View Full Version : Movie The Hangover
Minkus_Swan
12 Jun 2009, 07:13
http://www.blogcdn.com/www.moviefone.com/insidemovies/media/2009/06/hangover-438x275b.jpg
A Las Vegas-set comedy centered around three groomsmen who lose their about-to-be-wed buddy during their drunken misadventures, then must retrace their steps in order to find him.
IHzTkBG3o5A
Tigers love pepper. They hate cinnamon.
Ended up watching this masterpiece tonight. Definitely the best comedy I've seen since Wedding Crashers. Sooooo many awesome quotes from this movie.
GoDoggies
12 Jun 2009, 18:20
The funniest movie I've seen in years. The Alan character has so many great quotes especially his wolf pack speech. Good cameo from Mike Tyson too, loved his line "who does shit like that".
thesting
13 Jun 2009, 12:03
At the risk of just going with the crowd, this is the funniest movie I have seen for quite a while. Do yourself a favour and check it out.
Karl Pilkington
13 Jun 2009, 16:23
Pretty funny.
TelkoTheGreat
13 Jun 2009, 23:38
Alan was the best part of the movie and the Mr Chow character was hilarious as well.
Just saw it tonight. AWESOME! I love how only complete nobodies are capable of producing great humor in hollywood.
Definitely deserves to be smashing Terminator in the box office like it is
bradrowe#32
14 Jun 2009, 11:54
Ed Helms is a champion.
Karl Pilkington
14 Jun 2009, 12:10
Alan was the best part of the movie and the Mr Chow character was hilarious as well.
Agree completely.
It was a good movie, but I still think Hot Rod was funnier.
flight23
14 Jun 2009, 12:14
tu da loo mutha ****as
Karl Pilkington
14 Jun 2009, 12:17
tu da loo mutha ****as
That Asian guy is great in everything I've seen him in. Absolute pisser in Role Models.
Wahooti Fandango
14 Jun 2009, 13:24
Ed Helms is a champion.
Andy Bernard. :thumbsu:
JScAx0moZbk
Hap Hapablap
14 Jun 2009, 16:22
underrated movie one of the surprise packets of the year. alan with the baby left me in tears from laughter.
rocker_oz33
14 Jun 2009, 19:12
l thought it was quiet funny the Allan guy (fat Jesus) was the best,and the Asian guy with no dick was funny as
RobbyRoy
14 Jun 2009, 20:21
underrated movie one of the surprise packets of the year. alan with the baby left me in tears from laughter.
Underrated? It's getting rave reviews from pretty much everyone and is doing well at the box office.
I'm keen to see it, but I hope it doesn't disappoint after all the hype.
Karl Pilkington
14 Jun 2009, 21:10
It won't disappoint, but get out of this thread because it's going to be spoiler city soon.
"I'm a one man wolfpack"
TelkoTheGreat
14 Jun 2009, 21:49
"it's not a man-purse, it's a satchel"
Karl Pilkington
14 Jun 2009, 21:50
"it's not a man-purse, it's a satchel"
Indiana Jones wears one.
Karl Pilkington
14 Jun 2009, 21:56
Best bit is definitely when Alan smashes the baby in the face with the car door and it starts crying, only for him to ask "Are my glasses ok?"
TelkoTheGreat
14 Jun 2009, 22:17
haha "carlos"
I liked the stun-gun demo part when that fat kid gets revenge on Alan for kicking his phone away.
King Elvis
15 Jun 2009, 20:32
Really good, not sure if it's Old School or Wedding Crashers quality though; but still very good.
"Remember: What happens in Vegas stays in Vegas. Except for herpes, that shit'll come back with you."
"Isn't card countng Illegal?"
"No, I'ts frowned apon, like masterbating on an aeroplane"
"I'm pretty sure thats illegal too!"
"Only since people got over sensative after 911, thankyou Mr Bin Laden"
Karl Pilkington
17 Jun 2009, 11:57
Its strange though, without Alan the movie would have been horrifically unfunny and bad. Rarely do you see a comedy movie thesedays that relies so completely on one character (apologies to the Mr Chow character who was gold as well).
Toodle-oo mother feckaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaawwwwwwwwwwwwww
BarcaRulz
17 Jun 2009, 13:39
Its strange though, without Alan the movie would have been horrifically unfunny and bad. Rarely do you see a comedy movie thesedays that relies so completely on one character (apologies to the Mr Chow character who was gold as well).
Toodle-oo mother feckaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaawwwwwwwwwwwwww
Please.. Dr. No Tooth was ****ing awesome. As was Phil. And Heather Graham.
As a matter of fact, i liked everyone in it, not a dull moment at all.
Karl Pilkington
17 Jun 2009, 13:48
Please.. Dr. No Tooth was ****ing awesome. As was Phil. And Heather Graham.
As a matter of fact, i liked everyone in it, not a dull moment at all.
They were funny (so was the doctor at the hospital who told them to get a ****ing map and **** off) for sure. But Alan takes the movie to a really high level, and without him they'd be nowhere near one of the best comedy casts.
Wasn't knocking the other cast members, but Alan was just amazingly funny and original. Just the little things like:
"I married a whore"
"She's a NICE lady"
"You're a ****ing idiot"
"your language is offensive"
Reading it, it isn't funny. But the delivery was just brilliant.
Gridlock'd
17 Jun 2009, 14:57
Very funny.
Spandex
17 Jun 2009, 16:34
Alan is played by Zach Galifianakis, who I've been a fan of for a few years.
He's been in some TV shows and he does some good standup, although it's not conventional standup, it's more in the mould of Andy Kaufman. He routinely gets into exchanges with audience members, sometimes violent.
Here's some clips of him:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oOQboHV3-PI
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yWe6s4QXv20
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aEkDrGiLJTA
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=koJLwurV5x0
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pEQFh2zCGU0
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1qy9KvDtI5w
Notorious_29
18 Jun 2009, 01:24
finally got to see this tonite, and it was fkn awesome.
watching alan make the baby look as if it was jacking off, simply brought me to tears. Not one scene didnt make me laugh 4.9/5.0.
5.0/5.0 is reserved for anchorman, old school and super troopers.
Karl Pilkington
18 Jun 2009, 09:46
Watched some of that Zach Galifanakis' standup last night, absolutely hysterical. The Andy Kaufman comparison is pretty apt. Not your standard stand up.
"I don't wike having a beawd, it huwts"
They're already planning a sequel with production to start later in the year. Planned release date is 2011.
legitimatic
18 Jun 2009, 20:08
Pretty funny movie, the pictures at the end were good, but I actually thought Chow was one of the more unfunny characters, could have been a fair bit better.
well reading how you all thought it was funny I gave it a go and have to say I was seriously underwhelmed. There were a few LOL moments, but overall an over-acted mindless comedy
Karl Pilkington
19 Jun 2009, 16:14
Phew.
If a forum moderator had found it funny I'd have been worried I was losing my sense of humour.
DoubleO7
19 Jun 2009, 17:53
well reading how you all thought it was funny I gave it a go and have to say I was seriously underwhelmed. There were a few LOL moments, but overall an over-acted mindless comedy
Like a lot of American comedies coming out these days...
bigburger
19 Jun 2009, 18:48
Extremely dissapointed with this film. The ads made it look like the funniest movie of the year but I honestly think it was verging on being shit. Not clever, a complete copy of the basic plot to "Dude, Wheres my car?" (however more realistic and less satirical). Yes I did laugh a bit but it was almost like I felt I had to, to get my moneys worth out of this film. The story line ended so abruptly as well I mean where was the reaction by the Dad about his car being trashed which was so obviously built up in the film. That guy (The Brides Dad I forget his name hes George Bluth on Arrested Development) in particular wasn't used enough i felt as he is an extremely funny guy. Out of the 3 main characters not one took the roll of being genuinely the funny guy like Will Ferrell in Old School.
Have to go to work now and will write more later but overall I thought it was about 1.5/5.
Phew.
If a forum moderator had found it funny I'd have been worried I was losing my sense of humour.
yes I am sure you found this movie very funny:rolleyes:
bigburger
19 Jun 2009, 23:18
Extremely dissapointed with this film. The ads made it look like the funniest movie of the year but I honestly think it was verging on being shit. Not clever, a complete copy of the basic plot to "Dude, Wheres my car?" (however more realistic and less satirical). Yes I did laugh a bit but it was almost like I felt I had to, to get my moneys worth out of this film. The story line ended so abruptly as well I mean where was the reaction by the Dad about his car being trashed which was so obviously built up in the film. That guy (The Brides Dad I forget his name hes George Bluth on Arrested Development) in particular wasn't used enough i felt as he is an extremely funny guy. Out of the 3 main characters not one took the roll of being genuinely the funny guy like Will Ferrell in Old School.
Have to go to work now and will write more later but overall I thought it was about 1.5/5.
Can't be ****ed so I'll leave it at that. :thumbsu:
Karl Pilkington
20 Jun 2009, 02:17
yes I am sure you found this movie very funny:rolleyes:
Yep, I did. But I am a funny guy with a good sense of humour. You're a moderator on an internet forum.
See what I'm getting at here? Are you following?
yeah I got it the first time Karl. If this is an example of your humor then you are pretty lame, just like this movie. (see how I keep it on topic there).
Good to see I am not alone in thinking this movie was shit
Saw it today, bloody brilliant, right up my type of humour alley.
Love Alan at the end
"Im studying to be a bartender"
"Suck my ****"
"No thanks"
:D
ausde13
21 Jun 2009, 22:52
ripping show...
Karl Pilkington
21 Jun 2009, 23:05
Ok, I loved this, but I saw 'I Love you, Man' today and reckon its funnier.
Magpiespower
22 Jun 2009, 08:40
Appropriately enough, I saw it with a killer hangover.
Still laughing.
Those photos...
:D
TheColeTrain
22 Jun 2009, 18:08
Agreed, both awesome, but I Love you, Man was a lot more consistently funny
Coach Bombay
22 Jun 2009, 21:05
Tigers like pepper.....they hate cinnamon.
Crash Davis
22 Jun 2009, 21:23
agree, was looking forward to this like nothing else based on the trailers and reviews but was underwhelmed.
didn't really think any main character grabbed the bull by the horns and took the lead.
i'd give it 6/10
wow, what an overrated movie.
i finally watched it, and i can count 3 times i laughed...
1. the asian guy in the desert
2. the wedding singer
3. the final credits of the snapshots
the rest of the movie was just a lot of shouting by the actors. no classic lines or scenes that will live on or get any kind of 'cult' status.
even a movie like Evil Woman was 100 times funnier.
PowerIStough
25 Jun 2009, 18:44
According to people I know its fu*king hilarious and is a must see. Apparently watching it at the cinemas is hard since its packed every night.
Lance_Armstrong
26 Jun 2009, 10:58
Not at the table Carlos!!!
How can you not laugh when he is fake pulling the baby off lol. This humour is awesome. The whole cinema was in tears when I watched it.
It was mainly a young crowd.
Dimension
26 Jun 2009, 17:21
This movie is awesome i recommended it to anyone who hasn't seen it.
blockman155
27 Jun 2009, 21:42
Thought it was hilarious
I would have liked to see the dads reaction to the car though
that_dood
28 Jun 2009, 00:16
I am not a regular to American comedies as they usually fail but this was an epic comedy! Had me laughing through the whole film. Good stuff!!!:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
I thought this was very reasonable. Quite a few genuinely funny moments, nothing that made me laugh out loud though. Never again, I seldom laugh out loud at anything. A lot better than many American comedies hitting the cinemas.
Oh, one of the best parts of this movie was Heather Graham, she has to be the hottest actress around. Gorgeous :p
red+black
28 Jun 2009, 23:40
Pretty funny movie, the pictures at the end were good
I thought it was a nice touch too.
Oh, one of the best parts of this movie was Heather Graham, she has to be the hottest actress around. Gorgeous :p
I never even knew she was in it before I saw it. And were they really her breasts?
Anyway, I loved the film, it was good for a lot of laughs. I don't know what some of you guys were expecting. If you thought this film was bad, then you must really struggle to enjoy any American film, which is understandable, but 95% of US films are worse than this one.
I thought it was a nice touch too.
Anyway, I loved the film, it was good for a lot of laughs. I don't know what some of you guys were expecting. If you thought this film was bad, then you must really struggle to enjoy any American film, which is understandable, but 95% of US films are worse than this one.
Quoted for truth, especially true for American Comedies.
u-hookin-me
29 Jun 2009, 00:02
Saw it tonight. Was alright, worth seeing but not as funny as I expected after all the hype.
red+black
29 Jun 2009, 00:10
Saw it tonight. Was alright, worth seeing but not as funny as I expected after all the hype.
That's what ruins the experience for most people.
I hadn't see a trailer, didn't know what the film was about or who was in it.
Didn't know anyone that had seen it. All I knew was this thread, I read like the first 5 posts and put the film on my list.
So I didn't know anything about the film, saw it and enjoyed it.
Stay away from trailers and reviews and "the hype".
bigburger
29 Jun 2009, 04:58
Thats definately what ruined it for me i think ^^
I thought it was hilarious!!
That movie was so god damn awesome.
Saw it last night and loved it.
Pretty good movie. Have some great LOL moments.
I reckon without Alan, this comedy would've been a dud.
Underdog
30 Jun 2009, 01:07
The wife an I saw this tonight and thought it was pretty average. There were a few chuckles along the way but nothing particularly funny. Certainly far from hilarious.
When I came out of I Love You, Man, I said "very funny movie, but not likely one I'd watch again".
Being the last movie we saw, we compared to it at the end and I Love You, Man was an easy winner.
red+black
30 Jun 2009, 01:36
The wife an I saw this tonight and thought it was pretty average. There were a few chuckles along the way but nothing particularly funny. Certainly far from hilarious.
Dude, next time see a film like The Hangover with a mate or two, not with the missus.
Tortilla
30 Jun 2009, 08:16
Dude, next time see a film like The Hangover with a mate or two, not with the missus.
Absolutely.
I saw the movie with a mate and we couldn't stop pissing ourselves.
Underdog
30 Jun 2009, 09:18
lame.
So this movie is magically much better when seen with a mate....please... :rolleyes:
If the movie requires you to be with certain company to really enjoy, I'd suggest it's pretty average.
lame.
So this movie is magically much better when seen with a mate....please... :rolleyes:
If the movie requires you to be with certain company to really enjoy, I'd suggest it's pretty average.
Not really, it's like going to see a chick flick with a mate.
I agree with Underdog. It shouldn't and doesnt matter what type of film you see with what type of people. If it's good/funny/thriller/touching/boring/etc, it is what it is regardless.
But I can understand what the other person is saying....if you go with a bunch of guffawing blokes who would find almost anything funny, then there's like some kind of 'peer group' thing where you're supposedly more likely to just guffaw at anything that others find funny.
Loved it especially the Tiger.
Crimson King
30 Jun 2009, 19:36
Mr.Chau was hilarious.
Good movie.
red+black
30 Jun 2009, 22:13
lame.
I agree with Underdog. It shouldn't and doesnt matter what type of film you see with what type of people. If it's good/funny/thriller/touching/boring/etc, it is what it is regardless.
But I can understand what the other person is saying....if you go with a bunch of guffawing blokes who would find almost anything funny, then there's like some kind of 'peer group' thing where you're supposedly more likely to just guffaw at anything that others find funny.
lol, are you guys serious?
footy is better with the mates
chick flicks are better with the missus
action films are better with the mates
a picnic is better with the missus
or perhaps you suggest strippers and bucks nights are equally good with mates or the missus'?
It's not completely untrue what you say red+black, about other things like picnics etc etc. But, a film is a film no matter who you see it with. Because things like a picnic or whatever is specifically about two people who are the 'film' for each other, the experience of each other. While a game of footy, a tv show, a movie, etc, is where people all disconnect from themselves and lose themselves vicariously in something else.
If a film is good, connects with you anyway, then it doesnt make it a better or worse film because you saw it with a girl as opposed to your mates.
It's about personal integrity. If you like/dislike a movie, if a movie likes/dislikes you, you will connect/not-connect with it regardless who you're watching it with. The actual watching may be better, the environment, but not the relationship between the film and you.
Eg:....Chick flick, with footy mates, they'll just act up all thru the movie and you wont get to sink into it properly. A chick flick with a girl, you'll be able to let yourself go and truly watch it, and in warmth of touchy-feeliness.
I'm also on the I Love You, Man is better wagon. The Hangover was pretty good, but quite predictable and Zach Galifinakis relied on the tired Will Ferrell trick of saying outlandish things really loud and slowly; don't get me wrong he had some very funny stuff.
Zach Galifinakis is on Letterman tonight, be sure to watch it :D.
red+black
1 Jul 2009, 01:14
I think we expect too much from films and are spoilt by brilliant tv shows.
Given that many films are crap, why do cinemas think they can justify charging up to $17?
For that price, no wonder we are hard to please and rightly so.
soupaman
2 Jul 2009, 12:04
I enjoyed it (for the record I Love You Man is better), but I reckon without the photos at the end its a substantially worse movie. The photos at the end are the difference between it being a four star movie or a three star movie.
TheNextBigThing
2 Jul 2009, 12:42
Felt like i was one of the only people who hadn't seen it so I saw it last night and loved it. Had a lot of hype to live up to and wasn't disappointed.
Paddy_Mac
5 Jul 2009, 12:02
This is my favourite part.
Alan Garner (http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0302108/): Gambling? Who said anything about gambling? It's not gambling when you know you're gonna win. Counting cards is a foolproof system.
Stu Price (http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1159180/): It's also illegal.
Alan Garner (http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0302108/): It's not illegal, it's frowned upon, like... masturbating on an airplane.
Phil Wenneck (http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0177896/): I'm pretty sure that's illegal too.
Alan Garner (http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0302108/): Yeah, maybe after 9/11, where everybody got so sensitive. Thanks a lot, Bin Laden!
Aahhhh...funny.
Abba Lonie
6 Jul 2009, 11:07
Very good but not excellent.
Karl Pilkington
10 Jul 2009, 09:55
Alan's awkward guy talk was the best part of it for sure.
emperor
10 Jul 2009, 17:44
LMAO @ the name "Alan" always being used for the nerdy, awkward character.
Without Alan, the Hangover would be your garden variety hollywood rubbish, he makes the movie. Best beard and sunglasses combo ever :D
Rod Stroker
23 Jul 2009, 01:50
What a let down. All the talk of it being a "must see" and "comedy of the year", total bollocks. The best part was the photos during the last 2 minutes. Other than that it felt like I was watching a bunch of try hards who were way out of their depth. It needed A LOT more George Bluth, but even then I don't think even he could have saved it.
footylover18
23 Jul 2009, 03:04
Unfortunately the film has now massive expectations which can affect people's experience. I saw it soon after it came out. It is damn funny, no question. It's far from perfect but it's bloody good for the following reasons:
-the character of Alan. i'll wait to see this actor in other stuff before i call him a comedic genius but he was clearly the highlight of this movie. just watching him standing there was funny. carried the movie on his shoulders.
-the concept of the actual night not being shown but the aftermath being the movie itself is different.
- the photos at the end. finished the movie off damn well. everyone left the theatre with a massive smile on their face and an aching belly from laughing so hard. great ending.
-v.good chemistry between the characters. critical.
red+black
23 Jul 2009, 08:17
What a let down. All the talk of it being a "must see" and "comedy of the year", total bollocks. The best part was the photos during the last 2 minutes. Other than that it felt like I was watching a bunch of try hards who were way out of their depth. It needed A LOT more George Bluth, but even then I don't think even he could have saved it.
next time, try to not wait two months before you see a new film
Why? It was just as crap two months ago as it is now.
red+black
23 Jul 2009, 10:50
Why? It was just as crap two months ago as it is now.
75-82% on Rotten Tomatoes, Metacritic and IMDB disagree with you.
Rod Stroker
23 Jul 2009, 11:17
Thought I'd wait a while for all the hype to die down and see if it could stand on it's own 2 feet without being carried by all the hooplah. It failed.
Karl Pilkington
23 Jul 2009, 11:33
Thought I'd wait a while for all the hype to die down and see if it could stand on it's own 2 feet without being carried by all the hooplah. It failed.
I think your sense of humour failed.
Rod Stroker
23 Jul 2009, 14:47
I think your sense of humour failed.
Because I'm not one of the "75-82% on Rotten Tomatoes, Metacritic and IMDB" who found it funny and I don't conform with the rest of the simpleton herd mentality?
4 guys shouting incessantly for 1.5 hrs isnt very humorous. There were a few funny moments spattered across the actual guts of the movie, but they were never side-splitting roflmaobbqcopter worthy. Just a few moments. Then the end of the film's snapshots WAS very funny.
If it wasnt for that ending that film would be a fail of epic proportions. With it in, it's just a meh, almost not even a "comedy" film even.
footylover18
23 Jul 2009, 20:24
Because I'm not one of the "75-82% on Rotten Tomatoes, Metacritic and IMDB" who found it funny and I don't conform with the rest of the simpleton herd mentality?
I hardly think that people who have a career out of criticising films are "simpletons" and have "herd mentality".
The movie has been critically acclaimed. Does that mean you have to like it? Of course not. There are shit loads of films that have been rated through the roof that I hate but i can appreciate that they are fundamentally good movies. I just don't like them. It's probably a bit harder to do that with comedies though since if you don't laugh at the jokes then you're going to have a seriously disappointing experience with it.
Karl Pilkington
23 Jul 2009, 20:24
Nope, cause it was funny.
The bolded is gold btw. Not sure if you meant it though. But I always find it funny when people think they're an individual based on what art THAT OTHER PEOPLE MADE they like and dislike.
Financialpanther
23 Jul 2009, 20:41
The bolded is gold btw. Not sure if you meant it though. But I always find it funny when people think they're an individual based on what art THAT OTHER PEOPLE MADE they like and dislike.
Emos always think they are a cut above the rest.
Rod Stroker
23 Jul 2009, 22:24
For you. But you're not everyone.
Part of being an individual is based on what you find funny, not what everyone else finds funny. It's called an opinion - there is no right or wrong.
Karl Pilkington
24 Jul 2009, 08:51
For you. But you're not everyone.
Yeah fair enough, I found it funny but I saw it before the hype machine got out of control - to be honest I thought 'I love you, man' was a much better movie and much funnier. As I said earlier, if ti wasn't for Zach Galifianakis The Hangover would have been awful.
Part of being an individual is based on what you find funny, not what everyone else finds funny. It's called an opinion - there is no right or wrong.
But you implied that everyone that likes the movie is NOT an individual. Hype doesn't make people like art, it might get them there to see it, but you were doign exactly what you accuse me of, rubbishing other peoples opinions. See the point I was making? (I am SO clever like that, btw)
jorel6669
26 Jul 2009, 15:40
Finally saw this. It was ok, but the funny moments were spaced a bit too far apart.
I liked the Rainman scene, and some of other film references (like the reflection of the car in the sunglasses).
Cruiser23
27 Jul 2009, 06:56
Very funny, can see why a few don't really care for it though.
Ricketts
30 Jul 2009, 20:52
Thought it was great up until they woke up (which wasn't that much of the whole movie)
After that spot i still thought it was good, but there was a sense of inevitability of what the whole final 2/3rds of the movie would bring, with a few great isolated moments thrown in, but the first part up until they woke up i thought was all great.
Personally found the "splitting 5's" comment you could hear in the background of the blackjack streak quite funny :p
Yeh, the first 1/3 of the movie is 10x better than after they wake up. If it kept at that level that the first part of the movie brought it would have been one of the great comedy's.
Yeah the "cool" people will say it's over rated and SO American, but so what. Funniest movie I've seen for as long as I can remember.
Hard Ball Get
30 Aug 2009, 09:37
Finally got around to watching it and what a waste of time it was.
Easily one of the worst movies I have seen in a long, long time and it actually made me angry that I was wasting my time watching something that I had hoped would be as good as everybody was saying. However I wasn't let down due to hype, I was let down due to a very ordinary movie.
Watched it with the misses. She laughed about 5 times and I barely cracked a smirk. There were some clever little one liners but that is about all this movie had. Now I love a good comedy and I think I'd enjoy 7-8/10 comedies that people who post here would like, so I'm not going to buy the weak argument accusing me of not having a sense of humor.
2/10 terrible movie.
In no way funny, in no way entertaining and infinitely disappointing.