Whereas Underbelly's 1 & 2 were primarily based around the 'old mafia' style organised crime... The Italian connections with various associated Aussie thugs, the scene (particularly in Sydney) nawadays is different.
The underworld seems to be led by 'traditional' motorcycle gang connections but with heavy infiltration by 'middle eastern' background Crim's & even "Islanders".
In 1 & 2 there was no problem or outcry showing Italian criminals being violent and anti-social but how will it be received when see characters with a heavy middle-eastern & in particular a Lebanese background in leading roles? :cool:
Big Blow Hard
12 Jun 2009, 10:02
It rated highly.
CLUBMEDhurst
12 Jun 2009, 10:18
Hijacked by Sydney. The only time Underbelly 2 was watchable was when in Melbourne. The great bookie robbery was a brief addition when it should have been the focus. If that and the bloody aftermath is not a better crime story than the Mr Asia/ Aussie Bob, then I'll go he.
rocker_oz33
12 Jun 2009, 10:32
The main guy behind the first one is back doing this one,so you would think it would be alright time will tell
Barry Zuckercorn
12 Jun 2009, 13:32
Great, lets hope its as good as Underbelly 2 :rolleyes:
Rocket23
12 Jun 2009, 14:14
Hijacked by Sydney. The only time Underbelly 2 was watchable was when in Melbourne. The great bookie robbery was a brief addition when it should have been the focus. If that and the bloody aftermath is not a better crime story than the Mr Asia/ Aussie Bob, then I'll go he.
Agree totally. The Kane brothers segment of the story was the only time I was actually looking forward to the next episode.
The problem with doing anything to do with Sydney is that it has already been done, and better in Blue Murder.
Painters and Dockers would have been excellent.
It rated highly.
show enough tits and it is sure to rate.
Cousin Jed
12 Jun 2009, 14:57
2-2.5 million viewers reasons...
ManWithNoName
12 Jun 2009, 22:43
So who's playing Alan Didak?
year of the roo
13 Jun 2009, 00:13
Why oh why oh why....?!
Channel 9 are realy milking this for what its worth. Season 2 was utterly pathetic television, and sure there was a great range of boobs but thats all it had going for it.
When they decided to drag the season out by saying with 2 episodes to go that they were goin to show the previous 2 episodes before that I almost put my foot through the TV. Honestly you ****ing ********s, if people are still watching (Which I was with nothing better on) you'd think that theyd all be up to date with the series. Why show episodes again.
Good to see when they tried to show series 1 again it flopped big time and has been replaced with any old movie. Will probably check out the new series for the 1st couple of weeks and then not care for it again
Admiral Afterworld
13 Jun 2009, 04:32
Season 1 was enjoyable but far from great in any sense.
Season 2 was crapper.
Season 3 = won't be holding my breath
Adrian Shelton
14 Jun 2009, 20:14
Call me when they they do Underbelly 4-The Family
Magpiespower
15 Jun 2009, 08:27
Call me when they they do Underbelly 4-The Family
Channel 9 almost made a TV movie about 'The Family' murders about five years ago.
Was to be written by Underbelly's Peter Gawler and based on Bob O'Brien's book Young Blood.
Fell over at the last minute.
Big Blow Hard
15 Jun 2009, 09:26
Channel 9 almost made a TV movie about 'The Family' murders about five years ago.
Was to be written by Underbelly's Peter Gawler and based on Bob O'Brien's book Young Blood.
Remind me please? Are we talking about the Pettingill/Allen/Pierce clan?
or
The current violent replacements to the Williams/Moran saga who have been dubbed "The Family", due to the main player apparently being a father and three sons, possibly based out of Broady?. Or something like thatt
Magpiespower
15 Jun 2009, 13:39
Remind me please? Are we talking about the Pettingill/Allen/Pierce clan?
or
The current violent replacements to the Williams/Moran saga who have been dubbed "The Family", due to the main player apparently being a father and three sons, possibly based out of Broady?. Or something like thatt
Actually, neither.
But I'm assuming AS is referring to 'The Family' murders which took place in Adelaide in the late-70s/early-80s...
Big Blow Hard
15 Jun 2009, 15:36
Actually, neither.
But I'm assuming AS is referring to 'The Family' murders which took place in Adelaide in the late-70s/early-80s...
Ok. Im not familiar with them, or maybe I am but can't recall.
Anyways, Interesting bynote today in Ascot Vale.
Des "Tuppance" Moran was gunned down and killed outside a Delicatesan at lunchtime today. He was the brother of Lewis Moran and uncle of Jason and Mark. It just goes on and on.
rocker_oz33
15 Jun 2009, 17:17
l reckon if you watch season 2 again on dvd it will probably be better.l herd some where was made for no ad breaks yes it was always going to be on CH9 but the maker made it for no ad breaks for some reason.l hope the golden $hower one is good
Who's gonna play Tuppence?
red+black
17 Jun 2009, 00:27
material is being written as we speak for Season 4.
written in blood on the streets of Ascot Vale :eek:
Roachy8
17 Jun 2009, 08:47
material is being written as we speak for Season 4.
written in blood on the streets of Ascot Vale :eek:
And Judy Morans house burns down last night too! :eek:
red+black
17 Jun 2009, 10:26
Burned rather than completely burned down I believe.
Big Blow Hard
17 Jun 2009, 10:52
Burned rather than completely burned down I believe.
Must be more evidence the cops have not yet uncovered obviously.
bunsen burner
30 Aug 2009, 13:42
bump
Which actors haven't had a crack in the first 2 series you think should be in this series?
Colin Friels
Gary Sweet
Tom Long
Ben Mendelsohn
jason Donovan
Dani Minogue (get em out)
Adrian Shelton
30 Aug 2009, 18:20
Bloody hell!!! Although it really needs the ABC touch imo, wonder what happened?
bump
Which actors haven't had a crack in the first 2 series you think should be in this series?
Colin Friels
Gary Sweet
Tom Long
Ben Mendelsohn
jason Donovan
Don't forget the Daddo's:rolleyes:
Rosso from Merrick + Rosso to be shot in a cameo scene given Merrick has had his go
bunsen burner
31 Aug 2009, 12:06
Don't forget the Daddo's:rolleyes:Only if they play 7/11 workers, have one line for the whole series before being shot to pieces by a masked gunman.
I'd like to see Donovan play a desperate drug addict. Art imitating life.
Armchair Coach
31 Aug 2009, 12:14
The problem with doing anything to do with Sydney is that it has already been done, and better in Blue Murder.
Too right. Far superior to Underbelly's "glam" vibe. Blue Murder shows crime and corruption as being completely evil, mayhemic and irredeemable. Underbelly takes these concepts and makes them semi-palatable for lovers of ACA and Neighbours.
RangaInTeal
31 Aug 2009, 13:05
bump
Colin Friels
Gary Sweet
Tom Long
Ben Mendelsohn
jason Donovan
Ian Smith
Tom Oliver
Hugh jackman
Russel Crowe
Syd Heylen
Andrew Blackman
Greg Rowe
David Gulpilil
Georgie Parker
l hope the golden $hower one is good
:D:thumbsu:
vans cone
31 Aug 2009, 13:54
Natalie Bassingthwaite confirmed in a role for the new series.
We can only hope and pray she get those puppies out, have been waiting for years to see them.
Armchair Coach
31 Aug 2009, 14:22
bump
Colin Friels
Gary Sweet
Tom Long
Ben Mendelsohn
jason Donovan
Ray Meagher
Garry Mcdonald
Barry Humphries
John Clarke
Humphrey B Bear
Mr Squiggle
Lisa McCune
Underbelly 5 - The Tuck Shop Scandals
Student tuck shop volunteers steal cash, under-charge their mates and swap Chiko Rolls for sexual favours from Grade 10 girls.
Armchair Coach
31 Aug 2009, 14:44
Student tuck shop volunteers steal cash, under-charge their mates and swap Chiko Rolls for sexual favours from Grade 10 girls.
Underbelly 6 - The Jaywalker chronicles.
A group of pedestrians take the busy intersections of Ballarat and turn them into havens of lawlessness.
RangaInTeal
31 Aug 2009, 14:47
Underbelly 10, tale of two cities, Elizabeth meets Salisbury!
Armchair Coach
31 Aug 2009, 15:24
Underbelly 12 - The Fare Evaders.
What happens when an elite squad of Public Transport Police encounter a desperate group of individuals who don't want to buy their tickets!?
Underbelly 13 - The AFL
Watch how a group of greedy businessmen sell the rights, scheduling, interstate development to greedy unscrupulous television stations and turn a noble game into nothing but a media merchandising circus.
Armchair Coach
31 Aug 2009, 19:30
Underbelly - 17 - Pirates of the Internet!
Single Mum, Shari, has been illegally downloading episodes of Dora the Explorer, and distributing them at her kids Play Group. But she forgot to make a copy for one of the kids. And that kids Mum is the boss of the Play Group itself. Who can stop the bloodshed?
Two words. Purana Taskforce!
RangaInTeal
1 Sep 2009, 10:10
Single Mum, Shari, has been illegally downloading episodes of Dora the Explorer, and distributing them at her kids Play Group. But she forgot to make a copy for one of the kids. And that kids Mum is the boss of the Play Group itself. Who can stop the bloodshed?
+1.
Could see some great sets of MILFGOODNESS!
Armchair Coach
1 Sep 2009, 11:32
+1.
Could see some great sets of MILFGOODNESS!
It would feature Australian TV's premiere MILFs.
Tottie Goldsmith would be the boss of the Playgroup.
rocker_oz33
1 Sep 2009, 16:35
some of you might already know.... but l read in the paper that Mrs rafter rebecca gidney is most likely to be in this new underbelly
jerry springer
1 Sep 2009, 18:23
actually lol'ed. great stuff:D
Natalie Bassingthwaite confirmed in a role for the new series.
We can only hope and pray she get those puppies out, have been waiting for years to see them.
Going to guess, Sallie Ann Huckstep.
Going to guess, Sallie Ann Huckstep.Face down in a pond with Neddy Smith's foot in her back
Who will play Neddy?
Face down in a pond with Neddy Smith's foot in her back
Who will play Neddy?
They'd be better off leaving him out, Tony Martin owns that role.
Sam Worthington?
They'd be better off leaving him out, Tony Martin owns that role.
Sam Worthington?We all know that this series of Underbelly will look very pale compared to Blue Murder
But as it is based in Sydney at the time that Neddy was king,someone has to pull it on.
Worthington might be a little busy overseas.
Anyone have an idea who will get the role of Neddy,Abo Henry,Roger Rogerson?
bunsen burner
2 Sep 2009, 07:55
Michael Osbourne should play Neddy Smith. Don't know if he can act but there is an uncanny resemblance. When ever I watch the hawks play and I'm commentating in my head it goes like this; "Birchall picks it up in the back pocket, hand balls back to Brown, handballs to Bateman, kicks to the wing, here comes number 7, Arthur Neddy Smith, plays on....."
It's him god dammit.
Armchair Coach
2 Sep 2009, 12:10
We all know that this series of Underbelly will look very pale compared to Blue Murder
But as it is based in Sydney at the time that Neddy was king,someone has to pull it on.
Worthington might be a little busy overseas.
Anyone have an idea who will get the role of Neddy,Abo Henry,Roger Rogerson?
It worries me that they'll glam it up like the previous two series. What worked in Blue Murder was that they had a great ensemble cast, all with solid chops for the roles they were playing.
Eg, Izzy playing Huckstep (who was NOT an attractive woman) = not believable.
Worthington could work in one of the roles, but I don't know if he's Neddy. Maybe they should try tapping him for the part of Flannery.
The trouble is, Blue Murder was awesome TV with wicked actors, playing confronting characters who just weren't very pretty (inside and out) in real life. I think the Underbelly franchise will do the facts behind the events no justice whatsoever. I'd like to be wrong.
Yeh, but lets not forget that Underbelly has previously been a gangster themed, hour long MTV clip.
I doubt they will change its style.
I will watch regardless, even if it only makes watching Blue Murder more enjoyable to watch. Im more familiar with the characters coming up, have read the majority of their books.
Armchair Coach
2 Sep 2009, 20:30
Yeh, but lets not forget that Underbelly has previously been a gangster themed, hour long MTV clip.
True. MTV clip is a great description.
I doubt they will change its style.
Agree.
I will watch regardless, even if it only makes watching Blue Murder more enjoyable to watch. Im more familiar with the characters coming up, have read the majority of their books.
Blue Murder was fantastic TV in its own right. It doesn't need to be MTV'd. These programs shouldn't be enjoyable to watch. They should horrify the viewer and leave you feeling gobsmacked and outraged and frightened.
Underbelly doesn't do that. Blue Murder did.
RangaInTeal
3 Sep 2009, 10:09
Blue Murder was fantastic TV in its own right. It doesn't need to be MTV'd. These programs shouldn't be enjoyable to watch. They should horrify the viewer and leave you feeling gobsmacked and outraged and frightened.
Damm Straight, After the first series of Underbelly, I went and sold pills, Thought I was cool, After the seccond season of Underbelly I stopped, Mates increased there Drug knowledge, Coke and Speed had never been thought of. It glamourises the life surrounding drgus, It makes elder teenagers and young adults want to live these lives!
andrew23
6 Apr 2010, 21:32
BUMP
So Season 3 starts with a 2 hour premiere on Sunday night
Haha Dougie the Pizza Boy is in it
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diarmid_Heidenreich
Hard Ball Get
7 Apr 2010, 10:55
Does this mean that the next underbelly will be the painters and dockers?
I don't really have high hopes for this one. I'm tipping something similar to the last one.
RangaInTeal
7 Apr 2010, 13:53
I don't really have high hopes for this one. I'm tipping something similar to the last one.
Yeah I get the same feeling.
I would like something around the SA underworld, a heap of suspicious Deaths and missing people. Bodies in a Barrel and the Hawksbury Park (Waterloo Corner Rd, Salisbury North) Backyard graves would be good to see.
Or the perth Underworld, Ben Cousins and Micheal Gardiner running a muck and that sort of thing...
andrew23
7 Apr 2010, 15:47
I think I read that the 4th season is rumoured to go up to Queensland. They'll probably have a stack of them by the end of the decade. However isn't the Snowtown Bodies in a Barrel incident being turned into a mini-series or something. I think I heard this because the Government came under fire for giving out funding to the producers.
RangaInTeal
7 Apr 2010, 16:18
I think I read that the 4th season is rumoured to go up to Queensland. They'll probably have a stack of them by the end of the decade. However isn't the Snowtown Bodies in a Barrel incident being turned into a mini-series or something. I think I heard this because the Government came under fire for giving out funding to the producers.
I have no idea regarding Snowtown!
I hope to god they do the Queensland story playing out now! Sure I like to see where Australian crooks and gangs came from in the 70's, but the modern gadgets and technology, being able to relate to pill's, nightclubs and violent bashings is more appealing than the shoot a bloke behind a tree at Uncile Tony's vinyard.
hirdy_is_champ
7 Apr 2010, 22:00
The previews seem ok, although they could just be using the best bits now... At least there's no Matthew Newton *vomits*
There are rumours the 5th series will return to Victoria.
Blowjob.
Glad that was on at the end and not the beginning , otherwise i would have turned off their and then. What a piss poor attempt at humor.
Apart from that, nothing special, but am still looking forward to next week as nothing else is on.
Black JuJu
12 Apr 2010, 00:55
Or the perth Underworld, Ben Cousins and Micheal Gardiner running a muck and that sort of thing...
Perth in the 80s with Bondy, Burke, Laurie Connell, Don Hancock and the Bikies.
It writes itself! :D
Thought Underbelly 3 was decent btw!
Damon_3388
12 Apr 2010, 01:15
I'd be very interested if they did a series on SA crime, particularly The Family. Plenty to work with there.
Tonight's start wasn't too bad. Certainly seems more interesting than Series 2 (which I lost interest in after a couple of episodes).
pacemaker
12 Apr 2010, 01:36
WA would be great, if it included characters of Cousins and Gardiner for an episode or 2. I believe it would be one of the most hughly rated episodes ever of underbelly if not the most. But there would be a massive law suit againist it
RangaInTeal
12 Apr 2010, 02:24
I thought tonights was good, came and googled it, it seems the main character will be the guy with the connections and his brothers will be the story revolving around him! I would love to see something out side of NSW and Victoria for the fourth season!
I kept drifting off to sleep watching it but the bits i saw were dreadful. :thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:
WA would be great, if it included characters of Cousins and Gardiner for an episode or 2. I believe it would be one of the most hughly rated episodes ever of underbelly if not the most. But there would be a massive law suit againist it
I'd be happy if they moved it to radelaide or perth.
Magpiespower
12 Apr 2010, 09:20
Embarrassing.
So awful I kept expecting Anh Do to pop up somewhere.
Still plenty of time, I guess...
:thumbsd::thumbsd:
RangaInTeal
12 Apr 2010, 11:18
I thought Ahn Do was already at that blokes house collecting for the other bloke with his mate? :o
RangaInTeal
12 Apr 2010, 12:55
Must say I am much a Fan of Johnny Imbrahim! Quoted saying something along these lines, "Either I am the Smartest Crook ever, or my revenues of finance come from a reputable source!" He has Charisma and Swagger, not like the thugs of Melbourne (Kane's and Moran's) not portrayed as a dumb invalid like Williams, not a greasy slime ball like Trimboli and more upfront and honest (entertaining) than Clarke.
YIIIABLETTT
12 Apr 2010, 12:55
Could this season be even worse than 2? on first impressions i'd say it could be.
richskee
12 Apr 2010, 13:03
Horrible
Pathetic acting, TBH i can't be bothered watching Geno's talk sh1t for an hour every week.
Plugger35
12 Apr 2010, 13:59
Only half watched it last night while doing other stuff but looked pretty average. Each Underbelly series seems to be a step down in quality. Don't really know much about the characters in this one either, like I did with the other two, which takes a lot of interest out of it.
Did get a laugh out of that blowjob thing though, more out of disbelief they could do something so stupid more than anything.
Father Jack
12 Apr 2010, 14:58
I rather enjoyed it, and I expect this thread turn into a weekly version of the TFS ones. It was fine.
+1
A fan of a bit of female flesh as much as the next guy, but glad they've toned it down a fair bit.
simpleton
12 Apr 2010, 15:39
2-2.5 million viewers reasons...
:thumbsu:
http://www.theage.com.au/entertainment/tv-and-radio/underbelly-proves-a-ratings-winner-20100412-s1jp.html
The third instalment of Channel Nine's blockbuster Underbelly series delivered a spectacular result in last night's TV ratings, watched by 2,237,000 viewers nationally.
Brad Roo
12 Apr 2010, 18:08
Inane formulaic dribble.:thumbsd:
+1
A fan of a bit of female flesh as much as the next guy, but glad they've toned it down a fair bit.
Gay.
Anyone know if/when there will be a replay of the first two eps?
Faithful Hawk
12 Apr 2010, 21:22
I didn't mind it was a big improvement on the 2nd series.
Had a bit of a laugh at the the car chase scene which was pretty average especially when the late model ford they were chasing (actually a commodore), morphed into a lancer circa 2005 fitted out with back spoiler and all, then back into the late model ford before escaping:D.
Is it me or has this whole Underbelly series become more and more Sydneycentric?
I hate that this is what passes for premium Australian drama these days.
Housemate loves it; I'd rather watch Blue Murder on DVD.
Team Mo'
13 Apr 2010, 21:50
The whole show was pretty much a musical in slow motion!
Pretty horrible acting but I'll still watch the whole series....
Dry Rot
13 Apr 2010, 22:27
I quite enjoyed it.
Spent a little bit of time up there back then, seemed to capture the feeling on the streets.
I quite enjoyed it.
Spent a little bit of time up there back then, seemed to capture the feeling on the streets.
I don't know sydney very well so didn't get into the familiarity of the city. On top of that i've been watching the wire so have become accustomed to good writing, acting etc.
I enjoyed the first 2 for what they were but was too hung over and "intelligent" to get into the premier of the third.
On top of that i've been watching the wire so have become accustomed to good writing, acting etc.
Burn.
Damon_3388
14 Apr 2010, 00:56
How many episodes until we get a token harbour bridge/opera house shot?
Turgid acting, inept direction, boring script.
hirdy_is_champ
14 Apr 2010, 19:58
I watched the repeat last night (although I was really watcing Ashes to Ashes so missed a bit) and most of the actors can't act. Sigrid Thornton was good, as was the ranga prostitute, but there are just too many shit hack all saints/ home and away people. Its annoying because series 1 was still promissing but they just keep getting shocking actors and are too interested in making it a flashy production.
Also does anyone else think that it doesn't actually give the feel it's set in the late 80's/early 90's at all? This was basically emphasised after just watching Ashes to Ashes which does this well. It's almost like they put no effort into these things, even in the first series, the cars were too new etc.
I'd be very interested if they did a series on SA crime, particularly The Family. Plenty to work with there.
A gang of pedophiles raping and murdering boys. Yeah, that'd be terrific... :confused:
Freo Big Fella
14 Apr 2010, 20:51
Thought it looked better than the last series. Which isn't really saying much.
The coppers seem to be well cast - interesting to see if they'll include
Chook Fowlers brain snap at the commission hearing.
Damon_3388
15 Apr 2010, 00:40
A gang of pedophiles raping and murdering boys. Yeah, that'd be terrific... :confused:
There's still a lot of unknown and unsolved elements though, which would make for more entertaining and unexpected television than something like (for example) the first Underbelly series, all of which had played out and been pretty much concluded in full media spotlight. However, those unknown elements are probably what would stop it getting made though.